Submitted by Yardbroom

Youths ‘wukking up’ 2 ‘Go Stabby’ during the Bajan Kadooment

In recent years a certain type of wuking up has become a popular Barbadian pastime. Its popularity has meant there is now a license to do anything in public, providing it is accompanied by music. My intention is not to take a moral view on this issue as I do not have that authority. However, if participants display in public, they cannot be surprised if people comment on a public medium.

Last year I saw a boy not more than ten years of age wuking up behind a fully grown woman. As the tempo of the music increased the boy got closer to the woman, encouraged by a crowd of adults who witnessed the spectacle. I moved away on seeing this exhibition, as I felt uncomfortable.

In a quiet reflective period after, I asked myself, was I out of touch with modern Barbadian society? Was I unable to understand our culture? and if this was our culture, how long could it have been so, without my noticing.

Could it be that a certain section of society has decided to define what is our culture, and others not wishing to be seen as out of step, are agreeing to all manner of things? It is often difficult to take a principled stand on issues which are not directly related to one’s personal behaviour, as you are open to being told, there is no compulsion for anyone to participate, or even watch. This is quite true, however, as I have alluded to previously, personal behaviour when public must take cognizance of public sensibilities. No one would say that wuking up is bad, or should not be allowed…that is obviously silly. What I am addressing is lewd behaviour masking itself as wuking up.

When men and women – sometimes small children encouraged by adults – adopt positions of copulation (dry sexing) with no attempt at art or finess, the intention being to depict the sexual act in a public place, it is time for questions to be asked. Are there no boundaries? How should adults interact with children? Does our public behaviour have any social restraints? Can we enjoy ourselves within a cultural frame that indentifies who we are, without going beyond acceptable bounds or limiting our cultural identity?

I seek not to rain on the party, but I was disturbed by what I saw. A small boy wuking up behind a grown woman, encouraged by adults. Our women often ask for equality, to which they are entitled and should be given without equivocation. There is a broader issue here which our women must consider. Women will be respected more if they are inclined to respect themselves.

This brings me to another point, I wonder what that small boy thought of women and the respect he should have for them when the music stopped…alast life does not stop, when the music does, in all its variations and facets it continues, perhaps only perhaps we should review how we behave in public places, or should we?

To those women who ask, what about the men? I simply say it is just that I expect more of you.

Related Link

All This Talk About Culture

205 responses to “Is Wuking Up "Without limits" Barbadian Culture?”

1. As a wuk-up artist myself
    wuk-up is something that I would have to have a say on. I have wukked-up on stage and elsewhere and I have written about wukking -up,

If you listen to the song -FATHER HARRY -(1990-) you will hear my views on wukking -up when I expressed in the song that wukking-up is part of our culture, our past and our future.

My friends what I am seeing today is not wukking -up for wukking -up is an art and what I am seeing is VULGARITY———plain and simple.

Furthermore I believed that it should be BANNED from exposure in public spaces and public places such as the stage for it has gone too far now. People should be arrested and charged for breaking the wuk-up /Vulgarity law

Asiba -The Buffalo Soldier say so
    This is Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier the one and only , any other is counterfeit-(apologies to Ken Husbands , who is on the radio now talking to Reverend Errington Massiah who is just hilarious)
    btw -Rev.Massiah taught me at school -man he used to beat bad -for nothing I might add

2. You stupid people still having this nonsensical debate? What’s wrong with wukking up? What is vulgar about it? Are people openly having sex on the streets?
    Do you idiots watch modern dance? Or ballet with men in tights and women in nippy skirts? That is art right?
    So what if wukking up simulates sex? What the hell is the problem? What is wrong with sex? Aren’t we all a product of sex.
    You all are a bunch of Victorian hypocrites. The same people who will look at porn on the Internet, pick fares, have multiple partners and then pretend to be holier than thou. YOU MAKE ME SICK. Let de so-and-so people wuk up. If it’s so offensive then DONT WATCH THEM.

3. When men and women – sometimes small children encouraged by adults – adopt positions of copulation (dry sexing) with no attempt at art or finess, the intention being to depict the sexual act in a public place, it is time for questions to be asked. Are there no boundaries? How should adults interact with children?

In some countries someone would have been charged with child abuse or labelled as a pedophile.

I am beginning to think that we as a people are slowing losing our minds and the ability to digest anything that is good and wholesome, in addition, a lot of behaviours of the past that we took as joke – adults wukking up on young children – are now rising to bite us in the backside.

4. How many children do you all see doing this. Again this is using one isolated case to generalize all for the sake of making a non-fight. Go and study where wukkin-up came from, it purpose, and its reason before coming on here taking so much nonsense.
    You pack of brainwashed westernized reactionaries!

5. Gyration of the pelvis (wuking up) is one movement out of many that makes up what is called dance. It is done in all dances, of all cultures. I am told that all dancing where men and women partner each other has a sexual connotation sometimes subtle and sometimes explicit. However, Barbadians in the soca/calypso/dance hall/rap setting seem intent of abandoning all other movements in their dance in favour of simply wuking up. It appears to me that it is thought that sexual attractiveness and indeed satisfying sexual activity is simply a matter of violent physical thrusting of the pelvis. Some years ago UWI sociologist, Graham Dann, researching Barbadian sexual behaviour found that most Barbadian women were left wanting in their sexual and emotional needs by their male partners. This inadequacy is thus now simply on display in our dance. Further that such dancing should occur without limits or rules or protocols (e.g a young child with an adult) suggests the degeneracy that the society is falling into occasioned by the low cognitive level of popular artforms.

6. “Women will be respected more if they are inclined to respect themselves”

Dear Yardbroom: You made the statement above, but I will ask you to show me the evidence that the statement is the truth (and not an old canard)

7. Babadus finish!!

Laaaaaaaddddddddddddddddd!!!!

8. How does one define ‘wukking up’, I see it as a gyration of the waist in an artful and entertaining fashion. Now that ‘stabby’ thing is not wukking up in my books or any other general ‘humping’ motion where it is more of a quick pumping action where the guy pulls and pushes the female (who gladly bends down or props on something or someone for balance). Now for me that is just lewd and quite vulgar. Skillful gyration is completely different where both waists move in a synchronous fashion. Now that is art! Strangely enough most of the best wukkup acts I have witnessed were solo. So I am sorry, no excuse for that behaviour it is just like most things these days; skimming the limits of decency.

9. Dear Bimbro:

Is you? Ya back? I miss yah man!!!

10. Sad to say but I detest this vulgar act that bajans have adapted. It’s rude and common, I’ve see African dance troupes perform and sometimes very skimpy dressed but you see the difference. It is a rutual dance , somewhat ceremonial with a history a culture behind the performance. What I’ve seen developed in Barbados is just short of open sex . Stir yourself Barbados, we have much more pride than that. Demonstrate our real culture, good waist movement but controlled.

11. @Anonymous

We note that the tone of your comment is not intended to encourage conversation? Did you view the Youtube Video above? Would you rate what you have seen as culture?

If we take your argument to full conclusion then as a nation we should not engage in any critique of what we perceive to be our culture? You should talk to us because we have always understood ‘culture’ to be something that is fluid and constantly evolving.

The post-Crop Over postmortem which is currently underway is a dynamic process which encourages the kind of conversation we are having to make things better. Would you prefer that we discontinue the process?

12. J // August 22, 2008 at 4:36 am

Dear Bimbro:

Is you? Ya back? I miss yah man!!!

Hi J, yes, it’s me man!! I never really lef but, like de other boards, I doan tink dey like my outspokenness too much, pun hay, thus I doan come too often!!

Laaaaaaaaaddddddddddddddddddd!!!!

I hope my Bajan (english) awright!!

Laaaaaaaaaaaddddddddddddddddddd!!!!

13. If this form of wuk-up is emerging then that is the culture too. Plain and simple. Who determines what is vulgar and what is not? What are the criteria for vulgarity? Are people opening fooping on de streets? If it looks sexual what is wrong with that?
    David you asked if I looked at the youtube video. The answer is a resounding NO. And that my point, you have the choice to look at it or not. People have the right to wuk-up how they please. This is not a debate worth happening. Every year the same stupid talk from the same hypocrites. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with wukking up in any form. If it’s a form of sexual liberation and freedom then so be it. Maybe this is the kind of openness that is needed to help resolve the HIV/AIDS crisis.
    Until Bajans start to discuss sex and sexuality openly we will not resolve the HIV/AIDS crisis. As a society we all like to hide and foop then go to church on Sunday and play christian and criticize others. Let de damn people wuk up and celebrate their freedom from this self-imposed conservatism.

14. Hi “J”
    I will respond to your point in due course.
    Yardbroom

15. Yardbroom just needs to shut up and stop being so sanctimonious. There are more important things to discuss.

16. Anonymous
    I find your logic difficult to follow, as politely as I can, may I ask the following. You stated…

“this is not a debate worth happening”…

A few sentences later, you said:

…”Maybe this is the kind of openness that is required to help solve the HIV/AIDS crisis”…

Which of the above is your position, I do apologize in advance for not being able to follow your reasoning.
    Regards Yardbroom

17. Yardbroom

You are obviously a thorougbred running in a race with a few jackasses.

18. ha haha hahah

19. @ Yardbroom…

Meaning…the wukkup debate is tired and not worth having.

…”Maybe this is the kind of openness that is required to help solve the HIV/AIDS crisis”…

There’s nothing wrong with the logic. You are just the typical holier than thou hypocrite.

The “openness” refers to how free people are with themselves in that they’re so willing to wukkup like that in public. Therefore, we should take this same open approach to discuss sex and sexuality openly to help address the HIV/AIDS crisis.
    The advertising and PR campaign can be more direct just like what obtained in Brazil in the 1990s. In fact Brazil is now the world’s success story at turning their HIV stats around because they dealt with it openly.

It’s consersative sanctimonious hypocritical pseudo-christian behavior like yours that suppresses sexual expression and force people into the underground. That’s why the Caribbean has such an HIV problem.

Let people be…the reverse logic is that the freer people are, the more HIV will be controlled. When you push people into hiding and sneaky behavior, the result is the complete opposite. So that’s the logic.
    Until we stop being afraid to deal with the real issues even with our children…the the crisis is gonna get worse.

So…the wukkup debate is tired. Just shut to *(&$@^#$* up!
    There are more serious issues to discuss and come up with solutions.

Wunna is de same wutless people dat does horn wunna wives and husbands and got separate apts and travel bout de place to foop; watch porn and all brands o shite den come here criticizing people bout wukking up.

WUNNA DOES SICKEN MY STOMACH. What is more sickening den people wukkin up is wunna hypocrites.

20. @Anonymous

The wukkup debate maybe tired for you but it is not for others. We suggest that you are showing a naiveté on this matter. In fact if you can get your hand on the Nation any day of the week in recent weeks you can see the topic covered. The last article in recent days was a visiting priest who made a similar point to Yardbroom.

Your argument is so flawed, let us suggest that if Barbadians are wallowing in sin then doesn’t it make sense to start somewhere i.e.draw a line. Your flawed logic is if as people we are committing other sins then why focus on wukkup. As a society we are entitled to discuss whatever we want so get use to it. If you view an article in the newspaper which you disagree what do you do?

21. The question that Yardroom posed was IS WUKING UP WITHOUT LIMITS BARBADIAN CULTURE.

The current rampant wuking up that is prevalent today was never seen in Barbados for over 300 years .

Those of us who have been much too lenient that we have supervised the decadence and decay in contemporary Barbados remember the time in The early 60’s when we attempted to have Caraval in Barbados and failed miserably.

No sane Bajan would participate in road marches. Caraval in Barbados was thus discontinued.

Around 1977 Crop Over was started. Over the years as we became more affluent many Bajans in droves could afford to go to watch Trinidad carnivals, and returned to Barbados gyrating worse than the Trinidadians do.

All of a sudden wuking up is we culture. Some jackass, with a brain the size of a pea, will now opine with expletives (that being the limit of thier very minute vocabulary) that our culture is evolving ,but these are the facts!

Our culture is evolvinf, whereas the cultures of ancient tribes and nations around the world remain the same.

The jackass who brayed thus ………………..
    Wunna is de same wutless people dat does horn wunna wives and husbands and got separate apts and travel bout de place to foop; watch porn and all brands o shite den come here criticizing people bout wukking up.

WUNNA DOES SICKEN MY STOMACH. What is more sickening den people wukkin up is wunna hypocrites.
    ………………..is just jealous that he is not rich enough to do any of the above. Poor thing can only wuk up.

The answer to Yardbroom’s question is a resounding NO. But the jackasses may bray on!

22. Good question David

If you view an article in the newspaper with which you disagree what do you do?

NOT A THING BUT TALK BS! THERE IS NO AVENUE FOR DISSENT!

BUT DOES NOT EXCUSE IDIOTS TO ABUSE THE FACILITY AFFORDED US BY BU!

Yardroom is obviously a senior citizen, who deserves respect!

23. What ya all ninkenpoops dont understand is that the more you talk about it and the more you criticize it, the more people will wuk up.
    It’s an act of defiance you idiots.

24. @Anonymous

We understand your strategy very well and it will fail like the others who tried before you.

25. @ memries

BUT DOES NOT EXCUSE IDIOTS TO ABUSE THE FACILITY AFFORDED US BY BU!

You are obviously lost. That’s the beauty of the Internet. Anyone can start an anonymous blog.
    What facility afforded us by BU what?

Once people dont agree with wunna moralistic nonsense wunna does start appealing to a lotta stupid sentiment.
    Come down off wunna pseudo-moralistic high horses, everybody does foop and wukkup. How you tink wunna get hey, wunna parents foop and wukkup.
    If people on de streets wukkin up and having a good time, that’s far safer than wukkin up in body fluids without a condom.
    Get real and shut up. Wunna hypocrites!

De last hypocrite that was criticizing young people for having an innocent kiss in Queen’s Park and tekkin duh picture and putting it in de Nation now holding he head in shame fuh fooping a school girl and horning he wife, after giving a sanctimonous moralistic speech at CP speech day.
    Look in de mirror and look at wunna self first before wunna throw stones. Ask wunna self if wunna above any form of moral reprimand, then wheel and come again.
    YOU ALL ARE SICKENING!

26. Sonny What is your real name? Is it Jack? Cause you remind me of this tale………

Tony, having his second son christened, was much concerned about getting the correct name on the birth certificate. “Will you please name the baby just as I give it to you?” “Certainly,” answered the minister, “why shouldn’t I?”

“Well you see, it’s like this,” replied Tony. “When I told you I wanted to name my first boy Tom, you wrote on his birth certificate ‘Thomas.’ This boy I want to name Jack.”

27. @ David

We understand your strategy very well and it will fail like the others who tried before you.

There is no strategy. This is a heartfelt opinion just like the heartfelt opinion post by Yardbroom.

There are so many more issues you can tackle David. This is stale and overworked.
    Talk bout de stupid comment Rogge made about Usain Bolt. Talk bout how de American press saying de young man pon drugs whilst treating Phelps like a God.
    Talk bout how well de Caribbean did in athletics and what should be done to make us better by 2012.
    Talk bout uplifting tings David man. Yuh gonna come here and talk de same ting over and over and over bout wukkup, de guyanese, de bees, de dees.
    People will wukkup if they want to. Ironically, Rogge (de jackass) criticized Usain’s dance, which is part of the young man’s culture.
    Sound’s familiar? You OREOS!

28. @ David
    “Your argument is so flawed, let us suggest that if Barbadians are wallowing in sin then doesn’t it make sense to start somewhere i.e.draw a line. ”

I agree 1000%. Yes! Start somewhere and draw the line.
    Start with yourself!
    Draw the line with yourself!

Dont give your middle class children money and the car to go the fetes.
    Dont curse in front of them.
    Dont drink in front of them.
    Treat your wives with respect. Dont horn them! Dont beat them!
    When last I checked, charity still begins at home.
    You cant start to draw the line with that which you have no control over. You can only control you.

29. @Anonymous

Final comment to you. If we are so predictable why are you on BU 24/7? Also check the blogs on our Front Page which covers, culture, BL&P, homosexuality, Kingsland Affair, Beiijing Olympics, Russian Invasion of Georgia, Barbados politics, ABC Highway, Travel Agencies, Life in past Barbados, CARIFORUM EC EPA, we even had a press release out of Canada. If you want to read about the Olympics go over ti BGR.

30. David

This statement seems to be at the heart of this lad’s problem

Dont give your middle class children money and the car to go the fetes.

31. Responding to your op-ed piece Sir! You set the tone on your blog Sir!

32. Yes, this topic of our ‘wuck-up’ culture needs to be openly discussed, as it is a deep reflection of where we are heading, re our moral and spiritual fibre, as a society without such values, regardless of how much we may advance otherwise, is destined to perish, confirmed over and over again, throughout history, with any number of ancient civilizations coming to utter ruination, with abased, immoral practices and idolatry, almost always as the core reason(s) for their ultimate demise.

While I appreciate the opening comments, I’m not in agreement with his remarks, “No one should say that wucking up is bad, or should not be allowed…that is obviously silly. What I am addressing is the LEWD behaviour masking itself as wucking up.”

‘Wucking-Up’ pure and simple is without doubt, vulgarity, abased sexual simulation, then taken to its logical graphic conclusion when ‘man’ and ‘woman’ complete the intended display of this wanton, disgusting, so-called art form, now deemed as ‘we culture’, by those who have obviously lost all sense or perception of ‘moral’ right or wrong! Cultural relativism seems to be the order of the day, attempting to completely emasculate all sense of respect and morality, seeking to introduce a literal, ‘value free’ ‘value neutral’ society, God help us!

No matter how many hypocrites they are, moral rectitude, the antithesis of moral degeneracy, will always have its say, for it is the very foundation upon which a society either stands or falls.

“Righteousness exalteth a nation; but SIN is a reproach to ant people” (Prov. 14:34).

33. I thought it was wunna who had de problem. Wunna is de ones offended by de people wukkin up. Um dont bother me. Duh could wukkup all duh like. Um does bother wunna, not me. I dont even go near dum. So dah’s wunna problem.

34. Oh lord now! Here comes the high priest Carlos beyond any moral reproach.
    Here comes the bible thumping christian to quote scripture when it most suits them.
    The same bible thumping christian that goes to church and jump and sing then pass his fellow brother and sister at the bus stop.
    The bible thumping christian that scorns and looks down and is holier than thou.

Once dese bible thumping people join de debate, I outta here. Cant tek dem. I does run far from dem at work, wherever.
    Wunna does frighten me wid wunna bible quoting moralistic selves bohsie. I frighten enough fuh wunna. Wunna is de worst people to work roun’.
    Cant tek wunna at all at all at all!

35. Here comes to the bible thumping christian Mr. Carlos to tell preach to us that we are heading for doom and destruction. Dat Jesus is coming back and all de wukkup sinners gonna burn in hell while he and his kind gonna rejoice in heaven.

36. Deu 30:15 ¶ See, I have set before thee this day life and good, and death and evil!

Isa 45:7 I form the light, and create darkness: I make peace, and create evil: I the LORD do all these [things].

37. memries // August 22, 2008 at 7:12 pm

Your respose to Anon is World Class, first class. I nearly fell out of my chair with laughter.

While I understand that everyone have their opinion, it is true that jackasses can only bray

38. To Brother Carlos and Yardbroom and all the moralites:

Isa 45:7 I form the light, and create darkness: I make peace, and create evil: I the LORD do all these [things].

God created wukking up too!

39. Dear Memries:

You said “Our culture is evolvinf, whereas the cultures of ancient tribes and nations around the world remain the same.”

I am sure that you know that it is impossible for any culture to remain static. In fact change is what primarily defines culture. In fact just the word “blog” is a sign of a change in the English language as well a a change in cultural practice. My grandmother who was born in rural Barbados in 1879 certaibly did not blog. This is a cultural change. And you too have changed with the culture. You blog too.

40. “Wunna is de same wutless people dat does horn wunna wives and husbands and got separate apts and travel bout de place to foop; watch porn and all brands o shite”

Much of this is true. We the elders have eaten sour fruit and our children’s teeth are set on edge.

Many of us have done much of the above and our children will not hold us guiltless.

Pray tell me how do you tell your daughter not to wuk-up once she has discovered that her mother was 5 months pregnant wit her before you married her and that in 25 years of marriage you have had 2 outside children numerous affairs.

We the elders need to repent of our wicked ways.

41. “………………..is just jealous that he is not rich enough to do any of the above. Poor thing can only wuk up.”

Dear Memries:

Just as I said. There is no reason to be proud becasue you are “rich enough” to afford adultery. I’ve seen some bad arguments on this blog, but the rich enough to afford adultery is possibly the worse argument that I have heard in my lifetime.

42. Hello to my BU family,

I have enjoyed our Crop Over Festival.

Now this is what I have noticed and what everyone here on BU might be missing, Barbados is infested with many different nationalities, Jamaicans, Guyanese, St. Lucian’s, Vincentions and others, and from looking around on Spring Garden most of the patrons were non Barbadian, even at most of the Crop Over events Bajans were out numbered. Therein lies the problem, because Bajan does ‘Wuck-Up’ but not do what we see taking place today, is not Bajan.

43. @ J

I’m glad that someone is honest enough to speak the truth.
    No one wants to admit that our grandmothers and grandfathers were wutless wutless wutless!
    These sanctimonious fools are behaving like if all this is something new.
    It’s about man’s free will!
    What bothers me most is that as black people, we always seem to have a problem with any celebration of negritude and we buy into the dominant discourse that critiques negritude and anything black to assert their false sense of superiority.
    These idiots dont understand that they’re giving into a dominant discouse that controls them and keeps them out of the dominant power structures.
    So these black fools are using a westernized meta-language and reinforced brainwashing theological arguments supported by the bible to undermine blackness.
    The arguments against wukkup are the same that were used against jazz and banjo which were described as devil music.
    This is the same society that has a problem with the young black male Senator wearing cornrows. Can you imagine.
    Time to look in the mirror and be proud of your blackness. Time to stop straightening your little girls’ hair. Time to tell your women stop buying weave and/or putting chemicals in their hair.
    We are Africans! And the more you criticize wukkup the more the young people are going to defy you with your baseless criticisms.
    People are free to wukkup however they want to!
    What vulgar what? Vulgar is the hypocrisy of you moralites.

44. @ The High Priest of Moral Authority Carlos and Yardbroom.

“No matter how many hypocrites they are, moral rectitude, the antithesis of moral degeneracy, will always have its say, for it is the very foundation upon which a society either stands or falls.
    “Righteousness exalteth a nation; but SIN is a reproach to ant people” (Prov. 14:34).”

May I suggest that instead of attacking the people who wukkup one day on the streets, you should go up to Dodds and pray with Jippy Doyle, then hop cross to Amurka and pray fuh bulling Gene Robinson, then head over to the Vatican and bless all de millions dat dem paying out to de victims o bulling priests, den pray fuh Jimmy “fare picking” Swaggart, den pray fuh all de pastors dat fooping de young girls and boys in de church, and all o dem dat tiefing de offering and buying big jeeps from Simpson Motors, or de same Simpson wid duh white only church.
    Dem is who wunna should call vulgar and immoral. Start wid dem! The good thing is that yuh dont have to quote bible verses to dem cause dem know de bible better than any o we.
    H Y P O C R I T E S!

45. We are living in a really sad state when persons do not wish to take responsibility for their actions. The first thing we are going to say is why you dont mind this person and that person and keep passing the buck. We are not the rest of the world and we are not America.
    We as a nation has to clean around our own backdoor and as individuals examine ourselves. This wuk up thing that is going on has nothing to do with culture far from that it shows you are without culture.Secondly it has nothing to do with us being black or of African descent.
    For those who surf the net instead of talking crap on this site or placing smut on youtube to make the rest of the world think all bajans are lewd ,check the african culture and the dances of their various regions and see if you will see them doing what our people here are doing .

A person can dance to calypso and does not have to be mopping up the floor with onself!We can dance and not be simulating sexual acts. This behaviour is lewd!
    Our young women need to have pride in themselves. Raise the bar ! It is only when you have self worth and dignity that men and other persons will respect you.
    Before all black persons had was education because that was seen as the key to success and religion.We have abandoned both so this is why we are in the position we find ourself in.

46. Mary Mary Mary…I know that sometimes in blogging your thoughts can go ahead of your ability to type and the occasional grammatical error may appear, but for someone who is defending education as a key to success your English is horrible.

Secondly, Mary Mary quite contrary, please tell us why simulating sex in a dance is wrong and lewd and vulgar. I really do not understand.
    I’ve seen all forms of dance all over the world in several cultures and many of them simulate sex.
    I’ve seen naked people dance on stages in Europe to standing ovations and they’ve received prizes for their artistic achievements.

So you are going to come hear and say that to simulate sex is lewd. Did you see the movie “Dirty Dancing” Mary?

Thirdly, your understanding of culture (and this is no joke) is sadly lacking. If this is the type of dance that is manifesting then it’s a revelation of ‘something’ that is taking place in the culture and it becomes a cultural manifestation. In fact, it’s a cultural as your hypocrisy. The holier-than-thou attitude you all display is very much a cultural trait, very much like 17th & 18th century England – hide and do it, don’t display!

What the current wukkup displays is saying to us culturally is that people are more sexually liberated and as such will their display their sense of sexual freedom more openly.

If you weren’t so limited, you will understand that this is a cycle. This sexual freedom always leads to increased sexual diseases, then fear and panic, then people repress their sexual desires all over again. It’s a cycle! You just happen to be living in a period where you are coming out of one era of conservatism into an era of openness.

This is also fuelled by the openness of the communication media where people are exposed to sex and sexuality at a much younger age – Cable TV; the Internet; travelling; magazines, etc.

Now Mary, go back in your little corner with the lights off, turn on you DVD machine and watch your little porn movie, play with yourself, go to sleep and shut to hell up.
    H Y P O C R I T E S!

47. Mary Mary Mary…I know that sometimes in blogging your thoughts can go ahead of your ability to type and the occasional grammatical error may appear, but for someone who is defending education as a key to success your English is horrible.

Secondly, Mary Mary quite contrary, please tell us why simulating sex in a dance is wrong and lewd and vulgar. I really do not understand.
    I’ve seen all forms of dance all over the world in several cultures and many of them simulate sex.
    I’ve seen naked people dance on stages in Europe to standing ovations and they’ve received prizes for their artistic achievements.

So you are going to come hear and say that to simulate sex is lewd. Did you see the movie “Dirty Dancing” Mary?

Thirdly, your understanding of culture (and this is no joke) is sadly lacking. If this is the type of dance that is manifesting then it’s a revelation of ‘something’ that is taking place in the culture and it becomes a cultural manifestation. In fact, it’s as cultural as your hypocrisy. The holier-than-thou attitude you all display is very much a cultural trait, very much like 17th & 18th century England – hide and do it, don’t display!

What the current wukkup display is saying to us culturally is that people are more sexually liberated and as such will their display their sense of sexual freedom more openly.

If you weren’t so limited, you will understand that this is a cycle. This sexual freedom always leads to increased sexual diseases, then fear and panic, then people repress their sexual desires all over again. It’s a cycle! You just happen to be living in a period where you are coming out of one era of conservatism into an era of openness.

This is also fuelled by the openness of the communication media where people are exposed to sex and sexuality at a much younger age – Cable TV; the Internet; travelling; magazines, etc.

Now Mary, go back in your little corner with the lights off, turn on your DVD machine and watch your little porn movie, play with yourself, go to sleep and shut to hell up.
    H Y P O C R I T E S!

48. Now that the Hallelujah Chorus has started and the Virgin Mary has joined Saint Carlos and the Santimonious Yardbroom, might I suggest that you all go to church tomorrow, get on your knees and pray that this demon be of wukkup be wiped away from our little pristine society.
    While you are at it, invite all de priests and pastors to join wunna on a pray-and-fast to really help us get rid of this evil sin.
    I hope that in de process wunna clean up all de sin in de church too.

49. Anger’s my meat; I sup upon myself,
    And so shall starve with feeding.

Shakespeare, Coriolanus.

50. Therein lies the problem! Black skin, white mask! You feel dat quoting Shakespeare absolves you from abhorring your blackness.

Quote Derek Walcott or Lamming or Brathwaite and come again.

I’m not impressed with you hypocrites.
    It’s that white man education dat makes wunna look in de mirror and hate wunna selves.
    H Y P O C R I T E S!

Now go back surfing de Net and looking at your porn and shut up!