Fox News using racists attacks on Barack Obama

We have said it before and with 41 days to go before Americans elect their President, we have become more convinced that America may not be ready to have a Black President occupy the White House. Last night we listened with dropped jaw to Sarah Palin’s supporters congratulating themselves because she will be doing a crash course in foreign policy by using her recently issued passport very shortly. Here is a document about Sarah Palin making the rounds on the Internet.

What do you think?

We believe most Americans have made up their minds, for those still undecided they maybe persuaded after the Presidential Debate this coming Friday.

Related Links

93 responses to “Anyone But A Black Man In The White House”

1. Why were the journalists not allowed to question Palin at the UN yesterday?

Why has Palin not had a Press Conference to date?

2. I’m scared of what will happen if or when Obama loses this elections. I predict USA is on the brink of total collapse, it’s only help, as that is slim, is electing Obama. I also predict that if or when he loses there will be a series of riots all over USA. THe relationship between blacks ans white would deteriorate.

3. According to the Wall Street Journal , Obama is ahead in the Red State.

How does McCain turn in himself into economist populist? I wonder how he can do it and beat Obama.

Palin and his record does not make them economic populists. Economic populists win this election and not people who are trying to defend the free market.

Yes, the Cato Institute will still defend the idea of free, unregulated markets but the idea that markets can regulate itself any more are over with.

4. I know that there are white people here in the USA who will not vote for OBama simply because he is black. However people are hurting economically and it has come down now to a situation where persons will go into the voting booth and they are going to ask themselves if they want to continue with the policies of Bush via McCain which is fu****g up this country or if they want a change.

5. Tony Hall,

Want what change what??!!

McCain and Palin are excellently suited to lead the USA….. the blind leading the blind.

When wanna yankees voted for Bush over Gore it was clear to me that all hope had gone.

When Bush was reelected based on his ‘war on terror’, it could only have been downhill from there….

….things are so bad now, that the ONLY way that another republican could win in 2008 would have been for a woman or black man to be selected to represent the democrats….lo and behold – Hilary and Obama!!!!

Does it remind you of the Pharaoh of Egypt who persisted in making foolish decisions in spite of Moses’ plagues?

Bush tea will be pleasantly surprised if Obama wins – I don’t credit American voters with the maturity to make such a decision…

6. In any other country losing 2 wars, arranging $700 bail-outs for rich crooks, seeing job losses everywhere, and with hundreds of thousands of still-working families deep in credit card debt and awaiting foreclosure the “opposition” candidate would be so sure to be elected they’d cancel the election to save the expense.

“If Barack Obama were white he’d be leading by 17 points,” said an analyst on CNN recently.

He was being diplomatic. To McCain.

7. BT

I must agree with you

McCain and Palin are excellently suited to lead the USA….. the blind leading the blind.

When wanna yankees voted for Bush over Gore it was clear to me that all hope had gone.

When Bush was reelected based on his ‘war on terror’, it could only have been downhill from there….

I dont think Obama will win the elections

America’s days as a super power are over…………….going ………………….going gone!

Over to the EU (the ten toes of Daniel’s vision) the revised Roman Empire.

Then the Antichrist.
    Everything is coming to a head

I love it!
    W

8. The black population of the U.S. is less than 15%, the so called white population of Barbados is somewhere between 5-10%. Could there ever be a white Prime Minister of Barbados? Not in your wildest dreams – so when we talk about maturity I think the Americans have shown more maturity compared to the Barbadian political landscape. Mr. Obama’s nomination is due because of educated white people.

9. @Duppy Lizard

It is fine to use statistics but better to get accurate reading.

In Barbados the better part of the White population participate in activities which isolate them from the Black population. We are sure that you may agree that it is not the same in the USA.

10. The black population of the U.S. is less than 15%, the so called white population of Barbados is somewhere between 5-10%. Could there ever be a white Prime Minister of Barbados?
    —————————————-

Isnt the Present PM the same 50% white as Obama?

11. PM Thompson looks more white to me than some people that say they are white.

12. Duppy, the black population of America is more like 51%, for there are a lot of American white people that have black in them. I heard Oprah say it and BET had a documentary that said so too.

13. David – I agree that there is a relutance of a majority of whites in Barbados to participate in society – they live, work and play in isolation. However, this is true about any minority – go to any north american city and you will find enclaves based on ethnicity, religion or nationality. Barbados I agree is rather unique though – but who is to blame? Should we blame the blacks for hostility levelled at whites? Should we blame the whites for retreating into their own shell? Actually, governments have been instrumental in enhancing this division of races. Rather than promoting diversity they encourage exclusivity – which becomes a breeding ground for racism.

For ru4real – Yes our present PM has a white mother and a black father but as far as I’ve heard he considers himself a black man. And when have you ever seen or heard Mr. Obama referred to anything but a black man? – despite the fact that he too is of mixed race.

14. Zauditu – We all come out of Africa, so somewhere along the way we is all black. But does it really really matter what our complexion is?

By the way, don’t believe everything you hear on Oprah – that is one rich woman who has her own agenda.

15. Obama got where is as a result of race. He may lose this election base on his ideological positions.

His support 90+% amongst blacks is base on race.

His supports amongst liberal whites is due to a number of situtions not limited to the following:

….the willingness to use his winning the presidency to shut up Al and Jessie or to at least fight back when accuse of being racist, Yes race again on the White side of things. 🙂

….Because he is a fellow socialist/communist who hates America’s capitalist economy.

….Because progressive liberal ideals like to demonstrate progress by being bold in participating in watershed events. It’s new, nuance and history making.

…..Because diehard Democrats as does diehard Republicans will support the party’s nominee.

16. David wait what is racist in or about the Youtube clip????????? Just like i continue to have difficulty in seeing the Homophobic intent on your part as attributed to you by Others when you air your views on Homosexaulity in Barbados, I am equally at a lost to find the racist remark or intent with or within this youtube video clip.

What is very similar is the defence approach of homosexuality defenders and the Obamanites.

17. Wait- back up just a bit for a minute-

Don’t look at Obama’s minority status. I’m told he is a Harvard Graduaute, the best debator in his class, held positions of leadership within that esteemed institution. Then he entered politics, and has done tremendously well. Why wouldn’t he?

The question is whether he is qualified or not, and whether he can be the best one to do a job when comnpared to his rival.

Should one not focus on what he has to offer, rather than on the external pigmentation?

18. art // September 24, 2008 at 12:24 pm

Wait- back up just a bit for a minute-

Don’t look at Obama’s minority status. I’m told he is a Harvard Graduaute, the best debator in his class, held positions of leadership within that esteemed institution. Then he entered politics, and has done tremendously well. Why wouldn’t he?

The question is whether he is qualified or not, and whether he can be the best one to do a job when comnpared to his rival.

Should one not focus on what he has to offer, rather than on the external pigmentation?
    ===========================

Electioneering politics dictate that his pigmentation be exploited. If they did not do so, Barack could not have gotten the kind of support he has amongst blacks, and he would not have had support from those Liberal whites who see his Presidentcy as a chance to silence the Al Sharpten and Jessie Jackson of America, and to demonstrate to all that diversity, multiculturisme etc works. 🙂 Race is a big part of Barack success thus far. It cannot be denied.

19. @Adrian

Why would FOX launch these attacks on Obama by using slurs about his name and Muslim association unless it was racially motivated.

On your last point Obama dis not garner the kind of support among blacks until he demonstrated he could win in White states.

20. David // September 24, 2008 at 12:57 pm

@Adrian

Why would FOX launch these attacks on Obama by using slurs about his name and Muslim association unless it was racially motivated.

On your last point Obama dis not garner the kind of support among blacks until he demonstrated he could win in White states.
    =========================

I cannot entertain your question of Fox possible intentions, until you define “ATTACK” and “slur”, and if you are apt to remember what is so “racist” about or in that video clip.

David please don’t confuse the Black congressional causus lack of support for Barack at the time as indicative of a lack of support amongst black voters. From the very outset Blacks where bucking the opinions of all Black Leaders who where majority in favour of Hillary Clinton.

21. There are genuine liberal whites in 70% white USA. There are none in 90% black Barbados. A sizeable minority of American whites are moving away from the traditional culture wars of race in America. They are embracing all ethinicities based on character and content not skin colour.

Cow Williams operates in a near black environment with tens of companies and subsidiaries and not a single one of his directors is black. Cow more than anyone except his sibling Bizzy represents white thought in Barbados. White thought in Barbados is homogenous, regressive and backward.

A sizeable pool of American whites especially young people have thrown race out the window and are dealing with Obama on merit alone. More power to them . Barbados whites should take a cue from them. I expect hell to freeze over before that happens.

I badly want Obama to win but in the still most racist country in the world (despite significant body of liberals) I would not be surprised if he loses simply because he is black.

22. How can the major reason for him losing be the colour of his skin when todate his successes are the result of it?

….I wonder, what measurements you have used to define America as the most racist country in the world!

…..It can’t be wealth amongst Blacks

…..It can’t be the number of elected officials

…..It can’t be race specific legislation like Affirmative action
    …..It can’t be the number academics, leaders in their chosen fields,

…..It can’t be judges or Ministers of government

…..Which political party of a major European country has voted for and nominated a black person to be their candidate for the leadership position of that country?

…..Which Socialist European Country is on the verge of electing a Black resident to their leader?

…really how do you define “most racist”? can you honestly do so?

23. An Anon once said:

I badly want Obama to win but in the still most racist country in the world (despite significant body of liberals) I would not be surprised if he loses simply because he is black.
    If America is still the most racist country in the world and you are convince of this, what informs your hope of a Obama win. Might be a case of “bad” thinking in trute. 🙂

24. I like Barack Obama’s ethics, morals and his vision for America and it could be that many white Americans would vote for him regardless of colour but it is his lack of experience that will cause some of them not to. For me, whatever I may have thought about McCain initially has been (pardon the pun) coloured by his choice of running mate. Sarah Palin stands for everything that is wrong with the direction that the U.S. is headed in. She is a holy roller creationist, anti-choice on the abortion issue and hasn’t done a very good job raising her own kids and even more so than Obama, doesn’t have the experience to be even remotely considered for the position of VP. McCains’s choice as her for a running mate was a cheap tactic to get the female vote. It is a shame really that Hillary Clinton and Obama could not have settled their differences because as abrasive as Hillary can be she has a welath of experience (both good and bad) that would have made her a good advisor to Obama. Obama has the best of intentions and has a clear vision of what is wrong with America today but he needs someone who is familiar with how to achive that goal as well as pull in the female vote.

25. A reasoned and dispassionate contribution.

I continue to find fault with this call for experience, but appreciate that it is now entrenched in the way that Americans now view their candidates for President . What Americans have traditioanally taken as experience is a candidates role as a governor, this is informed by the historical fact that only two sitting senetors have ever transition into the whitehouse, and we are now set to confirm the third. Given these facts, the only Govenor of the four answers the experience question that Americans have tradionally used to vet POTUS candidates —- but that governor is not running for the office of POTUS, will not be voted on and should not be vetted on experience. I which to take experience out of the argument, but also understand, that to do so would immediately disqualify Barack. 🙂 Let me interject here that i still believe that the winning ticket for the Democrats and so by a very large margin would have been a Hillary/Obama ticket, but the socialist/communist wing of the Democratic party would have none of it. A Obama/Hillary ticket could have still done the trick (win), but was an impossible match given the ego’s and intentions of the two persons, and their backers.
    Sarah Palin was an electioneering choice plain and simple, but i would add a very effective one. I do not place any real importance on a VP pick beyond their ability to bring counties to the winners table, to be an attack dog for the POTUS nominee, in essence to get the POTUS nominee elected, beyond that the POTUS is the man and VP can only be effective if the President allows him to be.

…..Everybody living in Socialist countries knows whats best for Americans except Americans themselves and they get upset when Americans don’t give a hoot what they say. 🙂

26. The Hillary question. I think Hillary would have won the White House for the Democrats very easily. I know she would have gotten my vote. After she spoke in Madison wisconsin and without a teleprompter i might add 🙂 I was sold. Of the three, John McCain, Barack, and Hillary, i would have voted for Her hands down. I never concidered Barack.

….As long as Al Sharpton, and Louis Farakhan are alive Barack can never give a good enough speech for me to vote for him. 🙂 uh trying my hand at liberal opinions, can you tell?

I want someone to tell me how much has John McCain changed from the man that was actively pursued to be John Kerry’s running mate on a democratic ticket just four years ago, How much has he change from actively thinking of picking Joe Lieberman to be his running mate this very year. The same Joe Lieberman who was a VP choice on Democratic ticket in the past. How much has he changed?

27. Adrian: I don’t profess to know what is best for Americans but what is best for the world at large. Whatever the election, by default, will affect the rest of the world. What is irking most Canadians at the moment is how our current PM ( plastic haired, dead eyed Harper) is how he has decreased the degree of seperation that Canada traditionally has had with the U.S. We have an election coming up too (Oct. 14) and his cow towing to the current U.S. aministration has quite a few Canadians concerned.
    Historically, Canada has maintained a co-operative relationship with the U.S. but at the same time has refused to be influenced by the agenda of the U.S. administration ( well, with the exception of the Avro Arrow scandal).
    Regardless, this whole issue is bigger than what Canadians think and, in fact, encompasses most of what Europe thinks as well. The Bush administration has done irrepairable harm to the profile of America on the world stage and most of the world is holding it’s breath in anticipation of a huge change in the country’s direction.

28. I am surprise that Harper thinks their is any lasting utility in closer ties with America against the wishes of Canadians. I believe American foreign policy doesn’t care to much what Canada does, and that the historic relationship between the two countries has been more in favour of Canada and is probably the on only reason that Canada is a G8 country, it is a G8 country right?. Without trade access to the American Market Canada’s economy would be about the size of that of Cuba. So Americans don’t pay much attention to the socialist games Canadians like to play.
    This whole idea about American profile overseas is an overblown lie of mammoth proportions. The truth has always been that any number of countries wish that they were where they periceived America to be in terms of power. Many have over the years percieved this power to be derived from size, and went about madly incorporating other sovereign countrys into a larger state, others thought they could “trick “others into forming unions with them at the top so that they could project rival power. I don’t care any much for this peceived opinion of good standing. I have never begged anyone to like me, espescially when it matters not to me. The change this country needs and that i see is a retake of our law making body from the socialist lifers in there. They are the sole cause of this financial mess.

29. John McCain is trying to pull another trick out of his bag. He is asking for a time-out. Between Monday and Wednesday he has change his mind at lease three times. Now that he finds he is trailing far behind and the degayes would obviously push him further, he’s trying to appear patriotic. I don’t see why the debates would have a impact on the troubles in Washington

30. Adrian: What you fail to see is that Canada likes being unimportant and innocuous to the U. S. We have an immense bounty of natural resources that are the enevy of many nations and we shall quietly go about our business without benefit of aggression that the U.S. is so well known for 🙂

31. The scout // September 24, 2008 at 4:06 pm

John McCain is trying to pull another trick out of his bag. He is asking for a time-out. Between Monday and Wednesday he has change his mind at lease three times. Now that he finds he is trailing far behind and the degayes would obviously push him further, he’s trying to appear patriotic. I don’t see why the debates would have a impact on the troubles in Washington
    Ha ha ha ha ha ha I just love your perspective on things. 🙂

I would have thought that the debates would have help McCain since it is said the he is at his best in these types of settings whereas Barack cannot speak without a teleprompter. All yesterday a lot of Americans where wondering why these two sitting senators were not in Washingtion dealing with this issue. That McCain got a jump on Obama may in of it self help him in the polls. But this is a continuation of the Maverick sperit in McCain, he is known for doing the unkown. I think the democrats were once again caught flat footed.

Your use of the word “Trick” says alot about your unspoken worries about this move. 🙂 I just love politics. 🙂

32. @ PiedPiper
    Just as well Americans really don’t care for the fickle like dislike of Europeans and Canadians.

33. Adrian you obviously don’t follow the american news, McCain today has lose so much ground that even some of his safe states are moving swiftly to Obama. The man McCain is on the ropes and asking/begging for a time-out. Maybe Obama should give him one before he gets charged for murder. That old man can’t take much more. He should realise, if he can’t take the heat, he should stay out of the kitchen.

34. The scout // September 24, 2008 at 4:26 pm

Adrian you obviously don’t follow the american news,

ha ha ha ha ha ha ha And this is why you are so confused.

35. ……and you see Adrian, that is the reason that Americans are so disliked…..their unshakable belief that they do not need the “world community”. Very soon, if not right now, the U.S. will be looking at and begging for Canadian natural resources (OIL) and then we will see if America has no need for the rest of the world. Every dog has it’s day 🙂

36. PiedPiper // September 24, 2008 at 4:32 pm

……and you see Adrian, that is the reason that Americans are so disliked…..their unshakable belief that they do not need the “world community”. Very soon, if not right now, the U.S. will be looking at and begging for Canadian natural resources (OIL) and then we will see if America has no need for the rest of the world. Every dog has it’s day 🙂

….begging nice choice of words. I believe right now that Canada is the largest supplier of oil to the US. I would bet that Canada has the resources to withhold sale of Oil to America, right?, but not only oil, Alaska is or has been working on a deal to have Canadian natural gas delivered. But you see this points back to why we must rescue ourselves from the socialist in our congress who could very well be canadians or europeans as they are certainly acting this way. If we are allowed to drill in Alaska, in our coastal waters we probably would not need your oil, then what would do? The American economy continues to be the place to make money for all of the world their dislike is not genuine.

37. Just like the other superpower USSR crumbled, America is on the verge of doing the same, thanks to Bush, Chaney, McCain, the Republicans and their money hounds that this group create. I hope they would all be brought to justice. Poor [eople losing their homes ans McCain is going to say that giving one of his advisors a US $ 45M severence was justifiable and she was CEO of one of the bailed out companies.

38. Adrian Hinds

Without trade access to the American Market Canada’s economy would be about the size of that of Cuba.

There he goes again making asinine statements without any foundation. Trade is a two way street did the US sign NAFTA because they liked Canada? Isn’t Canada the USA largest trading partner? Larger than Japan or China and do you know that the USA imports more oil from Canada than from any Middle Eastern country? What about US exports coming north over the border? It’s a pity you have access to a computer to spout so much nonsense which some people may believe because they don’t know any better.

It seems residence in the States makes one jingoistic to the extent that facts don’t matter.

39. Why I’m so concerned with American politics and the situation now in particular is because we in the caribbean will be hit by a political storm surge.

40. Tell that to all the people who lost their homes in the mortgage scam, see if they agree with you.. I suppose that is why the Bank of America has to bail out the crash/collapse/bankruptcy of Lehmans, Merrill Lynch and AIG. Yes, you are right, the American economy is booming…..trillions in deficit. The only people who make money off the American economy are those who already have more money than they could spend in their and their heirs lifetimes and off the backs of the poor. When you consider that most of those who lost their homes in the mortgage scam are black and poor, you surprise me Adrian.

41. If this was a soap opera, especially with Sarah in it, I would be just likeyou, supprting the devient ones but this is real and the actors are real and the negative image that America is protrayingare real. How can I support such?

42. The Obama campaign reached out to McCain earlier today in an effort to put out a bipartisan statement on the financial crisis. McCain ,seeking to get an edge since all the recent polls saw him falling further and further behind spent all morning huddling with his aides and in to appear statesmanlike put out his own statement. This is all about “Country First” now that he is losing, but the Obama operatives made a rookie mistake Obama tries to get beyond “politics as usual” while McCain never misses an opportunity to get a political advantage, during one of his meetings prior to the conventions one of his supporters asked “how do we beat the bitch?” referring to Hillary Clinton, McCain’s response was to laugh, when one of Obama’s supporters made a crack about McCain’s alleged confession as a POW, Obama admonished him and paid homage to McCain’s service to his country. McCain also seized on Obama’s comments about “lipstick on a Pig” and said that he was referring to Sarah Palin when McCain had made the same statement more than ten times.

Obama should learn that in politics “Nice Guys finish last”.

43. Who cares who wins the White House? Whoever it is they will probably still try to screw us (i.e non-americans). Ironically, Barbados may get a marginally better deal with the Republicans (McCain) but Obama will make us feel good. Can anyone tell me what plans (policy positions) Caricom or Barbados has vis a vis future relations with the USA? Are we counting on ethnic solidarity re Obama?

44. Seems to be a lot of emotional statements flying back and forth. Canada is a significant trading partner with the USA even if it may not think so the numbers say so. Adrian even if the USA were to start drilling for oil tonight, the production cycle will take anywhere from 10 to 15 years to gush. In the medium term Canada is therefore an important partner. Don’t forget the geo-politics as well. China is after Canada to supply them with oil. Piedpiper should be able to speak to this in more detail.
    The other point about Mccain getting the jump on Obama is false. The polls show that while McClain has the lead in foreign affairs matters, Obama turns the table when it comes to how Americans perceive the person best suited to manage a crisis economy and he has now regain the overall lead in the polls. The problem for him will be the independents/undecided voters and how he performs in the debates and whether white America will vote stupid.
    Also you forgot to mention that the crisis on Wall Street is still unravelling, it would be stupid for Obama to speak to the issue in absolutes and we have Citigroup collapse next week. Obama has been understandably cautious in this matter. The Republicans have been asked to submit a proposal and the democrats are suppose to work in a bipartisan way at the level of congress/senate. If this is the case why would Obama chose to be aggressive in the public space at this time?

45. For ru4real – Yes our present PM has a white mother and a black father but as far as I’ve heard he considers himself a black man. And when have you ever seen or heard Mr. Obama referred to anything but a black man? – despite the fact that he too is of mixed race.
    ————————————–
    But he owes his up bringing and education – his formative years to his maternal white grandparents.
    Give credit where its due.

46. Ha ha ha ha Sargeant as you continue on your angry road to prove me wrong at all cost, you are to my mind making it very easy for me to dismiss you. I take it you did not read beyond the comment you have highlighted. 😉

I will not seek to defend the comment that“Without trade access to the American Market Canada’s economy would be about the size of that of Cuba” it was overly dismissive, but the facts are that while Canada is the largest single trading partner of the US, trade with Canada represented only about 18.5% of U.S. total trade in 2006 with Canada purchasing 22.2% of U.S. exports and supplying 16.4% of total U.S. imports last year. While Canada is an important trading partner for the U.S. the U.S. is the dominant trade partner for Canada. The United States supplied 65% of Canada’s imports of goods in 2006, and purchased 79% of Canada’s merchandise exports. Imports and exports statistics every year since 1985 until present shows the enormous benefit to Canada trading with the US has been.
    Trade is a dominant feature of the Canadian economy. While in the U.S. the value of trade as a percentage of GDP was about 21.8% in 2006, the comparable figure for Canada was nearly 60% . Canada’s goods exports represent 31.9% of Canadian GDP and exports to the U.S. alone represents 26.9% of Canadian GDP. A further 18.2% of Canadian GDP is used to purchase U.S. goods.

So you see PiedPiper although the reality is that trade between the US and Canada is large, so integrated and unlikely to change that in Hindsight your PM’s position re. the U.S. maybe the right thing and Canadians objection to it is just your socialist inclination to want to stuff it to the big bad Satan to your south.  also in hindsight with figures like the ones above it seems like my overly dismissive comment would not’t be so wrong. 

….But PP if most Canadians are of the same opinions of the US as you are, why do so many of them settle so close to the US border? :0 did you read the anti Sarah Palin comments of that ugly CBC columnist name Heather, uh can’t remember her last name?

47. The plot thickens in Washington. McCain bails from the campaign on the pretense that he needs to focus on the bill currently before Senate on the bail-out.

HE ASKED OBAMA TO JOIN HIM!

Americans and many investors around the world would be hoping that as in 1988 and 2003 when there was massive withdrawals of equity from the market which bounced back with bullish markets the year after will repeat itself.

Interesting times ahead and the whole world is starting to feel the chills. Another strike against GWB before he goes. He must go down as the worst President in history.

48. David // September 24, 2008 at 6:10 pm

Adrian even if the USA were to start drilling for oil tonight, the production cycle will take anywhere from 10 to 15 years to gush. In the medium term Canada is therefore an important partner. Don’t forget the geo-politics as well. China is after Canada to supply them with oil. Piedpiper should be able to speak to this in more detail.

Man you would believe anything the bias news media in the US would say. That is the line of the do little democratic control congress, when the truth is that they believe Americans should pay more for gas. Ask yourself this if it is true that a simple reduction in demand for oil products due to high price led to a reduction in the cost for a barrel of oil almost overnight , as does a decrease in crude oil production also lead to higher cost per barrel overnight, how do you equate this to 10-15 year apology for not drilling? Did it take 10-15 years after oil was dicovered at wooburne St. Phillip to get it to market? schhuuupppssse.

…Obama says he initiated the call, McCain says he initiate the call to suspend campaigning and returned to Washington. Obama thinks it is better to still debate on friday McCain says no. I give the upper hand to Obama, he is right where the American people are on the two of them should be doing right now. He still can’t get my vote. 🙂

49. Interesting times ahead and the whole world is starting to feel the chills. Another strike against GWB before he goes. He must go down as the worst President in history.
    That means he will be competing for Jimmy Carter spot? Oh well thats what you get for being the biggest social spender of all presidents. :0

50. PiedPiper // September 24, 2008 at 4:47 pm

Tell that to all the people who lost their homes in the mortgage scam, see if they agree with you.. I suppose that is why the Bank of America has to bail out the crash/collapse/bankruptcy of Lehmans, Merrill Lynch and AIG. Yes, you are right, the American economy is booming…..trillions in deficit. The only people who make money off the American economy are those who already have more money than they could spend in their and their heirs lifetimes and off the backs of the poor. When you consider that most of those who lost their homes in the mortgage scam are black and poor, you surprise me Adrian.
    I have already berated the republicans for attempting to lay blame solely at the feet of low income first home buyes of which African Americans are a sizeable portion. In 2004 Bush, and all the right wing talk radio and tv sho host celebrated the fact that more African Americans got to own their first home during Bush first term that at any other time in history. Now that it has turned out that the majority of those mortgages where subprime loans made to people who could not afford them, they are now casting blame solely on the borrows. The facts are that most of these people had no clue what they were getting themselves into, many of them have never gotten a loan from anybody before, and naievly viewed these loan offers as a cause to celebrate. I once tried to talk a friend who worked at the Home depot for 12 dollars an hour out of taking a loan for 300k, they stongly believe that the tenant rent and the rising value of real estate would see them through. I told him it is very foolish to start out so highly leverage. So there is a lot of blame to go around. These loans should never have been made to persons who could not repay, and it was not greed alone that cause lenders to lend.