Hope remains while we are alarmed at the senseless shootings in Barbados. This type of problem is analogous to a flooded area. The obvious solution would be to: (i) first go upstream and turn off the faucet to stop the flow of water and then (ii) drain the area. However, we spent the past 30 years bailing water from one part of the flooded area to another – a proven failed method.

The two-part crime solution is similarly obvious: (i) stop cultivating new criminals and (ii) train those whom we have already cultivated in a legal trade. Part 1 of this 2-part series addresses cultivating criminals.

CRIMINALS’ SCHOOL.

We cultivate criminals at our secondary schools – where all our criminals attended. The school curriculum is designed for the 20% of students who happen to understand the taught material earlier than their peers. By third form, many of the 80% have: (i) learned helplessness, (ii) become aware that their role at school is to be a supporting cast to the 20% and (iii) stopped trying.

It is important to note that: (i) all our students (without mental impairments) can understand the same information, (ii) some students will understand the material earlier than others for diverse reasons and (iii) those who learnt the material earlier are neither brighter nor better than those who learnt it later.

PLODDING ALONG.

I happened to be among the 80%. Each year, I tended to finally understand the material taught during the summer holidays – after the final exams. My mother was so alarmed that she took me to Mr Wharton for lessons. After the first lesson, Mr Wharton told my mother not to worry about me because I was a plodder.

Mr Wharton explained that I would not get there with the lead pack but I would get there. Those words gave me much encouragement as I plodded against the consistent discouraging flow of low-test scores for most of my time at Combermere.

TEACH EVERYONE.

Rather than teach only to the level of the 20%, why not teach to the level of the 80% and the 20% will automatically understand? Why not teach conversational language first, so that all may understand, instead of conjugating verbs that only 20% may quickly grasp? Why not first teach music by-ear, so that all may understand, instead of music theory that only 20% may quickly grasp? Why not first teach applied science that all may understand, instead of theoretical aspects that only 20% may quickly grasp?

Once students are encouraged with their ability to understand the practical aspects of a subject, they are more likely to exercise the discipline required to study the more difficult theoretical aspects – to expand their knowledge. Despite this being well known, we continue to force much of the 80% down path of discouragement and low self-esteem – which is an ideal culture for cultivating criminals.

While some of the 20% may become criminals, Barbados’ prison reports confirm that the vast majority of our inmates did poorly at secondary school. Despite this being well known, we have not turned off the faucet, but busy ourselves with bailing water.

Grenville Phillips II is a Doctor of Engineering, Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Walbrent College. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

29 responses to “Cultivating Criminals – Part 1”

1. More pearls to swine…

Grenville…
    All that matters is what aids political ends – especially short term re-election, and keeping brass bowls stupid enuff to ignore transparency laws, accountability, and honesty, … while believing in the lotta shiite promises that continue to spew forth.

Sometimes yuh gotta let the dead bury their dead.

2. Michelle Matthews Avatar
    Michelle Matthews

The Foundation We Build: Parenting, Responsibility, and the Future We Shape

There is a quiet but undeniable truth woven into the role of parenting: the future is not something that simply arrives, it is something that is shaped. As parents, the responsibility we carry is not partial or occasional; it is complete. What we allow, what we correct, what we ignore, and what we nurture all contribute to the kind of adults our children become.

To look outside of this responsibility is, in many ways, to surrender influence. When we attribute our children’s behaviors solely to external forces, peers, schools, or society, we risk overlooking the power we hold within our own homes. The foundation laid at home is the blueprint from which everything else is built. Like any structure, if the foundation is not solid, cracks will inevitably appear over time.

Parenting is, at its core, an investment. Not one measured in money, but in attention, consistency, and intention. The seeds we plant in our children, through our words, our actions, and our expectations, require careful nurturing if they are to produce the best outcomes for them . Left unattended or inconsistently guided, those same seeds may grow in ways we did not intend.

Consider the early years of a child’s life, particularly at the nursery or primary school level.
    These are formative stages where values begin to take root. A simple scenario presents itself: a child comes home with an item that does not belong to them. It may seem small, even insignificant. But in that moment lies an opportunity. Do we address it? Do we guide the child to return the item and understand why that matters? And more importantly, do we follow through consistently each time such a situation arises?

These seemingly minor decisions are not minor at all. They are lessons in integrity, accountability, and respect for others. The same applies to how children navigate social environments. How are they supported in interacting with different personalities? How are they taught to handle disagreements or differences in opinion? These early experiences form the framework for how they will engage with the world as they grow.

There is often a desire for a quick solution, a “magic wand” that can ensure positive outcomes. But the reality is far less convenient and far more powerful. The closest thing to that magic wand is the role the parent chooses to play. Consistency, presence, and accountability are not always easy, but they are effective. Ignoring or excusing behaviors in children that we would not accept from ourselves as adults sends a clear message, whether intended or not. It teaches them what is permissible.

Children are always learning, even when we are not actively teaching. They absorb what we focus on, what we speak about, what we consume, and who we allow into our spaces. In this way, parenting extends beyond direct instruction, it becomes an environment, a culture, a way of being that they internalize.

When it comes to the school dynamic, it is often acknowledged that not every child learns in the same way. Yet at the same time, society accepts that children become adults at age 18 despite the word “teenager” still being embedded in that number. So which is it? Are they still in a developmental phase, or are they fully formed adults?

From my perspective, children should remain within a structured learning environment until age 19. By around age 17, certain interests, strengths, or desires often begin to take clearer shape. Rather than forcing all students through a single academic pathway, those final two years could be used more intentionally. If a particular inclination has taken root, that is the time to nurture it.

This could take the form of a more flexible system, one where students continue attending secondary school, while also spending a portion of their week engaged with another institution aligned with their interests. For example, two days a week could be dedicated to technical training, creative development, or specialized skill-building through programs supported by government bodies or partner institutions. Such an approach would not only acknowledge different learning styles, but also prepare young people more realistically for the paths they are naturally drawn toward.

Yet even this expanded view of education has its limits. Embodying who you are as a whole is not confined to academics or a skill set. That is a different level of development and communication, one that cannot be fully standardized or delivered within the structure of a school system. Some aspects are best cultivated within the home and through lived experience.

Conversations around the body, how it functions, how it is cared for, alongside spirituality (whatever that may mean for each individual), and an understanding of nature and the role we play within it, are just as essential. More importantly, these are not merely topics to be taught, but experiences to be lived and demonstrated. They require presence, openness, and a willingness to explore beyond conventional frameworks.

Schools can support awareness, but they cannot replace the depth of guidance that comes from intentional parenting and personal exploration. This is where the role of the parent becomes even more significant. You are your child’s greatest example, their first reference point, and in many ways, their earliest hero. That role should never be replaced by external sources. Schools are not designed to fix children; they are intended to assist parents. Education systems can support development, but they cannot substitute the values, discipline, and sense of self that must be cultivated at home.These dimensions of growth shape not just what a child can do, but who they become.

Real change begins with ownership. When we fully accept that we are the primary architects of our children’s early understanding of the world, we begin to act with greater intention. Every choice, what we reinforce, what we challenge, what we overlook contributes to what comes next.

The mind itself is a powerful creator. It shapes perception, influences behavior, and ultimately determines direction. So the question becomes: what are we allowing into that mental space, both for ourselves and for our children?
    For those who may have encountered the book “Animal Farm” during their school years, it may be worth revisiting.

Parenting serves as a reminder that what is established early, and what is left unchallenged, can shape outcomes in profound ways.
    In the end, parenting is not about perfection it is about responsibility. The foundation we build today will determine not only who our children become, but also the world they go on to influence. Each to their own reality. Yes.

3. Thanks for this. It’s a simple but effective solution. Now if the idea people would only acknowledge & implement.

4. @Grenville

Your points are very valid but I think what we are seeing is criminal economics at play.

What I mean is this. How long does a gas attendant have to work in terms of hours to earn $1000? A honest well raised teenager may say “it’s a start and it’s legal so I will begin there.” Many others though to that option reply with “stupes I could mek nuff more on the side.”

So the question that I can’t get an answer to no matter how many times I ask it is this. Has crime become such a large part of our economy that touching it now is impossible? Before you dismiss that question ask yourself how would the St Vincent and Jamaica economy be without their marijuana trade? What percentage here on the rock today does criminal activity generate in terms of our GDP? If a study is ever done here on that I think the results would frighten you!

5. I appreciate you sharing this blog post. Thanks Again. Cool.

6. Bushie

Pearls shiiite.
    The biggest criminals in this world are the readers of your foolish book. That book itself, is replete with the largest crimes. At least when a man commits murder we have an idea about the limits of such crimes. But when other man pretends to be reading a foolish book and doing a lotta shiiite, well cloaked, he’ll have a congregation covering up those larger crimes.

7. Another man

8. @ John A

So the question that I can’t get an answer to no matter how many times I ask it is this. Has crime become such a large part of our economy that touching it now is impossible? Before you dismiss that question ask yourself how would the St Vincent and Jamaica economy be without their marijuana trade? What percentage here on the rock today does criminal activity generate in terms of our GDP? If a study is ever done here on that I think the results would frighten you!

+++
    The probability is zero for your questions. You knew the answers before you posted the questions.

9. @ John A

Crime is NOT related to poverty.
    It is a function of GREED.
    Some of the most HONEST, peaceful, trustworthy people that exist are dirt poor.

As you know MOST of those who relish their wealth tend to be dishonest, greedy, and untrustworthy.

So ‘touching’ the high crime levels in a society is much more likely to be challenged by the fact that those who are THEMSELVES responsible for mounting the challenge are actually the TRUE targets that need to be addressed.

The obvious solution is to make honesty, transparency, and integrity the REQUIREMENTS for taking on national responsibilities.
    So when brass bowls KNOWINGLY elect people such as Trump (and others) of questionable morals AND OF ZERO TRANSPARENCY, (or when they fail to vote AGAINST such jobby) …and then play that they are crying ‘wolf’
    …Bushie does only dead wid laff…

What blindness!

10. GOOD MORNIN’ DR PHILLIPS! LOOKS LIKE YOU HAVE DECIDED TO ACCEPT ANOTHER MISSION IMPOSSIBLE FEAT! I AM FLABBERGASTED THAT MEN SUCH AS YOURSELF ARE HELD SURREPTITIOUSLY & CLANDESTINELY ON THE SIDELINES OF BAJAN POLITICAL GOVERNANCE – WHILE A BUNCH OF SYCOPHANTIC DEPLORABLES OCCUPY THE HIGHEST SEATS IN THE DISHEVELLED HALLS OF GOV*

What gave me comfort this morning from your piece was something your tutor, Mr. Wharton, told your mother: “Don’t worry about him. He’s a plodder. He won’t get there with the lead pack, but he will get there.”

THAT IS DEEP STUFF, DR PHILLIPS

Change in a place like Barbados will not come from a “LEAD PACK” of dramatic revolutions. It will come from “PLODDERS”, people who keep asking the “DIFFICULT” questions, who keep sharing the information, who keep refusing to look away, even when the mountain seems impossibly high….

No one climbs a mountain by looking at the peak – we climb it by taking one STEP*, then another, & then another…

The analysis you’ve done is the “ROAD-map”! It’s essential work – but the map is NOT* the climb!!!

I have so much to say on this matter, as someone who was the “BRIGHTEST” kid (NOT ONLY IN SCHOOL BUT EVERYWHERE ELSE IN 1960s GIVEN WHATEVER GENETIC PROPENSITY & PREDISPOSITION WAS PLANTED IN ME), but also having sat @ the feet of my great uncle Dr Alfred Wilkinson Blackett (who taught #PrimeMinisters, doctors, lawyers & other world renowned scholars) – who had a vested interest in his rebellious nephew, (THAT CLEARLY WAS ONLY INTERESTED IN THE PRETTIEST GIRLZ; HOW MUCH LUNCH HE COULD HAVE THE LADIES BRING TO SCHOOL; AND HOW MUCH GANGA I COULD SELL & SMOKE DURING LUNCH TIME PERIOD)!!!

Like many today, school was an after-thought, but I still had the academic, cerebral proficiency to get 100% in a Latin Exam, while half drunk & “HIGH”, (a lesson that was taught by the Headmaster) of the school – where I would have been “HEADBOY” had my “WUFFLESS”, “INDIFFERENT” behaviour – not been so completely rebellious!!!

This is not to pour any KINDA’ scorn on my “SWEET” grandmother who was a paragon of beauty & virtue – the “PROBLEM” was her “GRANDSON” who faced half dozen expulsions in his tenure as a high school pupil – but due to a raft of academic/moral/social “BREACHES” of the law, that ought to govern the behaviour of young people, mentally & emotionally I could not give (“2-HOOTS) about nothing or nobody!!!

As a “TESTIMONY” to the “GOODNESS OF THE MOST HIGH”, what I discovered in my early adult years, (MID 20s – 30s) was that I went “UNDIAGNOSED” for what today I know is called “ABANDONMENT SYNDROME” (a psychological condition that is prolific in the lives of both men & women today – to such “PANDEMIC” proportions), yet few are hardly ever treated, or counselled through the process to recovery!!!

I left England @ 5 years-old! I “BAWLED” @ Southampton port having to board that ship without my “DAD”!!! My “LOVELY” mother was not enough without him! I “NEEDED” my DAD*!!! But conditions necessitated otherwise – for he had to “HUMP” & “HUSTLE”, “SCRIMP”, “SCRAPE”, “GRAVEL” & “GROPE” in 1960s Britain, having arrived a decade earlier – where he & “OTHERS” (AS A POSTWAR GENERATION OF MIGRANTS) were faced with an (“ABBATOIR” of “RACIST PIGS”) – yet they had to do what had to be done for “FAMILY” back in the Caribbean!!!

Then it got too much, (FOR HE KEPT *FOOPING* THE ‘OLE GIRL AS SHE WAS SUCH A GORGEOUS BAJAN GIRL & AS A RESULT HAD ALMOST [5] CHILDREN BACK 2 BACK IN [5] YEARS)!!!

It was no longer sustainable. So off we went to “GRANDPARENTS” on both sides of the aisle…

There began my “PSYCHOLOGICAL BATTLE” with what I call – “AS”!!!

In spite of the fact that it would easy for me to level 100K words which I could posit on this issue & others – “BLESS THE MOST HIGH” for such “AMAZING LOVE” that “RESCUED ME” – even in my darkest despair, darkest moments; (RUNNING THE STREETS LIKE A MADMAN – WITHOUT A CAUSE OR WITHOUT A CLUE)!!!

This is why I often say, that I will not take any lectures in any form from anyone (UNLESS YOU CAN WALK A MILE IN MY LOAFERS OR HAVE LIVED WHAT I HAVE EXPERIENCED)!!!

Coral Ridge, Westbury, Christ Church & “OTHER” cemeteries are “CHOCABLOCK” with men who “DIED” never fulfilling their “CREATED POTENTIAL” – only to “LIVE HARD” – “DIE YOUNG” & “MAKE A GOOD-LOOKING CORPSE”)!!!

Not so, in my case!!!

BLESS GOD* FOR HIS GOODNESS & MERCY – FOR I DO NOT DESERVE WHAT I HAVE – EVEN TODAY!!!

Dr Phillips, permit me to not make this an exercise in “BLOVIATION” – for “ACTIONS” speak “LOUDER” than mere “WORDS” – yet, all things were established by “THE WORD”!!!

Let this be the (1ST) installment towards this pertinent piece you have so graciously laid out on the table of postmodern life – where if not followed in however many parts you choose to posit – then may we be the “LOSERS” & some others, be the “WINNERS” in giving heed to what you have been given on this very salient matter!!!

#OnThatTemporaryNote – (DEAR SIR)

#Off2TheGarden

11. How do weeeee civilize these bible readers? Maybe they should clear the mole from their blinded eyes before being proscriptive.

Up to now such people take no collective responsibility for the crimes against humanity wrought by Christendom.

No collective responsibility for the crimes of their god as written within their very book.

But they always present as having some ultimate or undeniable set of correctives for everything which they perceive to be wrong with the human condition.

This predetermination is no better than a child correcting a great grandmother. For their god, their book of lies, their own acceptance of Whiteness, which bible readers have, whole-heartedly, are all very recent inventions, self impositions.

And when Afrikan peoples, those who consider themselves thusly or not, so purport they are by definition disowning their own ancestry. All in the service of a criminal White god, even under specious guises which they have long labored, in the absence of rigor, even common sense, to convince themselves about.

12. 99.9 percent of the bible is foolishness by Muabaruka 🔥
    Mutabaruka, the renowned Jamaican Rastafarian dub poet and radio host, has frequently expressed highly critical views of traditional Christianity and the Bible, often referring to them as “foolishness” or a “madness” that has enslaved the minds of black people. While the specific numerical phrase “99.9 percent” reflects his hyperbolic style in addressing his followers and debating Christians, it encapsulates his broader argument against Eurocentric religious indoctrination.
    Key aspects of Mutabaruka’s views include:
    Critique of Colonial Religion: He argues that the Bible was used as a tool of colonization and that many black people are still enslaved, not by white people directly, but by “the white man’s God”.
    Rejection of Europeanized Imagery: Mutabaruka challenges believers to look at the images of Jesus they worship and recognize them as unnatural, arguing that people have been conditioned to accept myths rather than rational reality.
    The “Foolishness” of Belief: He often debates the validity of faith, calling on black people to stop accepting “faith and superstition as actual evidence”.
    Context of His Views: His position is that of a Rastafarian revolutionary who promotes Afrocentricity and critiques Christianity as a “madness” that distracts from historical and cultural truth.
    Mutabaruka often uses provocative language in his work and interviews to challenge listeners to “read the Bible differently” and to move away from what he considers a detrimental blind acceptance of the text.

13. Like many today, school was an after-thought, but I still had the academic, cerebral proficiency to get 100% in a Latin Exam, while half drunk & “HIGH”, (a lesson that was taught by the Headmaster)

xxxxxxxxxxx

THIS SOUNDS LIKE THE SCHOOL ON TOP OF THE HILL I ATTENDED ON THE 2X3 ISLAND.

WHERE WELLINGTON AKA BULLDOG WAS HEADMASTER AND TAUGHT LATIN.

14. Grenville,

Not only did they do poorly at secondary school, it has been reported by Cheryl Willoughby that over ninety percent of those in Dodds Prison for violent crimes “read” at the level of a three year old. This means that they were left behind from the very start. That cannot be blamed on them.

Yes, we are definitely cultivating our criminals, and we are only concerned with feeling big when our own children come out tops. Now, the same children cannot enjoy life in peace and safety. Very shortsighted!

Your suggestions are in line with my thinking. Except that I believe that there are different types of intelligences which need to be equally recognised and appreciated. When my toilet is not working, I want to see my plumber, not my doctor at my door. I am certain that everyone has felt the relief of seeing the plumber arrive.

My eye surgeon is quick to say that his is just another learned skill. He has the most wonderful attitude, one that could solve most of the world’s problems.

“Nuhbody en bigger dan nuhbody.”

15. @Donna et al: “That cannot be blamed on them.

I agree with you on this.

When I walk up to buy a little bit of pot in my neighbourhood I am often approached by young children asking for questions. They call me “The Teacher.

“What is 3 * 3? Nine.

.”What is 3 ^ 2? Nine.

I was advised not to post this, but I am doing so.

16. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

HAPPY SABBATH BOYZ & GIRLZ – THE OIL SHOCK IS COMING

#AreYouReady4It

17. @Terence Blackett: “THE OIL SHOCK IS COMING

No shit, Sherlock.

18. ‘With this sign we shall conquer them’.

Historically, these are the words most vividly remembered as the peoples of the South and most of the world were set upon by the civilizing project first expoused by the Catholic Church.

Of course, the ‘sign’ was their crucifix and their rechtoric was the propaganda of the book known best to others.

Whether a civilizing, a missionary, an evangelical, a colonial project or a crusade they have one thing in common, they are children of one mother ………….. imperialism. It’s therefore impossible to be an anti-imperialist and not be against these features of imperialism.

That one could still find this playbook to talk about civilizing people in 2026, absent of wider epistemological context, while asserting that a civilizational mission is still important, tells of the manner of man the country continues to produce.

Indeed, this writer finds such people, even imbued with their petite bourgeois credentials, to be more dangerous to the country than all the murderers we’ve had.

Others might purport that the levels of crime and violence exhibited by some best represents the wider culture we’ve long had and which is generally enacted on a daily basis. In these circumstances the work of the civilizing missions of the modern day missionaries has already been done, and done excellently!

These types of ideas are never aimed at the powerful, the Whites, the moneyed classes, the titularly respectable Blacks, no! And once other poor people are threatened it’s always easy to get them to turn on themselves. Divide and conquer!

19. Last night in Washington a clearly phony assassination attempt was purported to have been made on the useless life of the man who claims to lead the unfree world.

Every time Donald Drumpf seems to be seriously challenged by dwindling public sentiment, declining polling numbers and other difficulties, there always seems to be associated with attempts on his criminal life.

As if the imperial core did not have enough forces of destruction pressing relentlessly against it, now appears a trend which says that the maniacal psychopath in the White House, as following the edit of his mentor Roy Cohen, really believes in his articles of faith – ‘Never apologize or admit wrongdoing, ever. Always counter-attack, and always with greater force than you received. Use the legal system as a weapon, not a recourse for justice. Manipulate the media ruthlessly. Use fear as both shield and sword. Build a fortress of loyalty around yourself’.

Weeee see the dark arts of Drumpf, himself, behind all these ‘made to fail’ assassination attempts. Even as last night’s purported attempt seemed to have occurred one floor above.

These are the real scenes where the cultivation of criminals are most obvious but we wouldn’t know it, would weeee! For there has never been any indication that Donald Drumpf has ever been anything else but a criminal. Certainly, these level of cultivated criminality at the centre should have the effect of arousing a deeper level of consciousness within us all. Maybe after such, a better way forward could be conjured. An anti-imperialist ethos!

20. Today, the government of Mail killed over 1000 terrorists who made a coordinated attack against the government of President Goita.

It was a bloodbath for the France-backed and NGO supported ‘cultivation of criminals’ which have long become the primary type of hybrid warfare which the West, across the board, has long declared on Afrika.

This form of cultivation heavily relies on an extreme form of Islam. But nobody here can see crime beyond the lesser than.

And as the said same West has spent the last 20 years pretending to be fighting against the very terrorists extremists when in truth and in fact all the Western countries have long been recruited terrorists to destabilize Afrikan nations thus making their exploitation much easier.

21. IN RESPONSE TO THIS WELL-THOUGHT OUT PIECE BY DR PHILLIPS, TIME CONSTRAINTS AND OVERACHING FACTORS NEGATED ME FROM ANSWERING THE CALL TO DUTY TO ADD FUEL TO A FIRE THAT HAS REACHED INFERNO PROPORTIONS WITHIN THE BODY POLITIK OF BAJAN SOCIETY! THOUGH THE SPIGOT HAS BEEN TURNED ON, THE OIL REFUSES TO FLOW DUE TO UPSTREAM PRESSURES THAT ARE STMYING THE PROCESS. UNLESS CONCERTED MOVES ARE MADE TO REMEDY THIS SITUATION, THE GRIM REALITY WILL BE ANARCHY, BEDLAM AND UNCONTROLLABLE CHAOS

It is a fact of life that many in our current epochal timeline are desperately in need “SPIRITUAL EYESALVE”!!!

OUR LEADERS ARE NOT ONLY DEAF, DUMB & BLIND – THEY ARE IMPOTENT & USELESS!!!

If the “BLIND” lead the “BLIND” – will they not “ALL” fall into #WelchmanHallGully*???

What say ye then about the deaf, dumb, impotent & useless???

#MarcusAurelius, (Emperor-Philosopher), imagined building an “”INNER CITADEL”, a fortress of the mind that no external chaos could breach…

The “STOIC” philosophers, writing in a time of “PLAGUES” (PLANDEMICS), “CORRUPT” emperors, & “POLIETICAL COLLAPSE”, developed a “PSYCHOLOGY OF RESILIENCE” that is directly useful for anyone feeling the trauma of “NATIONAL INERTIA”!!!

Within the core teaching is the “DICHOTOMY OF CONTROL”, that says – “Some things are within our power, while others are not. Within our power are opinion, motivation, desire, aversion, and, in a word, whatever is of our own doing; not within our power are our body, our property, reputation, office, and, in a word, whatever is not of our own doing” as cited by (Epictetus, in Enchiridion)…

When applied to Barbados, none of us cannot control whether the Prime Minister prosecutes a “DRUG KINGPIN”!!!

None of us cannot control whether “ACAT” does its job – neither can anyone of us control whether the education system reforms!!!

But what we can control is –

Whether we speak the “TRUTH” – even in private

Whether we teach our children to “READ” – regardless of the school or age

Whether we report what we see to the “WHISTLEBLOWER” platform

Whether we refuse to participate in the “SILENCE”

Whether we “MODEL INTEGRITY” in our own small sphere or NOT*

This is the “INNER CITADEL METAPHOR”!!!

The “OUTER WORLD” could be on “FIRE”, but the “INNER SELF” remained sovereign!!!

This is why Dr Phillips’ piece is so timely and why Barbados must address this existential threat to its “NATIONHOOD” before all hope is gone!!!

Let us begin

The core central argument is that schools are the upstream faucet.

Dr. Phillips uses a brilliant and simple analogy: crime is like a flood.

For 30 years, Barbados has been “bailing water” (policing, arresting, imprisoning) instead of going upstream to “turn off the faucet.” That faucet, he argues, is the secondary school system.

I know this for a “FACT” – as I was one of those variables who was instrumental in this trend going as far back as the 1970s.

Dr Phillip’s key points are devastatingly clear, that the “Academic Curriculum” is designed for the 20% – where the system teaches to the pace of the fastest learners.

The other 80% are, by the 3rd form, experiencing “learned helplessness.” They know their role is to be “supporting cast” – so they stop trying!

It’s “Not About Intelligence”#, he stresses that the 80% who learn later are “neither brighter nor better” than the 20% who learn earlier. It’s a difference in pace, not potential – but the system punishes pace!

Dr. Phillips’ “Personal Testimony” as one of the 80%, a self-described “plodder” who only understood material after the final exams.

He was saved by a tutor who recognized his pace, not his ability. Most children don’t find that Mr. Wharton.

The proven outcome, as he states is fact that “Barbados’ prison reports confirm that the vast majority of our inmates did poorly at Secondary school.”

The system is a pipeline!

The proposed solution is teaching for mastery, not “Selection”!

Dr. Phillips’ solution is a radical shift in pedagogy. Instead of teaching to the top – teach to the bottom!

His framework is to teach abstract theory first, (e.g., conjugating verbs, music theory, theoretical science).

Teach practical, conversational, applied knowledge first.

Only the 20% who grasp theory quickly succeed – 80% are discouraged.

All students can grasp the practical – success builds confidence.

Discouragement and low self-esteem become the “ideal culture for cultivating criminals.”

Confidence and demonstrated ability create the discipline to then tackle the more difficult theory.

Dr Phillips is arguing for a mastery-based, not a time-based, system.

Every child can learn the material – they just learn it at different times.

The Blog’s comment section, as always, adds crucial layers that complement Dr. Phillips’ thesis – for example, #JohnA introduces the “Criminal Economics” question, by asking whether crime is now so large a part of the economy that touching it is “impossible.”

Suggesting what percentage of GDP is criminal activity?

The schools produce the labour, but the drug trade provides the employment.

You can’t fix one without the other.

The #Bushman challenges the poverty-crime link by arguing that crime is not about poverty but “GREED”, and that the most honest people are often the poorest.

He then makes his sharpest point: “touching” high crime levels is difficult because those responsible for mounting the challenge are “the TRUE targets that need to be addressed.”

This is the “Elite Corruption” and impunity we’ve been discussing.

The system is protected by those who benefit from it.

#MichelleMatthews adds the parenting dimension as she argues that the “foundation” is laid at home. Schools “assist parents,” they cannot replace them.

This is the socio-cultural corruption, the breakdown of the primary unit of socialization – a school cannot fix what a home breaks!

Dr. Phillips’ piece fits perfectly into our ongoing conversation. It provides the missing link between the social roots and the system of impunity – for it explains the “youth curse” under discussion, based on a failing education system, being the primary mechanism for producing the pool of alienated, unskilled, low-self-esteem young people who are then prime recruits for the drug trade.

It shows the limits of “fixing people” without fixing systems, where we have discussed that experts say you have to “fix people” in primary school.

Dr. Phillips agrees, but he shows how, by changing the pedagogical structure, not just by blaming parents or adding social workers.

It makes the corruption even more costly, as the drug economy that the “elites” protect and profit from is literally being fed a steady diet and supply of human capital by the state’s own education system.

The corruption at the top and the failure in the schools are two ends of the same corrupt oil pipeline!

Dr. Phillips promises a #Part2 on how to “train those whom we have already cultivated in a legal trade.” This is where the rubber meets the road.

To truly turn off the faucet of the legal trade vs. criminal economics will mean that we have to address #JohnA’s point.

What legal trade can offer a young person the income of even a low-level drug runner?

The answer is not just skills training – it’s a restructuring of the entire low-wage economy.

Then there is the impunity barrier – where the #Bushman is right.

The people who benefit from the drug economy (the elites, the corrupted officials) have no interest in seeing a generation of young people successfully diverted into legal, low-paying trades – they need the foot soldiers!

The “Parenting Gap” as cited by #MichelleMatthews is also right.

A school can teach skills, but it cannot instil or install values – if the home is broken.

Any solution must include a massive, non-judgmental investment in parenting support and early childhood development.

Finally, Dr. Phillips has done a great service by identifying the upstream faucet so clearly.

But turning it off will require not just pedagogical reform, but a direct confrontation with the criminal economic interests that benefit from the current flow.

The schools are cultivating criminals – but the elites are harvesting them!

The “HARD TRUTH” not spoken out loud is this, a young person in a drug-running network can earn Bds$500 – Bds$1000 per night.

A legal job in retail or hospitality pays Bds$8 -Bd$10 per hour, or Bds$1600 -Bds$2000 per month for full-time work!

The Question Part 2 of Dr Phillip’s next piece must answer, is what legal trade can offer a young person without academic credentials a monthly income that competes with even the low end of drug money?

If the answer is “NONE”, then training alone fails – “HOUSTON WE HAVE A PROBLEM”!

The possible answer (to be credible), #Part2 would need to propose not just training, but state-supported cooperative enterprises in high-value sectors (e.g., renewable energy installation, high-end construction, digital services) where workers are owners, not employees, and earn profit shares that approach drug trade levels.

This requires startup capital, government contracts, and protection from being undercut by corrupt elites.

It’s a political economy solution – not just a training program.

Either all hands of deck – or the “TITANIC” sinks in the cold, murky waters of Atlantis!

#OnThatOntologicalNote

#IMDUN*

22. Cultivating Spirituality
    60 years ago the Conquering Lion of the Tribe of Judah visited Jamaica
    the Rastas played their nyabinghi drums with a soulful joyous sound
    Point is the energy of the Universe (or God) is a subtle feeling inside
    in the same time frame blacks gained civil rights in USA
    Caribbean nations broke / lost their colonial shackles and chains
    Hippies spoke of making love not war and smoked holy ishens
    The energy of God and Universe is a subtle force within us all
    and must be cultivated with daily practice and released from the heart
    to spread love around the world
    not the hate propagated by far right propagandist Christians
    there are many a song that has been censored by the Bu media that should be released in public domain

23. Well, Brer Foolie, (that’s me) having been abandoned by her garden helper cousin, has, through necessity, finally figured out that Google is a better friend than he. And my good friend Google told me that sweet potato slips can be had by simply putting the pointed end of a sweet potato in a jar of water. Brer Foolie always wondered why the ones that grew from her sweet potatoes on the shelf looked so poorakey. Turns out they needed water to grow new roots and sprout bigger leaves. So, Brer Foolie, having been greatly enlightened, bought herself some little pickings and away she grew. But her friend was not finished there. He told her that she could poke some holes all over a grow bag (store bought or makeshift) filled with nice soil mix, and stick the slips in every hole. Now, Brer Foolie can place those bags round by the backyard fence,where the dogs will make racket to wake even the dead if any foolish sheep dare to tred like the ones that repeatedly ate my last slips into extinction.

Here end today’s lesson on how to easily cultivate food that can sell just as well as weed without being criminal.

P.S. Next lesson will be on how to cultivate squash in some big buckets with some old mopsticks stuck in and tied up to make a trellis for climbing. Squash leaves keep catching fungus on the ground.

What a friend we have in Google,
    All our fruit to help us bear,
    What a privilege to carry
    All our ignorance right there.

Oh, the fools who wait and tarry
    Oh, what needless hunger bear
    All because they do not carry
    All their ignorance right there.

24. Here ends or endeth today’s lesson ☺️

25. @Donna… To reflect on this.

My wife made a wonderful lemongrass Thai soup last night for us. I cooked the rice (after several rinces).

I cut the lemongrass from our garden.

26. report.

27. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan

Dear Donna and others: It is not always illiteracy. One of the young men who died at St. Alban’s Beach last Sunday was educated at Coleridge and Parry School, which means that he would have scored from the mid-60’s or higher in the 11+. The same Coleridge school which educated at least one working class governor general, Anglican bishop, central bank governor and countless doctors, lawyers, teachers, engineers, architects, nurses, skilled tradesmen and excellent parents. The same Coleridge and Parry which educated my own kid. The “victim” at one time shared a classroom with my kid. My kid, without a father has managed to graduate from CPP, BCC and an excellent foreign university. Please note that I have never had a husband. Not my own husband, and not anybody’s else’s husband, lol! But I was present for my children every day. I taught them right from wrong, supported the schools in their disciplinary measures, held the children by the hand and took them, not sent them to Sunday school and church most Sundays.
    What we are seeing is not the result of material poverty. It is a poverty of the mind. What my father born in 1911 and who finished school at 11 has always called “poor minded.” Nobody in Barbados is as poor or as poorly educated as was my father in 1922 Barbados. Yesterday one of my grandchildren asked me where I was born “at home” I replied. The next question was “what time were you born” I replied that I do not know because I don’t believe that my parents could afford to own a clock in early 1950’s Barbados. Please note that I am not glamorising poverty, because I know and have lived material poverty myself, for example I did not get a pair of shoes until I went to school out of my village at age 9 when I went into class 3 at the school in the next nearest village a bus drive away.

28. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan

Donna and her sweet potato triumph. Just remember that every living thing needs water, whether you are an elephant, a mosquito, a tree or a sweet potato slip.
    When I was growing up by this time my father would have had his 2 acres ploughed, and bright and early May Day morning it was all hands on deck as our father and we children [free labor] went to the field barefoot to “drop yam plants” then dad and a hired worker would plant them. Our mother would remain at home to cook for everybody. The other acre would remain in sugar cane. The good Lord would end the rain, we all pulled weeds, but soon the yam tendrils would over the field and thankfully not much more weeding required. The yams would be harvested on New Year’s Day [more free labor] packed away in the dry cellar and would keep us fed until the “hard time” of August. Flying fish was cheap them, so we were mostly good. It is a bit dry now but before the end of this month I will plant yams, sweet potatoes, cassava, pumpkins, peppers and okras. My father continued until his 90’s and I plan to do the same, God willing.