Submitted by Yardbroom

dread-locksThe argument is repeatedly made here that blacks who do not wear locks, are ashamed of their race…this nonsense should be put to rest.  The reasons why some people wear locks should be “strong” enough to stand on their own; without a feeble attempt to denigrate those who chose to do otherwise.

For example, of all the present black African leaders, how many wear locks? are they all ashamed of their race?  Take past African freedom fighters who fought colonialism, a few involved in the Pan-African Congress.  Jomo Kenyatta first Prime Minister of Kenya 1963-1964, President 1964-1978, Kwame Nkrumah leader of Gold Cost/Ghana 1952-1966, President Julius Nyerere first President of Tanzania – previously – Tanganyika 1964-1985, not a lock in sight, were they ashamed of the black race?

Modern day blacks of worth Dr. Martin Luther King, Nelson Mandella no locks, were they ashamed of their race.

Even the much lauded Marcus Garvey – who never set foot in Africa – did he wear locks? No, was he ashamed of the black race.

To emphasize the point, Haile Selassie of Ethiopia regent 1916-1930, Emperor 1930-1974 – the venerable – to “some” did he wear locks? No.  Make an argument for locks but do not denigrate those blacks who chose to do otherwise.

Historical Facts

“First known examples date back to ancient dynastic Egypt as they have been Mummified remains of ancient Egyptians with locks.”  “The very earliest Christians also may have worn this hairstyle particularly noteworthy are descriptions of James the Just first Bishop of Jerusalem who wore them to his ankles”.

“Among some Sadhus and Sadhvis Indian Holy men and women, locks are sacred.”  I know the legend of Mau Mau forest dwellers who were not able to cut their hair during the Kenya emergency and their fearsome appearance; and the belief it started then…it did not.

There are spiritual and religious reasons to support the wearing of locks of which “every race” are capable, considering the definition of the word:  ” Dreadlocks, also called locks or dreads, are interlocked coils of hair which form by themselves, in all hair types, if the hair is allowed to grow naturally without grooming for a long period of time.”  Wikipedia

Let us put the nonsense to bed that blacks who do not wear locks are ashamed of the black race.  That argument is not worthy of people who for spiritual or religious reasons who chose to wear locks; your reasons are “strong enough” without any attempt to denigrate other blacks, to substantiate your position.

230 responses to “Dreadlocks: A Common Sense Approach And Nonsense”

1. Why are black people, especially Barbadian’s so afraid of their natural hair?
    I am a black Barbadian woman with locks and my hair has never been healthier.Over the years I’ve had every hairstyle known to man.I’ve worn weaves,braids, relaxers, jheri curls and dyed my hair all types of colours.
    The only people who profit from the Black woman’s desire to kill her natural hair is the white owners of the hair companies.
    Think about all the money your wives, girlfriends and daughters could save if only they wore their hair in its natural state.

2. Yardbroom…

Peace to you bro.

RASTAMAN LIVE UP. Grow your dreadlock don’t be afraid!

3. MORE CRAP ! and still more CRAP ! after CRAP ! after CRAP !

4. @ ROK

I find this whole discussion very scary but when I link it to the debate on the Nelson statue, it’s pretty darn consistent.
    Choose ya battles my friend. Dis aint one worth having. De reactionaries aint gonna change. They’re pretty darn consistent though.
    God forbid! It’s unbelievable that we still have an issue with dreads and hair in 2008.
    Am I in some kinda twilight zone.
    Then the _ass hole Yardbroom tries to cloak his prejudices by sitting on the fence as if he thinks we’re stupid.
    My gosh man! What a silly old man!
    He children cant put he in a home and tek way de computer?
    Shupes!

5. Dreads are not a Jamaican invention. For anyone who cares to know, Indian Holy Men, have been having their hair in dreads for centuries. Yes centuries. Search the net, and I am sure you will see them lined up stark naked to bathe in the Ganges at dawn on their most holy of holy days. All in dreads, do wn to their waist.

What do you think the Sikhs wear under their turbans? Yards of hair, those with curls have dreads. They wash it, but do not comb nor cut it. For appearances it is under a white linen cap and then the turban. The beard is rolled in a beard net.

Imagine spending all this time and space on a discussion re dreads. Cheese on bread, on dress down Fridays, I would get up wash my hair and let it drip dry to give me dreads for work. Sometimes I paired it with an African outfit at other times a shalwar kameez.

Please people, this is not an important issue. To each his own, live and let live.

6. Think about all the money your wives, girlfriends and daughters could save if only they wore their hair in its natural state.

‘heaven’, they’ve abused me really, badly for saying precisely, the same thing, in the past!! However, I don’t c how locks can be natural. We, Barbadians, never knew anything about them before, Bob Marley came along!! Unfortunately, Barbadians are sheep (mesmerised-followers, of Jamaicans, rather like the zombies in that Michael Jackson video – Thriller!! Whaever the Jamaicans do we got to copy like we in got brains of our own!!) instead of sensible, leaders of the world!!

Pat // November 30, 2008 at 1:03 am

Dreads are not a Jamaican invention. For anyone who cares to know, Indian Holy Men,

Oh Lord, Pat, u sound more and more ridiculous, every day!! Hey, I got news fuh u!! WE IN INDIAN!! LOL!! I guess u din realise dah, but belive me, it’s true!! What other ‘Indian thing’ will u b wanting us to do, next!!

Steupse!!

I gine down to d Ganges right now!! What a load of bollocks, Pat!! Time to realise ur not Indian but African or West Indian, now!!

7. So when it’s not the Jamaicans ur following it’s the Indians?!!

Laaaaaaaaddddddddddddddddd!!

Bajans!!

8. @Anonymous 29 Nov, 2008 10:47. pm

I am aware of your psychological effort… it is “not” going to work; amateur in conception and lacking in “cognitive” guile. END

9. Pat

Starting even before John the Baptists, Africans grew locks. What do you think made up the Pharoh’s headdress? Look at it again. Notice too how how Rastafari when the locks get really long look something like the headdress of these Egyptian rulers, and they were not white or Indian????

10. When I said natural I meant not chemically processed .I wasn’t only referring to locks.

11. 42 years of ‘Independence’ and there is a debate on how one chooses to wear his/her hair. WTF!!!

What Independence what??
    People standing in pouring rain waiting for a GG to inspect the troops (Queens representative)
    The Queens colors.
    ‘Royal’ Barbados Police Force.
    ‘Her Majesty’s’ Prison.
    His ‘Excellency….and a whole lot more titles.
    And it is a wonder that we are having this debate?
    When we become truly independent, there will be no need for such debates.

12. Bang on Technician!

13. ROK et al thanks for the history of the hair which we have found very interesting. It is unfortunate that some feel that the discussion is simply about hair :-). Let us forget the history for a bit…

Please clarify why is it that people, Blacks and others alike, who occupy successful positions or aspire to do so are not openly enthusiastic at wearing the locks hairstyle. Even if we accept that the braids hairstyle has been accepted again we don’t see women of power (movers and shakers) sporting the style. Our comment is based on our observations.

14. Please clarify why is it that people, Blacks and others alike, who occupy successful positions or aspire to do so are not openly enthusiastic at wearing the locks hairstyle.

David, the reasons are simle to comprehend!! (a) They’ve got sense!! and (b) they’ve a sense of decency and pride in their appearance and that of their race!!

A baby could onstan dat – but, ‘those other, people’, have n’t grown-up, yet!! Mentally, they’re in some sort of pre-foetal stage!!

15. David

Those who have succeeded did so on the basis of being a “good nigger” and not on the basis of education. A system of preferential selection, even in terms of being a player in the private sector; who will succeed and who will fold up.

Being a good nigger includes not wearing dreadlocks and not associating with certain activities in the community; even with a certain type of person.

It means too, hanging in a certain circle; if you can keep up… but then again, you have to be accepted or you will be alienated.

Does this have to do with shame and embarassment of oneself?

16. @ROK

The reason for the line of questioning is to ask how would you prefer to lead change? Would you want to do it from within our stand on the outside? If you want to do it from within you have to be prepared to compromise but if you want to do it from outside you will have to be prepared to bang on the closed door for a longer period.

17. @Technician
    “What independence What?!?”
    etc
    Not taking sides here Tech, but what is the difference between copying the British models of society and copying those of “Indian holy men”?

…seems to me that either way it is
    What independence What?!?

Are we not capable of a truly Bajan model?

18. This is my question to you David…….

Would you rather be a well fed slave….or a hungry free man?

That should answer your questions once and for all because this is the choices we make every day.

Talking about not rocking the boat……

19. @Technician

This time it is your turn to answer a question to cover your question. Do you think as human beings we would have achieved any progress by adopting extreme positions?

Do you think being bitten, waterhosed, spat on, kicked and taking all that like sheep you would have achieved what you have as a race? But you are correct, in life we have to make choices and be happy with the consequences. BTW why do you think Obama’s strategists managed race issue out of the campaign?

20. @ Bush Tea…

Dont play with words man….you know full well that dreadlocks have nothing to do with copying Indian holy men.

The fact is that it is a hairstyle…period.
    Some have it for religious reasons,some for their inner beliefs, some for a fad, some to show rebellious or militant nature, some because they rather their natural hair as opposed to relaxers and perms.
    At the end of the day it is an individual choice which is made , knowing the repercussions of a society with a predestined mindset.
    This same choice can be attributed to smoking, drinking, picking fares, homosexuality, bestiality or any other vices.
    My problem is that regardless of the physical appearance, you should treat people on merit.
    Retarded people have no choice , yet still you would be appalled at how some of us treat them.
    To each his own, treat everyone on merit.
    Baldhead, Rasta, Dreadlocked…..we are all human beings….Christ man, grow up!!

21. @ David….
    First of all, explain extreme positions before I reply please.

22. David

What would be the basis of the compromise?

Contemplating change is such that there must be a total mental unshackling. The options are very radical and has more to do with a shift in the economic paradigm and basic principles which guide human activity.

23. Lets cut to the chase.

It is no secret that people wearing the locks/dreads are stigmatized. If given the choice to be a bald head to allow for the opportunity to dismantle the perceptions from ‘inside’ what would you do?

24. @ David….

Being blunt was always my way.

Two years ago, I applied to two prominent companies in Barbados.
    I attended interviews at both and was confident of landing the job because of my qualifications.
    After being shortlisted twice, I was told at one interview that I would have to cut my locks.
    I inquired as to the reason, seeing that my locks are neat in appearance and are well kept, not to mention that I am always clean shaven.
    If it was a safety concern, I could understand but when it is just the stigma, then that is a problem.
    I said thanks for the interview but I will not be cutting my hair just to appease any boss.
    You see David, today it may be my hair, tomorrow it might be my walk, my talk or some other issue they may find to attack.
    Why should I have to cut my locks to ….’allow for the opportunity to dismantle the perceptions from ‘inside’?

If I cut my locks to prove that, then all I stand for and all I believe in will be for nothing.
    What if we had sat down and accepted segregation, just to dismantle the perceptions from inside?

In Barbados, other that the boss’ personal opinion, there is nothing wrong with locks, but we always have to go back to the colonial mentality or the way of man from time memorial…where we either hate what we dont understand or think we have to be part of the upper class to be someone.
    David , do you know that it is against the law to discriminate?

It is true that a lot of the youngsters are lawless and most of them have locks.

What I did to help change the stigma, was to continue my education.
    How do you think I can easily turn down jobs without bending to their unfair requests?
    It is because of a sound education and qualifications in my field which puts me on the same, if not higher level, with my peers.
    Maybe what those on the’ inside’ should do, is try to look at what is really inside the same person they are stigmatizing.

Stigmatizing, profiling or whatever fancy words you choose to use, is wrong.
    Therefore to cut your hair to satisfy wrongdoers is stupid. Unfortunately, many are not as determined or strong in their individual beliefs as I am, so they wilt and bend as society’s dictates.

I know that I am just as good or even better than the baldheads in my field and that come from continually looking to better myself in all aspects of life.
    That is what I will, have and am still doing to dismantle these socalled perceptions.

25. Technician, grow-up, likkle-boy, and welcome to the world of adults, one day!!

There, there!! U go back an play wid ur likkle toys now, until!!

26. LOL…some people living in a fantasy world…

How one dresses, wears ones hair and carries oneself is a choice that one can make. Skin colour is not a choice. Dred or not dreds is… Pants falling off ass, deep v neck dresses, smoking dope are all individual choices!

Although we are individuals we are part of a community. Communities have norms and values. Indeed even criminal communities have norms and values. Unfortunately for people ( especially young men) dreds are seen as a mark of rebellion therefore this chosen look is not welcomed by most especially in jobs /communities where conservative looks are expected. This is reality! … You can scream as much as you like about unfair etc etc but at the end of the day the community has norms and values…

Norms and values change over time sometimes radically but usually slowly …

lets see if we are around to see the day when dreded young men are held up as symbols of virtue….

27. @ Technician

Look at the ad on page ten of today’s Advocate. Study the ad carefully and you’ll understand why we still have a problem with locks.
    Here’s a white company advertising a new car. Their target consumer is black – ok! No problem there!
    They’re advertising taxis!
    Check the image!
    A white woman with shades, loads of luggage and a black taxi man putting the luggage in the trunk at GAIA.

On the surface, nothing wrong wid dat right? Most of our tourists are white anyways!
    Beneath the surface, what does this sick _ucking ad tells us?
    It speaks to expected roles?
    Why wasnt the tourist from another Caribbean island (our second largest market)?
    There are so many questions that can be asked about this ad but ah really dont wanna tek up too much space.

Of course de white woman in de ad got long flowing hair, yet we would have a problem if it was a dreadlocked black woman visiting us from the USA or another Caribbean island.

We’re a sick people!
    42 years of what Independence?
    42 more years on the plantation!

28. lets see if we are around to see the day when dreded young men are held up as symbols of virtue….

LOL….@ ME….

You have just displayed the same type of thinking as our former colonial masters.
    Not too many years ago, how many of you would have ever imagined a Black President?

….dreds are seen as a mark of rebellion therefore this chosen look is not welcomed by most especially in jobs /communities where conservative looks are expected.
    —————————————————————————————
    Have you been to the Bank lately?
    How many dolls are at the front desk now?
    It is already changing, just that you are still trying to hold on to this European look mentality….and then you would say the youth have no culture, how can we, when older folks like you hold on to what was beaten into us for years?
    After reading your post, which I assume was in response to what David had asked me, it shows that the problem seems to lie in the older generation’s way of thinking.

You all were the village rams, lived in the rumshops, had big ass afros, wore shirt jacks and afrojacks, smoked trumpeters and weed, children from every district…..I can go on.
    You were not born big, you too went through a rebellious or deviant time in your life.
    Tell me, what are you doing to help the situation?
    Are you helping the youth or just sitting there condemning them all?
    Or maybe as long as your kids are ok, you dont give a damn.
    Are your kids ok?Are they nice and decent? Up to society’s standards and morals?
    Remember….Hillary Beckles also thought this.

So….because skin color is not a choice, did it make what happen to our fore parents acceptable?
    The fact that it was not choice means that no one should be blamed, yet we were. I really dont see your point in that comment.

If a person wants to wear dreads, knowing the consequences of this hairstyle but he is willing to face them no matter what….what is wrong with that?
    Do you do everything that is the norm?

Stop being so judgmental man, live and let live.
    Symbols of virtue…..lol…rlmao…what is this….another colonial title?
    Give me a break …plz!!

29. Why wasnt the tourist from another Caribbean island (our second largest market)?

Because it mek mo sense to show tourists from our largest, market which, you’ve admitted, r white!!

I tell yuh to guh back an play wid yuh toys!! Now, will u do as I say!! cause u evidently, don’t understand grown-up, matters!! Have a haircut!! Hit might help to hun-block ur brain!!

30. WE NEED TO LEARN OUR HISTORY
    WE NEED TO TEACH OUR HISTORY
    TRUE LIBERATION WILL COME WHEN WE KNOW OUR HISTORY

Come on GET UP AND GET !

31. Ow about dis one!! Buffolo-soldier, barn in Babaadus!!

Laaaaaaaaaaaaddddddddddddd!!!!

Song even more ridiculous!! No?!!

========================

Buffolo-soldier, born in America!!

Laaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!

32. A confused lot !

If i might say so myself.

33. Technician you read and comperhened whats written in your own little way which is not necessarily the way intended.

Clearly in an ideal world the Barbadian community CAN have revolution in thought as it pertains to the idea of the rebellious dreded yute. Just like the the white colonials were expected to have a revolution in thought as it pertained to blacks. Just like the Majority of Barbadians can have a revolution in thought as it pertains to ‘ the other’ whether that other be East Indians, Guyanese, Chinese, homosexuals, Muslims, Bhuddists, Atheists etc etc

But the reality is that the majority of people ( and this is proven over and over again) NEVER accept these revolutionary changes QUICKLY. This is also why most antidiscrimination ( human rights) laws are not made by referendum. Because the majority of the public will vote for the status quo. If the abolition slavery had been out to a referendum vote in the USA it would have lost.

And more importantly although slavery has been abolished for a long time the mental attitude of the majority towards the descendants of slaves has changed very slowly.

So although I can recognise that ideally we should not judge a book by its cover our minds have not gotten to the point yet where this is so… and the rebellious representation of the dreded young men in front our courts every day does not help niether!

So I will wait and watch to see when dreds become the norm in Barbados!

34. So although I can recognise that ideally we should not judge a book by its cover our minds have not gotten to the point yet where this is so…

My questions to you are simple……are you even trying to have a different mindset..or have you surrendered to that particular way of thinking?

35. I dont have that mind set in terms of my day to day interactions but I can understand how the MAJORITY of my customers/ clients in my business ( mostly middle class executives) still have that mindset and are challenged to not judge. Because our norms and values dont easily accept difference!

36. Could somebody cue me in on what is the discussion here.

From the rantings and ravings , it is difficult to follow exactly what commenters are discussing. There is a notable absence of fact, respect for each other and each other’s point of view. Not as intellectually stimulating as it could be.

Giving the technology available to us, I am sure that we can utilize it for more fruitful deliberations.

Plant a seed and let it grow !

37. @My friend Technician,

methinks that you protest too much on this issue.
    Of course you are within your right to wear your hair as you wish!
    Of course if we were all fair, reasonable and open-minded, we would NOT judge you by how you choose to wear your hair!

Unfortunately,most of us judge books by their covers (Bush Tea does – otherwise I would end up reading nuff bovine excrement as I tried to select books to read)

Let me use an extreme example….

That fellow by the Treasury building probably has the right to wear his skin as he sees fit too (let’s just say that he chooses not to expose it to the dangers of water and soap)….

Techie, I sorry, but I done got that man JUDGED….
    ….no doubt he can point out famous ancestors who saved gallons of water this way too…. but the Bush man is un-impressed.

My judgement is this:
    – He is either a lazy so and so who have no pride in himself and who has chosen the easy way to express this, or something is wrong with his head.
    – Such persons may seek to gain converts in order to justify his situation as ‘normal’, but deep inside – he knows that he is just a rebel.

As people, we are provided with raw materials, and the challenge of life is to refine these in a way that reflects our pride and maturity…like a sculptor…

This is what art and culture is all about.
    This is why we build nice homes
    This is why we bathe, groom ourselves and educate our minds

A culture of ‘roots’ that is focused on unrefined outputs is contrary to man’s natural instincts. It is in effect, a case of burying one’s talents in the sand.

We all aspire to, and reach different levels of self-development, and maybe we should all just accept the different perspectives of different people. But I, Bush Tea, usually judge a book by its cover.
    Any author who could not be bothered to produce an attractive clean cut and organised cover is unlikely to attract my attention in his book.

38. Bushtea
    Those girls who put all kinds of chemicals in ttheir hair to look like white people hair is presenting a good cover for your book? If you you’re either white, white bias or brainwashed.

39. @Scout
    Actually yes they are ‘presenting a good cover’… When I see those girls, I can immediately tell what is inside of their minds, what their ideals are, and what mirror image they see.

I know I need to avoid those book too.(You must know that BT is in love with braids)

This is why I was asking Techie before about the possibility of a BAJAN book cover.

What does the model Bajan Man/Woman look like? what kind of hair? dress? manners? home?
    How does he/she relate to other bajans? to strangers?

I am personally not happy with the ‘roots’ approach because anyone can do that….We are an inventive, ingenious people, so our cultural norms to my mind, should reflect that fact.

The chemical girls are just poor lost souls – lost for lack of leadership in this respect…. so too are the ‘suited, bald-head” men that Asiba likes to put lashes in LOL

40. Perhaps BT’s books and covers analogy could be disproved by numerous examples of the rebellious dreads succeeding against in any sphere against a more conformist shavehead.

Or is it success is measured in a more spiritual dimension, in which case this whole discussion is pointlessly circular.

41. @ST
    Perhaps BT’s books and covers analogy could be disproved by numerous examples of the rebellious dreads succeeding against in any sphere against a more conformist shavehead.
    How does that disprove my analogy ST? I never denied that there were good books with covers that Bush Tea disliked – I just don’t read them…. My loss, but that is the reality.

42. Never said attractive covers guaranteed success BT… but they may have their pages more well thumbed whilst on the shelf!

43. @ Bush Tea….

If I was to go by your example, then I get the impression that to you locks are dirty, unkempt and unhygienic.
    To me, you choose the example of a vagrant, who, because of his nature is dirty and offensive to all.
    Are you subtly implying that to wear dreads is dirty?
    I fail to see the similarities of the two.

I agree that both are choices made by the individual BUT..one (vagrant) chooses to offend physically and contributes absolutely nothing to society, which by any standards give you the right to defend and protect yourself against him by avoiding contact or any other means.
    The other (dreads) offends your mentality (while making a valuable contribution to society) because of your pre- determined set of values and morals instilled by your upbringing and experiences over time.

Can you see the big difference here?

To me and this is IMHO….the model Bajan does not have a particular look.
    A model Bajan can come in many forms or fashions, in any color or creed but the one quality in common should be character.

I think I have said all I could on this thread …to those who rather judge us by our locks, we are just as good or even better those who fit your standards. I am living proof of that.

44. Maybe any hurry on my part may be a desire to see it myself, but there will be an explosion of talent, intellect, skills, art and other creativity that will certainly captivate the world. It has already begun but more is yet to come in the very near future.

It would be good to know a world based on black values, rather than the dog eat dog world of the white man. How much better it could be.

45. @ROK

re: “It would be good to know a world based on black values, rather than the dog eat dog world of the white man. How much better it could be.”

is writing such rubbish a learnt skill or does it just come naturally?

46. That’s a good one Deng!! The verbiage which comes from their mouths gets more stink, by the day, not to mention, stupid!!

Buffalo soldier!!

Laaaaaaaaadddddddddddddddd!!!!

47. I waiting for the revolution that some on here are dreaming about…. it is good being an idealist when ya at home with ya mudda and starving!

48. technician ROK and crew persons never thought they would be a black president of USA, they never thought that black peolpe could work in the banks back in the early 70s they never thought that they could be free secondary education they never thought that a man could go to the moon ……oh ye of little faith stupse!

49. Grow ya locks! Is a crown I wear with pride!

50. 199 sound like one of those old nasty grumpy men that home all day without anything to do but come on the blog and pull down decent dreadlock people. 199, you are a big ass.