Nelson Statue Located In Heroes Square Barbados

It is the month of November when Barbadians will proudly celebrate forty two years as a sovereign country. We are told that the broken trident emblazoned on our national flag represents the break from our colonial past represented by England our colonial master at the time. The BU household is fully aware of the tremendous achievements we have made as a tiny island nation comparable with other countries better endowed with financial and other resources.

As a predominantly Black country we can wear our economic and social achievements proudly. As we  continue to bask in our achievements in the relative brief period of sovereignty, we are aware that we still have a long road to travel to foster that esprit de corps we will need  sustain our success. We believe that in recent years the focus of our development has been skewed towards physical at the expense of our social and moral development.

Under the previous government, to their credit they established the Pan African Commission, rebranded Trafalgar Square, Heroes Square and planted the Errol Barrow statue in Independence Square among our symbolic acts targeted at nation building. However the contentious issue of whether Nelson Statue should be removed from Heroes Square remains outstanding.

We suspect that the previous government played politics with this issue to not offend certain interests.

The BU household’s position on whether Lord Nelson should be moved is simple. We cannot deny our past so therefore we do not agree that it should be dumped in the wharf. However if as a country we have seen the need to rename Trafalgar Square to Heroes Square then it becomes fairly obvious, given the symbolism of doing so, that Lord Nelson should not occupy the prominence it now enjoys. Several other locations are available to resite Lord Nelson statue. Does the Thompson government have the commonsense to make the sensible decision?

Here is a contra-position:

Submitted as a comment by John on the Graeme Hall Sanctuary Blog

Go and actually read some history and you will find that not only did Nelson’s victory at the Nile in 1798 save Africa from French invasion, but that he also played a deciding hand in Haitian Independence in 1804.

… and the Louisiana Purchase by America is also directly attributable to the impact he had on French aspirations outside of Europe.

… and how do you think we are able to read the hieroglyphics which opened the world’s eyes to the wonders of early Egyptian civilizations? (Rosetta Stone) Nelson’s impact on world history is far larger that Trafalgar. That was bare icing!! His place was secure long before he died. I just went on the ancestry.com website to look at some of the slaves called after Nelson in 1834.

Here are some examples:

Beck Ann Nelson, Ben Nelson, Betty Easter Nelson, Betty Nelson,Black Nelson, Bob Nelson, Bob Nelson, Bob Nelson, Casar Nelson, Casar Nelson, Daniel Nelson, Debby Nelson, Edward Nelson, Frances Louisa Nelson, George Nelson, George Nelson, George Nelson, George Nelson, George Nelson, George Nelson, Hesther Nelson, Horatia Nelson, Horatio Nelson, Horatio Nelson, Ino Ewd Nelson, James E Nelson, James Nelson, James Nelson, James Nelson, Jim Nelson, Joe Nelson, Joe Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, Joseph Nelson, Kitty Nelson, Lord Nelson, M Nelson, Mary Nelson

Why do you think the Horatio Cooke Auditorium in Belmont Road has in the name Horatio? Wonder how the deejay Admiral Nelson got his name? It is a simple fact that Horatio and Nelson were used as christian names from 1798 onward all over the world. Some families actually used those two names over several generations!!

This is not a phenomena limited only to one race or country. It is found throughout the world. Go to familysearch.org and choose a surname and put in horatio as a christian name. Chances are you will get several hits from around the world.

People make the mistake of thinking that Nelson is simply Trafalgar and actually believe that the statue only commemorates the Battle of Trafalgar. The statue is a memorial to a remarkable man and every Bajan living at the time had a hand in its erection.

Go and actually read what it says on the statue and stop listening to people who do not read!! Read, and start thinking for yourself. When you do, think for a moment about why August 1st could have been chosen as emancipation day!!

You will find a compelling reason on the statue!!

Did you know also that there is a “Nelson” Island off the coast of Africa in Aboukir Bay, and why do you think we have a Trafalgar Street, … and a Nile street!! This guy was a superstar in his day!! Only someone who does not read would miss the significance of his life and achievements on world history.

251 responses to “Lord Nelson Statue Stands Like A Colossus In Heroes Square”

1. One-who-should-stay-in-exile

The murder of millions of innocent people is a good thing? That is the most evil thing I’ve ever read on this blog! All in the pursuit of money for 400 years! Have you no shame?

Africans are not blameless but do not attempt to suggest that Europe did not muderously exploit their weaknesses.

Africa does not have a monopoly on tribal rivalries. What do you call what went on in the Balkans, in Ossetia, in Tibet, in Kashmir, in the tribal areas of Pakistan, in Chiapas (southern Mexico), in the Basque region of Spain, in Ireland, in Armenia and Azerbaijan, in Turkey between the Turks and the Kurds, in Sri Lanka between the Sinhalese and the Tamils, in Bali?

Have you ever wondered who supplies the weapons that are used in the Congo today? Have you not heard of French complicity in the Rawandan massarce? Did you not read of the treatment of the Congolese by Belgium. The massarce of the Ovambo people by the Germans ? Did you not know of apartheid and the Boers of South Africa? There are no arms industries in the Congo. Who supplied the weapons there and in Liberia and Sierra Leone so as to get at the diamonds? Ever heard of Simon Mann ? Google him and check out his link with Maggie Thatcher’s son! Check out the role of the Chinese in Darfur. Who armed Saddam Hussein so that he could slaughter the Kurds and the Shiites of south Iraq? By your own admission even in the USA there are people living in slave like conditions.

It is not my nose which is in any filth however you Mrs Exile are wallowing in it.

2. To Barbadians Black, White and every other race and creed, please read what this woman-in-exile is suggesting! That the murder and exploitation of a people was something good because the descendents of those people against all the odds and privations have struggled, persevered and made a life for themselves surpassing the expectations of their oppressors. That we should show “gratitude” to the oppressors by honouring one of their leaders because (as she implies) we are incapable of great things, of knowledge, of beauty, of love. Well if we have any self worth, any dignity, any honour for those gone before we would pull that cursed statue down and throw it to the bottom of the sea!

While it stands there, they mock us and hold us in contempt and grow confident that they can enslave once again indeed that the mental chains hold fast and stiffle our spirits.

3. When my offsprings go to school I tell them to question everything that they are being force fed. When they come home we sit down and decipher every bit and we know to keep it in context.

Hopi, ur children’s school must ‘love’ u and ur children!! – NOT!! Do u have any consideration for ur children, instead of ur own foolish, mouthings!!

Why don’t u take ‘Bajan In Exile’s Husband’s’ advice and, “stop dreaming”!!

Also, how do wunna people expect people to know who they’re talking to when so many of u post as ‘Anonymous’!!

Wunna Bajans ‘funny’ e!! U mean to say yuh so cowardly, that even on a blog u caan even use a name so people will know exactly, who duh addressing and who exactly, addressing dem!!

Lord a mercy!! Bajans!!

4. Anonymous, we move with the times. You apparently don’t and so your usefulness to society and its evolution are over.

A few facts, not that I suppose for a second that you will either accept or appreciate them:

Barbados’ first slaves were WHITE, not black. Many people arrived in Barbados to escape the Spanish Inquisition – being tortured and burned in their own countries. We blacks were sold out by our own people. Blacks were not the first slaves in the World. The Jews were not the first or the only victims of genocide but they, like us blacks, seem to want to keep people focussed on them solely.

There comes a time when we have to get over being black and simply be human beings. Today in most first world countries there is what is known as Hate Crime Legislation and your last post falls right in the middle of it and would, in most of those countries that boast (and I mean boast – and rightly so) this legislation subject you to a time in jail and some intensive psychiatric treatment.

You are defunct as the dodo and an inhibitor to those who are making rapid strides towards a colour-blind and creed-less world where ALL men and women are equal. You are a preacher of racial hatred incapable of seeing or appreciating the sacrifice made by great men and women of no-matter-what colour or creed. You are racist in the worst and most extreme way. You are wasting space. Worse, you are seeking to put the very cause you claim to espouse, and for which I and others have fought all our lives, back 100 years.

Get a life!

5. Thanks everyone for weighing in on this contentious issue. in the same way John is not convinced by the rhetoric as to why we should move the Nelson statue, the BU household is equally not convinced that we have placed enough attention on the prominent symbols in our country and the relationship/affect it has on the need to decolonize our minds. Even within our constitution we still seem to have a comfort level to live with parts of our constitution which repatriates certain rights to Mother Country England.

How can we emerge as a nation confident in who we are if these serious issues remain unsettled?

We also have to say that like some commenters we are disappointed by some of the vitriol which is being spewed by a few. We regret it and if it continues we will close the topic.

6. I dont care who was the first slaves all I know is that black poeple have faced the worse type of slavery EVER! And I refuse to apologise for calling an ace an ace Anon Ignore these persons who decide that it was ok to be murdered and raped and sodomised and all the other evil things that were done to my foreparents.

When I named my first born child I gave him a Jewish name as well as an African name. When I read the jewish histiory those people have never conformed they have never once denied their faith. We as a people do not have an identity. When I read some of the PITHLE that is commented on, it is as if my own do not want to even admit that you could smell those godam slave boats before you could see them. You could smell DEATH, FEAR, and lastly DESPAIR!

The Jews have never been asked to forget about the holocaust but you all want me and my children to forget about the shit (pun intended) that persons have done to us and if given the chance will do again!

TELL THEM TO TRY IT AGAIN!

JUST TRY IT AGIAN!

I WIILL DIE FIRST THIS TIME!

that is no talk !

Ya all and your bull! If it were your loved ones I wont be hearing this crap but You all just read and go to sleep at night and say oh times have changed not one shite has changed because you all are still asleep!

You all still believe that all people are nice people! LMAO stupse

7. BWWR

You claim to have legal training? Can’t you maintain the act? What a joke.

You wrote “The Jews were not the first or the only victims of genocide but they, like us blacks, seem to want to keep people focussed on them solely.” I challenge you to put your real name to that quote and utter those words in public in Canada or Europe and we will see who is subjected to legal enquiry. That single word “solely” is enough to convict you. Not only is it untruthful but it is malicious.

What racist claims have I made? What racial hatred do I espouse? That nelson worked on behalf of the british colonial system that exploited people the world over, but mostly Black people, is not racist it is the truth! That Barbados, today, seeks to gaurantee the human rights of ALL persons and that the views of a nelson would be deemed abhorant today, is being racist? Is it not racist to say that slavery was to the benefit of Black people as the couple-in-exile did?

Good Lord, I naively thought we really had moved on but now I can see who is really harbouring the racist views and claiming to be progressive!

On behalf of our Black slave forefathers and the white indentured servants and the Indian indentured servants and ALL oppressed people everywhere – TAKE nELSON DOWN AND THROW THAT VILE OBJECT IN THE SEA!

8. David
    what vitriol is being spewed? Examples please so I could avoid same in the future. Not all anonymous are the same!

No lover of liberty and the concept of all people being created equal could idly and dispassionately sit and fail to respond to the absurd (no evil) claim that slavery was a good thing and that Black West Indians should be thankful for it “because look we better than those Africans”.

Can’t you see what nelson means to them?

9. God Help Barbados Avatar
    God Help Barbados

BWWR: IF Barbados had Hate Crime Legislation, it is not posters such as the Anonymous who suffers from internal rot that would be charged but the owner of this blog for allowing and therefore promoting the hate crime. I have repeatedly tried to get this thru the rather thick and stubborn skull of “David” to no avail.
    I have also raised the issue with David of the damage that this will do to Barbados’ world profile and it’s tourism sector, again, all to no avail.
    Hens come home to roost.

10. My God…!

11. God Help Barbados // November 18, 2008 at 9:24 am

BWWR: IF Barbados had Hate Crime Legislation,

This would b no more than an excuse to extinguish our right to freedom of speech. Take it from a person who lives in a country with such legislation, and would lead to your suffering a new, kind of silent-slavery!! Take it from me – HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH IT, AT ALL!! LET PEOPLE EXPRESS THEIR OPINIONS!!

12. What we have right here on this thread is the ‘CRAB IN THE BARREL’ mindset in its purest form. A few of us here are trying to desperately free ourselves from those bonds that are unseen to the naked human eye, however some of us are aware of their existence. Yet some of you here still want to keep those claws in us to keep us in that barrel. For those of you who love celebrating nelson and his ilk, I say go right ahead and enjoy them, don’t let us get in your way. If slavery was good for you, I say may your slavemaster bless you and keep you and cause his light to shine upon you. But for myself I’m breaking out of the shackles moving on to higher ground.
    Peace!

13. Anonymous

Chatoyer belongs to the period 1794 to 1798, “The Brigand’s War” in the Caribbean.

Check also “Alexandre Moreau De Jonnes ” to appreciate what was being orchestrated out of Guadeloupe by Victot Hughes to destabilise the English Colonies.

Check also “Richepanse” and “Delgres” to see what happened in Guadeloupe after this period, in the early 1800’s.

Delgres you will find, was a very remarkable man.

It amazes me our historians do not speak to the French experience in the Caribbean.

… and I agree with you David that we have not placed enough attention on the prominent symbols in our country

…….. but I am a bit leary of looking for the relationship/affect it has on the need to decolonize our minds.

I disagree that there is any necessity to tear down any symbol that is there already,

….. put by Barbadians who lived through the hardship and made the sacrifice long before we came along.

We cannot begin to imagine the hardships suffered by those who worked and fought to build what we fritter away today.

We may have the power to mess with what was put there because we are alive, … but we have no right.

14. When will bigoted, ‘racist’ Blacks and and Whites, ever learn that ALL of this hatred, bitterness, and anger has absolutely nothing to do with the colour of ones SKIN?

It comes from SIN, which permeates the entire human race, and is manifested in various degrees in different cultures.

Some Black ‘Dictators’ in Africa are still living in luxury while their ‘own’ people continue to suffer. Who are you going to blame for this? The white man? Or someone else.

Mankind throughout the world in in ‘CRISIS’ it has nothing to do with ‘Colour’ the present ‘Economic’ meltdown, is affecting ALL of us, and it will continue to get worse, we ain’t seen nothing yet; and some people are STILL going on and on with the foolishness about ‘race’ wake up and realize what is happening?

15. Hopi
    I agreed with you.It seems as usual many of us blacks want to justify slavery and the brutality that came with it.When I could read that the murdering of millions of people is justify and correct so that a limited few could enjoy the sweets of life,it shows the level many of us has sunk to.
    The justification of Lord Nelson as a hero is mind boggling to say the least.
    Hopi the black race is a doom race and nothing we say could prevent the ultimate destruction of us.we are on our last legs and the fate that the Caribs,Arawaks & American Red Indians experienced is awaiting us.Ipredict there will be no black people on this earth in the next 100 years or less.
    On that note I signed off the blogs.

16. Negroman….

I had actually singed off this thread but you just brought me back. I want to say to you NO, NO, NO. Black people are not doomed. If there’s only a few of us carrying on the fight we can never be doomed. Don’t allow negative forces/energy to silence you. There is the broad way and the narrow way and the former is quite an easy trek and it is littered with all kinds but HOPI will stay on this lonesome, narrow path and I will not allow fools to deter me. Evil prospers when good men do nothing. If BU firewalls me, then so be it but don’t get frustrated. EVIL PROSPERS WHEN GOOD MEN DO NOTHING!

17. I didnt want to come on this blog but i must. When Bajan in exile states as a black man that indentured servants were treated worse than slaves i laughed til I cry. i cried to know that a black man could be so brow beaten and conformist that he spews apologetic nonsense defending his race’s oppression.

For the record indentured servants were tied to the plantation they were indentured to but their children were not the property of the plantation. Their wives and mothers were not the property of the plantation to be used as breeding stock. there were no Farms whose sole purpose was the production of slaves and this became very prevalent after prohibiton of the trafficking in slaves in 1807 I think it was. FINALLY the master could and would sell off children or wives or husbands to other plantations if he wanted. Slaves were treated worse than how cows and sheep were treated. Dont ever try to justify it or rationalise it. it shows a level of ignorance and captivity that is sickening.

18. sorry correction; “there wereFarms whose sole purpose was the production of slaves”

19. To Anonymous // November 17, 2008 at 8:42 pm … you said: Cruiser shut the FUC*** up! You talking bare shite! It is not in my mind that we were dragged and whipped across here amongst shite and pist what the hell are you saying is that all in my mind too! What are you saying!

I’m saying you are not there now. But you can choose to remain there, and be chained there … in your mind … You are here now, in the present, which is the only time and place there is. Get on with your life/

The world and it’s peoples are not perfect. Wise up. For your own good, be here. Now.

Of course, next time you have a head ache you can cut your wrist and let out some blood instead to swallowing a Panadol. Its your choice.

20. Bajan-in-Exile's Husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s Husband

Cruiser……….ain’t that the TRUTH!

21. Bajan-in-Exile's Husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s Husband

Cruiser……….ain’t that the TRUTH!

22. Bajan-in-Exile M/M Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile M/M

BWWR:

Thanks for your thoughtful input to this debate.

Anonymous (whichever one you really are):

I, Mrs Bajan in exile have categorically stated, no less than 3 times on this thread, could give two hoots where you all put Nelson.

That is not the point, my friend.

The point is the hatred and vitriol that certain of you spew out vis-a-vis the colour of people’s skins. How puerile.

Quite a few others have thankfully joined the sanity bandwagon.

Perhaps it’s time you went back on your meds (LOL)!

23. In 1989
    I wrote and sang a song entitled ‘Nelson Must Come Down’

I remembered hearing a ‘female’ in the front row of the audience saying -“oh we have heard that already”

We in Barbados are not serious about such things. The reason is that from slavery until today, we as a people have had our confidence undermined by the ‘rulers’ through the continued reluctance to teach us our history.

We will not be liberated until we know our history.

Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier say so

24. P.S

CBC has a good copy of the song through its longtime employee
    Admiral Nelson.

Call CBC and ask them to play the song
    Such songs should be played everyday. I could do with the royalties instead of them sending most of the royalties outside of Barbados. They should also play the songs -‘Too Much FAT on de Road’ and the sequel -‘still 2 much FAT on the road’.

The refusal to push local music is a similar situation to allowing Nelson to remain in Bridgetown: A serious lack of awareness

25. Asiba says:

The refusal to push local music is a similar situation to allowing Nelson to remain in Bridgetown: A serious lack of awareness

Who refuses Asiba?? Kind of hard to blame “whites” for that. Last time I checked all the DJ’s were black.

26. @ Bajan in Exile
    Kind of hard to blame “whites” for that. Last time I checked all the DJ’s were black.

You think de black DJs control de radio stations? Or the big wigs that advertise on the stations?

The more you speak the more you show how damn stupid and ignorant you are.

27. Three lines from our National Anthem are:

“We write our names on history’s page …”

“Strict guardians of our heritage”

“Firm craftsmen of our fate”

Our ancestors wrote their names on history’s page and left for us a heritage of which we are guardians.

We must now craft our fate and leave a heritage for future generations to guard.

It is now our turn to write our names on history’s page.

Nowhere does it say that we get to erase what has gone before.

The only erasing we can do is what we have done …. if we reckon it is a mistake.

We get to do that.

I came across these words about the humble pencil on the internet.

“5 important lessons to learn from a humble pencil.

1. It tells you that everything you do will always leave a Mark .

2. You can always correct the mistake you make.

3. The important thing in life is what you are from inside and not from out side .

4. In life you will undergo painful sharpening which will make you better in whatever you do.

5. Finally, to be the best you can be, you must allow yourself to be held and guided by the hand that holds you. “

28. Here is the French experience in Guadelope.

http://thelouvertureproject.org/index.php?title=Antoine_Richepanse

LeClerc failed in Haiti where Richepanse succeeded in Guadeloupe.

Both were able to bring their armies to the Caribbean in early 1802 because a peace treaty that interrupted the Revolutionary wars allowed free use of the seas.

Once hostilities resumed in 1803, Nelson blockaded the French navy and prevented reinforcements getting to Haiti from France.

Unfortunately, Delgres and Ignace had already been defeated in Guadeloupe by Richepanse and could not benefit from the respite which Nelson’s hold on the French Navy provided Dessallines in Haiti.

The remnants of the French army in Haiti, decimated by yellow fever and hostilities, and unable to get reinforcements or supplies from France, surrendered in late 1803 and Haiti declared its independence in 1804.

The British navy took out the survivors of Leclerc’s failed attempt to reimpose slavery in Haiti.

29. … and that is why when a Bajan tells you, “Go to France” or utters “Oh France” it means what it means!!

30. Anonymous:

You have a plaster for every sore.

So if all the blacks who have “apparent” power are controlled by whites who controls you?

Let me get their name so I could get you “tighten up” a little bit and back on line.

31. It is true about the influence of the advertisers on what type of music is played. Although I intend to pressure the radio stationS, I know that the dark shadows of the advertisers who do not give a damn of about Barbadian culture stretch very long over the what happens at the radio stations.

An on-air personality told me once that he tried to play local music outside of crop over and he was given a memo for doing so.

I recorded a song entitled GET UP AND GET -a song with a message to the youth and to people in general. It was played once on a radio station, the on-air personality interviewed me by calling me at home at the time the song was being played , I dont know if it was I said but after that the song was never heard again. (I was critical of the NCF and the same advertisers et al for the lack of support of local music) I KNOW WHAT TRANSPIRED.

Thank God, this song can now be heard on Bajantube.com and Imeem.com among others.

Thanks to the internet, I can upload the song on myspace, Youtube.com, Godtube.com and many others.

The advertisers in Barbados do not care anything about the development of Barbadian culture. They come from the school that says that we have no culture. As a matter of fact the moneyed people in Barbados do not care about the development of BLACK PEOPLE period ! Their only interest is to suck black people dry-PARASITES !

Look at the treatment of Spouge
    This is a lesson in suppresion and submerging of our our culture.
    BARBADOS WAKE UP !!

GET UP AND GET !

32. P.S

Culture Must be used as a TOOL OF LIBERATION.

This is the only real use of culture in our sphere

33. Admiral Nelson
    Richard Stoute
    Desmond Fowl Weekes

on the radio talking about playing local music
    Admiral saying that he dont want no more than 60/40 local/foreign music

you cannot ask the Government to give you 90 % and people record reggae music
    The argument is HOT

34. Here is what I wrote on another BLOG
    ——boycevoice.com————
    IT is only left to the LOCAL Radio Stations and ‘those’ DJs to give prominence to local music.I have been calling for the longest time for more air-play for local music. THERE IS SIMPLY NOT ENOUGH lOCAL music played on Local Radio Stations—-not near enough. The treatment of local music by Radio Stations in Barbados is pathetic and tantamount to destablisation and undermining of local artistes /arrangers/producers who make music.

TREASON -yes TREASON ! I am so passionate about this subject that I applied to the Commisioner of Police for permision to picket the Radio Stations. My aim was to picket with placards calling for more radio air-play. The Police denied me permission but I will be at it again as soon as I get the time.

When I make this statement calling for the playing of local music, some people feel that I am talking about Calypso. I am very aware of the vast amount of local music that is produced and recorded by local artistes in all genres.

Ricky Brathwaite , Andre Woodvine, Nicholas Branker, Boo Rudder have all produced Albums. Except as theme songs for a few radio and television shows where is this music played ?? There are gospel artistes producing music, church chours producing music, the Police Band , Hotel Bands, Steelpan men, Folk groups etc .

Then there is music produced at crop-over of course. For the last umpteen years, albums have been produced where one or none of the songs have been played. Tons of Music every year that is just thrown one side in preference to music particularly from America and Jamaica. You dont even get a variety from Jamaica -just the same clap trap-over and over again.

Barbados has produced a lot of music and it needs to be played. IT IS MY ATTENTION TO CALL TOGETHER ALL PERSONS WHO HAVE RECORDED MUSIC IN BARBADOS AND I WILL DOCUMENT MY FINDINGS AS TO THE NUMBERS OF SONGS THAT HAVE RECORDED OVER A 5 YEAR PERIOD, A 10 YEAR PERIOD——-20, 30 -40 . I BELIEVE THAT THE TOTAL WILL BE ASTOUNDING

POINT MADE !

ASIBA FOR CHANGE —-

35. Buffalo Soldier… people dont want to hear jump ‘n wave coming at them ad nausiatum all the time and that’s about all Bajan ‘artistes’ seem able to produce.

Well, we dont want to hear ‘gospel’ either.

THAT IS WHY so many many many are chosing to listen to internet radio. (As I’m doing right now.) And God help the lot when SATELITE RADIO starts being available here.

But you talk about music. So many ‘Bajan business people’ are asleep at the wheel… do you ever buy kitchen stuff? Go into Carter & Co to their kitchen section and take a look… see exactly the same stuff they been selling for the last 5 years. Ask the person (don’t know if they are male or female) for a cast iron frying pan with ribs on the bottom… and you’ll see a face that’s as mystified as a mystified face can look.

That is why, more and more, Bajans are staying home and shopping on the Internet.

Who’s *fault* is it?

36. Why are some Barbadians so eager to remove the statue? History is what it is. Go back and maintain the values that have made us what we are and that have kept our little nation so far. Praise God and respect, support and love the children & each other. Happy independence.

37. Did Nelson believe all men are created equal, that a society based on liberty, equality and fraternity was worth fighting for? Did Nelson see Africans as men in the image of God? The answers to these questions may help to explain why some Barbadians are so eager to remove that vile statue.

38. No nation on earth is independent of the other nations. However one hopes for interdependence and certainly not an obsequious, self-doubting state of fear in one own capacity to make one’s way in world.

Take nelson down, remove the queen of england as the Head of State of Barbados and it will be more Happy Independence indeed.

39. Anonymous // November 20, 2008 at 10:15 pm

Did Nelson believe all men are created equal, that a society based on liberty, equality and fraternity was worth fighting for?

Don’t know what Nelson believed but I do know that Haiti and Guadeloupe were the result of Liberty, Equality Fraternity.

By 1804 there was no economy in Haiti and a large part of its population was dead and gone.

Guadeloupe too suffered horribly as well as a result of Liberty, Equality, Fraternity.

Maybe Liberty, Equality, Fraternity were not what they were made out to be but they sure cost alot of lives.

40. Not as many lives as the Atlantic slave trade, however. John you really are disingenuous tonight. It doesnot become you.

41. @ Comment
    Why are some Barbadians so eager to remove the statue?
    Simple answer Comment.
    It is the same reason that some of us removed the other symbols of our dark past from areas of prominence and placed them in our museum.

You may have noticed that we no longer gave a stockade prominently displayed where slaves could be whipped.

Do you see slave huts being maintained for our people to live in?

This is the 21st century. we have created a new reality in Barbados and we need symbols that inspire our people to succeed in that new reality.

What Nelson what?!?

But that only goes for SOME of us.

The same people who would like to see us solve our housing problems with slave huts and who see the majority of us an not much more than modern slaves WILL continue to be inspired by Nelson.

They can have him.

Personally, I would replace him with my No. 3 favourite hero ‘Lowdown’ – and my all time Number 1, Wynter Crawford…..

….so John, if the then “authorities and citizens” had build a large memorial to defeating the riots of 1937 (when they murdered a number of Bajans and ‘saved’ the establishment)…. and this was in the middle of Bridgetown— you would expect us to leave that one too?

..Somebody asked what would have been our reaction had Nelson been black?…

..you serious?

Nelson who? …that statue would have been history before it became reality.

42. I would go for TT Lewis. He was truly heroic (in the mold of Dr Charles Duncan O’Neal).

Yes I am the same anonymous who was so repulsed by the invidious comments of the couple-in-exile.

43. Anonymous // November 20, 2008 at 11:23 pm

Not as many lives as the Atlantic slave trade, however. John you really are disingenuous tonight. It doesnot become you.
    France freed its slaves in 1794, long before the English did.

How can you have a revolution based on Liberty, Equality, Fraternity and have slavery!!

However, in 1802, the same Revolution, with the same ideals of Liberty, Equality, Fraternity, reimposed Slavery in Guadeloupe at a cost of 10,000 lives in a matter of months and then tried it in Haiti.

The point I was making was that the concepts of Liberty, Equality, Fraternity are open to interpretation.

The French Revolution showed in 1802 that slavery can be imposed under a regime based on the tenets of Liberty, Equality, Fraternity!!

The slaves of Guadeloupe, Martinique etc. were freed by the French in 1848.

These are the simple facts of history.

My comment sought to bring them out.

44. BT

….so John, if the then “authorities and citizens” had build a large memorial to defeating the riots of 1937 (when they murdered a number of Bajans and ’saved’ the establishment)…. and this was in the middle of Bridgetown— you would expect us to leave that one too?

Did you know that such a memorial actually exists, …. but to the dead of the 1937 riots, …. built by citizens, with no (I believe) help from Government!!

I think it is on private land so only the owners can move it.

I don’t think I hear a soul talking about it. Why is that?

To my mind, memorials are usually built to dead people, not to events.

I doubt what you suggest would have crossed anybody’s mind back then so I am not applying my mind to it either.

If you think about it you will see it is not worth considering.

… and here is another historical fact which puts the event of the riots into perspective.

The second world war started just two years after the riot yet Barbadians of all colours volunteered to fight (eg. Erroll Walton Barrow) and many died.

The memorial to those who died is on the Cenotaph.

I don’t believe the 1937 Riots were based on skin colour.

I think they had more to do with the extremely hard times Barbados was going through and the deprivation that people were suffering.

The conditions favoured Riots, just as the conditions in Russia favoured revolution 19 years earlier.

Professor Woodville Marshall once gave a lecture on the research he had done into how those riots were fomented.

I don’t know if he published as a result but I found it very interesting indeed, quite different from the normal accounts.

I’ll push my old memory if you want but I don’t have or know of any way of sourcing the information and hesitate to speak on something of which I don’t have or have not seen written evidence.

I hope you are beginning to see that the whole exercise of choosing National Heroes and naming a Heroes’ Square is not congruent with the memorials placed by our ancestors.

They are completely different processes.

I can only hope and pray that we never experience an upheaval that demands of us that we, like our ancestors before us, were forced to face.

45. John are you being deliberately thick in the head just to try to make a point? The ideas of liberty, equality and fraternity are IDEALS. That the French did not uphold these ideals does not negate their value.

You seem to be concerned with which European power Barbados should be beholden to. Nelson as representative of the british crown acted in support of everything that modern Barbados fights against. The statue should come down.

46. Tell how moving Nelson to another location in Barbados will alter our history? The current generation is charged with managing their space and in the process creating their own history for reasons which at the time is justified.

We wonder if Jamaica, Dominica, St. Lucia and others would be having this discussion. We can’t even get the majority of our people to wear the national colours or the merchants to respect the time by not ushering their Christmas routine. We are quickly slipping the way of becoming an internationalized jurisdiction.

47. Anonymous

Nelson as representative of the british crown acted in support of everything that modern Barbados fights against.
    In the words of BT :

” ……. what fight against what”?

To fight against something means you believe in something better.

That is why the people of the day ereceted memorials after such a fight to those who lost their lives.

We are gutless, rudderless and completely lacking in any conviction.

We sell to the highest bidder, preferably under the table so the kickbacks can come.

I don’t think we have a clue what we are doing or saying.

The memorial to the dead of the riots has been built in our time.

No one gives a damn.

What are we going to put in the place of Nelson?

I am going to try and find and reread Animal Farm.

It is a long time since I read it but I think the monument in Animal Farm may be applicable here.

48. John you washing all over the place. Stay focussed, one thing at a time…take the statue down.

49. Anonymous

You are doing more than half my work.

Thanks.

Read what you just wrote.

50. Color Blind

I agree with most of what you say

There are reggae artistes,alternative, spouge, rock, instrumentalists, the police band among many others

all of them recording music but it is simply not played on local radios station

IT IS TANTAMOUNT TO TREASON !!!!

There are radio shows that feature oldies and not a barbadian song is played.
    every sunday andi thornhill has a show where reggae music is the focus. i have not heard many bajan artistes on this show.

the promotion of reggae music has been going on for a longtime on local radio stations. in the late 1970s, sam taitt 007 had a show at 7:30 on thursdays on radio barbados that promoted jamaican music

in the 1980s dub was NOT popular with young people but the radio stations especially the new fm station liberty -pushed and pushed it until the young people became hooked.

around that time the only place you would hear dub music would be at the dubs in the orleans and the pine—-not even on the minibuses. i remember selling calypso music to minibuses in the mid 1980s