Prime Minister of Barbados David Thompson

The BU family should know by now that we have been a staunch advocate of Barbados pursuing an immigration policy which is structured and organized. Simply put our obligation to conform to the revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, Articles 45 and 46 must fit snugly into our national policies. The fact that our position on this issue conflicts with the so-called regionalists and liberals like former Junior Minister in the former government Kerrie Symmonds, and Peter Wickham who of late has been bleating on all issues facing Barbados is healthy to generate good debate.

At his first CARICOM Summit in April 2008, the newly crowned Prime Minister of Barbados sounded a warning to his colleagues that Barbados because of its limited resources, but managing a relatively vibrant economy which is an attraction to immigrants, Barbados WILL move to institute safeguards in the interest of sustaining our current standard of living. Over the weekend Prime Minister David Thompson in his strongest address to the issue of imported labour reported in the Nation Newspaper he warned, “the private sector against employing non-nationals in preference to Barbadians in the face of “an unsatisfactorily high level of unemployment in Barbados”.

The statement provoked a response from Prime Minister of St. Vincent Ralph Gonsales as follows:

“…it cuts across both the spirit and letter of the revised CARICOM treaty pertaining to movement of community nationals,” said Gonsalves, one of the most publicly outspoken leaders of the 15-member Community. He argued that to accept the rationale, as advanced by Barbados’ Prime Minister, to satisfy a current domestic unemployment problem, could lead to “serious problems for the Community’s single market of which Barbados is currently the major beneficiary”.

Prime Minister Gonsales went on to support his call by quoting from Articles 45 and 46 contained in the Treaty of Chaguaramas. BU can unequivocally state that Barbados when compared to our CARICOM neighbours have demonstrated over the years, beyond a shadow of doubt, that we are committed to CARICOM. Should we bother to list the initiatives we would have participated to make the point?

Prime Minister David Thompson is a politician whose longevity in office depends on his popularityย  among Barbadians. BU warned on earlier occasions that with the slowing down of our economy we would begin to experience some problems linked to the open immigration policy we have pursued under the last administration. Even before this government had settled 100 days in office, Barbadians have heard the litany of comment by members of the government regarding overcrowding of our schools, hospital, housing, polyclinics etc. Our physical plant and social services continue to burst at the seams. The economists like Clyde Mascoll and pollster Peter Wickham, who has become a social commentator of late, tell us that the unfettered movement of people in the region will be absorbed by the ability of the Barbados economy to create capacity.ย  Our Prime Minister in waiting Mia Mottley has also echoed this position by stating that the Barbados economy is understated i.e. there is significant GDP which is not captured in the statistics, we have carrying capacity we think it is called.

We will not repeat ourselves on this blog. A simple search of Barbados Underground using the word โ€˜immigration’ will pull-up several articles we have written on the issue of managing our immigration policy in the context of limited resources. Our favourite call-in moderator Dennis Johnson asked the question recently: why should Barbados and others have to pay the price of signing the CARIFORUM/EU EPA and President of Guyana not sign? In the meantime Guyana is the country in the Caribbean which benefits more than any other country by exporting labour within the region. How can CARICOM leaders continue to divorce decision-making?

Prime Minister David Thompson as the leader of Barbados must be concerned that the standard of living which the country has enjoyed will become compromised if we continue along the current path.ย  Free movement of labour in the region cannot be at the expense of Barbadians, there is a social cost to this approach. The other point is the fact that Barbados is rapidly becoming de-bajanized. Is it not obvious that Barbados given our development would be more attractive to our Caribbean brothers and sisters?

This being the case don’t we have to manage the immigrant inflow as part ofย  a startegy to ensure sustainabilty of our economy? Is this rocket science?

141 responses to “Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves Should Stop Braying:Home Drums Beat First”

1. Mr P.M, this is the most important statement you have made since elected to this office. I’m sure all right thinking barbadian are supporting you irrespective of party affiliation. You’re speaking like a true statesman.

Negroman
    I am being to feel proud of my country again, only if this stateman is followed through, I would feel vindicated.
    To all those bloggers who were bold enough to put pressure on this administration. “we have won the first round. When this policy is implemented,we must all raise a toast for the victory.” Badbados is for BARBADIANS FIRST.”

2. I ask one question though, how do you define a Barbadian?

3. I’m glad you picked up on this story because Ralphie like he losing he mind. Barbados has to protect its citizens first. Ralphie’s argument also carries no weight.

Let’s look at a simple numbers game.

Trinidad and Jamaica combined have a larger number of graduates than we do.

Now can you imagine opening up all jobs in Barbados (within the CSME categories) to CARICOM nationals?

What would be left for Barbadians.

I find it very disturbing that Barbadians are being misplaced in the Barbados job market.

Fuck CARICOM! Barbados’ interests first. All other interests after.

Barbados should only fill those positions (when and only when) a Barbadian cannot fill the post.
    This obtains in any integration movement.

It doesnt happen in Europe, the US, Latin America, nor even in lil Bermuda and certainly not in the Bahamas.

Nothing against non-nationals working in Bim but only if a Bajan cant fill the post.

On this note. It’s time to get that fucking swede outta CBC.

Double standards, Mr. Thompson?
    Stop grandstanding to score political points and be consistent.

4. @Equity

A Barbadian by any definition is by birth, descent or naturalization.

5. I think one may find that Mike Pemberton and company were in the mode to again apply for 600 work permits for another batch of Chinese workers to bring to our shores.
    Let him find these workers locally or regionally but not from faraway places like China simple and plain.

6. Wishing In Vain
    Mr Thompson has just signed an agreement with the Chinese to allow them to work in Barbados indefinately as long as 50% of the work force are barbadians or regional workers.

7. The constitution defines a Barbadian. Go and read it.

8. I feel proud to be Barbadian again.That statement was the most pronounce statement the Prime Minister has made since coming to power.I want to seee action now.
    The rest of the Caribbean was taking Barbadians & Barbados for granted thanks to that idiot the former Prime Minister Owen the hum bug Arthur.We now have a leader who is willing to stand up & defend Barbadians.Pride is being restotre to what is barbados.
    Ralph Gonsalves do you have short memories.This same government just hired a fair amount of St Vincent nurses.We are not anti-CSME or CARICOM but Barbados is for Barbadians first & foremost.
    Bruce Golding made a similar statement when he came into power in Jamaica last year.While didn’t Ralph Gonsalves criticised Bruce Golding.Barbados must always be the target.
    Prime Minister David Thompson please deliver or you will feel the fury of the bloggers and Barbadians again.
    The Scout I have made some comments concerning the amnesty that will be given to illegal immigrants fairly soon maybe in 2 or 3 months.please read my comments on the topic What CSME and gave me a reply.Amnesty is coming for illegal immigrants.I want to hear your comments.

9. Negroman
    I’ve read your comments and I can live with that under one condition. Immediately after the one qualified are documented, immigration mount a campaign and ship back all the illegal one back to their respective countries. Then a stricter immigration policy put in place and monitor ed so as to prevent an occurance of the madness that was allowed to flourish. What do you think?

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

When my wife and I went to the polls we voted for the team headed by David Thompson not Ralph Gonzales.

I don’t give one rats ass about anything Ralph Gonzales has to say.

He should learn to keep what he has in his pants.

11. Does Ralph G have a point, or not? Just wondering. Are Agreements to be honored or not? Just wondering.

12. Prime Minister Thompson has handled this matter head-on!
    We all (party politics aside) should definitely be proud that we now have a leader who will put Barbados and Barbadians first as it relates to CSME immigration-employment matters.

His policy is marked and etched in sharp contrast to his predecessor. He (Arthur) even boasted that he “violated the law”(Probably thought he would have been there forever).

Prime Minister Thompson, I am proud of you!

Next step: Put measures in place.

13. What gives Gonsalves and Ghadeo the right to dictate to us that we should open up the lood gates? Why don’t they tell that to Bush?
    How can they expect tiny Barbados, 266 sq. miles to absorb a colony of workers?

14. In case some of you are too lazy to click on the link which leads to the Treaty of Chaguaramas here is what Articles 45 and 46 say:

ARTICLE 45
    Movement of Community Nationals

Member States commit themselves to the goal of free movement of their nationals within the Community.

ARTICLE 46
    Movement of Skilled Community Nationals

1. Without prejudice to the rights recognised and agreed to be accorded by Member States in Articles 32, 33, 37, 38 and 40 among themselves and to Community nationals, Member States have agreed, and undertake as a first step towards achieving the goal set out in Article 45, to accord to the following categories of Community nationals the right to seek employment in their jurisdictions:

(a) University graduates;

(b) media workers;

(c) sportspersons;

(d) artistes; and

(e) musicians,

recognised as such by the competent authorities of the receiving Member States.

2. Member States shall establish appropriate legislative, administrative and procedural arrangements to:

(a) facilitate the movement of skills within the contemplation of this Article;

(b) provide for movement of Community nationals into and within their jurisdictions without harassment or the imposition of impediments, including:

(i) the elimination of the requirement for passports for Community nationals travelling to their jurisdictions;

(ii) the elimination of the requirement for work permits for Community nationals seeking approved employment in their jurisdictions;

(iii) establishment of mechanisms for certifying and establishing equivalency of degrees and for accrediting institutions;

(iv) harmonisation and transferability of social security benefits.

3. Nothing in this Treaty shall be construed as inhibiting Member States from according Community nationals unrestricted access to, and movement within, their jurisdictions subject to such conditions as the public interest may require.

4. The Conference shall keep the provisions of this Article under review in order to:

(c) enlarge, as appropriate, the classes of persons entitled to move and work freely in the Community; and

(d) monitor and secure compliance therewith.

15. The Scout I think your assessment is fair I am thinking along those lines.Those that have settled and making a positive contribution should be allow to stay.However,strict monitoring of those individuals should be undertaken so that they would not allow their status to bring in other family members,friends and such like to undermine the system.

Prime Minister Thompson must act on his words.This is so because I have many black guyanese friends and in the last elections voted for the Barbados Labour Party because the guyanese were under the impression that the DLP was going to deport them on gaining power.The Prime Minister cannot back down at this moment because if he refuse to act now,he will lose the next elections if many guyanese now living in Barbados and remain in Barbados are allow to vote .They will vote for the Barbados Labour PartyI know this as a fact because my black guyanese friends did not vote for the DLP.

Finally,the emphasis should be on getting the scums indo-guyanese out of the island.I hope special emphasis is place on getting the parasites indo-guyanese out of Barbados.I hope he goes easy on the black guyanese. I do not want to hear one indo-guayanese getting permanent status or citizenship.

16. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“Finally,the emphasis should be on getting the scums indo-guyanese out of the island.I hope special emphasis is place on getting the parasites indo-guyanese out of Barbados.I hope he goes easy on the black guyanese. I do not want to hear one indo-guayanese getting permanent status or citizenship.”
    —————————————————

This has got to be the most bigoted and racist remark ever made on BU.

I would like to draw this post to the attention of the BU Race Relations Advisory Committee (Rok and John) ๐Ÿ™‚

17. Iwant to make this observation. A second generation barbadian in Britain is considered ellegible for barbadian citizenship. At about the same time that barbadians migrated to Britain, some bajan men were still going to B.G (Guyana). My question is , if the second generation Britain is considered Barbadian, why is the same class Guyanese not given the same status? Is it because they are predominately black? A guyanese tel. directory like very much like a barbadian one E.G Austin, Armstrong, Brewster, Brathwaite,Cadogan etc

18. Negroman you got me cracking up as usual buddy. You aint easy at all!

19. At least we got some sort of response from government,but I absolutely cannot agree with any amnesty program regardless of how long they have been in Barbados.It is like we’ve been saying one thing while meaning another.We’re either for the law or not,imo.

I am for Bajans first,period.This idea that we should allow some of them to stay is ludicrous when so many Barbadians are out of the Job.

The average Bajan does NOT give a damn about “treaty” obligations.We only look after our own in Barbados.I do not care for “black” or “indo” guyanese or any other foreigner who are taking jobs from legal Bajans & if they are in the country illegally DEPORT them,plain & simple.I’m still hesitant to believe that Government will actually do anything concerning this matter while time goes by & another illegal immigrant gets by our Barbados customs officers while reading this ‘press statement’.We need action NOT words.

On another note,Kaieteur news mentions Guyanese are upset with Norman Faria with ‘representation’.Heh,if they are upset I guess I can be mildly happy.

http://www.kaieteurnews.com/?p=7445

20. Negroman

Are you saying that you want to add to the already high number of citizens on this 166 sq mile by giving more amnesty for people who are here because they broke the law?

Are you seriously thinking?

Do you believe that david thompson can give amnesty to only afro guyanese and not indo guyanese who are hiding out here?

Why must we bajans have to go through this every time an adminstration changes?

Last BLP government gave amnesty to a whole lot of guyanese and others,now you are suggesting this is what david thompson would do?

Did you see any guyanese and other illegals leaving after A.G. david simmons gave amnesty in the 90s?

How come st lucia,st vincent,st kitts or Antigua not giving the illegal non nationals amnesty in their countries?

I hope you are not telling me that someone senior in the DLP told you they about to give amnesty because I can forsee the shit that will hit the fan.

Illegal guyanese marrying to guyanese with amnesty to get citizenship,then divorcing and marrying another guyanese.

I HOPE DAVID THOMPSON NOT THAT STUPID BECAUSE ALONG WITH THE OTHER PROBLEMS THAT WILL COME,HE WILL ALSO GET VOTED OUT AS THESE SAID GUYANESE WILL VOTE BLP ALWAYS!

21. Negro man
    Anonymous just got me thinking. I told you that maybe we can accept the amnesty but I forgot that that was granted to them before. Also once they are in officially, they would be legally getting others in through frequent marriages. Let me flip flop on this one. On reflection ” GET THEM OUT”

22. Hello to every one, ha ha some of the comments are hilarious as usual Negro man I disagree with you on this one. Amnesty was given ALREADY!

I say no more amnesty! Recently, my friend who I visit in New York was deported and he doesn’t know a boy in Barbados! His faimly now has to rent a room for him!

Was he given amnesty stupes!

NO AMNESTY! DLP we are not backing down NO AMNESTY!

23. I have my contacts and everything I said on this blogg I could substantiate.Yes the government is considering giving amnesty to illegal immigrants.That is part of the discussion the government is having with relevant stake holders and all other interest groups in this matter.As I mentioned on another topic Gilbert Greaves Chief Immigration Officer is of the view that we need non-nationals to fill jobs that Barbadians are reluctant to get involve in.What type of jobs I do not know,but I know he wants to be lenient with non-nationals.However,senior and other government officials are not thinking along those lines.
    Anonymous I do not support amnesty at all at all.However,if a compromise is to be reach I will have to give in and accept partial amnesty to some illegals. I will repeat,I hope this government show a preference to the ones who look like the vast majority of us.That is the black Caribbean nationals.I do no want anymore degeneric Indians especially those from Guyana gaining citizenship in a black Barbados.I do not mince words when it comes to Indians.Those bastards are destructive.Observe the happenings in Pakistan,India,Bangladesh and the rest.Observe the treatment blacks Guyanese are experiencing in Guyana.Observe Trinidad also.Calamity befalls any nation where there is a majority of Indians in control.Do we want that for Barbados?Do we really want to learn from history.The best Indian is one who is not in existence.A large presence of Indians will bring destruction to this country.
    Ask why that Indo-Guyanese woman was shot lately in Black Rock.There is a case at Dover Beach Christ Church where a black Barbadian woman who ran a stall and employed an indo-Guyanese woman recently lost the stall to the same said indo-Guyanese woman.The Barbadian went overseas for a short visit and left the scum indo-Guyanese woman in the stall and when she came back the lunatic indo-Guyanese rag refused to hand over the stall to the Barbadian.The Barbadian lady has lost her business to the stinking indo-Guyanese woman.
    When will we learn.Indians from the continent,from Guyana and Trinidad do not like us blacks and I will not be gullible or stupid to believe that Indians have the well being of blacks at heart.They do not care about us while should we care about them.
    Indo-Guyanese,Negroman do not want any of you all in Barbados.Go home to your God forsaken country.

24. Negroman Yes the government is considering giving amnesty to illegal immigrants.

Sometimes I wish some would be more responsible in some of the things that they put out there.

The immigration department is in dire need of a major clean up and it may well start at the top, I would not be too quick to quote from Gilbert Greaves in anything that I reported.

You state that I know he wants to be lenient with non-nationals, maybe because he has made a business of being lenient and collecting his fees for his leniency, he may want this to continue.

25. Well said Negroman. I also hope PM Thompson stands firm on this matter. Regardless of any treaty Barbadians must have the first shot at any available jobs. I like PM Gonzales but why don’t he tell the same thing to the PMs of St. Kittts and Antigua? Everybody think that Bajans are blasted fools. They want to come in here because the standard of living is good but a lot of them will destroy the social fabric of our country, especially the Indo-Guyanese. If yuh put a pig in a bed with a nice comforter it is still a pig.

26. Yes, Tony. People really believe that Barbadians are fools. We appear to be the only ones willing to let “Whosoever will” come!
    What is the point of showing and talking about a Treaty when jobs are being snatched from Barbadians to immigrants who are only too willing to be exploited.

People have been saying that Barbadians are lazy. If that’s the case, who built this rock? Guyanese?
    I think this talk is a mask to promote cheap, exploited labour.

27. And by the way, you better watch these sham marriages!

28. Facts-What's love got to do with it? Avatar
    Facts-What’s love got to do with it?

But on reflection, if foolish Bajan men would prefer to marry someone totally different in every respect to him, just because of her straight nose and long hair – He needs to lie down in whatever bed he makes!

29. The hands of the Immigration Dept. were tied before, but hopefully they will now be loosed

30. Negro man,
    Cool it a little.
    Your sentiments are understandable, but be rational. Don’t let it whittle down to raw racism.

31. If the DlP don’t deliver on their promises , they will lose the next election.I, along with many other qualified people are finding it difficult to get a job .
    Many of us are sending out applications and can’t even get an interview.Then an ad appears in the newspaper for a work permit application for a job for which someone I know applied.This person was well qualified to do the job, but many of the companies are controlled by non nationals and they don’t want Bajans in their offices.

Every day while watching Morning Barbados I am amazed at the number of foreign nationals who appear as representatives of various companies, including many Government agencies.

If nothing is done about the immigration situation, I know that I will not be voting in the next election.
    The BLP will win because of low voter turn out caused by frustrated and disappointed Barbadians.

32. A Bajan is also an immigrant who moves here because he wants to and who seeks to become like us and succeeds in becoming one of us.

Bajans frst does not mean Bajans only.

Negeoman: Why don’t you try and behave yourself?

33. JC:

If your friend was deported he must have been convicted of a crime.

No government in its right mind should be expected to keep FOREIGN
    CRIMINALS.

If yah commit a crime ya hafta leave. If ya behave ya-self ya can stay and work.

34. Haven,
    I think I have to give you credit for I have observed this for a number of years. That is, the corporate structure of Barbados is changing.

35. […] Barbados Underground: Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves Should Stop Braying: Home Drums Beat First […]

36. Peoples, we certainly do NOT see why there are these encomia that many persons in this country are so perfunctorily falsely showering at this stage on the Prime Minister and on this DLP Government in relationship to some comments the DLP leader has reportedly made in Barbados’ leading newspaper publication in regard of this vexxed issue of there being too much migrant labour coming into Barbados. And, we just dont and will never get the contrivance!!!

For, according to the Sunday Sun, September 14, 2008, under the Headline, STOP THE ROT, Prime Minister David Thompson was reported as saying to a group of building contractors on Friday at Ilaro Court: ” that this mad rush to parts known and unknown for labour, cheap and not so cheap, must and will stop under my watch!”. Well, and we say well, if that utterance had emboldened many of those who are zealous and fervent about greater controls being placed by the state on immigration into Barbados, then here comes the most disappointing part: ” NOT THAT I AM CLOSING THE DOOR TO ANYONE, NOR AM I SENDING ANYBODY UNCEREMONIOUSLY OUT OF THE COUNTRY – but i am recognizing the existence of a real situation in Barbados, where unemployment is much higher than the statistics tell us”.

Moreover, look at some more of what was attributed to the Prime Minister – again according to the said Sunday Sun edition – my administration could easily have rushed in and closed the door on NEW IMMIGRANTS, OR GIVEN MARCHING ORDERS TO SOME, LEGALLY AND ILLEGALLY SETTLED IN BARBADOS – but my administration has opted TO CONSULT with all the relevant stakeholders and to study the process as ( it has) started its review of the current immigration policy.

So, given our analysis of those half-baked and riff-raff comments that were reportedly made by Prime Minister on this issue of migrant labour and some of its harmful effects on the Barbadian working force, and against the backdrop that there are too many Indians, Chinese, and Arabian people that are presently in Barbados doing work and business that Barbadians can easily do, we cannot help but conclude that this Prime Minister is too weak, cynical and ambiguous on this very vexxed issue of there being to many Indian, Chinese and Arabian workers and business people and their families in Barbados.

The fact, Mr. Prime Minister, is that by your choosing NOT to totally restrict ( not bar ) migrant labour into Barbados, or choosing NOT to send packing a lot of these Indians, Chinese and Arabs out of the country, you are really more and more failing to prevent an exacerabation of such a serious immigration/labour problem into an entire convulsive racial social problem that has manifold implications for the long term peace, stability and prosperity of this country.

And, Mr Prime Minister, do NOT attempt to link already failed immigration policies with any increases in unemployment that will directly come about from the very atrocious and despicable policies ( massive increases in fuel costs and increases in TAXATION ASSAULTS ) that you and your government have put in place. For instance, how will already failed immigration policies account for the fact that – according to a reliable source – the FITNESS SOLUTIONS GYM HAS RECENTLY SHUT DOWN and HAS PUT SEVERAL PERSONS ON THE BREAD LINE??!! SURELY, THE PDC SAYS A WORD FROM THE WISE IS GOOD ENOUGH!!

Also, the fact is that no amount of political hype and dramatics by the Sunday Sun to make YOU appear so strong on this issue will suffice, for it is patently clear that you have – since becoming Head of Government – been very mediocre and disappointing in your performance as the de facto minister responsible for local immigration subjects and affairs. For on a daily basis, many streets in Bridgetown are beholdened to many esp. immigrant Indian people walking around and looking as if this place belong to them, and on a nightly basis, many of these same streets are quietly invaded by the presence of many Chinese who think that here is some place to secretly colonize. What an insult to our historical tradition!!

So, peoples, certainly, if Mr. Thompson actually said what was attributed to him in the said Sunday Sun, then he must have really failed to impact on those voters who would have gone and voted for him and his party at the last election, so that his government would have been in a position to help get the vast majority of Indian, Chinese and Arab people out of this country, after that most disgraceful and obnoxious chapter in the modern history of the immigration affairs of this country under the very awful and backward leadership of Mr. Owen Arthur, who himself now appears – in an image in the Barbados Business Authority of Monday, September 15, 2008 – to be so pathetic and desolate looking as to be so out of place in that new office at the Cave Hill Campus, and moreso, who is appearing to be so severely suffering from the lost of prime ministerial prestige and power, as much as it is so very unbelievable that this is the same person who not too long ago intimidated so many people in Barbados. What a sick and raucous joke, indeed!!! The time has surely come to STOP elect DLP and BLP Governments in this country!!

37. We would have thought that any discussion about amnesty should be informed by statistics. Are we to assume that the government now can speak with authority on the number of immigrants living in Barbados? If not we would have to assume that any talk about amnesty is a PR job to satisfy our CARICOM partners.

Which is it?

38. Thompson mekking Bajans look like idiots. He pompasetting about foreign workers and threatening employers. They must be as baffled as I am. There are three types of foreign workers in Barbados. The first type are those under the Caricom skilled workers program and the professional types (bank workers, regional oraganisations , university graduates etc). How they get here? You guessed it, through the proper channels, immigration dept etc. Yuh think Thompson gwine send back Garth Patterson (a J’can and his former law partner)? The second type are semi skilled workers (construction and agriculture) who again have been brought in through the proper channels. He going send back the Chinese and not get the polyclinic built? The third type is where the problems are. These are those workers who are either “illegal” i.e came as visitors and got an extension, or just took it upon themselves to try their luck in B’dos. In any case they got in here and stay here with the “blessing of the authorities”! These are the freelancers who compete (undercut) with Bajans. Thompson playing that he is nuff bad john with the employers but they did not bring the freelancers in, they may employ them (hell if they work for a fraction of what a Bajan will work for, who going tell them not to use them!?) So if Thompson got a problem with these freelancers, the solution is in the Gov’t hands. Clamp down. They got plenty Guyanese near where I live, they don’t work for any one company or person. They always on the move. So if his St.John constituents can’t get work, I hardly think it is because some Trinidadian got the job as a manager at First C’bean or at Essco or at CBC. It would be the freelancers. Thompson showing off but the responsibility is his to stop those coming through the “hole” in the immigration dept i.e the undocumented workers or the improperly documented workers. I think it highly irresponsible of the PM to be talking like a big maguffy to the private sector instead of getting the police/ immigration/defense force to pick up these illegal workers. All of them come through Adams International, who controls that place, the private sector? Stop the talk, action now. Wuh he waiting for, the fish from Tobago to come back? How the france some private company going send back someone that they didn’t bring in the first place! Thompson ain’t elected to beg nobody for anything, he elected to uphold the law!

By the way the bad behaviour with the PSVs ain’t stop and I still see school children on them!

39. You dont realize that Thompson has a populist agenda. He’s trying to be “of de people” but poor ting, every time he attempts it, he’s offending the most productive sectors of the nation.

So you spite the PSVs and then brag about it. Putting close to 1000 PSV conductors outta work.

Of course school children still on the PSVs. Anyone could have told them that the Transport Board would not be able to meet the excess demand. Not only is the fleet inadequate, you also have to look at staffing, union issues, dislocation of the adult commuters (again, the productive sector) and the list goes on.

You really think that at this stage in our development people want free bus fare?

What we need is a modernized public transport system that has the confidence of the population, so that people will leave their cars at home and take mass transit system to go to and from work.

It’s time to stop the political grandstanding and present the people of Barbados with a vision of development.

Where is the plan?
    This is one sad lot.
    The inconsistencies are mind boggling.

Over to you WIV!

40. @ Mock Engineer

I think you have to differentiate between racism and xenophobia as they call it.

I remember the days when you would hear about the country bucks coming to St. Michael and Christ Church but I live to see the day when people were running from Bridgetown to the country.

When I was a lad, it was just as fashionable for Bajans to go to BG as it was to go to England.

Having said that, we do not have a regional government and that is why we are still battling with movement of people. If we were still under colonial rule and the authorities allowed freedom of movement as in the past, this would not be an issue.

Not that it was completely free movement because we must remember that earliest attempts at a federation failed. Plus the deportation of Clement Payne on grounds of declaring false information but is a national hero.

41. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Rok,

I am not an expert in this area, which is why I called you and John in, but… Negroman clearly doesn’t have a problem with foreigners, just those of a specific race… in fact he even supports amnesty and going ‘easy’ on illegal black Guyanese… however, he expresses pure unadulterated HATE for all those of the race he considers “scum”, “parasitic”, “degeneric”, “destructive bastards” etc.

Look, uh beg yuh, go back and discuss it again with your Race Relations Advisory Committee, do. What xenophobia what?!?

Wheel and come again my fren.

42. Some time ago Maxine McClean had said she had requested a survey on the amount of illegal immigrants in Barbados. What has happen to that survey? Unless we know how many are in the country, we can’t offer amnesty because we don’t know how many and who qualifies. Is the immigration still offering $40.00 per head for these people. I would do with a few extra dollars now Christmas coming up.

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

My familiy is supporting David Thompson 100% as he battles the evil of uncontrolled immigration especially from Guyana.

I can’t believe these stupid people from the Caribbean are still trying to pour a gallon into a pint pot.

They have ruin they countries and are now trying to flee to Barbados and to kill this country as well.

We won’t stand for it. That is why we voted for David Thompson’s team instead of the corrupt BLP who created the problem in the first place.

I srongly believe that Barbados should scuttle this CSME crap and start fresh.

Pure garbage.

44. Barbados has been for years the envy of the caribbean. I was once awaken in my hotel room in St.Lucia by a St lucian friend of mine. He was joyous as he pronounce to me that the barbados dollar has been devalved. On further questioning, the news was that the U.S dollar has dropped a few percentage points and his argument is that the barbados dollar in linked to the U.S. See how bad they want to see the demise of barbados. Now they think they have the right to walk into my country and virtually demand employment to the detriment of fellow bajans who have placed this country to the point where all of them envy us. This can’t work, this work cause some violent retaliation from patriotic bajans like myself and many others. We welcome anyone to this country once your motives are genuine and you have something to contribute to us that we don’t have.Just don’t come as a modern day invasion and usurp bajan of their sovereignty.

45. We applaud Negroman and others for their passion regarding the need to manage migrant labour. We certainly don’t agree with some of the language which is used to express the passion from time to time. Having said that we are pleased that when good feedback is offered by members of the BU family it is generally taken. It is one of the good things we can say about the BU family, we are not afraid to slap each other on the wrist when we get out of line and it is usually heeded.

On another note we want to applaud the Guyanese man who has come forward to lay claim to Baby John Doe who was abandoned at the QEH. She is reported to have travelled back to Guyana after this non-maternal act. She is said to be 20 years old who allegedly got pregnant for a documented Guyanese man.

Here is the BU question:

Was the woman documented? If she was not would it be considered a crime if the alleged father knew and did not report it?

46. Listen, de long and short is that Ralph Gonsalves was certainly out of place. He has absolutely no right to publicly comment on the internal affairs of Barbados. He really should know better.
    He, more than any other Caribbean leader, is well aware of political posturing. He knows full well that Barbados will not abandon the CSME cause but it’s important that the new commander in chief gain as much political mileage as he can by distancing himself from the policies of the previous administration.

However, Ralphie also knows that behinid close doors it’s a different story. It’s the people who are constantly fooled.

Why de rasshole he dont start by putting out de swede at CBC?

47. The scout // September 16, 2008 at 8:52 am

Barbados has been for years the envy of the caribbean. I was once awaken in my hotel room in St.Lucia by a St lucian friend of mine. He was joyous as he pronounce to me that the barbados dollar has been devalved. On further questioning, the news was that the U.S dollar has dropped a few percentage points and his argument is that the barbados dollar in linked to the U.S. See how bad they want to see the demise of barbados.
    ===========================
    They are some similarities between the US and Barbados. The US wealth and power is at it’s core the result of it’s access to both the Atlantic and the Pacific ocean. Barbados unique location gives it a similar advantage, and in fact during the height of the sugar industry, when Sugar was truly King, the economy of Barbados rival that of the US at the time only 13 colonies. Our location meant that Barbados became the trans-shipment point to further west from Europe and Africa.
    ….I too have always known and experience the dislike that other caribbean countrys have for Barbados. I remain convince that Barbados can go it alone. We need to exploit our location as a bridge between the Old and new world. The Drug cartels in Columbia and Venezuela have discovered this in the reverse, surely we can put our heads together and exploit this unique geographic location.

48. The Ministry of Immigration under Maxine McClean is in process of compiling information on the amount of legal & illegal immigrants in Barbados.A clearer picture is emerging on this issue.I can honestly say that the estimated 20,000 to 30,000 illegals is an exaggeration.The figure is certainly less than that.However,an unsatsfactory amount is in Barbados.
    david the amnesty that is propose is a public relations gimmickas by the government.As I mentioned previously it is to convey the message that Barbados is not anti-CSME or CARICOM or xenophobic.If extreme measures could have been undertaken it would had happen.The government does not want to convey the immpression that it is reckless.I support however any measures to rid the country of illegals especially the unwanted indo-guyanese hum bugs.

I will not apologise for my feelings and reference to indians.All the other races did and are doing much more horrible things to black people and offering no apologies.We were enslaved for 350 years and no compensation & apology was given.
    No more apolgies from Negroman

49. This Gonzalves fella has a history of being a hum bug for Caribbean leaders and interfering in domestic affairs of other countries.

Tom Adams deported him. Golding’s party in Jamaica told him off . So did Panday’s party. In fact Gonzalves was pimping around TnT so much a UNC spokesman wanted to know if he lived in St. Vincent or Trinidad. Remember him calling John Compton an old dinasour.

The thing is his marijuana infested volcano is a shambles and he is the laughing stock of the region with his impersonation of a sex fiend. This blowhard comedian can be ignored.

50. He needs to go and manage that shithole of a country called St. Vincent. And while he’s at it, he needs to take back Mustique from the white people that use it as a playground and treat the black vincentian maids and gardeners like shit.
    All in all, Ralphie, go mind your own fucking business and clean up that dump called St. Vincent and stop meddling in our affairs.