62 responses to “Celebrating Black history”

1. Not happy with gutting of Civic Centre

The point made by Andy Armstrong in his letter [in the last Weekend Nation] is worth repeating.

“The apparent decision to move the Holetown Civic Centre to Trents to make way for a hotel needs more in-depth discussion.”

I speak as one of the founding members of the now defunct Paynes Bay Windows To The Sea Group. Back in the 1970s, we who lived in the environs of Paynes Bay foresaw that open areas from Paynes Bay to Speightstown could be lost as vistas and seabathing spots to the citizens of this country. The Government at that time made us think that we had their support and others since have ignored the travesty that has taken place.

No accessible beaches

The balance between beach usage for hotels and beach usage for locals has not been favourable to the latter. There are now no accessible beaches between Paynes Bay and Speightstown, except what used to be predominantly local hideaways like Thunder Bay, Lower Carlton and Mullins. These areas are now being taken over by tourists, due to the fact that they too, are hard-pressed to find open windows to the sea.

While I can support the relocation of the Civic Centre to Trents, I object to the gutting of the Civic Centre to build a hotel. I support all who say that the Holetown Civic Centre should be converted into a public place with its beach available to all of us.

– Andrew Bynoe

2. “the chair of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) invoked the spirit of the Battle of Adwa, the 1896 victory that inspired Pan-Africanism and the fight against colonialism, emphasising that the lessons of Adwa – unity, resilience and the triumph of good over evil – must guide the present generation.”

This text is bold

He Prayed Riddim
    I like to think it is the sweet soundman soundclash music and dancehall vibes, the beat of the drum with the heavy bass line riddim and it’s conscious spiritual prophecy message in the lyrics that calls the children home and to stand up for truth and rights equal rights and justice

Miseducation of the Blank Generations Vs Righteous Flames in the Spiritual Battle of Armageddon
    America wants to miseducate it’s children to be stupid and ignorant about it’s past, present and future transgressions, so that in debates about reparations for biggest crimes to mankind like slavery and western imperialism ism and schism they can dumb down like Trump and replace intelligence with arrogance, pure lies, extreme prejudice and one sided bias ness to blank out truths

Nickname: Smokin’ Joe
    Mia reminds me of Muhammad Ali
    but Thorne is no Foreman or Frazier
    Muhammad Ali vs Joe Frazier in the Fight of the Century

3. Duguid is yet to do anything sensible…
    It is amazing.

From
    -the West coast highway travesty,
    -to the destruction of the Licensing authority,
    -The foolish license stickers,
    -the lotta unregistered and uninsured vehicles on the road,
    -to the importation of STEAL houses,
    -and now the mass sell-off of agricultural and heritage lands to rich developers,
    …he has blazed a trail of idiocy over the last six years that challenges the ‘work’ of Froon and Stinkliar before him.
    YET, ..Somehow, he has always managed to get himself moved from the chaos that he creates, and even PROMOTED to senior status in the process…

He MUST be doing something right in the meantime… But what…??!!

what a place…!!

4. OUR HERITAGE ….. penned by Edward A. Stoute for the Advocate Newspaper of Sunday July 13, 1969 …. a week before the first human walked on the moon!!

Recently we have heard announced of some scheme whereby Bridgetown and Speights Town are to be subjected to vast changes. Old buildings are to be demolished and replaced by more modern and up-to date structures. I would like to draw the attention of those in authority, as well as the public in general, to is an extract from The Reader’s Digest of March, 1968, under ‘Points to Ponder’ ; Caskie Stinnett :

If an author writes a poor book it ends up on the remainder table of a bookstore and the sensibilities of the public are not offended, A disastrous painting inevitably finds its destiny in the attic somewhere. But badly designed 49-story office buildings or high-rise apartments can’t be ignored. They sit, year after year, a massive cinder in the eye of the beholder. These monstrous buildings (to say nothing of the single-family dwelling which is also out of hand) are proliferating, while classical old buildings are being razed.

Well, we have a suggestion. Let’s put the bulldozers and demolition cranes in mothballs for a while, not for long, but long enough to allow architects to sort of get the hang t of it again,”

In the same issue of the Digest there is an excellent article ‘The Dutch Salvage Their
    Architectural Heirlooms’, by Karl Detzer, ( pages 71-75) which shows how Holland is saving for posterity their old buildings, and ends with a quotation by an eighty­two old architect, Hendricus Theodorus Wijdeveld, who is enthusiastic about saving the buildings in his home town, who states :­

“People are wanting a sniff of the old; in the end we can make a wonderful world” .
    The average Canadian or American visitor to Barbados comes from some newly developed section of that country, and I have had one Canadian remark to me ‘Golly, when this was built Red Indians lived where my farm is now’. These people are looking for something old, and Barbados has many old and historic buildings, some of which are located in Bridgetown and Speightstown, and these should be preserved. It is these that the visitor is desirous of seeing and learning something about, It is this link with the past which gives this Island its character and makes it so different. Others can offer sea-bathing and beaches if that is all the visitor desires. It must be borne in mind that Antigua has its ‘Nelson’s Dockyard’ which is a drawing card; St, Kitts has its ‘Brimstone Hill’; and St. Lucia its Grand and Petit Petons and ‘Mon Fortune’, the latter being one of the bloodiest sots in the West Indies, for several bloody battles were fought here between the English and the French. What has Barbados got to offer in this line? The only remaining fortification in good preservation is St. Anne’s Garrison, and the structure of these buildings especially the Savannah Club with the clock tower, is admired by all who are fortunate to see them.

HOLETOWN.

The Police Station, or part of it, at Holetown, was part of an old battery, and this should not be demolished at any cost. It is noted that some renovations have been carried out in this town, and shops catering to visitors have been opened, however, I am happy to say that these places conform to the old setting of this town.

SPEIGHTSTOWN.

Within recent years this town has had several buildings demolished, and some new structures have replaced them, however, these new structures do not conform to the setting of this old town and are not in harmony with their surroundings· Messrs, Plantations Limited endeavoured to be in harmony with this town when they rebuilt their business premises. Could not other firms do this and not erect buildings which are in such great contrast with their surroundings?

Wherever one travels one hears high praise of Barbadians and Barbados. One may not
    realise it but it is the tranquil and harmonious surroundings which have ingrained themselves into the character of the Barbadian, irrespective of colour, class or creed+,
    and given to us this heritage which is so much admired by, and is sometimes the envy of, others.

I sincerely hope that my feeble prayer of ‘Please, oh please, do not spoil our Island home’ will reach the ears of those who have the power to prevent the unrestrained destruction of our heritage·

An addendum!!

Little did Edward Stoute know nor could he have imagined that one day the Harbour Police Station and all those wonderful old buildings around it would be demolished by those with the power to prevent unrestrained destruction of our heritage.

Maybe we should ask Elon if he would carry them back to the moon.

5. “Mottley, on an official visit, highlighted the historical and cultural ties between Africa and the Caribbean, noting that Barbados, as the first land mass from Africa, has a unique role to play in bridging Africa and Caribbean regions.

“We have come to reclaim our Atlantic destiny. It is up to us to determine whether the history of separation shall be our future or whether the spirit of Adwa can be our inspiration,” said the child of a child of a child of a child of a slave.”

“They” say:
    Everyone is wherever they are right now in this space time and place continuum for a reason and are here on a special mission with a sense of purpose in this thing they call life.

So what is your purpose in this life?
    Barbadians think they’re scholars and like to feather out their thoughts with flowery speeches.

Too Much To Bare
    I fully expect every black Barbadian, Caribbean and American to intuitively know all about the history of slavery as it is in their DNA, blood, genes, muscles, bones and embedded deep in their psyche and astral, spiritual and physical bodies.

Can’t Test Me
    Why they want to do come test me Lord God they must be going crazy
    Come on now I don’t want any long belly donkey come test we you’re mad your
    Nitty Gritty, Tenor Saw in a nuff stylee alright there
    Walk like we they have to talk like we most of all they want to sing like we
    I don’t want no any any dumb donkey come test we

Babylon A Use Dem Brain,
    True dem waan da ghetto youth dem fi go down the drain
    Babylon a use dem brain
    The mark of da beast the whole ah dem a proclaim
    Well dem you know say bad mind dem ah go burn in tha flame
    Oh, what a agony and oh what a shame
    To see my black brother goin’ all down the drain
    Man made to suffer and woman to feel pain
    Dey rape mi mommy mi sister I say oh what a shame
    Brother and mi father afi chop sugar cane
    Pon the plantation under stress and shame
    Pon dem hand, pon dem foot I just see shackles and chains
    Now dem take it off and put it pon dem brain
    Through dem ah mi nation fi go down the drain
    Now the youths dem realize and shout the hailie hailie name
    Man no pet lion dat mean we can’t tame
    One thing is our desire one thing is our aim
    Me say wicked Babylon and dem ah go down the drain

6. @Bush Tea

Duguid is one of the senior ministers? If Kerri, Santia or Dale Marshall not available who will act?

7. Trump Coup Vs DEI in Racial War called the Boogaloo*
    The US Government was inclusive by the legal nature of natural Law and civil rights,
    which in terms of numbers games meant many blacks were employed and rose to middle class. The BS political leader of the free world who likes right/wrong wing players probably would say it wasn’t a racial war as it didn’t involve the black and the white when he targeted minorities like gays and immigrants who are in gangs.
    (*) The Boogaloo movement is a decentralized ideological network that believes in a coming second U.S. civil war—referred to as the “boogaloo”

In My Father’s House, Quanté Jubila**
    (**) How much Jubila***
    (***) Jubila – Detailed Meaning. The name of Jubila indicates you are a diligent and persevering worker who enjoys doing a job well and finishing what is started.

In my father’s house are many mansions.
    If it were not true, he would have told me so.

8. …. while on the other side of the pond …

9. Understanding Numbers
    Deaths will always go up
    you cannot subtract from a Death Count to make them un-Dead

No More War Tribal War

Casting a Global Net: Mastering Internationalization (i18n)

English:
    Say Peace in all languages! The people of the world prefer peace to war and they deserve to have it. Bombs are not needed to solve international problems when they can be solved just as well with respect and communication. , which values diversity and human life everywhere, offers “Peace” in many languages as a small step in this direction.

Arabic:
    أنطقوا سلام بكل اللغات! كل شععوب العالم تفصل السلام علي الحرب وكلها تستحق أن تنعم بع. إن القنابل لا تحل مشاكل العالم ويتم تحقيق ذلك فقط بالاحترام والتواصل. مجموعة تدويل الإنترنت (I18N) ، والتي تأخذ بعين التقدير الاختلافات الثقافية والعادات الحياتية بين الشعوب، فإنها تقدم “السلام” بلغات كثيرة، كخطوة متواضعة في هذا الاتجاه.

Hebrew:
    אמרו “שלום” בכל השפות! אנשי העולם מעדיפים את השלום על-פני המלחמה והם ראויים לו. אין צורך בפצצות כדי לפתור בעיות בין-לאומיות, רק בכבוד ובהידברות. קהילת בינאום האינטרנט (I18N), אשר מוקירה רב-גוניות וחיי אדם בכל מקום, מושיטה יד ל”שלום” בשפות רבות כצעד קטן בכיוון זה.