2,322 responses to “Sports Corner”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

it seems that professional athletes need to check out what is banned and which is not
    i dont think doctors need to care which substances are banned to sports personnel
    clearly sports personnel need to ascertain what is banned or not , as well as what metabolites of the drug whether they are active metabolites or not, are banned

i think that sharapova is a cheat
    i think i am allowed that opinion

2. [caption id="attachment_50343" align="aligncenter" width="539"]Drugs Click to view presentation about drugs – Credit to Dr. GP[/caption]

3. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@Artax at 4:17 PM ,,the good doc was referring to little moi. Despite all his accomplishments he is still afflicted with the same boyhood problems we all display from time to time…puerile anger at being crossed.

Here is a man who speaks as a Biblical scholar and thus supposedly a man of God…yet is very quick to use vitriol on fellow bloggers. A man who sang in his church choir and was a decent altar boy (all according to him) yet is always SHOUTING here on the blog. Surely he knows that all caps is a flame worthy net crime but he does it here with impunity. Interesting personality, one can say!

He can never be challenged on anything related to medicine, in any facet. This happens daily in court where doctors’ interpretation of the facts of THE SCIENCE emanating from medical issues are questioned and sometimes dismissed and effectively overruled by the interpretations of others….often those others are regular men and women called jurors who have agreed with the views of another doctor.

So in my capacity of a BU juror scoping out the facts of Freddie Gray and his tragic death in the back of that van the doc was apoplectic. How dare I interpret the facts differently from him and then – oh heavens to murgatroyd – cite and quote another doctor (labelled a joker by the good well mannered Dr GP, of course) .

For that I am persona non grata in the mind of this charming blogger, forever.

Oh and BTW @Northern I agree with your assessment that for 10 years the lady was being a keen athlete looking to get an edge over her competitors. The drug was not banned. At that time any one else could have also taken that drug to get the same effect.

That’s called a difference of opinion on the facts. To the doc it’s an illiterate trying to discuss science.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

Yes GP you are entitled to your opinion, and I appreciate your opinion.

however “i dont think doctors need to care which substances are banned to sports personnel”. really?

A family friend, Dr Ted Percy was team doctor for the Canadian team at the 1976 Olympics, in his hometown of Montreal. One female athlete, complaining of cold symptoms was given an OTC medication which went by Dimetapp (I dont know the chemical stuff). The athlete won bronze and was later DQ’d for failing a drug test, because of ingredients in the Dimetapp. Dr P never forgave himself for this mis-step.

When doctors are dealing with athletes who are subjected to rigorous drug testing, both in and out of competition they HAVE to be fully aware. And if they don’t know, they need to consult with somebody who does know prior to giving an athlete anything. The consequences can be catastrophic.

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DIW

QUID DIXI SCRIPSIQUE, DIXI SCRIPSIQUE

I DONT GET ANGRY WITH MEDICAL ILLITERATES, I JUST POINT OUT THEIR DEFECTS

SIR I WILL NOT APOLOGIZE BECAUSE YOU WERE WRONG, AS WAS LATER POINTED OUT ON US TV

I WILL NOT APOLOGIZE BECAUSE YOU ARE A MEDICAL ILLITERATE AND A CONTENTIOUS WOMANOID

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

NORTHERN
    THIS IS WHAT I SAID IN ENGLISH
    i dont think doctors need to care which substances are banned to sports personnel

clearly sports personnel need to ascertain what is banned or not , as well as what metabolites of the drug whether they are active metabolites or not, are banned

SENTENCE ONE SHOULD BE QUOTED IN CONJUNCTION WITH SENTENCE TWO
    AFTER ALL IT IS THEIR GOOSE THAT WILL BE COOKED NOT THE DOCTORS

READ MY PPT AND SEE WHAT IS IMPORTANT TO DOCTORS AND PATIENTS

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

The bankers who created mortgage derivatives and sub-primes?

Home buyers need to ascertain what will happen should home prices drop, or interest rates increase, and what clauses in the mortgage would become active and their consequences. As you point out, it is the home buyers goose which will be cooked, not the mortgage broker or the institution holding the instrument.

You are correct. It is the ultimate responsibility of the athlete.

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ DIW

I must say that I am surprised at you for “flying into the face of this demi-god”. And not content to have done it once you now persist in clearly enunciating the circumstances within which the incident happened, whuloss you hard headed doah!!

“Diminitus Illogicalii Datwearuum”

Do not try to google, that be pig Latin.

What you must google however is The Dogmatic Constitution of the Church of the Vatican II.

You have not observed the Sacrament of Penance from said demi-god through which you may (or may not) obtain pardon for the offences committed against him (should that be lower case “h” or since one is speaking of demi-deity should it be capitalized?

Had you so done, you might have been pardoned but alas thou art doomed to hell fire and brimstone.

It could have been worse, for imagine, if after so insulting demi-deity, suppose you were scheduled to have an operation correcting an odd curve in your manhood, me fears that you might have awakened, lighter AND SHORTER, than you laid down under their scalpel for your uppity tongue

Diminitus=bastardization of diminutive
    Illogicalli=bastardization of the word logical appended to ill, as in illogical, and the double “ii” to approximate the nominative plural
    Datweareum= dat+we+are Uum added to mek a body feel latin-ish

$500

(Dat is de amount of money dat you got for me immediately upon the predictable onslaught)

Onto the substantive matter.

Do you remember Rev Jesse Jackson counseling President Bill Clinton about Monica?

Until Jesse love child got discovered?? and he was shamed heself?

Like Jesse, these athletes and substance abusers simply do not expect to get caught out in their indiscretions.

I going and read de doctor article boah so dat I doan get catch tekking steroids and get ban from church when I go back deah Sundey

9. Here is Dick Pound former President of WADA on this situation, he said that the drug is contraindicated meaning she cycled on and off the drug under the direction of a Doctor (more evidence of performance enhancement drug).

http://www.bbc.com/sport/tennis/35757814

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

sARGEANT
    IT IS CLEAR TO ME THAT SHE CHEATED
    HER DR KNEW IT AND SHE KNEW IT
    NOW WE KNOW IT
    BUT SHE WHITE
    SO SHE WILL GET A SLAP ON THE WRIST

THANKS FOR PROVIDING THIS MEDICAL INFO

WILL THE PHARMACOLOGY AND MEDICAL ILLITERATES REFUTE THIS INFO NOW? LOL MURDAH

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

Since I know myself to be a pharmacological and medical illiterate, I never argued that she didn’t cheat post Jan 2016, when the drug was banned.

She got caught and will get 4 years.

Now i understand your issue, it is the colour of her skin.

12. @DIW
    I am not sure where you are going with the reference to Erin Andrews are you trying to suggest it is a miscarriage of justice for the jury to award her that much? First of all her privacy was violated in the worst way as the hotel accommodated her stalker by providing her room number to him and placing him in the room next to hers at his request. To add insult to injury some of the hotel’s executives played the leaked tape at a dinner which they attended, I’m sure they were plenty of yuk yuks. One should expect the same amount of privacy in a hotel room as in their own home would you like someone to install a camera in your home so they could capture pictures of you or your family members in your birthday suit?

Whether she went on to enjoy a lucrative career or not should not in any way prevent her from seeking sanction against those who violated her privacy and leaked the results to the world wide web. The amount of the award was determined by the jury and everyone knows that civil juries are notorious for awarding large sums in many cases and lawyers get rich (see john Edwards) from their decisions, in this instance she won’t see the amount (51%) due from the stalker.

If you want to argue that she isn’t as good at her job as the woman she replaced (Pam Oliver) I am in your corner but Fox was playing to their demographic and that’s an argument for another day.

13. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@Sageant, I thought I was clear re my rant issues… Where I was going or went was: ” In this modern world of internet selfies some of which border on hard pornography that jury verdict was the ridiculous embrace of another lovely blond lady gaming the system !”

—You said that “The amount of the award was determined by the jury..” Correct and in my view excessive and I ‘ranted’ as: “The tort reform issue at [its] heinous worst!”

—You also noted, which I fully accept that “One should expect the same amount of privacy in a hotel room as in their own home…” To that point my reference is: “but the hotel refused to settle the suit she brought against them for his actions…stupid I think.”

Ms. Andrews was wronged surely. Based on her career in the public eye and what was done I saw this as gaming the system, particularly when contrasted against the other type of awards I mentioned for persons wrongfully accused. And yes I am aware that her stalker does not have a dime to pay his share….still excessive.

I used her case to highlight the grave infelicities and inequalities and was drawing the inevitable comparison to our own local systems … as we all so extensively recently discussed; and too comparing the US system’s treatment of lovely white women and others generally.

Clearly the jury agreed with you that, “Whether she went on to enjoy a lucrative career or not should not in any way prevent her from seeking sanction …”

But I thought the law of compensatory damages was to return one to one’s previous status. Thus her future successes and career is absolutely important and pertinent. I am not aware the damages were all punitive.

Let me go back to your Serena reference. Serena is a public figure like Andrews. Were she violated in a similar way with millions of people ogling her naked physique from an illegally taken video I presume she should get a $100M award cause she looks twice as good. LOL.

Well on the other hand one can argue that as she has paraded across the net in very provocative beach wear and so on that she has less reason to claim pain and suffering from such a public display. Not so.

Privacy is sacrosanct. No argument there. But how we display ourselves or are displayed across social media must of necessity change the discourse in cases like this in my MAIN point.

This time I will not be drawn out by your Pam Oliver reference and then have you tack back on me…LOLLLL.

14. @DIW

The Republicans have been pushing for tort reform specifically limitations on damage awards because many of its core big corporations and Insurance companies were hurt by some of the awards; The AMA was also for tort reform because its members were being sued left and right for medical malpractice and insurance premiums were rising. The large awards make the news but these are often whittled down through negotiation by lawyers representing both parties rather than subjecting everyone to prolonged appeals which only serve to put more money in the hands of lawyers

Back to the afore mentioned Ms. Andrews and your analogy vis a vis Serena and her playing attire, a better comparison would be Kim Kardashian, what would the jury’s decision if Kim was filmed nude through her hotel room peephole, would they say she was entitled to the same degree of privacy or would they say all her assets have been on public display for years so the expectation of privacy is null and void?

15. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@Sargeant at 10:07 AM …No sir. Kim Kardashian is not a good example. Examples should be apples to apples or pears to pears…or for that matter hour glasses to hour glasses!!

Serena is a public figure who has been photographed by papparazzi on beaches on the red carpet and on the court in revealing provocative wear or lack thereof. Andrews to a lesser extent but in a similar vein. They are attractive women who work at their careers and are part of the public’s love affair for all things related to stars and athletes.

Kardashian makes a living from being displayed on the internet in all her glory. That is her career. She cannot be compared to the others, in my humble opinion.

So in her case she would sue to get control of the video or all the proceeds from any sale/advertising related to its exposure. She would not care that her assets were exposed but rather that her brand was being hijacked and used without her permission.

And Tort Reform helps EVERYONE not only big business..we seem not to appreciate that we are the ones who pay the higher insurance and medical premiums as a result of these inanely high and outrageous awards.

So although Ms Andrews – after taxes, legal and court costs, lack of funds from the perp and so on – will get less that 10 million, the hotel industry is now on notice and in their need to beef up security or insurance coverage there will be some additional fee or such that will be levied.

But as I said at the front end a settlement should have been thrashed out from day 1.

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

Dont know if you realise this but when you click any of the entries on the Sports Corner Page IT WILL NOT TAKE YOU TO THAT ENTRY but to 4 pages befor the last page.

On my IPad i have to scroll down to the last entry on the fourth page and click newer comments and then do that until i get to the last page.

It is a glitch that is extremely disturbing noooo not because me madam seeing me doing all these fancy strokes with the IPad, nor because I want to gypsy into what DIW saying bout Serena physique.

No.

This is the only page where I am allowed by the Madam to visit (she only find out that i does visit um but I ent sure she know that I does post – she does smile when she see de Ipad six inches from me face)

No the main issue is that you and my man Hants does post some Music items here dat splendiferous and I doan want to tex too long to see dem.

So, while I like dem udder pages bout “Me Clare who you”, and “De Chilrun are is reading well” en ting, this is a priority item and needs to be fixed, chop, chop LOL

@ DIW

$100M for Ms. Williams man more like $200 million my man.

17. @ David,

Having the same problem as pieceuhderockyeahright.

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

just change page from 12 to 15

19. Will check it out guys.

20. Problem fixed. Thanks David.

21. Good Hants, a lot of sporting events for the junkies coming up!

22. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

David the problem … happened to me just now.

Anyhow this has over 1100 posts so maybe in fact its an ongoing ting and just needs to be updated more often.

The way I use around it is to type search on ‘sports corner’ and then click on comments…that brings you to the last page. Takes three wacks of the mouse but still less cumbersome!

Small issue really…no stress.

23. Just click on Sports Corner in the banner and it takes you to the current page.

Problem solved

Next time there will be a service charge

24. Wuh looka all these young strapping people suffering from angina

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/03/11/sports/tennis/maria-sharapova-meldonium-positive-tests.html?_r=1

25. ” West Indies win by six wickets and that was the Chris Gayle show”

47 ball hundred for Gayle the T20 entertainer.

26. Other countries love West indian sportsmen.

27. Formula One 2016……..It’s on!!!!

“FP2 – Hamilton ahead as Rosberg spins out.

28. As soon as the pressure is on Rosberg follows the script 🙂

He is a good second man.

29. Erin Andrews is not the only “sports” celebrity to receive a large award for invasion of privacy, Terry Bollea better known as Hulk Hogan was just awarded 115 million by a jury against Gawker which published a portion of a sex tape featuring Hogan and the wife of a friend; (Apparently the friend had given his consent but Hogan didn’t know that there was a camera recording the proceedings) but what are friends for.

One of the fallout of this is that Hogan lost his position with the WWF when he engaged in pillow talk and raged against his daughter’s boyfriend who happened to be black so the Hulk used the “N” word and Vince McMahon fired him.

http://www.thestar.com/entertainment/2016/03/18/hulk-hogan-gets-115m-in-sex-tape-lawsuit-against-gawker-media.html

30. What is in store for us after yesterday – India versus Pakistan today.

31. Lewis on pole. The big test will be racing without radio instructions from the engineers.

32. West Indies win without Gayle batting.Fletcher emulating his T20 mentor.

Lewis second. Good start to season.

33. Hamilton seems to be having problems with his start. Added to which the Ferraris appear to have closed the gap to Mercedes.

Fletcher was lucky, it was not controlled hitting.

34. @David re fletcher. Be thankful for small mercies . Windies won. lol. Fletcher is not a very good batsman.

Lewis had a problem at the start and Nico forced him wide. Nico drove well as did Vettel.

Should be a very competitive season.

Serena lost. She misses Sharpova. lol

35. @ David March 16, 2016 at 7:39 PM #
    Reported to be the WI T20 anthem

Apparently these Black WI T20 ‘champions’ only associate with albino women…..

36. @Bush Tea

It is regarded as a symbol of being upwardly mobile but it is their right.

37. What it is …..a reflection of an inherent inferiority complex that probably explains much of our national psychology of brass bowlery….
    The ultimate irony of modern life is (in Bushie’s not-so-humble-opinion), that the VERY epitome of human design has come to accept being classified as inferior and being placed at the nadir of the totem pole of development.

It can truly be said that ‘The first shall be last and the last, first’…..

38. @Bush Tea

We see beauty in the things and people we have been socialized and to give greater weight to it.

39. A dog invited to Carifta?

http://youtu.be/wRoLgWTa3tk

40. Bushie “Apparently these Black WI T20 ‘champions’ only associate with albino women…”

The albino women are offering and de fellas just taking what is readily available.

41. T20 World Boss! lol

“A lovely moment just now as Gayle joins in the celebrations with Afghanistan and Shahzad. That might be my moment of the tournament. Shahzad demands a selfie, and eventually the entire team crowd round Gayle in front of the cameras”

42. West Indies power-hit their way to World T20 final!!!!

Amazing hitting.

43. The English begin the mind games, Mark Nicholas opines that the WI team short on brains.

"Short of brains" tag angers West Indies captain Darren Sammy

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

You have to feel sorry for the underachiever Mark Nicholas.
    Whereas he writes about cricket and cricketers; others PLAY cricket.
    Poor likkle Mark never once played a test match or any other international match for England. Nearly all of the WINDIES players he calls brainless have played both test matches and international cricket for the WINDIES

In his offending article he worships Dhoni as if he was a God.

I think he was sucking up and singing for his supper hoping for a acommentator pick from the BCCI. Poor likkle Mark