Prime Minister David Thompson

In a surprise move Prime Minister David Thompson has demoted Chris Sinckler from the Foreign Affairs Ministry and elevated Senator Maxine McClean in his place. Seems to have signaled that he wants experience over inexperience. He also shifted Donville Inniss from Foreign Affairs to the vexing Ministry of Health. He has given Minister David Estwick the important Ministry of Economic Affairs, a vote of confidence in his financial ability in the prevailing economic climate. The other changes appear at this stage to be less dramatic.

We look forward to reading what the BU family feels about the changes and the impact to improved governance at this time.

See all the cabinet changes compliments of Goweb and Bajan Dream Project:

For those who didn’t catch the announcement, or can’t remember everything announced, here are the changes to the Cabinet of Barbados, announced by Prime Minister David Thompson tonight.

Hon. David Thompson,PM – Minister of Finance & Investment, Labour, Civil Service & Energy

Hon. Fruendel Stuart, MP – Deputy Prime Minister, Attorney General, Minister of Home Affairs

Hon. George Hutson, MP – Minister of International Transport & International Business

Hon. David Estwick, MP – Minister of Economic Affairs & Empowerment, Innovation, Trade, Industry & Commerce

Hon. Dennis Lowe, MP – Minister of the Environment, Water Resources & Drainage

Hon. Donville Inniss, MP – Minister of Health

Hon. Christopher Sinkler, MP – Minister of Social Care, Constituency Empowerment, Rural & Urban Development

Hon. Esther Byer Suckoo, MP – Minister of Family, Youth Affairs & Sport

Hon. Ronald Jones, MP – Minister of Education & Human Resource Development

Hon. Michael Lashley, MP – Minister of Housing & Lands

Hon. Richard Sealy, MP – Minister of Tourism

Hon. Steve Blackett, MP – Community Development & Culture

Hon. John Boyce, MP – Minister of Transport & Works

Sen. Hon. Haynesly Benn – Minister of Agriculture

Sen. Hon. Maxine McClean – Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade

Hon. Patrick Todd, MP – Minister of State: Education & Human Resource Development

Sen. Hon. Darcy Boyce – Minister of State: Finance, Investment, Telecommunications & Energy

Sen. Hon. Arnie Walters – Minster of State: Labour & Immigration

Sen. Irene Sandiford Garner – Parliamentary Secretary in the Prime Minister’s Office

74 responses to “Prime Minister David Thompson Reshuffles His Cabinet”

1. i didn’t hear M.P Ronald Jones’ name called. Is it that M.P Patrick Todd is now Min of Education?

2. No, I think Jones remains in education

3. Could BU or somebody please give a full list of the changes made. i was call away to a very important phone call and missed most of the broadcast. I thought the P.M would have spoken longer

4. Hmmm Sinckler move out of Foreign Affairs a real surprise. He brought tested international relations skills to the portfolio. Maxine Maclean does not sound that knowledgeable. No panache. She is more the journeyman plodder sort. Suckoo is out of her depth. Why is Donville Inniss in health? I am bamboozled.

5. Hi all, I decided to make a list of the changes public for those of you who missed it or didn’t catch everything.

http://gowebnow.ning.com/profiles/blogs/barbados-cabinet-reshuffle

Hope this improves the quality of comments and debate here. Admin can update the post as well, to show the changes.

6. Sinckler move, while it does seem to be a demotion really is not, my take is that it is not a demotion. Note that he now controls both UDC and RDC…the “vote getting” Boards. Seems like he came in to replace both Lowe and Benn who were not delivering in that respect… it resulted in consolidating a tremedous amount of political influence in this one Ministry .Welfare and National Assistance Board as well as the Constituency Councils are in this Ministry. These are all government services Boards that win elections…particularly in St. Michael

7. It is amazing that barbados free press has not said anything as yet about the changes.

What about dr estwick’s move to economic affairs? Can we risk having him in that ministry

8. Dr. Estwick’s move to economic affairs is an interesting one. This seems to be where is passion is and in these conditions the PM had a choice to risk it or bring in the expertise from outside the cabinet. In our view this is the Achilles heel of the government even if we factor Darcy Boyce.

9. I am not a political commenter. My passion is culture,crop over, local music, more airplay for local music etc

I notice that we have kept our Minister of Culture and I am in support of Steve: he is a good boy/ I wish all the best

who is the minister of information ???

10. I’m guessing that Information will continue to fall under Ronald Jone’s portfolio. Also Darcy Boyce has Telecommunications, which is related to Information in a way, so I don’t know , but I’m sure that the web community will be on the ball as more info is revealed. (If the details are released in the morning, the print media won’t have them until Monday)

11. You spend all these months building a rapport with a Minister and now you have to start all over from scratch.

Let me state that at least George Hutson is gone. Let him deal with the tourises and those far and way business peoples.. see how they like him.

Maxene McClean and Davis Estwick are powerful people now. Both are very independent thinkers, but how will they be able to operate in a Prime Ministerial dictatorship? Short answer… they won’t.

12. I don’t care what you all say, David Thompson is a political master! And Chris Sinckler, Stuart and Thompson are a formidable political troika in this Caribbean.

Giving Sinckler the whole “parish pump” is strategically a bomb for the BLP. To have done that 10 months ago would have been suspect.

David Thompson has a sense of timing, people-skills, panache and he definitely works hard.

Bye, bye Mia!

13. So what are we missing about the Chris Sinckler appointment. Are we saying that now he is presiding over the ‘hand out’ ministries he is in a position to orchestrate wins and loses for the next election?

14. If Mr Thompson is only thinking about winning (buying) votes there is nothing great about it. In fact it is tragic and not worthy of discussion.. The “Wuh” people are dangerous.

15. I have to agree to with BU that Sinckler was demoted. In our parliamentary democracy, the three highest positions are PM, AG and Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Even though I couldn’t fathom an HC boy, Inniss, taking orders from a Garrison boy, I still believe he was doing a good job.

Well, that’s the way the cookie crumbles.

Is this the first time we have a non-elected official in Foreign Affairs?

Oh no, Cameron Tudor was there as a non-elected official. However, he was a known politician with a solid track record.

That clown Maxine McClean can’t even run her own business and has done a lot of shabby consultant reports that ended up in the garbage.

Please Mr. Thompson, your coalition of of unlike minds is not impressive.

Shupes!

16. Carson C. cadogan Avatar
    Carson C. cadogan

I thought that the Prime Minister was going to appoint a Minister Of Food Prices. He would have full authority to deal with the dishonest Barbados Private sector. His first order of business would be to look into the rampant price gouging going on Barbados.

So far the Barbados Private sector has blatantly refused to pass much of the savings to the Black Consumers of Barbados that they have received. Only a few measley reductions. Some bread, Wibisco biscuits, lumber from the company in St. Lucy. These are the crumbs that have fallen from the table of the dishonest Barbados Private sector. I want the Prime Minister to give this matter his fullest attention.

Only today I was shopping at Popular Dicounts and as I was about to purchase eggs from StarChick I noticed something funny, eggs which used to be package by the dozen are now package by ten but the price is the same as the dozen price. The size of Rock Cakes from Purity appear to have shrunk by about 20% but the price remains the same.

When is this Govt. going to do something really serious about this highway robbery which is being committed by the Barbados Private sector?

17. The omnipresent Peter Wickham in today’s newspaper suggests that moving Sinckler to his new ministry will ensure that he solidifies his position in North East in what is considered a marginal seat. The foreign affairs ministry he opined necessitates too much travel.

Now that analysis has us bamboozled. If Chris is the best man for the ministry at this stage why change?

18. David, that argument is flawed for a number of reasons.

1. Wickham is biased. He’s a DLP supporter and a personal friend of Sinckler so one does not expect him to say anything differently.
    2. The argument is so weak. Billie Miller was our longest serving top diplomat and never lost her seat while holding that portfolio. The BLP only lost the seat because of the national swing and by this time, Billie was retired.

3. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs brings a lot of int’l, regional and national attention. You are sure to be a media star in this Ministry and Sinkcler’s constituents would understand the demands of his job.

4. Foreign Affairs is also one of the less demanding Ministries from a number of standpoints, budget allocation; administrative staffing; management issues and overall workload.

The fact of the matter is that it should have be given to a more senior person to start with. It’s the country’s top diplomatic post and does require some degree of panache, which Sinckler perhaps lacked.

The long and short is that Inniss was having problems answering to him because of deep-seated elitist issues. He felt that as an HC boy he shouldnt be taking orders from a Garrison boy.
    As facetious as this may seem, it was causing problems.

So Thompson separated them.

Was it a demotion? Perhaps in real terms, no. His salary is the same. However, in terms of perception, it was definitely the biggest and only demotion of the reshuffle.

What was surprising is the fact that he kept that jackass in culture. Jesus!

19. only 10 months and shit happening…lol

Suckoo is already worn out

Lowe already teefing

Estwick was Ok in health

Maxine Maclean aint saying nothing!

Blackett STILL has a misnitry WHY???

I am not impressed by this re shuffle at all

20. I couldnt agree with you more “me”.

There’s nothing about this reshuffle that suggests he has an answer for the crisis.

Darcy Boyce is a big loser who believes in balancing accounts. He’s an accountant by nature. This is in spite of advice from Owen and the international agencies that now is the time to run a deficit.
    Even Obama just announced a major plan to kick start the economy by government spending. But Boyce still wanna balance accounts and has basically brought the Bdos economy to a grinding halt by killing off consumer spending.

Maxine McClean is a lot of hot air and cant even read as well as Billie Miller. At least Billie was brilliant at crafting an enviable int’l reputation. Maxine disappointed clients are out here laughing.
    Did she or Peter Wickham ever complete their doctorates?

Don’t think so.

Lowe needs to show the public his phony doctorate!

I really like the pitbull and thought he was doing ok in Health. The staff in the Ministry liked his approach too. They’ll be disappointed.

21. Is there something wrong with our (Bajan) system? Whereby persons with NO EXPERIENCE in the particular field, get appointed to posts where that knowledge should be vital?

Look at the USA as an example… you get cabinet appointments based on experience…. and not because they are elected members of the House.

No doubt, it will take a long, long time for us to get around to this perspective, given the dawdling way things are done around here.

22. I have to rear my ugly head here doh and come and stand up for Ms. McClean this time.

I have seen Ms. McClean in action and believe me she was doing a hell of a job!

You all are dead wrong I am the first to kick up pist if she was not doing her job but believe me Anon and me she was doin a hellof a job!

THAT IS A FACT!

I had promised not to comment but I had to give jack her jacket so to speak!

Believe me she aint easy she was representing us bajans left right and center!

23. Senator McClean’s reputation may rise or fall if/when the new immigration policy is made public.

24. What is this nonsense about HC and the Garrison? Did not both Sinckler and Inniss go on to University?

25. Ministers are not put in post to run a minstry.
    We pay the Civil Service as experts for that

The Minister is in place to ensure Govt policy is executed

He don’t need to be an expert just a good manager exercising delegation

We allrealise that these politicians are not superstars or they would be already earning megabucks we only ask of them to implement their manifesto and explain the reasons if they fail

26. @ Juris
    “What is this nonsense about HC and the Garrison? Did not both Sinckler and Inniss go on to University?”

I couldn’t agree with you more. It shouldn’t matter right?

When your kids sit de 11plus exam, I trust you put de Garrison as your first choice and HC last on de paper.

27. I see CARSON C. CADOGAN allways critercising business ppl and businessess, why dont he open a supermarket and show we how to run a business on a small mark up.

28. Something wrong.in ten months.

29. Barnabas Collins Avatar

My view is that this is much ado about nothing. I wouldn’t mention Mr. Wickham’s analysis because it will always be skewed. Actually, he sounded more like the PR officer for the party. I would like to hear another view (no pun intended) from another political scientist.

30. All of a sudden Wickham regained some confidence bacause de DLP win and made him seem like he know wha he was talking bout. SHUPES

We does forget too fast doh. He made a boo-boo in St. Lucia, Jamaica and Antigua.

I dont understand why all of a sudden he and Hartley Henry is some sorta genius. Shupes.

We really need to be hearing from serious respected academics with PhDs like George Belle and Neville Duncan.

31. Carson !

The people of Barbados themselves have to act against high prices. IT IS SIMPLE -just do not purchase those high price items. Make the sacrifice , do without , look for alternatives.

About 3 /4 years ago I wrote a song entitled BRING DOWN THE PRICES .
    Classic had a song about the high prices long ago and other artistes have sought to address the high cost of living in song.

This high prices situation is an age old thing and its a wicked act . It goes back to our history and what happened during slavery and emancipation. If we do not teach our history, we will continue to suffer.

Knowing our history will empower us and those who hold power know that to keep us in ignorance is a benefit to them so they are in no hurry to implement corrective measures

32. Open a similar business with reduce prices.

33. You have to hand it to Peter because he predicted the 20/10 outcome of the elections and his star rose as a result,

Funny enough my mother made the same prediction 20/10 .

I have continued to consult her on all political matters as I have done all my life.

I am consulting with her now on the latest cabinet reshuffle.

34. @ Asiba

Yes, Wickham was bang on. That’s true but by the same token that should not blind us to his obvious bias.

How can we respect bias from a self-proclaimed independent pollster. Shupes! Why would he be speaking at DLP lunchtime meetings?
    He should be detached from anything that appears remotely partisan.
    Frankly speaking, he has little respect in academia.
    He even had trouble wid he master degree! Dah’s de easiest degree to pass!

Shupes!

35. Anon ‘What was surprising is the fact that he kept that jackass in culture. Jesus!”
    me “Blackett STILL has a misnitry WHY???”

SO what wana think ’bout George Hutson ???

36. Well when he look around he aint got much to choose from!

Cud dear.

37. Juris // November 23, 2008 at 6:30 pm

What is this nonsense about HC and the Garrison? Did not both Sinckler and Inniss go on to University?

Juris, it is the Bajan “caste” system in action.

38. Asiba says:

This high prices situation is an age old thing and its a wicked act . It goes back to our history and what happened during slavery and emancipation. If we do not teach our history, we will continue to suffer.

Knowing our history will empower us and those who hold power know that to keep us in ignorance is a benefit to them so they are in no hurry to implement corrective measures

Burn the stores down man, shut them up.

Start fresh ones.

Knowing your history will help you and you will be extremely successful at lowering prices for Bajans and keeping the doors of the supermarkets open by prudent management.

39. One term on the cards?!

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DOMINOES

“I see CARSON C. CADOGAN allways critercising business ppl and businessess, why dont he open a supermarket and show we how to run a business on a small mark up.”

If you want to help reduce the Sky High markup you have on your products so that Black Consumers might benefit.

I have a friend who is an Auditor with PWC and she does year end audits for many Importers. She told me that she is shocked when she sees the prices for goods from overseas and then when she sees prices on the same goods on the supermarket shelves

41. Anonymous // November 24, 2008 at 2:09 am

One term on the cards?!

That ain’t going to happen. The last gov’t was too corrupt and Barbadians will never forget that.

42. Carson dont tell me about auditors,please open your business.I want to see you in business.

43. The recent re-scuffle was a very confusing thing

44. I think the cabinet reshuffle was a good one taking into consideration the personnel the PM has to choose from.
    I support the shifting of Chris Sinckler from Foreign Affairs to Social Care.
    I talked to a Minister on Saturday night and he indicated that Sinckler shift was not necessarily a demotion but a strategy to deliver on the governemnt’s social programmes.He indicated a vibrant social programme is critical for the government to maintain its popularity.He indicated that Sinckler is the best person to deliver on that programme.
    I agred with JC Maxine Mcclean did an excellent job as Minister of Immigration and I would say there are two reasons why she was shifted.
    (1) She was rewarded for the excellent work she did as Minister of Immigration.
    (2) She was shifted for that same reason and the pressure that came down on her as a result of her determination to curtail the illegal immigrants.
    I said that because the big business people in Barbados who are also the big financiers of the party are putting pressure on this government to stop the deportation of illegals who make up a large reservoir of unskilled workers that could be exploited.
    Bloggers get real the PM hand are tied.This governemnt wants to move against illegals I have no doubt about that,however,it is being handicapp by the big business wanting illegals to remain to be exploited and the Indians who are members,and big financiers of the party wanting their kith & Kin from Guyana to remain and help build up a large Indian population in Barbados.
    A party with mutant Esther Byer-Suckoo,Abdul Pandor & Tani Abeds as former candidates and in the case with Esther Byer-Suckoo a minister and with rich Indians like Chatrani,Peter Harris, & the rest will not allow this government to limit the numbers of Indo_Guyanese in Barbados.They will not.That is why Ricky Singh,Norma Faria and the rest can challenge the government immigration programme because they have the backing of powerful,influential Indians in Barbados.The Indians are in commanding positions and are dictating government policy.
    I consider Arni Walters to be an ineffective minister.He was the minister responsible in handling the dismissal of the workers from the Royal Shop & sandy Lane.Nothing has come out of those issues.No resolution in any of those matters and the workers are out of a job with little or no hope of getting back their jobs.Arni walters could not broker a deal with those issues I do not think he will be able to do an effective job in the all important immigration matter.The PM has taken a strong lady and replace her with one his weakest ministers.To me that says a lot on the intentions of the governemnt to handle this all important matter.
    I like James Paul position on this immigration matter and he should be the one to replace Maxine McClean.His views are consistent with us and the thousands of Barbadians who are expressing outrage with high influx of non-nationals especially the Indo-Guyanese thiefs & criminals.
    This governemnt is blowing hot & cold.

45. PPL will allways see d indo guyanese thiefs but nobody cant see the afro guyanese thiefs. what a world

46. Negroman,
    I’ve read some of your views in the past pertaining to race; I think they were foolish.

But your article above, in my opinion is totally SPOT ON!
    You are clear and truthful.

Maxine McClean.
    Like her late brother, she has a brilliant mind and is a very effective minister.
    I believe the detractors are not being rational. They are being fuelled by political agendae.

47. foolishness from Tony Hall
    ——————>
    “That ain’t going to happen. The last gov’t was too corrupt and Barbadians will never forget that.”
    ——————>
    This is a silly accusation that is made against the BLP everytime they assume power. People believe this nonsense and vote out the BEES.

In come the DEES to mash up the country, the economy and everything else leaving the country for the BEES to repair.

It happened in 1986 and by 1987/88/91 it was kaboom! poo hit the fan

The DLP is not doing a good job
    FACT: things have not gotten any better
    SENTIMENT: I do not like what David is doing to Denis Kellman. David is treating Kellman like a dog.

Imagine a big cabinet reshittle and no mention of Kellman. Stop treating Kelly like a dog in the yard David Thompson. Stop it now ! Hartley Henry talk to David yeah !

48. Miss P,
    I am sorry that you feel that way about me. Show me the evidence where the DEES are mashing up the country. What makes you think that the PM is treating Kellman badly? What also makes you think that Kellman is not happy where he is? Are you trying to give people the impression that you have inside information?

49. RE Pat // November 24, 2008 at 1:15 am

Juris // November 23, 2008 at 6:30 pm

What is this nonsense about HC and the Garrison? Did not both Sinckler and Inniss go on to University?

Juris, it is the Bajan “caste” system in action.

THIS PAT ALWAYS TALKING SHITE
    HAS SHE BEEN TO UNIVERSITY AND SAT IN A CLASS WITH EX HARRISONIANS AND OTHER ALSO RANS? I DOUBT IT

WHAT CASTE SYSTEM WHAT