Popular conservative Charlie Kirk, 31 years old, was shot and killed hours ago in the United States. The motive remains officially unclear, but the blogmaster will assume that it was politically motivated. In recent years, the rhetoric across the U.S. and beyond has become very divisive. Political actors, on all sides, have unleashed untamed monsters into the public space and fake news..

This tragedy is not just an American headline. It’s a cautionary tale for Barbados. We may be small, but we are not immune. Our leaders – especially the politicos who prefer to take the easy road for the sake of popularity – must wear the crown of leadership with greater responsibility. If we are not the best guardians of our fate our social and political environment could easily morph into the chaos being witnessed elsewhere.

Let Charlie Kirk’s death be more than a news item. Let it be a warning of what is possible. A word to the wise should be enough.

117 responses to “Conservative Activist Charlie Kirk shot”

1. ” gun deaths in exchange for the preservation of Second Amendment rights is part of America’s reality.”

https://www.newsweek.com/charlie-kirk-says-gun-deaths-worth-it-2nd-amendment-1793113

2. Bang bang, Charlie!
    Charlie’s gone away
    Charlie got a bang bang
    And Charlie’s gone away.

Give me tonight to feel! I will think tomorrow.

3. It is an irrational attempt at equalization by talking about divisive rechtoric on both sides, intellectual laziness even. The American socalled democrats are racist and Zionist too, but they have not, since the 1960s created the faultlines in which vile creatures like Charlie Kirk could dwell.

Indeed, this polity was developed by the White-Republican-Southern-evangelical Christian types, like Jerry Falwell. Given life by Ronald Reagan and may other American luminaries.

Given the history of America, the undying and endemic racism, a racism which accordingly to the great Gerald Horne, still to this day, boils in the maw of Whiteness that their property, Afrikan slaves, were unfairly taken away. This is their principle argument.

It is their insistence, as argued by Horne, that the counter-revolutions of previous epochs, are never to confront a genuine revolution. That any attemps in America to create a new society are to be forever crushed. Meaning, that a class collaborationist like Kirk could achieve a perverse stardom in 2025 in the eyes of Whiteness.

These White, mainly Southern, Scofield-bible-reading-christian types, convinced of their supremacy, continue to feed into the lie that they are superior to all others. And regardless of progress made by Afrikan in America, in their minds, the racist ethos must be ever present.

4. This is frightening.
    Within recent times we have seen events (Trump and Kirk) that lead to further separation of left and right. Soon or later one of these matches will fully ignite and I fear that a racial component will be added into the mix.

It is difficult to understand why the USA would allow this monster (Trump) to divide and weaken the country.

5. Trump represents the tip of an ‘iceberg’. Do you really live in the USA and do not know its DNA?

6. Violence is as American as cherry pie

7. Theo
    You’ve underestimated events. For neither Trump nor Kirk has the ability to ‘divide and weaken the country’. Before them they were other. And after them, for Trump will die soon, yet others. Racism is culturally bound!

These two are merely data points within a vast and deeper culture. Had these two not existed they would have been two others. Or 100 million more.

This is what happens when cultures are infused by wilful lies for 500 years, and more.

8. I am not at all surprised. And I do not call it an assassination, like that of Presidents Abraham Lincoln, James Garfield, William McKinley, and John Kennedy. I call it murder. That’s it. If that man was in Barbados we would call him a yard fowl.

I well remember hearing of the assassination of Kennedy while standing in Mr. Watson’s shoe repair shop on Church Street and listening to the news being broadcast on the Reddifusion in this very American voice. A woman. It may have been Barbara Walters.

Americans have the right to bear arms and they regularly use guns to kill each other and often enough to kill themselves.

So no surprise here.

9. It appears that the shooter is a well trained marksman, likely present or former USA military who if he/she had shot a non-American during any of Americas adventures abroad would be called a hero upon returning home.

10. Charlie Kirk stood 80 miles from where George Floyd was murdered, faced an overwhelmingly white audience, and declared he was going to say things “no one dares say out loud.”

What followed was an avalanche of aspersions and debunked claims about Floyd, the Black man whose death at the hands of a Minneapolis police officer set off a global reckoning over racial injustice and broad calls for change. But the white conservative agitator had a counter view: Floyd was a “scumbag,” he said, unworthy of the attention.
    Source: CBS News November 18, 2021

11. “We made a huge mistake when we passed the Civil Rights Act in the 1960s,” [Charlie] Kirk said during a political convention called America Fest in 2023. Kirk referred to [Dr. Martin Luther] King Jr. as “awful.”

12. MAGA influencer Charlie Kirk celebrated President Donald Trump’s “Liberation Day” takeover of the nation’s capital by calling for the Trump administration to unleash a “full military occupation” of other large American cities “once we liberate” Washington, D.C.
    Source [The] Independent, August 11, 2025

13. MAGA influencer Charlie Kirk celebrated President Donald Trump’s “Liberation Day” takeover of the nation’s capital by calling for the Trump administration to unleash a “full military occupation” of other large American cities “once we liberate” Washington, D.C.
    Source: [The] Independent, August 11, 2025

I’ll add that if Trump had unleashed a full military occupation on Orem, Utah Charlie Kirk would still be alive. But Orem Utah is 70.26% white; and 0.88% African American, whereas Washington, D.C. is 40.91% African American and 37.96% white

14. According to today’s BBC.com
    He [Charlie Kirk] spread anti-transgender views and skepticism over the Covid-19 pandemic, and also publicly promoted the false claim that the 2020 election was stolen from Trump.

15. Turning Point USA CEO and co-founder Charlie Kirk once said, “I can’t stand the word empathy, actually. I think empathy is a made-up, new age term that — it does a lot of damage.”
    Source: https://uk.news.yahoo.com

16. Just before Charlie Kirk was shot he was asked a question about the number of mass shootings in the last 10 years. These are typically done by young white men. Instead of answering the question Charlie chose to respond with a question “does this include gang shootings” no doubt taking a dig at young non-white men. However young black and Hispanic men do not shoot 6 year old’s at school as at Sandy Hook, nor children at prayer as in Minnesota recently.

Charlie could have, should have answered the question truthfully.

17. If you live by the sword, you will die by the sword. This is the word of God. Hallelujah.

I command you, love one another.

18. @Simple Simon

What is the point you are making? You seem to be happy that because Kirk was divisive in his rhetoric being taken out by a sniper is par for the course?

19. Let Us Prey

Chuck was known for his controversial speeches at US campuses and that is how he ended.

1st Amendment spin is about Extreme Irrational Political Views

2nd Amendment is about Bang! one shot and he’s dead…

The End

Right Wingnuts anguish “weeping and wailing and gnashing of teeth”

20. Killing of Trump ally lays bare America’s bloody and broken politics

Anthony ZurcherNorth America correspondent

Contains disturbing scenes.

1:13
    Contains disturbing scenes.

Students flee as Charlie Kirk is shot while speaking to a crowd of hundreds
    Moments before the crack of a gunshot changed everything, thousands of students had gathered under clear blue skies at an idyllic Utah college to hear from a man considered a rock star in conservative campus politics.

As the 31-year-old Charlie Kirk sat under a tent, debating political opponents taking their turn at a microphone, many gathered on the lawns cheered – and some protested. Seconds later, they were all running in terror.

The activist was struck in the neck by a bullet, mortally wounded. The episode playing out as cameras rolled, some showing the murder in bloody detail.

The images will be hard to forget – particularly for the many young conservatives for whom Kirk held celebrity status. The leader of their movement, regardless of the ultimate motive behind his killing, will now be viewed as a martyr for the cause.

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cm2z9z4m22ro

21. Cuhdear Bajan is making the point that Charlie Kirk should not be mourned, even if we don’t favour the act that took his despicable, white supremacist life.

Charlie Kirk set the table for his killer to eat upon. Hatred killed the hater! White on white violence! Poetic justice! Gotta appreciate it on some level. My twenty-four hours of savouring the moment are not yet up.

Bang bang, Charlie!

22. Yes, he will be viewed as a matyr. It won’t change anything though. There have been many martyrs for many causes.

23. You can mourn anyone on a human level while despising what they represented in life.

24. Guilt by association with corrupted misinformation is the way to go.
    People and organisations who support trash talk should be identified.
    Farage, Jacob Rees-Moog, Priti Patel, GB News promoted Turning Point (UK).
    Supporters in the crowd are all nasty pieces of work / brainwashed racist youths.

25. The Death of Charlie Kirk
    Reminds me of the thought experiment
    question popular in US political debates
    “Would you kill a Baby Hitler?”

Perhaps C Kirk would have become another next upcoming trumpish PotUS
    as he was popular in populist networks around the world and touted as a (Oymoronic) Conservative Intellectual better than all the other sell out would be pretenders added together

We don’t need another DJ Trump chump 1 is 1 too many

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2025/sep/11/hellhole-uk-stolen-elections-south-korea-charlie-kirk-took-message-abroad

26. @David September 11, 2025 at 3:21 am “@Simple Simon what is the point you are making? You seem to be happy that because Kirk was divisive in his rhetoric being taken out by a sniper is par for the course?”

I’d never heard of the man until yesterday. I simply quoted CHARLIE KIRK’S OWN WORDS, and a little bit of the Bible.

Why do you think I am happy about his death?

27. I command you, love one another.

28. With sorrow remembering those innocents who died on 9/11, including the wife of the newspaper vendor on Broad Street, who cried when he told me that his wife had been murdered.

Remembering my brother’s wife who was in the second building but managed to escape before it went down, but who is traumatized for life. Remembering my niece who as a 17 year old did not know for many hours that day whether her mummy was dead or alive, as mummy walked home in her high heeled work shoes from Manhattan to Brooklyn.

On that day virtually the whole world was on Americas side, but American has squandered that love, that compassion, that empathy.

May the souls of those innocents who died on 9/11 continue to rest in peace.

29. @Simple Simon

Why quote the man if you do not want to make a point? Anyway the last word is yours, time is priceless.

30. Charlie Kirk, community college drop out [I mean who drops out of community college?] and West Point reject is alleged to have said that black women do not have brain processing power.

Even I a Simple Simon was able to successfully complete community college [before being admitted to university] even while working a full time job and living on my own therefore doing all of my own cooking, cleaning, shopping and washing.

Truthfully community college int that hard.

West Point rejected him.

31. Why are you and others so focused on the man himself? The real story is what he’s accomplished by mobilizing millions of young people across America and gaining access to the inner sanctum of conservative leadership.

32. Trump acolyte.

Trump mouthpiece.

This morning old, old, Trump is alive and well, surrounded by security “White House” style, and poor foolish young, young, young Charlie is dead, dead, dead, as a door nail.

And neither Trump nor anybody else in this world is powerful enough to raise poor Charlie from the dead.

No power.

None.

33. @David September 11, 2025 at 8:58 am “Why are you and others so focused on the man himself? The real story is what he’s accomplished by mobilizing millions of young people across America and gaining access to the inner sanctum of conservative leadership.”

We are focused on the man because it is the man who is dead.

Unfortunately his ideas are not dead.

All that is required to gain access to the inner sanctum of political leadership is to be an unrepentant yard fowl. It doesn’t require any whole lotta brain power, nor morals, nor nothing serious so.

34. As you see the outpourig of sentiment for Charlie Kirk, there is one thought to keep in your mind. Hypocrisy is and code words are cornerstones for the racist foundation of America… In one ear, out the next

Three examples
    If you hear a discusion on the amount of a salary, then a black is a contender for the job. If it is a white man, you will find that the salary mentioned is not enough.

Trump has appointed a number of unqualified persons to high office. Usually when a black person is in line to get a ‘good’ job, then qualification becomes a part of the discussion. Blacks are never qualified. The DEI discussionis just an extension of that bit of hypocrisy.

Church can be the coldest place on earth. I remember on our move to Dallas Texas, my wife dragged me into a ‘white’ Catholic Church No one said anything but we left feeeling not wanted. We never went back…… If you are not to religious, but your wife wants to drag you to church, I am cerain I can find the address,

35. Hypocrisy and code words are cornerstones for the racist foundation of America… In one ear, out the next

36. A few months ago, Kirk said: “It’s worth it to have a cost of, unfortunately, some gun deaths every single year so that we can have the Second Amendment”.
    Source: bbc.com

I will add that when Kirk said this I doubt very much that he saw himself as a potential victim of gun violence.

“Put your sword back in its place” Jesus said to Peter “for if you live by the sword you will die by the sword.”

The Gospel According to Saint Matthew, chapter 26, verse 52

This is the word of God. Hallelujah.

37. Were flags lowered for the little children shot while at prayer on August 27, 2025?

38. “Were flags lowered for the little children shot while at prayer on August 27, 2025?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yes, flags were lowered in honour of those victims of the August 27 mass shooting.

39. “Charlie Kirk’s killer is still at large but the FBI say they have found a high-powered rifle and tracked the movements of the suspected gunman”

BBC

40. “The real story is what he’s accomplished by mobilizing millions of young people across America and gaining access to the inner sanctum of conservative leadership.”

That is a good enough reason to attack the boy

He was no wise teacher he was just reviving racism and was as subtle as fuck

I cannot find any videos of his works, i.e. Turning Point rallies, speeches and crowds as the search engines are just pulling up his death and not his life

Anyway back to the real life matters that should be addressed in these times..

Students protesting about genocidical murderation of Palestinians are deemed terrorists.

Students supporting Rightwing Conservative extremists are deemed patriots.

Civilian deaths do not meet criteria of Genocide when someone’s skin is brown

There is not one Palestinian Civilian that Israel has left alone or chased out of their home

1 dead racist propagandist is not worth more than 66,666 dead Palestinians even in the cursed Hypocritical Western News Reports

41. The killers of 11 innocent Venezuelans recently are also still at large although a tan man claimed to be the killer. A man ‘known’ to the FBI.

The truth is that a lot of people are killed everyday where the killers are well known to the FBI and no arrest far less, or interest, is shown by the FBI.

In short, the FBI is no different to the BPF or any other police force. For their selective interest and investigations are generally shown. Political!

Even when considering extra territorial jurisdiction which America selectively asserts, and the FBI has forces internationally, a genocidiere like Netanyahu, charged by the ICC and ICJ – the International Criminal Court and the International Court of Justice – could go to the WH and seems to not be noticed by the FBI. For even the man who there resides seems to be able to get previous charges expunged,

42. I don’t mourn Charlie Kirk on ANY level, human or otherwise. He would not mourn for me. He would not mourn for my son.

No, I cannot be guilted into mourning for Charlie Kirk. I do not have to prove my humanity to anyone. I am human. My ancestors were human. No! I will not bow to white man expectations or those of people who seem to need the approval of the white man. Why should I mourn the death of someone I wish had never been born?

Today, I mourn for the shooter. For he has more to worry about than Charlie Kirk. And has accomplished nothing.

43. Cuhdear is right.

Those that live by the sword SHALL die by the sword.
    He that diggeth a pit, his donkey will end up in it…

Even individual brass bowls need to check ourselves with respect to Karma, cause WHATSOEVER a BB soweth, THAT ALSO shall he reap.

We ain’t see NOTHING yet!!!
    What the Israeli Demons are doing in Palestine will be like Kindergarten…

Time is short.
    Karma ain’t mekking nuh lotta sport… ESPECIALLY with demons.

BUT…
    As the prophet Big Youth explains in his Song of Praise.
    “One thousand shall fall at my side
    and ten thousand at my right hand…

What a world…

44. To your point – what has Charlie Kirk achieved? Nothing amazing in Amerikkka! Any fool can revive hatred to a fever pitch! And Charlie WAS a fool. I would have tied his pathetic paleness up in two minutes flat! He was a factless fool.

45. Bigger Issue?
    Boss…
    He was BUT one of about 18000 persons shot in the USA in the last year alone…
    What happened to him is about as ‘abnormal’ as having a shower.

The BIG issue for Bushie is that the (spiritual) Demons who are currently running things allowed him to be shot dead – unlike Trump.
    You CAN BE ASSURED that this was SOLELY because he will become MUCH more destructive, divisive and ‘effective’ for them as a MARTYR, than he EVER could as the low-rate, uneducated, younger version of Trump that he was….

BTW…
    France seems to be getting set for THEIR turn at Karma…
    Can you even IMAGINE the cost of what they did to Haiti, Africa etc… that now needs to be covered in reparations – Karma stylie…?

Murduh!!!

46. The bigger issue @bushtea is not so much that he is echoing the MAGA message, but that there is such a receptive environment in the U.S. for it. I read somewhere he has been able to create over 300 chapters of his movement across the country. That raises the question: why is the conservative movement growing? Even more important, why must liberals and conservatives engage with each other in the combative, polarized way they do?

Here in Barbados we are seeing a change as well. The tradition of engaging in robust, even muscular, debate, yet being able to smile and share a drink at the end of it, is fading fast.

It is only a matter of time.

47. Charlie Kirk shooting latest: FBI release images of ‘person of interest’ in Charlie Kirk shooting

https://www.bbc.com/news/live/c206zm81z4gt?post=asset%3A8116c820-3fe1-4d60-97a7-efb057136109#post