The Prime Minister seems rightly annoyed whenever she states that the DLP left Barbados holding a debt burden of $18 billion when she assumed office in 2018. If this is true, then every member of that DLP administration should have publicly repented in sackcloth and ashes. However, I have been studying Barbados’ economy since the year 2000 as part of my duties as President of the Barbados Association of Professional Engineers and I cannot reconcile that $18 B claim.

The International Monetary Fund publishes annual reports of each country so that citizens may know how well, or poorly their country’s national economy was managed. The annual report includes the national debt. The Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is the value of everything Barbados produces each year. Any debt below 40% of our GDP is good management. Any debt above 40% of our GDP is bad management. Any debt above 60% of our GDP is very bad management. The IMF reported the following debt for Barbados.

In 2016, gross debt was $14.5 B and 149.5% of GDP.
In 2017, gross debt was $15.8 B and 158.3% of GDP.
In 2018, gross debt was $12.95 B and 125.6 % of GDP.
In 2019, gross debt was $12.7 B and 116.2% of GDP.
In 2020, gross debt was $13.3 B and 143.7% of GDP.
In 2021, gross debt was $13.7 B and 127.8 % of GDP.
In 2022 gross debt was $14.6 B and 113.7 % of GDP.
In 2023 gross debt was $15.2 B and 111.5 of GDP.
In 2024 gross debt was projected as $15.0 B and 100.8 % of GDP.
In 2025 gross debt was projected as $15.2 B and 102.5 % of GDP.

Based on the evidence from the IMF: (i) the DLP seemed to leave us holding 15.8 B debt in 2018, (ii) the BLP reduced the debt by approximately $3 B during their first year in office and (iii) the BLP took Barbados debt back to $15.2 B in 2025.

CANCELLING DEBT.

That $3 B reduction in debt was not due to addressing the massive wastage and corruption mentioned in the 2018 election campaign.  Instead, it was mostly from cancelling debt owed to the people of Barbados. Debts of $1.3 B owed to our National Insurance Scheme and $1 B owed to our Central Bank were never to be repaid. Also, part of our pensions were seized – never to be repaid.

To their credit, the BLP administration renegotiated some unfair loans that the DLP took in desperation during the Great Mismanagement. That resulted in some debts that we owed to others being reduced.

MANUFACTURING EVIDENCE.

In addition to the IMF reports, further evidence against the $18 B claim is that the current Governor of the Central Bank worked for the IMF in 2018 and has not convinced his former IMF employers of the $18 B figure. Further, the DLP’s Minister of Finance during the Great Mismanagement of the nation’s finances in 2017 and 2018 is now a faithful BLP Minister. Even he has not admitted to mismanaging our finances to the $18 B figure.

Should our Prime Minister stop claiming that the DLP, as terrible as they were in managing Barbados’ economy, left us $18 B in debt? Of course not. Like every Barbadian, she too has the right to dispute the IMF’s analysis. When disputing established claims, we should provide measurable evidence to support our opinions. We cannot simply speak evidence into existence – only God can do that.

Grenville Phillips II is a Doctor of Engineering, Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

20 responses to “We are not Gods”

1. Grenville fails to understand that our PM understands NOTHING about finances, except that ‘money is power’, and that it is there to be spent to achieve her REAL passion – which is the exercise of political power.
    So she probably actually believes the lotta nonsense that she speaks so eloquently, and may even seriously be committed to the MANY false promises that she constantly makes …and breaks.

The thing about political power is that it is built on SELFISHNESS.
    The mendicant yardfowls are therefore easily misled with PROMISES of easy handouts, free fetes, unrealistic housing promises, and with ZERO ACTUAL PERFORMANCE REPORTS.

As an engineer, Grenville’s type of analyses are far more suited for jurisdictions such as China and Singapore, where leadership takes on a more COMMUNITY-CENTRIC approach, where therefore TRANSPARENCY is at the forefront… and therefore where scientific analysis becomes relevant.

Bushie has already advised Grenville about the wisdom of throwing pearls to brass bowls… and would have thought that the last election results – where the clearly DELIBERATE lack of transparency was FULLY ENDORSED by local brass, should have finally convinced him of the futility of wasting good pearls…
    …Especially on those who did NOT bother to vote AGAINST the lotta shiite!

All that is required for evil to triumph is for decent brass bowls to not vote.
    However the thorny bed that has been laid will accommodate all brass.

What a time ahead!

2. Bushie

She seems to know that this fiat systems is not real, is just a shell game, a paper game. A game which is coming to a soon end. And in those circumstances, why not borrow until the end comes if the system, like you’ve previously argued, is going extinct.

Of course, the critical flaw in this alternative argument is that there is and was never any real or fallback position when the predictable end of this fiat system crumbles.

3. @ Pacha
    “Of course, the critical flaw in this alternative argument is that there is and was never any real or fallback position when the predictable end of this fiat system crumbles.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Yuh wrong!!!!

This is your Achilles heel.

Not only is there a ‘fall back position’ but that position is the VERY PURPOSE of the creation of ‘Project Life on Earth’ in the first place.
    It is ALL contingent on something called RIGHTEOUSN
    ESS.
    AKA ‘building Godly character’
    AKA ‘Choosing to always stand up for whatsoever thing is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy.

4. I interpret the numbers quite differently. In almost every other country, public debt is rising sharply. We haven’t seen an increase for EIGHT years. So, relatively speaking, we are in a much better position today.

It would be naive to believe that we could reduce the debt burden in absolute terms. Rather, we should ‘grow out’ of our stalling debt through sustained economic growth.

If all measures to prevent new debt fail, we can always implement a second debt write-off on local bonds. Our people are apathetic and naive, and over a bottle of rum they’ll soon forget all about it in the coming years.

Tron
    fair and balanced

5. So we made a 0.6 billion gain on debt improvement over 9 years, after crippling the Niss and causing investors to lose millions on their state held paper investments. All while paying White Oaks millions to tell us how to do it. That is what you call proper!

Oh and forget the debt to GDP talk, a large percentage of that is inflation, so the GDP would have increased on that alone. Plus the creditors don’t want no GDP talk they want interest and principle paid. Finally these figures don’t tell the full story either as ALL that kick down the road debt has interest attached too, so you may well find on some loans the TOTAL DEBT INCLUSIVE OF ALL INTEREST CHARGES may well end up higher due to prolonged debt payment times.

6. @John A

The reality is that national productivity has not risen in any significant way in the last couple decades. Reduction in the debt to gdp as stated was as a result of the debt restructuring in 2018. The foreign reserves is mainly as a result of borrowed money. Who are we fooling?

7. We have not put reform to the governance framework on the table.

We have not discussed the unwillingness of successive governments to operationalize transparency legislation.

We have not discussed meaningful reforms in the court system that translates to significant change.

We have not discussed reform of the transportation sector.

The list is long, who are we fooling?

8. Bushie

Some argue persuasively that a Creator cannot create anything else but another Creator.

Indeed, the people of the Mesuit gave this logic to their descendents, coming from the beginning of all that there is. However, the title of the articles supposes that we are not all Gods. That every living creature on Earth is not a God, every physical feature, like the Ancients established and which is evident throughout the universes.

This is the nature of the confusion your ilk brings to mankind. For instead of accepting nature as the alpha and omega, certain books, written by men and based on fictional narratives are much preferred.

Secondly, ours was limited to the narrow confines of a materialistic interpretation of the kind politicians are known to be primarily concerned about. Not to be a general or all-embracing consideration.

9. Bushie

Why should the Bajan look to your Boss Man for things over which we, ourselves, are the Almighty?

We would have supposed that you were unlikely to want to waste your Boss Man’s time with the trite.

10. @ David

We are no better now than we were 9 years ago in terms of the amount we owe. Plus the debt declared is the capital owed, it DOES NOT include the new interest cost or carrying cost of the debt. So yes we may of had a loan at say 7 percent which we borrowed now at 5 percent, but its over a much longer period so the gross interest cost in fact makes the TOTAL loan cost more that before. Plus no plan has been made to refinance the NISS fund which took a hit of over 1 billion dollars. If a refinance amount of even 1 billion was booked as due to the NISS, we would actually be worst off than we were debt wise 9 years ago and that is after crippling the NISS in the process.

These are the things no one wants to talk about and as a result the ball is allowed to go to the boundary unchallenged.

11. @John A

At the core of our problem is our inability to create a new economy, less dependent on tourism for example.

12. @ David

That is a big part of it, all we see as a future here is toursim so we put all our eggs in tourism. An industry that is sensitive to the slightest of global disruption. We saw what covid did to it but we went right back depending on it none the less. So now we are worried about what a prolonged war in Iran will do to the same one leg economy five years after covid.

Iran should not be your only worry though. Concern yourself also with Cuba and softer sanctions. What happens if the travel ban on Americans visiting Cuba is lifted, their infrastructure rebuilt and major Hotel names start building there? We will never be able to compete price wise with them for sure not with their low wage cost.

13. @John A

To diversify requires vision, creativity and innovation from leaders. The leadership is a function of our collective education system?

14. That is precisely why we support the Cuban government: so that the US sanctions remain in place forever and the Americans are forced to visit us.

Our honourable Foreign Minister, Christopher Sinckler, is truly a genius!

Tron
    fair and balanced

15. @ Tron

My friend you are truly a character!LOL

16. @Tron “Our people are apathetic and naive, and over a bottle of rum they’ll soon forget all about it in the coming years.”

But I don’t drink rum, so how can I ever forget?

17. Grenville wrote “We cannot simply speak evidence into existence – only God can do that.”

But we too love adulation, don’t we?

18. @Cuhdear Bajan March 16, 2026 at 8:43 am

People like you are a threat to the state and the party, and must be kept quiet with a seat in parliament, a construction contract or other favours.

Tron

19. Eugene Estwick John Knox Avatar
    Eugene Estwick John Knox