Gay Lovers

In contrast to earlier times, our state now recognizes that an individual’s capacity to establish a loving and long-term committed relationship with another person and responsibly to care for and raise children does not depend upon the individual’s sexual orientation,” George wrote for the majority in ringing language that delighted gay rights activists.

Source: MSNBC

It seems appropriate on the eve of the Gospelfest Show that we should revisit one of the most vexing issues which has emerged in modern society. The issue of homosexuality will predictably evoke a flurry of comments which will seek to label the Barbados Underground household as homophobic. By now it should be evident that the BU household is firmly moored to a traditional set of values which has served our household well. The unwillingness of Barbadians to be proactive in structuring the kind of society which it wishes to adopt on a moral front is disappointing and regrettable.

It was note worthy to listen to Prime Minister Bruce Golding of Jamaica addressing boldly the issue of homosexuality in his cabinet, as he appeared on the BBC show HARDtalk. He stated in unequivocal terms that it is not his intention to include homosexuals in his cabinet. Despite being grilled by the HARDtalk host he remained resolute that the culture of Jamaica supported his decision. Interesting indeed!

The position articulated by Prime Minister Golding of Jamaica contrasts starkly with that of Barbados. Does anyone remember the call-in show which was aired before the last general election on VOB – January 06, 2008 which featured the current Minister of Family, Youth Affairs, Sport & Environment and the Reverend Joseph Atherley? BU was very critical of the position taken then by both candidates on the weak position presented on how either party intended to pursue the issue of homosexuality on attaining office.

Some members of the BU household have resigned themselves to the fact that the homosexual movement has become and unrelenting force.

Many Barbadians still respect their culture which disagrees with the homosexual lifestyle and would not want that lifestyle to become prevalent. When the David Thompson government was sworn in earlier in the year many Barbadians were heartened by the involvement of the Church at the ceremony. Maybe we are wrong but we suspect certain expectations were peaked. There was a feeling of hope that the declining values and morals which is evident in modern Barbados were about to be arrested. To her credit Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo has been Prime Minister Thompson’s most visible minister, the uncertainty which she exhibited on the issue of homosexuality back in January confirms to BU she was uncomfortable in her skin on the issue. We suspect that her public offering on how her government intended to manage the homosexual issue was driven by a desire to be politically expedient.

Barbados is a small country which is rapidly being subsumed by a multi-ethnic population. Unfortunately certain core values which have guided our society very well through the years are being diluted. We appreciate that we have to respect the sexual orientation of all of our people. However, there is nothing to say we have to agree with it. We may appreciate in the so-call free world market the need for Barbados to operate in a common economic space. What we don’t appreciate is the willingness by Barbados to prostitute its value system for thirty pieces of silver.

Label BU whatever you want, if it means that we have to accept one more label, so be it. Our conscience shall be our guide!

156 responses to “Homosexual Agenda Gaining Ground In Barbados”

1. Sad sad sad sad… BU illustrates why I am not Christian and aslo why I am not religious. The level of ignorance, pure hate , insecurity and just plain silliness ( Adrian Hinds) on here is ridiculous.

Bruce Golding has hurt his country by making those harsh and uncalled for statements TO AN INTERNATIONAL AUDIENCE.

Barbados and Jamaica are part of the world, they cant exist by themselves.

And as I have said sevral times before Homosexuals were here before all of you, they are here now and they will be here when y’all dead and gone so chill …. more later

Sad sad sad!

2. David // May 23, 2008 at 5:58 am

Bimbro old boy!

We hear your feedback. Often times BU will use a picture to send a message in a way text can’t. If we offended anyone it was not deliberate just our way of using different approaches to communicate.

Ok David, I don’t plan to protrate the discussion but I think more regard for your readers’ point of view, on this occasion, would n’t go amiss plus, I’d be able to keep down my breakfast!

3. sorry folks, ‘protract’ the discussion!

4. me // May 23, 2008 at 10:26 am

Sad sad sad sad… BU illustrates why I am not Christian and also why I am not religious. The level of ignorance, pure hate , insecurity and just plain silliness ( Adrian Hinds) on here is ridiculous.

Bruce Golding has hurt his country by making those harsh and uncalled for statements TO AN INTERNATIONAL AUDIENCE.

Barbados and Jamaica are part of the world, they cant exist by themselves.

And as I have said several times before Homosexuals were here before all of you, they are here now and they will be here when y’all dead and gone so chill …. more later

Sad sad sad!
    =================================

You seem to know me, Do i know you? can you spare me the emotional labeling and give me some insight into how you arrived at your opinion, that i am christian, religious, silly, insecure, and Hateful? Yuh know you don’t have to be anti Christian or be non-religious because of this. They are many churches today that do not make demands of their congregants that you may feel welcome in. At any rate whether religious or secular, you still believe in something. What are your thoughts on Global warming? are you green?

5. sorry, that Anon above is me. 😀

6. Anonymous // May 23, 2008 at 9:39 am

I am for RIGHTS…..for everyone…that means if a man loves another man, or a lady loves another lady….then so be it….give them the same rights as the man that loves the lady…..and treat them with respect…respect eveyone…what gives yout he right to disrespect…what if the tables were turned…..it is the same thing with race….natonality…..fat vs fine……short vs tall…..and so on…yuou get the jist of my rights and respect post here. BYE It is Friday. YEAH
    ===============================
    Everyone Anon? The polygamist should have his way of life protected in law? what about the Man boy lovers? or Adult/ pre-teen relationships, or those who may have develop a relationship with their pet, how about those who may engage in Bestiality? These are all individually someone who are part of this everyone grouping,.. right?

7. West Indians, as a whole, are victimised because of the strongly, oppossed attitude of Jamaicans towards homosexuality especially, abroad! But, I’m not so stupid as to dare criticise the ‘wonderful’, Jamaicans on any of these boards, again! As I’ve indicated before, Barbadians prefer to dwell in ‘the bliss of ignorance’!

8. Brother, Isn’t the topic here about gay rights? You changing the essence of the topic at hand by adding in what Jamaicans think, (I don’t care what Jamaicans think) this is a Barbadian blog, polygamy, etc, etc, etc

9. Bimbro // May 23, 2008 at 11:05 am

West Indians, as a whole, are victimised because of the strongly, oppossed attitude of Jamaicans towards homosexuality especially, abroad! ignorance’!

If this is so, and i don’t believe it is, you think this is right? While many will often remind Christians of the biblical concepts of unconditional love, “Judging” “punishment” “forgiveness” etc some of these alleged marginalize groups go after opponents to their way of life with a vengeance strip of any possibility of forgiveness.

10. I dont know you Mr Hinds but I feel sorry for anyon that walks around with so much hate and intolernace against another group of human beings. I dont hate christians/ religious people. I respcet them and I expect them to respect me also. We are all part of the world and we can ( and do)all make important contributions to our communities wthere we are christian, athiest , homosexual or hetero sexual. We should all be treated equally.

christianity is not the only religion in Barbados and it is not the only way of thinking!

Bruce Golding was pandering to the irnortnt majority in Jamaica just like BU is pandering to the ignorant on here…

Some of Y’all claim to abhor homosexuality but do any of you know a homosexual … if so is this particular homosexual that you claim to know representative of the entire homosexual community… and waht does he/or she do other than being homosexual? Does this person have family, do they eat sleep drink water, pay taxes, get injured , what… oR are they only HOMOSEXUAL???

11. The Devils Advocate Avatar
    The Devils Advocate

Banned from BFP

The Devils Advocate
    Homosexuality like dwarfism, albinism is a natural phenomenon, even occurring in rats, mice, cats and dogs… Bro’
    ———————————————————–
    Homosexuality may be a ‘natural’ phenomenon but unlike dwarfism, albinism, you can choose to be heterosexual or homosexual. Homosexuality in the wild is NEVER permanent, it is usually experimental….. with the animal going on to form normal heterosexual unions …….why can’t humans seem to do the same?

12. And just like I wouldnt use Suicide bombing to be representative of all Arabs, or the Holocaust to be representative of all Germans why would you use extremes of sexual /romantic practice to representative of homosexual ORIENTATION? very disengenuous and representative of ignornace and homophobia…

The facts remain thet there have been homosexuals in the Cabinets of all Caribbena countries. There are homosexual currently in these cabinets and they probably always will be….

Children have been raised by homosexuals before and do so now…

Gays/homosexuals have entered in to long term committed relationships before and do so now

The only difference now is that they are speaking up and that is what some of you find frightening… that they would want to be tretaed as equal to you…

13. me // May 23, 2008 at 11:28 am

I dont know you Mr Hinds but I feel sorry for anyon that walks around with so much hate and intolernace against another group of human beings. I dont hate christians/ religious people. I respcet them and I expect them to respect me also.

This is your second post and you still have not attempted to extend me a little courtesy by answering my questions. May you have decided that i don’t deserve an answer, please don’t be like this. It may make you appear to be intolerant. 😀 Again how have you arrived “by anything i have said so far in this thread” that i am hatefull, insecure, intolterant, etc.. Are you going to let me suffer or don’t you think the humane thing to do is to point out my failings thereby giving me an opportunity to redirect? Show me the errors of my ways as contained in my statements. Please!

14. MR Hinds the decriptions were applied to several of the responders not just you but clearly you feel singled out. I wonder why? Could it be that everytime there is a discussion on homsexuality you seem to appear as if fighting against homosexuals is your raison d’etre! Clearly a homosexual or hmomsexuals have hurt you greatly which would explain why you spend os much energy hating them ? Or maybe you have homosexula leanings? Whatever the case get some help!

15. ME wrote on // May 23, 2008 at 12:42 pm

MR Hinds the decriptions were applied to several of the responders not just you but clearly you feel singled out.
    ================================
    …..am, ME!… ONLY TWO HOURS AGO YOU WROTE THE FOLLOWING…..
    ————————
    me // May 23, 2008 at 10:26 am

Sad sad sad sad… BU illustrates why I am not Christian and aslo why I am not religious. The level of ignorance, pure hate , insecurity and just plain silliness ( Adrian Hinds) on here is ridiculous.
    ——————————–

Did i misunderstood you that i was not singled out? May be i am just too sensitive. 😀

……But this is your THIRD post and you have hidden behind the cover of assumptions about my actions in this thread and once again accuse me of “hating” without providing anything i have said so far to support your assertion.

16. Me I have to agree with Adrian Hinds on this one. Nobody aint saying that there might not have homosexuals in their country. But oh lord man dont ram it down we throat.

Look wah happen to Itiba, I was so sorry for him oops sorry her.

I knew Itiba personally, and I liked her/him too. but i never condoned his/her behaivour.

Do ya thing but dont try to cram it down on our throat.

I never thouhgt that a day would come when people would have a discussion about this thing.
    I dont think you want to sweep it under the carpet I just think that bajans are very tolerant about every thing (blasted idiots).

That is why we would have ghanians, jamaicans, homosexulians any and every body telling we what is right from wrong.

17. To speak out against the Guyanese, you are racist while all we are doing is protecting our borders…speak out against homosexuality and you are homophobic even though you are protecting your beliefs.
    EVERYTHING IN LIFE HAS CONSEQUENCES FOR OUR ACTIONS.
    If gays want to be gay ,then go ahead but remember that they will always be others who dont share this view point.

18. Who is ramming something down your throat…

No one is asking you to like homosexuality! No one is asking you to like Guyanese or any other human being! No one is asking you to chnage your religious interpretation. In fact if you would like to see Barbados remain in the exact form as it was in the 40’s 50’s and 60’s then go right ahead. I just dont get why two consenting adults having intimate relations in their bedroom affects you so much. I dont get how ‘christian ‘ people can rationalize making other humans 2nd and 3rd class citizens. I dont get how some of us CANT recognise that they are being selective in their interpretation of the bible and how they apply to life Today .

19. me // May 23, 2008 at 2:33 pm

Who is ramming something down your throat…

No one is asking you to like homosexuality! No one is asking you to like Guyanese or any other human being! No one is asking you to chnage your religious interpretation. In fact if you would like to see Barbados remain in the exact form as it was in the 40’s 50’s and 60’s then go right ahead. I just dont get why two consenting adults having intimate relations in their bedroom affects you so much. I dont get how ‘christian ‘ people can rationalize making other humans 2nd and 3rd class citizens. I dont get how some of us CANT recognise that they are being selective in their interpretation of the bible and how they apply to life Today

Have you read all the comments here? Indeed have read your own, they are very inconsistent.

Again the Gay debate has moved on from legal recognition of same sex partners, it has move on beyond the privacy concern and the Bedroom. It is now in your face and public shaming if you dare to object to their force acceptance agenda.

BU I am moderation again.

20. Adrian Hinds // May 23, 2008 at 1:38 pm

ME wrote on // May 23, 2008 at 12:42 pm

MR Hinds the decriptions were applied to several of the responders not just you but clearly you feel singled out.
    ————————

Sad sad sad sad… BU illustrates why I am not Christian and aslo why I am not religious. The level of ignorance, pure hate , insecurity and just plain silliness ( Adrian Hinds) on here is ridiculous.
    ——————————–

Did i misunderstood you that i was not singled out? May be i am just too sensitive.

……But this is your THIRD post and you have hidden behind the cover of assumptions about my actions in this thread and once again accuse me of “hating” without providing anything i have said so far to support your assertion.

21. ME wrote on // May 23, 2008 at 12:42 pm

————————

22. Anonymous // May 23, 2008 at 11:17 am

Brother, Isn’t the topic here about gay rights? You changing the essence of the topic at hand by adding in what Jamaicans think, (I don’t care what Jamaicans think) this is a Barbadian blog, polygamy, etc, etc, etc

Bro, don’t be silly. Somebody referred earlier, to the speech by the Jamaican PM, about homosexuals! Normally, I could n’t care less what they think either, but the fact is that what they say and do has consequences for us, as well!

If this is so, and i don’t believe it is, you think this is right?

Of course it’s not right, Adrian but it happens. I’ve been a victim myself, so I should know! You should try living and working in the UK for a while! That’s why u find some of my remarks so incredulous – because u don’t have my experience of life, over here!

This is your second post and you still have not attempted to extend me a little courtesy by answering my questions. May you have decided that i don’t deserve an answer, please don’t be like this. It may make you appear to be intolerant.

Adrian, this made me smile when I saw it by you, because on more than one occasion I have addressed a number of questions to you directly and you have completely, ignored them. Amazingly, I suppose it’s just possible u may not have noticed them but they were in a prominent position in the thread so I can’t see why you should n’t have. I think that Barbadians, on the whole, have a major problem with manners. I glad as rass I doan live day!!!!

23. […] With few exceptions there is not much that we won’t discuss on our blogs, but we each have our interests and causes and I don’t think that we have written much about homosexuality one way or the other at BFP. That is because we have other subjects on our radar, but we feel compelled to say something now because of David’s last article of many on the subject Homosexual Agenda Gaining Ground In Barbados. […]

24. […] Underground, describing homosexuality as a “vexing issue”, suggested that “the homosexual movement has become an unrelenting force”, and […]

25. All right Bimbro. Sorry about that, it was not intentional. If you like, put all the questions have ask me and that i have not answered, together in an email and i will endevour to devout the time to reply. Adrianhinds0@gmail.com or aohinds@verizon.net

26. I am utterly surprised at Adrian’s responses considering that he has said, he was in the USA army, college educated, and well traveled…..so I would have expected very different responses from him.

27. Silliness was applied to you specifically … but the others could also apply …any way I have said my piece… I think BFP’s analysis is spot on. And I msut say that is is frustrating to see intelligent people taking lines or sides which suggest that they are not capable of profound thought, analysis. It is easy to say Gay ‘ agenda’… it is also easy to call anal sex nasty , sodom and gommorah etc but I would hope when contemplating whether gays should be tretaed fairly or not that more deep analysis would be forthcoming!

28. Anonymous // May 23, 2008 at 4:07 pm

I am utterly surprised at Adrian’s responses considering that he has said, he was in the USA army, college educated, and well traveled…..so I would have expected very different responses from him.

Why is this ANON? The army when i signed up under Bill Clinton in 1993 had inacted his “Don’t ask don’t tell policy, trust me no one told me of their sexaul orientation, and i certainly did not ask. College indoctrination and social reconstruction 101 does not work on everyone. One does what one has to do to navigate the traps and maze of ensnearment or redicule that exemplifies post 1960 liberal academia. I traveled primarily for work and even on the fewer times i did so on a personal level how would these associations and practices in on themselves have resulted in “different” responses from me????
    …. what exactly are you taking issue with in my statements? being “Utterly surprise” doesn’t shed much light.

29. It is our view that Barbadians have a preference to avoid any debate which will create conflict. It is our passive nature which is an endearing characteristic but one which may not be appropriate in the hurly burly of a global economy. The fact that that homosexual debate is a hot topic around the world is being overlooked by some. The fact that the immigration issue is equally on the front burner of many countries not least the USA. Just listen to CNN Lou Dobbs any day of the week.

We have admitted that the BU household abhor the homosexual lifestyle in the same way we abhor other human behaviours. We accept these these are two issues which will always evoke rabid emotion and this explains some comments on the blog which we agree are extreme and inappropriate. Having made the admission we think it is important for Barbadians to be exposed to extreme views which can be used to provoke the understanding that as a country we need to manage public debate on the two issues. Up to now we have had little help from mainstream media.

We predict and we hope we are wrong when we will be forced to debate both issues, and very soon! Certainly homosexuality will surface when the next general election comes around and the continues influx of immigrants in the uncontrolled environment which currently exist will bring this matter to a head soon as well. Don’ t forget a plane load of Ghanaians waltz into Barbados with all the ease in the world. We hear a few of them are still somewhere in Barbados.

Why do we want to wait until the crap hit the fan? In Guyana, S. Africa , UK and several countries they have established ‘race relations boards’ to manage their multi-ethic environment because of the inevitable tensions which will exist. The homosexual agenda is one which exist and which is pursued by people in high places.

In Barbados we will have to decide what society we want and not what international conventions say should exist.

30. me // May 23, 2008 at 4:38 pm

Silliness was applied to you specifically … but the others could also apply …any way I have said my piece… I think BFP’s analysis is spot on. And I msut say that is is frustrating to see intelligent people taking lines or sides which suggest that they are not capable of profound thought, analysis. It is easy to say Gay ‘ agenda’… it is also easy to call anal sex nasty , sodom and gommorah etc but I would hope when contemplating whether gays should be tretaed fairly or not that more deep analysis would be forthcoming!
    Silly or Intelligent, I certainly cannot belong to both camps. I know i am not intelligent for i have failed liberalism 101, so call me silly. ha ha ha ha. I treat everyone with the same level of fairness and respect. Really ask anyone who has interacted with me. 😀 even person who i know cannot stand me, and that thinks that i a dumb or stupid.

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

As we grew up in Barbados we all knew they were “bullers” and “wickers” as we call them.

In some cases, some of these persons were identified. But they troubled no one. They probably dont trouble anyone at home even now.

But the issue in the contemporary cosmos diabolicus (Adrian thats what John in 1 JOhn 3:15 refers to as the world) or the world system is that these persons are in high places and seek to control the mores of others.

It is therefore needful to discuss the issue from this viewpoint. In California, they have just changed the law so ADAM & STEVE can be married.

One NH gay bishop caused a great fracas in the church.

I guess society is willing to let the bullers bull, BUT THEY DO NOT WANT THEM TO BE BULLISH as they are seeking to do.

32. “In Barbados we will have to decide what society we want and not what international conventions say should exist.” Agreed to some extenet excepet that clearly we are heavily influeneced by the international and will continue to do so unless we halt access to information and education. Thankfully not all Bajans living in Barbados are as backward thinking as you appear to be and recognise that some international conventions such as human rights for ALL including homosexuals should be part of a new Barbados. Some also recognise that dehumanizing other human beings such as the Guyanese, the ghanains, the chinese is unacceptable for a civilized modren society!

33. me call us what you want we are use to carrying the labels. A little feedback to your last comment is that we have never believed that homosexuality is a human rights issue.

34. You need to unpack why you think so … you are in a position to educate instead of simply repeating your traditional family values rhetoric ( that simply is not enough in modern day barbados). Unless there is a revolution I dont see ‘us ‘ buying that stance. What are these traditional family values you sepak to highly of that negate the granting of equal human rights to homosexuals in Barbados. Are you saying that our laws should only reflect a christian stance and on what basis? How have we as a people ever actually stayed true to those christian values you speak of? And if these values ( culture) are so strong why are you so worried should the homosexul ‘agenda’ worry you so much ?

is your sexual orentation so fragile that seeing more of the photos above would take you over the edge?

the world is ever changing and I for one believe in trying to adapt!

forgive the typos Im rushing out of the office ….

35. Well David if you deny fundamental rights to certain sectors then it becomes a human rights issue….so since they can’t marry and have the rights of the married heterosexuals then it is a human rights issue…. I believe the international conventions state human rights for all including gay people. I had a professor at UG in 1970 tell me the Bible was a $2.00 book of myth..she was an English prof, and I was so upset then, but now I can se it is a book of myth…I don’t know about the $2.00 part though

Hi ME, Have a nice weekend, and yes I am behind you 100%. You are so enlightened, oh it is like a breath of fresh air to see you here. Have a nice weekend and don’t rush too much as I don’t want anything to happen to you. Bye

36. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

Interesting thread. A few points I’d like to add:

1. What nobody’s really mentioned so far is how prevalent homophobia is in all black cultures/societies. Sure, whites are homophobic too (especially right-wing Christians), but it’s far more prevalent among us blacks, it seems to me.

What’s the history behind this? Is it a legacy of slavery (one poster did allude to this above), or has it always been the case in sub-Saharan African culture(s)? I don’t know, and would like some information on this.

2. The very many (male) “bisexuals” in Bim that the poster talked about above are often, I suspect, wholly gay and would love to be openly so. It’s just that they have to be on the downlow for fear of ridicule/persectution/ostracism.

My wife and I worked for three years as counsellors for terminally-ill AIDS patients at the QEH (hope this doesn’t give away my identity!), and you would be astonished at the number of apparently wholly straight men who, towards the end of their lives, would finally admit that they had had either occasional or regular homosexual relationships.
    Often these same men had been wildly promiscuous with women.
    The psychiatric term for this sort of behaviour is “overcompensation”.

37. Adrian, you’re exasperating, today. I should n’t need to put them in an email. A little time and effort by you, simply by clicking or scrolling will find the texts! Try the ‘Clive Lloyd’ discussion and we’ll forget the others!

David // May 23, 2008 at 4:53 pm

It is our view that Barbadians have a preference to avoid any debate which will create conflict.

David, it is my view, as an outsider and potential, Returnee, that Bajans consider they know it all and are intolerant of debate and anybody who dares to express an opposing view, they wish to scythe! I think they have a basic, problem with their wiring!

Adrian, I’m sure you’re no dumber or stupid than any other Bajan, so please stop apologising to that prat!

Georgie Porgie, you’re so right! My prevailing image of Barbadians is one of complacency! I’m convinced that one day, they’ll wake up to find that Bim is n’t theirs, anymore!

38. David I am curious as to what you mean by the homosexual life style.

Do you mean sleeping men with men, or women with women ?

Or do you mean something else, like the gay sub culture that often seems to be associated with homosexuals.

39. Bitter we try to avoid cornering an issue like this is some old definition. We believe that any citizen should have the right to declare if they like something or not. We do not believe that because we dislike the homosexual behaviour that we are homophobic. If we allow our dislike of the behaviour to make us become violent against homosexuals then we would plead guilty that we are homophobic. For example we have seen many acts of homophobia in Jamaica.

BU also believes that we are speaking for thousands of Barbadians who abhor the lifestyle. If we want to move towards a truce, solution, win-win, call it what you want we have to debate the issue. If the traditional media continue to cower on this issue by using the cowardly argument that they must be careful not to incite the people them we will see our chickens coming home to roost soon.

We think it hypocritical that the traditional media would seek to filter news on the issues of immigration and homosexuality but in all other areas of journalism they remain passive.

40. Living in Barbados blog has as usual an interesting perspective to bring about Prime Minister Bruce Goldings preference not to have homosexuals in his cabinet.

41. Imagine if we adopted Bruce Goldings specific stance here… No gays in Cabinet!

Imagine on the othe hand if we had the level of violence against homosexuals that occurs in Jamaica…

Imagine if our level of ignorance and undereducation was on par with that country and the associated crime and violence…

Do you still think that making statemnets against a group of people is the right way forward? In my opinion it just gives those prone to violence, victimisation against gays a greater sence of entitlement!

42. Please allow me to say that you are homophobic because you dislike the behaviour. The ignorance about this subject on this blog is cause for justifiable alarm because from what I have read here most of you are just a stone’s throw from targeting gay people in Babados with violence. The gay agenda in Barbados should not be ignored or pushed to the back burner, so to speak…you need to form a task force from both the straight and gay communities to address the issues of the gay community. These are sons and daughters, uncles and aunts, and in some instances Mummy and Daddy and so it imperative that they too are protected and treated with respect and dignity. This begs me to ask you this question…of why would anyone choose a homesexual lifestyle when taking into consideration the stigma that this lifestyle carries with it in most societies. Stabroek News in Guyana carried a letter to editor recently about this same topic. A letter from Sigmund Freud was included, and Dr. Freud said that homosexuality was just a different way that some people enjoyed sex. I agree.

43. We have an organisation in my country Guyana that is geared to the needs of the Gay and Lesbian community. Please visit their website at http://www.sasod.org.gy for information and events. June kicks off the annual Gay, Lesbian and Transgender Film festival in Georgetown. Please vist website for specific dates, venue and time. Lest us celebrate all of our people.

44. Having read the submissions, I just want to make a few points. Homosexuality is the sexual attraction of a person tgo someone of the same sex. Now this in itself cannot be dirty; where I think the confusion comes is with the act of buggery, by men.

Of course this is an unnatural act, but it is a common practice by heterosexual men on women, so it cannot be the act itself that is considered dirty by the same ‘straight’ men. I guess it has to do with the fact that it is perpretrated on another man.

That brings me to another point, sexual acts by prisoners – now we know that most of these guys when they are on the outside are the most homophobic people you can meet, and would commit a serious felony on anyone who would approach them about perfoming a homosexual act. However, when confined for some time and deprived of female company, they find their cell mates very attractive. I think this is only a temporary state and are not really homosexuals, but are looking for some measure of sexual release, and will take almost any outlet – e.g any port in a storm.

I draw a comparison with man’s survival instinct – if you ask any of us now, would we eat another human being, the answer would most likely be one of revulsion, but if we were in a desparate situation like the plane crash victims in the mountains of Peru or the citizens of Leningrad who were surrounded by the Germans for 1,000 days in WW2, we may have a different perspective.

I do not want to moralize about homosexuality, I think it is an individual thing, and if cionducted among consenting adults, who are we to throw the first stone?

45. David, I c you’re intent on making me peuke again dis morning, wid dat picture!

‘Thanks’, very much!

46. Here’s a label for you: Nazi.

How did the holocaust happen? By de-humanising the Jews. By treating them as less than you, sub-normal, sub-human. By de-humanising you can treat them as animals.

And you people call yourselves ‘Christians’. Utter, utter fundamentalist hypocrites.

“you are homophobic even though you are protecting your beliefs.”

You know whites used to believe in Slavery. Are you a complete hypocrite, or do you want to become a slave again?

47. Most “reasonable people” would accept that it is “possible” for human beings of the same sex, to be sexually attracted to each other.

The question can then be asked, is it normal behaviour? I am not sure it is. On the basis that over mans normal reproductive design; it plays no part.

I am not suggesting that homosexuals should not be treated with respect and dignity, as others in society. Without exception they should.

A commenter here said, buggery – between homosexuals – creates problems of acceptance in the hetrosexual community. He went on to add it is a “practice common” among hetrosexual males and females. Therefore he cannot see the problem.

I obviously cannot speak for others, but it certainly it is not common enough to have reached my household.

Homosexuals often make the argument that hetrosexuals who comment – not to their liking – on homosexual behaviour, are insecure, or unsure of their sexuality. I find this line of reasoning difficult to follow, as there is no scientific basis for it.

Please don’t direct me to internet sites with their own agenda, and selected information to match.

Most rational people accept that there has been homosexuals around for a long time. There will also be here as long as men and women walk the earth.

However, you cannot bludgeon people into accepting any kind of practice or behaviour. You can encourage citizens to accord homosexuals respect. That is the proper thing to do. Their human rights should also have the prime consideration given to other citizens.

There is really no reason for name calling or trying to denigrate others simply because of non-acceptance of a certain life style.

That is about it.

48. Most “reasonable people” would accept that it is “possible” for human beings of the same sex, to be sexually attracted to each other.

The question can then be asked, is it normal behaviour? I am not sure it is. On the basis that over mans normal reproductive design; it plays no part.
    (What is normal? What is normal Human behaviour? Are heterosexual couples who are incapable of conceiving or unwilling to conceive normal or abnormal? Are all human being meant to reproduce? Did SIMON say so? Is sex SOLELY for reproduction? Is vaginal intercourse the only acceptable form of sexual inetarction between humans? WHO determines that this is so?)

( we here in BIM have always had known homosexuals here who were well loved … like I said earlier being homosexual was/ is ok once you know your place which is 2nd or 3rd class citizen…do hair, act, make dresses sleep wid the bisexuals but keep everything quiet and dont expect RESPECT but it is a different era now)

I am not suggesting that homosexuals should not be treated with respect and dignity, as others in society. Without exception they should.

(AGREED!)

A commenter here said, buggery – between homosexuals – creates problems of acceptance in the hetrosexual community. He went on to add it is a “practice common” among hetrosexual males and females. Therefore he cannot see the problem.

I obviously cannot speak for others, but it certainly it is not common enough to have reached my household. (GOOD for YOU once you are fulfilled, but YOU ARE NOT The entire Barbados and as you said you cant speak for everyone!)

Homosexuals often make the argument that hetrosexuals who comment – not to their liking – on homosexual behaviour, are insecure, or unsure of their sexuality. I find this line of reasoning difficult to follow, as there is no scientific basis for it.
    (Well if there isnt why does homosexual behaviour bother them so… in psychological circles it is an accepted tenet that people tend to hate the traits in others that they see( and hate) in themselves)

Please don’t direct me to internet sites with their own agenda, and selected information to match.
    ( Just like there is homophobic sites with their own anti homosexual agenda such as this one. Why would BU post photos of nude men being intimate on a site where he knows that this will eleicit a particular an predominately negative response from his audience? As if Gay men are ONLY HOMOSEXUAL and not complete human beings with other aspects.)

Most rational people accept that there has been homosexuals around for a long time. There will also be here as long as men and women walk the earth. ( OF COURSE and they exist even in the most primitive societies here on Earth)

However, you cannot bludgeon people into accepting any kind of practice or behaviour. You can encourage citizens to accord homosexuals respect. That is the proper thing to do. Their human rights should also have the prime consideration given to other citizens. ( Who is blugeoning anyone…DAVID made specific claims and anti-gay statmenets in his article and gave KUDOS to a PM (Golding) who was essentially encouraging further violence against assumed homosexuals in his highly violent country. A country where suspected homosexuals are BLUDGEONED, stabbed and killed at an inordinately high rate. )

No one can force anyone to adopt human rights But on the world stage where homosexuals are on the boards of the multinational conglomerates and lending bodies I dont see how we can expect them to look on us with favour. Golding is not helping his country with his homophobic tirade !

There is really no reason for name calling or trying to denigrate others simply because of non-acceptance of a certain life style.

(No one has to accept the homosexual lifestyle since I am sure homosexuals would prefer to hang out with people who like them . Mutual respect and consideration as well as the understanding that gays are human too and should be treated exactly so. Homosexual is an ORIENTATION not a lifestyle . )

That is about it.
    ( KUDOS)

49. […] Underground, descrivendo l'omosessualità come un “argomento irritante”, ha suggerito che “il movimento omosessuale è diventato una forza implacabile”, e ha […]

50. me thanks for you comment. Look we don’t like the homosexual lifestyle whatever that is but it does not mean we are saying ‘bun dem’. By your own admission Barbadians have been quite willing to ‘tolerate’ homosexuals provided they stay away from mainstream life. Ok we accept that this is true.

You opined that Barbados and the world is changing and by implication we have to accept with OPEN arms the gay lobby which is being foisted on us. Absolutely not we don’t have to accept it. Maybe we can negotiate but not accept hook line and sinker

BU intend to put this issue from time to time on the front burner because as a country we need to address it and respond to it proactively. We are giving Minister Suckoo a chance to settle. We suspect she has a view and the country deserves to hear it. Barbados can be a model for the world to study. We have been there and done that in the past.