What would you call a social security fund that has not published audited statements in over a decade? – 10 marks

We should not take our eyes off the NATIONAL INSURANCE and Social Security Service (NISSS formerly the National Insurance Scheme (NIS). The late Walter Blackman, an actuary by training, allocated time to highlighting the importance of the fund. As a moderator on the popular VOB, Getting Down to Brasstacks, he was well positioned to sensitise Barbadians on the importance of the fund, its inadequacies and the importance of improving its governance.

Despite his best efforts it seems a majority of ‘educated’ Barbadian continue to be unconcerned about the fund. We need a modern day Clement Payne to fire Barbadians with another call – “educate, agitate, but do not violate”.

The transition from NIS to NISSS, occurred on Dec 1, 2023. As it is June 2025, and not a single Report, not even one to indicate the assets/liabilities transferred, confirms little has changed.
While digital tools should aid in operational effectiveness, and should be likewise assessed in the public space, since the administration of OSA, the GoB has determined the NIS is “fah we to know and fah you to find out”.
The transition was largely to bury the past. An ugly period of mismanagement of the island’s largest asset. But once the people getting paid today, who worrying bout tomorrow? We will deal with that then.
The people don’t deserve one shiite, they deserve what they are willing to fight for. Thus far the NIS/NISSS is not something they seem willing to fight for. And the elected know this.
The Solidarity Allowance could have been a $50M contribution to the NISSS, as previously suggested. But money in yah pocket today, feels better. At least one is responsible for those funds, not some group who doesn’t report.
Do not buy a GoB Bond or TBill, until the GoB entities Report.

Northern Observer

Some Barbadians have mismanaged retirement plans that prioritizes the NIS pension as a single lifeline it promotes the fund to be. The fact that the 17th Actuarial Review projects the fund to be depleted between 2034 and 2041 if nothing is done should be a concern. In simple terms successive governments will have no choice but to increase contributions- already one of the highest in the region- while lowering benefits.

Northern Observer and others on Barbados Underground have been strident about the violation of public trust regarding the unavailability of audited financials for over a decade. The MAIN reason for the NISSS requiring audit is that it is required by law, AND, making audited financials available ensures transparency, accountability and trust. Without audited financials can we confident how the fund is being managed? Without an audited statement how can those responsible for overseeing the fund be held accountably? Why would self employed Barbadians feel confident enough to contribute to the fund under the current circumstances?

It has not gone unnoticed to some that the transformation from NIS to NISSS occurred under the chairmanship of Leslie Haynes, who was elevated to the post of Chief Justice of Barbados for his stellar work. As recent as 2023 Chairman Haynes, indicated the records at the NIS was a ‘total mess‘. It is interesting that although the fund had not submitted audited financials since 2008, Haynes was quick to point out that Barbadians should worry about the fund. If those responsible have demonstrated unfathomable incompetence administering billions of public, isn’t this a good reason for Barbadians to worry? What would Walter Blackman urge us to do from beyond the mortal coil Chairman Reginald Farley?

Like sands through the hour glass, this blog has been strident in highlighting what many Barbadians refuse to see – Barbados’ social security fund is slipping away.

Here is how the above can be summarised.Barbadians have been paying into the NISSS every rh month for decades. Yet for over ten years, WE have been shown the courtesy of seeing a single audited financial statement. not even Parliament.

N.B: The blogmaster apologies for not including in more detail the decision taken in 2018 debt restructure to burn ONE billion of NIS investments.

89 responses to “10+ years, No books at NIS”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

Even the one eyed person can see that. Instead, the pin tail for the donkey has been cash vs accrual accounting methods. Kinda like how the 2008 Financial crisis was to blame for much until 2016.
    The objective has been to bury the history of the NIS from 2005(?) (wasn’t 2006 the last Report?).
    We can wax and wane, but haven’t a clue all the shiite that went down in the NIS. And the intent is to keep it that way.
    It was sooo successful, it is now being applied ‘across the board’.

2. In USA they are filing 100s of Lawsuits against Trump Admin, DOGE, ICE, Anti-DEI, Trade etc, even though the Admin are showing contempt for rulings against them.

The implication is NISS does not want report to the public what it is doing with their funds as it would expose wrongdoings which would lead to multiple legal claims.
    The way these funds work is the young put their money into the pot to pay for the older generation, but if the scheme goes bust they will be out of pocket.

3. IF BLACK LEADERS HAVE THE BALLS* – THEY CAN CHANGE THE STATUS QUO

#NamibiaIsDoingIt with a #WomanLeader whose #HoaryHead shows “WISDOM” & “EXPERIENCE”!!!

#500AmeriKKKanCitizens were also just “DEPORTED” after #VisaOverstays

#ThisIsYourAFRIKA*

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UY7_o4eq4iQ

4. AS I STATED AT THE BEGINNING OF 2025 – THIS WILL BE THE YEAR OF MASS UPHEAVAL WITH BLACK LIBERATION COMING, ONE WAY OR ANOTHER AS BLACK LEADERS GET A *WHIFF* OF THE ODOUR IN THE AIR – THEY EITHER DO RIGHT BY US OR FACE OUR WRATH

“GUINEA” kicked out of it’s country #51ForeignMiningCompanies as “RESOURCE WEALTH EXPLOITATION” has come 2 an abrupt end!!!

The people’s time is “HERE”!!!

5. The people’s time is “HERE”!!!

Music is My Bible

Well hear wicked man say them riding west
    Tell them that them buck up inna Lord Jesus horse
    And Jungle Jesus gun and the Apache dem who line up head
    And lick off chest, no guy test
    Hear wha’ we tell them!

[Bridge]
    Well I can see unuh disappointment, Bounty Hunter Killer cowboy, unuh claim that unuh riding West
    And a guy a run off him mout’, and a big up him chest ’bout Apache dem come fi distress
    But make me tell unuh this
    Unuh make sure God a unuh bulletproof vest
    ‘Cause when mi pop off and splurt anyting weh come fi test, mi say, them gone underground fi go rest

[Hook]
    Make me tell you ’bout scalp dem
    Scalp dem, and hang dem up high
    Scalp dem

Me a go scalp dem…
    And hang dem up high

6. Artax,

It is the balance sheets that are often not provided at these monthly meetings. Obviously you know, unlike some here, that it is easy enough to produce monthly income statements and some other statements/reports that are only about that month’s activities. Balance sheets are reliant on brought forward balances. Anything requiring brought forward balances is the problem.

No, many of these entities do not have complete financials.

Northern Observer,

The only way to be confidant going forward is for us to make it an issue going forward. With the approach John A. suggested, we would have the evidence of recent malfeasance to wave in their faces and could therefore demand accountability. Of course, we could wave our empty hands in their faces right now and assume malfeasance, but I think those who are suggesting that we have capitulated are not familiar with accounting and how it works. Nor with the typical human mind, and how that works.

Here’s what I have learnt about human attitudes and behaviour by serious observation – they don’t much like dealing with old stuff.

Pretty much like when DPD wondered why Brett Kavanaugh should be deprived of a SUPREME COURT lifetime appointment because he had tried to rape a woman thirty years ago. He actually said he would have told HIS OWN DAUGHTER to forget it and move on. And that is the attitude of many, many people when it comes to the loss of a woman’s most precious asset!

Why now? That was years ago!

7. An accumulative total is a running balance
    Any errors down the line is carried through

A spot check of balances would expose any gaps
    and discrepancies of hundred of thousands
    or millions or billions of dollars in the fund total

Here’s what I have learnt about human attitudes and behaviour by serious observation – they don’t much like dealing with old stuff.

Pretty much like when DPD wondered why Brett Kavanaugh should be deprived of a SUPREME COURT lifetime appointment because he had tried to rape a woman thirty years ago. He actually said he would have told HIS OWN DAUGHTER to forget it and move on. And that is the attitude of many, many people when it comes to the loss of a woman’s most precious asset!

Why now? That was years ago!

People have issues in their tissues

PTSD can resurface 10, 20, to 30+ years later
    & Trauma is also passed down generationally

If trauma can be generationally inherited, what does this mean for descendants of American slavery?

Mouse studies show that a generation exposed to a trauma has genetic and behavioral changes that pass down two generations, albeit in a gradient fashion decreasing as the generations progressed

I remember

How they used to beat us so bad
    How they used to treat us so bad
    They used to beat my foreparents
    They used to beat them so bad
    They used to torture them

I remember
    Do you remember

How them used to rape
    Rape the Irie Irie African
    African daughter

And when the raped them
    You know they refused them

This time won’t be like the last time
    This time will be the first time

We going to walk upon them
    We going to step up on them
    For the wrong things they do

Rasta pon top
    Wicked a go drop

8. Dub,

You know that. I know that. Many don’t care to know that.

9. @ Hants

With our 50 million dollar land gift showing on their balance sheet next year it may mek tings little brighter for them. Do some research on their connection with China national bank.

10. @John A

The one notch above junk risk rating must be based on its lending portfolio which has been evaluated as high risk?

11. @ David

That or their ability to underwrite their debt is questionable. Check their dependency on China national and you will see where concern lies as well.

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

Donna
    I shall leave Barbadians to deal with the “new stuff”.
    May I suggest the Paradise land development, we are told ‘by Pendry’.
    Who owns the land? Did Barbadians ever receive monies for that asset which cost them $124M?
    This is current, I will watch as it is made an issue going forward.
    But wait, we en got no information? No reports, which are useless anyways, as nobody acts.
    Lewwee wuk up and enjoy crop over!

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

This thread could have been titled
    10+ years, no books for the QEH.
    10+ years,no books for the Transport Board.
    10+ years, no books for the BAMC
    10+ years, no books for the BTI ( BTII)
    10+ years, no books for the BTMI.
    10+ years, no books for CBL
    10+ years, natta from either Development Commission

14. Is there a trend NO? The time series shows it crosses DLP and BLP administrations. Enough to make any sensible person ponder.

15. David

Read today’s Weekend Nation and, to my surprise, I saw an ‘Objection Notice’ from a company called, ‘G & G Elite Services,’ that stated……

“Having received no suitable applications for the post of OFFICE ASSISTANT as advertised, it is the intention of (the company) to apply for a work permit for a non-national to fill the position.”

David, does G & G Elite Services’ management expect the Chief Immigration Officer and Barbadians to believe there ISN’T ANY Barbadian who is qualified to be an Office Assistant……

…… a job that simply entails answering the telephone and providing administrative and clerical support?

And, bearing in mind there are several qualified young Barbadians who are proficient in the use of ‘Microsoft Office’ and actively seeking employment, I’m wondering if the CIO will actually consider granting that company a work permit for a non-national?

According to Bushie….. “what a place!!!”

16. @Artax

Any Barbadian can object by writing to the Chief Immigration Officer. We like it so, being second class citizens in our country.
    https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/work-notice-548×480.png

17. Northern ‘Money Man’ Observer
    You keep talking about a lack of audited books in BD institutions
    Cut to the chase and give us your best guess / explanation why

are you saying / inferring any of the following possibilities
    anyone who is employed to look after money is on the take due to temptation
    they are in the red and only report when in the black
    these institutional businesses operate off the books
    something is not right
    someone has fu**ed up
    something is funny with the money
    this is representative of the lackadaisical culture
    the accounting figures don’t reconcile with reality..

or some such can you provide us with a reality check

are the auditors being paid more for dragging these workloads out for years past the deadline

are you sorry for missing out on the opportunity to challenge the results

Off the Books
    It’s off the hook this year (Cheddar)
    Makin’ mad money off the books this year
    Ain’t nothin’ but crooks in here
    Gettin’ mad money off the books this year

18. David Bu
    This is off topic,but here goes.Heard Mr Andre Worrell speaking of the issue at the psychiatric hospital.He claimed it was worse than stated that there was some cover up.The obvious question which should have been asked of Mr Worrell was what was his source of information?Did he work there or had family or friends there?Anybody can say anything but must present some evidence.As usual Starcom network the self proclaim opposition in my view gave him full prominence.This is not surprising with Mr Wilkinson in charge of news now.As a moderator he clearly came across as anti government in my view,along with others like Mr Ellis,Dr Hinds and more recently Mr Slocombe in my opinion.These people sem to take pleasure in highlighting as many negatives as they can find everyday in cahoots with regular callers as far as I am concerned.They seem to forget where Barbados was in 2018 and where we are now despite covid and the like.I lived here during the gems last rule and since 2018 and I know which period I prefer without a doubt.I will monitor news coming from starcom very closely going forward.

19. David Bu
    This is off topic but here goes.Recently,heard Mr Andre Worrell stating that the issue at the geriatric hospital was much worse than was being portrayed.The obvious question to me was where did he acquire the information.Did he or his family or friends work there?After all any one can say anything but where is the evidence.Not surprisingly Starcom network gave full prominence to this statement.The head of news there is now Mr Wilkinson following Mr Babb s retirement.Mr Wilkinson as a moderator there appeared to me to be anti government along wit others like ,in my view Mr Ellis,Dr Hinds and most recently,Mr Slocombe.Therefore my reason for not being surprised.Everyday on Brasstacks these persons look to highlight all the negatives they can find in conjunction with about 10 well known gems in my view.This can only damage the country,s image.Lastly,I lived here during the period 2008 to 2018 and since and I can state without question which government I prefer.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

Is there a trend NO? Ask Kiki. He’s a trend spotter.

21. Who Cares it Ain’t My F**king Money said the Public Servant
    The Devil Is In The Detail said the Analyst
    Money Observer Northern Observer is watching Financial Porn and waiting for the ‘Money Shot’ to cum for the climax

22. David Bu,
    Why have you not printed my comment I sent twice although off topic?

23. @000 (my hero)
    👍👍
    Your posts are quite clear, interesting and on point
    You have me wondering.
    Keep up the good work.

24. @Artax

In today’s Nation a company – West Tech Shipping – has applied for a work permit for a Junior Customs Broker.

25. @Lorenzo

WordPress decided to toss your comment in junk.

26. @Hants

They must want their people at the local office?

27. @Lorenzo

Check the man with the skull cap.

28. Social commentary.

Classic – ‘Spot De Light’ (2025)

29. Why has the opposition not pressed the situation of unaudited financials more? they just raised or imposed an increase, was this not a good time to rip hell about the NISSS position? I mean wunna asking for more money but don’t even know what you got. Or is it a case of our greatest MOF since independence, where you just look in the cheque book and say ” the fund good the cheque book got in money?”

Where is the press on this matter and why have we not heard from them more on it? The answer is simple in that this topic is of little interest to most people and hence is not sensational enough to bother with. That sadly is the truth here regardless of how important this is to ALL of us Bajans.

30. @John A

Because it is an issue which they bring nasty hands to the table.

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

Dub, my best guess is the elected in Bim are too humble. After a d(r)ubbing, twice, they pay homage to their partners, by adopting their ‘best practices’.
    Those who need to know….know. F**k de rest.

Nobody pray for me
    It been that day for me
    Way (yeah, yeah)
    Ay, I remember syrup sandwiches and crime allowances
    Finesse on ’em with some counterfeits, but now I’m countin’ this
    Parmesan where my accountant lives in fact, I’m downin’ this
    D’USSÉ with my boo bae tastes like Kool-Aid for the analysts

https://youtu.be/tvTRZJ-4EyI?feature=shared

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    Come man, twas the Ds who began this lack of disclosure which has spread like a sour grass fire outta control. I appreciate being two faced isn’t anything new for the political, but they’d only be opening a can of worums.
    Those who need to know….know.

33. @ Northern

I agree but the problem is those that don’t know need to know and with no one willing to pursue the issue in terms of educating them, many will stay in the dark.

If the NISSS is not seriously restructured the middle aged will get their first pension cheque and death benefit in the same deposit.

34. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

As wunna well know I is a simpleton, so answer this question fah me “if nuff, nuff, money, sex and power does not lead to happiness, good health, or good family life what is the point of tiefing den?

35. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Lorenzo June 6, 2025 at 10:51 pm “…the issue at the geriatric hospital was much worse than was being portrayed.The obvious question to me was where did he acquire the information.Did he or his family or friends work there?”

Barbados is a small place and information [and sometimes misinformation and disinformation, lol!] gets around. We all have a friend, relative, schoolmate working everywhere. That said I don’t know why it was stated that scabies is unusual. It is not unusual in congregate settings, especially congregate settings with vulnerable people, homeless people, prisoners, sick people, old people who may not have been able to bathe themselves and do proper housekeeping months or years before being admitted to care.

Clinical Care of Scabies
    https://www.cdc.gov/scabies/hcp/clinical-care/index.html