Nelson Statue Located In Heroes Square Barbados

It is the month of November when Barbadians will proudly celebrate forty two years as a sovereign country. We are told that the broken trident emblazoned on our national flag represents the break from our colonial past represented by England our colonial master at the time. The BU household is fully aware of the tremendous achievements we have made as a tiny island nation comparable with other countries better endowed with financial and other resources.

As a predominantly Black country we can wear our economic and social achievements proudly. As we  continue to bask in our achievements in the relative brief period of sovereignty, we are aware that we still have a long road to travel to foster that esprit de corps we will need  sustain our success. We believe that in recent years the focus of our development has been skewed towards physical at the expense of our social and moral development.

Under the previous government, to their credit they established the Pan African Commission, rebranded Trafalgar Square, Heroes Square and planted the Errol Barrow statue in Independence Square among our symbolic acts targeted at nation building. However the contentious issue of whether Nelson Statue should be removed from Heroes Square remains outstanding.

We suspect that the previous government played politics with this issue to not offend certain interests.

The BU household’s position on whether Lord Nelson should be moved is simple. We cannot deny our past so therefore we do not agree that it should be dumped in the wharf. However if as a country we have seen the need to rename Trafalgar Square to Heroes Square then it becomes fairly obvious, given the symbolism of doing so, that Lord Nelson should not occupy the prominence it now enjoys. Several other locations are available to resite Lord Nelson statue. Does the Thompson government have the commonsense to make the sensible decision?

Here is a contra-position:

Submitted as a comment by John on the Graeme Hall Sanctuary Blog

Go and actually read some history and you will find that not only did Nelson’s victory at the Nile in 1798 save Africa from French invasion, but that he also played a deciding hand in Haitian Independence in 1804.

… and the Louisiana Purchase by America is also directly attributable to the impact he had on French aspirations outside of Europe.

… and how do you think we are able to read the hieroglyphics which opened the world’s eyes to the wonders of early Egyptian civilizations? (Rosetta Stone) Nelson’s impact on world history is far larger that Trafalgar. That was bare icing!! His place was secure long before he died. I just went on the ancestry.com website to look at some of the slaves called after Nelson in 1834.

Here are some examples:

Beck Ann Nelson, Ben Nelson, Betty Easter Nelson, Betty Nelson,Black Nelson, Bob Nelson, Bob Nelson, Bob Nelson, Casar Nelson, Casar Nelson, Daniel Nelson, Debby Nelson, Edward Nelson, Frances Louisa Nelson, George Nelson, George Nelson, George Nelson, George Nelson, George Nelson, George Nelson, Hesther Nelson, Horatia Nelson, Horatio Nelson, Horatio Nelson, Ino Ewd Nelson, James E Nelson, James Nelson, James Nelson, James Nelson, Jim Nelson, Joe Nelson, Joe Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, Joseph Nelson, Kitty Nelson, Lord Nelson, M Nelson, Mary Nelson

Why do you think the Horatio Cooke Auditorium in Belmont Road has in the name Horatio? Wonder how the deejay Admiral Nelson got his name? It is a simple fact that Horatio and Nelson were used as christian names from 1798 onward all over the world. Some families actually used those two names over several generations!!

This is not a phenomena limited only to one race or country. It is found throughout the world. Go to familysearch.org and choose a surname and put in horatio as a christian name. Chances are you will get several hits from around the world.

People make the mistake of thinking that Nelson is simply Trafalgar and actually believe that the statue only commemorates the Battle of Trafalgar. The statue is a memorial to a remarkable man and every Bajan living at the time had a hand in its erection.

Go and actually read what it says on the statue and stop listening to people who do not read!! Read, and start thinking for yourself. When you do, think for a moment about why August 1st could have been chosen as emancipation day!!

You will find a compelling reason on the statue!!

Did you know also that there is a “Nelson” Island off the coast of Africa in Aboukir Bay, and why do you think we have a Trafalgar Street, … and a Nile street!! This guy was a superstar in his day!! Only someone who does not read would miss the significance of his life and achievements on world history.

251 responses to “Lord Nelson Statue Stands Like A Colossus In Heroes Square”

1. God Help Barbados Avatar

David: Take heed, your smarmy, nauseau inducing, excuses for allowing this type of hatred to continue on your blog will come back to haunt you.

2. @ God Help Barbados

Pray tell.

Please define a civilized country and name at least one.

3. @ David:

I will take your comments sincerely.

However, it seems like the whole world including the USA is entering into a time where there is a URGENT desire to diffuse and discredit all of these underlying racial/pigmentation animosities and hatreds; even the now President Elect in what of what will be one of the most important speeches in the world from a leader, enunciated that it is time for us to take the LID OFF of all this smoldering hatred and unforgiveness and get it out in the open where the sun can shine on it and we can see it for what it is and then clean up our house…………Barbados.

4. @@Bajan-In-Exile…..

How the hell could your being in exile (be another innuendo, nuance lost on some of us? There are some of us who chose to be where we want to be without exiling our minds, which are always present, unlike yours and the only hornets nets you’ve stirred is the one in your head. In some countries like those where you live no one has to spew hatred through cyberspace when they can use their pens and make it law.

5. @ Bajan-in-Exile’s Husband

We’re discussing tekking down Nelson.

We happen to live in a democracy and some of us believe that it should be dismantled.

End of story!

Keep your emotional blackmail to yourself.

6. @ Hopi:

They can write it into law, like the Bill of Rights of the USA, the bill enunciated equal rights for all US citizens – male, female, black or white; written into law and signed by President Lyndon B. Johnson of the USA.

@ Anonymous:

If you go through most of the “civilized world ” you will find similar legislations enunciating the rights of EVERY citizen. However, there are countries who claim to be civilized in which, religious affiliation, gender and colour are the qualifications of the “first class” of citizens. Everybody else is “seconds” and less.

We hope Barbados is not devolving,

7. Dear Bajan in Exile’s Husband:

You wrote “they would return with all that they have in the bank and in their heads to continue to contribute to the prosperity of the rest of you.”

You must know very well that, that statement is both is simplistic and UNTRUTHFUL.

Most emigrants (and it isn’t a Bajan thing, nor a black thing , nor a white thing, nor a 20th century thing, nor a 21st century thing) Most emigrants eventually become comfortable in their new countries and INERTIA prevents them from coming home again. This is so even if their lives in the new countires turns out to be a disappointmnet and they are socially and ecnomically worse off than in they had remained (or returned) home.

It is just a HUMAN thing.

Why do you think that Mr. Obama’s mother remained in Indonesia.?

Do you think that she remained in Indonesia because American is so hostile to middle class, Phd. holding white women?

Stop writing simplistic nonsense do!!!

8. It would be most appropriate to take nelson down and replace him with the only true national hero – Ossie Moore.

9. Bajan-in-Exile's Husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s Husband

My black ancestors were sold into slavery by people of their own colour and race and transported to Barbados by people of
    “white” complexion. There, my ancestors prospered, were educated and even had children who you couldn’t tell which side of the brush they were on.

Nelson is a part or an “Icon” if you understand that word, of that history which , if you would take your emotions under control and look at the reality of what Barbados has come from and what it is today. It is myopic or even worse — bigoted to only elevate/aggrandize/celebrate the contributions of one set of people to the ignoring and vilification of others.

Yes, history books of the past, for colonial commercial purposes have been written to aggrandize and emphasize the actions and politics of one minority sect. But this is true in many civilizations all over history.

However, it is incumbent upon this generation to not reverse but correct this bigoted imbalance that we Bajans and the ones to come will have a more balanced and realistic image of ourselves instead of this revisionist attitude of destroying what has been contributed by the past.

To all of you:

I personally am sick and tired of knowing in myself that some part of the blood in me came over on a slave ship from !!! the United Kingdom and another part from West Africa. I am not the child of a privileged class. I come from a workers’ background and among them there were whites and blacks.

10. I don’t know where Bajan in exile and her husband live, but probably in a wussy country like Canada (which has long shamefully mistreated the indigenous people)

In a true democracy like the U.S. freedom of speech is protected by the 1st amendment to the Constitution as Wikipedia quotes below

“Freedom of speech in the United States is protected by the First Amendment to the United States Constitution and by many state constitutions and state and federal laws. Criticism of the government and advocation of unpopular ideas that people may find distasteful or against public policy, such as racism, are generally permitted.”

11. From one anon to another anon.

That was a good one, but I’d suggest gearbox or king dyall.

12. @God Help Barbados

You are entitled to your view and you are welcome to post it. Instead of attacking BU why not attack the arguments being put forward?

Remember when we would blog about the need for a managed immigration policy and we were called xenophobic? We were lambasted in the media, by talk show hosts et al. Guess what? We read in today’s newspaper that former Prime Minister of Jamaica PJ Patterson said countries like Barbados under pressure from immigration inflows show be allowed to breathe and make adjustments socially and other wise. We have heard our Prime Minister state publicly that Barbados is currently crafting a managed immigration policy.

You talk about preaching hate but only last week we watched a report on CNN which stated that immediately after Barack Obama was made president elect there was a spike in gun sales. We also watched a report that reported the death of a women attributed to a KKK initiation. Give us some slack, all we are doing is debating whether we should remove Nelson in the context of nation building, you can state if you agree or disagree using all civility which us humans are suppose to command.

13. @God Help Bar….
    Hurry up and define civilized and don’t even think about threatening David. What do you have to say or furthermore do about the death and pillaging that’s occurring on this planet at the hands of the “civilized nations?” Or are you ahppy to be among the “civilized?”

@Bajan-In-Exile Husband…
    “To all of you on the rock who fail…” Guess what brother, the times they are a changing. Gone are the days when Bajans were peaceful,poor and polite, contented with their measly lot, when they fawned over others esp. foreigners. You see Bajans are awakening to the fact that the reality that was forced upon them is faked and there are some of us who are about to change their course and that of our offsprings and create our own reality and of utmost importance to this lot is to remove the shackles from our minds and invite a more enlightening energy into our beings. And if that means getting rid of all oppression and symbols of oppression let it be.
    Continue to enjoy your cobo nest and I can guarantee you that those birds are not as dumb as you think.

@J….
    You just confirmed my point in that you get your energy from a healthy diet, exercise and doing your best for others. That sustains you and hopefully makes you feel good. This is the same with a symbol or a statue andyou might not be aware of it but it does actually happen. Its all about the ENERGY. Its what drives our spiritual and physical beings.

14. Dear Bajan in Exile’s Husband:

If you can write such nonsense as “I personally am sick and tired of knowing in myself that some part of the blood in me came over on a slave ship from !!! the United Kingdom and another part from West Africa.”

then you really need to go back to your history classes. People from the United Kingdom were NEVER brought to Barbados on slave ships. Where ever did you get that idea? Yes your West African ancestors were brought to Barbados on slave ships. And there is no point being sick and tired of it. ALL of us have to learn to live with the TRUTH, regardless of how difficult that truth is. It is NEVER possible to make the truth go away. It is NEVER DESIRABLE to make the truth go away.

15. @Bajan-In-Exile….
    In the late great USA the Bill of Rights is nothing but a door mat today. The politicians spit on it and George Bush has made it history. Try coming out from under your rock.

16. Bajan-in-Exile's Husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s Husband

J :

Extend the scope of your resources and you will find that the United Nations, Barbados as a member and many other countries have signed on to their declaration of Human Rights which specifies what are the criteria for freedom of speech and expression and what are “Hate Crimes”. This for your information includes the United States of America.

There have been many incidents where blogs and other electronic media have been shut down by governments because they INCITED hate crimes. In Sweden, a preacher went to jail for preaching against homosexuality. In the US, people have been jailed for lobbying against abortion clinics.

They have freedom of expression within certain parameters.

What is more simplistic………my expression based on my personal experience or the initiation of this blog?

Pull down Nelson because he white! Aren’t there other issues behind that or are you obscuring the debate by making a futile effort at denigrating my contribution albeit you have nothing to say?

If you do, put it on the table or @#$# up.

17. Here is what Professor Alvin Thompson from the UWI had to say on this issue recently. They are some who believe that BU has conjure up our position out of thin air and it has no merit. 

‘Nelson not a hero for most Barbadians’

DateOctober 31, 2008
    Brief
    UNIVERSITY OF THE WEST INDIES PROFESSOR EMERITUS Alvin Thompson says national icons who stand tall on the nation’s landscape, “should
    stand tall in its memory and imagination”.
    Making reference to the statue of Admiral Horatio Nelson in Heroes Square, The City, he said the Englishman “was a hero, but not for the majority
    of the Barbadian population”.
    “If viewed purely in terms of a nationalist discourse, it becomes extremely difficult to understand why a foreigner should occupy arguably the chief,
    or at the least, the most visible spot of the capital city,” he said, while delivering this year’s
    Elsa Gouveia Lecture
    at the Cave Hill
    Campus of the University of the West Indies on Wednesday night.
    Thompson said in the view of Barbadians, Nelson’s “historic
    support for slavery marked him as an individual who had
    a very narrow sense
    of freedom and one who never thought about the underclass except as hewers of wood and drawers of water”.
    Unworthy relic
    While the intention
    of those who erected
    it was to commemorate Nelson’s victory at the Battle of Trafalgar in 1805, the professor
    said the statue had become “the focus of contestation between those who see it as an unworthy relic of our slavery past, and those who view it as an important landmark
    in the history
    of the great European struggles for Empire
    and colonial supremacy”. (GC)

18. Bajan-in-Exile's Husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s Husband

@ J, you wrote:

then you really need to go back to your history classes. People from the United Kingdom were NEVER brought to Barbados on slave ships. Where ever did you get that idea? Yes your West African ancestors were brought to Barbados on slave ships. And there is no point being sick and tired of it. ALL of us have to learn to live with the TRUTH, regardless of how difficult that truth is. It is NEVER possible to make the truth go away. It is NEVER DESIRABLE to make the truth go away.

Are you saying that Hillary Beckles, Chancellor of UWI, Cave Hill, doesn’t know his history?

Allow me to enlighten you. The first boat to arrive in Barbados from the UK DID NOT HAVE families but a couple of soldiers, one or two women and a boat load of hardened criminals. Ask yourself: Why do you think they sent them to Barbados for a vacation?

What did Mr. Beckles on CBC say about the lot of white slave women?

What about the rednecks and “ecky-beckies”? You think they were sent to Barbados to see how the other side was living?

Whose vision of the roots of Barbados is SIMPLISTIC?

19. Oh dear, oh dear Bajan in Exile’s Husband there is no reason to start cussing me.

Your cussing will NOT silence me.

You are mixing up freedom of speech with hate crimes.

And even though it is possible for hateful speech to lead to hate crimes the two are NOT one and the same.

If you can find evidence that ANYBODY in the U.S. was jailed for SPEAKING out against (or for) abortion, please present such evidence to this blog.

And it is NOT TRUE to say that any U.N convention supercedes the right of Americans to speak freely in the United States.

I doubt that the U.S. Congress or Supreme Court would permit such.

20. Bajan-in-Exile's Husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s Husband

J:

Go check for yourself and don’t be surprised by the results.

It is not on the surface but it happened in Clinton’s era……..you’ll have to dig, not scratch (LOL)

21. @ B-I-E and her husband!

SHUPESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!

22. Bush Tea // November 16, 2008 at 10:45 pm

John,
    Don’t get tied up. You are normally one of the most logical bloggers I know….

The same way that ‘public subscription’ put Nelson where he is, Public opinion (and if needed, vote) could and should take him down. When Sandi turned him about-face wasn’t that public subscription? you think Sandi paid from his pocket?

The difference between this act of Government (turning around Nelson) and the public subscription to which I refer is that individual people pulled their pockets quite separate from their taxes, and paid for the land and to erect the various memorials.

I have heard Keith Laurie argue that the land might not even belong to Government!! An interesting point.

Wars are fought when politicians fail to compromise. It is not politicians who give their blood, it is ordinary people.

They give that blood because their leaders failed them and they believe strongly enough in the justness of their cause to give that blood.

The members of parliament of the day did not see after the erection of the memorials, the people did.

No doubt the members of parliament subscribed as well, but in their private capacity.

Government was a passenger.

Those memorials were put there by the people.

Did the Government have the power to prevent it?

Sure, …. but you think they were mad?

23. Dear Bajan in Exile’s husband:

You wrote “Are you saying that Hillary Beckles, Chancellor of UWI, Cave Hill, doesn’t know his history? ”

No I did not say that Professor Beckles, (my most honored and honorable kinsman) does not know his history. He certainly knows his history. And I know mine.

However it is clear that you do not know yours.

There is a HUGE difference between being an indentured servant, or transported criminal and being a slave.

One of the major differences is that the status of slave during trans-Atlantic slavery was transmissible from mother to child. An indentured servant’s child did not automatically become an indentured servant. But a enslaved woman’s child automatically became a slave. That means that the slave master OWNED the woman’s fertility.

There are other differences, but seriously you should sign up for a course in trans-Atlantic slavery. Most respectable universities in the English speaking world offer such courses. If you are a senior citizen you may be able to take the course without paying a fee.

24. @ David:

I mentioned above, that if you all care to you could put Lord Nelson’s statue in the dump as far as I am concerned. It is written go back and refer to it.

My issue on this blog and many others is the general vilification, animosity and hatred written against Bajans and other people of lighter complexions.

It’s a matter of record.

Bajan-in-Exile’s Husband states:

As far as the contribution you have made from Professor Emeritus Alvin Thompson: He, in seeking to please or appease the popular opinion today and further his interests by fanning a narrow-minded point-of-view is denying the validity of the decisions made by the citizenry of that era.

However, if we were to follow this line of reasoning, he would have to forego his current employment as the University of the West Indies would not exist were it not for unpopular decisions by previous generations.

And all the Harrison College grads and Professors of higher reasoning holding out for other energies other than what is available to the rest of us mere mortals would shoot Errol Barrow for implementing free public education….. taking it out of the vestry……a most unpopular decision at the time for you history buffs or separating the state from the Anglican church…….contrary to popular opinion at the time. All beneficial decisions are not necessarily popular.

I therefore tender that the benefit of a decision or its validity is not based on its popularity at the time.

25. Bajan-in-Exile's Husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s Husband

J:

For all of your enlightenment and University courses etc. you obviously were never told that indentured slaves NOT SERVANTS were treated worse than slaves for life which were valuable chattel.

Think you can handle that one without taking a university course???

26. BT

I have no problem with removing all three memorials and resiting them elsewhere possibly the middle of the Garrison!!

In fact, I think resiting is the only sensible thing to do because none of them are to persons who fit in with the Government’s definition of what is a National Hero and no longer belong in Heroes Square.

I also accept the argument that if it can be shown that there is oil/gold, preferably gold under the land and it is the only place in Barbados where they can be had then move them.

I accept progress.

The Hilton and Sandy Lane are built over the graves of several people.

The Government concretised what was I believe an old slave burial ground down Fontabelle.

St. Joseph’s Church was removed from its former site and rebuilt where it is today after the 1831 hurricane as was St. Andrew’s Church.

But there were real reasons for doing these things in the name of progress …… at least I think there were.

I am not sure if I understand David’s statement about “finding our rhythm as a people”. ….. sounds unintelligible to me …!!!

27. … I forgot Christ Church, that was moved in the 1600’s too.

28. @Bajan-In-Exile’s husband..

FYI the “United Nations” is nothing but a tool of the brotherhood. No human created organisation can dictate to other humans when,what,why and how they should speak. This is the same org. whose members condone genocide all over this planet. What this front is really trying to do is to is to shut down those who speak against atrocities. This is the same tool that is used to poison black and brown people all over this planet with toxic vaccines and GMO food. This is the same org. whose “peacekeeping force” traverse the earth and commit heinous crimes i.e. rape. The UN can determine what is and isn’t hate speech but they can’t protect poor,defenseless,innocent men,women and children from being wasted with bombs every night! In the US its a crime to drive while being black. So much for the ‘Bill of Rights.’ I dare both of you to say where you’re exiled and don’t let foot-in-the-mouth shame you.

29. …. I say again, not one of our Government defined, Committee selected National Heroes spent any time under constant threat of death and not one lost his/her life as did those in whose memory the memorials are erected by their peers.

In fact, one is still alive.

30. Dear Hopi:

It not a crime to drive while being black anywhere in the world.

That is an urban legend.

31. Duppy Lizard // November 16, 2008 at 11:04 pm

But John, the point is that these monmuents were erected by a white administration – albeit, some mongoloid.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

I think you are missing the point, … then again, you may have it spot on.

32. I think that we should put a statue of a hard working Bajan woman just where Nelson is now.

Call it WOMAN.

I don’t need to explain why. All of you who have grandmothers, mothers, aunts, sisters, girlfriends, wives, daughters and grand daughters will understand why.

If you don’t understand ask any of the women mentioned in the paragraph above.

33. Thanks John for telling us about all the churches or cemeteries that were moved.

So yes it is possible to re-site a memorial without offending the descendants of those who erected it.

34. So, …what is the real reason for suggesting Nelson be moved?

Does it block traffic?

Does it prevent the development of the area?

Is there gold underneath?

Is there Oil underneath?

Does Four Seasons want to build another hotel?

How exactly does it impede progress?

It has been interesting to read the contributions because I am no closer to understanding the reasoning behind its suggested removal …. or for that matter, what could go in its place.

35. Dear Bajan in Exile:

You wrote “J, apparently you and others who continue to abuse me”

Please cut and paste on this blog the abusive words which you claim that I used to you.

36. Bajan-in-Exile's Husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s Husband

Indentured Servitude in Colonial America
    By Deanna Barker, Frontier Resources

Read the whole thing for yourselves ….excerpts

Wherever you find slavery, you first find indentures.

Criminals convicted of a capital crime in England could be transported in lieu of a death sentance (for the theft of an item with a cost of as little as one shilling). Servitude also could result from indebtedness, where a person, their spouse or parents owed money, and the person was sold into servitude to recover the debt. In other cases, a parish indentured orphans in order to keep them off the poor roles. Plus, the poor sometimes sold themselves into indenture just to survive.

In theory, the person is only selling his or her labor. In practice, however, indentured servants were basically slaves and the courts enforced the laws that made it so. The treatment of the servant was harsh and often brutal. In fact, the Virginia Colony prescribed “bodily punishment for not heeding the commands of the master.” (Ballagh, 45) Half the servants died in the first two years. As a result of this type of treatment, runaways were frequent. The courts realized this was a problem and started to demand that everyone have identification and travel papers. (A.E. Smith 264-270).

Might it be thought that the “white massa” in America was any more cruel than the “white massa” in the Caribbean?

Furthermore, where could the escapees run to in Barbados? You think they named Hall???

37. Bush Tea:

I see that hours have expired and you have been unable to answer my question. Perhaps you are lost for words.

I have a suggestion for you: Are Nelson’s descendants perhaps the proprietors located on Nelson Street!!!?

Hopi, can we find Queen Elizabeth’s ilk at the hospital?

Perhaps on one of the lower floors — the mortuary?? Or maybe in Queen’s Park on Sunday afternoon?

38. Bajan-in-Exile's husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s husband

David:

Following Professor Emeritus Alvin Thompson’s argument and projected into the next century when the game of cricket as played in the year 1998 to 2008 is no longer considered culturally or whatever reason acceptable would it be an acceptable argument to us today to pull down Sir Garfield Sobers’ statue because the game of cricket was not played by everybody or enjoyed by everybody in Barbados?

39. Bajan-in-Exile's husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s husband

David:

Following Professor Emeritus Alvin Thompson’s argument and projected into the next century when the game of cricket as played in the year 1998 to 2008 is no longer considered culturally or whatever reason acceptable would it be an acceptable argument to us today to pull down Sir Garfield Sobers’ statue because the game of cricket was not played by everybody or enjoyed by everybody in Barbados?

40. I come on these blogs an I disagree frequently and vigorously, but I NEVER abuse anyone.

If you regard disagreement as abuse then I am truly sorry for you.

I know very well that everyplace outside of BArbados is not cold, but you called yourself Bajan in Exile. I did not give you that name. The word
    exile connotes distance, alienation, coldness, being shut out etc. in other words coldness. But hey you named yourself.

41. Bajan-in-Exile's husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s husband

J

Taken from Dictionary.net
    1. Enforced removal from one’s native country.
    2. Self-imposed absence from one’s country.
    2. The condition or a period of living away from one’s native country.
    3. One who lives away from one’s Wnative country, whether because of expulsion or voluntary absence.

Are you off your meds……..

1. where have you lifted abuse from any of our comments??

2, What university, perhaps those who offer free courses to the senile, instructed you of this definition for in Exile:

exile connotes distance, alienation, coldness, being shut out etc. in other words coldness. But hey you named yourself.

J: I suggest you seek another hall of learning.

42. Bajan-in-Exile's husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s husband

J

Taken from Dictionary.net
    1. Enforced removal from one’s native country.
    2. Self-imposed absence from one’s country.
    2. The condition or a period of living away from one’s native country.
    3. One who lives away from one’s Wnative country, whether because of expulsion or voluntary absence.

Are you off your meds……..

1. where have you lifted abuse from any of our comments??

2, What university, perhaps those who offer free courses to the senile, instructed you of this definition for in Exile:

J: I suggest you seek another hall of learning.

43. Bajan-in-Exile's husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s husband

J:

Going back through this blog I did state that I was being abused.

Taken from Wikipedia:

Verbal abuse (also called reviling) is a form of abusive behavior involving the use of language. It is a form of profanity in that it can occur with or without the use of expletives. Whilst oral communication is the most common form of verbal abuse, it includes abusive words in written form.

Again, for your further edification, education and enlightenment there are several types of abuse not only physical. Have you never heard of verbal abuse?

Well the type of insults that have been levelled at me for the whole world to read can surely be defined as VERBAL ABUSE as clearly laid out by Wikipedia above.

44. Bajan-in-Exile's husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s husband

J:

Going back through this blog I did state that I was being abused.

Taken from Wikipedia:

Verbal abuse (also called reviling) is a form of abusive behavior involving the use of language. It is a form of profanity in that it can occur with or without the use of expletives. Whilst oral communication is the most common form of verbal abuse, it includes abusive words in written form.

Again, for your further edification, education and enlightenment there are several types of abuse not only physical. Have you never heard of verbal abuse?

Well the type of insults that have been levelled at me for the whole world to read can surely be defined as VERBAL ABUSE as clearly laid out by Wikipedia above.

45. Bajan-in-Exile's husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s husband

David:

I love quoting or trying to quote Calypsonians and other people who make statements that I think are profound while simple or memorable and one Trinidadian calypsonian’s line comes to mind:

“Sitting on the river and talking the river bad is something we must stop here in Trinidad”……..very popular calypsonian during the 1970’s.

Shouldn’t the current Barbadians and bloggers appreciate the wisdom of this simple line before they commit their keyboards to promoting hatred of others by virtue of the colour of their skin?

Reality check: Barbados’ most enduring foreign exchange earner is sugar cane, who buys most of the sugar and the rum? Perhaps some will say no, it’s not sugar cane but is it flying fish? Who is buying the flying fish that is exported? Some will say it’s not fisheries either……..it’s Off Shore Banking. Who owns most of the companies or monies in these Off Shore Banks? Nigerians??? Saudis?? People from southern India? Maybe South Americans? Have you all asked yourself this question: What would happen if the depositors in these banks are “white people”?

How about Tourism, that’s our business isn’t it? Are most of the tourists from Japan? From the latest Asian fortune 500 country? Where are the most of the tourists that come to Barbados coming from?

How can you all possibly expect that the non-bloggers who earn their daily sustenance by serving these tourists will not be affected by the continual espousing of racial hatred by persons who have the opportunity to do so?

Even if the tourists don’t read the blog from the time they get off that airplane at GA till the time they leave they are going to be in the care of persons who are forced to be either hypocrites or are going to express their distaste for having to serve these “white people”.

Are you sitting on the river and talking the river bad?

Further to the spurious argument about the placement of Nelson, what percentage of these tourists care anything about Garfield Sobers, Errol Barrow or even Sir Grantley but they can identify with Lord Horatio Nelson. The victor of the battle of Trafalgar.

Therefore, when you have purged Barbados of all that reminds you of slavery and your former colonial masters, what will you be selling or using to attract their great grandchildren to come and visit you to spend their hard-earned money (because money don’t grow on trees up there) with you? And not some other West African, East African, Pacific or even Caribbean island that has the common sense to retain its heritage, whether black or white, slave or massa?

46. Bajan-in-Exile's husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s husband

David:

I love quoting or trying to quote Calypsonians and other people who make statements that I think are profound while simple or memorable and one Trinidadian calypsonian’s line comes to mind:

“Sitting on the river and talking the river bad is something we must stop here in Trinidad”……..very popular calypsonian during the 1970’s.

Shouldn’t the current Barbadians and bloggers appreciate the wisdom of this simple line before they commit their keyboards to promoting hatred of others by virtue of the colour of their skin?

Reality check: Barbados’ most enduring foreign exchange earner is sugar cane, who buys most of the sugar and the rum? Perhaps some will say no, it’s not sugar cane but is it flying fish? Who is buying the flying fish that is exported? Some will say it’s not fisheries either……..it’s Off Shore Banking. Who owns most of the companies or monies in these Off Shore Banks? Nigerians??? Saudis?? People from southern India? Maybe South Americans? Have you all asked yourself this question: What would happen if the depositors in these banks are “white people”?

How about Tourism, that’s our business isn’t it? Are most of the tourists from Japan? From the latest Asian fortune 500 country? Where are the most of the tourists that come to Barbados coming from?

How can you all possibly expect that the non-bloggers who earn their daily sustenance by serving these tourists will not be affected by the continual espousing of racial hatred by persons who have the opportunity to do so?

Even if the tourists don’t read the blog from the time they get off that airplane at GA till the time they leave they are going to be in the care of persons who are forced to be either hypocrites or are going to express their distaste for having to serve these “white people”.

Are you sitting on the river and talking the river bad?

Further to the spurious argument about the placement of Nelson, what percentage of these tourists care anything about Garfield Sobers, Errol Barrow or even Sir Grantley but they can identify with Lord Horatio Nelson. The victor of the battle of Trafalgar.

Therefore, when you have purged Barbados of all that reminds you of slavery and your former colonial masters, what will you be selling or using to attract their great grandchildren to come and visit you to spend their hard-earned money (because money don’t grow on trees up there) with you? And not some other West African, East African, Pacific or even Caribbean island that has the common sense to retain its heritage, whether black or white, slave or massa?

47. Dear Bajan in Exile’s husband:

You claimed that “J” abused you.

I ask you again to document the abusive words, sentences or paragraphs in which you are claiming that “J” abused you.

Show me the EVIDENCE.

48. And Dear Bajan in Exile:

Once you have seen (as I have) the very impressive statue that the British have quite rightly erected to THEIR hero Horatio Nelson, then there is no need to travel to Barbados to see the puny little thing at the head of Broad Street.

You really think that British tourists spend good money to come to Barbados to see Nelson? When they have a big, big, pretty Nelson right in the heart of London?

British tourists come to Barbados primarily to get away from the cold for a while.

Stupseee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

49. And you abusing the elderly too?

I said senior citizen

Being 65 or older does NOT equal senility. Many of us remain in good physical, mental and intellectual health right up into our 90’s.

50. Ms. J:

You said:

But neither Hopi nor Bush Tea mentioned white or caucasian in their posts.

I said:

J, apparently you and others who continue to abuse me for my opinions are unable to comprehend the written words and subtle nuances that are often IMPLIED.

Hopi stated: because people like your figure head David Thompson are just representatives, underlings and minions of queen elizardbeth and her ilk.

What is meant by minions of Queen Elizabeth and her ilk?

Bush Tea Stated:

However, in reality, I am wondering if the very fact that we have been gutless, indecisive, pandering to every whim and fancy of foreigners- (especially of the Nelson kind), and that our leaders, -no matter what their rhetoric beforehand, soon become puppets of Nelsons’s descendants…..

What inference is made from pandering to every whim and fancy of foreigners (especially the Nelson kind) and ………….. Nelson’s descendants?

Who are Nelson’s kind and Nelson’s descendants? People of African origin?

What I explained but you apparently have not “got it” is: that while caucasians and whites were not directly mentioned in their posts, the inferences of that were clearly for anyone with a modicum of sense to see.

Ms. J, I’m being patient with you now…. I already gave you the definition of verbal abuse but in case you a) did not read it or b) did not understand it, try to do so now:

Verbal abuse (also called reviling) is a form of abusive behavior involving the use of language.

Definition of reviling:

Syn: To reproach; vilify; upbraid; calumniate.

Definition of reproach:

: an expression of rebuke or disapproval

Did you not rebuke/reproach/upbraid me by saying that neither Hopi nor Bush Tea said………..

We could go on for the rest of the night, if you like. I love semantics.

Is that enough evidence for you?