Here is another story published in the Nation newspaper on the 13th February 2025 that should be of interest to Barbadians (see below). A blind man on a trotting horse can see that traffic management in Barbados is non existent. There is random lawlessness by motorists, gridlock, traffic lights in a perpetual systemic failure, any size car or bus allowed on narrow roads, PSVs create bandstands anywhere to name a few.

It is therefore alarming to read that 469 vehicles and 28 vehicle shells have not been cleared from the Barbados Port Inc and as a result has compromised storage capacity. Bear in mind Barbados has one port which manages cargo and cruise ship vessels. The question which comes to mind is – why has the situation been allowed to deteriorate at the port? As a result of the mismanagement and incompetence there a few serious issues for us to ponder:

1. Supply chain disruptions causing delays in doing business.
  2. Increase cost in goods because of storage and demurrage fees.
  3. Reputational damage, some boats unable to berth have to reroute or wait to offload cargo.
  4. Any operation under constant pressure becomes vulnerable to being exploited
  5. Unable to adequately maintain network of roads, see the potholes.
  6. The increasing number of accidents, listen to what insurance companies are saying.
  7. Negative impact on national productivity because of the gridlock, is anyone saying anything?

Feel free to expand on the issues which are not meant to be exhaustive.

Port overload

More than 400 vehicles may be auctioned

IMPORTERS OF MORE THAN 400 vehicles left in the Bridgetown Port face the possibility of them being auctioned off if not collected in 14 days.

Chief executive officer of the Barbados Port Inc. (BPI) David Jean-Marie and Comptroller of Customs Owen Holder made that known yesterday in response to the high number of uncollected shipments contributing to delays with other imports.

During a press conference at Cube Blue, Harbour Road, St Michael, Jean-Marie explained that their storage capacity was under strain as the vehicles remained for much longer than required.

“Our physical count on Monday, February 10, 2025, totalled 469 vehicles and 28 vehicle shells in the port. Customs had a legitimate interest in another 15 vehicles, also in the port. This situation is contributing significantly to congestion as some of these automobiles have had to be placed in areas designated for the storage of containers.

“Containers, as a result, are being stored at three and four high, making it necessary for us to shift multiple containers to retrieve those requested for delivery. This is impacting both full and empty containers,” said Jean-Marie.

From 3 to 218 days

Some of the vehicles have been in port from three days to more than a year.

He acknowledged the progressive increase in the time trucks spent in the port. The time in port more than doubled the 35 minutes target set with some reaching 88 minutes in January this year.

Recently, the port had to reduce how many trucks were allowed in and one arriving vessel was also impacted.

“Due to the amount of activity in the terminal during the 7 a.m. to 4 p.m. period, the number of trucks allowed in port has had to be reduced. With cargo ships being serviced and cruise operations also being active, we have had to reduce the truck delivery lanes from four to two. The trucks are marshalled outside of the North Gate.

“Just last month, one vessel originally scheduled to arrive on January 20, 2025, did not call as there was simply no room to handle an additional 400 vehicles. Two vehicle carriers had been discharged in the previous week,” he said.

In the next five days, 842 vehicles will be arriving. The first shipment on February 13 includes 150 vehicles, 42 of which are to be transshipped to Grenada.

The second shipment on February 15 has a count of 98 and the third, due on February 17, 2025, is expected to bring 594 vehicles.

“We are therefore appealing to consignees to hasten the clearance and collection of their cargo from the port. Importers and consignees are reminded that they have a responsibility to submit appropriate documentation, obtain the delivery order from the agent or the freight forwarder, obtain release documents from Customs and other regulatory agencies, settle their financial obligations to the port and take delivery of the cargo. This process is conveniently facilitated electronically to facilitate faster clearance.”

While stressing that aged cargo also carried an increased health risk, he urged consignees with challenges to reach out before the 30-day grace period for all cargo which is classified as aged cargo and can be put up for auction.

“Extended storage in port amidst increasing cargo and cruise activity is a courtesy we can no longer afford, even with the collection of storage charges beyond the five business days free storage,” he said.

While importers were previously given grace, Holder reminded of the law which says that cargo should be cleared in 14 days.

“The length of time of cars remaining in port means that the revenue on those cars cannot be collected. Under our Act [the Barbados Customs Act], goods should be cleared within 14 days by sea, and if they are not cleared by sea, they should be sold by auction. “This situation in the port has left us with no option but to pursue the law and to proceed with necessary auctions if the cargo is not cleared within the specific time,” Holder said.

He added that there is a small number of vehicles for which customers are in discussion with importers.

“We will honour that commitment to make sure that we will continue that discussion with the view of coming to an agreement. But the other vehicles will be subject to auction.”

Regarding the auctions, he said the public would be informed of the dates.

“I will say again, cargo, imported cargo, should be cleared within 14 days of the arrival by sea, and that is the framework with which we will operate regarding the auction of the goods,” Holder added. (TG)

59 responses to “Paralysis at Barbados Port threatens economy”

1. What a poor level of management at all levels…

Wunna telling Bushie that our Port is designed to run efficiently – ONLY provided that its various publics do ‘what is right’?
    That’s not ‘management’. That is ‘wishing and hoping’.

So, ANY AMOUNT of vehicles can be dumped in Barbados by business persons looking to make a quick $10,000 profit on a used vehicle from Asia? …only where the policy makers are either asleep or ’se vende’.

Who has set out an optimum number of vehicles to be allowed – GIVEN OUR LIMITED ROADS, SPACE, SOLID WASTE RESOURCES, and even FOREX levels? …
    ..Oh WAIT!!! that would be Do Shiite!!

Sooo….just like any land owner can use CRITICAL NATIONAL AGRICULTURAL RESOURCES as they like, for THEIR OWN personal gains, it looks like Tom Dick and David can just do whatever comes to mind for whatever personal reason…

What a place nuh!!!

ANY business that was run like Barbados has been since Tom Adams would have been bankrupted and closed….
    Just like Barbados is right now..

EXCEPT that we have been bought in a fire sale by the IMF and their international business cohorts – and are being fleeced via our taxes and ridiculous prices, while falling deeper and deeper into debt and serfdom.

How can a formerly BLESSED people fall so bigly..?

…the CURSE.

2. There plans to privatise the port. We opposed that . Messing up the port may be now a way of forcing privatisation. We never know what the collective jokers are planning .

3. This is to be expected. When the Head is sick the rest of the body will follow.

4. Jean-Marie was a promising manager in former times.

This writer has previously worked with him and then found him to be sharp.

However, something has changed.

Again, how do the apparently sharpest tools within the toolbox of Barbados end up in these less than ideal circumstances? Circumstances inconsistent with genuine promise.

As management problems go, the handling of storage, as routine as it is, was never amongst the issues attracting the attention of elite bosses. That this has reached him, occupies his mind as if seeking to be there stored, may well speak to a deeper organizational set of deficiencies/crises.

Is it possible that he toooo has been brought to heel by the false consciousness dominating the country?

5. This is not a ‘Jean-Marie’ problem Pacha…
    It is a SYSTEMIC malaise that has the power to overwhelm all but the most resolute.

Those who wish to ‘fit into the system’ find it impossible to be other than conformist.

How clean do you think you could remain if you accept to work in a mud pit?
    How honest – if you took a position with the Mafia?

Most of our public officers entered the Service with visions of selfless contributions to national development…
    It usually last well into their first year…

6. Terence Blackett Avatar

YOU CAN’T START WRONG & END RIGHT: IT GOES AGAINST EVERY KNOWN UNIVERSAL LAW

In 2023, WIFEY* sent some barrels home based on #AdmiralNelson asking for food donations 2 help struggling “BAJANS” on radio podcast…

Being the “SAINT” that she is, (LITERALLY WITH A *HALO* AROUND HER HEAD), she bought 100s of pieces of all kinds of foods – packed, wrapped, sealed & organized what I thought was a Herculean effort given her own occupational workload; church workload; family & extended family workload – notwithstanding a “HUBBY” who is also a “HANDFUL” – she did the “IMPOSSIBLE” for a school friend who had a humanitarian request…

When the “BARRELS arrived in “BIM” – #TheAdmiral simply sent his broker in & the goods were cleared without a hitch without a “EXTRA DIME” being passed!!!

Last December, when we arrived @GAIA, we had already shipped since Nov 3rd, a number of barrels for “HER FAMILY MEMBERS” as the “X’MAS HOLIDAYS” beckoned & to our surprise, a “MONTH” on, (arriving from Grenada), the shipment was not available for clearance, (with us having to wait extra dayz before we could access them!!!

The issue was due in part to the “INCOMPETENCE” or “NEGLIGENCE” of someone who is meant to be a “KEY BROKER” – who knew we had limited time as we had to depart within a specific timeframe & decided to play the game called “STALLING”!!!

WIFEY* decided to take her paperwork & went to the “PORT” on the morning of the day of our “RETURN TRAVEL” – given we had a late flight around 21:00 hours that evening!!!

It took the best part of an entire day with her having to clear the goods herself using her feminine charms (WHO SAYS BEAUTY IS VAIN*), when a thing of beauty is a joy forever, (and others will bow 2 your wishes & desires) without fail!!!

NO WONDER SOLOMON WAS BESOTTED WITH THE QUEEN OF SHEBA

At first, she was doubtful, but I reminded her that “GOD IS THE ONE WHO GIVES FAVOUR” & I prayed the “PRAYER OF FAITH” & she went into the port with her sister & by 5 PM that evening, she was making her way back to the car with “GOOD NEWS”, that everything was done – including transport to her Sista’s house!!!

To live in “BARBADOS” calls for a special kinda’ person – given the prevailing atmospheric winds that blow across that land – “ATTITUDES”, GIMME GIMME”, based on “HANDOUTS” & “BRIBES” & THE LIST GOES ON!!!

NO WONDER WIFEY* TELLS EVERYONE THAT BARBADOS IS NOT THE COUNTRY SHE ONCE KNEW & SHE COULD NOT LIVE THERE EVEN IF SHE OWNED HALF THE COUNTRY

I am a bit different, but saying all that, I still believe that “SEISMOLOGY” changes “EVERYTHING”!!!

ALL IT TAKES 2 GARNER TRUE UNITY IS 4 EVERYTHING TO COLLAPSE SPECTACULARLY

#ItsOnlyAMatterOfTime

THE CROWN JEWELS ARE ALL GONE – THERE’S NOTHING LEFT 4 THE AVERAGE BAJAN

#WhatsNextGUYS*
    #WhoseMoveIsIt
    #IsRevolutionComing

#StayTuned

7. Port overload what! Try and put the dam port on 2 shifts do! Start the second shift from 4pm to midnight and draw the dam cars and cargo then. Everybody will arrange to suit. What they can not get drawn in the day they can draw after 4 pm AT NO ADDITIONAL COST AS THOSE WORKING WILL BE WORKING A SHIFT AND NOT OVERTIME.

Wunna like to make simple solutions seem impossible. Imagine if airports only open from 8 am to 4pm what would happen nuh?

8. @John A

Will the BWU go along with two shifts?

9. Also, how will two shifts solve the issue of inept management that has lead to valuable real state being used to store vehicles at the port?

10. @ David.

Why would they object it may lead to further employment. Also its only for the period say from December 15th to March 30th anyhow. The faster the state can clear the port, the more space is there for new cargo which in turn means more vat and duty for the state. If they would expand their thinking using the tools they have, instead of thinking up foolish ideas like charging corporation tax monthly, we would be way better off. In other words expand new income options that are low hanging fruit and can improve tax income. instead wunna want to split the dollar you would get in corpration tax in 2 payments, now into 12 monthly payments of little over 8 cents each. More paper work, more forms and more red tape to collect the same amount when done. Unless of course wunna so brek you need the 8 cents a month quick to pay the water bill that in arrears. LOL

11. @John A

You must be aware decisions are never made based on commonsense between these parties. Do you recall the Don made the push when he was minister of commerce to a 24hrs work day the push back?

12. @ David

Well the 24 hr work day was a nonesence suggestion. Very few businesses can generate the type of business volume needed to make a 24 hr work day work. With the exception of gas stations maybe and they already open late anyway.

So my question to anyone that would object to a 2 shift sea port for 4 months of the year is, “are the airport workers not already unionised?” So if it aint a problem for the airport what is the problem for the sea port? Remember we talking two shifts so we ending around the same time as the airport closes anyhow. Are not all utility companys on call 24 hours? Well i aint sure bout FLOW cause you can hardly find a human there in the day farless the night.

13. @John A

The 24hr thing probably had more to do with being an international business jurisdiction and being able to align to different time zones.

14. We are completely confounded that for all our bragging about our educational system, we continue to produce , a bundle of talkers, who are adept at analyzing all global problems, even offering solutions, but simply cannot solve our own problems. This is certainly not peculiar to Barbados but is evident throughout the region.
    We simply don’t set standards and then we scorn those who attempt to show us that without standards and the ability to adapt when necessary, we will continue the malaise.
    We recall the bacchanal that ensued over the gantry crane; the hullabaloo over seatbelts; and almost embarrassing nonsense about breathalyzer tests and on and on. We simply have an aversion to standards.
    We cannot even work out simple arithmetical problems on maintaining roads; how many mini buses we need ; how many taxis we really need at the port etc. How many buses and garbage trucks we need.
    This helter-skelter approach to managing ourselves must stop or we would continue to waste money and human resources.
    When we fail to plan , we plan to fail.
    With all the brainiacs around , we could not find ten people , with the adequate knowledge to present a plan to reform education. We screwed up the whole effort to write a new constitution. Simple maintenance of schools and public buildings is a mass of frigging confusion.
    Are we ever going to get serious or just walk about the place beating our chests with flowery language , an outstanding vocabulary but can’t solve anything.
    And please don’t reference : England , France and Germany. Thanks

15. ” I can swim but I don’t swim “

16. @ William

Is it that we can’t find people with adequate knowledge…?

..or is it that such persons are not available to politicians to be treated like doormats?
    …and hence they are rejected …DESPITE the obvious talent that they bring to the table?

Bushie recalls our government being PUBLICLY warned BEFOREHAND – about a number of the foolish projects that they went ahead and messed up…

Bushie recalls talented persons offering to undertake complex areas of FAILED government enterprises … but have not heard a word from government on these offers..
    It THAT not interesting…?

Perhaps, DESPITE OUR COMPLAINTS, our government LIKES IT AS IT IS.

It may look like abject failure to us… but as you know …
    “It is an ill wind that blows nobody good”.

Somewhere, there may well be beneficiaries of our ongoing failures….

What a place to be in these challenging times…

17. @Bush Tea,

I agree, wholeheartedly, with your comments.
    There is a method behind this madness.

We were sold the myth that we were to become a Republic. We have the polar opposite of this. Barbadians are being fattened up on an inferior diet mixed in with a blend of mindless events and gatherings. Oblivious to the fact that the country is been run into the ground. As we await the inevitable shipwreck, from near and afar the beneficiaries are looking on with their telescopes comfortable in the knowledge that Barbados will become theirs through both stealth and attrition.

When our glorious empress won the vote from her citizens, she stressed that Bajans should seek pastures new. She also emphasised that she would welcome a more diverse population.

The domestic Bajan is in the same position as his Palestinian brothers and sisters. We have witnessed how the Zionists have shamefully renagaged on the ceasefire agreement by not allowing for the transportation of vital life saving equipment and food.

Israel’s intention is to demoralise the Palestinians to such a degree that they leave voluntarily. Our current government and the one before both shared this ambition.

Once this occurs we will see clearly who will be the beneficiaries.

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WS
    And yet, on several occasions standards are set, but then blatantly abused.
    The challenge is neither the standard set nor the abuse or refusal/inability to meet, rather there are NO CONSEQUENCES.
    Citizens are left to wallow in excuseland. And seem quite content doing so.

19. The future.

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has outlined an ambitious vision for the future of Barbados’ health care sector, announcing plans to expand medical research, manufacturing and innovative diagnostic technologies.

20. @ Bush Tea ; TLSN; Observer
    Total agreement with all that the three of you have said. Unfortunately, anybody who cares about the future of our children, cannot possibly be other than very concerned, bordering on fear , of what will be their future. Mottley, has not delivered as an inspirational or transformative leader, her lifetime diet of rabid politics , absent of any ideology or philosophy has caught up with her. She has been given more than any other leader but has chosen to act more as an escape artist than anything else. We hope she makes a one eighty degree turn very shortly.
    Against this background with just Thorne in the wings, we expect , even if the government changes, it would still be business as usual because Thorne is just another fruit from the same tree.
    The question is whether we are just chilling waiting on one moment to have a massive explosion , in order to correct the nonsense that has crippled us for the last four or five decades. Some opine even longer.

21. It is no more possible to get the wet out of water than to reverse the chronic levels of disfunction within the country, and throughout the world.

Have we not had many who have so tried and failed? Could it be possible that the human is the one organism, while destroying millions of species, make such oblique claims to an everlasting life here or elsewhere?

Pacha has been previously accused of always seeing nothing but destruction by a self described Christian from over and away.

But could these unavoidable calamities not be the birthing pains of a New World? And has the Great Mother not renewed Herself 5 times before?

These prospects should be embraced not rejected. For in rejecting them weee reject the Great Mother, Herself!

22. @ Pacha
    Get a grip!!
    The final destruction of this ridiculous world, …like the ultimate death of ALL LIVING ORGANISMS, is absolutely inevitable…
    We all know this.
    Therefore, the success or failure of any PARTICULAR existence is not tied to the longevity of that life, but to the QUALITY lived.

So even in the face of imminent national implosion, fueled by poor leadership and lack of vision, the ENLIGHTENED are able to live full and blessed lives – even more so within the framework of brassbowlery that abounds.

Recall that this shiite world is really just a cauldron of heat, pressure, and stress, designed to produce ‘characters of diamonds’.
    Diamonds are NOT created in placid, hospitable environments…. hence the design is WELL on track…

So your prediction of the coming mushroom is about as incisive as the idea that Cuhdear will be rocking on some ZR in coming days…

The REAL question then is …
    How have YOU been able to withstand and overcome the brassbowlery, on your way to ‘character diamondship’..?

23. The question remains : if all that is to follow is certain destruction and failure and if all systems to date have failed, why do we worry with all these prognostications. Why do we need any structure; why do we pursue higher learning. Sounds like we are preaching fire and brimstone in the same manner the preachers do in church.
    In the famous words of the Harold Melvin and the Blue Notes : the world won’t get any better if we just let it be.’

24. Here, there is a type of thinking which tries to equate all kinds of things as equal to everything else. A simpleton’s way of seeing reality.

Those who so postulate have more to explain than those who contend, like several scientific disciplines, that planets constantly renew themselves, die, new ones constantly forming, within the universal cauldron.

Indeed, Ancient Afrikans found spiritual meanings within the stars, the celestial cycles, etc. However, the strictly materialists here would have us forget this and think in the tired and simplistic Western or Aryan terms as presented.

Indeed there is the indisputable fact that the Great Mother, of all of nature has renewed Herself five times over. And if this is the case, is it not possible for this to happen more times? In the way empires rise and fall, like the sun rises, sets. Do they know that not even the Sun will always be there. It will last about another 5 billion years before it burns out. Humans shall be long gone before then.

Those here who believe fervently that an unschooled, man in the street, kind of thinking is applicable to every situation represent a danger. They are still 11-plus boys!

Further, these same simpletons are, by their every comment, are as committed to materialism, as their White masters were during the so-called enlightenment, and don’t even know it.

Their Western, materialistic attitudes prevents reaching the stage where the spiritual, popularly known as gut feelings, which have nothing to do with religion. But they have been so Whitened.

There is no room in all the universes for the simpleton. Those so born and will certainly die have never lived!

25. any a wunna speak spanish ?

26. We are dealing with solving the problems before us. Problems have existed and will exist at all times. Why seek to inject what is known to mankind at all times and even what is not known will be revealed and has been revealed . Trying to solve problems at the port has nothing to do with being materialistic or enslaved to the white man’s thinking. Going to a university in a White man’s country does not make anybody white or materialistic. We will continue to highlight what is wrong with Barbados and the Caribbean.
    We do so fully aware of who we are and will not be distracted by those who believe that they and they alone have been freed or have enlightened themselves from Eurocentric groundings.
    We see no need to constantly repeat we are from Africa or African, if we are discussing the removal of garbage or running the port.
    This fire and brimstone rhetoric is the same rhetoric used to destroy our very existence.
    No doubt the universe is unfolding as it should. Like it Or not !

27. “Indeed there is the indisputable fact that the Great Mother, of all of nature has renewed Herself five times over.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Is this your attempt to sidestep the obvious existence of a CREATOR…?
    a brilliant and supernatural entity so beyond our scope that even as we speak, our best intellectual minds at the best universities are still trying to unravel the complexities of as basic a creation as the human gut…never mind the brain, mind and senses…

A ‘Mother’ gives birth without a clue as to the complexities involved, but the ultimate CREATOR must be the real deal.

If Bushie, perhaps the simplest among us, would be SURE to have an ULTIMATE PURPOSE in mind for any little shiite project the bushman undertakes, …how MUCH MORE would it be expected that such supernatural, creative, intelligence would have a sensible and logical PURPOSE for creating the experience that we know as ‘Project Life on Earth’?

You can bet your last dollar on that overarching PURPOSE…
    Of course your dilemma lays with that ‘Purpose’ having been documented in a certain set of ‘writings’ that tends to throw you into a tantrum… LOL ha ha ha

The temporary physical project of which we are part – is but a mechanism that has been created to play a key role in the PURPOSE of the Creation. Whether the temporary lives or dies, or how it dies, .. is largely incidental to the final grand PURPOSE that is being served.

So to William’s question ‘What is the point..?’

EVERYTHING is ‘the point’ ..of seeking FIRST the grand PURPOSE of life, and letting all the other incedentals be added as required.

Indeed, once the REAL purpose of life is found, ‘EVA ting else’ .. is just a lotta shii….!!

Murduh!!

28. Be honest! This writer knows you and can state with certainty that you’ve never had any love for Afrika or Afrikan peoples.

As an analog, you prefer to dwell on a modern Caribbean seeking to find meaning in what is no more than a European project still.

Indeed, you’ve never made any forthright claims to Afrocentricity. And it’s impossible to make such claims unless you first accept that the spiritual has always been so central.

What your idiocy fails to recognize is that within the Afrikan cosmogeny the spiritual, as a scientific construction, is central to everything.

So only a school boy would pretend to be trying to solve problems but yet ignore the dominant dimension – the spiritual – while fooling around with an Aryan mentality.

And be Jesus Christ we’re NOT talking about religion of any kind for the Ancient Afrikans knew not of it.

Aware what! There is no critical awareness within the Caribbean that the connection with Afrika is anything more than happenstance. When people like you continue to tell all these rasssoul lies no wonder the region will be forever caught in a web of it’s own making.

Who are the people within your Caribbean affirming Afrikan-ness as the way of being?

Indeed, the average and titularly Black in the Caribbean never has Afrikan-ness in mind , like you!

You cannot so claim unless the spiritual dimension is accepted. Your immature state of being cannot countenance such. And weeee both know this!

29. Your feeble attempts to determine what others know is now reaching comedic proportions. We find it impossible to deal with those who claim to know the spirituality of others. Having been exposed to some of the most brilliant minds of the region , we seek no validation of who or what we are from others , especially those buried in some almost embarrassing state of imperial intellectual arrogance.
    There are no gains to be made here and it’s not our desire to educate minds clogged by over exposure to themselves.
    For anybody to suggest that people in the Caribbean have to “ affirm” their Afrikan- ness, exposes a very laughable understanding of what they speak.
    That Afrikaness was established from the first step from our ancestors, that touched the earth of the Caribbean and it has remained ever since and it shall remain long after the nonsense expressed here has long been forgotten .
    Leave the Afrikan Caribbean alone and take your European fire and brimstone preaching elsewhere ; you will never earn the right to piss on Afrikan people anywhere irrespective of where they may dwell.
    For your information that Afrikan spirituality of which you attempt to speak has brought us from slavery to self government in less than two hundred years. The reason you cannot understand that is simply because you are apparently blinded by your own light.
    That spirituality has always been here and you are not the only one who knows of it.
    And please be informed that there really is no escape from that spirituality. Quite frankly you have clearly demonstrated that you know or understand very little of what you speak.
    As previously mentioned there is not a single student in awe of any arrogant teacher.

30. @William

You should be happy to hear\read PM Mottley’s message to the HoGs yesterday.
    Mottley’s warning

Caricom told: Not business as usual

WITH THE WORLD REELING from all kinds of problems, it cannot be business as usual for Barbados and other member states of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).

Incoming CARICOM chair Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley sounded that warning last night as she called for urgent solutions to the pressing concerns facing Caribbean people, including the climate crisis, finally achieving full freedom of movement in the region, reducing the cost of living, fixing an education system that is “in shambles”, achieving food security, and reducing gun violence and an overall worrying crime situation.

Addressing the opening of the 48th Regular Meeting of the Conference of CARICOM Heads of Government at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, Mottley said it was also necessary for CARICOM as an institution to be reformed.

This included establishing independent funding mechanisms and reviewing governance structures.

The Prime Minister’s call for solutions and meaningful change was heard by an audience which included President The Most Honourable Dame Sandra Mason, United Nations Secretary General António Guterres, and president of the European Commission Ursula von der Leyen.

“What is clear is that it cannot be business as usual. We have come to Bridgetown in this year of 2025 at a time when the world is reeling, reeling from all kinds of problems, the climate crisis; we don’t need anyone to tell us about it,” she said.

“We know what it is each summer to have to hold our breath and to wait and to hope that this is not going to be our turn. We know first-hand how the world has become an awful place since the pandemic, where all of the wars and all of the scars and all of the cuts have become very, very clear and open for everyone to see.

“And where, effectively, the world has said that might is right, and where small states are often excluded because our orders are too minuscule to command attention.”

With CARICOM Heads and other officials scheduled to start their business sessions at the Wyndham Grand Barbados Sam Lord’s Castle in St Philip today, Mottley reiterated that “this meeting . . . cannot be business as usual”.

The CARICOM chair’s to-do list included full freedom of movement Food, water new oil of 21st century, says Mottley

of Caribbean people, which she said “is at the centre of who and why we are here, and I trust and pray that we can leave Bridgetown with clarity on this objective.

“Secondly, the issue of cost of living continues to bedevil too many of our people, and we run the risk that our traditional sources of food may well become more difficult to access because of the climate crisis and because of decisions on the movement of labour,” she said.

“And to that extent, while we have spoken at length always about creating new sources for imports, while boosting our production regionally, we can no longer speak about it, but it must become a reality, because food and water are the new oil of this 21st century.”

Mottley added: “At the same time, our education is in shambles in the region, and the quicker we come together and coordinate the reform that is necessary for it, the better we will be, because we cannot build out this region with the old educational systems of the colonial system that are hierarchical in nature and ignore the reality.”

Crime was another worry for the Prime Minister. She said that in addition to strengthening law enforcement and reforming the criminal justice system, it was important to “create the opportunities for our young people so that they are not taken on that path that has led us in this region to have one of the highest homicide per capita rates, regrettably, in the world”.

Mottley, whose previous stint as CARICOM chair was at the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, urged regional heads to use their deliberations and “really expose our hearts and our minds to each other and agree on a common platform on critical issues”.

“We will not get it all right one time, but we must have a common vision and we must be prepared to recognise that none of us will get exactly what we want, but we must all work for what the people of the Caribbean need. And if we can do that, then we will have run successfully our leg of the relay race,” she stressed.

She made it clear, however, that achieving this objective required change within CARICOM.

“We have a responsibility to reform this institution. We have spoken for too long as to the need for independent funding mechanisms. Whether it is an issue of a small fee for all border passings, people coming in and out of our borders, or whether it is the assignment of renewable energy licences to CARICOM and our regional institutions, the time is upon us for settling the independent funding of this Caribbean Community,” the CARICOM chair submitted.

“In addition, we need to review the governance mechanisms and to recognise that there may be a need for a greater political voice alongside the administrative structures of CARICOM as we have come to know it over the last few decades.” (SC)

31. Well, Mia Mottley also addressed the Heads of Government at the African Unión over the weekend in Ethiopia.

Here is it. A youtube vid of course! Therein she made every salient point. Her speech at Caricom could never be properly understood unless one reads that to the AU.

Pacha could have written it, and maybe!

This has always been the problem here. People selectively looking at singular data points and missing the whole. Very seldom can a singularity be properly understood separate and distinct.

This is merely a symptom of the abridgement in our thinking. The innate hatred of Afrika by those who continue to postulate that we are somehow something different – some made up people constructed out of Ethiopia. Civilizations can never be so built.

Their arguments are not new. In 1972 at UNESCO Cheihk Anta Diop had to make the argument that Kemet meant the Land of the Blacks in the face or rejections from the Arabs, and Black apologists like weee see here today, who are currently occupying what is now known as Egypt. Of course, the same could be said of Mellanigia, the Land of the Blacks. Afrikan peoples had no such denial of self as seen here repeatedly.

Mottley’s point of departure was the Battle of Adwa where Ethiopian forces fought and defeated invading fascist Italian forces. Of course, she neglected to mention that it was the Soviet Unión which supplied the weapons. She mentioned however, that it was Barbados which bravely allowed Cuban forces to stop over and refuel on their way to the liberation of Southern Afrika.

Those assholes who elect to continue labouring under some specious concoction about the Caribbean as some civilizational state will always be ahistorical, given the new and emerging demands of today and the future.

Certainly, Barbados in ceding slavery to the rest of the hemisphere, starting in South Carolina, cannot best represent such claims.

Here is Mottley. And with all her faults, she’s right about her dominant thesis. This region has never been and shall never be anything absent a whole of Afrika orientation.

https://youtu.be/m5VhPF8rsYU?si=aBCyq-e-GMQBgAje

32. ……constructed out of thin air …….

33. Is it Mia or Elombe?

Mottley being the political animal understands doors to traditional avenues are closing and to be able to sustain fragile economies she must be opportunistic.

34. Your claims of arrogance, as clumsilly made as per usual, well rest within a mindset which demands that this writer accepts a Caribbean theology as constructed by your preferred people.

The Lammingses, the Williamses and the other names you selectively here drop.

Fuck no! For an Afrikan orientation requires us to always remember the past but be bound to the future. If Pacha is arrogant within your underdeveloped mind such thinly veiled, crab-in-the-barrel, mentalities shall never deter us.

Our point of departure is, has been and always will be, that the great Caribbean intellectuals of previous generations – the Demases and the like – never had these current circumstances to deal with and that any sentient mind must be “arrogant” enough to be inspired by a renewed spirit.

Your European mentality never understood the spiritual dimension. Like Jean-Paul Sartre who led the separation of the Afrikan spiritual from everything else, within the socalled enlightenment era, has represented a weakness with the thinking of those people whose dispositions, you believe, should dominate decources today.

Pacha say never!

Before your last post, your critique was that Ancient Afrikan spiritualism was the same as the European renderings of religion. And be Jesus Christ we’re paraphrasing. For you best represent a dishonesty which fails to recognize a right to paraphrase anything.

And since this writer was “arrogantly” able to beat back that nonsense, like a yelping dog, and instead of recognizing your deeply ingrained ignorance, you then proceeded to change the basis of the argument, like you always do.

A highly dishonesty fucker!

35. “Arrogantly” we say sorry.

Indeed, it was the French philosopher Immanuel Kant who led the separation of Afrikan spirituality, as a branch of the sciences, as borrowed wholesale from Afrika, from the material – mathematics etc.

Many minds here today are still today guided by this devil. Still labouring within a vineyard leading to destruction.

36. @ David
    Mottley’s speech is well taken. We hope that this represents a progressive turning point in her leadership of the region.

37. There is paralysis every where it seems.

Why don’t our systems work better?

Last week I was re-reading the Court of Appeal decision in the case of Anthony Herbert vs Berger Paints. What stood out most to me was not the reason I was reviewing the case, but the fact that the claimant’s claim for unfair dismissal had taken five years to be heard by the Employment Rights Tribunal. Let that sink in.

Mr Herbert was dismissed in October 2014, but his case was not heard by the tribunal until October 2019. Notably, Mr Herbert filed his appeal against the tribunal’s decision in 2020 and his appeal was heard by the Court of Appeal in 2021.

How bizarre is it that a claim can be heard by the Court of Appeal much quicker than by the tribunal? Clearly, the current systems for dealing with complaints under the Employment Rights Act ( ERA), particularly claims for unfair dismissal, need to be revamped.

Pursuant to Section 32 of the ERA, an employee has three months from the date of termination to file a claim for unfair dismissal.

Section 43 then states that when the Chief Labour Officer receives a complaint under the Act, “he shall as soon as practicable inquire into the matter and process the complaint for conciliation and referral to the Tribunal”. Section 44 states that where the Chief Labour Officer is unable within 42 days of the making of the complaint “except in extenuating circumstances, to effect a settlement of the complaint . . . he shall make a report to that effect to the Tribunal and the Tribunal shall upon receipt of a report, proceed forthwith to consider the complaint”.

The timelines in the ERA are very short: three months to lodge the complaint, then a conciliation and settlement should be pursued within 42 days of receiving the complaint and then sent to the tribunal if not settled within that timeframe. These timelines show it was anticipated that claims would be processed and/or forwarded to the tribunal within months of the dismissal of the employee. So how is it taking up to five years? Is it that legislators draft statutes with insufficient consultation with the stakeholders to first determine whether the timelines are practical?

Is it that legislation is passed before any significant action is taken to put in place the infrastructure, including people and physical resources to carry out the functions of the Act, including obtaining necessary Cabinet, Government and/or presidential approvals?

Was it not last year that Minister of Labour Colin Jordan advised that we would have a full-time tribunal by the end of 2024? Yet, we are two months into 2025 and no Employment Rights Tribunals are functioning and there is no full-time tribunal.

The Most Honourable Justice Christopher Blackman resigned as tribunal chairman back in 2023 citing insufficient resources as part of his reasons. Deputy chairman Omari Drakes resigned last July. The only functioning tribunal was that chaired by deputy chairman Kathy-Ann Hamblin SC. But one tribunal is insufficient to tackle the longstanding backlog that pre-dated Justice Blackman’s appointment in 2019.

Just last week I read a Nation Editorial which questioned when the new Constitution would be implemented now that the Constitutional Reform Commission had completed its mandate and Barbados had been a republic for two years.

Let’s not speak of the delays in the courts and, worse yet, the Probate Registry. Delays have become the norm in our legal system and this is not good.

What measures will the new full-time tribunal implement to attack the significant backlog? I believe many of the backlogged cases involve dismissals that were procedurally incorrect and thereby, pursuant to the decision of the Caribbean Court of Justice, were automatically unfair.

They do not need ventilation by the tribunal and should be weeded out, whether at the outset as the first cases addressed by the new full-time tribunal or assigned to a part-time or temporary tribunal which should be charged with weeding out these types of cases and ruling on them at case management so they stop unnecessarily clogging the system.

Michelle M. Russell is an attorney with a passion for employment law and mental health. Email: mrussell.ja@icloud.com

38. @ David
    Did you hear the Tyre-Slasher talking about food security during the recent CARICOM waste-of-time talk sessions..?
    ha ha ha – what a joker!

Look!!
    Appointments are made on the basis of having the favor of the ‘powers that be’ – this means family, friends, bosom buddies, political hangers-on, and effeminate public servants… and some who hold secrets..

There is ZERO accountability at ALL levels – except occasionally at the very bottom.

There are ZERO consequences for failure.
    …indeed, failure seems to result in promotion to even MORE critical and SENIOR areas of responsibility.

There are NO reliable reports made public – only CHILDISH political spin from the MULTITUDE of propaganda staff that has been recruited – INSTEAD of actual performers.

…and then there are the sleep walking BBs…

There seems to be little awareness of the DANGEROUS path on which we are headed, as the brass are constantly distracted with shiite TRIVIA such as We Gatherin, Vybes Kartel, 11 Plus, or the waste-of-time CARICOM annual holiday sessions.

What the Hell else is to be expected in such circumstances than PARALYSIS?
    If we have planted shiite, what did we expect to reap…?

39. @Bush Tea

Haven’t we agreed that it is a talk shop #caricom?

When the chairman of the useless CRC commented that it was unsuccessful securing a budget to adequately print copies of the report to efficiently distribute to the public that summed it up.

We must do better especially with governance projects.

40. LOL @ David
    Your favorite consultant is on Brass Tacks Sunday demonstrating how it is possible for an otherwise intelligent person to sit on a Board such as the CBB – and make not the smallest impact on common sense.

Asked by a caller how Barbados could be in an IMF program and continue to borrow willy nilly from Tom Dick and the IDB, he explained that since the Debt to GDP ratio was not increasing, the IMF would have no problem with our borrowings…

So if YOU have a mortgage with Scotia you can now feel completely justified in borrowing Enuff from CIBC / First Citizens and Republic …every damn month, to make the Scotia monthly payments, AND some utilities too..
    … and you will be acting on highly respected academic advice….

This is of course like music to the ears of Auntie..

What a place!!

41. an wen de hurricane come and lick up babadus… de LOANS will be converted to AID.

buh doan mine me.

42. We haven’t all agreed. Some seem to expect a miracle and that some things will correct themselves.
    The sad fact is that if you name a system in Barbados, I can find a point where it is failing.
    It makes no sense my mentioning any system…. Just think for yourself

43. @Bush Tea

Didn’t get the opportunity to listen. Running budget deficits and carrying debt is done based on ‘acceptable’ metrics. Managing is no longer anchored to a philosophy of what economists refer to as economic smoothing.

44. @ David
    Managing is no longer anchored to a philosophy of what economists refer to as economic smoothing.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    LOL…
    You mean it is now LACKING in common sense..?

Do you know any ‘economist’ (WETHTI) who is personally successful? … beyond talking incomprehensible shiite, and fleecing a useless university / government in order to survive?

Recall that OSA was ‘given’ leadership after he found himself unemployed and scripting..? then he left the place in a mess… and went back to loiter on the ‘Hill’.

Mascoll had a hard time trying to sell hardwood…

and Wood now knows all the answers – after failing at MULTIPLE Ministries…

The proof of the pudding is in the EATING, not flashing various pretty recipes…

Bushie will NOT be hiring any shiite mechanic, whose car is always broken down…
    Murda!!

45. Fiscal benefits from debt swaps

THE Central Bank of Barbados says debtfor- development swaps of the kind undertaken by Government can ease debt burdens and create fiscal space for growth.

That is the position outlined in a Central Bank staff analysis titled Debt-For-Development Swaps: A Tool For Climate Action And Economic Resilience Barbados recently concluded a near $600 million debt-for-climate swap, following a $300 million debt-for-nature one in 2022.

“These financial transactions restructure existing debt into new obligations with more favourable terms, such as lower interest rates or extended maturities,” the Central Bank says.

“Debt-for-development swaps specifically channel funds into national priorities like climate action, education, and nature conservation without increasing debt distress. Barbados has been a global leader in this area, completing the world’s first debt-for-climate swap in November 2024, following its debt- for-nature swap in 2022.”

The monetary authority added: “Debt swaps provide fiscal flexibility. In the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, rising debt service costs have constrained public investment, particularly in climate resilience.

“By reallocating resources from debt service to critical developmental projects, debtfor- development swaps offer a mechanism to address pressing challenges while supporting economic growth. These swaps not only improve fiscal sustainability but also align with governments’ longterm development goals.”

Leadership

The Central Bank analysis said that Barbados “has demonstrated leadership in leveraging debt-fordevelopment swaps to advance climate resilience and economic sustainability”.

“The 2024 debt-for-climate swap repurposed $592.7 million in domestic debt through a syndicated loan, reducing interest obligations without increasing the debt stock,” it stated.

“Interest savings, estimated at $220 million over ten years, will finance critical projects such as water resource management, agricultural irrigation, and aquifer recharge under the South Coast Water Reclamation Project, co-funded by the IDB and Green Climate Fund.

“Building on the success of the 2022 debt-for-nature swap – which funded marine conservation and established a Marine Spatial Plan Barbados continues to lead in adopting innovative financing mechanisms that address climate challenges while promoting sustainable economic growth.”

The Central Bank said that the debt conversion “reduced the Government’s interest burden and created space for climate adaptation projects”.

“The 2024 debt-for-climate swap enabled the Government to replace more costly debt with lower-cost financing,” it explained.

“The domestic banking sector provided a syndicated loan, fixed at 3.5 per cent and totalling $592.7 million, to facilitate the early partial repayment of Series B, D, and E bonds, which carried higher interest rates of 3.75 per cent, 4.25 per cent (stepping up to six per cent and 7.5 per cent), and eight per cent, respectively.

“The retired bonds were equivalent to $595.7 million, making the transaction neutral to Barbados’ public debt stock. Guarantees for the loan were provided by the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) and the European Investment Bank,” it reminded.

The Central Bank said that “interest savings from the swap, estimated at $220 million over ten years, will finance the Barbados Climate Resilience South Coast Water Reclamation Project (SCWR)”.

Water management

“The SCWR will be co-funded by loans from the IDB ($80 million) and the Green Climate Fund (GCF) ($60 million), along with an $80 million grant from the GCF. The project includes constructing a water treatment plant and associated facilities to improve water management, ensure water quality for agricultural irrigation, and recharge aquifers, contributing to Barbados’ climate resilience goals.

The Central Bank further noted that “both sustainability performance targets and disaster clauses are included in the debt-for-climate swap”.

“The loan includes sustainability-linked performance targets, requiring the Government to achieve specified water management goals by November 2030,” it says.

“If these targets are missed, financial penalties will be redirected to the Barbados Environmental Sustainability Fund. Additionally, the loan features natural disaster and pandemic clauses, allowing principal payments to be deferred for up to two years in the event of major shocks.”(SC)

46. Experts warn: Debt-for-nature flawed

A GROUP of international debt activists is warning against the use of debt-for-nature swaps, calling it a “deceptive solution”.

Barbados is one of the countries which concluded a debt-for-nature swap, doing so in 2022, but experts Maxime Perriot and Pablo Laixhay, of the Committee For The abolition Of Illegitimate Debt, are arguging that “there is an urgent need to examine their limitations and shed light on any perverse effects they may engender”.

“While other debt swap models could be explored, it is imperative that they avoid the involvement of profit-driven private intermediaries, respect the rights of local populations by guaranteeing their free and informed consent, preserve the state’s sovereignty and promote policies that are genuinely effective in social and ecological terms,” Perriot and Laixhay said in their published analysis.

“The debt-for-nature swap model, as promoted by organisations such as The Nature Conservancy, does not meet these criteria. On the contrary, it is more akin to a new tool of neo-colonial domination than a mechanism for tackling environmental and debt crises,” they claimed.

Strip sovereignty

“These schemes strip local populations and governments of their sovereignty by allowing Northern operators – mainly private – to continue to control the natural resources and territories of Southern countries, while taking advantage of the latter’s financial vulnerabilities.”

The two activists also charged that “presented as an innovative solution, debt-for-nature swaps give the illusion that something is being done and actually encourage inaction on two fronts that require urgent and radical action”.

“They do nothing to remedy the abysmal lack of political will and investment to curb climate change and the ongoing ecological crisis,” they said.

“Far from tackling the problem of excessive debt, debt-for-nature swaps preserve a disguised status quo. The repayment of debts and the often usurious interest payments that go with them drain almost all the economic capacity of the countries of the South into the financial markets and the countries of the North.”

The analysis said: “Only the abolition of illegitimate debt, accompanied by transparent citizens’ audits, will make it possible to restore the sovereignty of states and give them back the means to adopt appropriate policies to combat the ecological crisis and ensure climate and social justice.” (SC)

47. The risky business of loan guarantees

FITCH RATINGS CONFIRMED, on February 18, the Long-Term Issuer Default Rating of the Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) at AA+. This rating, which is regarded as excellent credit quality, shows the bank’s relatively strong loan performance record.

At the end of September 2024, its nonperforming loans (NPL) stood at 0.1 per cent. Unlike CDB, commercial banks and other financial institutions have higher NPL levels. The Central Bank of Barbados recently reported that during 2024, the NPL ratio for finance companies fell from 12.2 per cent to 9.5 per cent, while the ratio for commercial banks decreased from five per cent to 4.1 per cent.

NPLS are often the result of a borrower’s failure to make scheduled payments for 90 days or more. In Barbados, NPLs comprise loans owing for at least three months; unsecured portion of loans at least six months due; and unsecured portion of loans at least 12 months due.

If borrowers default on their loans, their credit scores will deteriorate, making future borrowing more difficult and expensive. If a financial institution is concerned about a borrower’s default or failure to meet lending conditions, it will seek a guarantor. You should not be a guarantor if you cannot repay the loan within three months or are unwilling to repay the bank over time.

Before deciding to act as a guarantor for someone else’s loan, it is crucial to conduct a comprehensive assessment of the value of the obligation and the borrower’s probability of default. Obtaining information from the financial institution about the likelihood of the borrower failing to meet their debt obligations is a key step. This probability, usually expressed as a percentage, can indicate a high risk of default.

An analysis of the borrower’s credit history, loan amount, interest rate, maturity date, credit score, income, debt-to-income ratio, and the borrower’s industry should be used to calculate the likelihood of default. This is especially important if the borrower’s income is highly dependent on seasonal income, like in the tourism industry. The probability of default is not a static measure. It can change over time based on various factors, including changes in the borrower’s financial situation, economic conditions, and the terms of the loan. This thorough assessment is a responsible approach to making the decision to become a guarantor.

Becoming a guarantor has substantial financial repercussions. If the borrower dies and the loan is uninsured, the guarantor must pay because the primary borrower cannot. The guarantor usually is not responsible for repayment but is legally required to refund the outstanding balance if the borrower fails to repay the loan. To repay the loan, the bank may deduct cash from the guarantor’s account. A guarantor can cancel a guarantee anytime but will not be released from the obligations. Instead, a cancellation would freeze the liability to the size of the debt. The bank may request the borrower supply replacement security, if the guarantor terminates a guarantee.

Most financial organisations that require loan security usually accept homes or other properties as alternatives. However, the bank may sell the property to reclaim the funds, if the borrower cannot repay the obligation. These potential risks should make you more careful and aware of your responsibilities as a guarantor. If you cannot afford to be a guarantor, there are other options for assisting the borrower, such as offering a nonrefundable financial gift. This may make it easier to maintain your relationship with the borrower. Remember that loans typically have a due date and carry interest, whereas gifts are not intended to be returned.

Non-refundable financial gifts

Governments often serve as guarantors. The Government’s guarantee of NPLs could potentially result in a loss if the original debtor fails to repay them. In some instances, the state opted to provide non-refundable financial gifts (grants) to support business development. In other circumstances, governments have provided support through credit guarantee schemes – public policy tools that help small and mediumsized enterprises (SMEs) access loans.

Some financing institutions, such as commercial banks and credit unions, are willing to extend credit to small businesses that do not meet standard loan requirements but consider a government guarantee necessary. The Central Bank of Barbados was one of the region’s first countries to introduce a credit guarantee scheme in 1979. The scheme enabled small businesses to obtain finance from commercial banks and other credit institutions without providing security.

While government-guaranteed loans can save enterprises, they often come with major risks. If the borrower defaults on the loan, the Government acquires payment responsibility and may incur financial losses. We refer to this as a contingent liability, which is a potential future obligation that the government may be required to fulfil. Government loan guarantees must be accounted for and reported as contingent liabilities in the government’s financial statements. Barbados’s other public sector debt (guaranteed contingent liabilities) increased by 113 per cent in the second quarter of 2024, when compared with the first quarter of 2024. This, however, represents less than one per cent of domestic debt. A contingent liability can often arise from a government guaranteeing a loan, which could turn into an actual liability if the loan becomes non-performing.

In the event of a payment default by the beneficiary of the guarantee, the government is contractually obligated to assume the payment obligation. Contingent liabilities are becoming a significant source of fiscal risks as they could require additional unbudgeted expenses, potentially weighing on the government’s fiscal position. There are two main types of contingent liabilities: explicit and implicit. Explicit contingent liabilities are based on contracts, laws, or clear policy commitments.

They include financial guarantees issued by governments for loans, bank deposits, pension savings, and public-private partnerships; government insurance schemes or natural disasters; and legal claims against the government related to privatisations. Implicit contingent liabilities are often more difficult to identify and quantify, for example, political obligations arising from the expectation that governments will intervene in a crisis or disaster.

As with a loan request, contingent liabilities should be looked at carefully, considering the borrower’s creditworthiness, the amount and risks that need to be covered by a sovereign guarantee, the terms of the loan, the reason for the borrowing, and the public purpose that needs to be served.

Contingent liabilities can become a substantial source of fiscal risk because they can lead to spending that was not planned, which can hurt the government’s finances, make future spending more likely, and cause financial problems. When a sovereign acts as a guarantor, it is crucial to evaluate its risk propensity and potential costs, just as is done for an individual guaranteeing a personal loan, but with a more stringent and uncompromising approach. If the default probability is high, say above 40 per cent, the contractual agreement should only be considered if the government is financially capable of covering the full amount of the borrower’s debt.

Dr Ankie Scott-Joseph, a lecturer at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, is an economist and public debt management specialist. Email: ankie.scott-joseph@cavehill.uwi.edu

48. This story is amusing if the current state of congestion of taxis, traffic etc is considered.

Backlog of taxi

permit applications

THE TRANSPORT AUTHORITY is grappling with a backlog of people who have applied for permits to operate taxis and other transportation services.

This was reported on Monday by the state agency’s director Ruth Holder after Minister of Transport and Works Santia Bradshaw said that while Government was seeking to enfranchise Barbadians, it wanted to ensure that such permits were not “issued at will”.

The issue came up as Bradshaw and the ministry’s team answered questions in the Well of Parliament when debate on the Appropriation Bill, 2025 resumed.

Holder said there were “530 something” applications for taxi permits and another “400 odd” applications from individuals wanting to operate “ZM” vehicles.

“But to be honest with you . . . the task in itself, is one that is extremely time consuming and challenging for us in terms of the staffing capacity that we have and the process that we have,” she said in response to questions from Minister of State Ministry of Education, Technological and Vocational Training Sandra Husbands, who is the Member of Parliament for St James South. “We usually have . . . some marathon Saturday sessions for interviews, where . . . one Saturday every month, we interview for the entire day, in order to bring down the backlog of it, but it’s a task.” Holder explained that Cabinet determined “the number of permits of taxis, maxi taxis, tour buses, ZRs buses”. There is an unlimited capacity for some other categories, including permits for hired cars, she noted.

“We get on average about 320 applications per month for permits in various categories, so therefore we have to process all of those,” Holder said.

Online system

“We have an online system, but . . . we still have to process it . . . to make sure that information that we getting is the current information.

“We have an admin staff of nine persons. I have one clerical officer who more or less processes all those applications, so you can imagine what it is.”

She continued: “Once all the application information, all the details, are there, then we schedule interviews. All those applicants must be interviewed. The only way we know who to grant a permit to is if we go through some sort of process of determining whether or not they fit the criteria and shortlisting.”

A committee of the Transport Authority board usually meets “every Tuesday and Thursday afternoons from two until 4:30 to try to see how many applications we can go through during that period”, Holder said.

“Once the application is approved by that committee, then we actually have to go to the board for ratification,” she added.

With Cabinet having recently increased the allocation of “BT” (tour bus) permits, the director said that “now we can start interviewing for those again”.

Bradshaw urged Barbadians not to “put the cart before the horse” by purchasing vehicles then applying to the Transport Authority for permits.

(SC)

49. @ David
    Surely there MUST BE some good example of coherent planning, strategy and vision somewhere that can be used to guide how things can be done by intelligent people…

How can EVERY shiite be so disorganized…?

WTH!!

Can ANYONE bring ANY amount, type, age, of vehicle into this little country?
    What is the status with those motorized bicycles? Can children ride these along the roads? Is insurance required? is there a maximum power rating allowed?

Who the Hell is managing this place…?
    The Port is haywire
    Transport Authority jammed
    Road progran is a joke
    Housing is HOPELESS
    Electricity Rates up in the air
    Cable and Wireless and Digicel raises their rates at will
    Eddykashun now being criticised – even by the IMF
    Hospital A&E no better – after millions in spending
    Water, Busses, Garbage.. shambles!
    When will the ‘drivers’ realize that we are completely off track…?

OH WAIT!!!
    There IS some good news…
    The foreign owned Banks are making huge profits (and reducing service)
    SAGICOR is making profits – for their foreign owners..
    ..as are Parkland, Massey, the Utilities, the Hotels ….. laughting all the way to their overseas banks to make deposits, …while we are running to overseas banks for LOANS..

What a place!!