Submitted by Max Hinds-Caribbean Institute for Democracy

Dr.Randy Persaud

Dr. Randy Persaud, a man of letters I am assured, uses the opportunity of the tragic shooting of two Guyanese immigrants in Bridgetown to make the presumptuous claim that it is racism as instigated by Dr. Kean Gibson and Rickford Burke and BARBADOS UNDERGROUND, more so than anti-immigrant sentiment or garden-variety crime that is responsible. (He examines Freddy Kissoon participation also, but decides to absolve him.)

The police investigators in Barbados may want to study Persaud’s allegations for clues as to who the perpetrators are. Better yet, the Guyana authorities could employ Persaud’s line of reasoning to the task of solving the dozens of murders that traumatize that benighted country. But in all seriousness, this Persaud article is as Goebells-like as any that has ever issued from the pens of the special breed of sycophants that prop up the crooks who run Guyana.

Persaud must be familiar, as I am, with the hate-filled Blogs and Chat-groups such as GUYANA UNDER SIEGE and ‘OurGuyana@YahooGroups‘, Guyanafriends.com, etc, that entertain certain Guyanese communities in North America. He would also be familiar with some of the purely ethnic organizations like the INDO CARIBBEAN COUNCIL of New York that vigorously promote and defend the Guyana government, even to the detriment of those of us who may not be avid supporters of the ruling party nor belong to the ruling race.

But I am not aware that he has ever sought to link the supremacist rhetoric and activities of these groups to violence against Guyanese immigrants in North America. So how come this mealy-mouthed analysis applied to the situation in Barbados?

This question fills me with the greatest of unease as it indicates Persaud’s embrace of a policy (some would say program) of exclusive dictation of the parameters and pace of political discourse in Guyana, and now apparently the remainder of the Caribbean.

I am charging that a group that now holds state power, or is closely connected to those who hold power in Guyana is bent on convincing black people in Guyana and the international community that they have nothing to complain about; that they never had it so good; that there is no government effort to discriminate against them; that it is their leaders who mislead them and are the cause of all the problems, especially ethnic tension and hostility…. All this as we witness a continuous assault to restrict black participation in national life by a government that all the while, studiously denies it. Long-standing subventions to a tertiary educational institute run by black unionists are removed, no plausible explanation proffered; European Union funding of projects in mainly black communities-in-need is vetoed, no plausible explanation proffered; Karan Singh is rehabilitated to once again head the national Water Authority and promptly fires 23 black employees replacing them with East-Indians, no plausible explanation proffered; and so it goes, on and on.

But Persaud informs us that pointing this out is a “racialized construction of the political climate in Guyana”, “in contradistinction to objective reality” and a false “impression that the PPP government is deliberately victimizing the Afro-Guyanese population.” Which means, language involving vaseline that cannot be uttered in a public forum.

Then there are the killings. This terrible wanton taking of life and repulsive tallying of the dead into ledgers of “Who killed whom, and for which side.”; but here the explanations are profuse, oft times venturing into the realms of the absurd. Yet the solutions evade us, and the bogie-men continue to kill with impunity.

It is as if the distress and outrage felt by most Guyanese and our brethren in the Caribbean is of no consequence, as if it couldn’t possibly exist because those in power officially deny it exists, so any who continue to claim discomfort must be viewed as suspect, or worse. The reality is in the propaganda.

Persaud says he asked the editor of BARBADOS UNDERGROUND to prohibit the utterances he (Persaud) identified as offensive. This admission in itself informs us of his arrogance. Readers should be aware that Guyana government functionaries and leading apologists are now actively addressing Caribbean governments and newspapers not only to deny black allegations of wrongdoing by officialdom, but also to demand the suppression and blacklisting of spokespersons for black causes. (This effort has already largely succeeded in Guyana)

Persaud’s letter, which I hope is carried in every Caribbean newspaper, especially those in Barbados where he attempts to besmirch the people of that nation, demonstrates this desire to muzzle Guyanese dissidents at home and abroad. Oliver Hinckson the political prisoner and Gordon Moseley the restricted journalist know first hand that the standards for freedom of expression may not be applicable to dissident black voices. Rickford Burke too finds himself the subject of the most orchestrated campaign of vilification that the Guyana state has put together since the time of Walter Rodney.

Where is Persaud going with this stuff? On the surface the premise is so ludicrous, so gratuitous, that one is tempted to dismiss it merely as the good doctor, in the words of the TV judge Judy Sheindlin, practicing “Peeing on our leg and telling us it is raining”, keeping his hand in so to speak. But does his muck-raking in Barbados have a more sinister purpose? Are we now witnessing the export of the disgusting politics of ethnic smear, mistrust, triumphalism and retribution from Guyana, a failing society limping along at the back of the pack in smelly rags and vile temperament? Is the rest of the Caribbean to be infected by what ails us? I hope not.

52 responses to “Dr. Randy Persaud Is Peeing On Our Leg And Telling Us It Is Raining”

1. Many BU family members have asked us to respond to Dr. Persaud’s letter of last week when he attacked our country by accusing Barbadians of a most heinous act i.e. committing hate crimes against Guyanese. We have decided to use Mr. Hind’s article by way of a rebuttal.

We are asking him to submit an apology for his most insensitive letter submitted to the Guyana and other Caribbean media.

2. It is quite obvious to me as I stated yesterday what is happening; an orchestrated attempt to silence the legitimate concerns of Barbadians.

Some people in authority in Barbados have no idea what they are playing with, the “Trojan Horse” is at the gate and the watchmen are asleep.

3. I hope that DLP politician who Negroman said he spoke to yesterday – who didnot seem to understand the negative impact of the indian population,and in particular the indo guyanese group – on our society here in barbados – he better get some education real fast.

I hope his view is an isolated one.

I think that the afro guyanese especially those living overseas need to start writing to the United Nations,to start bombarding the Caricom Secratariat to investigate the discrimination by jagdeo – also to write to DAVID THOMPSON WHO HAS LEAD ROLE FOR CSME,write to the OAS.

Don’t bombard our blogs – write to the important institutions and all the newspapers around the caribbean – in Jamaica,in antigua,st vincent,barbados,trinidad,st kitts etc.

4. On May 13th 2008 you posted the following on the BU blog http://bajan.wordpress.com/2008/05/13/barbados-ethnic-groups-managed-immigration/#comment-27125

I responded by suggesting to you that it would be more prudent to direct your accusations and cautions to the offending posters rather than to all posting on the blog and to the entire nation of Barbados.
    http://bajan.wordpress.com/2008/05/13/barbados-ethnic-groups-managed-immigration/#comment-27142

Your letter to Caribbean news shows that you have not heeded a simple and civilized request. You have found it necessary to once again indict the entire sovereign country of Barbados by reclassifying as a HATE CRIME, without any proof whatsoever, what was tentatively defined by the police as a robbery gone badly. Even the Consol General of Guyana in Barbados has dismissed your unfounded accusation and speculation as “Nonsense”. It is at this point that you need to be reminded of point three in your BU blog contribution.
    You said:
    “The Hindu texts were written thousands of years ago, and to select this and that line from the text to “prove” whatever is not good scholarship.”

Also the Motto of your alma mater is Tentanda via (The way must be tried)

I find it unbelievable but very necessary to lay out your actions sequentially as it might aid you in seeing the stupidity of your claim in the context of your advice, the motto of your alma mater and of your standing as learnt fellow.

1: You are in Washington DC
    2: A double shooting occurs in Barbados
    3: Police preliminary report suggest Robbery gone wrong
    4: You conclude it is a Hate crime not a robbery
    5: Guyana’s consular in Barbados dismiss your claim as “Nonsense”

I learned the scientific method at an early age and the fact that the University that awarded you a doctorate is only 49 years old doesn’t forgive it’s use in as you would say “good scholarship” If you had asked a question, did background research, construct a hypothesis, test your hypothesis, analyze your data, draw a conclusion, and only then communicated your results, you would not be faced with the humiliation of having your assertion dismiss as “nonsense” and have your academic qualifications questioned.

An apology to Barbados is warranted:
    I have sent your comments from BU blog, and the Caribbean news site as well as those of Norman Faria to Barbados’ consul general in New York for his consideration. You should do the right thing for once and apologize forthwith. You have made a grave mistake on many fronts.

Adrian Hinds

5. “Most incentive letter”, David? What do you mean? Most incendiary?

6. This is an email sent to Dr. Persaud and also his response.

Dr. Persaud,
    I read your recent comments on the blogs with interest. From what I can discern you had no factual evidence to support your allegations. It is my opinion that your were trying to sully the good name of the people of Barbados. What you should be doing is reaching out to the Indo-Guyanese who are in Barbados illegally, and who rather than keeping a low profile are being involved in criminal activity, scams, prostitution, etc. I believe that you in your rush to judgement, and not having any facts owe the country of Barbados an apology. I look forward to an unconditional apology.

His response:

Dear Mr. Hall: Thank you for you correspondence about my article on the situation with Guyanese immigrants in Barbados.

I would like to let you know that I have always admired Barbados and wonderful people of that country.

It was not easy for me to write the article. At the same time, I am deeply concerned about anti-immigrant bashing, not only in Barbados, but all over the world.

Over the past decade I have written for justice for Africans and generally for Third World countries.

I have asked students to study the Bajan example of development, as I think it is worth emulating.

The great thing about Barbados is that it has always pushed extremism to the side.

The concerns I expressed are verifiable. Please read the entries on I understand that a radio station in Barbados is also a venue for these types of extremist opinions.

I will write an article calling on Guyanese to be lawful and respectful of Barbados and its people.

Bajans, like yourself, should encourage fellow citizens not to go down the path of extremism. That would tarnish the image of Barbados much more than an article or two from someone in Washington DC.

I respect the fact that you wrote to me about your concerns, and I hope we can both be voices for positive change.

Sincerely
    Randy

Randolph B. Persaud, Ph.D
    Associate Professor of International Relations &
    Director of Comparative and Regional Studies
    School of International Service
    American University
    4400 Massachusetts Ave. N.W.
    Washington, D.C. 20016-8071

Phone 202-885-1757
    Fax: 202-8852494

7. The view expressed by that parliamentarian I do not believe is an isolated view.I said previously prior to the last general election I spoke to two candidates who are now parliamentarians from the DLP about the Guyan issue and the response was at that time we are not going to make that an election issue because we do not know the amount of Guyanese in Barbados and the part they could play in the outcome of the elections.Those are the words of two candidates now members of parliament and both are ministers.Those are the sort of people we have representing us today.
    I do not believe that this government is genuine in its efforts to stem the tide of illegal immigrants and I believe it is powerless to do anything about it.
    Negroman must finally admit which is painful to him that we have lost this battle and this is an effort in futility.This government is in bed with the big indian,white,chinese and other big interest groups in Barbados and would not do any thing on this matter.Therefore Negroman has practically made up his mine to leave the shores of Barbados with his family and go to some Africa state and make his contribution there.I see little hope in a future Barbados for black people.All the tell signs are there.Our black politicians from both political parties have sold us out.
    Norma Faria,Rickey Singh,Dr Randy Persaud and the indians have won the battle.
    Negroman admits defeat.
    Goodbye.

8. Be careful, Negroman. You might find that the situation is no different whereever in Africa you are going.

9. That is true but I prefer to take my chances in mother Africa than in Barbados at this moment.

10. What Randy Persaud said:
    “It is finally happening. Guyanese immigrants in Barbados are now being murdered. The attack in which Christopher Griffith was killed, and Seelochanie Samuels wounded, was not the work of bandits. It was an anti-immigrant political killing. ”

What Tony Hall said:
    “I read your recent comments on the blogs with interest. From what I can discern you had no factual evidence to support your allegations.”

Randy Persaud’s reply:
    “The concerns I expressed are verifiable. Please read the entries on I understand that a radio station in Barbados is also a venue for these types of extremist opinions.”

My opinion:
    Randy’s first paragraph is the issue. It was a statement, issued as fact, not concerns. It continues to beg for supporting evidence, none has been forth coming. His statement has now been dismissed as “nonsense” by a fellow Guyanese, which to my mind intensify the need for him to issue an apology, and furthers the questioning of his academic qualifications. This man should not be teaching anyone. Now i don’t want to drag York University Canada into this, having lived in North York for sometime I am somewhat familiar with the 49 year old public higher learning institution. It’s a newbie amongst global academies, and have been a great resource to working class, and newly arrived Canadian immigrants, of which Randy Persaud is likely to have been after escaping the hell hole that Guyana is and has been for some time. I am sure that they cannot be proud of this particular alumnus’s 3rd grade behaviour.

What about that apology Randy Pee,…..I may reconsider using your letters after one is issued.

11. JC // July 30, 2008 at 12:40 pm

I can see that the DLP is going to loose many votes next five years!

I can start counting them already first one is JC!
    =================================

Well JC i am not surprise that there isn’t any will amongst the political class to do anything about this situation. I was 14 years old when i have my first experience of the mistrust that some Indo-guyanese haboured for blacks. I was the most confusing situation for me given my age and the events i experience. I have ever since spent conciderable time reading and learning about the Indo Guyanese, and what an eye opener.
    ……Pragmatism has killed Barbados, as much as a lack of unity amongst black Barbadians. The writing is on the wall, unless Barbadians are willing to vote and vote in the Bees and Dees every 5 years no matter what, and at the same time start to see independent candidates in a much different light things will never change.

12. What the people of Barbados must know is the Randy Persaud writes and acts on behalf of the PPP in Guyana. His writings are signaled by and commissioned at the behest of Guyana’s President Bharrat Jagdeo, I am told. He is their leading man in Washington, DC.

He is part of a group that believes in Indian supremacy – a band of rabid racists that runs Guyana’s government; an oppressive ethnocracy with an insidious noose around the necks of Guyanese blacks with intent to subjugate and impoverish that community. They are not only on a campaign to promote an ethnic axis but their mission is ethnic smear, marginalization and vilification of everything “black.” Hence, Persaud’s article. His contempt for Bajans is an extension of the hate mongering that is characteristic of PPP governance in Guyana.

When their racism is confronted and exposed, these people – racial supremacist, who represent the Bharrat Jagdeo administration in Guyana, including, Randy Persaud, run around the Caribbean region and the Diaspora in the US, telling media entities what should be their editorial policy and whose views should be published or not. One only has to point to President Jagdeo’s recent epigastric distress over the Antigua Broadcasting Corp and CANA News telling the truth of his disastrous meeting in Antigua. He was upset because they cast him in a negative light. Where do these chicken-heads get off with this stuff? – Only in Guyana! Where do they get off exporting their ethnic arrogance to the Caribbean? We must give them a collective denunciation and tell them to go to hell!

No one condones killings, and the murder of the two Guyanese is heinous and must be condemned. One hopes that the perpetrators will be brought to swift justice. But how could Randy Persaud smear the entire Bajan nation for two murders? His article is a subtle attack on Bajan blacks – this how these racists think. But has Randy Persaud ever expressed outraged at the murder of black Bajans? Moreso, has he ever expressed outrage at the slaughter of hundreds of young Afro-Guyana men in Guyana by verifiable death squads with ties all the way up to the top of the Guyana government?

As a Grenadian, I say to the people of Barbados, insist that the David Thompson government strongly rejects the racism of Bharrat Jagdeo and the PPP of Guyana as well as the Randy Persauds of the world!!!.

Jevon Suralie
    Grenadian

13. @ JC they can gain many as well,by just opening the flood gates again like the BLP.The problem has to be hit at the source with a comprehensive solution that will actually work with the man power & money available.

-A Constitutional amendment for Birthright citizenship through Jus sanguis

-Another constitutional amendment but for Commonwealth citizens.The would no longer have voting rights.Special exceptions can be made for permanent residents who have lived in the country before this law is passed.

-A constitutional amendment omitting Citizenship by Marriage.Instead, a uniform rule of Naturalization or Registration should be used leaving the rules of Naturalization to changed further if needed in the future.

-Entry & exit controls by fingerprinting at all airports,self explanatory lol.

-Expanding the immigration department to have more investigative teams in every parish.

-Add countries to the visa requirement list if illegal immigrants from a particular nationality is a problem,or until the country takes necessary steps in working with Barbados authorities to get the problem under control.

Anyway,I think Mr. Persaud knew he ‘jumped the gun’ but most likely will not apologize even though it was still an on-going investigation.

A UN representative is visiting Guyana let us see what their investigation brings up since it appears to be about “minority issues”.

“GEORGETOWN, Guyana – A senior official of the United Nations Human Rights Council has arrived in Guyana on a five-day visit to observe programmes being implemented by Guyana in the context of the country’s diverse ethnic population.

“One of my mandates is to visit countries around the world that have programmes in place [and] structures to address the different issues that arise because they have multi-ethnic, multi-religious, multi-linguistic societies that would create a sense of equity and ownership across all populations and groups and would celebrate the diversity that’s there,” said Independent Expert on Minorities, Gay Mc Dougall. “

14. The DLP is not responsible for the influx of these Guyanesse ,who came with the blessings of the last administration,However
    they (DLP)now have to deal with the problem.
    and clean up this sodid mess .
    I backing them all of the way.

15. @ David:
    “We are asking him to submit an apology for his most incentive [sic] letter submitted to the Guyana and other Caribbean media.”

Please correct incentive to “insensitive”…you can take this off the public blog…

16. I forgot to mention Kaieteur news is at it again.Here is there latest editorial as of today.

http://www.kaieteurnews.com/?p=3793

“Bajans’ disdain for Guyanese

A Guyanese was murdered in a bar in Barbados; the proprietrix of the bar, another Guyanese, was critically wounded by the same gunman, who robbed the bar but did not take the murdered man’s jewellery or money.

This newspaper reported that: “Relatives of the two Guyanese believe that the incident was a direct attack on the Guyanese community on the island.

(They) have almost ruled out robbery as a motive for the attack, since they are convinced that the shooting may have stemmed from (the bar-owner) Samuels’s strong advocacy for the rights of Guyanese on the island.” At this point, there have been no arrests in the murder and robbery.

Guyana’s Honorary Consul to Barbados, Mr Norman Faria, however, has weighed in on the matter and has asserted that our report was “speculative nonsense”.

He claimed, “From all the available evidence at this juncture, including from senior investigative officers of the Barbados police, this was an apparent case of a robbery gone wrong.”

Now, here is an individual who is supposed to be acting in a “diplomatic” capacity, who admits that the lone perpetrator of the crimes has not been caught and that the police can only give an “apparent” motive, yet can himself announce definitively that “anti-Guyanese” bias had no role to play in the incident. One is left to wonder at the quality of service our interests are being given in Barbados.

Whatever the facts of the matter may be in the case of the murder and wounding, it is a fact that anti-Guyanese sentiments are on the rise in Barbados.

As our land fell on hard times in the seventies, many Guyanese began to look for avenues elsewhere and prosperous Barbados was a favoured destination.

The Bajans themselves encouraged this move as they brought in hundreds of Guyanese to work in their sugar industry, when their own nationals balked. Many of these hard-working sugar workers saw opportunities in the building trades and a steady trickle of Guyanese moved in.

There was a backlash. The most glaring and widely reported one was the inhuman and discriminatory treatment meted out by Bajan immigration officers to Guyanese, not only those seeking to enter Barbados but also those merely “in-transit”.

Matters got so out of hand that officials, from our Minister of Foreign Affairs to our President, Bharrat Jagdeo, had to raise the matter at various fora. Mr Faria himself had to intercede on occasions. But all to no avail.

Within Barbados, the discriminatory anti-Guyanese sentiments are rampant. Mr Faria spoke about the “the commendable movie — ON THE MAP about migrant workers in Barbados” and warned that at its screening, “progressive and democratic forces including the left have to really get worried and decisively act; anti-foreigner sentiment and xenophobia becomes part of mainstream Barbados politics.” Two issues jump out – one of omission and one of commission.

If we had not been informed by Dr Randy Persaud that the major category of “migrant workers’ in the film were Guyanese, we may have thought that Mr. Faria’s thesis of “benign Bajans” had some merit.

As it is we can only wonder how Mr Faria can dismiss as “speculative nonsense” claims that anti-Guyanese may have something with the crimes under review.

Secondly, Mr Faria’s call on “progressive and democratic forces including the left” to act against “anti-foreigner sentiment and xenophobia” appears to imply that he accepts that Barbadian right-wing forces, who preach and practice such sentiments, are up and about their land.

In fact, Mr Faria claims that he himself has “on many occasions written radio station managements which encourage misinformed or willful inflammatory views; views which can only serve to create divisions and racial hatred among working people.”

In view of the documentary, ON THE MAP, and Mr Faria’s intervention as Guyana’s Honorary Consul, we can only assume that the said berated “working people” were in fact Guyanese.”

Barbadians have evidently forgotten that after the abolition of slavery, Guyana provided a haven for thousands of Bajans who sought a better life than the one in their homeland.

Time, according to some, moves in circles: our day in the sun will one day return. In the meantime, those who are supposed to represent our interests should do so without becoming anyone’s doormat.
    Even diplomacy does not require sycophancy.”

17. Jay i am now starting with this associate professor. I am examing everything. His status in the US, all the letters he has written etc. My next project is to pose simple questions to the American university faculty, such as “How would you respond to a report of two person shot in an attempted robbery” What are your views on a response to the report that suggest it was a hate crime and not an attempted robbery?”

18. The Kaieteure news article is pretty much telling us where they are getting their picture of Barbados from. Two guyanese, Norman Faria, and Randy Persaud. It matters not to them what our police have to say or what other Barbadians are saying, Norman and Randy knows better. In fact the article seems very dismisive and somewhat militant “our interest in Barbados”???? whatever does this mean???

The only way is going to rise if wunnuh find oil and depending on where it is found Venezuela or Suriname will lay claim to it.

Question for Kaieteure news people? If black Barbadians migrated to Guyana in the past, and Blacks and Indo Guyanese cannot get along in Guyana, why should i not be concern with Indo Guyanese coming into Barbados? Also what are your thoughts on illegal immigration?

19. Seriously now lets keep it real yall worried, maybe they will get the message and stay home after they read the columns, I would not want to go where I am not wanted

20. Do not let R Persaud fool you. The situation in Guyana is terrible for Afro-Guyanese and the same situation will soon hit the shores of Barbados. He is bias toward the Indo Guyanese population and I agree with the previous blog that he is a mouthpiece here in the US for the PPP administration. Blacks in Guyana, Keep fighting the Fight!!!!

21. Reaganomics is confused again. Maybe Reaganomics is dumb.

Indo-Guyanese are cussed in the worst way on BU. Randy Persaud is Indo-Guyanese.
    Wunna dont think he gonna get on de defensive?
    Help me to figure this out. De man writes an article that everyone says is speculative because he called it a hate crime.
    Those of you who are saying that it’s a robbery and it’s not a hate crime. Isnt that speculative too?
    Until the investigations are conclusive, everything is speculative.
    Randy is entitled to his opionion like everyone else.
    All of a sudden wunna want an apology, wanna mek de man lose he job just because he has an opinion?
    An opionion that maybe contrary?
    It’s his right to have an opinion.
    What apology what?
    This is what the cycle of hate produces.
    Hurt people, hurt people.
    Reaganomics is confused as to how people can give but cant take.

22. Black guyanese need to not stand for no more BS! I find that we Black always say leave it in the Lord’s hand!

but they forget The Lord helps those who helps themselves!

THEY WERE THERE FIRST!

why should they have to suffer under another ruler?

@Mouse and Jay I just think that this is a serious problem and I know that they have inherited a horrible mess!

However, there must be a case of sudden urgency about this issue! The more I read of these people (although I know that what was said are factual!) I cannot believe someone being so inhumane to one another!

That is why I am so frustrated!

23. Adrian Hinds wrote:

Jay i am now starting with this associate professor. I am examing everything. His status in the US, all the letters he has written etc. My next project is to pose simple questions to the American university faculty, such as “How would you respond to a report of two person shot in an attempted robbery” What are your views on a response to the report that suggest it was a hate crime and not an attempted robbery

I summarised this issue months back in this very forum and was labeled a racist. I asserted that all Indians are not racist, but that there is a cadre of influential Indians, mainly from Guyana, who nefariously fling accusations of racism at black people in order to cow us into silence over their Klu Klux Klan pattern of behaviour. And as Maxie Hinds alluded, Randy Persaud is one of the Doctor Goebels plying this trade.

Randy Persaud, in his response to your email, asserts that he he speaks up on behalf of Africans. Well the PPP regime and its janjaweed phantom militia murdered more than two hundred young black men. The bodies were turning up mutilated in the backlands, and Regime never made any effort to investigate the killings. I can post excerpts from the affidavit of the late George Bacchus, himself an Indian and former informant for the phantom squad who implicated the Indian Minister of Home Affairs, and named names of those involved. The Guyana Government never made any attempt to arrest or investigate those men. They claim they do not have evidence, but they can jail blackmen like Mark Benschop and Oliver Hinckson with far less evidence than that which abounds in the phantom killings. And Randy Persaud, this esteemed professor of humanity, have never written a word of condemnation over these unlawful killings. Don’t let him fool you.

Two Indian drug traffickers wanted by the US were afforded bail by the same judge who now is challenging Oliver Hinckson’s right to bail. One of those men he sent on bail never reported as he was supposed to.

Doctor Persaud and many others of his ilk force many black Caribbean leaders into silence over what is going on in Guyana by shouting racism. Black people are the only group in this world who allow themselves to be browbeaten by the very folks who hold prejudiced against us. Examine yourselves, your communities. Tell me if you see the kind of acceptance we give to others being reciprocated when we go into their communities. We need to stop feeling guilty for calling a spade a spade.

Africans have never had or subscribed to any historical belief system of racial superiority. We have no culture of untouchability. We need to stop allowing ourselves to be cornered by rabid racist like Persaud et al.

24. Reul Daniels

I applaud you.

Well said my friend,well said.

25. Ruel Daniels // July 31, 2008 at 8:55 pm
    I summarised this issue months back in this very forum and was labeled a racist.

I am very sorry Ruel but had no interest Randy Persaud until he became interested in a rush to judgement on Bajans and Barbados. I would concede however that your opinion on his strategy is likely to be the case. As for the “racist” label, i don’t buy into it’s modern day usage. People who don’t want to debate fairly always include name calling and issuing labels to their opponent as part of their arsenal. Anyway I am now focus on Randy persuad. I am seeking and apology from him. I am not going to beg for it or be talked out of asking for it, neither will i wait indefinitely. A couple of my associates who are looking into anything that has Randy’s name on it, agreed that we should run his many articles through an anti-plagiarism software. We do not expect to find anything given his possible tenure and associate professorship, at this level such behaviour is never tolerated in academia . We shall see.

26. I like the sound of that adrian hinds.

Please keep us up to date on your research and your other actions.

I believe right now he is probably running scared – I believe his university is going to get a nasty surprise by what they find out.

27. I have forwarded Randy Persaud’s article, my email and his response to some interested groups who have contact with the university and they have assured me that from their end pressure will be applied. The ball is in his court!!!

28. An integral part of university teaching is academic freedom, the ability to say and write what you think without fear of retaliation by your employers. What pressure are you talking about, Tony Hall?

29. @Juris

What you say is very try we won’t deny but the part you left off is that academic freedom has its root in honesty:

Honesty… depend upon the truthfulness of their colleagues: each
    of us builds our discoveries on the work of others: if that work is false,
    our constructions fall like a house of cards and we must start all over
    again. The great success of science in our time is based on honesty….

30. And what is dishonest in Dr Persaud’s reply to Tony Hall?

Juris you need to get pass the letter to Tony Hall and focus on the source of the issue i.e. the submission to the Guyana and other Caribbean media about the shooting at Bay Street being a hate crime. This accusation has subsequently been refuted by resident consul Norman Faria and also the Police Force.

Hope we clarified it for you?

31. The Guyana Police is at again.The police went into three black communities of Agricola,Mc Doom & Bagorville on the East Coast of Guyana and arrested a large number of black young men.Read today’s edition of Starbroek News.
    Isn’t that blatant victimisation with racism attached to it.
    This is the fate of our sons & grandsons in the new Barbados when the Indians are in control
    The signs are there.
    I am getting ready to run

32. So, Negroman, you’ll give up your ancestor’s patrimony without a struggle? David, I still don’t see what the fact that Dr Persaud, even if wrongfully, thinks it was a hate crime has to do with his academic bona fides. You really think the University will censure him for that? Get real!

33. Negro man // August 1, 2008 at 1:23 pm

The Guyana Police is at again.The police went into three black communities of Agricola,Mc Doom & Bagorville on the East Coast of Guyana and arrested a large number of black young men.Read today’s edition of Starbroek News.
    This is the fate of our sons & grandsons in the new Barbados when the Indians are in control
    The signs are there.

Negroman don’t be like Randy Persaud. You don’t have any proof. At any rate the Guyana Police and Defence forces are heavily staffed with Afro Guyanese. I am not going to get emotionally involve in anything that goes on in Guyana. I am however, heavily invested in keeping it out of Barbados only. I continue to think that the one thing that will bring any semblance of unity to that trouble place is the threat of a simultaneous military attack from the east and the west by Suriname and Venezuela respectively.

34. Juris // August 1, 2008 at 1:36 pm

So, Negroman, you’ll give up your ancestor’s patrimony without a struggle? David, I still don’t see what the fact that Dr Persaud, even if wrongfully, thinks it was a hate crime has to do with his academic bona fides. You really think the University will censure him for that? Get real!
    What the University will do or not do, does not concern me. I just know what i will do and continue to do until he apologizes.

35. “An integral part of university teaching is academic freedom, the ability to say and write what you think without fear of retaliation by your employers. What pressure are you talking about, Tony Hall?”

Juris,
    The ability to be factual is what is important. As the days go by you will understand what I mean by pressure. He has to apologise to Barbadians. What he sent to me was not an apology. He was trying to appease me.

36. While there are afro- guyanese in the force, most of the “black uniform” police are indians and they are heavily armed and our blue uniform police here are like priest to those guys.

37. I do not necessarily want to abandon my people and flee like the Guyanese,but after analyzing the performance of our governments both past and present.I really do not believe that we have leaders that are willing to listen to the people and act on our concerns. Listening to Chris Sinckler,Esther Byer-Suckoo.Richard Sealy,the maverick Dennis Kellman and the rest I have little or no confidence in this government ability to get it right.I will say again this government is not serious on this immigration issue especially the Guyana aspect of it.
    The rich financiers of the party have the government by its balls and it must subscribe itself to the wishes of that group.The two major political parties continue to take us the people for granted.They know that the parties really do not have to do anything for the people for the major part of their term,but just before an election the parties could come and fix a road here,put up a street light there,hold, kiss and play with our snotty babies and promise us the world and we are so gullible and stupid we believe those jokers and put our X alongside their names for them to live like kings and pander to the elite few.
    I know the importance of the vote and I know my ancestors did not had that right and therefore had to accept the oppressive governments that ruled them.I have lost confidence in all the political parties in Barbados if I am still around in Barbados I doubt very much I WILL NOT SUPPORT ANY OF THE TWO MAJOR POLITICAL PARTIES.The two parties have outlived their usefulness to Barbados.We need strong leadership and David Thompson is incapable of delivering that type of leadership.Barbados at this stage need a leader of the calibre of Chavez in Venezuela or a young Castro of Cuba.We need a leader who has courage,guts,who is ruthless and is prepare to make strong decisions even if those decisions are unpopular.I do not see David Thompson as that sort of leader.
    We have a leader that an Indian could be boasting that every weekend he carry mutton,pork and all type of foodstuff to our leader.In his party Indians are in stategic positions and some are on some important boards in Barbados and we expect this government is going to be serious about the influx of Indo-Guyanese into Barbados.
    This governement is going to be just as bad as the last one or even worst.These first 6 months are proving it is going to be so.
    Black people have little hope in Barbados toady

38. Negroman

Was it david thompson that indian man was referring to?

The indian man who said he carried beef and mutton to the political leader.

Was it david or owen?

39. I don’t think that any leader should be accepting gifts of beef, pork, mutton, chicken or fish..

Why?

Too much fat. A human body only needs only about 3 ounces of protein a day, and our leaders have all had families so small that none of them need more than 1 1/2 pounds a day of meat in their kitchens, or a maximum of 10 pounds a week.

Don’t tell me that we pay our leaders so poorly that they can’t afford to buy 2 whole chickens for $15 each when the week come. Or $30 worth of flying fish.

If they are eating more than that they (and even more dangerously their children) are eating too much protein.

Do you think that is why none of our Prime Ministers (and few of our Cabinet ministers, or high level business executives) so far have made it to 73 years? And yet every single day the Governor General goes out to poor labourers who are 100 years old?

How can it be that poor people live longer than rich people?

What is it that poor uneducated people know that rich educated people do not understand?

Something gotta be wrong.

So “NO” no politican needs to accept gifts of meat, plane rides or other such bling.

Accepting such may color the judgement of such politician, and give him heart failure before his time and most IMPORTANTLY may make him impotent before his time.

And big guts ain’t sexy you know.

40. Anonymous I am referring to our present leader David Thompson.The millionaire Indian who came to Barbados as a mango seller in Pakistan.Yes he is the one bragging that he has the cell number of David Thompson and carry the foodstuff I mentioned above.
    This government is a waste of time.

41. Negroman

I am telling you this immigration thing has not hit critical mass yet – but it is fast getting there,and believe me David thompson and richard sealy and sinckler and estwick – and all the rest will get a mighty surprise.

Don’t expect all black bajans to ever get it – because they have been raised as house niggers,but I strongly believe there is a whole lot of shaking that is going to happen.

I have heard of one or two isolated things that tell me the young people are paying particular attention – and the politicians don’t have them fooled or don’t have their ears.

Notice and you will see a certain distance being put especially between the indo guyanese and the black bajans.

Some bajans are observing,thinking and some are even talking.

If David Thompson think a collie bribing him with pork and mutton will give him the right to sell out this country then he got another thought coming – I will fight with all I got to save this country – AND I MEAN THAT!

42. Negro man // August 1, 2008 at 1:23 pm

The Guyana Police is at again.The police went into three black communities of Agricola,Mc Doom & Bagorville on the East Coast of Guyana and arrested a large number of black young men.Read today’s edition of Starbroek News.
    The signs are there.

The PPP regime has salted the armed forces with specific Indians who lead these assaults. The crime chief etc. Steve Nerai, an Indian Police Superintendent who supervise the extra-judicial killings of hundreds of black youth was cought on tape planning a drug deal. He was given increased responsibilitis in the force as a consequence. In the interview Mark Benschop and Rickford Burke gave in Brooklyn, they named some of the torturors in the police and the army. Everyone in the streets knows who they are, but people are so terrifed over PPP influenced janjaweed phantoms that they only speak in whispers. Look what has happened over the past couple of months. The sister of wanted man Fineman was murdered, not developments in the case. The owner of the mine where the eight majority black miners were tortured abd killed is receiving threats on his life and cannot sleep in the same place twice because he would not back up the official propaganda abou the killings. Randy Persaud talk about Indian Fears, but what about the fears in a community where more than 200 of their young men were kidnapped, tortured and killed by a gang led by an Indian drug trafficker who now boast about being a CRIME FIGHTER IN SUPPORT OF THE GOVERNMENT OF GUYAN. What kind of fear is resident in a community that experiences the shock of seieng the national Government refusal to carry out any investigation into these killings.

If we allow the PPP sycophants like Guyana Man, Indoguyanese et al to define thye paradigm for this debate, they will present a picture absent of those events and circumstances. You see, for these people black life do not have value. For these people just being black is criminal, so an apartheid action like randomly picking up 70 young black men is par for the course. That is the perspective from which they seek to justify something reminiscent of Soweto South Africa decades ago.

I do not believe in retaliatory violence. I denounce any actions that seeks to settle the problems of Guyana through the means of violence. In the final analysis, neither Indians or Africans are going anywhere. They have to find a way to iron out that which creates tension between them, and seek consensus on Government and social interaction. At the same time, I refuse to allow the deceitful and manipulative guilt trip strategies that are currently being employed by some Indians to silence exposure of the dictatorial and marginalization process that has become as natural as curry and pepperpot to Guyana. They are trying to silence us, while the organs of hate that they control like the numerous Guyanese blogs and the Indian controlled state owned media, continue to do to the characterization of African Guyanese what DW Griffith’s BIRTH OF NATION did to the characterization of Africans and African Americans. Again, let’s vehemently condemn all aspects of violence, assert our principled positions that violence is not an option for solving intractable inter ethnic divisions, while not allowing ourselves to be fooled by the Goebel like postulations of the Randy Persauds of this world

43. Well said Daniels! Ian Smith, Vorster, Botha and the myriad of hate mongers who propelled the South African hate machine during the apartheid years have left blue prints for the Jagdeo regime to follow, and they are not missing a beat.

Do you know that Cheddi Jagan and his wife Janet had proposed to divide the country inorder that the indians would have their own enclave? These are some of the legacies left for the likes of Jagdeo, but he has modified it to suit the times. You will never hear of the police rounding up youths in Enterprise a predominantly indian enclave, yet this is a place with more illegal weapons than you can ever imagine. I guess you should know the reason why. Bushlot on the west coast of Berbice, enmore on the east coasdt of Demerara are predominantly indian enclaves, BUT THEY CAN LIVE WITHOUT FEAR OF PURGES BECAUSE “THEIR GOVERNMENT IS IN POWER”. Ask Norman Faria about that.

44. Anonymous Negroman is with you all the way.I am willing to sacrifice everything I have to save this country.The politicians are not listening to us and we must do what we believe is right to safeguard the future of our children & grandchildren.
    We have elected a bunch of incompetent people masquerading as politicians.I do not have any confidence in this present lot to do anything meaningful with this immigration issue.The DLP is a joke party.We are doomed.
    I was in town yesterday and the amount of indo-guyanese young women I saw many with children and quite a few appear to be pregnant had me annoyed.It appears that there is an increase instead of a reduction in the number of indo-guyanese in Barbados and I believe this trend will continue.We are on the verge of being swamped by these imbeciles.This situation appers to be hopeless.Nevertheless we must continue to pluck away.
    This situation has me that I may do something that I will regret later
    Those in authority please listen to our pleas

45. […] I am charging that a group that now holds state power, or is closely connected to those who hold power in Guyana is bent on convincing black people in Guyana and the international community that they have nothing to complain about; that they never had it so good; that there is no government effort to discriminate against them; that it is their leaders who mislead them and are the cause of all the problems, especially ethnic tension and hostility…. All this as we witness a continuous assault to restrict black participation in national life by a government that all the while, studiously denies it. […]

46. David where is the article on Norma Faria had to implement damage control.I want to make a contribution on that issue.
    Has it being taken off ?

47. I read with great interest and have observed very carefully the anti-Indian sentiments been expressed on this forum. I can sense a deep seated hatred for Indians on this forum. Thirty years ago if you asked Caribbean blacks if Forbes Burnham ruled Guyana with an iron fist and made Indians second class citizen in the land of their birth, they would tell you that they are surprise to know Indians lived in Guyana. The progressive left movement knew otherwise. Guyanese living in Barbados were victims of the Burnham dictatorship; the PNC drove the people out forcefully especially African Guyanese who opposed Burnham. In many cases educated African was blacklisted – deprived of good jobs for not towing the PNC line. In some instances they were murdered – like Brother Walter Rodney!!!!
    Barbadians need to understand the racial, political and economic inequalities that existed under the Burnham regime for 28 years. This is primarily why Guyanese flocked to the shores of “sister” Caribbean countries and the same can be said to our Haitian brother and sisters. Racism is evil in all its form – Indian racism, black racism or white racism……… What I’ve observed it that no one is talking peace and racial harmony!!! Let’s get some views on the positive; racism has been with us for too long. Peace.

48. @Harry Paul

Your comment please?

Recap of the ‘Evidence’ – by the Kissoon defense team in the Jagdeo vs Kissoon Libel Case:
    The defense has presented the population statistics and the following “facts” as proof of the systemic discrimination against Afro-Guyanese and others.
    1. Heads of over 30 State Agencies are Indo-Guyanese.

2. All 43 overseas based Ambassadors are Indo-Guyanese.

3. Recipients of major Government contracts are majority Indo-Guyanese.

4. Allocations of industrial and agricultural land in key areas all given to Indo-Guyanese.

5. Major Government investments are made in sectors (i.e. sugar) dominated by Indo-Guyanese as opposed to sectors benefiting Afro-Guyanese workers (i.e. Bauxite).

6. Position of Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP), given to Indo-Guyanese (twice) over Afro-Guyanese who were qualified, experienced and Acting DPPs.

7. Refusal to allow a predominately Afro-Guyanese community (Linden) access to an alternative radio and TV stations other than the State run NCN station.

8. Cessation of Government aid to the Critchlow Labor College which provides skills training to predominately Afro-Guyanese youth.

9. Duplicity in encouraging different views of Guyanese history: To an Indo-Guyanese committee a Babu John – does not forget the ancient past with its ‘bloodshed’; To an Afro-Guyanese committee at Buxton – forget the recent past with its bloodshed.

10. Composition of all major Board of Directors for State Agencies are predominately Indo-Guyanese.

11. Position of GECOM Chairman always given to Indo-Guyanese

12. All 22 of the top positions at the Guyana Public Hospital Corp (GPHC) are filled by Indo-Guyanese.

The defense argues that in all honesty, what should any fair-minded Guyanese think?
    Here is a recap of the ‘evidence’ presented so far by the Kissoon defense team in the libel case brought by President Bharrat Jagdeo against Frederick Kissoon, a columnist at Kaieteur News.

President Jagdeo claims that the accusations of discrimination by him and his government against Afro-Guyanese were incorrect and libelous. The defense submitted a UNHR Report by Gay McDougall as an analysis that backed up Kissoon’s claims. They also listed a number of “facts” – (see list below).

At the trial they noted that in the 2002 Census the population breakdown was as follows: East Indian: 43.45%; African 30.20%; Mixed 16.73%; Amerindian 9.18% Other 0.44%.

The Census data reports that the East Indian population percentages have declined from 51.93% in the 1980 Census to 48.63% in the 1991 Census to their 43.45% in 2002. It is expected that the 2012 census would reflect further declines due mostly to emigration. In that same period, African percentages have been stable (30-32%); the Mixed population grew from 11.16% to 16.73% and Amerindians almost doubled from 5.3% to 9.12%.

49. @BU.David et al…

Just putting this out there for consideration…

Have you all not noticed that when you visit bajan.wordpress.com, the title in your browser has not been set?

@BU.David. Are you asleep at the wheel?