In recent months there have been strident calls from Prime Minister Mia Mottley and Governor of the Central Bank for private players to invest in the country. Even the newly minted President of the Caribbean Development Bank Donald Best has added his voice to the call. There can be no disagreement that investment is a prerequisite for driving economic activity in a country with job creation a key outcome.

Minister Ryan Straughn during his maiden presentation of the ‘budget’ announced Barbadians will be given the opportunity to invest in renewable energy projects. He reported that government will partner with financial institutions to package the investment vehicle to facilitate citizen investment. The goal of Barbados is to strive for 100% renewable energy penetration by 2035.

Any opportunity to invest in the prevailing climate will be attractive to individual investors. In recent years the market has provided very view opportunities to realise attractive returns on investment and savings. The government should be confident that there is pent up demand from ordinary Barbadians to invest in the renewable energy space. In principle the blogmaster supports the planned initiative. However, there is a caveat.

For too long the indefatigable Auditor General has published year after the year the inability of a significant number of state owned entities (SOEs) to publish audited financial statements. The SOE at the top of the list is the renamed National Insurance and Social Security (NISS). It is the most important fund in the country and has not published audited according to the 2022 Auditor General since time immemorial.

leigh-trotman
Auditor General Leigh Trotman

The National Insurance Fund has been established to allow for eligible Barbadians to benefit from programmes designed to provide monetary benefits to seniors and others who meet the qualifying criteria. The audits for the financial years ended 31st December, 2013 and 2014 are in progress. The financial statements for the years ended 31st December, 2015 to 2022 have not been submitted for auditing.

The BU family has been like John the Baptist asking for greater priority to be placed by government to resolving whatever issue is preventing the laying of up to date NISS audited financial in parliament. Here is what the Auditor General stated (not the blogmaster) in the 2022 Auditor General report –This Fund needs to be audited so as to provide the public with a current and independent opinion of the state of the finances of this Institution

It is fair to conclude after reading auditor general reports in the last decade that successive governments have placed little to no importance to adhering to key fundamentals of good financial management. It is no stretch to suggest that the indisciplined behaviour by successive governments has influenced Barbadians in some measure – The hip bone’s connected to the backbone, The backbone’s connected to the neck bone...

There is a popular saying that one does not buy a pig in a poke. Why should Barbadians be asked to invest in government instruments if it continues to be less than transparent in financial reporting? A prerequisite to making investments in private instruments is that independent audited reviews are undertaken to ensure a measure of confidence can be derived by the potential investor. In fact it is a legal requirement. There is no reason the Barbados government should be receiving a bligh.

Before any citizen invests in renewable energy stock or any other type of investment for that matter, Barbadians should demand an independent review of the entity or investment vehicle. We have been promised up to date audited NISS financial since the Gun Hill lion was a cub, check BU Hansard to confirm. Do a better job of financial management of SOEs and only then will we show you our money.

Enough is enough!

119 responses to “NO Ryan Straughn!”

1. @Bush Tea Great Defender of the 11+

Is this the same exam that was largely abolished in the mother country many decades ago?

2. I agree with Bush Tea (although I have always agreed with much of what the learned sage opines on), just as with Justice Cumberbatch, Onionbags and Bonny Peppa. People of clear insight.

There is nothing wrong with the 11 Plus.

The problem lies with what the 11 Plus highlights.

That there is a dearth of real education at both primary and secondary level.

How can we have a significant proportion of children leaving school after ten or more years and cannot even raise three Basic CXC’s?

That clears demonstrates that the problem is one of teaching and instructional methods, not just the exam.

The problem of changing a system in such a state, is that the real issue may be masked, rather than addressed.

Changing the system may solve the issue, if it were the system that was at fault.

But cuhdear, summuch education and no learning?

Sumting wrong. And it is not the exam.

3. What the Eleven plus hype tends to do, is write off those who don’t perform well as failures by implying that the academically inclined (only in Maths and English, by the way) are the cream and “the others” ( as I heard it described at my son’s graduation by the principal) are just the dregs.

Two things can be true at the same time. The performance of our educational system can be poor and the Eleven plus can be counterproductive.

Until we can find a way to acknowledge different intelligences equally, we will be stuck in the Lawyer/ Doctor Syndrome. (You may add engineer and accountant as recent entries.)

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

Pacha
    If the edges, and beats in the opening overs, were not indicative of the stroke play to come, then I missed some sport.
    My mind went to imagining Peta Alleyne mimicking the LoO, and how his contortions and speech tones were mere fodder for a comic. And with the male presenters wearing corsages, and not boutonnières, seeing Peta with a full on multi stem floral arrangement…..
    Much of a sameness, politicians. But since both RAT and MAM are skilled orators, they will overshadow others within the Chamber.
    I just shudder when they echo, or maybe it just creates an echo in my head, words about transparency, accountability, openness. Words they potentially understand the meaning of, but are completely lost in their actual implementation.
    To besides RiRi had a new product launch at some big house in Payne’s Bay and that was capturing many of the online eyes. I hear the beach today is still strewn with influencers and wannabees.

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

I forgot (in a comedic mood), RAT was a back bencher for how many years? Did we hear him complaining about the management and disclosures by the NIS. Or much else for that matter.
    His seemingly new found opinions appear as a matter of convenience. Remember the issues with the NIS go back to the waning years of the OSA administration. Neither OSA, Thompson, Froon or Mottley have changed anything. The pact amongst the elected is to bury it. I wouldn’t be surprised to go down Westbury and find a headstone with the words NIS on it. Mother of the NISSS,
    Shite given my mood I could write an obituary 😁

6. It is true!

We’ll judge that RAT has been fashioned within the cauldron of a Bajan conservatism. And as much radical poetry and literature he’s familiar with, RAT intends to die on the political right of this writer.

Elements of his conservative bent include the maintenance of the eleven plus exam. And his attendance at HC is another pillar within such a social construction. A socialization which makes a poor boy from Grazettes, a defender of the very system which has oppressed him.

However, in politics there’re no perfect vessels. And while this writer’s instincts would be to scrap it all together, it must also be time for us to move beyond the century’s old canard of whether or not. This debate has always been for its own sake.

It certainly must be past time to stop subjecting our children to this type of institutional classism as a proxy for racism, colonialism, and more equatable distribute all human and material resources within the education system evenly. Giving the poorest students the best teachers. The promotion of competitive standards amongst teachers, by equalizing public school standards with what the private schools offer, etc

The establishment of sixth forms at a broader range of high schools could be seen as a step in that direction. Certainly not enough to avoid the radical transformations required for genuine national development.

7. Coghhhh blemeh!

It should be illegal for a preponderance of assholes to be saying anything from a book of fools, as unprovable though they all are, in any public place, especially when paid from the public’s purse.

Why should the rest of us be subjected the murmurings of idiots.

From within that house of inequity from whence one cannot even quote a newspaper article, the author of which is a known, living, breathing human, but the fanciful tales as concocted by imposters must be ringing in our ears day and night, as told by a motley group of gangsters, as unwitting mind control agents of the White people for whom a demonic book was to legitimize.

These tales as merely another part of the political aims of politicians who conveniently act as part time preachers or pseudo/intellectuals or psychologists or all three.

Pacha is immune to their bulllshiiiite! Violently oppose their presume right to preach in any public place. There should be a law against this injustice.

8. PM Mottley is prepared to lose her US Visa over Cuba.

#bravo

9. PM seems to be quite unnerved by Thorne.

It must be quite frightening to have to confront someone who is;
    – Just as articulate as you are
    – Prepared to tell you to your face, – truths that others DARE NOT say..
    – Is able to ask the kind of questions publicly, that you CANNOT answer..
    – who actually HAS their LEC papers
    …and who has had a whole YEAR now, to follow BU, and to accumulate various ‘tips’ from insiders on the lotta expensive shiite that has been deposited..

No wonder Straughn had to face the bowling…

Bushie would have responded to Thorne in an even, ‘prime ministerial’ tone – without the righteous indignation and the ‘poor me’ excuses…
    – particularly since EVERYBODY recalls how the PM treated Maria Agard, Johnny, Payne, and most recently the Senator who dared to think for herself.

Nothing worse than a bully crying – after being bullied themself…

10. What’s this about the Gov’t seizing dormant accounts to fund favorite projects? Lock up your kids piggy banks they are next on the list. Isn’t there a process for dormant accounts to transferred to the Gov’t if it hasn’t been used for several years? Some years ago I had an account at a bank and I asked my mother to deposit $20 to ensure it remained current and she told me that the bank refused to take the deposit because it wasn’t her account and I believed that the thinking was if she activated the account it would be easy for her to loot the funds. Next time I visited I went into the bank to check the balance and discovered that he bank had debited it about $50 in dormant charges at which time I promptly closed the account.

Gov’t overreach will soon extend to shaking us down for the small change in our pockets.

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

Surely any head of state has a diplomatic visa. I doubt MAM is subjected to the visa scrutiny the US is threatening.

12. @NO

Who knows how the issue will play out, it is fluid to say the least.

13. “Gov’t overreach will soon extend to shaking us down for the small change in our pockets.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Perhaps necessity is the mother of that invention Sarge…
    When yuh owe the Devil, yuh got Hell to pay…

When yuh brek, …ANYTHING is possible.
    – You first will raid the easy NIS – an easy $1.3B …
    – Next you have the dormant accounts – money people forgot that they have..
    – Wunna overseas Bajans have a lotta dollars ‘Gatherin’.. just waiting for investment
    – Then the Credit Unions have millions also waiting to be ‘invested’…

Parros don’t stop until the WHOLE family is bankrupted….

14. @ David who asked…
    “Bush Tea….Is this the same exam that was largely abolished in the mother country many decades ago?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Come on Boss…
    Since when did the Mother Cuntree become an example that we must follow..?

Did they ‘abolish it’ after large numbers of IMMIGRANTS started to invade the country following WW2?
    Were many of these newcomers BLACK / Brown / Asian?

Who the Hell do you think would have overwhelmed Harvard and Cambridge and business, and industry – if their education systems continued to be MERIT BASED?

Obviously they needed to re-engineer THEIR eddykashun systems …to ensure that their traditional ‘elite classes’ remained ‘untainted’ … while the ‘riff raff’ were channelled to the trades and trains…and while the Kiki-types are sent to confuse us on BU…

The British went for the 11+ MERIT system – when they THOUGHT that THEY were actually superior …and would emerge on top.
    Once they saw REALITY, they quickly done wid dat shiite…. LOL, people like Barrow and Lee Kuan Yew (London School of Economics) and Eric Williams (Oxford) easily made that point…

You only PLAYING that you don’t know….

Bushie does always ‘dead wid laugh’ when GOD’s BLESSED people UNDERVALUE their own talents – in favor of the INFERIOR characteristics of lesser mortals.

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

Sarge
    As I understand it, after 10 years in a commercial bank, and after the account had been deemed dormant, the funds are then sent to the CBofB where they remain for 3 years, prior to being sent to the Accountant General.
    Exactly where those funds go after, or are currently used by the Account General is not known.
    Unless a Commercial Bank is inappropriately classifying accounts as dormant, I cannot see the issue.
    Don’t leave the money doing squat, bring it back into the mainstream so it’s available for mismanagement, and to prop up the NIS which needs all the help it can get.
    The GoB is reported to be incorporating a new Special Purpose Vehicle, Murky Water Limited, to facilitate loan guarantees to construct the new Land Ahoy Hotel in Holetown. It worked so well with Four Seasonings (c Hants), it is being used again. The guarantees are provided and financed by the NISSS Resilience Fund. World famous magician David Copperfield will perform at the official signing function, where he will bankrupt the NIS by transferring funds to at least 14 nameless offshore accounts, without leaving a trace.

16. >Sutherland: HOPE is a big business, needed capital

MINISTER OF HOUSING Dwight Sutherland has stoutly defended Government’s borrowing for the HOPE (Home Ownership Providing Energy) housing project.

Sutherland sought to put the issue “to rest” yesterday, following heavy criticism by Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne about this aspect of the project in his Reply to the Budgetary Proposals presented by Minister in the Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs, Ryan Straughn on Monday.

The Minister of Housing said he was “proud” that the Government “saw it fit to revolutionise the housing market to allow ordinary people as articulated in these Estimates to be able to own a home”.

He admitted HOPE, “a commercial state-owned enterprise”, had borrowed funds from the Housing Credit Fund at 1.15 per cent interest, because it needed “seed capital”.

Sutherland pointed out Government had established the Trust Loans Fund to give small businesses access to the seed capital they needed, and those businesses had been able to borrow $4 000 for their start-up.

“HOPE is a big business, building many houses, so HOPE needed start-up capital like these small business, so they got it from the Housing Credit Fund – $40 million one way; amount to be paid on loan one, $36.4 million. The principal paid back on that first loan was $4 million,” Sutherland said.

“The second loan was for Duravilla Houses,” [and] “a contract with the Guyanese Company under the St Barnabas Accord, of $27. 275 million.”

That loan facility, Sutherland disclosed, has $6.22 million remaining for the Duravilla project in which 11 houses have already been built in St Philip.(GC)

17. @PM Mottley

That is mean average of 15K?

If you 93 trips resulted in millions in grant money the blogmaster has no issue, but there is other business in the home ministry that demands your leadership as well i.e. crime, a moribund court system including Registries etc.

18. Agree with you NO, it is a non issue.

19. Oh dear, Ralph Thorne a great orator????? I nearly fell asleep and must now watch in increments that can be tolerated. It seems he eventually got around to saying stuff that is interesting and important.

Or perhaps I should read it instead.

Have mercy!

20. Bushie

“PM seems to be quite unnerved by Thorne.”

LMAO! If this were the case, the PM would have delivered the Budget herself so as to ensure plenty time in a wrap up. Anyone that pays attention to parliament outside of the Budget is familiar with the irrational, invertebrate, operatic and unratified gnawing. So the PM is/was well aware of what to expect. Who speaks for nearly 10hrs then vanishes when it’s time to face those you accuse? The unnerved!!

21. @ Enuff
    “LMAO! If this were the case, the PM would have delivered the Budget herself so as to ensure plenty time in a wrap up”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The PM is smarter than that Enuff..
    It would ALSO have ensured plenty of time to PROVIDE DETAILS OF THE MANY QUESTIONABLE ISSUES RAISED…. and after the NON RESPONSES to those raised last year, it is clear that time is NOT the issue….

…So it is MUCH easier (and smarter) to be in a position to “only have limited time to respond to the ‘nonsense’…”

Who speaks for nearly 10hrs ?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Well …. Castro did so ROUTINELY – it is called being completely open to the public. ALSO … Check any credit union’s AGM – when ACCOUNTABILITY is on the line…

“…then vanishes when it’s time to face those you accuse?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Do you mean “Accused ON THE PUBLIC’s BEHALF.”

IT is THE PUBLIC that Government is required to face … NOT THORNE…
    Stop with the straw men….
    We don’t really care about HIS shortcomings!!! He was just one of WUNNA!!

The QUESTIONS HE RAISED are the ONLY issues you need deal with…
    These happen to be PERTINENT questions FROM THE PUBLIC.

22. Why are we listening to and watching those imbeciles in parliament. Mam was described as an immovable object by Owen Arthur. Pachamama’s volcanic anger is justified.

I have shown this video several times as it’s appropriate to where our parliament ranks on the list of dishonest parliaments.

The walls are closing in on this government. They will have to give an account of their travails prior to the next General election. Will it be another case when the blind folded sheep/monkeys place a tick next to a BLP candidate; or will they decide to express their dissatisfaction and seek alternative solutions.

Mia has been a Godsend for foreign investors and Barbados minority domestic businesses community. However, her policies have proved to be catastrophic for Barbados majority population. How is it possible for the simplest of projects such as building prefabricated STEAL houses end in disaster?

Mia has failed to develop an indepth strategy with clear landmarks/ stages that would indicate to the electorate whether her policies have been successful.

Her claims that people wanted jobs in the hotel industry are contentious. We recently heard of a Spanish speaking construction worker involved in murder. She also told Bajans to start training in Construction work. Why make the point at this stage when she has been in power for seven years.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=efmiutIr97c

23. Mr. Minister seeing you think HOPE is such a sound venture please supply the following piece of info.

What is the cost per sq ft for the construction of the houses by Chefette Lancaster?

Awaiting your response but not holding my breath.

24. “Will it be another case when the blind folded sheep/monkeys place a tick next to a BLP candidate; or will they decide to express their dissatisfaction and seek alternative solutions.”
    1 ⭐ / meaning 0 ⭐’s

If you don’t know.. you don’t know..
    D in DLP stands for Don’t
    Barbados Don’t Do DLP..
    that would be stupid
    Don’t Let No One Bribe You,
    Don’t Let No One Fool You,
    Don’t Let No One Use You Dub

25. Ralph showed some inconsistency. He began to falter during the late evening spell but returned on Wednesday morning full of fury, vim and vigor. He went down each item on his checklist and delivered a poisonous dart where necessary.

Wednesday morning was excellent. Thorne lacks the kind of smoothness that an Obama or slick Willie has, but he was solid.

Ashford and Simpson – Solid as a rock

26. she say “The same gentleman now works with the ambassador at Brussels in the European Union. . . . He’s working with Invest Barbados, he’s working with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, he’s working with the Ministry of International Business which is now the Ministry of Commerce, and he is also working with the Barbados Defence Force seeking to find financing at concessional rates for the renewal of its Coast Guard fleet,” she disclosed.

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Now I am still going to have the departmental enquiry but when the Auditor General chose to take the files to see whether anything was amiss in HOPE, we said let him go because we do not want to stop him in any way.”
    Madame PM have you ever heard of a photocopier? Or better yet a scanner? Any young person could digitize them (cause we like that term 😀), in a week. And then both the Auditor General and your enquiry could operate at the same time. What a concept!!!

28. Well I know an enquiry is to come out. HOPE the same people bringing the NISSS books up to date aint got no hand in the enquiry though.

In the meantime though share a few facts with us. Like how much per sq ft the Chefette houses cost to build. Surely I HOPE at the very least those figures are there. I mean I dont see if you selling houses that you don’t know their cost. Even a little shopkeeper like me does check the biscuit bill before I start selling them and I only went scbool at Brumley!

Next thing just so I understand the business principle of HOPE. Is HOPE going to make a PROFIT on each house sold to the poor Bajan? If so please share how much profit per house they will make. As you hear this private public sector thing, I does get worried profit in there.

At least answer those basic figures so that when the report come out in 2030, we would of had a little forewarning as to what to expect.

29. Bushie
    Birds of a feather flock together, you as an egofowl obviously find kinship with RAT. Only the unnerved runs away. All bluster. Stuuuupse.

Number 15 is the Holetown Civic Centre.

Wunna enjoy.

30. Also did the building of these houses go out to tender, after all state money involved? So if 50 houses building it would be nice to think 5 small contractors get 10 each. I wonder if i going see the same golden boys names pop up as the contractor in 2030 when the report come out?

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

I have reviewed the Budget, and it’s much of a muchness, IMO. Little tweaks here and there.
    Distraction away from root issues, Delay, and political historical commentary seems to rule the day.

My former conclusion holds, DO NOT BUY a GoB Bond or TBill UNTIL they produce the Reports they are required by law to produce. The risks simply outweigh the reward.

I understand when you are begging for money, a lotta long talk wins, especially if the Grantor doesn’t dig too deep. But for Investment Grade purposes, it doesn’t cut it.

Btw…not hearing much about the Dental College @ Harrison’s Pt. It was a massive project, on a massive lot of land (75+ acres). Using the land acquisition Act, the people of Barbados even acquired an additional acreage for this project.

32. PMMIA Cubans.

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

“But what matters to us is principles…and I have said over and over that principles only mean something when it is inconvenient to stand by it.”

Now we know. Reporting by GoB agencies is inconvenient.

34. One of the biggest ‘ironies’ is the debate about wage increase for the public sector. We are a country with a Debt to GDP of north of 100. On what basis can we reasonably propose the best rate increase? The blogmaster is not against an ‘increase’ in theory but it a challenging and honest conversation required..

35. Mr. Speaker i would like it recorded iN BU Hansard the following. DEBT TO GDP NORTH OF A HUNDRED PERCENT AS A RESULT OF DEBT RIGHT OFFS TO ENTITIES OWED.

After all in years to come when the BU Hansard is referred to let us at least share ALL the facts. LOL

36. LOL @ Enuff
    “…you as an egofowl obviously find kinship with RAT.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Wait bozie…
    egofowl?
    You copyrighting that term too ..or is it available for public usage?

What ego what??
    What ego can a bushman have..?

Bushie finds kinship with THE TRUTH.
    Shiite Enuff – the Bushman has even been known to agree with you – on the rare occasions that you have been direct, honest and correct…

Ralph’s lashes are only now beginning to sting – as more and more BBs gather up the balls to ask the kind of questions that some of us on BU have been asking now for YEARS…

Also – YOU ARE CORRECT ABOUT THE UNNERVED ‘RUNNING AWAY’…
    …away from presenting the budget – and thus having to DIRECTLY face the expected fire…

..and that (empty) promise about Straughn ‘becoming MOF’ is such a joke…
    a comfort to a minion…

HE was ALWAYS more knowledgeable than the PM on matters of economics & finance – so what is different now..?
    Why did he not ALWAYS present it?

If she is staying on to leverage her ‘collossal global image’ shortly….
    WHY did she take on the role for which she now admits being UNQUALIFIED – When she had NO image – other than that painted by OSA?

Stories NEED to add up Enuff.
    This is why time is longer than twine…
    ..and the TRUTH is always repetitive, consistent and unwavering…

37. @John A

You heard Mia when she said her government repaid more than it borrowed excluding restructured debt?

38. Words chosen carefully. Restructured debt and written off debt are 2 different animals. The 1.4 B of NIS that was WRITTEN OFF never needed to be paid back. What she paid back was the net debt after ALL adjusted debt, in other words what was left AFTER the written off amounts and pushed forward amounts were deducted. Also the debt that was pushed down the road would not be owed for repayment in full YET, so she would only be making annual payments for that and not clearing the full amout that would of been there PRE RESTRUCTURING, as she is not required now to do.

Again MIA is not lying and is quite correct in what she said. However what was ommitted gives the full story. This however is not her job to do, but the leader of the oppostion and medias. As I said these statements can be made as there is no Tom Adams or Errol Barrow on the other side of the table.

39. @ David

This was also possible because the government did not book any funds for the restructuring of the NISSS after ravishing it to the tune of $1.4B. Remember that was only the NISSS figure, you got to add to that all the others burnt as well.

A blow like that threw off all comparison ratios used in the past, whether it be debt to GDP or others. These are things no one wants to discuss.

40. @John

Was hoping to see the economic gurus like @General @enuff et al critique your perspective on how the debt argument was communicated by de facto Minister of Finance Straughn and Prime Minister Mottley

41. @ David

As i said there was absolutley nothing wrong about what Mr. Straughn and Ms. Mottley said. Its more a case of what was not brought up by the opposition. So what was the true cost of the debt restructuring to other state entitites like the NIS? What did it do to us now in 2025 with regard to our total current debt? I felt the opposition should of went into these issues and done less political theatrics, but thats just my view.

42. @John A

Does the ordinary man care about hear dry issues?

43. @ David

The thing is we are where we are because of the debt restructuring basically. We have not though changed our financing plan and are borrowing heavily again. We cant risk another restructuring or no one will ever touch Bajan paper again. As a result My concern is when are we going to restructure the economy and tighten up on our spend, which would reduce the need to borrow so heavily?

If we look at Mr. Straugh’s numbers between 2018 and 2025 we borrowed just over $8B and repaid a little over $9B. So in 7 years we basically generated a payment surplus of roughly $800M or a little over $100M a year on average agree? So where we would we have been if we did not have the $3B saving from the restructuring i hear being thrown around? Also what is our debt in 2025 compared to that of the opening of the financial year after the debt restructuring?

So much data is missing and the opposition should of researched all of this and shared it. Then again as you say who is interested anyhow cause Kadooment soon here and we going be wuking up!

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

“We cant risk another restructuring or no one will ever touch Bajan paper again”

Oh shirt. You only begging for somebody to list all the countries with multiple defaults/restructures and the state of their debt markets and currency value which followed.

You may have forgotten……..
    .no government ever expects to repay debt, they expect to refinance it.

45. @ Northern

The thing is when you kick the can as far as you can and you borrowed to the point where you cant repay whats next? You already have rescheduled all the debt you can and you now hoping to sell more paper to cover you needs. But the demand for this paper soft so what then? Who throat you going force it down?

If this sound like a bad case of dejavu well you might be right.

46. Never a dull moment. It maybe that time where the backbench starts to ‘misbehave’.

https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2025/03/Trevor-Prescod%E2%80%93Johnathan-Reid.mp4