First it was the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, and now some heartless Barbadians have found a new dumping facility for their elderly relatives at the Harrison Point COVID-19 Isolation Facility in St Lucy. They are dropping off the senior citizens infected with COVID-19 but are not returning for them after they have recovered…
Emblazoned on the front page of the recent Sunday Sun was the embarrassing news some Barbadians are abandoning elderly family members at healthcare facilities. The latest being the newly outfitted Harrison’s Point. What caught the blogmaster’s attention was the cookie cutter quote attributed to Minister of Elder Affairs Kirk Humphrey – he described the development as concerning, pointing out that the situation was indicative of the work that was needed at the level of the family and government to ensure greater provisions for the elderly within a context of an ageing population …blah blah blah. Is this the same Humphrey who was to lead the new Blue Economy?
Minister Kirk Humphrey this is a message for you. Have you ever been in the area of Top Rock gas station or Dover, and spotted an old lady with short grey hair, a slight stoop, and seeming confused wandering around talking to herself? If you have, then you would have seen Theresa Castro.
It was brought to the blogmaster’s attention the elderly lady spends most of the day by Top Rock gas station. From reports, she sleeps in the gallery of her former home (where her daughter currently lives). There is a good Barbadian giving her food and has been trying to source assistance from several if not all of the social services for her. To no avail. It seems she has a mental challenge and is showing signs of dementia. It was reported to the blogmaster the plight of the elderly lady was reported to Minister Kirk Humphrey’s secretary. Up to the time of posting this blog there was no intervention from a single government agency to assist Theresa Castro.
Do you know Minister Kirk Humphrey was quoted in the 19 June 2022 edition of the Nation newspaper he has engaged the Barbados Police Service to assist with those who continue to abuse the elderly? …Blah Blah Blah
Is there any surprise Barbadians have become cynical and apathetic towards politicians?
The blogmaster further understands the plight of Theresa Castro was brought to the attention of the Nation and Barbados Today newspapers, Psychiatric hospital, George Griffith, family members et al- so far there has been no assistance forthcoming for Theresa Castro.
Have we become a soulless a society to ignore a senior citizen in her twilight years in need of assistance? What does it say about the society? What does it say about the good use of tax dollars funding Minister Humphrey’s Elder Affairs ministry?
I am at a loss here. Lisa has asked for no money, nothing material at all. That would be the only reason I could think of that would require her to publish a photo of herself. The woman does not wish to promote herself. She wants to bring attention to those she believes need help.
She has offered to take me to meet Theresa YESTERDAY. She is not hiding herself. She is not hiding Teresa. She has been very, very open with me.
AC is barking up the wrong tree. In doing so, she may discourage others who are willing to step forward to do their civic duty.
Imagine, a woman who is willing to give so much of herself being raked over the coals in this manner. The only thing I am concerned about here is that Lisa might not be capable of switching off for a while, as is necessary to preserve one’s physical and mental health.
One can only do so much.
Yuh see how hit dogs bark
Never once did I say no one should help as a matters of fact i made reference of seeking help from the homeless alliance and that was shot down by Lisa
Saying that Lisa did not ask for anything’ means nothing
One would think that centred at the issue and bringing it to BU attention would be the purpose of seeking assistance by the reader
If not so then what other purpose would there be
Exactly who is the dog and with what was the dog hit?
SMH.
ac,
The NAB officer is well aware of the situation and Lisa’s efforts. She had nothing bad to say about Lisa and her efforts.
I beg you, let this matter rest.
Stop feeding the animals?
Donna
Leave that woman to her own brand of dysfunction. She clearly lacks the ability to comprehend anything. She continues to miss the fact Theresa’s plight was highlighted for the agencies (who have ignored her and the calls to them about her) to be shamed enough to follow through on her matter. I told the woman to think before she post, but she needs to read and comprehend first.
I find it hard to accept that when presented with reasonable positions that even ac cannot be made to see sense.
Thanks for the reminder.
LisaJuly 2, 2022 7:30 AM
Donna
Leave that woman to her own brand of dysfunction. She clearly lacks the ability to comprehend anything. She continues to miss the fact Theresa’s plight was highlighted for the agencies (who have ignored her and the calls to them about her) to be shamed enough to follow through on her matter. I told the woman to think before she post, but she needs to read and comprehend first
Xxxxxx
Your problem is that you now set out to attack my position
A position which I rightfully have asked for answer
Rather than answer u lashed out
As for my emotional position I see an old lady left to roam the streets by family members and for whatever reason only known to themselves
The old lady is not for the want of a home
Social services as u have stated intervene
The mystery of this issue lays at the hands of those closest to here to get the required mental treatment she needs
A question that requires all and every answer as to why the family is not helping
Meanwhile the most that can be done out of food to help the lady is most that outsiders can do
The story has a beginning that starts with a family environment and requires their help in ending the plight of this person
Stone throwing my way is not the answer
“I told the woman to think before she post, but she needs to read and comprehend first.”
🙂 Think before you post? Why do you want to silence ac?
Perhaps, this blog reached the point where contributions cannot move the needle to any great degree, The end result is now extended personal exchanges.
It is a beautiful day where I am. I am hoping that you can say the same wherever you are.
Have a great day.
Crop over festivities started yesterday fun music and masquerading top of the list
Meanwhile the most vulnerable keeps asking
What about us
Another sign and example of the bajan condition in full flight
What a dry run
Seems like the show is over
Yawn
When a person’s family doesn’t care for an elderly person whose mental state has deteriorated, there should be a way for state authorities to intervene at the request of concerned citizens.
If not, then WE ARE ALL at the mercy of our relatives who may not care.
I do not think that I would be in such a position. My family takes care of their own. But suppose I outlive those who would care?
This is not a matter to be taken lightly.
If u outlived those of family members u will become a ward of the state
Right now govt cannot ride rough shot over the law as family members while alive remain legal guardian of the elderly and that is a truth
Personally I having to deal with that issue
I would shame the family along with seeking alternative help
My personnel opinion states that the old lady family concern lies with her financial situation rather it be benefits or other resources
This story does not fall in the category of an elderly left out on the streets
Apparently this old lady has a history of family members able to get her the help.necessary but refuses to do so
Lisa heart might be in the right place but she is up against a heartless bunch of family members who doesn’t seem to have a heart
Hmmmm……
In the initial stages of this ‘discussion,’ SOME persons seemed to be of the opinion that Lisa had an ulterior motive for helping Thersa.
ArtaxJuly 4, 2022 8:38 AM
Hmmmm……
In the initial stages of this ‘discussion,’ SOME persons seemed to be of the opinion that Lisa had an ulterior motive for helping Thersa
Xxxxxc
There are a lot sick minds out there and yours seems to be one
angela cox July 4, 2022 10:24 AM
Please be reminded, I ‘said’ “SOME people.”
NEVER made any reference to ‘angela cox,’ ‘ac’ or any other particular individual. Yet, you responded with pejorative remarks.
Remember, “HIT DOGS BARK.”
ArtaxJuly 4, 2022 11:41 AM
angela cox July 4, 2022 10:24 AM
Please be reminded, I ‘said’ “SOME people.”
NEVER made any reference to ‘angela cox,’ ‘ac’ or any other particular individual. Yet, you responded with pejorative remarks.
Remember, “HIT DOGS BARK
Xxxxcccx
Yeah right
JOKER
🃏 🤡 🃏 🤡 🃏 🤡
A reversed Theresa situation?
Cops got too much power and too little brains and heart.?
https://www.wsbtv.com/video/local-video/metro-woman-with-alzheimers-arrested-domestic-violence-despite-daughter-not-pressing-charges/0668d7f1-fae5-49b2-9082-5cb58248c4cc/
I said family members WHO CARE. Obviously I was referring to a situation such as the one highlighted where there are family members WHO DO NOT CARE. WE ALL CAN OUTLIVE OUR FAMILY MEMBERS WHO CARE AND BE LEFT TO THE MERCIES OF FAMILY MEMBERS WHO DON’T CARE.
If a child has parents who do not care does not the State step in regardless of the fact that the child has parents who should be caring?
What is the difference between a child and an adult apparently suffering from mental deterioration with a daughter who is not legally responsible for her mother?
Stupid argument.
What some doest want to understand or confidently refuse to understand that if the legal guardian does not give the state permission the state can be held liable in circumstances if the individual becomes hurt or life is endangered while under the protection of state
However there are cases which the mentally ill person becomes a harm or danger to society whereby the state can pursue legal action against the guardian if they refuse to allow govt to take steps to safe guard the mentally ill person as well that being a protective measure for the safety of society
Theresa case does not fall into such category
The family members holds all the rights while tying govt hands and frustrating those who wants to help the old lady