62 responses to “Celebrating Black history”

1. Terence Blackett Avatar

CAUCASOID AFRIKANEERS REJECT TRUMP’S EXECUTIVE ORDER 2 MOVE TO THE USA AS REFUGEES GIVEN RAMAPHOSA’S LAND GRAB WHILE #Sanctions ARE LEVELLED AGAINST THE S.A. GOV

2. Terence Blackett Avatar

THE SHEER ASININE IDIOCY OF “BLACK HISTORY MONTH” WHEN WORLD HISTORY IS ENTIRELY, COMPLETELY & FORTUTIOUSLY AVANTE-GARDE #BlackHistory

#SMDHID

3. Terence Blackett Avatar

WHY THE SHORTEST MONTH OF THE YEAR IS CELEBRATED AS BLACK HISTORY MONTH??? NO WONDER BLACK FOLK HAVE NOT LEAPED* TO ANY MEASURABLE DEGREE IN ITS 400-YEAR-QUEST TO ONCE AGAIN RULE THE WORLD

4. @TB

There is no need to ferret out a conspiracy about any and everything. Celebrating Black History is a US tradition that has been adopted by other countries. Do a search why it started in February. That said there is nothing preventing Barbados for example from celebrating it a la ‘we gatherin’ especially if we can find a way to make money from it.

5. @ David
    What black history month what!!

Boss, there are some SYMBOLS that speak much more loudly than words can.
    The VERY idea of a ‘Black History month’ is a veiled suggestion to the simple minded – that Black history is a fledgling concept where Blacks are only now becoming worthy of note.
    It masks the TRUTH that, actually, ‘history’ has been a 90% Black reality, only changing in the last few centuries after foolish Blacks sought to abandon our NATURAL strengths and seek to mimic the materialistic proclivity of others..

These ‘others’ are actually relatively recent mutants (as confirmed by DNA and blood types) who are derived from defective Black antecedents.

History IS essentially a BLACK story…
    and contrived concepts such as ‘Black history month’ intuiatively suggests otherwise…

What we REALLY need is a more meaningful long term historical perspective… which will show the last 1000 years to be nothing but a historical GLITCH, where Blacks had to pay the price of adopting brassbowlery from mutants (who are on their way to extinction in the coming decades).

6. @Bush Tea The blogmaster is big on any activity which highlights wins for black people, which creates awareness.

7. Meanwhile, in news to buss a belly laugh –

Magats are melting down over Kendrick Lamar’s Superbowl halftime performance, calling it a DEI event. Now, I haven’t been a fan of rap for a bit, but I thoroughly enjoyed the performance.

The pathetic pale poppets clearly longed for a minstel show. Instead, they got a rhythmic lecture from Professor Lamar, straight out of Compton.

Some are pretending that they “didn’t understand a word” but we know that only hit dogs holla.

Imagine, not a twerking butt or a simulated sex act in sight and yet, instead of bigging up the gentleman for giving them the GA performance they claim they want from black American culture, the haters proceeded to call him Satan, even when he called out those adults who like to play “A minor”! They called the full cover costumes ugly, just like they called Rihanna’s new momma style ugly. I thought they abhorred the nakedness.

There’s no pleasing that lot.

Anyway, they got an earful from Kendrick and an eyeful from two black quarterbacks (by their own “One Drop” rule).

I wonder if that white shite woman commentor still believes they don’t look “quarterbacky”.
    🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

I haven’t heard anybody bold enough to tackle Samuel L. Jackson, the highest grossing actor of all time, in his role as Uncle Sam. Not one”but Uncle Sam is WHITE. like Jesus and Santa Claus”. (lol) I guess they can still feel the force.

Then again, maybe I should check out stupid Megyn Kelly’s latest rant. I may be speaking too soon.

8. Terence Blackett Avatar

“There is no need to ferret out a conspiracy about any and everything…”

#ROFLMBO

TELL ME YOU ARE NOT THAT SHALLOW, BRUH

9. Terence Blackett Avatar

HERE IS SOME CONSPIRACY THEORY FOR THOSE WHO NEED CLOTHES PEGS TO HANG THEIR DESUETUDE UPON

In the “INFALLIBLE WORDS OF SCRIPTURE: “Isaiah 8:12 opine: “Do not call “CONSPIRACY” everything that this people calls “CONSPIRACY”, and do not “FEAR” what they “FEAR”, or be in “DREAD”…”

The problem with “SMALL ISLAND THINKING” & the “NEXUS OF BLACK IQ PARAMETERS” is based on the “GODLESSNESS” of the people of “YESHUA” – no wonder we cannot be “EMANCIPATED FROM ALL FORMS OF SLAVERY”!!!

#WeFearPoLIEticians

#WeFearCaptainsOfINDUSTRY*

#WeFearThoseWhoHaveSoCalledPOWER – “OVER US”!!!

WHAT IS DANGEROUS TO THOSE WHO “FEAR” IS THE MAN WHO “FEARS NOTHING” OR NO ONE – #BUT_GOD!!!

So we “DISMISS” them as “CONSPIRACY THEORISTS” & the like – instead of recognizing the “PROPHETIC MANTLE” the person carries!!!

BUT THEN SPIRITUAL THINGS ARE SPIRTUALLY DISCERN!!!

Most men “FEAR” for their own flesh; their livelihoods; their families; useless money in the bank; J.O.Bs & the like!!!

A MAN WHO FEARS NOTHING OR NO ONE IS A DANGEROUS SON OF… – #FillInTheBlanks!!!

Yet we know, “THAT NO PROPHET IS ACCEPTED IN HIS OWN COUNTRY, TOWN OR HOME…”

#ItIsWhatItIs

10. Correction – minstrel

11. Bushie 08:12

¡Correcto!

However, your barley field is central to the recentcy of the current deviation from the mean of which you adroitly wrote.

12. Trump wants to takeover Gaza for himself now which is par for the course in the West which was built on land theft, genocide and reservations prisons for prisoners of war, but genocide can not apply to people of colour as the number of dead when the West was won are numberless and survivors suffer from the loss of their loved family and friends and are damaged psychologically for many generations.

13. @Terence Blackett February 11, 2025 at 7:03 am “CAUCASOID AFRIKANEERS REJECT TRUMP’S EXECUTIVE ORDER 2 MOVE TO THE USA AS REFUGEES.”

No USA President then or now has any authority to ORDER any non-American to move to the USA.

14. @Donna
    I find the response of the Magats, as you called them, most revealing. They clearly don’t understand the words. Or they would love them? For the diss K.Dot puts on Drake, is a very trumpian thing to do. DJT loves belittling others, calling them names, making negative insinuations, whether true or not.
    To feature SZA, and Serena, both formerly connected to Aubrey (then again that’s a long list) was quite a feat.

15. The following comment from another place.

“12 years ago, this dance almost cost her reputation.
    Last night at the Super Bowl, it made her a legend.

I know everyone is talking about Kendrick today, but last night, Serena Williams did the damn thing.

It’s funny to think that just a few years ago, this dance cause mayhem.

The difference? The space she was in.

At Wimbledon:
    → “What she did was immature and classless” – Fox Sports
    → “Separated from the violence associated with that dance” – LA Times
    → Faced pressure to apologize for… celebrating her gold medal

At the Super Bowl:
    → Surrounded by Kendrick Lamar’s unapologetic Blackness
    → Standing alongside other Black artists owning their narratives
    → Free to be joyful, petty, and gloriously herself
    → Even joked backstage: “Man I did not crip walk like that at Wimbledon… I would’ve been fined!”

Let that sink in.

Some context:
    → 79% of Black women report having to change their behavior at work to make others comfortable (Catalyst)
    → 54% of Black women leaders report feeling pressure to modify their communication style or appearance (McKinsey)
    → Companies with inclusive cultures are 2x more likely to meet or exceed financial targets (Deloitte)

Here’s the truth:
    When we create spaces where Black women don’t have to shrink…
    When we center Black voices and experiences…
    When we celebrate instead of police Black joy…

Magic happens.

And sometimes that magic looks like a tennis GOAT doing the crip walk on the world’s biggest stage, right after her ex got dissed, while millions cheer.

That’s not just pettiness.

That’s not just dancing.

That’s freedom.

The real question: Why does this freedom only exist in certain spaces? And what are we doing to change that?

Because if Serena Williams—23 Grand Slams, greatest of all time—couldn’t be her full self at Wimbledon but found the freedom to dance without apology at a Black-centered Super Bowl halftime show…

Just think about how many Black women are still holding back their magic.

Still dimming their light.

Still dancing smaller than they dream.”

https://youtube.com/shorts/_rumqqW6BO8

16. @TB
    Slow down
    To quibble about February (the shortest month of the year) being Black History month appears to be a struggle to find content.
    To quote David “Less is more”.

17. Terence Blackett Avatar

“I HAVE A DREAM”: FOR 406 DAMNABLE YEARS, (AS THE CROW FLIES) & COUNTING, GIVEN THOSE WHO ARE ASLEEP IN ABSTENTIA – (WITHIN A MYTHOLOGICAL AGE OF TECHNO-FEUDALISM), WHERE PEOPLE OF COLOR WILL “never” SEE SOCIOECONOMIC EQUALITY OR RACIAL EQUILIBRIUM PARITY THIS SIDE OF ETHNO-ALBINO-CENTRIC GLOBAL RULE

For the “TOWN CRIERS” who ring their bells crying “CONSPIRACY THEORY” – here is the resounding “FEEBLE ACADEMIC* ARGUMENT”!!!

This idea that there will never be equality between Blacks & Caucasians is a perspective that often stems from historical, social, & systemic factors that have perpetuated racial & race-based disparities. Though it is important to recognize that equality is not an unattainable goal, (yet under the current global world order – it is nigh impossible to achieve measurable parity given the vagaries of power distribution), a complex & ongoing process that requires collective effort & systemic change…

Within the historical context, the legacy of “Race-Based Slavery” & “Violent Segregation, were the catalysts that exacerbated the history of slavery, Jim Crow laws, & segregation in the United States, Britain, Europe, OZ, the Americas & the Caribbean (as well as similar inhumane systems elsewhere around the world) – creating deep-rooted inequalities that continue to affect “DISPROPORTIONATELY” Black communities in a 21st century world. These systems denied Black people access to education, wealth, & political power for over [10] generations…

The scientific development of systemic racism resulted in even greater fragmentation, after the abolition of slavery & yet with the end of legal segregation, systemic racism persisted in areas such as housing, education, employment, & the criminal justice system – institutional systemic failures that still disadvantage Black folks & communities of color…

As a result, socioeconomic factors has created an ever widening “WEALTH GAP” where centuries of diabolical exclusion from wealth-building opportunities have resulted in a significant wealth gap between Black & Caucasian families (with the almost silent hum of “REPARATORY JUSTICE” are merely words to a tune given that our Black ancestors had to work for 400 years without a pay check). This ever-widening gap affects access to quality education, homeownership, & economic upward mobility…

With Donald Trump “DEFUNDING” the Department of Education & throwing the funding out to individual states – academic disparities based on unequal funding for schools in predominantly Black neighbourhoods, along with other socioeconomic barriers, will lead to deeper disparities in educational outcomes for young black kids, which in turn will affect career opportunities & the kind of income levels that can be achieved…

Even within predominately Black cultures, employment discrimination can be seen amongst certain Black individuals – often facing discrimination in hiring, promotions, & wages, based on class status, family ties, party-political allegiance & even the “LIGHTER-SHADE” of melanin being a deciding factor, which also contributes to economic inequality…

In this fast-paced cultural war room, where institutional barriers create implicit bias – however, “UNCONSCIOUS BIASES” can influence decisions in ways that perpetuate inequality, even among well-meaning individuals. These biases can affect everything from hiring practices to interactions with law enforcement…

Within the gambit of representation, underrepresentation of Black individuals in positions of power, media, & other influential spaces can perpetuate stereotypes & limit opportunities for Black voices to be heard & valued…

Thus the path to equality, 400+ years on, presents significant challenges to meaningful progress toward equality – although strides have been made in some areas…

It is going to take more than a village, as the global community must see that “ALLYSHIP” through building bridges of solidarity across racial lines & supporting movements that advocate for racial justice can amplify efforts to achieve the equality that is needed…

Conclusion

We have had 406 years to turn around a sinking ship but postmodern efforts have not provided adequate meaningful change. The more advances we make in quantum technological leap years, the more divided & divisive the playing field becomes. If eternal optimism is a glass half-full, I shudder to think what a glass half empty looks like…

18. Terence Blackett Avatar

@Cuhdear Bajan

“No USA President then or now has any authority to ORDER any non-American to move to the USA….”

DO NOT BE FICKLE!!!

19. Terence Blackett Avatar

@ Goeht

“Slow down” – To quibble about February (the shortest month of the year) being Black History month appears to be a struggle to find content… To quote David “Less is more”.

SAYS WHO???

#KeepUP_GUYS!!!

Y’all younger than I am!!!

If y’all “STRUGGLING” to find (WHATEVER) you’re suggesting – maybe I should write you a dissertation (WITHOUT THE USE OF A TEXT-BOOK)!!!

If I do resort to “TEXT-BOOK” quality work – then its over!!!

#CmonFolks, y’all know me by now!!!

#SMDH

20. Terence Blackett Avatar

HOW DO YOU DESTROY A PEOPLE??? YOU TAKE THEIR LAND IN PERPETUITY!!!

Who amongst us has the “FORESIGHT”, “WISDOM” & “DISCERNMENT” to see how this “ALL ENDS”???

#NoAnswerRequired

21. 🇺🇸 Black History Month Is Not A Fantasy It Is Reality 👍

👎 February is Black History Month, but new orders from the Trump administration called for the end of so-called identity months. Suddenly the study of the Black experience may feel like an act of defiance.

Black History Month is cancelled in Department of Defense and some federal agencies ❌
    — New defense secretary Pete Hegseth has canceled all cultural awareness months in the Department of Defense, including Black History Month.
    — A number of federal agencies have banned celebrations related to MLK Jr. Day, Women’s History Month and other such observances to comply with Trump’s executive orders, the Defense Intelligence Agency ordered a pause of all activities and events related to Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Black History Month, Juneteenth, LGBTQ Pride Month, Holocaust Remembrance Day and other “special observances”

But Wait
    🎉 Black History Month is BACK 🔛 ON AGAIN
    — U.S. President Donald Trump listened to African American leaders during a meeting in the White House on Feb. 27, 2020, in Washington.

White House: Proclamation from President Donald J. Trump on National Black History Month. That was a close one chaps.
    https://it.usembassy.gov/white-house-proclamation-from-president-donald-j-trump-on-national-black-history-month/

Let’s Go Back to the Roots of Contemporary Music

Sun Ra The Brother From Another Planet
    Astro black mythology
    Astro timeless immortality
    Astro thought in mystic sound
    Astro black all outer space
    Astro natural of darkness stars
    Astro reach beyond the stars
    Out to endless endlessness
    Astro black American

The universe is in my voice
    The universe speaks through this song
    To those of Earth and other worlds
    Listen while you have the chance

Find your place among the stars
    Get into this outer world’s
    Rhythm, multiplicity
    Harmony, equational
    Melody horizon speed
    Astro black and cosmos dark

Astro black mythology
    Astro timeless immortality
    Astro thought in mystic sound
    Astro black mythology

Astro Black, I Am Not A Fantasy, When The Word Was Spoken

22. Black history month, at a time where genocide continues in a straight line from the near total destruction of over 100 million indigenous peoples in the hemisphere until today.

When near chattel slavery continues within America, as empire maintains its jack boot on the necks of the descendants of the enslaved, measured by most metrics. Even as several indigenous American nations themselves bought into the chattel slavery model, owned slaves themselves, as the business model of the day.

Where no reparations were ever paid to today’s descendants of Afrikans still living in North America.

At a time when a fascist regime, buttressed by South Afrikan moneyed boers intent on their most fowl fascist tendencies inimical to Afrikan peoples.

Where Donald Drumpf, the Nazi, having taken credit for ending the genocide in Gaza has now given Netanyahu license to restart the genocide, in contravention of the very ceasefire agreement he’s previously taken responsibility for.

……under the pretext that Hamas starved a few captives. Ignoring that it was the Zionists who were killing the captives, like they killed most of the Israelis on October 7 under the Hannibal Directive. While the American and the Zionists were starving all the people in Gaza and as a results of these two factors Hamas felt it necessary to shelter the captives underground, and rationed food.

Not to speak about the released Palestinians who were not only emaciated but were clearly tortured, denied medical attention, etc. Indeed many Palestinian hostages had to depend on stretchers.

Drumpf had no comment on the other Hamas held captives, the four women particularly, as with most of those released, were in the best of health and glowingly praised Hamas.

In all these circumstances, and given that the world, if more evidence was necessary, can clearly see that Drumpf is a certifiable mad man, operating as captor of the apparatuses of the most wicked country on earth, with Netanyahu following close behind.

This is no time for any Black history month. However, the total destruction of this demonic state is a necessary, even if insufficient, but immediate requirement.

23. Black September it is not! But Black Month will never be on mind for either Netanyahu or Drumpf.

These brutes believe that that Jordan and Egypt or even Saudia Arabia can be forced to accept 1.8 million Palestinians. An impossible task, we suggest. This does not mean they wouldn’t try.

The so-called Middle East is nearer today to igniting a heightened WW3 scenario than before January 20th.

For a critical mass of forces are congealing in at lease verbal disagreement to the proposed brutality, renewed genocide, of the Palestinians – they ethnic cleansing.

In the West Bank, during the lull in Gaza, the Zionists buttressed and assisted by the collaborationist Palestinian regime, headed by Mahmood Abbas, has been attacking the Palestinians with a greater level of viciousness as world media lower their gaze.

Recall, that there has never been any higher level of treachery than in war, plans for war. Expected allies are always subject to bribes, subterfuge, backstabbing, singular interests and changing alliances midstream.

The Arab Chikwawa states, Turkeye, the Egyptians, the Jordanians are best described as above – their histories are so replete. In addition, the most powerful states in the West Asian region, as far as resources are concerned are American satraps – Saudi Arabia, UAE, Egypt, the other Gulf Arabs and Iraq.

In addition, the wider region, inclusive of North Africa, since 9/11 especially, has been largely destroyed by America, Israel and its other vassals – Libya, Sudan, etc. The entire wider region is characterized either by countries which are satraps, too feckless to be even seen as sovereign.

However, there is a critical mass of countries whose populations have had their leaderships under extreme pressures over the genocide of Biden and Netanyahu. But the Netanyahu-Drumpf design to ethnically cleanse the Palestinians in Gaza from their own lands is not sitting well within the region.

For example, MBS or Mohammed ben Sulman, of Saudi has been adamant that a Palestinian state is a non-negotiable precondition for normalization with the Zionist state. Be doubtful!

Another, Turkeye the seat of the former Ottoman Empire, while conveying oil to Israel during the genocide and thusly proving to be a reliable supplier, has made noises which suggest more substantial means maybe deployed. However, its leader Erdogan is the slimiest of slugs.

Only the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Persians, the largest population of Shiite Muslims, has for decades giving all forms of assistance to the Axis of Resistance in West Asia, the Middle East. Iran has no reason to trust any of these other forces, even as war is made of strange bedfellows.

24. Professor Gerald Horne has taken issue with those on the left who, to him, have failed to recognize that the attack on Afrikan peoples through the diversity, equity and inclusión program; attacks on afrimative action; attacks on critical race theory and the burning of such books; by the Drumpf-Musk regime, are failing to see that these were end nuns around institutional racism.

Well, we respectfully suggest that Horne’s reading represents an overestimation of our position. While most on the left would and have agreed with the aims of the majority of the above, Horne must also come to recognize that all these instruments were heavily invaded by other interests having nothing to do with requirements of Afrikan peoples. For example, White women were the main beneficiaries of affirmative action. The LGBTrrrrr folks were the main beneficiaries of DE&I programs.

Maybe the conclusion that justice can never be a product of White rulership is a determination beyond the consciousness of our dear friend Gerald Horne.

25. @ Pacha
    Justice under White rulership is a historical oxymoron.
    That situation is about as attainable as ‘heaven under Satanic control’.

Dogs bite, cats scratch, lions roar and brass bowls beg….
    Natural albino-centrics and their multiverse converts put money and material possessions WAY before justice, peace, righteousness and certainly LOVE.

They live by the golden rule.
    He who has the gold …rules.

‘Justice’ becomes a PR exercise of shiite ‘Laws’, flexible Court systems, and appointed legal puppets – whose role is to configure the ‘Law’ to meet the wants of those who have the gold.

So in reality, justice under any ALBINO-CENTRIC rulership is impossible.
    When brass bowls adopt the money-loving ways of the natural ACs – even when they have to BEG and BORROW to get that money, …JUSTICE GOES DOWN THE DRAIN, as does peace and security…

Righteousness is the ONLY true path to justice …and peace.

26. I slow.
    I am not getting it.
    Perhaps my addition of 2+2 is incorrect.
    We have a man willing to wipe out black history, reduce being a black person to nothingness and some are not willing to defend black history month.

As I see it ‘half a loaf is better than none”. Hold on to what you have and then reach for more

27. Maybe people don’t even realise they are prejudiced as all they know is they hate something or someone. They hate immigrants, they hate gays, they hate blacks, they hate browns. When politicians speak of the same hate it resonates with them and they relate. White people think they own the country and all its businesses and institutions when it is a country for all types and people are recruited when they are best qualified candidate, being white is not a job qualification.

28. @ THE BUSH MAN aka Bush Tea

“Dogs bite, cats scratch, lions roar and brass bowls beg….
    Natural albino-centrics and their multiverse converts put money and material possessions WAY before justice, peace, righteousness and certainly LOVE.
    They live by the golden rule.
    He who has the gold …rules…”

THIS IS THE SOCIOLOGICAL REALITY & THE GOSPEL OF POSTMODERNITY

#BeautifullyPut – #OminouslySaid

HERE IS HOW YOU GO AGAINST THE GRAIN* 2 get the design you want

29. Is the enlightenment idea about predestinación not what you said last time we called for the mushroom-headed thingameheee in their fronts.

30. Terence Blackett Avatar

WHATEVER ANY OTHER RACE OF PEOPLE CAN DO – THE BLACK MAN CAN DO 100% BETTER WITH VIRTUALLY NOTHING!!!

#NowThatsBlackHistory – from “POST-DILUVIAN” TIMES UNTIL TODAY!!!

#SamAltman & CO. spent “HALF A TRILLION DOLLARS” developing #ArtificialIntelligence in the hope that “THE INVESTORS et al” would have landed the “GOOSE THAT LAY THE GOLDEN EGGS” – thus clearing the way for every business, company & GOV* on earth to be held “HOSTAGE” by them, having 2 pay for their “AI TECH”!!!

#ThenChinaCameAlong & spent less than “ONE-TENTH” of that sum of money & gave us #DEEP_SEEK causing US, UK, OZ, CANADA & all other English-speaking “MARKETS” to suffer “ONE-DAY” loses that they are still trying to recoup!!!

Now, in the wake of “ZIMBABWEAN INVENTOR” #MaxwellChikumbutso coming to market with the world’s first “SELF-POWERING” vehicles & bikes that run on “RADIO WAVES” – showing “ELON MUSK” ( THE GREAT & THE DAMNABLE ) that as we have often said in “BIMSHIRE: “whatever you can do – I can do better”; a “MAXIM” of “MERITORIOUS PROFICIENCY” that has always undergirded us as “BLACK FOLKS”!!!

Following Maxwell, David Gathu & Moses Kiuna, two self-taught Kenyan inventors have built an A.I-powered robotic prosthetic arm, with zero funding – using salvaged electronics from a landfill dump site with the world in absolute stiches!!!

AGAIN, WHATEVER YOU CAN DO – WE CAN DO IT BETTER, CHEAPER & MORE PROFICIENTLY!!!

31. May Trevor Marshall RIP

32. Trevor, history teacher to generations of young Bajans fought the good fight. May he rest in peace.

33. Black History
    Everything Exists at Once: Past, Present, and Future in non-linear time
    What is the present?
    What is actually the ‘Now’ moment?

Not that long ago in the 60s America was as racist as Apartheid South Africa and Civil Rights fights slowly turned the tables to a more equal society where black people could eat in diners, swim in pools and vote without Jim Crow and start to flourish with less institutional racism

A regressive reversal of equality laws and diversity in workplaces will mean black people will become excluded in society again and will have to set up their own businesses again like the Black Wall Street in Tusla, Oklahoma which had race riots by white supremacists in 1921

34. People of low mentality will never get around to equality
    Equality and justice, that’s for all
    Who know that Satan kingdom must fall
    In a time appointed I reign on Earth begun
    I come to break oppression and set the captives free, so you got to understand
    I come to rule the musical nation with justice and equality
    So black man, you got to be free like a bird in a tree
    And live in love and unity for I and I
    Maybe you could make it if you try

This a black man time
    And this a black man time
    This a black man time
    You skip and flip and dip down the line
    So this a black man time
    You move and groove and feel fine
    You keep on drinking up your wine, I tell you
    This a black man time

Standing on the corner each and every day
    Not even thinking to go around and play
    Standing on the corner, giving trouble
    But when the Babylon a come, you got to move on the double
    Hehh
    Got to learn to communicate
    And stick around and say your brother, that you got to be great
    I say, you got to hold your likkle slate
    And keep on moving from the gate

For this a black man time
    You walk and slip and sliding down the line
    You move and groove and feel so very fine, I beg you
    Uno dos tres, cuatro cinco seis
    A music make you gotta move on the time

They say everything can be replaced
    They say every distance is not near
    So I remember every face
    Of every man who put me here

I see my light come shinin’
    From the west down to the east
    Any day now, any day now
    I shall be released

They say every man needs protection
    They say that every man must fall
    Yet I swear I see my reflection
    Somewhere so high above this wall

I see my light come shinin’
    From the west down to the east
    Any day now, any day now
    I shall be released

Now, yonder stands a man in this lonely crowd
    A man who swears he’s not to blame
    All day long I hear him shouting so loud
    Just crying out that he’s been framed

I Shall Be Released, Black Man Time, Let Go Dub

35. NO,

They called it a racist half-time show. They got the gist of it. Black power messages TRUMP Drake disses on the emotional scale.

Just as race trumps gender concerns for women at the ballot box.

36. The racism of USA’s support for Israel is same racism as USA’s support for Trump.
    Their problem is when USA / Israel double down with their propaganda the Underground culture of music arts activism and protests rises.
    Nowadays it is white black and brown youths saying #BLACKLIVESMATTER and #STANDWITHPALESTINE.
    Trump at 78 is the oldest President and the most backward and regressive.
    The most forward progressive Presidents were Kennedy 43, Clinton 46, Obama 47

37. THE MOSQUE
    The Christian nationalists want bible classes in 21st century schools in America
    No ‘itis, but they’re full of shit for thinkin’ they’re so righteous (Just don’t)
    there are black and brown Muslims who pray everyday know how cold ICE is
    and say their peace on every known crisis

38. At times you have to look at what is happening in the lives of others, take notes and adjust your plans.

39. PMMIA rocking.

40. remember this?

41. I see the Mighty Gabby has got himself in a spot of bother.

42. Muhdear like she very quiet.

43. rocking in Addis Ababa.

Mottley is accompanied by Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Kerrie Symmonds along with Barbados’ Ambassadors to Kenya and Ghana, Alexander McDonald and Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland, respectively.

https://nationnews.com/2025/02/15/mottley-in-ethiopia-for-african-union-summit/

44. @ Pacha
    Is there anything inherently wrong with our Black children learning about extraordinary people of their race ?
    Our people have been denied their history and wherever possible we need to recognize basic truths. When we come here expounding on Afrikan civilization, we are doing the exact thing that Black History month does.
    Yes, it may not have the depth but a part of Afrikan history is always passing on knowledge to others. We do it here amongst each other.
    Great teachers use many tools to enlighten their students. There is no student in awe of any arrogant teacher.
    For many of our Black children to even hear of Black History month represents an awakening that there is Black history and as simple as this may sound , it actually means something.
    There is a reason that 90 % of economically disadvantaged Black youth will remember Markey.
    Don’t we have other more destructive matters to address rather than pounce on the efforts of those who are trying other ways to make a contribution to our awakening via other tools ?
    You know the teachings: each one teach one.
    There is nothing inherently wrong with celebrating Black History.
    Be it an hour or a month.
    We try to do it here almost daily.

45. Black History versus White History.. is all the same corrupted History in the Spiritual Battle of Good over Evil and Light versus Dark, Jah Know.

The Devil America wants to sell out Ukraine short in a bent ceasefire deal with Russia so they can grab their critical minerals* for military use that they call national security.

American and Israel military use AI to scrape the internet with adapted software coded to turn it into a powerful tracking system to attack anyone with drones

(*) Ukraine was a key titanium supplier for the military sector; provided gallium for LEDs and semiconductors across the world, and produced 90 per cent of neon gas for the US chip industry.

46. @John
    Not quiet. Busy doing socially and economically useful work for myself and for others.

47. Black youth remember Marley not Marley.

48. Listen to ACTING PRIME MINISTER WILIAM DUGUID.

Civic Centre sale not yet finalised

By Josué Ramiréz Nelson

josuenelson@nationnews.com

Sale of the Holetown Civic Centre, St James is not a done deal.

Acting Prime Minister Dr William Duguid told the Sunday Sun Government was still in negotiations with the private buyer.

“The Holetown Civic Centre is still owned by Government. The buyer has not yet finalised the sale,” said the Senior Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office in charge of Infrastructural Projects and Town Planning.

He declined to comment on the value of the heritage site identified as the landing spot of the first European settlers four centuries ago, adding he would not wish to prejudice the talks.

Duguid also opted not to reveal the cost of land acquisition at nearby Trents, St James, which has been earmarked for the Civic Centre’s relocation.

Public criticism

Under the Land Acquisition Act,

the move will see Government acquire almost 75 000 square metres of land at Trents to build a new centre to house the police station, courts, Barbados Revenue Authority, post office, library and other services within the Holetown complex.

During debate in the House of Assembly last month, Duguid revealed that $200 million will be spent by Government in Holetown and its environs. The new civic centre at Trents is estimated to be in the range of $40 million, with an added cost of $172 million for an 80room hotel.

“The buildings would cost that much [$40 million] as it was anticipated. The cost of the land acquisition has not yet been determined. The land is acquired but compensation isn’t paid yet’. That will be determined after. The cost of land in the Holetown Civic Centre. That’s not been determined as yet. I wouldn’t want to prejudice negotiations,” the minister added.

As public criticism continues, Duguid said Government is taking everything under advisement.

The pushback also comes in the midst of the celebrations for the Holetown Festival which climaxes this weekend.

The Barbados National Trust has expressed its opposition to the proposed demolition, highlighting the significance of the site, which holds a strong link to the island’s Amerindian heritage.

“For the people of Holetown, the Civic Centre is more than an artefact of history – it is a symbol of local identity. Demolishing it for commercial interests threatens to strip the community of its connection to its past, leading to irreversible cultural loss. Many locals feel that replacing such an iconic site with modern infrastructure would erode the town’s unique charm and history,” it stated in a release.

Heritage preservation

Noted architectural historian Sir Henry Fraser also condemned the demolition plans as “poorly thought out”.

Government Senator Dr Crystal Haynes raised her opposition to the plans during the last sitting of the Senate, where she questioned the potential impact of the move, highlighting concerns about heritage preservation and possible environmental fallout for the congested Holetown area.

She also queried the continued stance by successive administrations of building large-scale hotels and other tourism properties in coastline areas.

The move is the third major stateowned coastal property earmarked by Government for the creation of a private tourism development, the others being at Oistins in Christ Church and St Ann’s Fort, the Garrison.

The Carlisle Bay development area, located in Bay Street, St Michael, and listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is also among the list of Government properties offered by the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. for potential tourism investments opportunities.

49. Call for Africa, Caribbean unity

ADDIS ABABA – Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has called for unity, reparations and climate justice, urging Africa and the Caribbean to reclaim their shared destiny and confront global challenges together.

Addressing the Assembly of Heads of State and Government at the African Union (AU) Summit in Ethiopia yesterday, the chair of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) invoked the spirit of the Battle of Adwa, the 1896 victory that inspired Pan-Africanism and the fight against colonialism, emphasising that the lessons of Adwa – unity, resilience and the triumph of good over evil – must guide the present generation.

Mottley, on an official visit, highlighted the historical and cultural ties between Africa and the Caribbean, noting that Barbados, as the first land mass from Africa, has a unique role to play in bridging Africa and Caribbean regions.

“We have come to reclaim our Atlantic destiny. It is up to us to determine whether the history of separation shall be our future or whether the spirit of Adwa can be our inspiration,” she said.

The Prime Minister underscored the existential threat posed by climate change, particularly for the poorest nations.

“It is the poorest of the poor who remain the most vulnerable to floods, droughts and hurricanes. We must (therefore) confront this existential crisis together,” she stated, urging global leaders to act decisively.

Mottley also made a passionate appeal for reparations, starting with an acknowledgement of historical wrongs.

“Say sorry. Say sorry and mean it. And after you say sorry, recognise that the future of the world is not possible without the stability of Africa and its diaspora,” she pointed out.

Announcing that the first in-person CARICOMAU Summit is scheduled for September 7 in Addis Ababa, she emphasised the need for tangible actions such as creating air and sea bridges to facilitate travel and trade between the two regions.

“By that simple act, we build on the inaugural summit which took place virtually in 2021, but more importantly, we seek to regularise and establish as a permanent point of interaction the unity of which I speak and call for.”

Mottley urged Africa and the Caribbean to take control of their resources and shape the future of technology, rather than being victims of it.

“How does a continent that has 40 per cent of the world’s minerals not be in charge of helping to secure the destiny and stability of the planet?” she asked, challenging leaders to act boldly.

Celebrating the resilience and creativity of African and Caribbean people, she also called for a renewed commitment to cultural expression and unity.

“We celebrate our resilience and creativity, not as apostrophes to history, but as the ones who can level the playing field and create opportunities for our people.”

She concluded with a rallying cry for leaders to prioritise peace, prosperity and justice, emphasising that the stability of the world depends on a prosperous and united Africa and its diaspora.

“We have to emancipate ourselves from mental slavery and build the future that our people want of us in the spirit and with the results of Adwa,” she declared. (Ena.net)