Submitted by Yardbroom

dread-locksThe argument is repeatedly made here that blacks who do not wear locks, are ashamed of their race…this nonsense should be put to rest.  The reasons why some people wear locks should be “strong” enough to stand on their own; without a feeble attempt to denigrate those who chose to do otherwise.

For example, of all the present black African leaders, how many wear locks? are they all ashamed of their race?  Take past African freedom fighters who fought colonialism, a few involved in the Pan-African Congress.  Jomo Kenyatta first Prime Minister of Kenya 1963-1964, President 1964-1978, Kwame Nkrumah leader of Gold Cost/Ghana 1952-1966, President Julius Nyerere first President of Tanzania – previously – Tanganyika 1964-1985, not a lock in sight, were they ashamed of the black race?

Modern day blacks of worth Dr. Martin Luther King, Nelson Mandella no locks, were they ashamed of their race.

Even the much lauded Marcus Garvey – who never set foot in Africa – did he wear locks? No, was he ashamed of the black race.

To emphasize the point, Haile Selassie of Ethiopia regent 1916-1930, Emperor 1930-1974 – the venerable – to “some” did he wear locks? No.  Make an argument for locks but do not denigrate those blacks who chose to do otherwise.

Historical Facts

“First known examples date back to ancient dynastic Egypt as they have been Mummified remains of ancient Egyptians with locks.”  “The very earliest Christians also may have worn this hairstyle particularly noteworthy are descriptions of James the Just first Bishop of Jerusalem who wore them to his ankles”.

“Among some Sadhus and Sadhvis Indian Holy men and women, locks are sacred.”  I know the legend of Mau Mau forest dwellers who were not able to cut their hair during the Kenya emergency and their fearsome appearance; and the belief it started then…it did not.

There are spiritual and religious reasons to support the wearing of locks of which “every race” are capable, considering the definition of the word:  ” Dreadlocks, also called locks or dreads, are interlocked coils of hair which form by themselves, in all hair types, if the hair is allowed to grow naturally without grooming for a long period of time.”  Wikipedia

Let us put the nonsense to bed that blacks who do not wear locks are ashamed of the black race.  That argument is not worthy of people who for spiritual or religious reasons who chose to wear locks; your reasons are “strong enough” without any attempt to denigrate other blacks, to substantiate your position.

230 responses to “Dreadlocks: A Common Sense Approach And Nonsense”

1. Truth is I neva hear dat argument in all my years.. but the locks get me de chicks, natty dread

2. Talk about setting up a straw man…I have never ever heard the argument which forms the premise of this piece.

3. Yardbroom,

This is a thin-skinned argument. In all this blog, there is condemnation of dreadlocks and that dreadlocks make us the scum of the earth.

In all reality, both you and I know that can’t be true as much as the argument that without dreadlocks you are not conscious.

4. Yardbroom like he smoke something and it sure aint the good weed….it is the dreadlocked people who are being condemned on this blog, being called deviants, scum of the earth, ‘pullers’ down of society etc.
    You better do like Bush Tea and start your own blog man…..disappointing!

5. Perfectly, sound and sensible argument, Yardbroom. The dreadlocks-wearers, as we all know, are the pullers-down of decent society, everywhere!!

6. This may just be a case where the writer wishes to start something and see where it leads. Truth is dread locked people get bashed ‘nough on this blog, by me and others. I personally don’ have the energy or time to beat up them further. 199, this one is all yours… have a field day.

7. In Jamaica how would Yardbroom’s argument wash?

8. Inspite of what is hapenning in Zimbabwe, Robert Mugabe is one of those persons who fought against the foolishness of the Europeans.

9. Inspite of what is happening in Zimbabwe, Robert Mugabe is one of those persons who fought against the foolishness of the Europeans.

10. What Mugabe did as a freedom fighter was commendable, what he is doing now is nonsense and a drag on Blacks every where.

11. Whether it be ‘locks,’ or the way you dress, or the way you speak, or the way you ”behave,” …. these things create an impression. It’s up to each person to create the impression they want to make.

If you want to create a bad impression of yourself, then go ahead and do it. When you don’t get very far … that’s your business, just dont blame the world for what you did to yourself.

So many people just have no ‘common sense.’

12. How you think Obama would look wid locks?

You think he would have been elected Pres if he had them?

As Up Front just said …. So many people just have no ‘common sense.’

13. How you think Obama would look wid locks?

You think he would have been elected Pres if he had them?

As Up Front just said …. So many people just have no ‘common sense.’

14. I personally don’ have the energy or time to beat up them further. 199, this one is all yours… have a field day.

David // November 29, 2008 at 7:41 am

In Jamaica how would Yardbroom’s argument wash?

Hi BAF, and thanks for the challenge!! I in got nutten beeta to do dis morning!!

Laaaaaaaddddddddddd!!

But, seriously, BAF!! Where this is concerned, we can’t afford to be tired!! That’s precisely, what they’re hoping for – to wear us down and hope that we’ll give-up the fight!! That’s the normal, modus operandi of the perverts, anywhere!! That’s how they ultimately, succeed in destroying decent society, so we can’t afford to relax, nevermind sleep!!

As for David’s remarks!! I’m virtually, speechless!! Would u like us to b like Jamaica, then David!! OMG!!

I would support a lawful BAN on the wearing of dreadlocks, in Bim!! I would invite anybody who wanted to wear them to happily, go and live in Jamaica!!

Up Front // November 29, 2008 at 8:15 am

Whether it be ‘locks,’ or the way you dress, or the way you speak, or the way you ”behave,” …. these things create an impression. It’s up to each person to create the impression they want to make.

If you want to create a bad impression of yourself, then go ahead and do it.

In general, I quite agree with ‘Up Front’, however I disagree that they should be allowed to ‘go ahead and just do it’!! Why should we allow idiots to make our people and our country look like vermin and stupid!! I can never agree with this!! I say, BAN THEM!! and if they don’t concur, lock them up, shave their heads, beat them and then release them with the promise to behave themselves in future!! It’s nuh wonder they don’t want me to become PM!! – an this time I in joking nida!!

15. By beating them, I’m referring to legally, whipping them with a cat-o-nine!! – or ten!!

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Good topic David.

I think that it really stupid so many Black men and women wearing locks. I warned all of my children against doing it.

17. @ ALL…

What is wrong with the dreadlocked hairstyle??

Can I have an Honest answer, free from emotion, bigotry and stereotyping?

Did the Afro get this much licks too?

18. Carson C. Cadogan // November 29, 2008 at 9:36 am

Good topic David.

I think that it really stupid so many Black men and women wearing locks. I warned all of my children against doing it.
    ———————————————————— Are you saying that people like Austin Clarke, Adonija, Aja, Whoopi Goldberg….even our famous saxophonist Arturo Tappin( at one time had pass his waist) are stupid?
    You warn you children against it?
    Against what? That people like you cant see pass the physical appearance to find their true worth?
    Are all those people at UWI stupid?
    ………man you have really outdone yourself this time!!

19. @Technician
    “What is wrong with the dreadlocked hairstyle??”

Since there are many styles of “dreads” it should be establish first if people are against all styles.
    Notice that other ethnicities sporting dreads are not condemned and vilified as much.
    I think they made noise about the Afro too.

20. There are also some who have a problem with black males sporting bald heads.

21. Any person who would call another stupid only identifying certain characteristics about themselves and are probably the stupid one.

Any person who codemns another, probably needs condemning themselves.

Any person who disrects others based on discrimination is an anti-Christ.

Any person who feels privileged is probably not privileged in the sight of the creator.

Mr. Cadogan, I thought better of you; as to 199, it is people like you that the UN fighting against and let me tell you further that our Government signed a commitment on behalf the people of Barbados guaranteeing the people of Barbados full human, social, political and economic rights.

199 you are less than law abiding by your very thoughts alone. A man is what he thinketh. If you were in the Police Force, I’Akobi would have died 10 times over by now. You might not be in jail. All criminals are not in jail, but that don’t make them any less criminal or “criminal minded”. They would certainly get you for crimes against humanity.

22. The headmaster of Harrison’s college, “If you want an Afro, cut it!”

We went through as much with the Afro and the braids; even beards. I saw a woman with an Afro some months back. I could not believe it. What a sight! A blast from the past! It was so pleasing I had to complement her on keeping it up all these years.

23. 199 you are less than law abiding by your very thoughts alone. A man is what he thinketh.

ROK, so u would convict a person BECAUSE OF HIS THOUGHTS!!

It just shows what a *asshole kind of country we could expect from your ilk!! I hope that Barbadians could never be so stupid!! Does one need further justification for MY remarks than ROK’s!!

Away with the vermin!!

24. The discussion about the dreadlock hairstyle synonymous with that of the afro of the 70s. Of note is the fact that the militant in our society usually adopt unpopular styles and positions to draw attention to the cause. In the process the innocent adopters are maligned in the process.

25. What really amazes me is that the people who have a problem with dreadlocks are mostly our same black people.
    I remember at primary school how the headmaster would come around and pull a pencil through your hair.If it came through smoothly….ok …if it hooked up…licks.
    O how I wish I could meet up with Mr.Welch now, what a licking I would give him.
    I bet you that some of the same people crying down the hairstyle now, once wore Afros and afrojacks, like how Elombe Mottley dresses.

As Richie Spice says……’The world is a cycle……

26. @ ROK…..

Save yourself the time arguing with bigots.
    You make yourself look just as ignorant as him.
    Being poor, old and lonely makes old fogeys paranoid and senile so just put him on ignore like most of us have……or leave him to Pat…she has his #.

27. Up Front

I have seen people dressed in the worst way but with a pleasant and proud demeanor, who are not offensive.

On the contrary, I have seen some of the most decently dressed people behave like pigs.

Why don’t we look at the white man who will go anywhere with a short Khaki pants and a rough dry shirt, looking as rassy as ever.

So this is not about dress as much as it is about who you are or who you think you are. A person presents themselves. You can see who is behind the clothes or hairstyle.

28. Technician
    My submissions are often about the “human condition” because I believe it is important in Barbados at this juncture in our evolution. We are at a position when the broad mass of our population in the “middle ground” of our society are in a supine position… not by choice. They have been badgered, cajoled, and sometimes beaten into submission.

It is time for them to regain the high ground and explain what they stand for, respect for the Law, decency, honesty, respect for other people’s property, care for others unable to care for themselves and ordinary good behaviour, which has nothing to do with race, colour or our colonial past.

The change necessary must come from within, there is a belief that political initiatives will solve our problems…they will not.

Those on the periphery are setting the agenda, shouting with loud voices – and some craven like are dancing to their tune – but they care for little but themselves and instant gratification in any form.

The old men and women, the poor and needy, the young boys and girls who are not extreme – but studiously going about their business and pleasures – the young business men and women, they are our people too and although they are not shouting their silent voices should be heard and their values inculcated.

I am not suggesting the wearers of dreadlocks do not subscribe to those values, the above comments explain the reasons for my submissions, simply an effort for us to examine the “core” of ourselves and confront the logical outcome of our actions…ultimately we are masters of our fate.

29. 199

It is not for me to convict you. That is what the Creator will do. So when you think you escaping this worldly jail with your thoughts, look again. He that cometh like a thief in the night will be after you.

Thank Technician, but I just could not resist that last one before ignore.

30. Yardbroom….
    Instead of attacking dreadlocks for their physical appearance you could turn this argument around and ask the eurocentric africans why they are so ashamed of blacks wearing dreadlocks.

Carson C. Cadogan…..
    Thought you were a little more enlightened! One should never assume.

199….
    ‘They destroy decent society…..’
    Can you name one decent society that has been destroyed by them? On the other hand I can name you a few ‘civilized’ nations that has been destroyed or are on the verge of being destroyed by ‘highly educated’, decent, upstanding god-fearing christians who are not dreadlocks.

The black man and his woman has been so denigrated that in order for some of us to be accepted by these haters we changed our physical appearance and our mind set. To all those who chose to wear dreads I say more power to you, don’t allow these wishy-washy negroes to make you ashamed of yourself. Its your choice.

31. David

I can’t agree with that pass off. The Afro was a statement that Black is beautiful; wearing braids was a way of asserting our Africanity. The nature of our hair is that it could braid and the nature of our identity is is the cultural practice of braiding hair.

In the Western society, braiding hair was being a nigger and niggers did not want to be niggers, did we?

Those who would have joined that movement knew what they were joining. If you did not identify with the issues you did not join. Who would have the innocent adopters?

That entire movement identified with Dr. Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, Angela Davis, etc. Were they the militants and the students, etc. the innocent adopters?

Come on David, this was about a people trying to identify themselves in the face of imperialists domination which strected its ugly tenrils to our shores.

I remember the days when statements and pronouncements of the Rt. Excellent Errol Barrow served to fuel that very movment of self identity: More black faces in the banks and in the civil service; a right to education; buy local, CARIFESTA, CARIFTA, Independence, etc. So was he a militant with a hidden agenda and we school children at the time, innocent adopters?

Come again.

32. Granted ROK but explore if Dr. Martin Luther King had worn an Afro hair style and assume the militancy of the Black Power Movement would have have motivated change to the extent that he did? The fact that he did not did that mean he did not love his Blackness, because that would be a lie given what he lived for brother.

33. Hopi
    Perhaps you do not mean me..but since I am addressed. Where did I attack dreadlocks? and when did I say I am ashamed of those who wear dreadlocks?
    If you are able to point me to the sentence in which I said I am “ashamed” of another black person who has committed no misdemeanour. I will publicly apologise…over to you.

34. David // November 29, 2008 at 8:05 am

“What Mugabe did as a freedom fighter was commendable, what he is doing now is nonsense and a drag on Blacks every where.”

Man tek that back man. Dat is a shite misinformacy. TEK IT BACK…

35. Don’t judge the book by the cover … but having said that, some people just look foolish with dreads … like Chris Gayle .. just doesn’t suit him at all … then again there’s a difference between well kept locks and the ones we usually see on the court pages of the Nation… Unfortunately there is a stigma attached to that unkempt look .. but hey! its the same thing with white people and long hair ….

36. David // November 29, 2008 at 10:42 am

The discussion about the dreadlock hairstyle synonymous with that of the afro of the 70s. Of note is the fact that the militant in our society usually adopt unpopular styles and positions to draw attention to the cause. In the process the innocent adopters are maligned in the process.

David, u make me laugh!! The kindest, response which I can make to your above statement is that you seem to be unaware that the afro is the normal and natural hairstyle for our people!! There’s absolutely, nothing militant about it otherwise, every black person there had ever been prior to the Black Power Movement would have been a militant which is patently, nonsense!!

Technician says: O how I wish I could meet up with Mr.Welch now, what a licking I would give him.

Proves my point, perfectly!! Hooligans to a man!!

199….
    ‘They destroy decent society…..’
    Can you name one decent society that has been destroyed by them? On the other hand I can name you a few ‘civilized’ nations that has been destroyed or are on the verge of being destroyed by ‘highly educated’, decent, upstanding god-fearing christians who are not dreadlocks.

Easy-peasey!! If u needed telling, just look a few miles north to Jamaica!! Want Bim to b another one, do u!!

Dear David, u did n’t seem to realise but Dr Marin L. King DID wear an afro, albeit a short one!! Did n’t think I’d need to tell u that!!

BAFBFP // November 29, 2008 at 2:02 pm

David // November 29, 2008 at 8:05 am

“What Mugabe did as a freedom fighter was commendable, what he is doing now is nonsense and a drag on Blacks every where.”

Man tek that back man. Dat is a shite misinformacy. TEK IT BACK…

LOL!! BAF, dat’s a good one!! I, too, would love to know what all these wonderful things r which Mugabe did when he was a ‘freedom-fighter’!! Funnily enough, I can’t recall them either!! Whatever they were, I bet they involved the killing of a lot of innocent people, including his own people, in the process!! The black, witch need *illing!!

David does really mek me laugh!!

37. I think the Afro became popular nearing the end of his career. He did wear a small afro. He was balding. Check again. Those around him did wear Afros too including Andrew Young who had a large one. Check the photos in the march on Washington. That would tell you.

38. Tell d trute, doah!! Wuh d one at d top day look like doah!! Click on the pic for the full size image!! I won’t say wha he look like he want doing!! But he remine me ugh one ugh dum who approach me in my posh car one dark night, some years ago!! I did n’t c e firse!! My chile gasp and I thought, ‘wha d rass’!! den I look roung and duh wus dis ting looking like a black, lion standing looking through my window!! Luckily for him, my glass was up or they’d still b trying to get my fingers out the top of he brain up through his eyes where I instinctively, jucked them!!

Then the idiot had the audacit y to ask me if I could give e a lift or some other nonsense!! I think he still waiting day!!

Lord!! They’re so stupid!! I almost wish my window had been wound DOWN, that dark night!!

39. but hey! its the same thing with white people and long hair ….

Some people r so accustomed to black people looking like shite, these days, that they don’t realise when we look like shite, anymore, and see it as normal!!

I’m not one such person!!

40. Black people would have to look respectable, in my kingdom!!

41. – Barbados!!

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

One of the main traits that I have found in knotty people over the years, both men and women, is the fact that they are hugely dishonest.

They also take great relish in criminal activities.

My observations from the seventies up to the present time.

43. CRAP ! CRAP ! CRAP ! and more CRAP ! on top ‘o’ CRAP !

44. Hah Carson Cadogan. Thanks for the submission. You see how I change it up to make it better? Check below:

“One of the main traits that I have found in decent people that run companies like C&W and Insurance over the years, both men and women, is the fact that they are hugely dishonest.

“They also take great relish in perpetrating deceptive activities that only serve to rob the poor.

“My observations before the seventies up to the present time.”

45. If anyone had told me when I stood on that soggy ground so many years ago that on the eve of the 42nd anniversary of Independence there would be a debate about this topic I would have wept instead of cheered when the “Broken Trident” rose to replace the Union Jack. This is an extension of the “good hair/bad hair/straight hair/curly hair/picky hair/knotty hair argument that was prevalent then.

Instead of focusing on what we have done well and how we can improve on those areas that we have done poorly in since 1966 some of us are talking about hair.

I expect on the day prior to the next Independence anniversary the discussion will be about clear skin/dark skin/ brown skin/ red skin etc…

Only in Barbados………pity

46. Yardbroom…… Your attacks are subtle i.e.’this nonsense should be put to rest’ and ‘without a feeble attempt to denigrate those who chose to do otherwise.’ No need to apologise.

CCC……You can say the same for those who are ‘straight’ or not ‘knotty.’

199…. You make me run for my barf bag. Since when did dreadlocks destroy Jamaica?

Rastaman live up! Bongoman don’t give up!

47. David

The militancy has always been against the injustices meted out to the black man. In our case, we mete out the injustices to our own.

In the case of the hippies and the feminists, it was about their lack of access to the wealth, money and power of their imperialist fathers and husbands respectively.

So the three had the same enemy. We know how people come together when the target is common.

However, the black struggle stands out because of the grave injustices; even the so-called feminists among us are begining to see the cultural differences and are now talking about “womanism”, hence taking themselves out of the persistent male bashing that feminism spouts; thereby culturalising the female struggle.

To be militant is a bold step. Nobody moves there with feeble mindedness. These activities reflect strong and deep feelings, sufficiently so as to evoke rebellion behaviour in those who hold strong views.

It may be one example of what happens when society’s abhorence of some injustice is stirred, where tolerance levels are no longer sustainable. Principles they hold so strong that it would cause social instability if the contrary were to happen or is happening; forcing authorities to do something about it.

48. Why would blacks want to go straighten the air get gerry curls and years ago press the air, all in an attemp to look like a white person. Once locks are well groomed they make a good black man/woman statement.Power to the black race. I don’t wear and that’s my choice.

49. Divide and control.

Why are we falling blindly into their plans?

Some may want to appear European, some may want to dress Afrik, and others may want to invent new forms of self-expression.

Once we stop squabbling amongst ourselves we may start building a way out of our mental straitjackets and all live upright proud as citizens of a free Barbados.

Happy Independence everyone.

Many happy returns?

50. Hopi
    I do not think you have proved your “assertion”…but I will let that pass.