Road Tennis is an indigenous sport to Barbados

2,158 responses to “Sports Corner”

1. @ GP & Hants,

Are you following the cricket. Our openers have put on a 100 stand!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/cricket/35722546

2. Excellent performance so far, they need to finish it!

3. @ David,

Mission accomplished!

4. @Exclaimer

There is no better feeling to watch the WI conquer in the final. It swells the bosom with pride. Some of these jackass administrator by their inept management do not understand the value of sport to building a society. Giving hope to the youth and building nationhood.

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THE GIRLS NOT ONLY WON……….BUT THEY DID IN STYLE
    THE BATTING WAS SENSIBLE AND FULL OF CLASS

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

EXCLAIMER
    HANTS BUSS A GASKET WATCHING DEM SEXY GIRLS PLAY
    HE GONE TO HORSEPITAL MURDAH

7. It was setup at the top, the young gun expressing herself and the experienced captain demonstrating calm leadership.

8. @ GP, You see now why the English boy called out our boys. If we keep our cool we will win this match. All we have to do is to accumulate the runs at a consistent rate. Gayle was a disgrace.

9. What say you boys and girls. What a game. Credit to Samuels. That boy Braithwaite was an ice cool killer.

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

exclaimer sIR

i have to exclaim BRATHWAITHE BEAT STOKES TILL HE CRY !

HE WAS SHELL SHOCKED AFTER THAT EXPLOSION MAN

that was murder life wid out parole man…..BRUTAL MURDER

11. Enf***ing incredible!!!

12. Awesome performance by Windies.

U19, Women and now the Men.

13. Agree Hants, this was an amazing performance.

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

HANTS YOU STILL DEY

I THOUGHT THEM SEXY WINDIES GIRLS STOP YOUR OLE HEART THIS MORNING MURDER

YES INDEED Awesome performance by Windies.

U19, Women and now the Men.

Definitely this was an amazing performance.

15. @GP,

BUSY MORNING WATCHING CRICKET AND FORMULA ONE RACE.

GOOD TO SEE THE WOMEN SUPPORTING THE MEN.

16. Brathwaite breaks English hearts: West Indies claim World T20 title as FOUR huge successive sixes in final over leaves Stokes in tears.

Brathwaite and Samuels guide West Indies to T20 victory over England

17. Note all the Bajans have shirts on their backs.

18. Tino La Bertram Best

1 hr ·

They will days like this cricket is a hard game ppl will chat crap and laugh cause they aren’t even good enough to play at this level chin up Ben Stokes u are a legend in my book son blessings and love young man come back harder and stronger 🙏🏾👊🏾👊🏾

Tino La Bertram Best's photo.

19. Please keep your COMMENTS to yourself if you have NOTHING good to say about DARREN SAMMY!! He is the REASON why the PLAYERS SIGNED that SHITTY WICB Contract before the Tournament. He did a lot of behind the scenes negotiation!! Can you imagine the amount of STRESS he was under. It must AFFECT his PERFORMANCE!! All other captains had the LUXURY to just focus on cricket. He had to focus on Cricket and Managerial duties because of WICB incompetence.

Albert Marshall's photo.

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOLLL…”Note all the Bajans have shirts on their backs.”

Oh lawd, I wonder what that suggests about the Bajan crew!

21. Why dont you take a stab at it de.

22. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Not me and dat Mr Blogmaster…All I know is dat we gotta thank Sammy for his excellent and really awesome service cause he days dun…afterall he didn’t bowl and definitely didn’t perform the batting magic down de order like he did last time. So its Holder in that slot going forward.

What I would say though is that Marlon’s jab at Warne was ill-timed. I can understand his being pissed as Warne was harping on his ‘running to leg’ as if the man had suddenly lost his nerve against short pitch bowling. But not at the presentation, jeeez.

Do that later in the press room…good lawd!

Anyhow, big-up to him for giving ‘respect’ to the English boys in his remarks.

But you know that all like now dem IPL folks planning not to contracting anymore new WI fellas…look how we so ungrateful and beat dem pon dem home grounds…LOLL.

And dem Aussie give contract to that 18 yr old lass and she gone and return that ‘hospitality’ by sharing licks at her coming-out Finals performance…

reminds me of dem days when we dance real sweet after the English White-washes and bruggadung…country cricket contracts dun just so….Oh lawd…

Nuff respect to all the WI teams…now we need to get a fresh administration…I nominate Sammy for WICB President!

23. But De isn’t there merit in giving weight to leadership a la Mike Bearley?

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh gee,Mr Blogmaster you gone far back, fah real…as memory serves I believe it was Greig who took over after Mike Brearley. So indeed in the same vein as Brearley had effectively done his job and started to ‘rebuild (well before they ran into the WI buzz-saw) the England psyche and passed the team so too has Darren Sammy been at the forefront of our psyche rebuilding and can pass on the baton….

So yours is actually an excellent example …he has been as cerebral and focused as the English captain and he too created a platform upon which the next generation can build.

And he too can be like Mike and step off proudly… job well done.

This is not to discard Sammy so again like Brearley he should move into other cricket areas when he retires completely…the man is a solid professional.

Time to rebuild. Next WT20 is four years out Surely no Gayle, Sammy and possibly Bravo.

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOLL,,David I just read/listened to the Samuels’ presser….OMG that brother is a arrogant–oh dear, self confident fella isn’t he!

26. He and Warne has a thing going on.

27. Judging by the honking of horns, the popping of champagne corks and the general revelry I gather the WI were victorious over somebody so does that mean a Holiday tomorrow? 😈

28. Barbados Labour Party

2 hrs ·

On the Double T20 West Indies World Champions and Under 19 50-Over World Champions

PRESS RELEASE

Hon. Mia Amor Mottley Q.C., M.P.

Today is one of those specials days in our lives!

See More

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

No Sargeant, it does not mean a holiday.

What it does mean however is that we may have more than comparatively expected maternity ward visits between October and January, a spike in liquor sales tonight and so on.

30. Marlon Samuels was right to cuss Warne and Stokes. They don’t have a monopoly on trash talk.

I had to take GPs advice and turn off some of the igrunt commentary.

Samuels 85*….Stokes 6,6,6,6..lol