In recent months there have been strident calls from Prime Minister Mia Mottley and Governor of the Central Bank for private players to invest in the country. Even the newly minted President of the Caribbean Development Bank Donald Best has added his voice to the call. There can be no disagreement that investment is a prerequisite for driving economic activity in a country with job creation a key outcome.

Minister Ryan Straughn during his maiden presentation of the ‘budget’ announced Barbadians will be given the opportunity to invest in renewable energy projects. He reported that government will partner with financial institutions to package the investment vehicle to facilitate citizen investment. The goal of Barbados is to strive for 100% renewable energy penetration by 2035.

Any opportunity to invest in the prevailing climate will be attractive to individual investors. In recent years the market has provided very view opportunities to realise attractive returns on investment and savings. The government should be confident that there is pent up demand from ordinary Barbadians to invest in the renewable energy space. In principle the blogmaster supports the planned initiative. However, there is a caveat.

For too long the indefatigable Auditor General has published year after the year the inability of a significant number of state owned entities (SOEs) to publish audited financial statements. The SOE at the top of the list is the renamed National Insurance and Social Security (NISS). It is the most important fund in the country and has not published audited according to the 2022 Auditor General since time immemorial.

leigh-trotman
Auditor General Leigh Trotman

The National Insurance Fund has been established to allow for eligible Barbadians to benefit from programmes designed to provide monetary benefits to seniors and others who meet the qualifying criteria. The audits for the financial years ended 31st December, 2013 and 2014 are in progress. The financial statements for the years ended 31st December, 2015 to 2022 have not been submitted for auditing.

The BU family has been like John the Baptist asking for greater priority to be placed by government to resolving whatever issue is preventing the laying of up to date NISS audited financial in parliament. Here is what the Auditor General stated (not the blogmaster) in the 2022 Auditor General report –This Fund needs to be audited so as to provide the public with a current and independent opinion of the state of the finances of this Institution

It is fair to conclude after reading auditor general reports in the last decade that successive governments have placed little to no importance to adhering to key fundamentals of good financial management. It is no stretch to suggest that the indisciplined behaviour by successive governments has influenced Barbadians in some measure – The hip bone’s connected to the backbone, The backbone’s connected to the neck bone...

There is a popular saying that one does not buy a pig in a poke. Why should Barbadians be asked to invest in government instruments if it continues to be less than transparent in financial reporting? A prerequisite to making investments in private instruments is that independent audited reviews are undertaken to ensure a measure of confidence can be derived by the potential investor. In fact it is a legal requirement. There is no reason the Barbados government should be receiving a bligh.

Before any citizen invests in renewable energy stock or any other type of investment for that matter, Barbadians should demand an independent review of the entity or investment vehicle. We have been promised up to date audited NISS financial since the Gun Hill lion was a cub, check BU Hansard to confirm. Do a better job of financial management of SOEs and only then will we show you our money.

Enough is enough!

119 responses to “NO Ryan Straughn!”

1. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

WHAT IS THERE 2 INVEST IN? WHAT ARE THE HARD, TANGIBLE ASSETS? IS THERE OIL, RARE EARTH MINERALS & COMPOSITES, BAUXITE, COPPER – WHAT?

In the below VT, I am asking who “PAID” 4 this???

After 2 weeks, it has #24Views & #2Likes

GREAT GOING GUYS!!!

#SMDHID

2. Did anyone listen to the budget speech?

I am told Straugh went on for 4 hours.

Even Trump talks less, last speech was 90 minutes.

What on earth in 2×4 Barbados could have taken up 4 hours?

3. People invest everyday into projects which are not led by or have governments participation and the gross inefficiencies often implicit. Even when there a need for government involvement accountability requirements could be all privately led.

This irrational dependence on the auditor general and the government, more generally, to put its house in order as a condition precedent to investment requires the development of the country to be on hold until this illusionary state of up to date government financial records are achieved.

Nonsense! Once investors are able to assertain that projects are not dependent on government in any way. And that approvals can be had prior. This tiring refrain of casting every initiative in the context of governmental inefficiencies is self defeating.

Indeed, the weakness of governmental structures represent an advantage for private initiatives. They present loopholes wherein the entrepreneurial could drive trucks through.

4. There’s a case study of a British billionaire who made his money by discovering that if he tried entering the country with goods when customs was closed that the following morning customs would assume that taxes were already paid and that all of his goods would therefore arrived tax free. He did that for years without being duscovered. Weeee speak about Richard Branson, of course.

5. Now that EVERYONE sees that we are up shit street …with a bunch of drivers WHO CLEARLY CANNOT DRIVE

… the question is ‘WHAT NEXT?’

“Our politicians are ALWAYS in election mode”
    – because IT IS ALL THEY KNOW HOW TO DO.

In the BU ten point plan, the idea is to let the political jackasses continue to bray….
    BUT let us look for COMPETENT MANAGERS WHO SHOULD KNOW how to run a complex 21st Century, broke, little, shiite country – IN THE INTEREST OF THE CITIZENS.

VERY FEW (if any) of the jokers currently in parliament would qualify.

So…
    What is the plan for CBC – since they now admit that it is bankrupt and has been for years- and being closed next month?

What is the plan for this renewable energy that we are being asked to invest in?
    Shiite man!!, how much of a mess was caused when Symmonds pushed for investment in PV – only to find out that he HAD NO CLUE what he was talking about (as if he EVER does..) ???

What about the sugar industry, how is THAT going – since the recent changes?

Instead we get a finance minister talking shiite about a community garden competition – LEAVE THAT FOR THE DAMN 4H clubs…. steupssss

What a place!
    What clowns…
    …at least Straughn could PRACTICE READING the damn speech before going live…. steupsss again!!

6. At some point the people must make a stand especially when it comes to governance issues. A robust governance framework is required to ensure efficiency. More importantly it is about demanding accountability from key stakeholders in civil society.

7. For example, the HOPE project. A couple administrations back it was HARDWOOD. When will it end?

8. @Bush Tea

We shouldn’t forget the nexus government serves in nurturing a wholesome investment climate between investors and private institutions read CLICO.

9. “Why dream about building golf courses when you can build cities?”

Ghetto Dub, I’m All Right, War War, Melody Maker, Dont Think About Me

10. Exactly Boss..
    You would think that some attempt would be made to at LEAST start to address the CORE ISSUES such as accountability, lack of RESULTS and blatant INefficiencies…

Instead we get more of the SAME shiite about changing around the clowns in Eddykashun, putting YET another incompetent INSIDER (BUT – of proven OBEDIENCE and deference) as a new minister, and paying water bills for citizens who are being piped muddy water now for YEARS…

A REAL leadership budget would have:
    – Laid down the LAW, and tight timelines, for ministers to SHOW PROMISED RESULTS or scram.

– For ALL LEGALLY MANDATED reports to be produced – or those responsible to be FIRED..

– For FULL clarity on PUBLICLY FUNDED INITIATIVES such as CBC, NISSS, BAMC, HOPE , STEAL housing, and on the idiocy we are seeing at Holetown etc. – with these stupid hotel projects being pushed for SHORT-TERM benefits at ANY cost, – while our existing plant falls into ruin.

If this is NOT a case of GROSS incompetence, then the alternative is even worse….
    – one of DELIBERATE Judases!

11. Ingenuity should not begin and end with government. Citizens take risks everyday. Unfortunately this is another such risk, which must now be the present government, the one after. Such a government is no different than the risk of a hurricane. Lloyd’s might even offer insurance against such governmental ineptitude.

12. Well I listen to the “budget” if that is what budgets is now and I really could see after them brag bout collecting the most taxes ever that they could of bring any new taxes. So junk food going up for sure and maybe the water bill. I say so cause I hear him talking about the sewage tax increasing and so on.

Now I hear him rattling off some number about how much them borrow and payback between 2018 and March 2025. The minister said that between 2108 and the end of March they borrowed $8.4 billion and that during the same period they paid back $9.36 billion. Well they had nuff table slapping and thing, so how great thou art and God bless the party! But fellows what about the billions you would of had to pay back that wunna right off in the debt restructuring? Wunna remember the 1.4 billion from the NIS etc etc etc? The only reason wunna can claim to of paid back more than you borrowed is that you wrote off nuff of the blasted debt. Add back the written off amount to the $8.4 billion and wunna would of borrowed NUFF more than you pay back. So when you say how good wuuna do in bringing down debt, please remember it only happen because you cripple the NIS and the average Bajan to get to the $8.4 billion figure!

Right moving on now to the renewable energy issue. Am I to believe that a new agreement has been reached with Enema to accept more “unstable” energy to the national grid and if so at what price per KW? when you get a minute let me know the answer. Well the rest of tra la la bout paternity holiday would be welcome by many with 6 women, cause now they could maybe get 3 months of paternity leave if all get pregnant the same time! LOL

Anyhow I waiting to see the actual increase in junk food and sweet drink taxes and the other relevant details of the budget published. Oh as far as the grand ideas bout scanning old people wrist and so on, left them for now and get the other basic services fix first like collecting the dam garbage from all bout the island!

13. When I was a little boy we used to call it the swamp. Then they built Discovery Bay hotel.

Now “Royalton, Holetown ($300m, 220 suites and rooms; 700 construction jobs during construction, 500 permanent roles)”

14. Wait I forget something.

Noticeably absent from Mr. Straughn’s address was the tourism arrival and spend numbers compared to last year. After all you taking up land in Holetown for another hotel so where are these numbers? When you get a minute give me the below please?

Arrivals for the 2024 period January to February vs spend for the said period.

Arrivals for the 2025 period January to February vs spend for the said period.

I will not worry to comment on the debt to GDP drop as again without the debt restructuring and the crippling of the NIS this would not of happened either.

Also when can we expect to see the plans for the refinancing of the new NISSS, wherein the injection of $80 million roughly a year for the next 10 years will occur? Thought the budget would of been the perfect opportunity to of shared that!

look I done wid dat and going to the beach before the tractors block where I does park!

15. @John A

The reality is that the economic KPIs looking good, we cannot deny it. However, it is a one leg economy if you measure based on contribution to GDP. How does one make the economy more ‘resilient’ if one sector contributes about 60% direct and indirectly?

16. Let us agree that it is better to pay 30+ cents out of every dollar to pay loan than the 70+ cents the government inherited. Some stuff to applaud.

17. @ Pacha
    Sometimes you seem to share Kiki’s spliffs yuh know!!!
    NOBODY is saying that Ingenuity should ‘begin and end with government’.

What we ARE saying is that it is CRITICAL that the damn drivers can drive.
    …and that AT LEAST they should be asked to show their licenses.

Only CuhDear ( – and apparently you, now) would jump on a ZR and NOT REQUIRE that the driver knows how to steer – AS LONG AS YOU DID!!??
    What do you do when they keep hitting every damn curb and running into oncoming traffic..?
    Pray..?

@ David and John A
    Bushie has NO confidence in this ‘primary surplus’ shiite.
    Wunna can’t SMELL BULL SHIT???!!

If Bushie’s income is $1000 and his living expenses is $800, BUT HE HAS A BIG-ASS loan from the credit union for $10,000 – and has to pay them $500 per month…

What primary surplus what??!!
    The credit union would not even have lent the money in the FIRST place – UNLESS the so-called ‘primary surplus’ was OVER $500
    Lotta shiite!!!

We BREK!!
    Just like CBC is … and we will come to the SAME ending – UNLESS drastic CHANGES are implemented to create a REAL SURPLUS…. either by spending / wasting / thiefing LESS, or by EARNING more …preferably by both…
    Just like any damn household….

Primary surplus shiite!!
    That is ‘economist gibberish talk’ created to make it sound like they actually know something. What the Hell is an economist ANYWAY…?

What a place!!

18. David so lets examine your statement. Its better to pay 30 cents on the dollar than 70 cents. That would be true in terms of a linear statement, but suppose you had to pay 8 cents to me to negotiate it and instead of you clearing the loan in 3 years, you now had to pay it for 15 more years what then? There is a major difference between debt service and gross debt inclusive of interest. In other words I can lower your annual debt service but at the same time increase your gross debt substantially. Listen if I was Mr. Straughn I would cherry pick my numbers too. Regardless of what you think about the man I have said here already he is a smart guy. He will get away with it as well, seeing in the house there is no Tom Adams or Errol Barrow there to challenge the figures shared. It boils down to the reality that Mr. Straughn is not lying, he is just sharing SOME of the numbers. We will see what challenge the opposition offers if any on this matter.

19. @Bush Tea

The primary surplus metric is useful to keep government honest regarding its ability to generate enough income to cover expenses without relying on borrowing. We stopped operating with a balanced budget a long time ago, we are in the age of deficit financing by governments.

20. @John A

To be fair to Straughn debt to gdp is the standard ratio used? We can debate if it is a true measure but it is the standard?

21. Bushie

Your argument is predicated on the notion that Pacha needs a driver to be in charge of anything done, to be done.

Sorry, yours is a predisposition of powerlessness. Ours intend to assume all the levers of personal, corporate and spiritual power required without a dependence on external forces.

One of your buddies referred to this as being arrogant. To this we again plead guilty as charged.

22. “Sometimes you seem to share Kiki’s spliffs yuh know”

YOU seem to share another boring poster’s stupid 1-liner
    Barbados Judgement Calling is Bad Karma followed by more Bad Karma
    Suck it up and own it it suits you
    You get Frustration the jacket fits too tightly and there is lead inside your boots

Weh Dem A Go Do When You Hear This Judgement Calling
    What You Going To Do When You Feel This Judgement Calling
    Wicked a go Feel It

Judgement Calling, Word Power & Sound, Funny Feeling

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

A far more polite call to action than I am capable of.

24. @ David

Yes that is correct and again Mr. Straughn is not lying about the figures there either. What he is however omitting to mention is that it where it is because of the debt restructuring. A debt restructuring is not a normal happening and Barbados does not have them every year it is true, however this restructuring will throw off the debt to GDP figures if a provision is not made for the value of the debt restructured. In years gone by since 1966 we never defaulted on debt, so debt to GDP was an accurate reflection of our situation for comparison purposes and performance, this is not the reality for the period Mr. Straughn speaks of though! For purpose of a true picture of stewardship by this party, one would need to add the value of the savings from the debt restructuring back to the $8.4billion to get an idea of the debt management by the party in terms of true debt prior to right offs. So for people who may say “what shite he saying?” let me brake it down to a personal level.

So lets say I owe you $1000 to be paid at $200 a month for 5 months and I come to you and say things tight, ease me with the payment or something. You say ok I going right off $200 of the loan (debt forgiveness) cause you is such a good fellow. You will then extend the rest over a 10 month period( debt restructuring) and I can pay you $120 a month till it clear( new balance with finance fees and professional fees etc). Now as I was brek I happy as ass, cause you sound real kind ain’t? Truth is you ain’t lost a cent and I going pay you “only a little something ” more in the end. I can now walk bout and brag what a good negotiator I am cause my payment cut nearly in half and you can quietly snicker and say “but guess what you still owe me more.” Neither of we lying and all is well in paradise!

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

I have always found it interesting on an island which imports so much, and subject to some hefty duties, taxes and fees, that revenue from this sector isn’t higher.

26. “The primary surplus metric is useful to keep government honest regarding its ability to generate enough income to cover expenses without relying on borrowing. We stopped operating with a balanced budget a long time ago, we are in the age of deficit financing by governments.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Oh Sh*&%$te !!!
    Boss you sound like a economistts yuh!!! (WETHTA!!)

That kind of PYRAMID thinking can ONLY make sense if you CARE NOTHING about your children’s future… (or if you HAVE NO CHILDRED yourself …and therefore don’t give a shit)
    The reason that the Credit Union will NOT lend MORE – in situations such as ours, is that they CARE about our long-term welfare.

If our mission here is to maximize our PERSONAL access to material possessions – EVEN to the point where our GREAT GRANDS will have to pay it back, then we are UNWORTHY to be called human.
    Even ANIMALS often make arrangements for the welfare of their offspring to have a good life.

@ Pacha
    It is NOT about whether you (or Bushie) is in need of drivers, it is about the REALITY of Brassbados.
    Bushie, for example, don’t ’need’ a shiite – NOT with the adopted father that the bushman has…
    But BB sheep DO NEED A SHEPHERD….
    else they are no more than BB mutton on hoofs…

27. @Bush Tea

Don’t shoot the messenger.

28. @Bush Tea March 11, 2025 at 7:45 am “Now that EVERYONE sees that we are up shit street…with a bunch of drivers WHO CLEARLY CANNOT DRIVE…the question is ‘WHAT NEXT?’”

Take a ZR van.

29. @John A March 11, 2025 at 9:24 am “Well the rest of tra la la bout paternity holiday would be welcome by many with 6 women, cause now they could maybe get 3 months of paternity leave if all get pregnant the same time! LOL”

If de fellas follow your advice and knock about their personal bits, they may as well claim their sick benefits or death benefits the same time they claiming paternity benefits.

Lest we forget it is still true that wha’ sweeten goat mout does still burn ‘e tail.

30. @ Cuhdear

Not my advise my dear at all. Its just when you read about the practices of some one can not help but summise the outcome.

31. Ralph is taking a long run up.

32. David I was here saying Lord have mercy because he is the DLP leader he dont have to follow Stuart!

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

And then delivering wides and no balls.

34. Yuh lie!

35. What’s this bs. Breaking up Thorne twice so far. Some may see this side – making him have to stop and restart after being in full cry and hitting fours and sixes.

The people using cricket metaphors might also locate these as ‘long run ups’ or as ‘long hops and wides’. But hardly!

Others may see the other side. The prime time exposure, people watching tv at prime time at home, with Thorne scoring a triple century off the government’s nay nay bowling from yesterday.

36. David
    March 11, 2025 at 3:55 pm

Ralph is taking a long run up.

Ralph is no more the leader of the opposition than Ms. Mockley is the Prime Minister.

There is no constitutional Parliament.

Ms Mockley must be tired fleecing the flock and Straughn must have insisted it was his turn to do the fleecing and get his piece.

Ralph just playing his part in the charade for his cut of the pie.

The D’s and B’s are the same thing, each one wants money and power.

37. RAT talking shiiiite bout church again.

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

Wait Pacha, you see another side until Ralph goes down Religion Avenue. You en know Buhbaydus got more places of worship per sq.mile than most places on earth. Peeple luv a little religion.
    And skipper, wides and no balls cannot result in an out? Long hops are just sweetness if you could bat. Don’t mix dem up.
    Ralph put me to sleep with page 17, page 19, page 20. As if he hadn’t prepared and would just comment page by page. I tuned in and out in 5 minutes.

39. Looka Ralph and Keef dodo!!

Wuh you feel Ms. Mockley and she sidekicks gine do?

https://youtu.be/kaYJnK1g04s?si=RrZfdFxmisYqF0lK&sfnsn=wa

40. NIS treated like sacrificial lamb

OPPOSITION LEADER Ralph Thorne says the National Insurance is leaking funds in the debt swap arrangement.

“That it has not been as advantageous to the people of Barbados as was sold in this chamber – that somebody is losing; somebody is sacrificing. And it seems that in this country, the sacrificial lamb must always be the NIS [National Insurance Scheme] – the poor people’s bank,” Thorne declared during his Reply to Government’s 2025 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals yesterday.

“The poor people’s bank [was]raided by White Oak to the extent of $1.3 billion and now this debt swap arrangement is raiding the NIS to the extent of $400 million all told that the NIS has had to sacrifice the financial arrangements,” he said.

“Is that why the people of this country and the public service are being forced to retire at 67? Is that why, Your Honour?” he asked.

Thorne described the increase of the retirement age as “uncivilised.”

‘Not fair’

“A man goes into the public service at the age of 18 and 49 years later, he can retire. That’s not fair. That’s not civilised. That is not a socialist country or a country that models itself on the socialism of Scandinavia.

“But perhaps we don’t have the resources of those Scandinavian countries, but the point is, our NIS is being made the sacrificial lamb in too many of Government’s shrouded financial arrangements,” he added.

Nest egg

Thorne continued to criticise the Government on it’s borrowing.

“If it has stabilised, you use the existing foreign exchange that you borrowed to generate itself with the economy. In other words, do what you say the loan was designed for, but you don’t come and put it like a warm egg in a nest and just look at it and say you have an egg. Let it hatch and let it grow into a chicken.”

He added that there was “no report from this Government that these loans are going into productive sectors”.

“People have come to Budget day and Budget speeches, prepared for academic interventions and for structural attention to the economy, not corn curls and pedicures. And telling people, boasting to people and people thumping the desk that you’ve given them $1.36 more?

“What does decency do in the face of insult? That’s an insult to the intelligence of Barbadians but Barbadians will remain decent all the same.”(MB)

41. Call for probe into Govt funds, spending

OPPOSITION LEADER Ralph Thorne has pleaded with the Government to allow the Public Accounts Committee to convene in order to maintain transparency in Government spending.

Speaking in the House of Assembly yesterday during his response to the Financial Statement And Budgetary Proposals, Thorne called for a thorough investigation into the allocation and use of Government funds, revealing that he had already written to the Auditor General requesting a report on the US$25 million borrowed for the critical development of Kensington Oval.

Ahead of the 2024 T20 World Cup, Government agreed to a US$25 million loan with the African Export-Import Bank (Afreximbank) in order to refurbish the iconic stadium in preparation for its hosting of nine matches, including the final. However, Thorne questioned if the money was spent as suggested.

“I want the Public Accounts Committee to investigate where it has gone,” Thorne insisted.

“And if it went to Oistins – if they sent $5 million to Oistins – that means they have breached the terms of the agreement and they have breached the trust of the public that they told it was for critical development. Please, on behalf of the people of this country, allow me to do my work. Please let me set the agenda. Please let me investigate HOPE. Please let me investigate Cronyism. Please I beg you,” he asked.

‘Let me do my work’

The Member of Parliament for Christ Church South continued: “I beg you, Government, in your majority numbers . . . what now must I do? Must I go to the people of this country and lament my failure as chairman of a Public Accounts Committee? I beg you, please let me do my work.”

Thorne also wanted the 13-member joint committee to investigate the Government’s addition of $327 million in expenditure beyond what was initially budgeted, arguing that the administration had a duty to the people to explain how the funds were being used.

“Where are the capital works projects? Where are the borrowed monies? What are they being used for? While you think of the answer, I take you to Page 144. And I quote: ‘There would be some additional supplementaries on critical expenditure to fuel inclusive growth.’ I read again: ‘There would be some additional supplementaries on critical expenditure to fuel inclusive growth’. That sentence is futuristic. I’m not sure if the speech was written before.

“This is the worst form of financial aid that has been given to us. That was $327 million. They are demonstrating that those millions borrowed are being spent. And they are further demonstrating that not only are they being borrowed and spent, but that they are not being spent on what the lenders stipulated in all cases. The US$25 million for Kensington is a prime example.” (JC)

42. THE FOLLOWING are highlights of Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne’s reply to the Financial Statement And Budgetary Proposals in the House of Assembly yesterday:

Six scourges affecting Barbados are crime, corruption, cost of living, moral decay, constitutional malaise and crisis of competence in Government.

Need for transparency and accountability in Government spending, including on overseas travel and consultants.

Public Accounts Committee will investigate the use of the US$25 million loan for cricket development.

Barbados borrowing money at an unprecedented rate.

Diversify economy beyond tourism and present a plan to increase the contribution of agriculture and other sectors.

Investigate the decisionmaking process and transparency around the acquisition of agricultural land for housing development.

Government has failed to resolve the crisis at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital and is neglecting the polyclinics.

Government paying a French tax adviser $2 million a year.

Justify spending on embassies across Africa and Dubai.

43. Thorne attacks plans to scrap 11-Plus exam
    Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne has sharply criticised the government’s move to abolish the Barbados Secondary School Entrance Examination – commonly known as the common entrance or 11-plus exam – demanding immediate public consultation.
    “When this government threatens to dismantle a system that it does not understand, then this government must stand condemned for betraying the interests of people in this country,” he argued on Tuesday in his response to the government’s Budget.
    Describing the test as “sacred, but not perfect”, Thorne said the government had an obligation to openly communicate with beneficiaries and potential beneficiaries about the usefulness of the test.
    The Christ Church South MP suggested that low marks in the exam were not due to problems with the test itself, but rather issues within the education system.
    He said: “There are problems in the primary schools. A child fails an 11-Plus exam. He doesn’t fail that exam on that morning. He has been failing from the time he was four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, 10 (years). His failure has been daily, weekly and yearly.”
    He was adamant that the test, which has been in place for several decades, “must not be a subject for callous dismantling, unless the people who are invested in that scheme and in that system, are given fair opportunity to say how they feel about it”.
    “That has been this government’s failure,” he asserted. “That this government has not consulted with the people of this country.”
    Thorne also briefly touched on the issue of brain drain and Barbados losing many of its young people to other countries.
    “One of the tragedies of modern life in Barbados is that we have lost so many of our bright young people, and we used to lose our bright young people on the basis of temporary sojourns in the metropolitan domains. But this group is telling you that they’re not coming back here, perhaps on holiday and tragically, to a funeral, but we’re raising a generation in this country that is not feeling that commitment to this society, and that is a tragedy,” he lamented while urging the present political generation to take joint responsibility to address this. (SZB)

Source: BT

44. William Skinner Avatar

Both Straughn and Thorne have scored political points. Straughn gave the usual run of the mill budget but the opportunity to deliver it increases his stock within the party and perhaps the country. Thorne seems to be overcoming his leadership struggles within the party and the PR stocks might have been taken as a positive by the country. His reply was predictable; nothing to make the mare fly higher.
    However, any politician, who still defends the continuation of the Eleven Plus is either half awake or totally asleep. Thorne unfortunately cannot expect to be taken seriously when he so boisterously defends the pillar of elitism.

45. NO
    Well, the RAT was certainly more interesting that the mumbling, fumbling, second string, greasy gloved, wicket keeper from the prior day.

It’s a pity you were’t up to hear him indict Mottley and the government on their positions on the Ukraine War, the Palestinian genocide, though our position thereon would likely not be dissimilar to the government’s we’ll presume, or the pending Caricom fight with America viz a viz Cuba, the tariff wars looming, etc

You might have even agreed with his conclusions about the state of the NISSS.

For certainty, when you hear a Bajan politician start to infer that the Collective West is dead you must know that it’s already a fait accompli.

RAT has always been the type of batsman with a healthy appitite for the vicious cut, the tempestuous hook, the scintillating drive, not unlike Freddo! We dare say that that kind of an extended innings was well displayed as within the classical short man stylie.

On the church business which is obviously a central part of his political life now, will always be seen by Pacha as the wanderings of that sheep which is still lost. For Pacha, that RAT has read and can quote Dubois, on the one hand, locates him within the greatest Afrikan renaissamce since Kemet, even as this church business stands in stark contradiction thereto.

That for a man who is arguably not lacking in intellectual capacities to proffer that therein lies, the White man’s god business, some solutions to present and future issues will forever remain anathema.

In total, we have never looked for any political saviour of any stripe. However, as an observer, am happy to see there is an opposition attempting to bust up the fully bloomed elected dictatorship.

Indeed, we’re more convinced than ever that this political culture has no ability to deliver anything other than we’ve already had. And RAT, if he succeeds, is highly unlikely to be any different.

In total, the country is at loss.

46. Well said @Pacha.
    (except of course for your trademark Bible paranoia…)

@ William
    Not one shiite is wrong with the 11+ per se..

The problem is with those who are UNSATISFIED with the talents with which they have been blessed, and who aspire to be ‘academics’ instead.

The actual test itself may need to be refined and upgraded…
    ..but the CONCEPT of identifying children’s various talents and then channeling them appropriately …makes CONSUMATE sense.
    Which is why it has been IMPOSSIBLE to replace it…. everything else is worse.

On the Budget, ..EXACTLY like the Governor of the CBB, Straughn pontificated with the usual economic jargon that is designed to hide the SIMPLE COMMONSENSE of good housekeeping.
    WE ARE COMMITTED TO SPENDING MORE THAN WE EARN.

However you put THAT FACT, in whatever fancy terms, and by whatever measures, WE ARE DOING SHIITE that will catch up on us…

So if you are impressed with his grasp of the many economics terms, and his ability to call a spade a rock, ..then say so…
    BUT a country, company, family or person …who CANNOT SPEND LESS THAN THEY EARN (far less put a little aside for when Trump comes) is called a PARRO …and is destined for life on the streets – begging and being humiliated.

What a blindness!!
    What a curse!
    What a Ponzi type of thinking…

47. I am convinced when people get the opportunity to present or reply to a budget they believe the longer they speak the more effective it will be. Actually quite the opposite is true. I listened to Mr. Straughn’s marathon presentation of a budget he cleary did not write, followed by Mr. Thornes similarly lengthy return and here is what my view.

First let me say I did not listen to the full presentation from either of them. It is inhumane to expect a human to sit for 4 hours and listen to 1 hour of presentation with 3 hours of harang thrown in for the sake of political fan fare. In future both you gentleman would benefit from a presentation lasting no more than 90 minutes but filled with facts and supporting data. Where were the tourism spend figures for January and February compared to last year for example? Why did Mr.Thorne not pick apart the debt? My personal view is ease up on the time used guys and deliver the facts and numbers to us instead. After all wunna educated us for free so give us the benefit of doubt please.

48. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bush Tea
    Well , you are within your rights to say there is nothing wrong with it but we have a completely different opinion . The Eleven Plus has served its purpose but if we are going to transform education and maintain an exam that sends hundreds of students into an exam room knowing full well they cannot pass and then fooling the public they have by sending them to schools without even mastering the basics , is nothing more than a form of genocide.
    Elitism has never served the masses.