Nelson Statue Located In Heroes Square Barbados

It is the month of November when Barbadians will proudly celebrate forty two years as a sovereign country. We are told that the broken trident emblazoned on our national flag represents the break from our colonial past represented by England our colonial master at the time. The BU household is fully aware of the tremendous achievements we have made as a tiny island nation comparable with other countries better endowed with financial and other resources.

As a predominantly Black country we can wear our economic and social achievements proudly. As weย  continue to bask in our achievements in the relative brief period of sovereignty, we are aware that we still have a long road to travel to foster that esprit de corps we will needย  sustain our success. We believe that in recent years the focus of our development has been skewed towards physical at the expense of our social and moral development.

Under the previous government, to their credit they established the Pan African Commission, rebranded Trafalgar Square, Heroes Square and planted the Errol Barrow statue in Independence Square among our symbolic acts targeted at nation building. However the contentious issue of whether Nelson Statue should be removed from Heroes Square remains outstanding.

We suspect that the previous government played politics with this issue to not offend certain interests.

The BU household’s position on whether Lord Nelson should be moved is simple. We cannot deny our past so therefore we do not agree that it should be dumped in the wharf. However if as a country we have seen the need to rename Trafalgar Square to Heroes Square then it becomes fairly obvious, given the symbolism of doing so, that Lord Nelson should not occupy the prominence it now enjoys. Several other locations are available to resite Lord Nelson statue. Does the Thompson government have the commonsense to make the sensible decision?

Here is a contra-position:

Submitted as a comment by John on the Graeme Hall Sanctuary Blog

Go and actually read some history and you will find that not only did Nelson’s victory at the Nile in 1798 save Africa from French invasion, but that he also played a deciding hand in Haitian Independence in 1804.

… and the Louisiana Purchase by America is also directly attributable to the impact he had on French aspirations outside of Europe.

… and how do you think we are able to read the hieroglyphics which opened the world’s eyes to the wonders of early Egyptian civilizations? (Rosetta Stone) Nelson’s impact on world history is far larger that Trafalgar. That was bare icing!! His place was secure long before he died. I just went on the ancestry.com website to look at some of the slaves called after Nelson in 1834.

Here are some examples:

Beck Ann Nelson, Ben Nelson, Betty Easter Nelson, Betty Nelson,Black Nelson, Bob Nelson, Bob Nelson, Bob Nelson, Casar Nelson, Casar Nelson, Daniel Nelson, Debby Nelson, Edward Nelson, Frances Louisa Nelson, George Nelson, George Nelson, George Nelson, George Nelson, George Nelson, George Nelson, Hesther Nelson, Horatia Nelson, Horatio Nelson, Horatio Nelson, Ino Ewd Nelson, James E Nelson, James Nelson, James Nelson, James Nelson, Jim Nelson, Joe Nelson, Joe Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, John Nelson, Joseph Nelson, Kitty Nelson, Lord Nelson, M Nelson, Mary Nelson

Why do you think the Horatio Cooke Auditorium in Belmont Road has in the name Horatio? Wonder how the deejay Admiral Nelson got his name? It is a simple fact that Horatio and Nelson were used as christian names from 1798 onward all over the world. Some families actually used those two names over several generations!!

This is not a phenomena limited only to one race or country. It is found throughout the world. Go to familysearch.org and choose a surname and put in horatio as a christian name. Chances are you will get several hits from around the world.

People make the mistake of thinking that Nelson is simply Trafalgar and actually believe that the statue only commemorates the Battle of Trafalgar. The statue is a memorial to a remarkable man and every Bajan living at the time had a hand in its erection.

Go and actually read what it says on the statue and stop listening to people who do not read!! Read, and start thinking for yourself. When you do, think for a moment about why August 1st could have been chosen as emancipation day!!

You will find a compelling reason on the statue!!

Did you know also that there is a “Nelson” Island off the coast of Africa in Aboukir Bay, and why do you think we have a Trafalgar Street, … and a Nile street!! This guy was a superstar in his day!! Only someone who does not read would miss the significance of his life and achievements on world history.

251 responses to “Lord Nelson Statue Stands Like A Colossus In Heroes Square”

1. Pull the statue down and put a Bajan born and bred hero in it’s place. Why not put one of Rihanna in it’s place, let’s move forward with what’s happening in Barbados in the 21st century not some ancient relic of the faded rule the world days of the English.

The Barbados Blog

2. “We suspect that the previous government played politics with this issue to not offend certain interests.”

We don’t suspect, we know David.

The former DLP administration only turned him around because of those same interest.
    It will be easier to move Heroes Square than to move Nelson. Those interests are still here and still influential.
    I don’t think they (GOB) have the guts.

Logic and commonsense are scarce when it comes to this matter. The same can be said about the republic idea.

How independent are we after 42 years?

3. I think it is an important part of our history and also plays an important part in our tourism product and should stay where it is now.

Barbadians need to start thinking about what we are offering to visitors as our overall product, I think it is a shame that everything old is taken down and most new buildings with no hint of the past are put up instead. Yes we have to move forward but we have to keep that island / historical feeling in our back pocket at all times if we are to compete internationally in tourism.

4. Just like a god, this colossus towers every black man, woman and child on the island and in order to see it you must look up, thus reinforcing the “superiority” of this ilk. Similarily the erection of obelisks (which actually represents the phallus) at major energy centers in the world i.e. Washington D.C. and Paris, also reminds us that there is a negative energy ruling this planet. It is not just a piece of granite or marble it is about the energy and that’s why they are erected in specific areas. These are all symbols of the illuminati/brotherhood’s dominance. Like I stated before this marauder is nothing for black people to celebrate. In a way George Bush (even though the coward didn’t physically lead his troops to battle) is the carbon copy of Nelson in that they represents the same kind of destruction. Nelson invaded Kimet and totally pillaged it but not before he stole the ancient knowledge and burnt the library at Alexandria. (As well as the Greeks). Just visit the museum in london and you’ll see Africa and her history under lock and key. Today George Bush and his minions are doing the same thing to Iraq and are totally decimating their cultural heritage. To honourable Black people Nelson represents nothing to be respected and admired. As far as the achievements that Barbados have made in comparison to others, we are light years behind our forefathers simply because of the controlling forces in our environment and as far as celebrating independence this is pure ceremonial pomposity. Barbados has a long way to go to free her childrens’ minds from the shackles of the slavemaster and one sure way to start this mission is to remove the marauder’s statue, hereby remove that energy, that invisible chain from the minds of her children. Then you can address the miseducational system. I say to replace nelson with the labourers of the field or with IMHOTEP who was a multi-faceted being.

5. Nelson Mandela

6. @the wandering scottsman.

I say NO. She represents the same negative energy that is poisoning and corrupting our childrens’ minds today. She in nothing for our children to aspire to. She is highly rewarded tool of the same brotherhood. Her craft does not in any way lead to enlightenment. Why do you think people in her position are highly rewarded? Simply because their craft are very effective at achieving the intended results of the brotherhood. NO!

7. National Heroes Square + National Heroes = Building nationhood.

National Heroes Square + Lord Nelson = ?

We could not even change the name of the new prison after spending millions.

No wonder the merchants are ignoring the month of independence celebrations and are focusing on christmas.

8. @General Lee
    According to David Ellis on the afternoon call in last week in response to a passionate caller who questioned the lukewarm participation by merchants had this to say:

He believed that the framers of our independence were visionless by picking a date so close to the major Christian holiday. After all it would have been know that Barbados is a predominantly Christian nation.

9. David Ellis is speaking from his corporation’s viewpoint. If the season starts early then it would mean more advertising revenue for them.
    Christmas commercialization and christians. Wow!

10. In principle, I agree with Hopi.

However, in reality, I am wondering if the very fact that we have been gutless, indecisive, pandering to every whim and fancy of foreigners- (especially of the Nelson kind), and that our leaders, -no matter what their rhetoric beforehand, soon become puppets of Nelsons’s descendants…..

What move what?!
    … maybe Nelson should remain there just to show us who we REALLY are…

11. When I was a boy I used to look forward to independence and then christmas and I was born after 1966.
    Back then few people thought about christmas before December.
    November was for celebrating independence and everyone I knew prepared for that big day.
    Bonfires to build, conkies to make and fireworks to buy and the big independence concert at school.
    I am sorry for today’s children for they will soon not know about independence.

They have killed the spirit of independence today and tomorrow christmas will have no meaning, except for the merchants and advertisers, as they ape Uncle Sam, but not realizing that July 4th is very dear to him.

12. “โ€ฆ maybe Nelson should remain there just to show us who we REALLY areโ€ฆ”

………and who is really in control.

If I may BT.

13. Thanks General…..sir.

14. What Bush Tea what?

Agreeing with fellow commentators, and descending to the lower case.

Must have got the bends from ascending too quickly from his blogosphere.

Nelson, Bussa, Adams, Sobers and Barrow face them all off together in a room down the Garrison.

We have moved on from cult worship, we need real live leaders who can address today’s problems.

The non-heroic bunch we have now is the best we gonna get so lets prod them to emulate these bronze statues.

We are crying out for a leader with vision to lead us, not a popularity seeking flunkey.

All around the world the cry is the same, we want CHANGE.

Is 10 months too short a time to answer that heartfelt call?

Maybe, but the clock is ticking.

15. BushT…..

Seems like the Blarck coffee really did work because you have me agreeing with you on your latter sentence ..”maybe Nelson should remain…..” because people like your figure head David Thompson are just representatives, underlings and minions of queen elizardbeth and her ilk. Ever wonder why his kind just pay lip service to the sheeple and the sheeple’s interests are never addressed. They have a mandate and that’s to keep the PYRAMID in shape. For the most part bajans are enslaved.

16. @ST…..”all around the world……”

The foll.. is a native american parable where the Creator gathers the animals and said to them “I want to hide something from humans until they are ready for it – THE REALISATION THAT THEY CREATE THEIR OWN REALITY.”

“Give it to me. I’ll fly it to the moon,” says the eagle. “No one day soon they’ll go there and find it.”
    “How about the bottom of the ocean?” asks the salmon. “No, they will find it there too.”
    “I will bury it in the great plains,” says the buffalo. “They will soon dig and find it there.”
    “PUT IT INSIDE THEM,” says the wise grandmother mole. “DONE,” says the Creator. “It is the last place they will look.”
    I also hope that it won’t be too late before they find it. You see the answer is not in any other man, the CHANGE lies within each of us. The only live leader is within each of us.

17. “I think it is an important part of our history and also plays an important part in our tourism product and should stay where it is now.”
    @ Keep It

Have you carried out a survey to determine how many people decide to get up, pack up suitcase, go to the airport, go through customs, get on a plane, get off a plane, go through customs again, take a taxi, go to a hotel, check in the hotel, go to their room, unpack their suitcase, take a shower, change their clothes, dress again, call the front desk and ask the receptionist how to find the statue of lord nelson?

After all this trouble, this delighted tourist pays at least US$10.00 to go to Bridgetown with their digital camera and snap a photo of Lord Nelson!

No pray tell you joker, tell me how many people in their right mind travel to see a statue of Lord Nelson?

What important part of tourism does this stupid statue play, you clown?

I’ll bet any amount of money that more people would pay to come to see you posing as a statue in the middle of Broad Street, because it’d be a wonder to the whole world that Barbados still has such a silly clown alive in 2008.

For that, we should immortalize you in a bronze statue, take down Nelson and put you up! Then that would be a tourist attraction.

We could tell the whole world, come see a statue of the biggest clown of the 21st century who believed that Nelson was important to Barbados’ tourism.

18. Hopi says:

For the most part bajans are enslaved.

By who Hopi? Any caucasian Ministers of Government, caucasians in the civil service, judiciary or Police Force?

Perhaps it is the mere reminder that they used to be in those positions causes you to make that comment.

Bushtea says:

However, in reality, I am wondering if the very fact that we have been gutless, indecisive, pandering to every whim and fancy of foreigners- (especially of the Nelson kind), and that our leaders, -no matter what their rhetoric beforehand, soon become puppets of Nelsonsโ€™s descendantsโ€ฆ..

Bushtea, Hopi and most of the bloggers on this website:

Why don’t you all just ban ALL caucasians from the shores. Don’t forget the mulattos, because let’s face it they have caucasian blood in them.

Reading these blogs one gets the idea that caucasians are the root of all your problems.

So just exile all that are in Barbados to some distant shore. Refuse any more entry (tourists or otherwise) and wipe the slate clean.

Let me check back in ten years and see who you are blaming then.

19. “Any caucasian Ministers of Government, caucasians in the civil service, judiciary or Police Force?”

To Bajan-in-exile

First and foremost, I think you are the right place, in exile. Stay there!

Secondly, the answer to your question is
    very few, probably because they’re too dumb to qualify because their genes are screwed up from all the inbreeding and most of them are mongoloids or because they’re guaranteed in job elsewhere.

The last count, there was one white caucasian in the Police Force who became a laughing stock in the traffic, a handful in the civil service and Theresa Marshall who is the PS in Foreign Affairs and has some black blood in she.

Thirdly, by the last count, whites didnt need to be in the police force or the civil service because there were over 1000 at the IMF and World Bank, a few million in Washington, another few thousand controlling the airlines that bring the tourists, another few hundred that owned de hotels, another few hundred that owned de tour companies, a handful that owned de banks, and another handful that owned and controlled de distributive sector.

Now pray tell, why would white people be so stupid to give up all that control and join de Barbados police force or de civil service?

You should join the other clown for “CLOWN OF THE YEAR AWARD” and remember. Stay in exile. Dont come back!

20. Bajan-in-Exile

“Reading these blogs one gets the idea that caucasians are the root of all your problems.”
    Well B-I-E, depending on one’s ability to read and understand, one can get all sorts of ideas….

When I read the comments you referred to I get the impression that the writers were concerned about the self image of black Bajans…. and black Bajan leaders.

What ban all caucasians what?!!

We are concerned about the same kind of paranoia reflected in your comment that seems to suggest that any reference to ‘white’ without deference is a racist rant…

This is exactly why our leaders can’t get Nelson moved…. people like you will call it racist – even if a democratic poll results in 80% of Bajans voting to move it….

…..good thing you in exile – otherwise you could be a politician bout here yuh….

21. @@@Bajan-In-Exile….

I am not spewing hatred of caucasians. For you to draw that conclusion from my post shows that you too, like those in positions of “authority” in Bim are enslaved by this same sewer, this same energy. You don’t need to show the oppressors’ face, you just need to put a face that looks like the people’s, thereby continuing the oppression sewer. Look around you and see that the whole planet is in peril. No need to check back in ten years enjoy your exile.

22. Bajan in Exile we expect some will misconstrue the point of this blog and resort to cloaking it in a racist slant. Please reread and try to visualize the statue of Lord Nelson smack dab in the middle of Heroes Square. Try to picture that while we must embrace our past/history we must equally make decisions in the present to build our nation through a consciousness of who we want to be.

It is not about race but more so finding our rhythm as a people.

23. Were we the Government of Barbados since the 15 th of January 2008, that loathsome statue of Lord Nelson would have been long removed and a monument commemorating all the sung and unsung heroes and heroines – past, present and future – of this land erected in its place. Make no doubt about it!!

Moreover, the fact that this ugly statue of Lord Horatio Nelson – in his life time a so-called owner of enslaved people and supporter of the enslavement of Black people – could be so despicably despoiling the landscape of inner Bridgetown, and be so near to the fairly democratically black majority elected Parliament of this a sovereign country, and be so incongruously occupying a place that was redesignated National Heroes Square in the late 90s, must therefore be seen by every single progressive person in Barbados as representing a very disgraceful, hideous and tortuous chapter in the post independence history of this country.

Too, the fact of this very unworthy statue having been allowed by successive DLP and BLP Governments to remain there also terribly reflects the horrendous and backward type of political leadership that we as a people of Barbados have, many times, been having and entertaining in the recent history of our country.

Interestingly enough, though, Mr. Peter Simmons writes a very cogent and illuminating piece – his best one so far – in his column, in today’s Sunday Sun, 16 November, 2008, deploring the fact that there is nothing, nothing at all at the Garrison Savannah commemorating the historic event of the night when that ground was used as a stage for ushering in Barbados’ newly found status as an independent country in 1966. Yet, he is bemoaning the fact that not too long ago millions of dollars were spent in restoring a place called George Washington House – a stone’s throw away from the same spot where that event took place at the Garrison Savannah to celebrate our becoming independent – for primarily American visitors to see. In these and other regards, in that column, he is so absolutely correct!!

However, in this otherwise brilliant contribution, he strangely further writes: “Paradoxically, as we celebrate 42 years of independence, the most prominent artifact remains that of Lord Nelson. WE ARE A STRANGE PEOPLE to continue tolerating and defending a statue of Lord Nelson, an English Warlord who made no contribution to Barbados, standing in dominant isolation in a space designated as Barbados’ Heroes Square.”

So, Mr. Simmons deliberately fails to write that it is former prime minister Owen Arthur who gave the people of Barbados National Heroes Square, yet so dastardly reneged on his responsibility to remove that disgraceful rubbish from such a very strategic point in Bridgetown. Surely, Mr. Simmons must properly call some political names, put the blame squarely on them, and castigate them for their failings, and with the tone and precision he wrote this wonderful piece with. Yes!! And he must also use his tremendous political and writing skills to launch a campaign for the removal of Lord Nelson in Barbados. In that regard, he would definitely get our support.

24. …and to my good friend ST… I will leave you in the hands of the Big Boss Engineer…
    There are two good reasons why I have to agree with Hopi and Anonymous…
    1 – they does talk nuff sense
    2 – dem men real rough yuh – you see how anon almost kill that Bajan in exile????
    …wuh I are a idiot?!?

Actually, the fall from capitals is a reflection of my disappointment with the indecisiveness of my government….I am awaiting some leadership, vision and hope … but just seeing more of the same (obviously MUCH better than the last lot … but still way below my REAL Bajan expectations…)
    … but you very laid back these days- you and MME up to something?

25. PDC,
    …where you going get money from to move nelson statue when you abolishing all taxes? donations from the National Trust?
    ..or maybe you can just wave your magic wand – (they have such things in the never never land in which you seem to exist…)

26. I was expecting that level of “tirade” from what I had to say.

The truth always hurts.

Quite honestly, if you take Nelson’s statue and put it in the dump it makes no difference to me.

That is not my issue. My issue is that in almost every subject mentioned on these blogs, certain individuals pick on the scape goat “whites”.

David:

In the interest of the quality of your blog, I believe that Anonymous’ comments should be screened.

Anonymous writess:

theyโ€™re too dumb to qualify because their genes are screwed up from all the inbreeding and most of them are mongoloids or because theyโ€™re guaranteed in job elsewhere.

You should join the other clown for โ€œCLOWN OF THE YEAR AWARDโ€ and remember. Stay in exile. Dont come back!

The above would be labelled as hate comments in the country where I now live and cause this blogger to be eligible for arrest.

I don’t intend to come back. Every bit of racial hatred that I read reminds me why I left.

Thank God for the blogs.

27. @Hopi: “Similarily the erection of obelisks (which actually represents the phallus) at major energy centers in the world i.e. Washington D.C. and Paris… It is not just a piece of granite or marble it is about the energy”

Dear Hopi: There are just pieces of marble or granite. As dead as tombstones.

28. Dear Bush Tea:

Don’t mind PDC’s talk.

That is just talk.

PDC is a hard working capitalist just like the rest of us.

29. Dear PRD:

I read Peter’s Simmons’ column in today’s Sunday Sun.

And I ask myself why didn’t he say all this when his brother was a big muguffy cabinet minister all those years.

Or maybe Peter is really Rip Van Winkle who has just awoken from a long, long, slumber.

30. I would no more think of removing the memorial to Nelson from where our ancestors put it than I would of going in a church and removing a memorial to someone who actually owned slaves.

The statue is a memorial to a dead man for the sacrifice he made.

The Cenotaph is a memorial to dead men for the sacrifices thay made.

The Fountain is a memorial to dead men and women, too numerous to count or name.

None of these memorials have a place in Heroes Square for the simple reason that none of our National Heroes were under constant threat of death and none gave their lives in a cause.

In fact, one of them is still alive!!

Our National Heroes are Government appointed, … chosen by a committee.

The three memorials are all put there by public subscription because it was right to do so at the time after the major upheavals of the time.

This is the fundamental difference that many are missing!!

Think for a moment of going in a church in Barbados and moving a memorial, …. any memorial.

The fact that the memorial to Nelson is a statue is what is confusing even sensible people.

31. @ Bajan-in-exile

It seems as if the truth hurt you!

You clown.

Please stay in exile. Dont even as much as return in your wildest dreams. If you are in exile, why are you on a blog that deals with bajan affairs?

Do us all a favor and keep your trap shut.
    I hope that the utopia where you live does not stop black people while they’re driving, or tie them to the back of cars and drag them until their necks are popped.
    If you’re Canada or England, lord have his mercy! You got some gall!

So yes, the truth does hurt. PLEASE DONT EVER COME BACK AND WHEN YA DEAD WE DONT EVEN WANT YOUR ASHES TO CONTAMINATE OUR LANDSPACE.
    Go and get buried next to Nelson.

32. John,
    Don’t get tied up. You are normally one of the most logical bloggers I know….

The same way that ‘public subscription’ put Nelson where he is, Public opinion (and if needed, vote) could and should take him down. When Sandi turned him about-face wasn’t that public subscription? you think Sandi paid from his pocket?

With regard to your Church memorial strawman, Of course it could become necessary -and prudent, to remove one of those memorials…. maybe even the whole church ….

These things are all part of configuring the future of a people. The past is only really relevant to the extent that it contributes positively to that end….

If your much vaunted public subscription had installed a monument to slavery and lynchings because that was the thinking at the time – do you think these would be defensible too???

33. Dear Bajan in Exile:

But neither Hopi nor Bush Tea mentioned white or caucasian in their posts.

Methinks you are not very happy to be in exile.

I invite you to come in out of the cold for a while.

34. @ Bajan in Exile

How dear you to come hear and play de race card? And worse yet, how dare you come hear and play de white victim?

Are you sick in your head?

If you are a white bajan (and from the tone of your silly post, it suggests that indeed you are) you got nuff friggin gall.

Wunna got 400 years of pain to suffering to pay fuh.
    Dont come here playing victim.

Are you some sort of sicko? Wunna does mek me real friggin sick and always wanna hold black people to some emotional ransom by talking bout reverse racism.

TAKE MY ADVICE. STAY WHERE YOU ARE, IN EXILE.
    I TRUST YOU FOLLOWED YOUR FAMILY AND MOVED TO AUSTRALIA OR NEW ZEALAND WHEN BLACKS TOOK OVER DE COUNTRY IN 1966.

And the clown of the year award goes to?
    BAJAN-IN-EXILE!

Now I’d like to accept this award on behalf of this clown.

“Ladies and gentlemen, the clown cannot be here tonight because of self-imposed exile from a country they deem to be racist. This is because 90% of the black citizens object to having Lord Nelson’s statue in their city.”
    However, the clown has made a sacred promise to all Barbadian never to return from exile and spare us the burden of their preposterous amount of ignorance and arrogance too.
    MAY THE CLOWN REST IN PEACE IN EXILE.

35. But John, the point is that these monmuents were erected by a white administration – albeit, some mongoloid.

36. J, apparently you and others who continue to abuse me for my opinions are unable to comprehend the written words and subtle nuances that are often IMPLIED.

Hopi stated: because people like your figure head David Thompson are just representatives, underlings and minions of queen elizardbeth and her ilk.

What is meant by minions of Queen Elizabeth and her ilk?

Bush Tea Stated:

However, in reality, I am wondering if the very fact that we have been gutless, indecisive, pandering to every whim and fancy of foreigners- (especially of the Nelson kind), and that our leaders, -no matter what their rhetoric beforehand, soon become puppets of Nelsonsโ€™s descendantsโ€ฆ..

What inference is made from pandering to every whim and fancy of foreigners (especially the Nelson kind) and ………….. Nelson’s descendants?

Who are Nelson’s kind and Nelson’s descendants? People of African origin?

Look, if you don’t possess discernment and judgement these type of innuendos can easily go over your head.

Further, must every place outside of Barbados be cold?

Think J:

before jumping to assumptions.

@David:

Your blog will soon get the reputation it deserves. Google some of the comments: They show up on the worldwide Blog. Great publicity for Bim.

37. J // November 16, 2008 at 10:31 pm

Dear PRD:

ha ha ha ha hahhah

dha one bad

Nelson want moving bottom line!

38. @Anonymous:

Hater extraordinaire of people whose skins are of a different complexion to yours………….

All the vile hatred that you are spewing just confirms the point that I have made.

I think the joke is on you.

39. Dear John:

In case you do not remember the road outside of St. Peter’s cemetery was widened about 15 years ago, and yes a number of the dead (and their memorial headstones) were re-sited elsewhere in the cemetery. This was done so that a sidewalk could be built and so that LIVING people could walk safely along what was a very narrow and unsafe road.

The same thing needs to be done with St. Michael’s Cathedral wall. Do we need to wait until someone is crushed to death along that narrow sidewalk-less wall before we move the wall inwards and create a sidewalk?

I knew some of the dead St. Peter people when they were alive and no I was not offended that they were re-sited and neither were their families.

So yes it is possible to re-site the dead and to move memorials if it is done sensitively and for a good public purpose.

It is long pass time that Nelson be re-sited.

And we should use the term re-site, not dig-up nor pull down.

Language matters.

40. ….Bajan-I-E….

What country do you live in that would label Anon’s.. speech as hate? Not one of those countries that love everyone where everyone just get along dandy and they look out for each! Not one of those countries who hates others to the point where they would kill them because they have something that they covet! Not one of those countries that allows its citizens to speak freely and where their conversations are not monitored! Isn’t it interesting that Anon…. would be arrested for speaking their mind on a blog in your country! That’s sounds like Prison to me. Doesn’t it? And here I am assuming that you are a very happy and contented individual living in Paradise. Just trade in one prison for a more “developed and sophisticated” one where the inmates don’t even realise that they are imprisoned. Are you sure you’re happy in exile?

@@J…
    If you really think that the erection of an obelisk or statue of marauder nelson is as dead as a tombstone you should ask those who erect them how they feel about them. Do you keep pictures of your loved on your walls and what do these pictures mean to you? Isn’t it about their energy. Don’t you get some kind of emotion when you look at them? My dear it is all about the ENERGY. Energy in one form or another is what controls this planet. ENERGY!

41. @ Bajan in exile

Okay, we wont make anymore assumptions about you as to whether or not you are here, there, in the cold or in the heat.

We will infer from your beautiful nuanced prose and from what you’ve actually said.
    These are our conclusions.
    1. You do not live in Barbados. Thank goodness.
    2. You are brainless, the lobotomy they performed on you removed 2/3 of your brain matter.
    3. We apologize for calling you a clown. To call you a clown is an insult to a wonderful profession. I actually like clowns.
    4. We cant call you an ass hole either because ass holes actually serve a purpose and you are a nuisance who serves no purpose.

So we’ve decided that we will take down Nelson and immortalize you instead. However, we will put your statue wherever you are. Not bout hey.

And remember, please dont come back and do us all a favor and stay off this blog.

42. Hopi:

Wow! Seems like I have stirred up a hornet’s nest.

Perhaps my being in “exile” (another innuendo, nuance, — lost on some of you) has elicited such desires to do the same thing that you are all in a state of frenzy.

Be cool bros……you too can live in wonderful countries where “blacks” and “whites” are treated with respect. Where people are not permitted to spew hatred through cyberspace or anywhere else for that matter.

“Come on down”!!

FYI my husband is “black” …….dispelling all the vile statements anonymous wants to make about me and my assumed skin color and is treated with GREAT respect in this country. He is amazed. Before coming here he had some of the crazy fears that some of you do but hello, welcome to the REAL world. That’s why we choose to live here and we are very happy to be here, thank you very much.

43. Fortunately, Anonymous the only person that can keep me from posting on this blog is the owner.

Since he hasn’t removed you, and with just cause to do so, why should he remove me?

I unlike you do not have to sink to the lowest common denominator by cursing and name calling.

44. @DAVID…..

Don’t let that skanky, traitor Bajan-In-Exile make a coward out of you nor your site. Its morons of this ilk that would follow nelson into their motherland and kill and destroy their own people just to be a minion of massa nelson. If they want to sabotage and take down your site let it go down for standing up. COWARD! TRAITOR!

45. Dese ignorant people wanna come here and play all kinds of emotional games.

De Iraqis tek down statues o Saddam; de Russians tek down statues o Stalin; de Germans knock down a whole friggin wall and dese idiots wanna come here and tell me dat we cant move Nelson.

“Oh dear, de tourist wont come”
    “You are haters, you hate white people.”
    “Nelson is part of our history.”
    “We should not move it because the rulers of the day put it there.”

Well I got news for wunna. Gone are the days when you can hold us to seige!

I now put Bajan-in-Exile on permanent ignore.

46. @Bajan-in-exile

Glad to see you have the stomach to engage in robust debate.

Part of the problem in Barbados is that we have always avoided discussing the tough issues like race, our colonial past, homosexuality, immigration etc. At some point we will have to confront the hard issues. We have to be prepared to exchange views, duke it out if we must.

Hopefully after the dust is settled there will be a Christian understanding.

47. God Help Barbados Avatar

Bajan-In-Exile: Don’t let these poor pathetic souls get to you. Everything you have stated is 100% correct right down to the fact that in most civilized countries this blog would be construed as a blog that is disseminating hate and it would be shut down.
    There is no point in trying to reason with these posters as they are filled with hate that is rotting their souls and they will continue, even after 400 years, to be mentally enslaved.

48. Bajan-in-Exile's Husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s Husband

And for all the other Bajans of light complexion but have a “lick of the tar brush” or the mulattos like Pres elect Obama, who have more than a lick of the white brush…………..

….. All of us who love puddin and souse, flying fish and coucou and great cake and going to the beach when we feel like ……

to all of you all on the rock who fail to acknowledge that Bajan is more than black skin but it is also a way of living, that up until very recently did not include this much hatred of those with lighter skin or those from another place……….

there are so many who went to Guyana, Panama, Cuba, UK, USA, Canada, Australia and the list goes on who if they had the slightest assurance that the only qualification for a reasonable living and equal opportunity, without harrassment, because of the colour of their skin, they would return with all that they have in the bank and in their heads to continue to contribute to the prosperity of the rest of you.

BUT YOU HATE THEM TOO MUCH.

In Trinidad it is said: Cobo Sh*t in their nest when they are happy: are you all doing the same thing like those dumb birds???

49. Bajan-in-Exile's Husband Avatar
    Bajan-in-Exile’s Husband

And for all the other Bajans of light complexion but have a “lick of the tar brush” or the mulattos like Pres elect Obama, who have more than a lick of the white brush…………..

….. All of us who love puddin and souse, flying fish and coucou and great cake and going to the beach when we feel like ……

to all of you all on the rock who fail to acknowledge that Bajan is more than black skin but it is also a way of living, that up until very recently did not include this much hatred of those with lighter skin or those from another place……….

there are so many who went to Guyana, Panama, Cuba, UK, USA, Canada, Australia and the list goes on who if they had the slightest assurance that the only qualification for a reasonable living and equal opportunity, without harrassment, because of the colour of their skin, they would return with all that they have in the bank and in their heads to continue to contribute to the prosperity of the rest of you.

BUT YOU HATE THEM TOO MUCH.

In Trinidad it is said: Cobo Sh*t in their nest when they are happy: are you all doing the same thing like those dumb birds???

50. Hopi wrote to me “Do you keep pictures of your loved on your walls and what do these pictures mean to you?…Donโ€™t you get some kind of emotion when you look at them? ”

Actually Hopi. No I do not keep pictures of my loved ones (dead or alive) on my walls.

Maybe I am a Philistine.

I love my people passionately when they are alive, but once they are dead they are just so much dust to me.

I get my energy form a healthy diet, exercise and from knowing that each day I do my best for my LIVING loved ones?”

I am not much into hero worshiping dead people, beloved or not.

As I said maybe I am a crass.