Gay Lovers

In contrast to earlier times, our state now recognizes that an individual’s capacity to establish a loving and long-term committed relationship with another person and responsibly to care for and raise children does not depend upon the individual’s sexual orientation,” George wrote for the majority in ringing language that delighted gay rights activists.

Source: MSNBC

It seems appropriate on the eve of the Gospelfest Show that we should revisit one of the most vexing issues which has emerged in modern society. The issue of homosexuality will predictably evoke a flurry of comments which will seek to label the Barbados Underground household as homophobic. By now it should be evident that the BU household is firmly moored to a traditional set of values which has served our household well. The unwillingness of Barbadians to be proactive in structuring the kind of society which it wishes to adopt on a moral front is disappointing and regrettable.

It was note worthy to listen to Prime Minister Bruce Golding of Jamaica addressing boldly the issue of homosexuality in his cabinet, as he appeared on the BBC show HARDtalk. He stated in unequivocal terms that it is not his intention to include homosexuals in his cabinet. Despite being grilled by the HARDtalk host he remained resolute that the culture of Jamaica supported his decision. Interesting indeed!

The position articulated by Prime Minister Golding of Jamaica contrasts starkly with that of Barbados. Does anyone remember the call-in show which was aired before the last general election on VOB – January 06, 2008 which featured the current Minister of Family, Youth Affairs, Sport & Environment and the Reverend Joseph Atherley? BU was very critical of the position taken then by both candidates on the weak position presented on how either party intended to pursue the issue of homosexuality on attaining office.

Some members of the BU household have resigned themselves to the fact that the homosexual movement has become and unrelenting force.

Many Barbadians still respect their culture which disagrees with the homosexual lifestyle and would not want that lifestyle to become prevalent. When the David Thompson government was sworn in earlier in the year many Barbadians were heartened by the involvement of the Church at the ceremony. Maybe we are wrong but we suspect certain expectations were peaked. There was a feeling of hope that the declining values and morals which is evident in modern Barbados were about to be arrested. To her credit Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo has been Prime Minister Thompson’s most visible minister, the uncertainty which she exhibited on the issue of homosexuality back in January confirms to BU she was uncomfortable in her skin on the issue. We suspect that her public offering on how her government intended to manage the homosexual issue was driven by a desire to be politically expedient.

Barbados is a small country which is rapidly being subsumed by a multi-ethnic population. Unfortunately certain core values which have guided our society very well through the years are being diluted. We appreciate that we have to respect the sexual orientation of all of our people. However, there is nothing to say we have to agree with it. We may appreciate in the so-call free world market the need for Barbados to operate in a common economic space. What we don’t appreciate is the willingness by Barbados to prostitute its value system for thirty pieces of silver.

Label BU whatever you want, if it means that we have to accept one more label, so be it. Our conscience shall be our guide!

156 responses to “Homosexual Agenda Gaining Ground In Barbados”

1. […] latestnewsheadlines wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt In contrast to earlier times, our state now recognizes that an individual’s capacity to establish a loving and long-term committed relationship with another person and responsibly to care for and raise children does not depend upon the individual’s sexual orientation,” George wrote for the majority in ringing language that delighted gay rights activists. Source: MSNBC […]

2. Love Bruce Goldings’ final answer. Had to have real testicular fortitude to answer the way he did.

3. Ca dear, BU, I was having my breakfas!!

Laaaaddddddddddddddddddddddddd!!!!

4. U trying to sway we or wuh!!!!

5. W T F is this
    a pornographic site or what

enough to make me puke !

6. BU take down that picture please. Just put up one of Mia Mottely. 😀

BU said:
    The unwillingness of Barbadians to be proactive in structuring the kind of society which it wishes to adopt on a moral front is disappointing and regrettable.
    =================================

Just return to the “CLIVE LLOYD SHAMES CARIBBEAN” thread, read all that Georgie Porgie and Bush Tea said and there you will see why Barbadians are unwilling to make known in unmistakable ways there views of Homosexuality. We are afraid to judge people, due to a mixing and confusing of the saying “ye without sin cast the first stone”

7. Please, do not say ye without sins cast the first stone but oh lord we are talking about two men kissing. Certainly this kind of behaivour cannot be condoned. It is unethical.

I understand your point when you say ye without sin cat the first stone but, oh lord aman kissing a man.

Oh lord

8. The whole business of “homosexuality” in the past has been predicated on ignorance. Some countries have been forthright enough to emerge from the darkness and alter their laws accordingly. I don’t know that we are going to see any progressive movement in this direction. locally. We Bajans, at least our Bajan politicians, are too timid to do what’s right.

On a similar matter: take gambling. There are mini-casinos all around us but there can’t be a ‘real’ casino. ? ? It’s interesting to notice that the people who object to ‘casinos’ have never ever been in one… yet they know all about them.

Again: take prostitution. Archaic ‘laws’ are in place but Bajans shouldn’t be looking forward anytime soon to seeing any update… our politicians just don’t have the balls.

9. Banned from BFP Avatar
    Banned from BFP

Centipede

That’s the spirit. I am not a homo-sexual and I am yet to see a decent argument that supports leaving things the way there are in this part of the world. To be honest, girl on girl action is far more palatable to men than the other form of homosexual behaviour. It should really be the other way around. You see the more the guys get it on with each other, the more women will be made available for the remaining straight guys. Cool.

BU asks for a label and I will give him one… Hypocrite. West Indian men, in particular public figures, are notorious for being promiscuous and adulterous. Personally I have no problem with that. But if there is an issue of adopting “a moral front” promiscuity and adultery is where you should start.

PS. Have got no issue with professional sex providers either, other than health concerns.

10. B.U. that’s a nasty one you have up there, I make no apologies in saying it though. Undertaker is homophobic, and will always be so. As bajans we welcome every culture and every new fad (though it was around from bibical times) but it is, or at least was alien to our culture but the quest for fame, wealth and status has made us accept everything, and also do everything to get accepted. That is why if the current gov’t steers the ship even moderately that the BLP under its current leader will be in the wilderness for a long time.

Bruce Golding has made his country proud, he showed his strength and character. We don’t have much politicians we can say that about. (maybe only Kellman)

Until………..

11. Barbados is basically a conservative country, where homosexuality is viewed… in some quarters with disdain. This is partly due, to the influence religion has over the majority of its citizens.

Of course there is always the possibility of change in the core principles of the majority population. For this change to happen, specific factors must be satisfactorily addressed.

The general acceptance of homosexuals – and homosexual behaviour – in Barbados will occur when acceptable role models are identified. It is not enough for well known homosexuals to have a public face, it is deeper than that.

They must have an “acceptable” public presence, to which citizens can empasise. The logic which underpins this acceptance will be the belief he/she is homosexual, but they are nice people.

You might argue with justification, of course homosexuals can be nice people. However years of a particular opinion, however perverse and inculcated over time, will not suddenly change on the basis of it being common sense.

Attidues will soften – and perhaps change – when a homosexual in the public domain has the courage to say openly he/she is homosexual. In addition they should be reasonably successful, and have an acceptable lifestyle within certain constraints. You might suggest why should they – homosexuals – be subjected to more severe scrutiny than the rest of the population.

Fair point, but at this moment in time that is where we are at, and change comes through acceptance of what there is to change.

What would be unfortunate, is if certain individuals with access to the main stream media, attempt to ram an ideology down people’s throats. This will face hostility because of the messenger… unfair it is true, but so is life.

I have no moral or civil rights position on this issue. My sympathy goes to those whose only sexual love can be obtained from members of the same sex…this is acceptance of certain human behaviour.

Do I think it should be promoted as “normal behaviour?” I am yet to be convinced.

12. Yard Broom are you suggesting a role for Mia Mottley outside of or in addition to politics?

I have her on video proudly stating “I am who i am.” She can start by telling us what she really means by that.

……Somebody is bound to attempt poisioning Bruce Golding minds about one of his potential caricom counterparts. 😀

13. Adrian
    You are being mischievous…I am not going there.

14. A True Believer Avatar
    A True Believer

I dont mind the batty boys as long as they keep on there own wicket and dont try batting a bowling at the same time. The DLP aint got no need to change the laws as gays dont give nobody trouble we got at least three in cabinet right now.

15. I’ve always found that those who are most homophobic are the ones who are least secure with their own sexuality. It’s a bit like the politicians who shout about the “strong family” and are found in a room with two call girls. By most measures, between 5 and 10% of the population are gay. Why write off a large chunk of the population who are genetically predisposed to members of the same sex unless you’re massively insecure ? I may personally find the thought of homosexuality uncomfortable but I don’t have a problem with people going whichever way they choose as long as it’s not in everyone’s face. Barbados is a conservative, christian society and public displays are not on. But why not live and let live ? Why the constant barrage of attacks BU ? Is it time that you came out of the closet ?

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Adrian,

FYI and that of others, this is my view on homosexuality and the cosmos diaboilicus or world system, as taught clearly in Romans 1: 18 et sequendi.

18For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who hold the truth in unrighteousness;
    19Because that which may be known of God is manifest in them; for God hath shewed it unto them.
    20For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse:
    21Because that, when they knew God, they glorified him not as God, neither were thankful; but became vain in their imaginations, and their foolish heart was darkened.
    22Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools,
    23And changed the glory of the uncorruptible God into an image made like to corruptible man, and to birds, and fourfooted beasts, and creeping things.
    24Wherefore God also gave them up to uncleanness through the lusts of their own hearts, to dishonour their own bodies between themselves:
    25Who changed the truth of God into a lie, and worshipped and served the creature more than the Creator, who is blessed for ever. Amen.
    26For this cause God gave them up unto vile affections: for even their women did change the natural use into that which is against nature:
    27And likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust one toward another; men with men working that which is unseemly, and receiving in themselves that recompence of their error which was meet.
    28And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient;
    29Being filled with all unrighteousness, fornication, wickedness, covetousness, maliciousness; full of envy, murder, debate, deceit, malignity; whisperers,
    30Backbiters, haters of God, despiteful, proud, boasters, inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents,
    31Without understanding, covenantbreakers, without natural affection, implacable, unmerciful:
    32Who knowing the judgment of God, that they which commit such things are worthy of death, not only do the same, but have pleasure in them that do them

17. The Devils Advocate Avatar
    The Devils Advocate

How can we condone an act that was forced on black men during slavery to break them?
    The americans called it ‘buck breaking’ where any aggressive male slave was publicly buggered to make sure that his woman and children understood that he was ‘as a woman’ and subject to his massa’s whims just like her, he could no longer protect her.
    Homosexual thought developed from roman mysogynistic thought that women are unclean and inferior and that it is a higher act to have sex with another man (or little boy) than to have sex with a woman. (extreme christianity?)
    The Roman Catholics still seem to have a problem with heterosexual activity but no problem with paedophilia. According to their early teachings……………..Sex with other men (or little boys) is sacred, sex with women is unclean and should only be done if you decide you want children.

18. nonsense // May 22, 2008 at 1:47 pm

I’ve always found that those who are most homophobic are the ones who are least secure with their own sexuality. It’s a bit like the politicians who shout about the “strong family” and are found in a room with two call girls. By most measures, between 5 and 10% of the population are gay. Why write off a large chunk of the population who are genetically predisposed to members of the same sex unless you’re massively insecure ? I may personally find the thought of homosexuality uncomfortable but I don’t have a problem with people going whichever way they choose as long as it’s not in everyone’s face. Barbados is a conservative, christian society and public displays are not on. But why not live and let live ? Why the constant barrage of attacks BU ? Is it time that you came out of the closet ?

Nonsense, really!…..pray tell what method of statistical gathering did you employ to reach this conclusion. “MOST” what measurement is this? how do we quantify it? indeed how did you? The condition you have set for non-interference of those practicing this lifestyle is at core for my issue with them. They are no longer intent on being left alone to the privacy of their sexual choices, they have move far beyond seeking legal recognition and the benefits thereof for their partnerships, they have taken on a militant position of forcing on the rest of us, acceptance of who they cliam to be. For they must be free to choose and live the life they see fit to and the rest of us are not free to find such choices abnormal, ahhorent, and unnatural. They must be free to label us but we must refrain from returning the favour. They are no longer interested in being left alone to the privacy of their Bedroom, they have come to the center of the Town square, in our school cirruculum etc, our TV programming, circumventing society legislative process to hoodwink a redefinition of what marriage was understood mean for well over thousand years, and the have demanded that they be accepted or else. This is where it is at, and this is what threathens to visit your Barbados. If anyone needs to come out of the “closet” a closet of backwardness, …a closet of ignorance about the agenda of gay groups across the world, it certainly is not BU.

19. Georgie Porgie // May 22, 2008 at 2:06 pm

Adrian,

FYI and that of others, this is my view on homosexuality and the cosmos diaboilicus or world system, as taught clearly in Romans
    GP i understand you very well you know. I understand you hate the sin and will say so, but will think twice before you call a sinner a sinner, lest ye be accuse of judging others, and we know very well how you feel about judging others. You would do anything to get out of, having to judge someone, because you have set the authorization bar so high, that no human being can reach it. Perfection is a fleeting thing nuh? me, i just strive for consistency and a clearness of heart and mind and i will judge away at or to anyone. 😀

20. Adrian, have a look at the Wikipedia article on homosexuality. Statistics are under ‘Demographics’. I maintain that the sort of panicked reaction that you and BU seem to display cannot possibly be a result of anything other than insecurity. I’ve never seen gays in Barbados holding hands. I don’t know of any gay bars or clubs. I’ve never heard of a statement or a march from the gay community in Barbados. Perhaps I’m not hanging around in the right places. Given the almost total lack of homosexual activity in public, I still fail to comprehend why you feel so threatened. There is plenty of backwardness and ignorance out there but none if it is coming from the, as far as I can tell, almost completely silent gay community in Barbados. Live and let live Adrian. Anything else is pure insecurity.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Adrian
    As you will note on the other thread I have said that we have all been guilty of judging others. I will and do call sin, sin; and sinners – sinners. But that does not justify my doing so in the light of scriptures that both of us seem to agree with, on the same thread.

Please note that I have not myself set any authorization or other bars. I suggested that Jesus set the bar, and I tend to agree with you that no human being can reach it. Perfection is not a fleeting thing at all. In fact it is not achievable until the redemption of the body as discussed in Romans 8.

Striving for consistency and a clearness of heart and mind is probably a good start (depending at which end of the scale you set at. LOL). And I guess judging away is fun. I do agree that we have all been guilty of judging others. But the Scriptures suggest we ought not to. That’s all I am saying.

We must all judge ourselves against the set standards of God – not the failing standards of others.

22. I have no problems with homosexuals. I work with several of them. They are respectful regardless of whatever they do. I would suggest that they be left alone once they do not personally inter fere with you.

23. Banned from BFP Avatar
    Banned from BFP

Bruce Golding has shamed us all.

Thank De Lard de Bible ain’ formal law ’bout here.

nonsense
    mekkin’ sense. But truth be told Heterosexuals in Barbados rarely hold hands in public as well. In fact you’re far more likely to see women walking hand in hand and there is never a thought of homosexuality.

got me Confused. How can you be religious and intelligent at the same time? You’re a rear breed my friend.

Adrian Hinds
    Enough with this sin talk. Sin is framing and bombing a Sovereign state. Seriously, I like nuff women and I got a wife. Wah you t’ink bout me?

And Mia Mottley gave the most convincing argument ever delivered by a politician for changing a number of antiquated laws in Barbados (relating to prostitution, homosexuality, vagrancy etc.). If she like women, I don’ blame her ‘cause I likes dem too.

Tony Hall
    The top one hundred most creative minds this country has ever produced were born same sex attracted

24. Banned from BFP Avatar
    Banned from BFP

The Devils Advocate
    Homosexuality like dwarfism, albinism is a natural phenomenon, even occurring in rats, mice, cats and dogs… Bro’

25. Tony Hall: The problem is that homosexuals may be interferring with you in ways that you do not realize.
    The Gay/Homosexual Movement wields considerable power in North America and Europe, both politically and financially and they are known euphemistcally as “The Gay Mafia”. Gays utilize their considerable wealth to promote their agenda by backing politicians who share their beliefs and who will further their cause.
    The reality is that the Gay Movement is shaping world politics with quiet determination. If we had access to a list of all the movers and shakers in the political arena, the highest courts, the entertainment industry and major corporations, I think you would be shocked at how many of them are Gay.
    It is only a matter time before they bring their influence and agenda to smaller countries. Having said all this, I have accepted that homosexuality is genetically predetermined and what they do sexually behind closed doors is their business. It is their “agenda” that I am concerned about.

26. I was just waiting to see when this topic would rear its naked self upon this blog, after all the other hot topic, Guyanese and East Indian Guyanese in Barbados was a recent headline here, so I know it was only a matter of days/weeks before the homosexual topic show up. They say homosexuality is genetic, and in fact recently I heard that the more sons a woman has, the more likely they will be homosexual. So if a woman has five sons, it is likely that number 4 and 5 will be homosexual. It has to do with the fact that the female body tries to fight the male genetics when in utero, and in so doing the female produces more female hormones, which makes its way into the male baby she is carrying, something like that. I say you all accept your homosexual brothers and sisters. What if your child is homosexual? Are you going to reject them! Life too short to be treating people badly, just be happy. Now they news did not say what causes the female version of homosexual, maybe, it could be that the female was really a male and was washed with too much female hormones and turned into a psuedo female. The richest man in England is a Guynaese and he is openly homosexual and he is in the House of Lords. He accompanied Prince Charles on a royal visit to Guyana a few years back.

27. The Bible, the ‘Word’ of God, is emphatic that ‘Homosexuality’ is an abomination before Almighty God, our Creator. (Lev. 18:22; 20:13).

The Bible also states that because of certain abominations such as homosexuality, a land will vomit out its inhibitants (Lev. 18:25). The apostle Paul called it “shameful” the result of being given up by God to “vile passions” (Rom. 1:24-27).

The New Testament makes it abundantly clear that those who practice homosexuality will NOT enter the Kingdom of God (1 Cor. 6:9, 10). Paul shows homosexuality as a FINAL order of rebellion against God. When people exchange the TRUTH of God for a LIE, and begin to worship the creature instead of the Creator, they are given up to evil. When values are turned upside down and moral anarchy appears, men burn with lust for other men, and women burn for women, and they will receive in their own bodies the punishment for their actions (Rom. 1:22-27). From a biblical standpoint, the rise of homosexuality is a SIGN that a society is in the last stages of decay.

This kind of abomination, among many other debased sins, that is so prevelant in our society, will surely call down God’s judgment upon our land. REPENT, Barbados, and turn our hearts and lives back to The Lord Jesus Christ, for the season, generation, for ‘His’ second advent is at hand, all of the signs that ‘He’ said would manifest globally, as a warning, are literally unfolding, day by day, before our very eyes.

28. BU:

Neither you, the government, nor J.Q. Public has any business in the bedrooms of the nation (Barbados).

Miss Guyana:

Since when was the Duke of Westminster a Guyanese? Since when does a Guyanese own all the real estate in Belgravia?

29. Banned From BFP Avatar
    Banned From BFP

PiedPiper
    Yabadadoo

Miss Guyana
    Not a scientist but you’re good

Carlos
    As a human being you have a natural responsibility to be relevant.

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Anonymous

Are you saying that Carlos’ post is irrelevant?
    Are you saying that the Word of God is irrelevant?

Well thata amazing! Cause you are proving that the opening verses of 2 Peter 3 are absolutely true!

31. Which sin does God hate more?

Adultery – a man and a woman

or

Homosexual acts – women or men?

Which sin is worse? And why do we excuse or even celebrate the “sin” of adultery while condemning the “sin” of homosexual love?

32. Banned From BFP Avatar
    Banned From BFP

South
    Take a bow

33. In answer to your rather lame question South, adultery takes place in both heterosexual and homosexual relationships so what is your point exactly? Additionally, I don’t think anyone “celebrates” adultery.

34. Banned From BFP Avatar
    Banned From BFP

PiedPiper

I would be really surprised if South thought you worthy of a belch

35. Pied, I think adultery as we speak/write here is strickly in the context of heterosexual marriages, …since Barbados law does not allow homosexual marriages

36. Banned from BFP Avatar
    Banned from BFP

Miss G you legal?

37. Well I am certainly not banned from anything or anywhere, at least not to my knowledge.

38. PiedPiper // May 22, 2008 at 7:04 pm

Tony Hall: The problem is that homosexuals may be interferring with you in ways that you do not realize.
    The Gay/Homosexual Movement wields considerable …………………

Sensible post, Pied Piper, without ‘writing a book’!

39. BU, if the homosexual agenda ‘is gaining ground in Bim’ may I suggest that it’s aided in so doing by, for example, the publishing of your picture, above! It might help the cause of its decline if you were to refrain from such errors of judgement!

40. Bimbro old boy!

We hear your feedback. Often times BU will use a picture to send a message in a way text can’t. If we offended anyone it was not deliberate just our way of using different approaches to communicate.

41. Nothing wrong with the picture. It is a lovely picture I think. I see it as art and not two young lads engaging themselves. You always use nice pictures in your stories, always, A+ blog..the best in the world….a class act.

42. Like I said before, the pic is a “nasty” one. I worked with 2/3 homos at one point – real man loving one. One of them was quite intelligent and ok to converse with, but he could never figure out why I never gave him a drop up town, lent him my car, or had conversation if I had him in town. That is just me, some things I believe are just wrong and dirty too, but I believe that some may just be born that way, or maybe that had a too femine young childhood.

Our main problem in barbados is the BI-SEXUALS. They want all the men and all the women too. What a greedy bunch, they help bring the disease right into your house if they can sweet talk your female counterparts.

Like I said I am homophobic and not afraid of it.

43. Under taker, You are afraid of your homophobia, and the reason is that you might undertake in the activities of these people if the opportunte moment arose itself

44. nonsense // May 22, 2008 at 4:24 pm

I maintain that the sort of panicked reaction that you and BU seem to display cannot possibly be a result of anything other than insecurity. I’ve never seen gays in Barbados holding hands. I don’t know of any gay bars or clubs. I’ve never heard of a statement or a march from the gay community in Barbados. Perhaps I’m not hanging around in the right places. Given the almost total lack of homosexual activity in public, I still fail to comprehend why you feel so threatened. There is plenty of backwardness and ignorance out there but none if it is coming from the, as far as I can tell, almost completely silent gay community in Barbados. Live and let live Adrian. Anything else is pure insecurity.

Moral panic will occur when, as you seem to be suggesting, …we wait for empirical proof of an agenda, as is clearly the case in North America. We seem to have settle on approaching everything in a pragmatic way, and the results of this demonstrates a culture of “patch” management. So you can wait until the evidence is irrefutable and like so many other things in Barbados, like water, garbage/landfill, facilities and fleet maintenance management, and HIV policy….where dry taps, a over flowing dump, several broken buildings and bus fleets, and HIV infections reaching epidemic proportions are until upon us to act, and as always it will be too late. Assumption about my fear and insecurity as a result of homosexuality, as if you could ever know, cannot possibly have the intended affect of shutting me up.

Banned from BFP,….It is not my intent to use “sin” or any other blibical concepts to argue against legitimizing Homosexaulity in the manner that the North American Gay Lobbys are intended, that Mia Mottley suggested, and that has a good chance of being visited upon Barbados. My arguments on sin etc where specific to GP and is a carry over from another post.
    ….Thanks PiedPiper, like several other things that we in the diaspora have seen unfold and that has afforded us the opportunity to indentify the trends, and arguments that precipitated the truth of intent, I know this to be not about bashing people or attempting to deny them their choice of lifestyle, as it is very much about protecting my freedoms, my rights, and not being force to accept that which I do not want.

45. Could supporters of apartheid not use the same arguments as those here against black people?

46. Georgie Porgie // May 22, 2008 at 4:28 pm

Adrian
    As you will note on the other thread I have said that we have all been guilty of judging others. I will and do call sin, sin; and sinners – sinners.
    GP, I am not GUILTY of judging. Guilt assumes wrong doing, and as far as i am concern judging the actions of others is good. If you have given into secular society’s view that all of what was once concidered devient, is now to be recast as either a desease, or individual freedoms etc, then go right ahead, I prefer to look at each behaviour and “JUDGE” the recast or remaking of it to see what benefit it brings to the society as a whole, and if the benefit goes solely to a subsection of the society, and at the same time is a negative for all others, then the majority will have to be consulted.

47. Well in the USA they had a law forbiding white people from marrying others..that law was challenged by the Lovings a couple where the man was white and the lady black. The Lovings were married in Washington, DC. and when they went back to their home in Virginia they were arrested for breaking state law that forbid inter rcial marriage., same concept, in a different situation.

48. I am for RIGHTS…..for everyone…that means if a man loves another man, or a lady loves another lady….then so be it….give them the same rights as the man that loves the lady…..and treat them with respect…respect eveyone…what gives yout he right to disrespect…what if the tables were turned…..it is the same thing with race….natonality…..fat vs fine……short vs tall…..and so on…yuou get the jist of my rights and respect post here. BYE It is Friday. YEAH

49. Anonymous // May 23, 2008 at 9:35 am

Well in the USA they had a law forbiding white people from marrying others..that law was challenged by the Lovings a couple where the man was white and the lady black. The Lovings were married in Washington, DC. and when they went back to their home in Virginia they were arrested for breaking state law that forbid inter rcial marriage., same concept, in a different situation.

No one in North America is against same sex unions. In fact most states have long time now allowed legal recognition of same sex unions with all the benefits that regular Hetoro-sex unions have. Your point???? Most people are more than willing to leave Gays alone to the privacy of their choices and many Gays welcome this, but the Gay lobby seem hell bent on making public waves, with things like making our children recognize and accept them by law, and even demanding that our children be encourage to chose the Gay lifestyle.