The Barbados Police Service (BPS) from reports seem to be doing the best possible in the circumstances although undermanned by more than 300 officers. The contradiction is how can the BPS be doing a good job if the force is critically undermanned especially at a time crime is on the increase. Clearly there must be a correlation whether weak or strong.

Criminal acts like murder, burglaries, traffic offences etcetera are visible to the public and shape our perception and in this case fears. It is no surprise the BPS is struggling with recruitment given the present-day hazards associated with being a police officer.

In a report last month Cheryl Willoughby, Director of the Criminal Justice Research and Planning confirmed what many feared – Covid 19 pandemic added another challenge to the mix. Governments including Barbados due to a lack of resources and constructive interventions, especially violent disruptions to the delivery of education to the youth – has resulted society ‘reaping’ the results. It is unfortunate Grantley Adams School had to endure a term out of school because of an environmental mishap. If Willoughby is correct Barbados just produced a number of young people susceptible to the criminal element.

The 64k question is whether the average Barbadian feels confident the leadership of the country coupled with support of the home and neighbourhoods can stem rising crime. Increasingly we are witnessing growing lawlessness in Barbados as a major shift from traditional behaviours takes root. Although a vast majority of Barbadians are law-abiding including young people – a few rotten apples is all it takes to be a destabilising force.

We have reached a critical juncture in our history and based on current trajectory the crime situation will continue to deteriorate. The BPS despite the ‘good’ job it is doing to apprehend criminals there is the reality of what an undermanned force translates to – low moral, lack of manpower to investigate matters, lack of support to court proceedings, recently the BPS was forced to change how it responds to vehicular accidents, residents of the Pine where another brazen shootout occurred a couple weeks ago near a play park lamented a lack of community policing to highlight a few.

It is no surprise there is an increasing call for the sacking of Attorney General Dale Marshall, a similar call was made for his predecessor Adriel Brathwaite. How did that work out? Switching chairs on the deck of the titanic is not the solution. We need an innovative citizen-centric plan to attempt to effectively combat rising crime. The blogmaster is not an expert just a voice born out of experience in the role. The BPS over the years have not earned sufficient trust with the public. Since August 2024 there was a slapping incident on Kadooment Day which Commissioner Richard Boyce promised to investigate and update a wary public. We have had leaks of police statements, there is the taped cellphone under the table in a witness room at a police station to identify a few examples. There was a time citizens in the neighbourhood knew the beat officer by name. The BPS has become detached from the public it is suppose to serve and protect.

It is a new year, let us take a fresh look at different strategies for enforcement and PREVENTION. There should be no excuse we lack the capacity to increase the intake of female recruits. Time is running out as we race to catch Jamaica, Trinidad and others in the region where crime has been identified and a public health issue by Heads of Governments (HOGs).

75 responses to “How crime and violence is reshaping Barbados society”

1. Boyce: 2024 one of toughest years

AFTER ONE OF THE toughest years for law enforcement in Barbados, Acting Commissioner of Police Erwin Boyce expressed a special thank-you to members of the Barbados Police Service.

At the same time, he made an appeal for the public to help make the job of lawmen a little easier.

Speaking at a press conference at Police Headquarters, Roebuck Street, The City, yesterday, Boyce admitted that 2024 was one of the most challenging, especially as police were faced with an exponential increase in gun-related crime.

Fifty homicides – 49 murders and one manslaughter – were recorded, one of the highest counts in recent history, at a time when the level of crime in other areas decreased.

“Policing is not easy,” the acting commissioner stated. “There are some very difficult conversations that we have to get into from time to time, because at the forefront of what we’re doing is people. We want people to feel safe, less anxious about criminal activity and sometimes our conversation has to be difficult.”

He said officers went above and beyond the call of duty last year in many instances.

“I must commend the work of the organisation [as] 2024 was not an easy year for policing in Barbados. It required us developing indefatigable zeal and a commitment which was beyond the call of duty in most instances.

“I would like to say to the members of the service, they did well and made the sacrifices. They were there for you, the people of Barbados, and I want to commend them.”

Boyce noted that the Police Service would continue to evolve, especially in the face of the recent upsurge in gun-related violence.

“There are always persons of interest in every crime. Policing isn’t easy, it’s not static. We have to look at information, intelligence and shape our responses in how we manage the fear of crime. It’s not easy,” he reiterated.

He admitted that in Barbados today, there was a nation-wide fear of crime, and police had to take that into consideration.

“The strategies we develop are based on intelligence gathered. We want to encourage the public again, if you see something, say something. Share it with us.

“People who have guns have family members. Those who are close to and are a part of the family setting can be anonymous, and say to us do this or do that. It (communication with the public) has to be at that level to create confidence in the system.”

Boyce said the police had a steady relationship with the Customs Department and the Bridgetown Port as all partners tried to stem the importation of illegal firearms. (BA)

2. Inquiring minds want to know if the BPS and Customs have reconciled differences over contraband entering at our ports of entry.

3. These criminal justice diatribes which are heavily reliant on sociological discourses are necessary but woefully insufficient in capturing the magnitude of the problems which are the bedrock of what appears on the surface as crimes and violence.

In other words, those who continue to so see what they call crimes and violence as an impediment, on the one hand, seek to dampen the effects of the wider culture on its victims, to apply a palative! And on the other, they are saying to the victims of that very system to ‘shut up and allow us to continue wirh business as usual’.

This writer’s most basis truth is that crimes and violence of all types, under capitalism, have followed an increased trajectory over centuries. We predict that that growth will continue as long as the capitalist culture continues.

Unlike the article above, this writer sees crimes and violence more broadly. Not just in relationship to poor people living on the margins seeking survival …

But from top to bottom. Crimes and violence should include aggressive wars; economic violence by governments and corporations: religious wars by churches, mosques and synagogues; crimes and violence against the environment; crimes and violence against women and children; crimes and violence against life itself; Bushie would may say crimes and violence against God Herself!

4. At some point Barbadians from all walks of life must ask themselves a question- is the path Barbados is on i.e.being destabilized by violent crime, what can we do to pull it back? The idea that we mobilize only if the threat hits close to home is selfish. Do we want to be able to lime continue rumshop limes, play dominoes under a tree, our children romp in a play park, visit the corner shop in the late evening? All of us are in the same boat. What Barbados do we want to protect?

5. I know that the BU intelligentsia often accuse me of not liking/hating men, which of course is not at all true. However I do dislike the behavior of men such as the one accused of murdering my kinsman on January 2nd.

We need to start at the beginning. We know that most of the men accused or convicted of serious crimes have no relationship with their fathers, and even while we cannot go back 40 or more years and make fathers cherish their little boys, we need to begin now. Ever little boy needs to be loved and guided by his father. It is way past time that too many Bajan fathers stopped treating their little boys like they are “pickney in massa’s nig er yard” that is like their son’s are somebody else’s responsibility. If you enjoyed the puck, or even if you didn’t, whether you paid for it or whether it was “free” the resulting child is your responsibility. And no foolish talk ’bout you int sure. If you int sure, that is what DNA tests are for, currently available for less than $1,000.

Out boy babies, our little boys, our teenage boys, our young men DESERVE much, much better fathering.

And I don’t care who cuss me.

6. And it is not just poor men, working class men, men on the block who are doing shite where their children are concerned. Sometime ago a Cabinet Minister’s teenage child said “I know my daddy don’t love me” and another teenage child [different relationship] said “my daddy don’t notice me.”

When a “senior” man dies and none of his adult children have not a word to say at his funeral, ask why?

The problem starts at the top. I heard recently about a “senior” white man who has perhaps 14 or more children. How does anybody adequately parent that many children being “raised” in multiple households.

The problem starts at the top. Our “senior” men need to to set better examples for our young men.

7. And “senior” cops fixing the problem?

Lol!

A good number of cops are themselves lousy fathers of children “all ’bout de place.” My own brother was one of those lousy cop/fathers.

Perhaps they need to fix their colleagues first before they attempt to fix “de boys on de block”

Look fellas, children are not supposed to be raised by their mothers in their maternal grandmothers houses. We grandmothers are sick and tired of taking responsibility of your children because you won’t.

8. @David January 14, 2025 at 6:32 am “What Barbados do we want to protect?”

Everybody.

But starting first with the 40 or 50 boy babies born so far in 2025. All of them are so far innocent. None of them own guns, none of them buy or sell drugs, none of them are dishonest with their employers or employees. We can start fresh with them; but it is principally the business of their fathers and mothers to do right by them.

God Lord, if you can’t love your own baby, how then can you love anybody else?

9. Cuhdear Bajan
    January 14, 2025 at 7:02 am

Look fellas, children are not supposed to be raised by their mothers in their maternal grandmothers houses. We grandmothers are sick and tired of taking responsibility of your children because you won’t.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Children have been raised by their aunts, sisters, grandmothers friends etc. for generations without any problem. Often, they rise to the top.

When Bajan males went to Panama and then to the UK looking for work because there was none here, their children were all raised in both a single parent home or at their family.

There was no crime problem in these periods, only now.

Why is that?

Why is it that the absence of a father in the home never was a problem?

I have cousins in New York whose parents, both of them, died and they ended up in an orphanage.

The eldest sister, herself not much more than a child undertook to keep the family together.

The eldest brother joined the Marines, lying about his age, and went to fight in Korea. The benefits he received on his return allowed the family to buy a home.

He joined the Fire Department in New York, served at Ground Zero with his comrades and damaged his lungs.

He went back although he was retired and put his body through those rigours.

He was an early victim of COVID, I probably got my name because of him, John Knox.

There is no excuse for these animals in Barbados, their behaviour can be traced to their single parent mothers who screwed them up.

10. Here we go. Parental delinquency is an issue. Our society has changed where the school and extended community are not deeply involved in the raising of children. Our approaches have to be different as we manage various ways to manage in a present day society. It is a multifaceted approach that is required.

Do not let us simplify the situation.

11. But, it is simple!!

It’s all about the welfare state.

It is a cold heartless entity that professes to care for children.

It is simpler however, to blame a father or a mother but it goes further, it is the state.

12. Listen to Granny.

13. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

IF A [PICTURE] PAINTS A 1000 WORD – THE LOOK ON THE COMMIS’ FACE & THE AG* ARE PRICELESS: BETTER THAN A MASTERCARD

The multifactorial fragmentations in “BAJAN SOCIETY” are symptomatic of larger issues – most that are not being addressed by anyone on that “LIL” island…

Scripture is clear: “IF YOU CANNOT DEAL WITH THE FOOTMEN, HOW WILL YOU HANDLE THE HORSEMEN – BUT WHAT HAPPENS AT THE SWELLING OF THE JORDAN”???

NEWSFLASH: THE *HORSEMEN* ARE HERE

Sorry 2 say it, but the “NATION” is out of its depth at this juncture – a “TITANIC moses” out to sea without an oar or a paddle!!!

How the country avoids going down into the depths of Atlantis, is anyone’s guess!!!

Even with a change of leadership – “NOTHING WILL ULTIMATELY GET BETTER AS THE VIRUS HAS NOW METASTASIZED”!!!

One shock on the global markets will see “MASSIVE DOLLAR DEVALUATION”; “FAR GREATER AUSTERITY”; “DEEP CUT IN SOCIAL SERVICES” & “A SEVERE CONTRACTION IN THE ECONOMY” with loss of “JOBS” & spiralling prices everywhere!!!

IMAGINE THE TOURIST TRAP* OPENING UP WITH SEISMIC REPURCUSSIONS

HOW A *MOTTLEY-CREW GOV* COMES BACK FROM THAT AFTER POSSIBLE RIOTS & SOCIAL UNREST – AGAIN IS ANYBODY’S GUESS

The “IMF” opined that global growth slows as economies grapple with supply disruptions, higher inflation, record debt & persistent uncertainty – however, the “IMPOSSIBLE MISSION FORCE” (#IMF) is clear that it is “MISSION IMPOSSIBLE” collapse!!!

MOST CANNOT HANDLE THE TRUTH – SO THEY COMFORT THEMSELVES IN A CONSTANT STATE OF MYOPIA

#GoodLuckFolks
    #HappyHunting

14. @TB

The image is one taken sometime last year. The last presser was a police affair. The AG has not put in an appearance on the matter to date.

15. Up to a certain age black boys are considered cute and even shy, from their teens they are considered potential violent thugs.
    Teenage boys of all races fearlessly fight to test their growing physical strength as part of manhood and frustrated sexual urges.
    Testosterone is a hormone that your gonads mainly produce. Testosterone levels are naturally much higher in people assigned male at birth than in people assigned female at birth. If testosterone levels are too high or too low, it can cause certain symptoms.
    Special exercise programs for teenage boys might calm them down.

16. Oh dear! oh dear! oh dear!!
    Pacha is right again… DISPITE being 100% wrong about the Bible and its relationship to the CREATOR.

Blaming parents, covid, poverty, technology etc is just a lotta shiite.
    It is ALL of the above ….and MUCH more.

But MAINLY, the increase in crime is a DIRECT reflection of the CRIMINALITY that eminates from the VERY TOP of our various societies – at all levels.

The state sponsored criminality as CREATED by the albino-centric world in their qwest to ‘gain the whole material world’.

The outrageous activities of the multinational corporations as they GOUGE the poor and ravage the environment for super profits.

The complicity of political leaders – getting unexplicably wealthy while in office, while favoring criminal behaviors, REFUSING to give account, failing to pursue JUSTICE in the court system, facilitating the rich moguls unjustly, and generally doing SHIITE.

What the Hell wunna expect a young, strong, eddykated person to do in such circumstances?
    …go to church and pray?

Steupsss..
    They will GENERALLY do what they see the ‘successful’ top dogs doing….
    – join up with the criminal elements
    – refuse to join the security forces
    – use FORCE to inflict THEIR BRAND of justice
    – ignore the shiite rules imposed on them – as with the ZR people
    – teach their children that the ‘only way to succeed’ is to be with the ‘BAD BOYS’, just as our ‘leaders have done.

To cut a potentially long story short,
    If we planted STEAL houses, Vaccine scams, Four Seasons robberies, Hopeless rip-offs, Political donation briberies, Judas-like selloffs of National Assets….
    What the Hell did we think we would reap…?
    Honey??!!

Steupsss…

17. Stakes are high.
    Crime pays, the previous thread had money people talking about flipping investment bonds for income streams like it was cocaine, successful criminals reap more until they get caught and put in jail.

18. “Pacha is right again… DISPITE being 100% wrong about the Bible and its relationship to the CREATOR.”

My missions are possible
    Life without a Bible does not hinder spiritual growth or relationship with God
    Life with a bible hinders spirituality when it is deemed the answer book to life

The nature of Man
    and perceived relationship to a perceived creator are one and the same for clairvoyants who wrote the stupid bible.
    Explore what was not written about religion in the Christian texts as extracurricular studies.

Clairvoyance principles | Initiation into Hermetics

19. When did you last readeth* the book

(*) (archaic) Third-person singular simple present indicative form of read.

and that ye shall not prolong your days upon the land, whither thou passest over Jordan** to go to possess it.

DEU 30:19 I call heaven and earth to record this day against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing: therefore choose life, that both thou and thy seed may live:

DEU 30:20 That thou mayest love the LORD thy God, and that thou mayest obey his voice, and that thou mayest cleave unto him: for he is thy life, and the length of thy days: that thou mayest dwell in the land which the LORD sware unto thy fathers, to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob, to give them.

DEU 31:1 And Moses went and spake these words unto all Israel.

(**) to flow down
    Jordan is a gender-neutral name of Hebrew origin, meaning “to flow down.”

20. Bibliomancy Verus Stichomancy
    Bibliomancy is the practice of seeking spiritual insight by selecting a random passage from a Holy Book. It is a form of Stichomancy, which involves selecting a random passage from a random book of any nature. Bibliomancy and Stichomancy have been popular methods of divination for at least 3000 years, when the I Ching was first used to divine the future.

Round 2 Stichomancy

The Daily Stoic: 366 Meditations on Wisdom, Perseverance …
    Ryan Holiday
    Take a little time today to remember that you’re blessed with the capacity to use logic and reason to navigate situations and circumstances.
    This gives you thinkable power to alter your circumstances and the of others. And remember that with power comes responsibility.

“Hold sacred your capacity for understanding, For in it is all, that our ruling principle won’t allow anything to enter that is either inconsistent with nature or with the constitution of a logical creature. It’s what demands due diligence, care for others and obedience to God.” – Marcus Aurelius, Meditations, 3.9

21. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

“The image is one taken sometime last year. The last presser was a police affair. The AG has not put in an appearance on the matter to date….”

SO IT GET WORSE???

#WOW

22. @John January 14, 2025 at 8:21 am “It’s all about the welfare state.
    It is a cold heartless entity that professes to care for children.”

Nonsense.

The overwhelming majority of children are still being raised by parents, although sometimes not very well.

And both you and I know that no state can LOVE anybody,

23. @John January 14, 2025 at 7:32 am “There was no crime problem in these periods, only now. Why is that?”

DRUGS, GUNS, AND THE LOVE OF “EASY” MONEY

A lot more drugs and guns around now than then. But you know this as well as I do. The thing is if a father does not father his children the drug man will HAPPILY do it for him.

24. “It’s all about the welfare state.
    It is a cold heartless entity that professes to care for children.”

“Nonsense.”

> who and where does John parrot his wack lyrics from

Federal Aid (The Money Belongs To Us) Johnny Rebel

25. And do we want to start a conversation about pastoral wolves in sheep’s clothing, those who ravish young girls, then pull up their pants and go. Jippy Doyle was not the only one.

26. The zeal with which the government is running ads pushing We Gatherin and BOSS bonds, same should be done to message citizens about the importance of sharing information with the police and crimestoppers to deal with crime.

27. Barbadian woman robbed on her way to the gym.

https://videopress.com/v/U9czhVF4

28. 4 men, at least one with a gun, assaulting one woman.

Shameful.

They should find the fathers and give them 6 lashes in the middle of Swan Street on the busiest day.

29. I hope the police find those 4 criminals. What I want to happen to them cannot be published.

30. ” Young lady robbed at gun point in paynes bay in the early morning she was on her way to the gym.”

31. If that vid is real the first man finger prints will be all over the door/ house

32. Scary.

33. They should find the fathers and give them 6 lashes in the middle of Swan Street on the busiest day.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    True.
    But it would be much easier to find the four mothers than the (possibly as many as twelve) ‘fathers’…aint it?
    You could really go and mek some sweet bread or something…
    It is actually the damn WOMEN who are producing these monsters, feeding their lazy donkeys, protecting them from the police, bailing them out of jail, and then crying and wailing at their funerals…talking shiite about great they are…
    How is it that SOME women can singlehandedly raise PERFECT young men – while YOU continue ranting and raving about ‘absent’ men?
    Steupsss…
    Oh Wait!!!
    Sour grapes!!!

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

I know you’ll post it, but there is an article in BT, where acting COP literally throws the PM under a bus re SOCU.

It is totally amusing. He doesn’t know the purpose, suggesting perhaps it is this. He cannot provide any specific accomplishments. He isn’t sure what they do. But it is well constituted in terms of its quality and skillset, (sounds sweet nah?). The PM announced it (obviously without advance notice or consultation) and so it exists.

“We have conceptualised a number of responses, and a number of teams and joint patrols and those sorts of things will be on the road to make sure that people are safe in public spaces and people are safe in private jurisdictions too,”

Hope all feel safer.

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

No conkies for you.
    Why you don’t behave!!

36. @NO

Read the article and wondered why we haven’t heard about a big fish landed.

“Police target ‘big fish’ in organised crime crackdown
    The Serious Organised Crime Unit (SOCU) is intensifying efforts to bring high-level criminals to justice for firearms and drugrelated crimes, Acting Commissioner of Police Erwin Boyce declared on Monday.
    With 71 illegal guns having been taken out of the hands of criminals in 2024, the acting commissioner said the six-month-old SOCU is on a mission to get the masterminds of serious crimes.
    “That is perhaps where the Serious Organised Crime Unit has a mandate,” he told reporters. “And I can assure that there is lots of it [investigation] going on in terms of your own perception of big fish and mastermind, in terms of getting matters in an abled position to go before the court.”
    Boyce disclosed that the unit, which was unveiled in July last year, during a press conference by Prime Minister Mia Mottley, to focus “entirely on organised crime and gangs”, is well-constituted in terms of its quality and skillset.
    Though he couldn’t provide figures on its achievements so far, he said the unit was able to make a number of arrests last year regarding drugs.
    “There are strategies that we employ from time to time,” he said. “There [is] a suite of strategies that we employ from time to time to infiltrate, to dismantle, to disrupt. And sometimes, yes, the focus is on the man in the street because the man in the street presents the greatest fear to the average person moving from point to point. But equally so, behind the scenes are some serious investigations, focused investigations in order to make a determination to the level of conspiracy that is involved in groups or influencers.”
    Noting that as Barbados does not manufacture guns — such weapons are imported — Acting Police Commissioner Boyce stressed the need for all security agencies to collaborate in stemming the flow.
    But he acknowledged that the Customs and Excise Department and the Barbados Port Authority cooperate with the police in relation to illicit guns.
    He said: “Whatever progress we make is predicated on the information that we receive and the intelligence that we have, to create the response strategies. We still remain a very open society and we are still very import-charged.
    So, we need to co-opt the relationship with all partners, and we need to move that relationship to a level where they see what we see; they see what members of society see in terms of protecting and making sure that firearms are not the everyday thing in Barbados.”
    He said the police service is making inroads in the business of illegal firearms but that better can be done once people provide the relevant information.
    But Boyce pointed out that the police service has always feared that firearms are reaching the hands of very young people, which is accompanied by a level of recklessness.
    He said while the majority of these weapons are 9mm handguns, police investigators are discovering some highpowered ones and some which are not familiar to officers.
    “We have conceptualised a number of responses, and a number of teams and joint patrols and those sorts of things will be on the road to make sure that people are safe in public spaces and people are safe in private jurisdictions too,” Boyce said.
    (EJ)”

Source: BT

37. Can Bajans survive a potentially decadent decade?

Has anyone noticed that this escalation in gun violence and crime has basically evolved after reputed drug lords smilingly waved their signed invitations to the public, at the Parliamentary swearing-in ceremony of the government in 2018? Their demonstrated delight suggested that they believed the government had their backs. It has been gay abandon in the underworld and mayhem in civil society since then, with armed thugs feeling emboldened and empowered, and doing as they please, even in broad daylight.
    “Give we de money and de guns and watch we” is arguably the new mantra of deviants today.

Barbados should be a relatively easy place to police. If one walks too far in any direction, one will likely end up in the sea after passing several familiar faces. The police must reclaim the streets. The constant daylight carnage suggests criminal elements no longer consider the police a significant enough threat to stop them from carrying out their dastardly deeds. There is de jure leadership of the Barbados Police Service. But there is a perception among many in and outside the organization that after engineered supersession, de facto leadership is calling significant, unwanted internal shots (no pun intended). That a civilian can announce the formation of a police unit does nothing to quell that belief. Consistent, intelligent, robust policing, unhindered by political agenda and novices, is required if the current insanity on the streets is to be curtailed.

But rather than fortify systems to put violent, anti-social, unrepentant fiends behind bars or under the earth, the government has coddled them with its ill-conceived ‘piece’ programme. There is nothing wrong with investing in initiatives to increase opportunities for young people. But if you channel millions of dollars into the path of drug dealers and their violent spawn, what do you expect them to buy? Laptops – to start community projects? Fertilizer and seed – to switch to agriculture? If I am a drug dealer with henchmen in my employ, I am investing in more drugs and more guns with the state’s money. But the government, preoccupied with narcissism rather than the law-abiding citizenry, has shown it is willing to consort even with the spirit of strife Eris to remain relevant.

On reflection, though I do not subscribe to illegal wiretapping, how wonderful it would have been if those who orchestrated the tapping of the phones of late Prime Ministers Thompson and Arthur, and other law-abiding citizens for purely political reasons, had instead bugged the phones of known or suspected felons. Can one imagine the type of intelligence that could have been obtained if the phones of ‘prominent’ drug dealers had been monitored? It is not farfetched to surmise that such intelligence could have preempted some of the “wild, wild west” drama unfolding on our streets. This gathering of information would have proven much more beneficial to the country’s safety and security than the present gatherin’.

Standards in Barbados have dropped. When one loses or surrenders one’s grip on the small things, bigger problems frequently follow. For example, children (males especially) are now going to school with hairstyles and apparel resembling what is seen on the blocks around the country. And seemingly with the Ministry of Education’s blessing. Within the scheme of the blood-letting on our streets, this seems minor. But the argument is really about standards and messaging to our young people. Dress codes and hairstyles were once tied into overall school and social discipline. Allow a little; lose a lot! Discipline is going fast . . . at school, and at home where children leave with their parents’ approval. A breakdown often initially manifests itself somewhere and in the current decadent political climate, seemingly small things can swiftly mushroom into the negative.

Governance by public relations and infiltration of institutions (public and private) can only go so far. There comes a time when policies and implementation are required for progress. The government has been brilliant with public relations and infiltration but wears a dunce cap and sucks its thumb with clueless relish when it comes to progressive policies. The legislature needs to formulate development plans on what “to do”. It has seemingly been concentrating on laws instructing persons what “not to do”. Several pieces of legislation brought to the Lower Chamber, then withdrawn due to flaws, have become commonplace. But at least, the debacle that has been the Constitutional Reform Commission’s report has showcased a measure of consistency.

Controlling traditional media as the government has ensured, keeps the state’s soiled linen under wraps and turns some journalists into professional eunuchs but it does the general public a disservice. The attempt to control social media by proposing legislation that could criminalise truths if they hurt or embarrass feelings, detracts from otherwise sound efforts to stymie cybercrime and cyberbullying. The offensive part of that law is a survival tool under the guise of protecting society. Could this be the decade of legends in their own minds preparing for, or seeing themselves, as a government in perpetuity?

Controlling the Central Bank’s narratives ensures continued annual growth on a foundation of borrowed money, increasing debt and struggling and non-productive sectors. But that mirage does nothing for Little Miss Muffet starving on her Tuffet without either curds or whey. When growth has minimal effect on the suffering working class, and money is circulating mainly in the upper echelons of society, then the Emperor is fully clothed and Nero’s flute is at high pitch as Barbados burns. Would that an accountant be entrusted with the governorship of the Central Bank rather than any economist.

There have been some questionable occurrences within the justice system and there must be concern about the separation of powers in Barbados. Is the judiciary being unnecessarily influenced, infiltrated, or assaulted? In jurisdictions like the United States of America, if a President overrides an order of the Supreme Court and awards millions of taxpayers’ dollars to public servants who lose a civil action brought against the state, that President’s head is likely to roll. If the courts in America remained silent, there would be a national and media uproar. That country would see such a development as profoundly perverse. Barbadians need to pay closer attention to home.

Following the Kirton’s, St Philip murder over the weekend, the media interviewed some residents and there was a sense of resignation among them, as though “it is what it is”. One man suggested Bajans have to be careful and learn to “live with it”. It is a dangerous development when people start getting numb to crime. It is a disaster if they start believing that nothing can be done about violent crime. The government and especially the police should take note of those public utterances. The Barbados Police Service is blessed with numerous outstanding individuals but the government has not been the best role model for others to follow. And the gangsters on the streets need little encouragement.”

Source: Wade Gibbons Facebook

38. Plea to put protocols in place

by COLVILLE MOUNSEY

colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

IN LIGHT OF LAST SUNDAY’s daylight shooting at a gas station that left a customer dead and an employee injured, a call is being made for businesses to integrate violenceresponse protocols into their health and safety training.

It is coming from behavioural scientist Professor Dwayne Devonish, who is warning that failure to address this issue could have broader implications, including the potential to dampen participation in Government initiatives such as We Gatherin’.

Two of the three homicides so far for the year have involved the use of firearms. The murder of 46-year-old Mitchell Boyce at Kirtons in St Philip on Sunday morning follows another shooting death – that of 30-year-old Vere Hoyte – in Checker Hall, St Lucy, on January 9.

These brazen acts, including multiple gunshots being fired across a pasture in The Pine, St Michael, on Sunday, January 5, resulting in people being injured, and adults and children running for their lives, have caused widespread public concern and raised questions about safety in public spaces.

Devonish emphasised the psychological and social ramifications of such events, with heightened fear and anxiety among the population.

“If these incidents continue to escalate, we can expect a rise in public anxiety and a potential decline in participation in public events,” he said. “For example, if this kind of violence occurred during major cultural events or at gatherings related to We Gatherin’, it could significantly impact attendance and the overall success of such initiatives.”

He said businesses needed to adapt their health and safety protocols to include training on responding to violent situations. He also highlighted the importance of providing psychosocial support for employees who might be traumatised by such incidents.

“Health and safety is typically focused on accidents like spills or falls. However, it must now evolve to address violent incidents that could occur on or near business premises. Employers should also provide counselling and other forms of support for workers affected by such traumatic events.”

He urged businesses to consider their proximity to crime hotspots when assessing safety measures, with establishments such as gas stations and restaurants particularly vulnerable. Recent incidents have demonstrated how quickly violent crimes can disrupt operations and impact employee well-being, he added.

In terms of the economic impact, Devonish said public fear could deter people from visiting establishments or attending events.

“Businesses operating near known crime areas may experience reduced foot traffic and revenue as people avoid those spaces. The psychological impact on employees working in such environments must also be a priority for employers.”

Employees, he argued, should also take responsibility for their own vigilance and awareness.

“It can’t just be employers taking the brunt of the responsibility. Both employers and employees must come together to ensure vigilance and invest in the right health and safety resources and training to navigate these challenges.”

Sheena Mayers-Granville, executive director of the Barbados Employers’ Confederation (BEC), echoed Devonish’s concerns and called for proactive measures to ensure workplace safety.

She highlighted the steps that some members of the BEC had already taken, such as participating in training programmes and developing policies to address workplace violence. She also pointed to past collaborations between employers and law enforcement, including the provision of mobile police stations and improved lighting in high-risk areas.

Mayers-Granville stressed the importance of ongoing vigilance, noting that safety protocols must be regularly reviewed and updated to reflect the current security climate. She spoke of the need for a comprehensive approach to safety that extends beyond physical security to include data protection, particularly as businesses become increasingly reliant on digital systems.

“We are committed to fostering a culture of security in the workplace, ensuring not only the physical safety of employees and customers, but also the protection of sensitive data in an increasingly digital world. The recent rise in violent crime is deeply concerning and has shaken us all. We are continuously reviewing our safety procedures to ensure they reflect what is happening in the community.”

Both she and Devonish agreed that improving public trust in law enforcement was crucial. Devonish said police must bolster their efforts in intelligence gathering and strengthen relationships with communities. He noted that public reluctance to report crimes often stemmed from fear of reprisal or a lack of trust in the police.

“The police cannot do their job alone. It requires a collaborative effort where the public feels confident in reporting crime. Building trust and partnerships with communities is essential for intelligence gathering and preventing violent offences,” he said.

There was also a gun attack on staff of a fast-food outlet who were being transported home in the wee hours of January 6.

Mayers-Granville said employers remained deeply committed to ensuring the well-being of their employees and customers.

“We will continue to collaborate with Government, law enforcement and the wider community to address these challenges. Our priority is, and always will be, the safety and security of our people.”

39. The following is being reported on social media as a BPS response to a social media post. So far the police PR shop hasn’t issued a denial.

If it is true it say too much as to why we have ‘issues’.

https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/img_1934-1.jpg

40. “.. children (males especially) are now going to school with hairstyles and apparel resembling what is seen on the blocks around the country. And seemingly with the Ministry of Education’s blessing. ..Dress codes and hairstyles were once tied into overall school and social discipline. Allow a little; lose a lot! Discipline is going fast . . . at school, and at home where children leave with their parents’ approval… ”

“You are not your body and hair-style, but your capacity for choosing well. If your choices are beautiful, so too will you be.” —EPICTETUS, DISCOURSES”

Hair Racism
    Discriminating against Black hair reinforces the othering of Black children, enforces harmful stereotypes, and is a form of policing Black identity.

41. @John2 January 14, 2025 at 6:08 pm “If that vid is real the first man finger prints will be all over the door/ house”

Good.

May make it easier to make an arrest and get a conviction.

4 of them and a gun makes 5. In a community as small as ours the woman could be the cousin of any one of them.

Packs of young men with guns now hunting unarmed women, and not a fella could say to the other “we doing shite, let we go back home?”

42. @Bush Tea January 14, 2025 at 10:55 pm “But it would be much easier to find the four mothers than the (possibly as many as twelve) ‘fathers’…aint it?”

I am not sure if you hid in the toilets when the biology classes were being conducted. But any mammal, humans too can only have 2 biological parents, so where is the foolish talk about 12 fathers coming from?

Men who think like you, men who enjoy the sex and then say “I int sure if the child is mine” in spite of readily available and cheap DNA test deserve 12 strokes with the cat o nine tales for neglecting their boy babies, little boys, teen boys and young men. And you need to get rid of your insecurities.. If as you believe you are such a gorillaphant, why do you still think that you are being horned?

43. @Bush Tea at 10:55 PM “How is it that SOME women can single handedly raise PERFECT young men – while YOU continue ranting and raving about ‘absent’ men? Steupsss…Oh Wait!!! Sour grapes!!!”

Because men ought not to absent themselves from the responsibility of their children. And as I said yesterday this applies to black men and white men, poor men and rich men, men on the block and men in the House. They all need to do better by their children.

I myself had an excellent father who by the grace of God stood by me for 53 untiring years.

My own children have turned out perfectly.

So, no sour grapes, just a call for ALL fathers to do their duty.

Only an idiot can have something against that.

44. @555 at 6:18 AM “Hair Racism. Discriminating against Black hair reinforces the othering of Black children, enforces harmful stereotypes, and is a form of policing Black identity.”

So true.

We so like to major in the minors.

I have not put a comb to my hair in the past 4 weeks. My hair is not troubling me so why should it trouble anyone else?

45. @ Cuhdear
    “Men who think like Bushie?”
    …or did you mean women who sleep around with multiple partners… for a variety of reasons? and who THEMSELVES don’t know who the damn father is…
    How the hell would the police know? …or even the ACTUAL father?

You could REALLY change back to ‘Simple Simon’.!!!

@ Northern
    If we let shiite talk take wings, …can you see how much sooner the impact with the big fan will occur?

Whenever the Devil wanted someone to accelerate the demise of mankind, he brought forward a woman …. starting with Eve, Delilah, Herod’s wife etc …and it looks like he now plan to bring ‘Cuhdear Bajan’ as a grand finale… riding a ZR..

…besides, Bushie ain’t get a single Conkie yet – between the licorish grand children and the lotta time she on BU writing shiite….

Steupsss!!

46. In today’s paper a 26 year old mother of 3 has been missing for several weeks. According to her family she is vulnerable as she operates at an intellectual/emotional level much younger than her years. The oldest child is 11. The age of consent of Barbados is 16. So who impregnated that child? I doubt very much that it was a vulnerable 15 year old boy. Very likely a man up to 10 years older who was happy to take advantage of a vulnerable CHILD.

Some of our men are sick in the heads. Have no respect for others. Their defender Bush Tea needs to talk some sense into them.

47. @Bush Tea “besides, Bushie ain’t get a single Conkie yet”

And you will never, ever get one.

My grandchildren are perfect little human beings, loved and cherished by their parents and by me.

I just had a post Christmas ham cutter. None of that for you either.

Anyhow I gone. I have to do some work on what the young people call my “side hustle” no, NOT drug nor gun dealing.

48. Why do we try so hard to trivialize a complex issue? Of course men who do not father their children are delinquent BUT it is only one variable in a complex problem we are currently facing.

What about a two parent household with BOTH parents on the run to work, late from work and the children waiting long hours at school, waiting for pickup or left to wander?

What about children who leave home and loiter in the bus stand without having to fear reprimand from education officers doing their jobs?

Let us get serious!

We have issues that have to be confronted in the short term and there are interventions at the household and community level that will take time as in years to realize set goals assuming they are achieved.