Prime Minister David Thompson

In a surprise move Prime Minister David Thompson has demoted Chris Sinckler from the Foreign Affairs Ministry and elevated Senator Maxine McClean in his place. Seems to have signaled that he wants experience over inexperience. He also shifted Donville Inniss from Foreign Affairs to the vexing Ministry of Health. He has given Minister David Estwick the important Ministry of Economic Affairs, a vote of confidence in his financial ability in the prevailing economic climate. The other changes appear at this stage to be less dramatic.

We look forward to reading what the BU family feels about the changes and the impact to improved governance at this time.

See all the cabinet changes compliments of Goweb and Bajan Dream Project:

For those who didn’t catch the announcement, or can’t remember everything announced, here are the changes to the Cabinet of Barbados, announced by Prime Minister David Thompson tonight.

Hon. David Thompson,PM – Minister of Finance & Investment, Labour, Civil Service & Energy

Hon. Fruendel Stuart, MP – Deputy Prime Minister, Attorney General, Minister of Home Affairs

Hon. George Hutson, MP – Minister of International Transport & International Business

Hon. David Estwick, MP – Minister of Economic Affairs & Empowerment, Innovation, Trade, Industry & Commerce

Hon. Dennis Lowe, MP – Minister of the Environment, Water Resources & Drainage

Hon. Donville Inniss, MP – Minister of Health

Hon. Christopher Sinkler, MP – Minister of Social Care, Constituency Empowerment, Rural & Urban Development

Hon. Esther Byer Suckoo, MP – Minister of Family, Youth Affairs & Sport

Hon. Ronald Jones, MP – Minister of Education & Human Resource Development

Hon. Michael Lashley, MP – Minister of Housing & Lands

Hon. Richard Sealy, MP – Minister of Tourism

Hon. Steve Blackett, MP – Community Development & Culture

Hon. John Boyce, MP – Minister of Transport & Works

Sen. Hon. Haynesly Benn – Minister of Agriculture

Sen. Hon. Maxine McClean – Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade

Hon. Patrick Todd, MP – Minister of State: Education & Human Resource Development

Sen. Hon. Darcy Boyce – Minister of State: Finance, Investment, Telecommunications & Energy

Sen. Hon. Arnie Walters – Minster of State: Labour & Immigration

Sen. Irene Sandiford Garner – Parliamentary Secretary in the Prime Minister’s Office

74 responses to “Prime Minister David Thompson Reshuffles His Cabinet”

1. Negro Man
    I am usually on the same wave length as you but this time one of us same not to be fully on the station; some fine tuning is needed. I did not vote for a P.M who would allow anyone, worse of all indo-guyanese, to have his hands tied. If we surrender to them, the dog dead. Those of us with any decentcy left would get out of this country or if patriotic enough, FIGHT for our territory. Unless these guyanese are stopped, one day our very homes will not be ours anymore. My blood is boiling, I’m ready to do whatever it take, that includes sacrificing myself for the sake of my offspring, and these are not just words. Tell any government person you know to tell MY P.M to wheel and come again or face the inevitable. This is why I had stop blogging because this thing is getting me hot under the collar.

2. From now on any indo-guyanese mess with me, he/she would know who god they serving. I have been VERY tolerant with them but no more. I’m on the warpath.I’m not starting anything but I’m not walking away anymore either. Barbados will have its first martyr.Somebody got to bell the cat.

3. @Scout

You had your chance to draw the line in the sand with your two uninvited Guyanese “surveyors”.

You, despite your rabble rousing posts, did nothing!

Typically you now return to the blog and exhort all true patriotic bajans to do the something,,,,anything you were afraid to do.

If you had led the way, some may have been swayed by your leadership, but as is apparent, you are content to spout your bile and hatred from the safety of the crowd.

Be Prepared for this scout ..you and your pseudo-patriotism are pathetic.

4. I hope that PM Thompson will also distance himself from his Advisor, Hartley Henry who is implicated with Ambrose George who was fired from the Dominican Cabinet because of their involvment in a Nigerian Money Scam.

I hope that in the face of integrity that PM Thompson will do the right thing.

5. I hope that PM Thompson will also distance himself from his Advisor, Hartley Henry who is implicated with Ambrose George who was fired from the Dominican Cabinet because of their involvment in a Nigerian Money Scam.

I hope that in the face of integrity that PM Thompson will do the right thing.

6. Anonymous
    I don’t know which one you are but this pathetic patriotic bajan will take care of you and anyother like you in time. in true bajan parlance”time longer than twine.” Just don’t mess with me and a lot lot more. None of you realise the seriousness of this problem. Enjoy yourself, it’s later than you think.

7. @ Facts

Maxine McClean.
    Like her late brother, she has a brilliant mind and is a very effective minister.
    Where is the evidence of this brilliant mind?
    How many pubished articles are there to attest to this brilliant mind?
    Here’s a management consultant that cant even run a frigging rum shop.

Where’s the track record that this management consultant has successfully managed anything?
    Tell us about her personal consulting firm.
    Where are her published books?
    Have you seen any of the reports she’s written for clients?

Please shut up if you dont know what you are talking about.

The amount of damage she’s already done with the immigration portfolio is amazing. She’s alienated several key players in the productive sector with her stupidity, backwardness and vindictiveness.

Now here we have a situation where the woman has no training whatsoever in international affairs, she’s not an elected official, no experience in diplomacy and you put her to run the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

I tell ya!

8. “Where is the evidence of this brilliant mind?
    How many pubished articles are there to attest to this brilliant mind?
    Here’s a management consultant that cant even run a frigging rum shop.”

Anonymous,
    I noticed all week you were attacking Maxine McClean. Wha happen? She tek way something from you? There has got to be some underlying issue other than politics which has caused you to conduct these viscious attacks.

9. @ Tony Hall

Nothing personal at all. She ain’t tek way nutten from me at all. Just pointing out that there’s nothing genius about the woman.
    She has Barbados’ interest at heart like most of us.
    I have a problem legitimizing the roles of those who haven’t faced the electorate over those who did.
    What makes Hartley Henry this brilliant strategist all of a sudden. Had he been that, he would have won the last two elections. He didnt.

Shupes! Just calling a spade a spade.
    Show me de rum shop dat Maxine McClean ran successfully. Show me the publications from her academic career.
    Den come back and talk. Go and do a search on Amazon dot com and tell me wha you come up wid!
    Shupes!

10. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

Actually Ms. McClean is an extremely well qualified person. If you do a Google book search on her name you will find that she is quite a prolific publisher particularly on items of gender and small business.

A profile can be found on the Goddards Enterprises website at

http://www.goddardenterprisesltd.com/index.php?Function=2&Content=70

However the last paragraph reads.

“She is currently the Chairman of Bridgetown Cruise Terminals Inc. and a Director of Goddard Enterprises Ltd., and RBTT Bank Barbados Limited. She is also Chairperson of the Board of Trustees of the Community Tourism Foundation and that of the Need Trust Fund of the Pinelands Creative Workshop. An active entrepreneur, she has been involved in the start-up and management of several small businesses and frequently assists a range of small entrepreneurs on a voluntary basis.”

My personal contention is that she would make a far better Minister of Trade than a Minister of Foreign affairs.

In fact it would seem to me that several of the appointments in this reshuffle do not play to the obvious strengths of the members of cabinet. In some regards the appointments are (to my mind) somewhat counter intuitive.

Marginal

11. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

I correct myself.

Ms. McClean is no longer a director of GEL, (I believe she resigned on becoming a minister). However the profile is available at the address stated.
    M.

12. Facts
    You might consider what I write on the other races as foolishness but many other people share similar views to mine.I believe in what I say.Iwant you to challenge me on my points concerning the destructive,criminal Europeans,Indians & Chinese.

The Scout
    This government is trying I will give it credit for that but other forces are derailing the government’s efforts.The governement is trying to purge the country of the unwanted illegal immigrants who will constitute as a burden to the country.It wants to give amnesty to the ones it consider to be ecomical beneficial to the island.In this regard non-nationals are being rounded up and put out of the country.I know that as a fact.A black Guyanese friend of mine who was here for nearly 8 years and her teenage daughter who attends school were given 2 weeks to leave the island after going to the immigration department to regularise her status.I am told that is a daily occurence.The government is acting on this illegal immigration problem.However,the ones that should be sent packing out of this country the degenerate,disease,smelly,criminal uneducated humbugs Indo-Guyanese have a plan facilitated by their racist PPP governemnt supported by the local rat catchers/mango sellers local Indians.These Indo-Guyanese are being finance by the Indian PPP government of Guyana and assisted by the local rat catchers Indians to bribe they way in remaining in Barbados.They are using the disguise of CSME which has as one of its category of people that are to move freely is business people.These Indo-Guyanese scums have large amounts of money at their disposal and are renting agricultural lands and in many cases are purchasing the same agricultural lands.Because these parasites are qualify under CSME Initiative they cannot be touch.That is why we have a whole set of Indo-Guyanese renting and are presently in the process of purchasing the lands at Salters St Michael because of the said reasons.
    Scout & fellow bloggers a sophisticated & complex system is in place with the Indo-Guyanese presence in Barbados.
    If the government has the will power to act I do not know.

13. @ Negroman

I hear Maxine was putting out bout 1000 per month and Thompson get pressure from de white farmers and de construction companies. So he move she to Foreign Affairs

14. Negro Man
    That’s what worrying me. if any guyanese is to be given amnesty, let it be the afro- guyanese. Most if not all of them has bajan ancestry but not the indians. If they were only the afro-guyanese here, Ricky Singh and Co. would be silent. I have observed a increased degree of arrogance that have appeared among the indo-guyanese recently and we know that they are doing this under instructions. Don’t tell me that the P.M/government in Barbados is allowing slimmy Jagdeo to run things in Barbados. I AM SOOOOO SCARED. Barbados will become another region of Guyana. God help we: we doomed.Well at least not me, I gine down fighting

15. @ notesfromthemargin

Do you understand the difference between qualified and certified.

Again, ms mcclean is not qualified to be Minister of Foreign Affairs. That’s a big laff.

16. Anonymous & Scout
    Yes PM Thompson is being pressure by the white,& Indian people in Barbados.
    Yes that the reason he shifted Maxine Mcclean and the proposed amnesty for CARICOM non-nationals.I will laid down my life and put my life on the block.Prime Minister David Thompson proposed amnesty for all CARICOM non-nationals.PM Thompson come and challenge Negroman and deny this.You cannot because it is true.
    AMNESTY IS COMING FOR ALL CARICOM NON-NATIONALS.

Scout & all fellow bloggers I hope you all have read my posting carefully.Everything I said in there is true.The PPP governemnt of Guyana in conjunction with the local Indian community are financing Indo-Guyanese into setting up big businesses in Barbados.That is a fact.I throw out the challenge again.I want anyone to come on the bloggs and deny these allegations.
    In Gateway Mall in Tudor Street the Indo-Guyanese shop-owners in the mall are being given concessionary rates that are much cheaper than the rates the black shop owners in the mall have to pay.
    A Indo-Guyanese lady who had a shop in that mall is now the owner of a large restaurant at the corner on Baxters Road & Westbury Road.She got that restaurant through the help that local Indian rat catchers gave her.The Indians have taken this country from us.
    Scout & the rest we as black people are in dire straits.Let me explain something to you all.The Independence Ecumenical Service was previously a multi-faith service.Three years ago the service consisted of the christians,the Muslims,The Hindu,The Bahia,The African Orisha & other religious entities.It was successful that year.The next year Muslims & Hindus threatened to pull out of the multi-faith service because they did not took to kindly with the idea of worshipping with christians,Orishas & the other religious entities.The governemnt had to give in to the wishes of the Muslims & Hindus to some extent and allowed a Mulim or Hindu girl to bring greetings on behalf of the youth of Barbados that year.It degenerated to the extent that the Christians did not want to worship with the Orisha religion of Africa,and the Muslims did not want to worship with Christians & Hindus did not want to worship with anybody.That is the reason why we had a Christian Ecumenical service this year.I mentioned all of that to make the point that the cohesive society we have built in the post 1937 riot era is being dismantle & destroy.The economic power those Indian rat catchers & mango sellers have amassed in Barbados are being thrown at our governemnts.Our government is powerless and it is being dictated by the Indian scum,the white thrash and in the not to distance future the nasty disease chinese.
    Scout & the rest we cannot wait on our government to save us we must do it ourselves.We must stand up & be counted or flee.This country does not offer any hope for Black people.We are doomed.
    Take it from Negroman these problems cannot be rectify by our spineless,inept,hopeless buch of human waste we have masquerading as politicians.

17. I am apalled at the kind of spin and interpretation put on the cabinet reshuffle/debacle. Are we in Barbados so sophisticated that we can put a man to stroke the parish pump and we vote for such an individual? After ten months in office and with the country facing its most severe economic crisis, the PM is more concerned about winning the next election than solving the country’s problem.So the truth is out the PM is mopre concerned about his personal success than about doing the best for the country. Can we get past the crap spin of Peter Wickham and see the real truth of what is happening. Can it not be that the man responsible for appointing ministers got it wrong in the first place and put round pegs in square holes? Can it not be that the PM is not as smart as some people give him credit for? Can it not be that he does not have a clue?Can it be that the fault is not in the people selected so much as it is in the person selecting them?
    Given the crisis that will face this country in the coming weeks, I have heard nothing from the man in charge about what he intends to do about trying to solve the problem.
    Let the PM tell the people who might have their life savings of 30,000 dollars or so that should one of these foreign banks go bust what happens to our savings. Let the PM tell the people who work for foreign owned companies as in the case of woolworth or so, that should these go bust what will happen? The last I look he was still Minister of Finance, was he not? These are some of the serious consequences of a cabinet reshuffle we should be talking about on BU instead of who got the goodies to buy votes. I am really appalled that we have sunk so low.
    Johnnie Too Bad.

18. I am apalled at the kind of spin and interpretation put on the cabinet reshuffle/debacle. Are we in Barbados so sophisticated that we can put a man to stroke the parish pump and we vote for such an individual? After ten months in office and with the country facing its most severe economic crisis, the PM is more concerned about winning the next election than solving the country’s problem.So the truth is out the PM is mopre concerned about his personal success than about doing the best for the country. Can we get past the crap spin of Peter Wickham and see the real truth of what is happening. Can it not be that the man responsible for appointing ministers got it wrong in the first place and put round pegs in square holes? Can it not be that the PM is not as smart as some people give him credit for? Can it not be that he does not have a clue?Can it be that the fault is not in the people selected so much as it is in the person selecting them?
    Given the crisis that will face this country in the coming weeks, I have heard nothing from the man in charge about what he intends to do about trying to solve the problem.
    Let the PM tell the people who might have their life savings of 30,000 dollars or so that should one of these foreign banks go bust what happens to our savings. Let the PM tell the people who work for foreign owned companies as in the case of woolworth or so, that should these go bust what will happen? The last I look he was still Minister of Finance, was he not? These are some of the serious consequences of a cabinet reshuffle we should be talking about on BU instead of who got the goodies to buy votes. I am really appalled that we have sunk so low.
    Johnnie Too Bad.
    Look this has not been said anywhere by me but if you do not want top publish the comment for fear of upsetting your masters thats ok too.
    Johnnie Too Bad.

19. @ Johnnie Too Bad

These jokers didnt have a plan before the elections or after.
    Their plan was to win the elections. This was made evident by the reshuffle in just 10 months.

Do you wanna tell me that before the elections, you didnt have a Ministerial map that’s linked to a national strategy for socio-economic development.

He’s already making the same mistakes as the BLP; i.e. concentrating on electioneering and not looking at real strategy. The over-emphasis on socialist programs will slow down business and he’s already creating enemies in that sector.

There’s an urgent need to strike a balance between environmentally-friendly business and social well-being.

Where’s the agenda? Or what’s agenda?

Do we have one?

20. Negro Man, Anonymous
    The screws have been turned on even more.The Ram is planning to build a football stadium and has earmarked an Indian coach to come in and train the players. That means preference is going to be given to Indian players, once that starts we will some have ALL indians representing Barbados in football. The gradual or not so gradual take over of this country is well in train. What has happen to Mac Fingall’s song ” 2009″? Boy isn’t that relivent right now.

21. Negro Man
    I fear that when this volcano erupts, it’s going to be much worse that 1937. The little scrimish we had then we keep celebrating as our uprising, our offspring would relly have something to celebrate in time to come. I will either stand up and fight as my gut feeling tell me to do or get out as my family is tell me to, with them of course. I think I owe it to my ancestors to defend their hard work.

22. Why this scaremongering, Scout? What are you trying to incite? Have you ever seen the Guyanese or Trinidadian football teams? How many players are of Indian extraction?

23. @ Juris

Have you seen the Guyanese or Trinidadian cricket teams? How many are black?

Shupes!

24. WHAT! My reaction when Ms Ram announced she building a football stadium. Where did that come from? Indians are invisible in football. Cricket is their passion.

Listening to her its obvious her only contact with sports is the stop watch she puts on her workers when they go to the toilet.

Going to be fun to see where Ram going with football brainchild. Glimpsed the new “fly” Mark ‘Smart’ with her. A thief from a thief mek God laugh.