Prime Minister of Barbados David Thompson

The BU family should know by now that we have been a staunch advocate of Barbados pursuing an immigration policy which is structured and organized. Simply put our obligation to conform to the revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, Articles 45 and 46 must fit snugly into our national policies. The fact that our position on this issue conflicts with the so-called regionalists and liberals like former Junior Minister in the former government Kerrie Symmonds, and Peter Wickham who of late has been bleating on all issues facing Barbados is healthy to generate good debate.

At his first CARICOM Summit in April 2008, the newly crowned Prime Minister of Barbados sounded a warning to his colleagues that Barbados because of its limited resources, but managing a relatively vibrant economy which is an attraction to immigrants, Barbados WILL move to institute safeguards in the interest of sustaining our current standard of living. Over the weekend Prime Minister David Thompson in his strongest address to the issue of imported labour reported in the Nation Newspaper he warned, “the private sector against employing non-nationals in preference to Barbadians in the face of “an unsatisfactorily high level of unemployment in Barbados”.

The statement provoked a response from Prime Minister of St. Vincent Ralph Gonsales as follows:

“…it cuts across both the spirit and letter of the revised CARICOM treaty pertaining to movement of community nationals,” said Gonsalves, one of the most publicly outspoken leaders of the 15-member Community. He argued that to accept the rationale, as advanced by Barbados’ Prime Minister, to satisfy a current domestic unemployment problem, could lead to “serious problems for the Community’s single market of which Barbados is currently the major beneficiary”.

Prime Minister Gonsales went on to support his call by quoting from Articles 45 and 46 contained in the Treaty of Chaguaramas. BU can unequivocally state that Barbados when compared to our CARICOM neighbours have demonstrated over the years, beyond a shadow of doubt, that we are committed to CARICOM. Should we bother to list the initiatives we would have participated to make the point?

Prime Minister David Thompson is a politician whose longevity in office depends on his popularityย  among Barbadians. BU warned on earlier occasions that with the slowing down of our economy we would begin to experience some problems linked to the open immigration policy we have pursued under the last administration. Even before this government had settled 100 days in office, Barbadians have heard the litany of comment by members of the government regarding overcrowding of our schools, hospital, housing, polyclinics etc. Our physical plant and social services continue to burst at the seams. The economists like Clyde Mascoll and pollster Peter Wickham, who has become a social commentator of late, tell us that the unfettered movement of people in the region will be absorbed by the ability of the Barbados economy to create capacity.ย  Our Prime Minister in waiting Mia Mottley has also echoed this position by stating that the Barbados economy is understated i.e. there is significant GDP which is not captured in the statistics, we have carrying capacity we think it is called.

We will not repeat ourselves on this blog. A simple search of Barbados Underground using the word โ€˜immigration’ will pull-up several articles we have written on the issue of managing our immigration policy in the context of limited resources. Our favourite call-in moderator Dennis Johnson asked the question recently: why should Barbados and others have to pay the price of signing the CARIFORUM/EU EPA and President of Guyana not sign? In the meantime Guyana is the country in the Caribbean which benefits more than any other country by exporting labour within the region. How can CARICOM leaders continue to divorce decision-making?

Prime Minister David Thompson as the leader of Barbados must be concerned that the standard of living which the country has enjoyed will become compromised if we continue along the current path.ย  Free movement of labour in the region cannot be at the expense of Barbadians, there is a social cost to this approach. The other point is the fact that Barbados is rapidly becoming de-bajanized. Is it not obvious that Barbados given our development would be more attractive to our Caribbean brothers and sisters?

This being the case don’t we have to manage the immigrant inflow as part ofย  a startegy to ensure sustainabilty of our economy? Is this rocket science?

141 responses to “Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves Should Stop Braying:Home Drums Beat First”

1. And furthermore Ralphie…your argument is so full of shit. Are you saying that once there is a trade imbalance then we must open our market to receive citizens from the country or countries with which we have a trade imbalance?

You could only be some sort o cunt!

2. Guys there is absolutely NO reason to go to the level that you have gone to in discussing this matter.

Swearing as above has no place on a blog such as this, surely you are able to convey the message without the vulgarity as dsiplayed above.

3. J I understand your point and also agree but imagine my friend was not ‘STRAIGHT’!

4. Adrian
    I have been saying for some time that we have the administrative power both in and out of the country that could position us to go it alone. We need to take advantage of our geographical location.
    Negroman
    I had given you two responses to a question you had ask me. While I accept the amnesty proposal, I can see the Indo- Guyanese taking advantage of the situation unless loopholes like marriage of convenience is blocked among others. Really, I would like to see them all out but maybe the house has already bolted,( no pun on Mr Bolt.)

5. David said:

On another note we want to applaud the Guyanese man who has come forward to lay claim to Baby John Doe who was abandoned at the QEH. She is reported to have travelled back to Guyana after this non-maternal act. She is said to be 20 years old who allegedly got pregnant for a documented Guyanese man.

Here is the BU question:

Was the woman documented? If she was not would it be considered a crime if the alleged father knew and did not report it?
    —————————–

This is absolutely ridiculous,if the father is documented then I can accept that this baby is Bajan BUT the more the P.M. talks about this immigration issue the more I feel like pulling off my ears until I SEE something.This would have been one less mouth the Barbados tax-payers would have had to feed if the P.M. was enforcing the damn law.We should definitely reform the immigration laws to deny birthright citizenship unless at least ONE parent is legal in the country.

I am sorry but a Press statement will NOT do until there is measurable progress in the form of deportation of illegal immigrants in Barbados.The mere fact that the Prime Minister says,”or given marching orders to some,legally AND ILLEGALLY SETTLED IN BARBADOS” should say a lot.This man has been voted into the highest administrative office in the land,yet ABSOLUTELY REFUSES to enforce BARBADOS IMMIGRATION LAWS.

What can one say Barbados has become a free for all it seems.Bajan citizens don’t seem to have any input into what government does.D&B LP is what is running the country,but should be renamed TCLP[The Corrupted Labor parties].

6. All this CARICOM stuff is bare nonsense.

I have a friend that went to teach in St Kitts in 2002. He didnt get involved with local politics, nor did he broke the laws.

All he did was participate in the church services of his denomination. He was singing and preaching better than the other laymen in the church group.

When you hear the shout a man in his church in the position to do so saw to it that he did not get a work permit. His work permit was denied, and he had to leave St Kitts. Thus was bread taken out of his mouth- easy so!

7. PDC,
    I am trying to dicipher, and decode what you are talking about above.

8. Seems that Caricom leaders always try to bully Barbados into being on the loosing side of any Agreement.

9. Please do not be so hard on the young mother. She is reported to be only 20 and the mother of 2 and without status in this country, and apparently in a bad relationship, if the relationship is/was not bad how come the father did not accompany her to the hospital while she was in labour? What she has done is not so bad. She “abandoned” the baby at a hospital which she knows is very competent to take care of newborns.

So no money, no job, no status, no man. What was she supposed to do?

Unless you were born yesterday I am sure that you know that historically many, many Bajan women have abandoned their babies in cane fields when the mothers came upon hard times.

10. J
    When I talk about guyanese culture, this is what I’m talking about. I risk to bet she’s indian. They don’t think much about life. They would kill some-one or themself quite easily. Secondly, apparently the child was born in St Lucy and she told the father it had died, then slip the island. We’re not only giving amnesty to these people but to their NASTY habits.

11. No scout. It is not “Guyanese culture” to abandon a baby.

Desperate parents of all cultures abandon their children.

What would you Was that call those Bajan parents who in the 1950’s and 1960’s and onwards who moved to Europe or North America and after a short while stopped writing and never sent for thier children? Was that “Guyanese culture” too?

Dear Scout:” In the 1950’s growing up in my village there was a man much my elder who had been abandoed as an infant. He was named after the plantation where he was found and his parents were never found. I am sure that many people my age can tell you similar stories from thier villages. Was tha “Guyanese culture” too?

12. Life is really quite amusing in this 2 x4 island, when I sat listened and learnt that we had so many scams going on in this island it is unreal.

Work permits ranging from $ 600.00, $ 1,000.00 and $ 5,000.00 from many from within the Immigration Department with the biggest scam being the huge number inexcess 150 Citizenships being awarded since the 15 Jan with neither the PM or the Minister of Immigration signing off on them, I sincerely hope that these assuming to be now Barbadians did not pay the
    $ 25,000.00 fee that was being asked for these citizenships???

Who would you assume to be the one charging this fee ???

None other that the senior person in Immigration, I trust that when he seeks judgment he knows what to expect.

More over the sad thing is all these people who may have paid their fee to him will now find out that their status is null and void

13. I does wonder sometimes who’s give all these immigrants work. It could only be Black people.To besides ,most of the indo guyanese work in all the plantations in the country side.you ever see a young black person working on any plantation recently?all you does see is guyanese or old people.
    Black people are liberated so they cant turn no soil no more.
    Other people come and do your donkey work and you get vex.
    Who does marry all these guyanese?The same foolish black man.I wonder why though. i feel the guyanese woman dont spend all of she man money on expensive hair doos and nails.and them could cook more than once a week.
    How come nobody aint mumbling about all those vendors in town? half of them are foreigners(i mean vincies and st.lucians).they even dont sound Bajan cause you could hear the accent and patios.They can be found all over bim too. I know why though….because the Black. if them was indian it would be another story.
    And for you NEGROMAN, why Barbados belong only to black people?
    As far as i know you werent the first nor will you be the last.someone brought you here. And the people that were here bfore you and the white man looked more like the indian than a black man.
    You ever wonder why they call that place “indian ground” ? i mean settlers came to Barbados and never “colonised” Carlylse Bay( a natural bay) till much later.food for thought.

14. Negroman can sometimes be a nutcase.he mentions India pakistan and bangladesh as countries where indians cause strife.can somebody please tell tell him that in these countries they are only indians there.
    Maybe he can tell me if it is indians that are causing strife in most of those countries on his Black African continent.

15. Cheesecutter Pakistan,India,Bangladesh,Nepal,Sri Lanka have conflicts.Idians in those countries are killing one another.Indians are even killing their leaders.Benazir Bhutto is an example.Indians are destructive,corrupt,scheming,thiefing and wicked.
    I,Negroman have no regard,respect, admiration or love for Indians.All Indians could go and rot in hell.
    Indo-Guyanese are killing,and taking advantage of black Guyanese daily in Guyana.Indo-Guyanese are RESPONSIBLE for the destruction of Guyana.I will defend with the last breath of my body Barbados from the destruction will suffer if we allow the waste that are indo-Guyanese to over run this country.
    We accept Vincies,Lucians,Dominicans,Grenadians ,Jamaicans and even black Guyanese into Barbados because they look like the vast majority of Barbadians,We have the same history and we are brothers & sisters having the same pure,righteous African blood within us.Those people I just mentioned came into Barbados and made positive contributions.They worked in our agriculture,manufacturing & construction.Many paid their dues.On the other hand many of the human waste Indo-Guyanese are scheming,conniving and very dishonest.The majority are here only to rob Barbadians out of their homes,land and possessions.Daily there are many cases of Indo-Guyanese scheming Barbadians out of their property.
    Barbados must be protected from the destruction that will be visited on us if we allow unchecked migration of Indo-Guyanese and I must add just as evil Chinese into our land.
    Prime Minister David Thompson act now on your words or we will hold you responsible for the destruction of Barbados and the suffering our black off springs will have to endure at the hands of the mercenary Indians,Chinese & Whites., .

16. MAXINE MCCALEAN

NO AMNESTY TO ANY ILLEGAL PERSON.

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.

Negroman,Cheesecutter is an indian – can’t you tell?

TERE WILL BE MINI RIOTS BOUT HERE IN BARBADOS – IN TIME TO COME – WATCH AND SEE..

These indians will not be leaving Barbados on their own – don’t even think it – they don’t care what pressure you put on them – barbados too sweet – so Thompson will have to put them out

That citizenship issue at the immigration department needs some serious looking into.

That man Greaves – the immigration chief – was put there by owen arthur – but God don’t like ugly watch and see what will happen to the 2 of them.

Stinkin’ dogs.

17. J
    We have moved way beyond that. This is exactly what I,ve been talking about for a while, these indo-guyanese is taking our standards back a good fifty years. They have been known to leave their young (new born) babies on the father’s steps or at the hospital. Secondly, you can’t equate bajans leaving their children with their mother or relative, friend and going off to Britain with what they do. at lease the old bajans leave the baby with somebody, the guyanese don’t. They don’t care that much about life.

18. Cheesecutter
    I’ve said before, if there are genuine work in Barbados for which bajans are reluctant to do, then bring people in to do it. Those brought in should be on contract to the employer for a period of time and return to their country when that contract expires. This system is still available. The problem is those who come here on “holiday” for 2 weeks 5 years ago and still in my country and getting very arrogant with it too. Statements like “nobody can’t put we out”, and “bajans can’t do without we”.What was we doing before, Barbados wasn’t discovered last week,bajan have built this country to be the envy of the region and these people want to come and destroy what took many tears to build just for greed? can’t work.

19. Scout ignore Cheesecutter, he does not understand love for ones country. He only knows about being victimised and victimising others in return.

No amnesty for no foreigners who have ovrstayed thier time. That is an OFFENCE! STUPSEEEE

20. I know Cheesecutter is an indian.Check his command of the English Language.Very poor indeed.Cheesecutter is just another wasted Indo-Guyanese hum bug.

I support no AMNESTY for illegals especially the human waste Indo-Guyanese.When this amnesty issue is officially announce we must rise up in our numbers and let David Thompson & government know in no uncertain terms no amnesty for illegals Indo-Guyanese scums.An exception could be given for Caribbean blacks especially those from Guyana.

NO PERMANENT RESIDENCY OR CITIZENSHIP FOR INDO-GUYANESE

21. I am not supporting racism, but blacks and Indians really don’t have anything in common, but blood.
    The cultures are vastly different.

I think we should pay heed to relations between Indians and blacks in Trinidad and especially Guyana.

Immigrants should return when their contracts expire.

At the moment our healt system is being taxed and foreign exchange exported.
    We are not the USA , Canada etc. We cannot sustain these forces. We are an import economy depending heavily on our service industries.

22. Negroman:

I believed you in your conviction you were about to emigrate to the Mother Continent.

What progress have you made?

And which countries are most amenable to accepting a West Indian repatriation?

Possibly you could tell us of the opportunities and welcome you have discovered from your research.

It may help other Bajans to decide where their future lies.

23. d blacks need to go too.If they illegal go back to yuh damn country.What ignorance you talking about leaving and giving them a chance.You must b mad.Negro Man you feel cos they black that they like we or gine get on wid we.Don;t fool yuh self,they does turn round and laugh at black bajans all d time that they fooling we.BLACK ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS GO BACK HOME WITH THE INDIAN ONES ALSO

24. Wait Norman Faria left the island and gone somewhere far? He very silent. i think it’s time for Barbados to take a stand and retify the evils that were done. We can be a lot less inter-dependent if we just unite. Live up to the motto. Guyanese don’t have any pride and they are not industrious so they can’t be a barbadian citizen.

25. First let me clarify certain things. I do NOT support illegal immigration.If you come here and overstay your time you should be sent back,whether black or indian.My grouse with Negroman is that for him it is okay if black immigrants stay here illegally but not so for indians. If you are illegal, you are illegal.That is that.
    The point i was trying to make with regards to Negroman’s assertion that indians are always causing strife, (whereby he stated those countries in the subcontinent )is foolishness. The same way indians in Asia are in conflict, the same can be said for blacks in Africa.So you don’t have a point.
    Negroman,with regards to taking advantage of people,who was “taking advantage “of the indians in guyana when your “comrade Burhnam” was in power?I know who>It was the Indians ..Hah.
    Negroman and anon… . As with regards to my command of the english language let it be known that i went as far as u.w.i in education.I am bred and born bajan,probrably know more bajan than you.I chose to write that way because it’s my choice.
    Whether you like it or not ,Whites indians and even the chinese and syrian/lebanese have ALL made contributions along with the black people of this country to bring this country where it is today.
    In closing, i am NOT a backer of any indians or guyanese for that matter. i just don’t like your rasicts overtones, that all.
    Is my english any better for you now?
    Stupse…

26. BLACK PEOPLE HAVE BUILT BARBADOS CHEESECUTTER!

I cannot remember seeing many Indians bout here in the 80s and that is when things were considered DREAD! Dont talk no foolishness CHEESECUTTER.

The Whites as well played thier part I have no problem with supporting Cave Shepherd, Dacosta Mannigs and so on. They have contributed to Barbados annually in programmes such as crop over etc.

WHAT HAVE OTHERS DONE, different to come and send back home them money to thier families and call bajans asses! I have mentioned already, when i read about Guyana, Trinidad and the list goes on pure conflict!

You dealing with history Cheesecutter; I dont think you are stupse.

To know where you are going you have to know your history. And history has proven repeatedly that the combination of Indians and blacks are DESTRUCTION! i KNOW THAT IS A FACT! Furthermore, lets forget about Indian for a minute and deal with FACTS!

If you are a European, Chinese, Balck or white and are here illegally LEAVE!

As the men would say on the block STRAIGHT FORWARD!

27. Pissed off, I have to agree with you on this one; although they are black once illegal GO HOME NO AMNESTY FOR A BOY!

Nobody gives bajans amnesty we go into people’s society and CONFORM!

28. Straight Talk,
    You are dead wrong when you allude to opportunities in Africa. Why do you think the West has investment in the billlions?
    If you are equating opportunites to going to Africa and looking for a job, sure, you may have a point. But don’t even remotely think that Africa is void of opportunities. It is a low cost producing continent.

29. Many African countries are offering dual citizenship for us blacks in the diaspora.Ghana is an example and many more African states are doing likewise.
    Africa is the cradle of civilisation and gave the world everything.
    Cheesecutter ask yourself the question,Why are the Europeans,Chinese & your Asian counterparts clamouring for a stake in Africa?Please answer that question for me.Cheesecutter why you are at it please tell me one peaceful Indian country where Indians are in the majority and there are no conflicts,with suicide bombers and the like.
    Indians are a killing race.They kill their own.

30. Fellow bloggers, At the St. Michael District hospital a Guyanese nurse pelt some lists in a bajan patient and was suppose to be under investigation.

I was made to understand that although she was under investigation she was able to gain entry to do the three year nursing programme.

Minister Estwick found out about this and said she has to come off the programme; however, she only came off the programme for 4 DAYS.

The Big maguffy Mitchie Clarke, the Chief nursing Officer has decided that he has the last say and sent her right back on to the programme!

You see why bajans will always suffer?

How dare Mitchie clarke, or any other bajan for that matter look out for guyanese or any other foreigner who beat our old people who helped to build this country into what it is today?

Minister Estwick does not seem to be in charge at all! What is going on are all the persons in charge of particular ministries mad? First Greaves from Immigration and now Clarke from the district hospital talking shite about their own and loving every foreigner although they ARE causing chaos on OUR island!

What is going on!

31. Negroman
    You’re right, i heard a indo-guyanese say that he ain’t going back to guyana, he remaining in Barbados with his family(all illegal). He would die to keep them here, he would do what ever it takes not to go back home. That’s why I know that there will be conflicts in this country when so of them get their marching orders they would cause a disturbance in Barbados. I am prepared to defend my country.

32. Many persons who attended UWI cannot write a proper essay and that is a fact! Why you think that you have to pay 500 dollars for the UCo10o Fundamentals of written english! Stupes

33. From what is happening in the USA,we seem to be heading for a wordwide recession. That means things can get tight here in Bim. How will this government deal with massive layoffs and job priorities. Would we have to compete with these illegals for a job in OUR OWN COUNTRY? Mr P.M do something or there would be WAR and it wouldn’t be very civil either.

34. JC that story has me angry as hell.How dare Mitchie Clarke that ass could order that guyanese scum back on the programme.What kind of leaders we have running this country.Dr David Estwick you are a weakling and should be ashamed of yourself that you allow a subordinate to override a decision you made as Minister.Minister Estwick you should be ask to resign with immediate effect.
    JC if that patient was any relative of mines,that guyanese nurse wil not be in existence anymore.If any indo-guyanese ever had to do anything to any family member of Negroman.God or Allah will have to save them.They will not seek to exist.
    This situation is getting dread and our leaders are talking a lot shit and we are seeing little action or relief from this problem.
    Black Barbadians the future of our country is at stake.We are heading the road of Guyana at a tremendous rate and I believe only us right thinking patriotic black Barbadians could save this country.
    South Africans forced their government to address an impending immigration problem and we in Barbados could do likewise.The shit has hit the fan.When a Guyanese could assault a Barbadian in Barbados that is where I draw the line.
    Barbadians let get up and retake this country for our children.Do not depend on the government.The government is almost powerless.
    ACTION IS REGUIRE NOW

35. Negroman
    Come on, come on, you of all people should know better. I’ve been preaching for sometime now that this is exactly what is going to happen and you know and have experience this practice. Don’t raise your blood pressure because this is only the beginning. i warned previously and concluded by saying ” those that have ears to hear, let them hear,” the evolution has started. As stated before, I have put a plan “b” in place foe my family and I. I don’t want to sound like a prophet of doom and gloom but ” God help Barbados.”

36. Scout i am not even scared anymoreI know that we need to be MORE TOGETHER!

Imagine that when a Sister was told about the Guyanese being still allowed into the classroom; instead of her enquiring why she just said “Oh I guess she got the last laugh!

This is what I am talking about, the ignorance of persons just allowing these people to get away with MURDER!

What shite is this! stupse!

37. I am impressed with the statement which was reported in the press and attributed to the honourable Prime Minister. If the Prime Minister can match his words to his actions, I believe that he would be entitled to another chance, just like when a batsman score runs in a cricket match and is given another chance to play. To my mind the Prime Minister has just scored a century and these comments were like the second fifty which was achieved with a scorching cover drive, not a man move.

Now I hope that the Prime Minister does not create any false impressions because impressions count and grandstanding seems to be an art that he has perfected. Bajan jobs for Bajans but not at the top of the CBC chain

I am not a supporter of any political party and I call it as I see it. I am true non partisan

38. Although I was and I am still be givien assurances that the government will be dealing decisively with this immigration issue I still have my doubts.I tend to agree with Q with the comment that our leader has perfected the art of grandstanding.
    His administration is in power for 8 months now and I believe that is enough time that positive & decisive action could have been undertaken to effectively deal with this situation.All I am hearing is a lot of long talk and little action.
    I had a little talk with Minister Maxine McClean she seems willing and wants to action to happen,however,she seems fustrated that maybe some of her efforts are being fustrated.I believe Maxine McClean is committed but some key forces in her ministry are determine to fustrate the efforts.
    They are some corrupt senior government officials especially some staioned at the airport that are caught up in some dubious activities taking place at the airport with issuing of false work permits,immigrant status & the like.There is an incident where a fakse work permit was issued to an African and the said African asked for a receipt and subsequently he was arrested and at this present moment he is still incarcerated at the Dods prison.

39. Why are we now hearing of these issues. These allegations need to be investigated thoroughly by this present administration!

You believe if this was down by me and there was a scam people would get drag! what is happening in such a small country like Barbados? Has everyone gone mad?

40. It would seem that greed has taken over Barbados to the point that everyone has jumped on the bandwagon, now those that can’t get on or not getting the same sweets as others decide to squeal. A lot of people and incedences are going to come to the fore just now.

41. The problem is that some people have taken advantage of these loopholes and have so embedded themselves that it would be difficult if not impossible to uproot them now.

42. I,m looking forward to a more concrete an definitive statement from our P.M the next time he visits Barbados. Just making a threatening remark and leaving hanging is not good enough.I think he’s due to visit this country again sometime next week, this would have given his staff enough time to report if there has been any improvement in this potential crisis.

43. The silence of the rest of the regional leaders on Ralphie’s statement is deafening.

44. Scout rest of region dont sing in Bdos choir. Sex machine Ralphie voicing what most of them think of Bdos. The Iranian courting attention seeking ho envies and hates Bdos like rest of english Caribbean.

45. negroman wrote

—“There is an incident where a false work permit was issued to an African and the said African asked for a receipt and subsequently he was arrested and at this present moment he is still incarcerated at the Dods prison.”
    ———————————-
    scout wrote:
    “I’m looking forward to a more concrete an definitive statement from our P.M the next time he visits Barbados.”
    ————————————-

great stuff guys
    cant stop laughing
    unbelievable from negroman

46. hahahahahahaha ha mi la

47. Someone called and said that Minister Estwick do the DAWG and the Guyanese Nurse reported for morning duty yesterday! Thank God for BU!

48. I know that there will be riots and race wars in Barbados very soon if these illegal immigrants are not deported.Look at the number of Chinese , who I assume , are here legally, but are reproducing very quickly.

Guyanese and other Caribbean nationals have no intention of paying taxes but want to enjoy all the benefits of living here.
    We Barbadians will foot the bill for people who are only here for benefits and when this country becomes like their own, ungovernable,they will move on to some other country.

49. i cant believe the thread on veoma ali has been closed

unbelievable

50. I agree with you Q.

Barbados Underground rails about Freedom of speech and the exposure of truth in the Nation newspaper,in government etc,yet decides to supress the same free speech because it seems a few ‘big-up’ names were being called.

If they wanted bloggers to mention incidents but don’t refer to persons by name I could even understand that,because people may use the opportunity to slander innocent persons.

However to shut down discussion that staff members and former staff members were longing to get off their chest,and that the public of Barbados needed to hear – to shut down that discussion is just unbelievable.

I think this topic was necessary because it opened up to so many other tangential issues, for e.g. same sex relationship and the regularity of violence in these relationshipsor,

Homosexuality and its pervasive influence in the top eschelon of barbadian society,and corporations or,

favoritism in the workplace;

the media and their double standards,

and on and on.

I however am taking a dim view of this blog just shutting down discussion ‘just so’.