Submitted by Yardbroom

Youths ‘wukking up’ 2 ‘Go Stabby’ during the Bajan Kadooment

In recent years a certain type of wuking up has become a popular Barbadian pastime. Its popularity has meant there is now a license to do anything in public, providing it is accompanied by music. My intention is not to take a moral view on this issue as I do not have that authority. However, if participants display in public, they cannot be surprised if people comment on a public medium.

Last year I saw a boy not more than ten years of age wuking up behind a fully grown woman. As the tempo of the music increased the boy got closer to the woman, encouraged by a crowd of adults who witnessed the spectacle. I moved away on seeing this exhibition, as I felt uncomfortable.

In a quiet reflective period after, I asked myself, was I out of touch with modern Barbadian society? Was I unable to understand our culture? and if this was our culture, how long could it have been so, without my noticing.

Could it be that a certain section of society has decided to define what is our culture, and others not wishing to be seen as out of step, are agreeing to all manner of things? It is often difficult to take a principled stand on issues which are not directly related to one’s personal behaviour, as you are open to being told, there is no compulsion for anyone to participate, or even watch. This is quite true, however, as I have alluded to previously, personal behaviour when public must take cognizance of public sensibilities. No one would say that wuking up is bad, or should not be allowed…that is obviously silly. What I am addressing is lewd behaviour masking itself as wuking up.

When men and women – sometimes small children encouraged by adults – adopt positions of copulation (dry sexing) with no attempt at art or finess, the intention being to depict the sexual act in a public place, it is time for questions to be asked. Are there no boundaries? How should adults interact with children? Does our public behaviour have any social restraints? Can we enjoy ourselves within a cultural frame that indentifies who we are, without going beyond acceptable bounds or limiting our cultural identity?

I seek not to rain on the party, but I was disturbed by what I saw. A small boy wuking up behind a grown woman, encouraged by adults. Our women often ask for equality, to which they are entitled and should be given without equivocation. There is a broader issue here which our women must consider. Women will be respected more if they are inclined to respect themselves.

This brings me to another point, I wonder what that small boy thought of women and the respect he should have for them when the music stopped…alast life does not stop, when the music does, in all its variations and facets it continues, perhaps only perhaps we should review how we behave in public places, or should we?

To those women who ask, what about the men? I simply say it is just that I expect more of you.

Related Link

All This Talk About Culture

205 responses to “Is Wuking Up "Without limits" Barbadian Culture?”

1. “and have postulated some kind of sociological mumbo jumbo that is so irrational and ahistorical that any cogent response is defeated”

Please translate into English or Bajan.

2. Yes Anonymous seems to be a certain lecturer at Cave Hill
    and we say seems to be because we dont want to be dogmatic
    We would want to make Anon sweat a little

3. Dear Anonynous:

I am happy to translate for you.

When Really Now John said “and have postulated some kind of sociological mumbo jumbo that is so irrational and ahistorical that any cogent response is defeated”

In Bajan that means that Really Now John thinks that you are talking sh**e

4. and that he ain’t gine answer yah.

No need to thank me. I am always happy tohelp

5. J, thanks for the translation cause I didnt understand one ra_ _hole he/she was trying to say.

6. This is what is wrong with the world today no one is prepared to take a stance on what is right and what is wrong. As i said we need to check our selves .Everytime someone has to speak out on any issue in Barbados especially morality it comes down to the white man , English education and the whole lot.

The next thing is that you attack the church.Of course the church has sin! .Where else would the devil go to get his followers? After all he has those out there already. The church is a hospital for sinners.
    It is amazing that you people know what is right and still cannot show us who you think are wrong the excellent way.
    We curse who go to church yet however if we hit our toe the first thing is Jesus Christ! Be flat on our backs in the hospital it is Lord help me or you are there bargaining with the Lord on what you will do when you get better.

Oh the typ[e of wuking up we see today is a subculture and one we could do without.

We seem in this country to always uphold what is wrong .
    The thing here is that some people who know better are those you are trying to keep those with impressionable minds down. After all someone has to be on the bottom rung of the ladder. These same people say oh nothing is wrong with wuking up , oh it is okay to listen to
    Loud ,lewd music on the minibus that cannot stop you from learning .These same people drive their kids to ballet and all that jazz. They send their children to colleges over seas even if they come back with a BA -by or locks.At least it was not done here to shame them. What is more hypocritical?

We are our worse enemies ! To thine own self be true. Dont be blogging just because someone else is carrying on.Think for yourselves

By the way this is not an english class. We are always sweating the small stuff. The real issue is that you can dance without compromising your morals. Secondly i am sure not every person wuking up on the ground and in all types of position are under the influence of any drugs .
    Is calypso music the opiate for our people?

Finally you all will get and blog alot of crap to try to get one up .The truth is not one of you will be amused to see your child ,your sister or brothers children doing the dog as they say without going home or calling and complaining .

7. Mary
    I am delighted that you have shown courage and the strength of character to return to the debate, and have advanced our thinking.

We as a people have to shine a light for our youngsters. To suggest – as has been done here – that there should be no limits on anything is puerile nonsense. It has been said here:

…”its all about man’s free will”…

We are “free” but society limits that freedom. Our lives are governed by limits and Laws. As we step into our cars to drive to work, we encounter speed “limits.” The penalties imposed in the courts for specific offences – Tariffs – what we can write in print – libel – what we can speak – slander.

We are never totally free in a “society”.

To suggest there are no limits or should be no limits, is boyish nonsense bordering on delusion, and no amount of swearing or cuss words can redeem it.

Society dictates there should be limits, if there are no limits there will be no society…welcome to the abyss of darkness.

8. Yardbroom:

Are you suggesting to put limits and laws on people wukking up now?

What is dis?

As you said, “We as a people have to shine a light for our youngsters.”

I couldnt agree more. The reason why the younsters are the way they are is because duh learn from wunna. Duh see how hypocritical wunna is and does laff when wunna come wid wunna moralistic nonsense.

When parents and de older generations lead by example, de youngsters will follow suit. Until such time, they will continue to rebel and no amount moralistic preaching gonna change dah.

Start to speak to young people in their language and stop talking down to dem for a change.

9. Anonymous,
    The example you have set is to come on this blog using all kinds of abusive language. Is that the example you set for young people? is that what they should follow?

When you denigrate people you do not know and accuse them of fornication, of looking at pornography, of being the cause of HIV/AIDS, of abusing children, of going to church and not being serious about it. I am not at all surprised that the people you work which to which you have alluded with distaste, have a problem with you.

I do not know you “Sir” but if your respect for others is always as it has been displayed on this blog, you are the last person I would seek for leadership.

Your inability to discuss without making wild accusations of people you do not know, displays a degree of bitterness and anger which no sensible discussion will assuage.

I will now leave you to your usual retort of foul abuse and swearing, and as you do so I will just “smile” and move on.

…” By age nineteen, he had published, at his own expense, two slim volumes, which showed a remarkably wide range of reading, including Homer, Dante, Shakespeare, Joyce, T.S Eliot, and Pound”.

The above is reference to guess who?
    Derek Walcott
    What a good thing he had the “wisdom” not to think of white man’s learning.

The above is a quotation from his most recent book.

Derek Walcott: Selected Poems, Selected by Edward Baugh
    Published by Faber and Faber, 2007
    ISBN 978-0-571-22710-5

I commend it to you, it is a good read.

“Some people talk the talk, others “Do”.

10. By now Yardbroom you should know that the above “you” did not refer to Yardbroom…but hey, if the cap fits you then wear it.

You got a problem with “abusive language” you got a problem with wukkin up. You simply got a f_ _king problem. You c_ _ t!

I went to school in the 70s and we were fooping and smoking marijuana at school. You think de problem now start? You c_ _t.

FILL IN DE BLANKS.

FYI. I know all of Derek Walcott’s work!

11. Yardbroom

I do not know you. But I respect you from the way you conduct yourself and the quality of your prose.

You are a patient man it seems. BUt as I have told you before you are a thoroughbred in a race with a jackass.

What you are essentially doing in your posts in this thread is what the Bible calls CASTING YOUR PEARLS BEFORE THE SWINE.

I beseach you to desist!

Go read the words of Titus 1:15

Unto the pure all things are pure: but unto them that are defiled and unbelieving is nothing pure; but even their mind and conscience is defiled.

What true words! DEFILED MINDS

12. Dis is de same c_ _t GP dat does come on here calling Mia Mottley all kinds of dirty names quoting de Bible now?

Then I’ve proven my point. Wunna does quote de bible when um suit wunna…

13. Yardbroom:

I place this in an area post and maybe fate would have it that it was not post.

But for your info, I love to wukkup and I love to foop and I hope that when I was conceived that my parents had a good wukkup and a good foop.

I’m hoping I was the product of hot wild passion and not a boring foop.
    I hope dat in de heat of de passion dat duh did cursing stink and enjoying each other to the max. I’d like to believe that I am a product of good raw indecent nasty sex.

14. Pray tell since when is a sexual dance considered lewd.

@ Yardbroom

“Your inability to discuss without making wild accusations of people you do not know, displays a degree of bitterness and anger which no sensible discussion will assuage.”

Yea, I’m angry and bitter as hell. Angry and bitter that the likes of you continue to have say in Barbados. Dat wunna stinking hypocrites running de show. Yea, I real bitter and real angry. And people like wunna need to stay real far from me cause when de revolution start we gonna bun down de babylon system and all de moralites with it.

15. Anonymous
    You’re getting very eratic; please cool yourself. I have more respect for you than that. Respect yourself.

16. Ok man. I goin and drink a rum!

17. Anonymous
    They say “a rum a day keeps the doctor away.” Like most things; don’t overdo.
    Have a good afternoon.

18. Annonymous GP never called Mottley any bad names. Because he was unsure of Mottley’s sex he referred to Motley as an “it”. He did not curse her or call her a bad name.

Maybe he thinks that her MIND is also DEFILED too. Who knows?

19. Anon I respect you for your boldness! But let everyone have an opinion! You is something else doh!

20. Aiight, aiight. I cool down now.

21. ANON ?

Are you or are you not a lecturer at CAVE HILL ?

22. Cave Hill lecturers dont cuss and get on so. I dont tink dat dem like to wukkup. Dem decent up dey. I aint decent. I does drink nuff rum , pick fares, watch porn and gamble. And i aint no hypocrite.

23. AnonL

We like you even though you does cuss and drink rum etc. We want you to live long. So please cut out the fare picking, porn and gambling, and limit the rum drinking to no more than 2 per day. We want you to be around for a long time

You add some spice (or maybe I should say saltiness) to this blog.

24. At least leh muh keep de porn man. One must have a vice and porn safe. Besides, nuff o it free pon de Internet now.

25. Tell me someting doh. Anybody see de Minister o Culsha wukkin up pon de front page yesterday?

26. Anon

yuh cant fool me
    you iz a lecturer at UWI

ask me how i know ??

27. Anonymous I agree with many of your comments.This country has nothing but hyproctites and people with deceit.
    Black people in Barbados allowed corrupt,wicked and immoral white europeans to determine our value system.Those unbalance,semi-retarded no rythmn white people who cannot dance like us black people condemn our dancing as vulgar because of envy.We are expressive people and we have the rythmn of life and must express it.I see nothing wrong with the way we as black people dance.
    I visited Cuba and some Latin America countries and when I saw those people dance it appears it was simulations sex acts being performed.The rythmic gyrations were a sight to behold.I enjoyed it.
    Wukking up is not vulgar or lewd.It is our way of dance to our calypso music and it must not be stifle.Black people continue to wuk up and show the rythmn of life we have that the other races do not have.Melanin in us gave us that ability to connect with nature and be rythmic.Do not allow the other degeneric ethnics groups to tell us what we must do or not do.To hell with the hyprocites.
    Anonymous as you said all of us came from wukking up,therfore it cannot be bad.I wish to believe that my parents also enjoyed the sex they had when producing me.I hope theydid the dog,cat & puupy.Sex is sweet and it must be enjoy.I als get on bad when I am in the act and my partner does the same.We are expressive people .
    Down with european values and big up african expression.
    Wukkin up is nice.

28. Q // August 27, 2008 at 4:51 pm

Anon

yuh cant fool me
    you iz a lecturer at UWI

ask me how i know ??

How you know?

29. Anonymous // August 27, 2008 at 1:05 am

At least leh muh keep de porn man. One must have a vice and porn safe. Besides, nuff o it free pon de Internet now.
    Oh yeah?, Who tell you so. I always looked at your contributions with a cock eye and more than a pinch of salt. But now I know.
    read the below link.
    http://www.pureintimacy.org/gr/intimacy/understanding/a0000121.cfm

30. And here is another one for good measure

http://www.pureintimacy.org/gr/intimacy/understanding/a0000133.cfm

31. @ Negroman:

Wha de hell u come and start me back up agen fuh wid dese hypocrites. I was very quiet wid my rum in my lil corner watching porn pon de Internet.
    Dese brainwashed, whitewashed c_nts dat playing so hoity toity wid demselves does sicken me to de stomach. Black skins white masks.
    Dem dont realize dat dem tinking is part of a 500 year experiment dat forced dem to hate demselves as black people. Even all de counter-arguments duh trying to use is a demonstration of how well dem was programmed.
    Ef you dig deep enuf you will realize dat dese same cu_ts got a problem wid bajan dialeck, wid locks, wid de lil boy in de senate dat wearing he plaits.
    One ting doh, duh seem pretty consistent in duh hypocrisy.
    Den quoting french philosophers and shakespeare as ef dah is a yardstick fuh knowledge or intelligence. And resorting to de bible when it suits dem.

Who gives two wukkups bout shakespeare or dem bulling french philosophers. Tink bout how de french does still treat black people and de period in which shakespeare wrote and tell me ef any black man wid sense would go around regurgitating dese people that cared NOTHING bout dem.
    Yuh really tink shakespeare did cay bout black people. And some jackass above talk some shite bout a french philosopher name Derrida like ef Derrida or Sherrida give a fu_k bout he or she.
    Now pray tell.
    Dese people does mek me sooooooooooo sick.
    Yuh know Negroman, unlearning is harder dan learning.
    I always say dat de whiteman has no problem in barbados wid his 200 ooo black subjects dere at his command.
    I’m happy dat u r so enlightened my brother. Help dese fools to un-learn doo.
    BABA COME AND SAVE YUH CHILDREN NUH.

32. @ Warrior

Dem links is pure hogwash. Ef dem did busy fooping or drinking dem didnt gonna have so much time to write so much shite.

Ef you dont look at porn, dah’s you bizness! Dont come and judge me. I LAV IT.
    I does go by chubbies and ask fuh de hard cover book underneath de counter. I aint shame. Check me in New York in all de sex shops buying up my porn.

33. Well boy!.

Its too easy to bait you. Sorry.

34. ha ha ha ha ha anon you and negroman is something else!

35. Wanna wuk-up till wanna dead

All of we does wuk-up at some point

Mary should realise that it is the older folks who misbehave themselves on de roads
    Some of dem does even walk and wuk-up so stop de whinning

36. It is a shame in our opinion that this discussion has descended to the point where some are consumed with sex and the expense of the issue raised. A not too careful read of Yardbroom speaks about whether we should have limits on how we wukkup and he attached examples. We should analyze his point in this context.

No where has he stated that wukkin up is not our culture.

Should we have a free for all for anything that we do as a people and be happy to label it culture?

If that is the case fine. As a society can we manage our ‘culture’ in a vacuum given the overall workings of the society?

Who is responsible for pushing moral positions that help shape the way we live?

Given the current penetration of other cultures given our changing demographic and the pressure to maintain our Bajaness, where does this put us?

Many questions which we can raise based on the introspective piece by Yardbroom. There is nothing wrong with thinking and exchanging views which can lead to examining positions held. It can all be done with respect, the colourful language may make for interesting theatre for some, and we are willing to tolerate it to a point if some are limited by expression (it maybe our culture) but we want substance as well!

37. Exactly David , This topic can be debated without all the swear words .That has been my point all through .We do things and when questioned we say it is our culture or why dont we mind A, B or C. Like the cursing ,we all have our own views .Therefore the colourful language is out of place .
    Let us be adults about it .This is a serious topic. It does not matter if the contributors are black ,brown ,english, middle class old or young.The matter is that we are are trying to get a take on this particular subject and hopefully we all will see how we are falling as a society .Then as individuals we can try to make it better for those generations to come . This behaviour would not encourage visitors to this site to make their comments which is the whole idea of its existance i hope. If they will be cussed out and called names WHY BOTHER . Let us be mature about it . Remember everyone has their own opinion. Using cuss words dont show maturity.
    Going to the university or attaining the age of 18 does not signify maturity either ,it is your state of mind .

38. Let us set the ten commandments of decent wukkup to please our Hallelujah Chorus.

Thou shall not jook!
    Thou shall not bend over!
    Thou shall not pouch back!
    Thou shall not wukkup too fast, it has to be a slow decent wine (even if the music is fast beat)!
    Thou shall not be sandwiched while wukkin up!
    Thou shall not put thy hand and thy head while wukkin up.
    Thou shall not use swear words while wukkin up as this may be deemed offensive.
    Thou shall not wukkin in the presence of children under 18 and god forbid if a little child wukkup on an adult. How gross!
    Thou shall not simulate anything that is remotely sexual while wukking up.
    Remember wukkin up is a sinful act that if committed will lead to eternal damnation.

39. Anonymous
    The hyprocrites are at it again.I heard one of the biggest hyprocites in Barbados Matthew Farley on the radio this morning talking about the new dress code for school children.This shameless clown who was so hostile and critical of the young senator hairstyle has now appease the indian community in Barbados.
    Scarfs have been ban from being worn by school children.However,exceptions have being made for indians school children to wear scarfs because it is associated with their religion.
    Only in this stupid country Barbados that the minority rules the majority.Look how our leaders have catapulted to the whims & fancy of the indians.More to come.
    I hope the rastafari movement in Barbados observes these happenning and react appropriately if discrimation comes to any of their chilkdren as a result of their religious practise.
    Anonymous,these are the hyprocrites we are talking about.Matthew Farley,Ronald Jones,David Thompson,Wendy Griffith -Watson & Idamay Denny.
    HYPROCRITES THEY ALL ARE.

40. This earth is on loan to us all.Let us leave a Barbados which our children and our childrens children can live in with some modicum of peace and decency . There is no place or no one here on earth that is perfect . That does not mean that we as a people must settle for anything just because it may be popular at the time .All that glitter is not gold as we know .

We owe it to our people and especially the young impressionable minds to set standards .
    Aim high! Aim for the light pole and we might hit the concrete curb if we fall. Aim for the stars should you fall the clouds are still there.

It is time we as a people stop minding other people and look at ourselves .It is time to stop blaming the white man and those dead people who were slave owners and the dead poets who left the books that we read and enjoy.
    We need to stop blaming the church because it is people like us who make up the church .

We cannot reverse the past but we can do something about our future as far as our people ,education enlightenment and so on is concerned .The BLAMING GAME HAS TO STOP!
    We should never forget our past because it determines our future .However we should not let past experiences make us bitter .Infact it should make us better.Especially if these were negative.
    For some contributors the sarcasm doesnt cut it because it is people like you who are hypocrites . Save the theatre for another blog or time .

Since we know that the french ,the english and all other writers and everyone from 1966 were liars ,traitors ,hypocrites and so on show us the right way!

In this way the people to come will see your excellent work (don’t continue to waste your whit,theatrical style and fine writing styles on this site).I hope they dont think the same thing of you all.

With thse word i sign off from this forum .

I am a young person , I attend university and my views are not just for blogging sake . I believe that i have a positive contribution to make to society . I will continue where ever possible to assist fellow youth and other persons to strive to be the best that they can be .
    At the end of the day i would hope i can make a difference in the life of someone who would be better for it .

41. Can “anonymous” as a self described middle aged, alchoholic, paedophile who harbours thoughts of sexual inadequacy (may even be impotent),

– who is a perverse sexual voyeur (or as Bajans would term it a “webber”)

– who probably hates his parents and much of what he believes they stood for,

– who may have been sexually abused by a cleric or by even a parent,

– who believes himself superior to the vast majority of Barbadians (who he claims to be foolish and self-hating),

– who has rejected most of the traditional Barbadian sources of ethical teaching and is deluded that he is somehow a leader (no, a messiah) bringing liberation to the masses,

– who thinks it chic (oh so progressive!) to replace belief in Christianity (because he sees it as European and so contributing to his inferior status) with a contorted belief in a Yoruba (?) religion which really is just an affectation for him anyway,

have a dispassionate discussion of substance with ordinary Barbadians? Really now..

and to think that such a person garners the respect of others for stating the above!

42. Dear Anonymous:

Try and lef out de porn and find a real man or a real woman t have a real HUMAN relationship with.

When ya old and sick and have a lame foot ya tink that any of the porn actresses or actors will come and make a cup of tea fa ya or run to de drug store to pick up ya medicine.

Get from in front of your computer and tv and get out in the real world real, real people.

Ah gone man!!!

43. @ J

Lef me and my porn nuh man. Lemme enjoy my vices of porn, rum and ganja.

I’m a self-proclaimed degenerate.

Lef me lone nuh man.

44. What did Mary say?

“Aim for the stars & if you fall, the clouds will still be there?”

ARE YOU SERIOUS?

Sweetie, do you know what clouds are MADE OF?!?!

NOTHING SOLID, THAT’S WHAT!

Trust me, you hit A LOT harder if you fall from the stars…provided you don’t BURN UP in the earth’s atmosphere first.

Please don’t use a practical analogy for an idealist theory, ok? If you aim for a light pole, you WILL fall on the concrete. If you aim for the stars, you’ll obliterate yourself @ 800,000 feet! Pure & simple!

I will be realistic…AIM FOR YOUR LIMIT, THEN SURPASS IT! Only you will know what your limit is, and if you can, in fact, surpass it. SO encourage what is real, and quit the “rose-glasses” double -talk!

45. Dear Anonymous:

Ganja too?

Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

46. Well I would have to smoke a joint if dat stupid bitch above dey tink she could pychoanalyze me wid all o dat european bogus science.

She needs to go and sit in de middle of hot desert, open she legs, and let a scorpion bite she clitoris to have some excitement is she life.

47. Anonymous,these are the hyprocrites we are talking about.Matthew Farley,Ronald Jones,David Thompson,Wendy Griffith -Watson & Idamay Denny.
    HYPROCRITES THEY ALL ARE.
    ————————-
    wait david thompson is a hypocrite ????

oh me oh my !!

lol lol lol lol

i did not know that

lol lol lol

LMAO
    THOMPSON is a hypocrite
    ah caan believe it—-Idamay Denny TOO ??

48. Hi girls and boys!! Forgive me for inserting a little, input here, which is n’t entirely, relevant to the above subject but I hope that my friends, David, Technician and Adrian, especially, will forgive me!! I know that Technician, especially, is a bit sensitive about racial-names, so I might not be so lucky with him!!

I’ve been away for a few days and only just discovered the furore which apparently, I’ve been causing at BFP in my own abscence!!

Anyhow, in the hope that I won’t also, be banned from here and in an attempt to express my own view about the subject in their ‘Obama assassination plot in Denver’ discussion I should just like to take this opportunity to explain my own position!!

Below is a post which I’ve submitted to BFP this morning, however, I can’t be certain that they’ll publish it!!

Hi guys and girls, I’ve been away and only just noticed the furore!!

Listen, I’m sometimes, surprised at how over-sensitive Bajans can be but if u think ud like to deprive yourselves of my segacious, comments then by all means, do so!!

Just for the record; of all of you, Mr Gresham seems to be the only person who has interpreted my comment correctly!!

“My understanding of Bimbro’s piece (congratulations to you for offering it to us and opening yourself to criticism) I think he was describing what he thought a white supremacist would think, not what he thought”.

I must admit that I, too, was surprised by the use by BFP, or admittance, of the ‘n’ word!! I guess its use must be less, ‘offensive’ than my monkey, jibe!!?!!!!

I have n’t finished reading the all the comments, yet, but thank Adrian, if he was seeking to defend me!! We shall speak again, no doubt, bro!!

For the moment, I’ve got to go bros!! Breakfast an all dat!! But, otherwise, I ready to rock!Anybudy else coming?!!!!

Lorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!

P.S. BFP for the govt. of Bim!!!! Clive or me for PM!!!!

Lorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!

49. Hi guys, still ‘getting back into the swing of things’!!

That above, post is from me!!

Regards!!

50. I always, refer to myself, as ‘the embodiment of segacity’!! However, I can understand that u might have a different, view!!

Laaaaaaaaaaaaadddddddddddddd!!!! 🙂