Prime Minister of Barbados David Thompson

The BU family should know by now that we have been a staunch advocate of Barbados pursuing an immigration policy which is structured and organized. Simply put our obligation to conform to the revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, Articles 45 and 46 must fit snugly into our national policies. The fact that our position on this issue conflicts with the so-called regionalists and liberals like former Junior Minister in the former government Kerrie Symmonds, and Peter Wickham who of late has been bleating on all issues facing Barbados is healthy to generate good debate.

At his first CARICOM Summit in April 2008, the newly crowned Prime Minister of Barbados sounded a warning to his colleagues that Barbados because of its limited resources, but managing a relatively vibrant economy which is an attraction to immigrants, Barbados WILL move to institute safeguards in the interest of sustaining our current standard of living. Over the weekend Prime Minister David Thompson in his strongest address to the issue of imported labour reported in the Nation Newspaper he warned, “the private sector against employing non-nationals in preference to Barbadians in the face of “an unsatisfactorily high level of unemployment in Barbados”.

The statement provoked a response from Prime Minister of St. Vincent Ralph Gonsales as follows:

“…it cuts across both the spirit and letter of the revised CARICOM treaty pertaining to movement of community nationals,” said Gonsalves, one of the most publicly outspoken leaders of the 15-member Community. He argued that to accept the rationale, as advanced by Barbados’ Prime Minister, to satisfy a current domestic unemployment problem, could lead to “serious problems for the Community’s single market of which Barbados is currently the major beneficiary”.

Prime Minister Gonsales went on to support his call by quoting from Articles 45 and 46 contained in the Treaty of Chaguaramas. BU can unequivocally state that Barbados when compared to our CARICOM neighbours have demonstrated over the years, beyond a shadow of doubt, that we are committed to CARICOM. Should we bother to list the initiatives we would have participated to make the point?

Prime Minister David Thompson is a politician whose longevity in office depends on his popularity  among Barbadians. BU warned on earlier occasions that with the slowing down of our economy we would begin to experience some problems linked to the open immigration policy we have pursued under the last administration. Even before this government had settled 100 days in office, Barbadians have heard the litany of comment by members of the government regarding overcrowding of our schools, hospital, housing, polyclinics etc. Our physical plant and social services continue to burst at the seams. The economists like Clyde Mascoll and pollster Peter Wickham, who has become a social commentator of late, tell us that the unfettered movement of people in the region will be absorbed by the ability of the Barbados economy to create capacity.  Our Prime Minister in waiting Mia Mottley has also echoed this position by stating that the Barbados economy is understated i.e. there is significant GDP which is not captured in the statistics, we have carrying capacity we think it is called.

We will not repeat ourselves on this blog. A simple search of Barbados Underground using the word ‘immigration’ will pull-up several articles we have written on the issue of managing our immigration policy in the context of limited resources. Our favourite call-in moderator Dennis Johnson asked the question recently: why should Barbados and others have to pay the price of signing the CARIFORUM/EU EPA and President of Guyana not sign? In the meantime Guyana is the country in the Caribbean which benefits more than any other country by exporting labour within the region. How can CARICOM leaders continue to divorce decision-making?

Prime Minister David Thompson as the leader of Barbados must be concerned that the standard of living which the country has enjoyed will become compromised if we continue along the current path.  Free movement of labour in the region cannot be at the expense of Barbadians, there is a social cost to this approach. The other point is the fact that Barbados is rapidly becoming de-bajanized. Is it not obvious that Barbados given our development would be more attractive to our Caribbean brothers and sisters?

This being the case don’t we have to manage the immigrant inflow as part of  a startegy to ensure sustainabilty of our economy? Is this rocket science?

141 responses to “Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves Should Stop Braying:Home Drums Beat First”

1. At our two critics we posted a comment this morning which warned that we were thinking of closing the topic. The point has been made over and over. The last time we checked the 245 comments were still there. What we have learned in our short existence is we can’t please everyone. Is there another medium anywhere in Barbados where what was posted on the Veoma topic could have been done?

Please respect our judgement. Let us see how VOB reacts to the revelations, we always have the option to discuss further at a later date.

IF THERE ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WHICH ANYONE FEEL IS RELEVANT PLEASE EMAIL US OR CLICK ON FEEDBACK AT THE TOP OF THE BU HOMEPAGE

2. Oh Lord BU what happen! I thought that you all loved freedom of speech! Were you threatened because of the truth!

I am very sorry that Vioma Ali’s issue has been scrapped!

3. I participate on a professional blog where threads are terminated by the moderators any ole time without warning, and with far far less than 245 comments (talking about less than 5).
    Leave BU lone man. This stuff is sure to come up again.

4. SO WHAT ?——–ANON
    SO WHAT ?

5. Reminder:
    ALL HOMOS MUST BE EXPOSED

6. Listen heaven knows I aint in Thompson or de DLP choir.

But Ralph Gonsalves cant be washing he mout pon we Prime Minister.

Who de hell he tink he is!

7. The guyanese nurse back on duty,and she is very upset over not being allowed to do her training,she is even more aggressive towards staff and the patients in her care,she thought she would win out because her mother in law is a sister in the same institution,but i guess she did not get the last laugh.

8. Staff at a health care institution are fed up with the treatment which the PNO gives to them,the nurses at at st.Thomas district hospital are fed up with her attitude towards them and the way she speaks down to them,the PNO sits in her office and is delivered her food like a lord daily,she shouts at workers and speak down to the staff,both nurses and general workers alike,this lady does not eve like the staff to get a ride in the government’s van which services the hospital,and was the only one who was allowed to drive in it,the driver would pick her up on mornings from home and transport her to work,and if they passed any one on the way they would not stop,on evenings the lady would be taken home in the said vehicle,and pass workers at the bus stop.The only car allowed on the compound to park would me the madam PNO,all others had to be parked on the pasture opposite,where the sheep and goats graze and dounce your cars.Junior nurses were sent to train ahead of senior nurses because these juniors were her friends one just came back from doind Psychiatric nursing,this Pno also recomended one of her favourites to do mid wiffery,but she was not successfull,another senior at least 8 years senior to the recomended girl was accepted to do midwiffery,but the Pno was unwilling to assist her in being sponsered or even allowing her to do night so she colud study during the day,it is sad when a senior would try to keep workers down and use her political affiliations to scare workers,and threaten their job security,this woman thinks because of her pass political linkings she is a boss,but it takes a small axe to cut down a big tree.

9. After reading the above article i was compeled to write my story.I Was a nurse at that same St.Thomas district hospital,and must say what ever was written by lady nurse is true,and is just the tip of the iceberg,Ms.Bourne thinks just because of her connections with the CNO Mitchel Clarke,she can do as she wish and treat people as she sees fit,this woman brags about her early morning chats with mitchie all over the hospital,and she constantly says at meetings and to disgruntle workers “what ever wona say bout me i does know,i got friends in the ministry”mitchie as he is affectionately called by shirley bourne seems to reward bad behaviour for it is he who was willing to send Simone Bryan Na of geriatric hospital to do training despite her beating the old patient,(she is the Guyanese nurse).Shirley bourne was also appointed to the post of PNO despite the complaints against her by staff members,it is apparent she has friends in the ministry,because all complaints fall on deaf ears.Even the principal personel officer Ms.carrol Gay seems to be under her controol and backs her up in her wrong doings.Ms Bourne has a side kick called magarette Albert who is a vindictive as she is.The treatment of staff by this lady needs to be looked into,as staff moral at the institution is at an all time low,thank god i have retired from that place,i just hope things change for the poor staff members who remain there.Retired am I and loving it.

10. I see the policewoman who accuse Ralphie of rape drop the charges. Who paid her? Who or what persuade her to walk away? Her version of events sounded quite credible. Hmmmm.. Ralphie you get away again boy.

11. You feel he get way again Baj… I hope the people of St. vincent and the Grenadines cut his ass in the polling station morning noon and night!

I see that their is n excerpt in the Nations showing the family line between Guyana and Barbados! That has nothing to do with what is going on in Barbados! Nobody is denying the fact of our lineage, however, How big is Guyana please tell me!

12. Minister Estwick investigate the Psychiatric Hospital or else.
    Mia the Prime Minister to be who will never get that position Mottley was in Saturday Sun talking nonsense as usual about CSME & lambasting Prime Minister David Thompson position on the immigration issue.We the people of Barbados elected David Thompson as Prime Minister of Barbados and not the Prime Minister of CSME,CARICOM or the Caribbean.Prime Minister Thompson must accede to the wishes of people of Barbados and this immigration issue is of paramount importance to Barbadians and must be address in a forceful manner.Prime Minister Thompson the whites,the Indians and the emerging Chinese group in Barbados might have the financial & economic might but we blacks have the political might and if you want to remain leader of Barbados listen to our concerns and address those concerns in a practical manner.If you are going to pander to the wishes of the elite few you will soon be an ex leader like many of the rest.You have state your position and you must act on it now or else your fate will be seal.
    I see Moorjani the owner of a construction company is in the paper talking about putting Barbados first and he does employ Barbadians first.A lot of bull shit.He is one of the major collaborators in the conspiracy to hire non-nationals.His company just built a massive complex in Welches,Maxwell Christ Church.I can tell you a vast majority of workers at that site was non-nationals and especially the Indo_Guyanese type.Moorjani you are an Indian and you believe that black Barbadians are stupid.Do not come and try to insult us with that nonsense that your company put Barbadians first.This reminds me of the Royal Shop affair when the disgusting,wicked Indians owners tried to conveyed the message that they are upright Barbadians citizens and maintain the laws of Barbados and contribute to many charitable organisations and will do nothing to victimise black Barbadians workers.Subsequent events proved otherwise.
    Moorjani if that was the case will the present situation in the construction industry where the majority of workers are non-Barbadians will have existed.
    Negroman is not one of those gullible black Barbadians who accept the nonsense coming out the mouths of a lot of you all Indian mercenaries who view black people as fool. I can think and analyse.It appears we have a leader who is willing to address many of our concerns and you all business people beginning to recognise he means business.
    If David Thompson does not act decisively on this immigration issue we will make this country ungovernable.

Pictures tell a 1000 words Freundel Stuart,Michael Lashley & Abdul Pandor poising together discussing housing issues.Interesting indeed.

13. JC

Don’t get tie up that guyanese propoganda is being promoted by roxanne gibbs and ricky singh and all the other guyanese touts out there.

Check out today’s editorial,pro guyanese also.

But JC you ain’t realise that this is about the 15th article the nation did in the last 2 years about how bajans related to guyanese?

Anytime the discussion about the large guyanese presence and the associated problems rear its head this article reappears in the nation newspaper.

David thompson like he got a few of them worried,I only hope that he follows through on this talk real fast.

14. Mr. Thompson has no one worried, he is only one man and he is not ruthless and spiteful like you know who. Barbados is a changed place, it always is when the Dems are in, people will cry out and say victimisation and discrimination if a strong immigration stance is taken.
    I suspect that Mr. Thompson only flying a kite. Barbados is not (just) for Bajans anymore, seemore say so.

15. There is a four part story that has started today in the sunday sun. I just scanned through it, will read the entire article after lunch. From the little excerpts, I’ve read it seems like there is a plan ahead to make bajans felt guilty. In fact it seems like they would like us to open our doors and throw a party every time another batch smuggles their way in. Tell me what relations these indo-guyanese got to me? How can little Barbados accommodate the thousands of immigrants that are flocking to this country? When there is an overcrowding of these people in the country and bajans start losing jobs and houses, don’t you see some retaliation in civil unrest here? The whole of the region for years envied us because of our strong ecomonical standard of living, when these people come and offset it, can anyone tell me why Barbados would still be so attractive?

16. Scout

Have you wondered why Starcom and the Nation going downhill?

Both of them owned by One caribbean have been pushing this pro guyanese shite.

Both vic fernandes and roxanne gibbs at VOB and the nation are pushing this guyanese thing.

But God don’t like ugly, now all the filthy things that they had covered up are now being exposed e.g. roy morris incident,veoma ali and david ellis,and vic fernandes behaviour and all the other rotten stuff.

I personally don’t want no lotta long talk from David thompson if he means what he says then I want some to see some real action and see these guyanese and all the other illegals being sent back like yesterday.

Right now from the talk you are hearing I think that 90% of bajans now can’t stand the guyanese who are here in barbados.

Even those bajans who at first were saying leave the guyanese alone are now so disgusted by them that they are spitting fire.

The 10 percent who want them to keep coming are those that getting free sex or cheap labour from the guyanese or creepers like mia mottley who trying to push this issue for political gain.

However notice how freundel stuart says in today’s papers that he is soon going to pass a law to stop landlords from increasing their rent by 200% and 300% so that they can run out the bajan family who would not be able to afford that increase and then rent it room by room and stuff 4 -5 guyanese in each room.

This country is turning into a real ‘dog eat dog’ place once these unscrupulous guyanese start bringing their nasty habits here.

How it is that when the vincys and the lucians were here in the 70s and 80s we never saw this nasty practice.

Man I want to know that david thompson got a plan to get every one of these damn illegal pests out of here.NOW.

17. Anonymous everything you said is true.I had a talk with a white Barbadian friend of mine,I do have some white Barbadian friends not much but a few I have as friends and the Guyanese immigration matter came up.His views were similar to many of our views.That is we must put a stop to the influx of Indo-Guyanese into Barbados.He expressed the view that Indo-Guyanese are clannish and destructive and their behavior destroyed Guyana and the same thing will happen to Barbados.This is a white businessman in Barbados talking.He also expressed the view that there is racism between the whites & blacks in Barbados but we never allow it to reach the level that it will cause disharmony and destruction of Barbados.The 2 groups have worked together to develop and build Barbados.However,that is not the case with Indians.Even some whites are fearful of an influx of Indo-Guyanese and the negative effect it could have on this country.
    In my estimation I believe nearly 99% of all Barbadians is disgusted with Guyanese especially the Indo-Guyanese nuisances and want real action taken against them.
    David Thompson the ball is in your court stop pussyfooting and get on with programme.
    Enough is Enough Get out the Indo-Guyanese human waste

18. Negroman you are a racist. AND you are not a Barbadian. Who gave yu r permission to call other human beings s*it.

And you are deluded if you think that you speak for 99% of Barbadians. You do not.

Why don’t you get your black Guyanese self offa this blog and outta we country, and stop giving black Bajans a bad name. We don’t want you ’bout here.

19. J

Negroman is one of us while you sit down in a 10 x10 room in canada and write a bundle of crap.

Man know yuh place.Negroman is free to express his views like everyone else.

You on the other hand always criticising other bloggers and always writing dog dung,you never add anything meaningful to any of the discussions.

20. Thanks Anonymous for responding to that fool J.I let her know in no uncertain terms that I am born & breed Bajan.I have put that idiot on ignore and will not respond to her again.I agreed with you she offers nothing meaningful to the blogs but pick up on non-issues.She is a wasted blogger.

21. @Negroman
    We are with you all the way.

Keep the fight on.

22. J wha happen man! You seemed to have been in a foul mood when you wrote your comment!

J EVERYBODY SICK OF THE GUYANESE!

That is a fact, they have shown themselves to be a pack of vindictive characters, who have no morals or respect and are the fastest persons to say they getting unfaired when truth and in fact they are stabbing us in our backs!

Negro man I with you 99% of Barbados want them go back home! SIMPLE!

23. I am one of the many Barbadians who are fed up with the great influx of Guyanese into this small island,it is one thing when they use to come,work and leave,but now these ceaps are staying breading like chinks,and bringing in all their family.What is barbados coming to?just yesterday i was told a story by a friend of mine who told me a guyanese came into the island 4 weeks ago,and was sent back,she came in friday,and her guyanese contacts had made arangements with an imigration to pay him 500.dollars so she could come in,and i say it worked because the guyanese woman is here on our shores,and will be working as of today as a domestic worker,the jok was prearanged for her weeks in advance,cant you see why unemployment will continue to rise among poor black people in this country?but the nasty indian guyanese coming in and getting all the work.One might ask why,well they will get work,because these women will allow any thing for money,us women must watch out,because they will offer our husbands any type of sex to be secure,and because of their lack of morals have no scruples and will smile up in our faces,it is also known the guyanese men are purs sodamites,and sell their asses for pocket change,we need to get these people out of our country before it is too late,the entire moral fabric of our country is being eroaded and it is because of these dam guyanese.

24. Thanks everyone for your support.Iwill keep up the fight.
    Prime Minister David Thompson,Maxine McClean & the Immigration DepartmentINVESTIGATE the SilverFox Arcade.Illegal Guyanese are working there.I know of 1 who is employed there.While at it investigate the many stores in Bridgetown,the construction sites,some hotels & restaurants for illegal workers.
    Stop the talk and carry out you promises.I want to hear your threats are being put into action.

ACT NOW OR ELSE

25. On the topic of illegal immigration,did anyone read the Nation ?

Mia Motley responds to PRIME MINISTER THOMPSON of BARBADOS concerning breaking so-called Caricom labour laws.Her response was definitely something to laugh at since Barbados is a sovereign nation within Caricom & our P.M. is responsible for CSME,BUT his primary duty is to protect the nation & this illegal immigration problem definitely is an economic threat to our peaceful nation.

http://www.nationnews.com/life/293822192803975.php

“”As lead Prime Minister for the Single Market and Economy,” she told a Press briefing at her office in the West Wing of the Parliament Buildings on Thursday, “Thompson ought to be aware that not only is he duty bound by the revised Treaty of Chaguaramas to allow people who have that freedom to move within those limited groups to get jobs in Barbados, and hence, Barbadian employers can legitimately employ them, but it is also buttressed by domestic legislation.

“Therefore, he is not only talking and suggesting activities that may lead to a breach of the CARICOM Treaty, but [also] a breach of the laws of Barbados.” “

26. Who elected Thompson the CSME or BAJANS?

Mia Mottley you realise that you are telling me that you are not for Bajans first but for every body elase once they are not bajans!

Mam/Sir are you for real! Stupse!

I hope the people in your constituency realise that you are not for them as well!

27. I am sure many bloggers will want to know where I get all my information from.I have my sorces and everything I post on these blogs are factual & true.Investigations by anyone will discover the legitimacy of my claims.
    There is a case at Salters St Michael/St George where some Indo-Guyanese have apparently scheme some black family members out of house & lands at that location.Apparently an old lady was being care for by an Indo-Guyanese lady.This old lady subsequently died a few months ago.This Indo-Guyanese lady had bought in her whole family and have taken control of at least 3 houses on that spot.They are in the process of clearing lands next to their lots with the view of claiming that spot.
    They are at least about 40 Indo-Guyanese presently occupying those houses in Salters.I was made aware that the death of the old lady was suspicious and also another black Barbadian had marry one of these Indian ladies and he has also met his demise.
    The old lady that died apparently had no relatives in Barbados and her daughter who lives overseas was duped into having this Indo-Guyanese lady look after her ailing mother and now that family is in the process of losing their property to these Indo-Guyanese.
    This is not the first case of this kind but the continuation of Indo-Guyanese scheming and robbing Barbadians out of their property.
    This is a true case Check Salters Main Road St Michael/St George.
    I am calling on Prime Minister David Thompson,Attorney General Freundel Stuart,Minister of Housing & Lands Michael Lashley,Minister of Immigration Maxine McClean to investigate this matter .
    I want to know if Town Planning permission was sought for the building of a wall house on the lands,I want to know the 40 or so Indo-Guyanese living and working at that location are legal.Iwant to know if the Indo-Guyanese have acquire that property by legal means.
    When will black Barbadians recognise that Indo-Guyanese are out to rob us out of our lands and property.They hate us and will use all types trickery to get property in Barbados.Black Barbadians we are contibuting to demise of black people in Barbados.Do we blacks in Barbados want to find ourselves in the same unfortunate situation that blacks Guyanese are now in.
    I am being call a racist,xenophobic and all types of names but that will not stop me from coming on the bloggs and highlighting the scheming and trickery Indo-Guyanese are up to in Barbados
    The above story is true.Please visit the area and observe the happennings for yourself.

28. Negroman I know what you are talking about, I have heard this story.

Minister McClean and Minister Lashley do your jobs!

29. Dear Negorman:

“The old lady that died apparently had no relatives in Barbados and her daughter who lives overseas was duped into having this Indo-Guyanese lady look after her ailing mother ”

Explain to me exactly how the daughter in the U.K was “tricked” into hiring an Indo-Guyanese caregiver for her mother?

30. Explain to me why the daughter who lives in England is not moving to evict the squatters from her property?

31. Negroman you need to send us additional information to help us give your claim some meat. Email us or click on Feedback at the top of the BU Homepage if you have sopport info.

32. David what type of support information that is needed.Give me a general idea of what is needed and I will try to provide the information.
    Please Note I do not want to identify my sources and neither myself for obvious reasons.

33. @Negroman

You are on the spot and you and your sources would have to use best judgement. We need something to make the story. You can start with emailing us some pictures.

We need more.

34. Negroman it looks as if Owen Arthur is coming to get you. You read today Nation? Owen calls on you and your kind to stop the foreigner bashing especially of the Guyanese. He is adamant its wrong for an island that exports most of its goods to Guyana and the low islands.

Negroman can you beat Owen in talking, wrestling, even rum drinking? Owen is finally on the warpath he promised long ago. He said he now returned from quietly carrying an investment mission to Guyana and Jagdeo. You and Owen on a collision course Negroman. I want a front seat with my popcorn when the licks start.

35. That has spot has been cleared away for real David! I dont know if to Guyanese but I heard so as well!

36. Owen Arthur is not relevant to Barbados anymore.His mouthings cannot influence or change any policy in Barbados anymore.Thank God for that.
    JC mentioned a case regarding a Indo-Guyanese woman who works at the Silver Fox arcade in St Lawrence.It was bought to my attention that a male Barbadian friend of hers died about 5 months ago mysteriously.This gentleman was the twin brother of a car waher who operates from the James Street carpark.This car washer is very scare because his life was threatened recently by a group of Indo-guyanese in a car.He indicated that the large drums of water he was carrying were knocked from his hands by the the group of Indo-Guyanese in the car.This car washer is scare because these Indo-Guyanese have threatened his life.
    This is another true story.I am calling on the Police,The Immigration Department and all relevant authorities to investigate this matter also.
    As I mentioned this car washer is the twin brother of the gentleman who died mysteriously about 5 months ago.He can be located in the James Street car park.
    I know his life is in jeopardy but I strongly believe that these incidences must be highlighted to make our people aware of the monster that is about to be unleash on black people in Barbados.

BLACK BARBADIANS BEWARE INDO-GUYANESE ARE ABOUT TO DESTROY US IN BARBADOS.

37. I was informed by a member of staff at the st.Thomas district hospital that the nurse is off to do her training in midwiffery,some thing unfolded and she is in class room,the PNO shirley Bourne is not too please though,as her side kick in lied and deception is still not on the programe.The staff are still going through a lot of stress with the PNO and her other side kick Magarette Albert however,on the male ward there is a handicap patient who has severe bed sores,and the pno or the sister ms.albert would not provide the staff with the gauze and other things needed to do his dressings,the nurses are upset,and hurt that this poor patient has to suffer and have exposed wounds because of the management,nurses have resorted to cutting up pampers to cover the patients wounds,George Maynard(the patient) will probibly end up with severe infections as the wounds need to be dressed with sterile matterial to have any chance of healing,and the management refuse to provide it although the store room has ample amounts of the matterial.One has to ask why,why are these managers who are nurses them selves acting this way towards nurses like them selves.The PNO stresses out every one but her pimps who feed her information,and sadly she should be the last one because it is known that the pass mark had to be droped to 30% for this shirley Bourne to pass her Mental health nursing programe years back when she did it,because she nor her friends could not pass the course else wise.If minister david Eswick does not do something soon with Ms.Bourne trouble will occur for the ministry,both by staff and family bringing law suits against the goverment for negligence against the care for their family.Mr minister has to seperate ms Bourne from ms.Albert because the two combined are a devious and wicked bunch.she and ms bourne gang up against the other sister and undermind her authority,despite the fact that ms.cadogan is the senior sister oiver ms albert.whem will this poor behaviour by seniors end?.

38. Wouldn’t it be great if a member of the BU family can visit the St. Thomas District Hospital to confirm some of the points made by the commenter above?

39. […] Submission by Commenter  on – September 20, 2008 at 11:20 pm […]

40. he should’nt be president

41. As an Antiguan, we too face very similar problems and I am in support of the Prime Minister of Barbados because we are seeing here a decline in the standard of living as a result of embracing the “CSME with open arms” which we have been doing prior to the conceptualization of the CSME.