Submitted by Yardbroom

dread-locksThe argument is repeatedly made here that blacks who do not wear locks, are ashamed of their race…this nonsense should be put to rest.  The reasons why some people wear locks should be “strong” enough to stand on their own; without a feeble attempt to denigrate those who chose to do otherwise.

For example, of all the present black African leaders, how many wear locks? are they all ashamed of their race?  Take past African freedom fighters who fought colonialism, a few involved in the Pan-African Congress.  Jomo Kenyatta first Prime Minister of Kenya 1963-1964, President 1964-1978, Kwame Nkrumah leader of Gold Cost/Ghana 1952-1966, President Julius Nyerere first President of Tanzania – previously – Tanganyika 1964-1985, not a lock in sight, were they ashamed of the black race?

Modern day blacks of worth Dr. Martin Luther King, Nelson Mandella no locks, were they ashamed of their race.

Even the much lauded Marcus Garvey – who never set foot in Africa – did he wear locks? No, was he ashamed of the black race.

To emphasize the point, Haile Selassie of Ethiopia regent 1916-1930, Emperor 1930-1974 – the venerable – to “some” did he wear locks? No.  Make an argument for locks but do not denigrate those blacks who chose to do otherwise.

Historical Facts

“First known examples date back to ancient dynastic Egypt as they have been Mummified remains of ancient Egyptians with locks.”  “The very earliest Christians also may have worn this hairstyle particularly noteworthy are descriptions of James the Just first Bishop of Jerusalem who wore them to his ankles”.

“Among some Sadhus and Sadhvis Indian Holy men and women, locks are sacred.”  I know the legend of Mau Mau forest dwellers who were not able to cut their hair during the Kenya emergency and their fearsome appearance; and the belief it started then…it did not.

There are spiritual and religious reasons to support the wearing of locks of which “every race” are capable, considering the definition of the word:  ” Dreadlocks, also called locks or dreads, are interlocked coils of hair which form by themselves, in all hair types, if the hair is allowed to grow naturally without grooming for a long period of time.”  Wikipedia

Let us put the nonsense to bed that blacks who do not wear locks are ashamed of the black race.  That argument is not worthy of people who for spiritual or religious reasons who chose to wear locks; your reasons are “strong enough” without any attempt to denigrate other blacks, to substantiate your position.

230 responses to “Dreadlocks: A Common Sense Approach And Nonsense”

1. Bonny Peppa,

you ken reach me at:

Pat the Old Hen @ Barbados Underground Blog.com

2. Pat,
    I mean de home address dat i cah sen’ de weddin’ invites wen me an’ 199 ‘tye de not’. Mindya, I in prapos yet but i plannin in de early caws i feel he gun tek me as he bryde.

3. Bonny peppa

I can’t wait for you and 199 to go on the honeymoon. Make sure you don’t carry a laptop and please ensure that you go somewhere that ain’t got no internet or internet cafes. Wunna deserve a break from this world.

4. and by the way, wherever you carry him, make sure you don’t go back for him until your 50th anniversary.

5. WELL—i am a white man and i does wear dread locks——Whats the problem–i like de look.
    With all de shit happening in BIM dis is all you can talk about.
    SHout down babylon

6. ROK,
    Tanks fa de reminda bout a honey moon. But at me age, it in much mo honey leff in dis moon.Undastan?(stupse) by de way, sen’ you address fa me too caws I want you to be a flowa-boy. Aw-rite? Ma luvs ya.(smooch,smooch)
    Hope you bin nawty, not nice.Happy Yuletide.

7. Don’t worry about the amount of honey, once honey there and the moon shining. By the time you done “fag” he out, when he wake up, it will be your 50th anniversary. You hot, you know.

I would have to be a powder boy ’cause I carrying a gun.

8. ROK,
    Awwwwwwwwwww, ya meks me ol hart go titty-bum, titty-bum. Betta marry you insted. ( i neelin down in front de monita like i praposin’)
    Ya devil.

9. I think people really know how to nick pick at foolishness or small things but don’t know how to or try to handle real problems in their life. If a man want to wear locks let him wear locks. I don’t wear them but wha. Its just a different style.
    Who has ears to hear let them hear. Who have lock to wear let them wear. This is the first time coming on this thing and see so much people commenting on this this thing like it is major crisis. The world in economic crisis, people loosing jobs, homes, boys buggering sheep. I think they are more major problems that we as a nation can look at and try to solve, rather harp on locks, con artist wear the nicest clothes and have the sweetest words, but everyman has to know for himself if he is good or evil within.

10. All i have to say is awesome dreads!!!! i just cut mine off, and shaved my head, but if you can give me some pointers as to how i can get them started better than they were( they were pretty bad ) it would be awesome!!!!!! later ^_^

11. Oh yeah i am white, and hair is hair it doesn’t matter who the person is or where they come from, its the same as a favorite color, its not important, just a preference! ^_^ ya feel me!?

12. Wunna just got to stop being sa ‘thinskin’. Stress is kill ya.

Hi Bonny babe!! Sorry I did n’t notice this before! U caught me at the right time when I’m just thinking ’bout checking for a new-chick and u sound like u could be the one!! Not sure though!! Have n’t actually, seen u!! U sexy?!?

Don’t mind that lot above! They’d find anything, acceptable!!

13. 199
    Ef I sexy? Beauty is in de eye a de beholer. Wah is sexy to one may be bare ‘boo’ fa anudda.
    Still luvs ya doe.

14. Right in front of our eyes, the Jedi are taking on the New World Order, and here the big item is ‘hairstyle’?????

15. Maat, that’ right!! WE’VE got our priorities in order!!

16. whats up wit dis 199 guy???

17. he’s nothing but a dictator who wants to take away peoples rights

18. Hey people i am 13 years old i myself have dreadlocks, i live in england i am half cast and i come regualrly to barbados – when i come i don’t want to walk through Bridgetown to Temple Yard and have people look at me and call me the scum of the earth, I chose to take on this HAIRSTYLE when i was 11 and havn’t looked back since! I ♥ my locs and never intend to get rid of them, I am a commited rastafari in pracise by saying that people that wear locks are scum you are offending 40 – 50% of Rastafarians, and if you want to do that then we have alot to say about Christianity, Catholosism & More.. I am open to opinions of hairstyles and if i saw a man in the street with an afro, i wouldn’t even glance – i’d walk straight by!
    Blessings x

19. IF U CAN’T GET IT, YOU SAY IT’S NOT GOOD. GO BURN HELL. DREAD IS NATURAL AND BEAUTIFUL. YOU CAN’T TAKE IT AWAY FROM ME. NO CHEMICALS,……..BOOOOOMBO!!!

20. If you do not wear locks i would say you are ashamed of your race, I do not wear locks.

Truth is that most of Barbados are ashamed of being black. look at the alternative to locks this type of thinking that we embed into our young girl children, we allow them to straiten their hair and stick on ridiculous looking fake hair, is straiten hair better that our hair?

I don’t have a problem with any ‘chemical free’ hair styles. but once you putting chemicals into the hair and by extension the brain through the scalp, i got a problem.

we don’t even know the affect that these chemicals have on our women folk, but the men shake the chemicals with the Jerry curls, that is a start.

Locks is the first step to creating our own identity as a people, If all black people in Barbados had locks i know that we would be more cohesive.

21. I’m from Europe, France and I cant beleave all the shit u guys cant come up with, be your self and not a damn picture in the street to make others happy, live ur life and start bother with ur own stuff.

2009 and still f*ckin arround for skin color or hairstyle.
    I’m white with dreadlocks and proud of it.

Really sometimes people should stay children and/or try to remeber the beauty of ‘innocense’ and pureness.

I didn’t read all the coments I had enough after the first 30th…
    But I think some of u should really start to open their minds.

Sorry for my english, wish happyness to everybody. bye

22. Greetings,
    I loved your article. Are you the guy with the locks on this webpage who wrote this article? You look very familiar from the side view . I have a friend from Christ Church, who resembles this image. I would like to connect with you more on this topic. Much respect…Sharifa Shirley

23. If you’re black and you discourage getting dreadlocks all I can say is that you’re a stupid f*ck. Why would you be so ashamed of dreads you retards, that’s probably why you’re so “racially insecure”, it’s because you have no dignity. You’re pathetic!

24. It was Greeks who started short hair cuts
    and the greeks were freaks

25. Hello,

I appreciate your article. I have worn locks for eight years and after reading your article I think you are missing the point. People might denigrate others whom don’t have their hair in locks because they are trying to help liberate their minds. The people whom their speaking to might have their hair in a permed style and that style only mimics and promotes European’s natural hair, or Black men mostly have a fade and cut down most of their hair.

So here’s a question for you or anyone else, why do Black people have to feel like they have to alter themselves so much just to look presentable to the world?

When people criticize others it is not out of hate or meanness but it is out of love and development of the people.

Remember what Bob Marley said, “Release yourself from mental slavery, only we can free our minds.”

Let me know what you think!
    Tiffany

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Tiffany | November 18, 2011 at 12:57 PM |
    “Let me know what you think!
    Tiffany”

I think you should start with the basics by changing your name from Tiffany to Kunta Kinte or Cudjoe.

Think on these basic things!