What would you call a social security fund that has not published audited statements in over a decade? – 10 marks

We should not take our eyes off the NATIONAL INSURANCE and Social Security Service (NISSS formerly the National Insurance Scheme (NIS). The late Walter Blackman, an actuary by training, allocated time to highlighting the importance of the fund. As a moderator on the popular VOB, Getting Down to Brasstacks, he was well positioned to sensitise Barbadians on the importance of the fund, its inadequacies and the importance of improving its governance.

Despite his best efforts it seems a majority of ‘educated’ Barbadian continue to be unconcerned about the fund. We need a modern day Clement Payne to fire Barbadians with another call – “educate, agitate, but do not violate”.

The transition from NIS to NISSS, occurred on Dec 1, 2023. As it is June 2025, and not a single Report, not even one to indicate the assets/liabilities transferred, confirms little has changed.
While digital tools should aid in operational effectiveness, and should be likewise assessed in the public space, since the administration of OSA, the GoB has determined the NIS is “fah we to know and fah you to find out”.
The transition was largely to bury the past. An ugly period of mismanagement of the island’s largest asset. But once the people getting paid today, who worrying bout tomorrow? We will deal with that then.
The people don’t deserve one shiite, they deserve what they are willing to fight for. Thus far the NIS/NISSS is not something they seem willing to fight for. And the elected know this.
The Solidarity Allowance could have been a $50M contribution to the NISSS, as previously suggested. But money in yah pocket today, feels better. At least one is responsible for those funds, not some group who doesn’t report.
Do not buy a GoB Bond or TBill, until the GoB entities Report.

Northern Observer

Some Barbadians have mismanaged retirement plans that prioritizes the NIS pension as a single lifeline it promotes the fund to be. The fact that the 17th Actuarial Review projects the fund to be depleted between 2034 and 2041 if nothing is done should be a concern. In simple terms successive governments will have no choice but to increase contributions- already one of the highest in the region- while lowering benefits.

Northern Observer and others on Barbados Underground have been strident about the violation of public trust regarding the unavailability of audited financials for over a decade. The MAIN reason for the NISSS requiring audit is that it is required by law, AND, making audited financials available ensures transparency, accountability and trust. Without audited financials can we confident how the fund is being managed? Without an audited statement how can those responsible for overseeing the fund be held accountably? Why would self employed Barbadians feel confident enough to contribute to the fund under the current circumstances?

It has not gone unnoticed to some that the transformation from NIS to NISSS occurred under the chairmanship of Leslie Haynes, who was elevated to the post of Chief Justice of Barbados for his stellar work. As recent as 2023 Chairman Haynes, indicated the records at the NIS was a ‘total mess‘. It is interesting that although the fund had not submitted audited financials since 2008, Haynes was quick to point out that Barbadians should worry about the fund. If those responsible have demonstrated unfathomable incompetence administering billions of public, isn’t this a good reason for Barbadians to worry? What would Walter Blackman urge us to do from beyond the mortal coil Chairman Reginald Farley?

Like sands through the hour glass, this blog has been strident in highlighting what many Barbadians refuse to see – Barbados’ social security fund is slipping away.

Here is how the above can be summarised.Barbadians have been paying into the NISSS every rh month for decades. Yet for over ten years, WE have been shown the courtesy of seeing a single audited financial statement. not even Parliament.

N.B: The blogmaster apologies for not including in more detail the decision taken in 2018 debt restructure to burn ONE billion of NIS investments.

89 responses to “10+ years, No books at NIS”

1. NISSS to pay out nearly $1b

THE NATIONAL INSURANCE and Social Security Service (NISSS) is likely to shell out nearly $1 billion in benefits to Barbadians this year.

Chief executive officer (CEO), Kim Tudor, said a significant portion will be in pension payments.

“This year, we will actually pay out close to a billion dollars in benefits, so that is what passes through the [NISSS]. This is how the [Service] is providing that income support for Barbadians,” she told the DAILY NATION yesterday, while attending the annual International Social Security Association Technical Seminar at Hilton Barbados, Needham’s Point, St Michael.

Tudor also said they were aiming to be more transparent with annual reports and making information more accessible to the public.

“It is our intention to have annual presentation to the public each year on the fund, how it is doing, how much we are paying out and so forth . . . . So that people can have that comfort and that assurance that the fund is there, we are actively investing the fund, we’re getting returns on the fund and giving people a sense of how much we’re paying out,” she explained.

The CEO said a full report will be available soon and they are striving to make more reports open to the public via town halls and public forums.

Annual reports

“That is something that we are actively working on to make sure that our annual reports are updated. Once they are updated, you have our assurance that we will come to the public at least annually, where it’s a kind of town hall format, where we will present our reports.

“How many we paid, what we anticipate that we will pay this year, how many persons apply for the various benefits and so forth,” she said, adding that the information will be shared as a way to rebuild trust between the organisation and the public.

“We recognise the importance and the important role that social security plays in income security, so we take it very seriously. We want you to be able to know that we are working and working towards making sure that happens for you.”

Yesterday’s seminar focused on communication approaches and strategies in social security institutions in the Caribbean.

Tudor highlighted the advantages of digital technology in reaching the public with information on the NISSS’ services and operations.

One of their upcoming workshops will focus on self-employed workers and how they can manage their national insurance payments in order to access benefits.

The NISSS is also looking to facilitate CARICOM nationals working across member states with easier access to their contributions. This initiative aligns with the CARICOM Reciprocal Social Security Agreement, which allows CARICOM nationals to receive social security benefits from one or more member states where they worked.

“Barbados requires you to have ten years in order to be eligible for pension. But if you work nine in Barbados and five in Trinidad or five in Grenada, we can add that to the number in Barbados and you can get a pension in Barbados,” Tudor noted.

She said the agreement also applies to other countries with benefits being paid to other workers in Canada, Australia and the United Kingdom.

“It’s important that we as social security and national insurance institutions in the region, that we meet annually to look at these things, to update the legislation and so forth.

“We’re also looking at a common unique identifier so that any of the CARICOM social security [agencies] can pull up your data or can access it from another institution,” she said. (JRN)

2. How can it be so hard? On the one hand, there are actuarial valuations of liabilities, which must be available for a point in time.

On the other, there are investments, which the actuaries will review but independent auditors should audit and confirm as accurate.

That is really the crux of it. Start there.

So, do we have both of those as at December 31, 2024?

Then, from the information detailed in those and from further information, cashflow forecasts can be prepared, detailing payments for pensions, unemployment etc, and income from investments, income from contributions.

This should all be doable as of now.

That is the most important thing, i.e. the current state of the fund and the upcoming cashflows, for 2025 and the next few years as projections.

So, what is the issue?

I cannot comprehend the difficulty in achieving this, other than the people charged with doing it, are incapable of delivering what should be delivered.

After this is done, they should be able to work back and summarise what has gone before.

But at this stage, may as well start with a clean slate and make the date December 31, 2024 as the starting point.

Madness.

3. @Horsemeat

What would starting with a ‘clean slate’ mean? It would attract an exception comment from the Auditor the consequence of which is that it negatively impacts the sacred metric of sovereign risk for Barbados?

4. The point being David, is that with ten years of reports outstanding, better to get the current state future reporting right, as a priority.

Then we can look back at the prior years.

Assessing the balance sheet as at December 31, 2024 should be easily possible as per above.

By clean slate I do not mean with nothing. It means knowing where we are now and using that to process future transactions.

So, balance sheet at December 31, 2024, is the starting point for ‘now’.

Then we have income and expenditures for 2025 and beyond. All of this should eb available.

If it is not, then there is a huge issue.

At least, at the end of 2025, the AG will have something to audit.

5. Steupsss!!
    Wake up do!!
    Lack of reporting almost ALWAYS means that somebody is DELIBERATELY hiding incriminating information.
    The NIS DOES NOT EMPLOY incompetents to do accounting….
    UNLESS DELIBERATELY SO!

Indeed, note CAREFULLY the kind of people that are PUT in charge.

Same shiite with Town Planning!!!
    We are living in a Mafia.

What a place!

6. Horsemeat is proposing that we look at the assets that matter most and liabilities that should be relatively easy to get a handle on and have provisional reporting to the public.

Of course, the auditors would have problems with providing an opinion.

7. What is required here is way past any audit. Any presentation of financials from 10 years ago now would be useless in forming a position on the fund. The debt restructuring and covid hit the fund hard, so financials prior to those periods would be of little use today.

I have said here several times that what is needed is a demand audit along with an independent valuation of the funds assets, both physical and fiscal. Once this is done and the relevant adjustments made to the fund’s balance sheet, then one can apply cashflow and expenditure figures from 2024 and go from there. An independent valuation of their physical assets would look at things like todays market value of their real estate holdings, as opposed to what they may be booked at. This would mean ventures like the Grotto which cost more to build per square foot than a house in Sandy Lane, would see a reduction in value on the NISSS books when market value is applied as opposed to building cost. A fiscal review would take a bad debt allocation for example on their receivables. So the valuator may say all receivables more than 5 years old will be written of as bad debt. This would mean all the debt they are showing as owed to them that is more than 5 years old, will be removed from their books thereby weakening the balance sheet to where it would now reflect what is deemed as collectable only.

This to me is the only way the NISSS can be placed on a factual footing. I am disappointed that when the new board took over 2 years ago, they did not see that this was done as a matter of urgency. it is a waste of time and money trying to retrieve financials pre 2018 in my opinion, as they would not reflect the funds reality today. Would they be good to have? Of course they would be for historic reference, but every year we waste trying to produce them means we are slipping further behind on current financials. So do the demand audit and independent valuation of assets and lets go from there. If you want to proceed in pursuing the old years then do so. Of course this could mean producing 2015 financials say in 2026, but hey we have wasted time on other things already so carry on smartly.

Long and short is what we are doing now with the NISSS is a major example of financial mismanagement at state level, which if left as is could collapse the fund in a few short years if left unchecked.

8. @John A

Is it a waste of time or a manufactured excuse fed to a gullible public?

You would risk the qualified audit opinion and its impact on sovereign rating?

9. “Is it a waste of time or a manufactured excuse fed to a gullible public?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    It is BOTH of these …. and MUCH, MUCH MORE.

Let us dissect John A’s prescription above…

A DEMAND audit would provide an independent assessment of the financial status quo. To do so, it would look at transactions undertaken and the resulting current asset values and liabilities undertaken by the NIS / NISSS.

The Grotto, as well as other DLP / Kellman mismanagement would be highlighted – and we would have to choose between whether the cause was deliberate fraud and childish incompetence…. (Presumably two 30-0 votes speak to THAT choice)

BUT the BLP then decided to have THEIR sport with the PEOPLE’s INSURANCE funds, and any such audit would ALSO require us to decide if such IDIOTIC decision making was again caused by GENUINE incompetence – or by deliberate malfeasance.

Such an audit appears to be at the sole discretion of the Director of BIG works…. who publicly promised a MUCH SIMPLER report on HOPE – where a lotta shiite has been deposited, …but over a YEAR later, such a straightforward audit / report has remained elusive…

We have to be REAL BBs to think that such reporting is beyond our capabilities – when we have SEEN what the Auditor General has been able to do – with a WIDE RANGE of shiite government departments, …and with DELIBERATELY LIMITED staff….

So CLEARLY, this information has been deemed by the joint political MAFIA, to be ‘TOO SENSITIVE’ to be shared with Bajan BBs – and that our role is NOT to reason ‘why’ – but merely to pay up and diet…

What a place!
    What a set of blind, meek, and hopeless BBs!
    What ‘dry bones’ – as characterized by the Bible…

10. John A
    June 3, 2025 at 8:10 am

What is required here is way past any audit. Any presentation of financials from 10 years ago now would be useless in forming a position on the fund. The debt restructuring and covid hit the fund hard, so financials prior to those periods would be of little use today.

Excellent comment. That is my point. Produce statements as of December 31, 2024, with all of the correct valuations etc, then move from there.

It is about getting control now and doing the right thing going forward.

11. David Avatar
    June 3, 2025 at 8:39 am

@John A

Is it a waste of time or a manufactured excuse fed to a gullible public?

You would risk the qualified audit opinion and its impact on sovereign rating?

—————

But David, I cannot see how, from between three and ten years hence, the audit opinions would not be qualified in any case.

If it has been that ‘difficult’ to extract data thus far, how can any auditor be satisfied with reports now produced from data that old.

I agree that it is a waste of time and surely a waste of funds paid to auditors, unless they have already been paid for most of their audit field work, to chase that now.

Produce the reports to assess trends and analyse how expenditures occurred, by all means, if it pleases. But that is not the priority now.

I also cannot see how it will affect the sovereign rating.

What is now important is providing a status of the affairs as of today and ensuring that standard operating procedures are in place now, to ensure that a repeat does not occur.

Reporting should actually be coming out of NIS(SS) on a quarterly basis.

Audited annually.

12. Bush Tea Avatar
    Bush Tea
    June 3, 2025 at 6:38 am

And what we now need is to start fresh with an approach to provide accountability.

This is not rocket science and despite your belief as to competence, as far as I see it, if a batsman keeps missing the ball, ‘he cyan bat’.

13. ” if a batsman keeps missing the ball, ‘he cyan bat’.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Or perhaps he has bet $1m on his team losing the game….

If you see a fella fishing in a dry pond……

14. I am no accountant and I do not have a business.
    There are a few times when I was caught by surprise when my tax guy asked me about earlier years data. I often wonder why he could not ignore the past and just work with what I gave him, but he convinced me that using this data may save us problems with the IRS.

How do you ‘wipe the slate clean’ as a nation? How do you present data for 2024 without knowing what the hell happened in earlier years? At some stage, you will find that 2024 data requires input from 2023.

Excuses, apologies and ignorant advice are not good accounting principles. Get the data, don’t just make up numbers.

Don’t build a straw house.

15. Thing is too a demand audit would not take that long either as it would only focus on curent figures. An independent valuator once appointed, could also get the asset values together quickly, as they would be quite easy to identlfy once you are using current market values. One must therefore conclude that there seems to be an unspoken decision to try and drag this issue out as long as possible, for whatever reason there may be. Had the new board of issued instructions on taking power that a demand audit and asset valuation be done immediately, we would all have known withing 6 months where the NISSS stands. Why the reluctance therefore to order one now? Does the board in fact even have the power to order one or must the aprroval come from the clouds above?

16. Once you start in 2024, there will be no incentive or enthusiasm to go backwards. Suddenly, it is no longer necessary to hide past misdeeds as they were all swept away in the great flood after 2023.

I doubt you would find a honest auditor or accountant who woulld len his or her name to such a report. And so the shit starts again

17. TheOG
    June 3, 2025 at 9:39 am

I am no accountant and I do not have a business.Get the data, don’t just make up numbers.

It is not ‘making up numbers’ The actuary does a full and proper valuation of the liabilities. As I said above, There is literally no better independent valuation of the liabilities. The actuary will have the existing list of pensioners, of their pension terms, of their ages etc. And other social credit liabilities. That provides the data for his calculations.

The investment valuations and bank accounts are solid numbers, ‘as at a point in time i.e. December 31, 2024. These are all eminently auditable.

The other creditors and debtors, can easily be derived from the existing books and audit.

So, it is far from making up numbers, it is building a balance sheet report from existing and auditable data.

What happened before is not reflected in a valuation of either liabilities or assets existing at a point in time. It helped get them to that valuation, but as of that valuation date, all that matters is the value existing at that point in time.

Then one ensures that the accounting for 2025 is accurate and verifiable and at the end of 2025 one is in a position to do a traditional audit.

Certainly not ‘ignorant advice’ as you so emphatically stated, even though you yourself stated that it is not your area of expertise. It is sound advice.

Your personal tax affairs and THE CONTEXT are quite different from what is being looked at and advised here.

18. TheOG
    June 3, 2025 at 9:45 am

You are clearly not understanding the context and aims.

As for your last paragraph, a report at the end of 2025, after the above exercise that John A and myself mentioned, should be auditable, as long as the records for 2025 were maintained properly.

And that is the whole point of such an exercise. To ensure that current reporting is being done.

We are way past chasing tails.

19. @ Theo

A demand audit basically steps in and confirms where you are today. It doesnt care how you got here or who blow what pun what, its sole purpose is to establish a ground zero financially and a clean confirmable starting point. For instance if you wanted to buy a business and the seller did not have current financials, this could occur to establish a fair selling price and a starting point for new financials.

It would be like buying a second hand car. The valuator dont care about the past, just the current milage, condition and price. This enables him to value it and then you can buy it and go from there. If it local mek sure it aint stolen too! Lol

20. @ David
    @ Horsemeat

The problem we have is the average Bajan doesnt care about such matters. When he is told he has to work to 70 he will cuss then. Walter is no longer with us, but he preached the importance of addressing the NIS fund. It appears his words fell on deaf ears sadly. As for the opposition and press they too have proved useless when it comes to this topic.

21. What John A is suggesting is what I once suggested to a state-owned corporation. It was not accepted at that time.

22. @ Donna

It reaches a point where you have no option and we are there now. The time spent chasing 2015 could be better served preparing for a demand audit. As the saying goes here ” wha gone dun gone.” The blame game is also pointless as both parties did foolishness with the fund.

23. That is what I said at the time. What made it worse is that the source documents were often not even available.

24. You all could be listening to Brasstacks. current caller talking about Eden Lodge.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

It seems the BU crew have been beaten into submission, on this topic.
    Maybe we require a lil peppah in de Vaseline.
    Hold strain, a full report coming soon!!!! Whatever “full” means.
    On Aug 25, 2023 the PM told us Reports from ’10-’16, were complete. Yuh see one yet?
    Keep on tekking it. The people seem to do that well.
    Lewwee forget de past. Just giwwee a current audit. Might as well, cause they been brekking de law for umpteen years, no consequences. In fact promotions galore for employees and Board members.

26. “It seems the BU crew have been beaten into submission, on this topic.
    Maybe we require a lil peppah in de Vaseline.”

There are some areas where BU blogs are ineffective and one is where people / groups should be taking Government / Agencies to Court for nonfeasance / misfeasance / malfeasance in Class Actions

Nonfeasance failure to perform an act that is required by law

Misfeasance is the act of engaging in an action or duty but failing to perform the duty correctly. (unintentional)

Malfeasance wrongdoing by a public official. (intentional)

Governments will address the wrongs when proven wrong although nobody will go down for it

27. @NO

Have you observed Enuff comes in on certain blogs, except those featuring NIS?

28. Northern Observer,

We want to catch the nonsense going forward. I think that is most important, to be honest. Catching up on old stuff from ten years back requires an increase in staff or contracted professionals, or it will delay current financials which are needed to make informed decisions.

So….the choice is – catch the old crap or catch the new crap! I prefer to catch and therefore discourage or prevent the new crap.

29. @ David

Enuf or none of the other faithfuls can dress this up for anything other than what it is. BOTH parties are guilty of doing foolishness with the fund. The Dems under Sinkyuh printed a load of paper and the Bees came along and wrote off $ 1 billion plus of said paper, with no plan of a capital injection into the fund.

When you have a minister of finance that so foolish as to stand up and say ” I have confidence in my inhouse figures so audits aint that important” you got to understand what he is. If that is the thinking at the top God blyma what you expect from those below him? As I said when the new board came in and some extra SSS get add to the fund name, a demand audit and valuation should of been demanded by that board. But no em was business as usual, so any Bajan with 2 grains of common sence would of concluded same nonesence with a few sss add on dat is all!

30. Governments can withhold information if it’s release meant the people would riot*.
    (*) Barbadians rioting would take some doing

31. “It seems the BU crew have been beaten into submission, on this topic.”

That is actually what I was thinking. The cry for accurate and meaningful numbers has been changed to ‘gi we a little sumthing’.

What is being suggested is like going to a garage sale and adding up the price of every item and then presenting a total. Some of the items are just junk and will not sell today or tomorrow; some are overpriced and the price will be adjusted when a real buyer appears … No accurate report on the value of the items can be provided just by looking at the price tags of items on the table.

What I find surprising is the quality of folks who prefer to be counted out than to remain in the ring and keep up the fight. A government operative lurking here must have already filed a report ” Stalwarts have given up. We have beaten the ship out of them”

32. @Donna

Holding players involved accountable should also be non negotiable. It is the only way to disrupt a corrupt culture.

33. @ Theo

Fish seller never say she fish stale yet! Lol

34. I found the following comments very interesting.

“The problem we have is the average Bajan doesnt care about such matters. When he is told he has to work to 70 he will cuss then.” [John A – June 3, 2025, 10:58 AM]

“It seems the BU crew have been beaten into submission, on this topic.” [NorthernObserver – June 3, 2025, 11:30 PM]

For years we’ve been discussing, ad nauseam, NIS not presenting audit financial statements. Same arguments, same suggestions.

‘Don’t get me wrong,’ I’m not ‘saying’ we shouldn’t discuss such an important issue.

However, how many people have TAKEN the TIME to READ, “The National Insurance Board’s Principal Recommendations for the Revitalisation of the National Insurance Scheme,” and how such proposals will affect people who wouldn’t have reached their 60th birthday January 1, 2024?

The qualifying requirement for old-age pension has been increased from 500 weeks (10 years) to 750 weeks (15 years) by 2031, fortunately, without any effect on those individuals 60 years or older on January 1, 2024.

In other words, if an individual who has paid 500 weeks contributions, but has not reached his 60th birthday by January 1, 2024, he/she would be required to pay an additional 250 weeks’ contributions (approximately equivalent to 4 years, 9 months, 13 days).

Pensionable age will progressively increase from 67 years old to age 67.5 in 2028 and 68 from 2034.

The qualifying age for reduced or ‘early’ pension will increase from 60 years old to 61 in 2025, 62 in 2028 and 63 in 2031.
    The “early reduction factors” will INCREASE from 6% per annum to 9%, between 2024 and 2026.
    In other words, people applying for early pension will be penalised for doing so, by ‘losing 9¢ on every dollar.’

An individual who is less than 60 years old on January 01, 2024, would now have to wait until he/she is 67.5 between 2028 and 2033….. and 68 years old after 2033…… to receive ‘full pension.’

Over the years, successive BLP and DLP administrations MISMANAGED the NI Fund (WITH IMPUNITY) ……

…… but PLACED the BURDEN of its revitalisation on the backs of Barbadians, in the form of reduced pension, increases in pensionable age and contribution rates.

Yet, they seem UNABLE to conceptualise and implement policies to adequately address the problem of non-compliance with government’s financial and audit regulations.

According to David, ‘discuss for ten marks.’

35. Give it up @ NO
    You will NEVER understand how BBs could have been SO conditioned to bend over and suffer in silence, …and when given a chance to resist, all they want is for more vaseline to be used ‘going forward’.
    THAT effort took 500 years of subjugation, brainwashing, subservience and self-hate being pressed into gullible minds.

The POINT of a demand audit should be to establish the LEVEL OF THIEVERY, INCOMPETENCE, BRIBERY and dishonesty that has been levied on Bajans over the past two decades WRT these funds.

If then, the BBs are not interested in dealing with those who were involved with Four Seasons, Ape Hill, Grotto and all of the many SCAMS that our leaders exploited to rob this fund …
    …or with the idiots like Kellman, who took on the role of misleading those even more clueless that he is into wasting this resource..
    …or with those crooks involved with Clearwater Bay and Pharliciple Inc.

THEN…
    There would remain no question that Bajans, like Petra, actually like the current stance – and have no real problem – once adequate vaseline (or NUFF SWEET TALK) is liberally applied to the process…

What a place!
    What a wicked curse….
    What a time.

36. @ Bushie

You realise though if a demand audit was done with a full valuation what would have to follow? Based then on where we REALLY are steps would have to be taken to right the ship. Where the money coming from to do that? If the assets turn out to be 1.5 billion and not 3 billion for example who refinancing the fund ? Which politican going move the pension age to 70 and the deuctions to 35% for example? Who going move payments needed to 1250 from 750 say?

Look the approach is ” let we left this thing alone and put in a few dollars now and again.”

37. Were the reports produced and not published
    or not produced and cannot be published.

The technical professional accounting financial and government agency jargon for the non-reports is that “these statutory reports have disappeared up the bum”
    detractors should stop being so anal about it.

38. @ John A
    You may think that the global objective is to save the NIS fund by replacing the $1.5 BILLION that has been stolen….
    But the BIGGER issue is called JUSTICE and righteousness!

Unless we are willing, able, and COMMITTED to bringing to justice those who BETRAYED PUBLIC TRUST, all we will be doing is putting more money together for FUTURE thieves to misappropriate…. planting ground for political monkeys to run on…

Bushie would lock up EVERY SINGLE f$%#&er, confiscate EVERY SINGLE CENT that they and their family and friends stole, and throw away the keys.

You can BET your last dollar, that even if we then had to start over with only $5million in the fund, after that, every shiite will flow SMOOTHLY as outlined in the LAWS.

We are MUCH TOO WILLING to endorse wickedness…
    …mainly because we KNOW that we would probably do the same shiite if given the opportunity. This is WHY we always get exactly what we deserve.

…but NOT stinking Bushie!!!
    … ALL such donkeys would be at Dodds.

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

Enuff likes to WIN, or at least claim victory in their position. The NIS, like CBL, has both sides finger prints all over them. Not a winning proposition. Best to leave them alone.
    Donna
    Your position is noted. I cannot share your confidence that once a base report is provided, they will continue. Look at all the other non reporting bodies? They know they can get away with it?
    Artax
    That is the first Blueprint. More will follow. If I am 35, watching NIS deductions off my pay cheque, must be painful. Also why the self employed are avoiding participation.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@dub
    Your explanations are often fun, and accurate, but you know nuhbuddy en going down. Who funding a class action?
    You can’t even get the employers who remit the contributions to place them in escrow, pending release when the NIS meet its statutory obligations.
    De old people getting their money. It’s the youth who must act.

41. Truth is what I find most worrying in not that we have not seen an audit for a decade, but the fact that a board and this government can make decisions on the fund completly void of over a decade of audited financials.

Cuhdear who would write cheques and dont balance de cheque book? I sure even Ninja man would balance his if he had one.

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

JohnA
    They HAVE financials.
    To have them audited merely verifies them by an independent third party, but more importantly puts pressure on the Minister to release them. No audit, no release. Get it?
    The Board is complicit. For the Act guiding the NIS(SS) clearly states their Annual Report has 3 comments, only one is financials. The Board exists, and continues to meet, and could, if so desired, report on THEIR activities. THEIR decisions.
    Go ask Ms Moore, the longest serving Diwrekker, for she wears two hats, MP and head of BWU. In the latter her membership should demand accountability?
    Den again, dis is Buhbaydus.

43. Is it possible to fire fence the NIF from direct involvement from government/minister?

A good place to start- how Board members are appointed?

44. @ Northern

These are the same people who want to encourage the young and self employed to join the fund. Based on how this fund is being handled do you think it ecourages confidence by the general public? The fund cant even give you a retirement figure based on your payment on entry and a base salary. I can go in the private market and open a retirement plan and they will give me a guaranteed figure at retirement based on a fixed payment starting today. The NISSS cant even guarantee a retirement date far less an amount on retirement. The whole thing is in a dam mess and none of our divine leaders seems bothered either.

45. THE MAJORITY OF HUMANS ARE MAROONED IN A BARREN PLACE ON AN ISLAND CALLED #Stupid

SEE WHY:

46. NorthernObserver

I agree with you that, “they have the financials.”

Based on my experience, Boards of SOEs are often sub-divided into committees, each with a chairman. The ‘finance and human resources committee,’ is one example.

The accounting officer, for example, usually has to attend the monthly finance committee meetings to present and explain the monthly financial statements.
    I’m sure this could be verified by minutes from the meetings.

The ‘$1M question is,’ if they have the financials, WHY have they remained unaudited for 10 years?

Preparing ‘Estimates of Revenue Expenditure’ requires reviewing and comparing financial information from the previous (or previous) financial year(s).

Problems arise when Boards and members thereof, are chosen by the Minister from amongst supporters of whichever political party ‘is in power,’ despite mandatory appointments thereto, such as the Permanent Secretary or his/her nominee, for example.
    Chairmen, usually political operatives also chosen by the Minister, are more often than not concerned with fulfilling the party’s agenda, through the respective Ministers, rather than main purpose of the SOE.

I worked at an SOE where the Opposition accused the incumbent ‘government’ of financial infelicities. After general elections, the new incoming political administration, through the newly appointed Chairman, ordered an audit of the previous administration’s financial activities, and hired a small accounting firm, owned by a prominent supporter of that party, to conduct the audit for a fee of $50,000 per year.
    Despite the fact that, in keeping with the terms of government’s financial regulations, the financial statements were audited by the Auditor General’s Office.

David asked two important questions.

(1). Is it possible to fire fence the NIF from direct involvement from government/minister?

(2). A good place to start- how Board members are appointed?

‘Food for thought.’

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    “The ‘$1M question is,’ if they have the financials, WHY have they remained unaudited for 10 years?”

I suggested why. Once audited, they can’t keep them secret? The Minister/SOE is duty bound to forward the audited report to the auditor general. However, once it remains unaudited it doesn’t reach the auditor general, nor does the Minister have to present unaudited (unverified) information to be laid before the House.

The larger issue, is the number of SOE’s, agencies etc which are following in the NIS footsteps. The TB, QEH haven’t reported in eons. CBL never reported once. The BAMC and the various tourism entities, including the BTI, haven’t reported in 10 years, the list goes on. Housing, development etc.

48. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@David June 4, 2025 at 12:27 pm “Is it possible to fire fence the NIF from direct involvement from government/minister?”

David, you are a very funny guy.

49. @NO

In essence what you are saying is that successive ministers responsible for the NIS and public officers are complicit in the lack of transparency and governance at the place.