Based on recent statements uttered by Minister Ryan Straughn the government is insensitive to the plight of senior citizens in Barbados.

The blogmaster accepts a widely held view that how a government treats its most vulnerable can be used as a good measure of our sense of humanity. Too many of our elderly died as a result of the Covid 19 pandemic and the event has quickly faded from national memory.

In May 2018 a Mia Mottley government was swept into government in unprecedented manner, the following month Prime Minister Mottley announced the decision to enter a selected default with domestic and foreign bondholders. As the saying goes -the rest is history.

Of concern to the blogmaster has been the negative effect the debt restructure has been having on bondholders who one suspects are mainly senior citizens; retirees or approaching that time. It is obvious senior citizens purchased bonds to help plan for retirement. In an act of desperation to right the debt to GDP ratio, senior citizens who had toiled for decades in the service of country and sensibly prepared for the golden years were made to feel tradeconfirmeresk by a Mia Mottley government.

Barbadians are being told by talking heads to prepare for retirement by registering in private pension plans, invest in BOSS government paper and other investment products because the National Insurance Fund is under ‘financial stress’ – however, a group of senior citizens who did plan for retirement by buying government bonds had a lifetime of financial discipline undermined by a bunch of unimaginative political opportunists.

It is worth mentioning that a boutique financial company going by the name of White Oak was paid 54 million dollars to negotiate with foreign and local bondholders. Recently the name White Oak was mentioned by President of the Barbados Cricket Association (BCA) Condé Riley, he lamented at the millions owed to the BCA and he was hopeful of reaching an agreement with White Oak so that his association can get on with efficiently managing its affairs.

I do not accept that there is double taxation in the way that people are suggesting that it is,” he said on Wednesday as he responded to criticism that the Government was hitting retired persons twice by taxing their pensions, given that those individuals would have paid tax on their earnings while in the workforce.

Not that hard Barbados Today

It is against the foregoing elderly investors affected by the 2018 haircut must be asking Minister Ryan Straughn in the Finance Ministry – what them do he.

Straughn was responding to several calls to stop taxing pensions in light of concerns about the viability and sustainability of the National Insurance Scheme (NIS). It seems a disingenuous approach by government if it wants to encourage prudent financial management by citizens to be self sufficient in the golden years. One suspects the government will not be bullish about tweaking pensions the plan of members of parliament.

Related link: Pensioners relief in debt exchange program

An attack on homeless elderly city dwellers by a gang of young people just over a week ago is reflective of how we have progressed as a society to the point of marginalizing senior citizens. The government continues to do it, our young people are doing it. It is ironic a failed attempted robbery of a ZR driver who defied commonsense by resisting by two young boys has evoked tremendous favorable national response, BUT, elderly persons attacked in Bridgetown is barely noticed.

Signs of the times we are living.

115 responses to “Do Mottley and Straughn Care?”

1. @TheoG
    Would you deny the PM some well deserved R&R? My only problem is that it should be a staycation; rent a beachside villa and relax. If Bim is good enuff for tourists, it should be good enuff for the PM. Imagine the PM setting an example for all Bajans to spend their dollars at home instead of jetting off to some foreign climes.

2. @Sarge
    As aways, an excellent suggestion.

I hate to tell you that I made the same suggestion to her and her exact words to me were “There is no frequent flyer miles in a staycation. I have accumulate enough miles to the moon and I need miles to get back. I am out of here”

I have witnessed to that conversation.

3. Some of you are aware the PM has a health problem? A person should retain the right to do what they want on their personal time. Stop the nitpicking.

4. TheO Yardfowlus Rex Avatar
    TheO Yardfowlus Rex

But yuh gots confidence in Ronnie O and the other misfits!

5. Cowboy Frankie Layne Avatar
    Cowboy Frankie Layne

You cud imagine dat de same people dat telling Mia she should stan home, LIVE overseas! Wot de RH yuh telling muh!

6. @TheO Yardfowlus Rex
    I hate to call snyone a yardfowl but as you have labeled yourself as such I believe I can use it here.

Yardfowlus, learn to smile. Look for the humor and not for scratchgrain.

7. A cowboy in Barbados does not ride horses Avatar
    A cowboy in Barbados does not ride horses

@Cowboy Frankie Layne
    “You cud imagine dat de same people dat telling Mia she should stan home, LIVE overseas! Wot de RH yuh telling muh!

“Geez… They send out the e-squad – a yardfowl and now a cow lover.

I will give you $5000.00 for each name including pseudonyms, that you can call who overseas and is also the Prime Minister of Barbados.

Limit your thoughts to cows. Anything more will make you look silly.

8. We are treated by politicians how we deserve. Serious issues to discuss and what? We allow those with motives to derail discussions, yet we claim to be intelligent.

9. 😃
    You must forgive me. I love silliness and being silly.

I claim to have bouts of intelligence and bouts of idiocy, but will respect your good work and accept the reprimand.

10. @David,

How could an educated person not know the difference between a Board (of directors) and a State?

11. @Hants

It is surprising giving the vetting this document would have gone through, then the two Houses of Parliament. It harrows the blogmaster with fear and wonder to quote Artax.

12. TheO's hall of fame - Mr. Saffrey Avatar
    TheO’s hall of fame – Mr. Saffrey

https://barbadostoday.bb/2023/08/31/not-our-fault-3/
    Excerpt from the article
    “A frustrated Saffrey told Barbados TODAY: “I am tired of people trying to exploit me and exploit my name and my organisation. I was even attacked yesterday [Tuesday] because of that video. A man came to the shelter on Monday, pulled scissors on me, and said that I should be dead because I left the woman on the streets with the children.”

My thoughts:
    Mr Saffrey: there is a saying “No good deed goes unpunished”.

A few criticisms against you seem to suggest you could have done more. or could have done better. Don’t these folks know that doing more and doing better cost money? Have any of these critics sent you a check to support the your fine work?

Mr. Saffrey, these criticisms are really an honor. People are acknowledging your work and seeing you at the forefront of the battle against homeless ness and poverty. People are looking to you for support in the same way that they look at the government; But some with their jealousy and pettiness, are unable to give you the compliments that you so richly deserved and instead they send criticism your way.

Mr. Saffrey, here is a short story, just for you: Robert M. Hutchkins became the president of one of the top universities of America though he started his journey from a laundry to wood cutting and finally a president at the age of 36.

Senior colleagues started to criticize him, his decisions, even newspapers were filled with his amateur skills. Once his father was asked, if he feels low after reading about his son’s needless criticism. He replied that
    —“nobody kicks a dead dog” —

Yes! You, Mr. Saffrey, are no dead dog! You are top of the heap and they will try to drag you down. Stay strong! Stay helpful! Stay beautiful!

13. $55,800 water bill.

water cut of since May.

only in babadus.

14. @CIO Hants
    Hopefully that isn’t for your beachfront estate.

They will put a lien on it and then try to get it cheap.

Pay the man,
    Pay the lawyer and
    Pray