The Barbados Police Service (BPS) from reports seem to be doing the best possible in the circumstances although undermanned by more than 300 officers. The contradiction is how can the BPS be doing a good job if the force is critically undermanned especially at a time crime is on the increase. Clearly there must be a correlation whether weak or strong.

Criminal acts like murder, burglaries, traffic offences etcetera are visible to the public and shape our perception and in this case fears. It is no surprise the BPS is struggling with recruitment given the present-day hazards associated with being a police officer.

In a report last month Cheryl Willoughby, Director of the Criminal Justice Research and Planning confirmed what many feared – Covid 19 pandemic added another challenge to the mix. Governments including Barbados due to a lack of resources and constructive interventions, especially violent disruptions to the delivery of education to the youth – has resulted society ‘reaping’ the results. It is unfortunate Grantley Adams School had to endure a term out of school because of an environmental mishap. If Willoughby is correct Barbados just produced a number of young people susceptible to the criminal element.

The 64k question is whether the average Barbadian feels confident the leadership of the country coupled with support of the home and neighbourhoods can stem rising crime. Increasingly we are witnessing growing lawlessness in Barbados as a major shift from traditional behaviours takes root. Although a vast majority of Barbadians are law-abiding including young people – a few rotten apples is all it takes to be a destabilising force.

We have reached a critical juncture in our history and based on current trajectory the crime situation will continue to deteriorate. The BPS despite the ‘good’ job it is doing to apprehend criminals there is the reality of what an undermanned force translates to – low moral, lack of manpower to investigate matters, lack of support to court proceedings, recently the BPS was forced to change how it responds to vehicular accidents, residents of the Pine where another brazen shootout occurred a couple weeks ago near a play park lamented a lack of community policing to highlight a few.

It is no surprise there is an increasing call for the sacking of Attorney General Dale Marshall, a similar call was made for his predecessor Adriel Brathwaite. How did that work out? Switching chairs on the deck of the titanic is not the solution. We need an innovative citizen-centric plan to attempt to effectively combat rising crime. The blogmaster is not an expert just a voice born out of experience in the role. The BPS over the years have not earned sufficient trust with the public. Since August 2024 there was a slapping incident on Kadooment Day which Commissioner Richard Boyce promised to investigate and update a wary public. We have had leaks of police statements, there is the taped cellphone under the table in a witness room at a police station to identify a few examples. There was a time citizens in the neighbourhood knew the beat officer by name. The BPS has become detached from the public it is suppose to serve and protect.

It is a new year, let us take a fresh look at different strategies for enforcement and PREVENTION. There should be no excuse we lack the capacity to increase the intake of female recruits. Time is running out as we race to catch Jamaica, Trinidad and others in the region where crime has been identified and a public health issue by Heads of Governments (HOGs).

75 responses to “How crime and violence is reshaping Barbados society”

1. @Bush Tea January 15, 2025 at 7:57 am “…or did you mean women who sleep around with multiple partners”

Now I know for sure that you missed all of the biology classes.

Women cannot sex with multiple men unless there are men willing to sex with them.

Has any woman in the history of Barbados ever been convicted of raping a man? If a man does not want to have sex with a woman who sexes with others he has the option to “just say NO”

If he refuses to just say NO and a child is born, the responsibility to love that child, to financially, socially, psychology, and spiritually that child is his and the mother’s.

2. @ Kiki & SS
    To repeat, Bushie will NOT argue with certain classes of BBs.
    However, since the particular IDIOCY is also being pushed by our MoE, the bushman wants to point out that a CRITICAL part of human development is the pursuit of Godliness (perfection).
    This is represented by a mindset of continuous improvement in cleanliness, healthy living, social interactions, and spiritual development.

Even some animals take pride in grooming themselves, washing themselves and presenting their best state to others while others, like pigs for example, don’t.

So this argument about the right to be unkempt and to look disshovelled – AS A FORMAL POSITION IN OUR EDDYKASHUN SYSTEM – demonstrates a complete lack of understanding of the PRINCIPLES that an education system is INTENDED to instill.
    Only women or shiite men would come up with such an idiotic policy position.

So then, when we get what we set up our eddykashun system to produce, … the same JAs that planted the seeds, run around blaming ‘men’ (who they essentially chased away from the coed fiasco, to the ZR and Block cultures) for ‘not being there to play their true roles’.
    SMH!!!
    The Devil is actually quite smart….
    BBs are actually quite gullible….
    Without the only balancing WISE intervention, thing just go from bad to worse…

3. Back in the day, even though my father never worked at Porter’s we had a little ditty

I gine down Porter’s road to car my fadda food
    I hear the outman out
    But I still gine ‘long

So I will go about my business. The bad JONH’s [not Jane’s] can kill me but thy can’t keep me in the house.

4. Schools should judge pupils on their merits and achievements

Hairstyle is a form of self expression and individuality

Explore how your natural hair journey connects with spiritual growth, using your hair as a powerful metaphor for self-discovery and personal transformation.

But there shall not an hair of your head perish.

Then he continued, “Nation will rise up against nation, and kingdom against kingdom; there will be great earthquakes and famines and plagues in this place or that. There will be dreadful sights, and great signs from heaven. But before all this happens, men will arrest you and persecute you, handing you over to synagogue or prison, or bringing you before kings and governors, for my name’s sake. This will be your chance to witness for me. So make up your minds not to think out your defence beforehand. I will give you such eloquence and wisdom that none of your opponents will be able to resist or contradict it. But you will be betrayed, even by parents and brothers and kinsfolk and friends. and there will be some of you who will be killed and you will be hated everywhere for my name’s sake. Yet, not a hair of your head will perish. Hold on, and you will win your souls!

5. A good number of women in their efforts to look “kempt” Bush Tea style put regular doses of harsh chemical in their hair and by middle age are bald and have to wear wigs. [I am not talking about cancer survivors here]

In my 70’s with a head full of lovely natural hair,even if it does not please His Highness Lord Bush Tea.

6. Cuhdear Bajan
    January 15, 2025 at 8:45 am

A good number of women in their efforts to look “kempt” Bush Tea style put regular doses of harsh chemical in their hair and by middle age are bald and have to wear wigs. [I am not talking about cancer survivors here]

In my 70’s with a head full of lovely natural hair,even if it does not please His Highness Lord Bush Tea.

Do you have as much hair on your head as PLT has?

7. @John “Do you have as much hair on your head as PLT has?”

More.

8. Perhaps, I should step in here before PLT becomes a fashion icon.
    This type of exchange between male and female ALWAYS end up with a carpet and drapes question,
    No need to reply, I already indicated… I don’t want to know.

9. A good number of women in their efforts to look “kempt” Bush Tea style put regular doses of harsh chemical in their hair and by middle age are bald and have to wear wigs.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    What an illogical, petty argument…!
    What does being neat and clean have to do with ‘doses of harsh chemicals’? you mean soap, water, and a damn comb and brush?
    in fact, harsh chemicals are often required when BASIC cleanliness is neglected – in order to kill off the resulting lice, fleas and other parasites.
    …and if someone does not keep their outer appearances clean and tidy, …what is the likelihood that their inner attributes are otherwise?
    ..their teeth and mouth? …underarms? …private forests etc?

If Bushie sees that your yard is like a junkyard and your lawn unkempt, then the bushman will NOT venture into your kitchen … and DEFINITELY not into your bathroom.
    ….so you keep the conkies… 🙂

WTH!!
    ‘If a man does not want to have sex with a woman who sexes with others he has the option to “just say NO”….’
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    RU4Real @ 8:11 SS?
    Is this what you told your daughters?!!
    Which of these men who failed to say ‘No’ will then become pregnant?
    Steupsss…
    The old folks who had COMMON SENSE, told their daughters to ALWAYS say ‘NO’ – until you are SURE that this is a keeper – and bring his donkey home first, …so that WE will help you to confirm him too…

Never mind Kiki (who REALLY want banning…) but you are an execellent example of why the Bible (NOT stinking Bushie) bans women from speaking without guidance from their husbands… LOL

…and NOT AT ALL ..in the absence of such resources
    Murduh!!!

10. I’ve noted that Mia no longer quotes “this is not whom we are” in relation to crime and violence in little England.

Perhaps she concluded that, statistically, Barbados when compared with a broad basket of nations has an extremely high homicide rate.

The Barbados slave model was both violent and sadistic. The residue of this remains active in the dna of our people.

The disappearance of Mark Stokes, a young man whom was embedded within various local social and political circles, the brutal burning to death of six young girls whilst in a hairdressers, the death of a British car salesman who traded on the island, the nervous disposition of Barbadians to speak freely for fear of being targeted should speak volumes.

Who can forget that a firearm was brazenly brandished in our parliament several years ago. What about our model minority groups who appear to be associated with the drug’s trade. The law intervened to protect their status as free men.

No wander Angela Cole fled Barbados because she feared for her life.

The only question we should ask is when will the gunmen start to collaborate with each other and target those entities with the real wealth.

Spare a thought for Mia she knows that she has no control of this situation. This is the result of poor governance over many decades.

@ Bush Tea,
    When our boys are protecting Haitians who will be available to protect domestic Bajans. Who knows how events will develop in Barbados. Trump may send some of his troops over to the island if asked by Mia.

11. All this BU Bible Babble did was enlighten me to reject it all as a bunch of nonsense

12. @Bush Tea January 15, 2025 at 9:50 am “Which of these men who failed to say ‘No’ will then become pregnant?”

The correct questions are:
    Which one of these men will have to bury his son before the son is 30?
    Which one of these men will have to live with the guilt and grief of knowing that he has massively failed his son?
    Which one of these men will spend the rest of his life visiting his son in prison?
    Which one of these men will be so filled with shame and he cannot even let his best buddies know “yes” that criminal is my son.
    Which man will have to carry these secrets to the grave?

13. @Bush Tea “you are an execellent example of why the Bible (NOT stinking Bushie) bans women from speaking without guidance from their husbands… LOL…and NOT AT ALL ..in the absence of such resources.”

Now which men should guide me?
    The 1,000 men in prison?
    The 600 men in the mental?
    The dozen or so in the House that you are always cussing for their alleged nefariousness?
    The “homeless” ones knocking ’bout Bridgetown and Everytown everywhere in the world?

If these lost sheep cannot guide themselves, how will they guide anybody else?

Tell me nuh!

14. @TLSN January 15, 2025 at 11:03 am The Barbados slave model was both violent and sadistic”

You really need to keep up.

It was NEVER a Barbados slave model.

I was a model written by YOUR BRITISH PEOPLE for the oppression of the African people forced here by YOUR BRITISH PEOPLE.

15. new dope.

16. come long home.

17. Families exposing children to drugs

Survey reveals results of those as young as seven affected

by ASHADA JOSEPH

THERE ARE CONCERNS about family members exposing young children to harmful substances.

This followed the publication of results from a National Primary School survey by the National Council on Substance Abuse (NSCA) in 2023.

The survey revealed details that students as young as seven years old were exposed to harmful substances given to them by family members. Deputy manager of the National Council on Substance Abuse, Troy Wickham, said these included parents, siblings, aunts and uncles and even friends.

These concerns resurfaced during the NCSA’s Open Day yesterday when Wickham explained that some family members gave children alcohol or some form of marijuana.

He said the “intake of those substances could lead to problematic drug use in the future” in addition to lifelong challenges for the individual.

Both young girls and boys admitted to using the substances, he noted.

Wickham, therefore, pleaded with parents to be mindful of their actions when in the presence of the children.

He explained that some males under the age of 40 had drug-related issues and went through the criminal justice system, while those between the age of 14 to 25 were negatively impacted by substance use and abuse.

Wickham said females also had substance abuse issues, but many of them have not presented themselves for treatment as they were unsure of where to leave their children.

“They say ‘look, we don’t present ourselves with treatment because of our children. We’re not sure who we can leave our children’. The Substance abuse ‘a threat to public health’

stigma associated with drug use and drug rehabilitation for women, stop them from actually presenting themselves for treatment,” he said.

Wickham also spoke of the amendment to the Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act last year, which stated that any individual who was found with 14 grammes or less of cannabis would be ticketed rather than arrested.

He said the Council had not seen a drastic increase in people being ticketed, but there were reports that some people were still smoking marijuana openly at parties, in their vehicles and during different activities, giving the wrong impression that it was legalised.

Wickham reminded people that marijuana remained illegal but was decriminalised to some extent.

He advised adults when in the presence of their children to avoid using marijuana as young people had a tendency to mimic elders.

“If I am your child and I see you smoking marijuana, whether it be regularly or irregularly and you go to work and move around in the neighbourhood like normal I will believe that I can do this and nothing will happen to me. That is wrong.”

Wickham described substance abuse as a “threat to public health” adding that some substances were used as depressants, some as stimulants and at times a bit of both which resulted in changes in the brain, behaviour and reaction time while under the influence.

He said the NCSA did not receive any complaints of employees smoking on the job or within the vicinity of their workplaces. However, he said the Council had a workplace programme on drug education and tailored to each individual organisation.

He said it was important for every workplace to have a drug policy that would not punish individuals impacted by substance abuse but allow them to be reintegrated seamlessly.

Wickham advised that the public should not to be judgemental towards people impacted negatively by substance abuse.

“They have made a mistake or a person influenced them to do something that was not right that has caused them to change the direction of their life. It’s not a fight alone for the NCSA, but it’s a fight for everyone,” he said.

18. No one hurt in City shooting

A POLICE OFFICER was involved in a shooting yesterday morning at Suttle Street, The City, but no one was injured.

Reports indicate that the officer, while attempting to arrest a man, fired a shot in the densely populated area which has a businesses and residences.

Up to press time, there was no statement from the Police Public Relations Office on the matter.

19. @ “Families exposing children to drugs”

Idiotic parents and other elders. They should all know better.

20. Page 4 of the Sunday has reported that police are investigating the death of a Columbia contract construction worker who is alleged to have been stabbed by his nephew on January 14. The uncle died 2 days later.

21. Front page of today’s Nation
    “[USA] guns linked to [80% of] crime in Barbados”

In other news

The sky is blue.
    Rain is wet.
    Snow is cold
    Grass is green

If as Trump says he will take tight control of people coming into the USA then he also needs to take tight control of guns coming into the Caribbean.

And for this we offer profound thanks.

22. If the USA had proper border controls we may have had only 10 instead of 50 dead by the gun.

We may not have had hundreds of children orphaned, because their daddies are either in the grave or in prison.

23. Perhaps the guns and shootings in the Caribbean (black neighbourhoods) are of part of America’s Americas plan

24. Wuhlaus! I see the misogynistic bushman took advantage of my virtual absence! Had a grand time, he did.

Unfortunately, just like the Terminator, I am back!

So…..

The most illogical mess coming from the mouth of a leader right now comes from the testosterone-fuelled brain of DONALD JOHN TRUMP, ñwhose mother had little to do with shaping him. That mess is down to his very domineering father.

Yet, it is women who should be silent, because we don’t have two swibbly balls and a stick between our legs.

The most illogical mess coming from the brain of a BU commenter right now comes from JOHN KNOX, a rabid supporter of Donald JOHN TRUMP.

Yet, it is women who should be silent, because we don’t have two swibbly balls and a stick between our legs.

Perhaps the one who believes that two swibbly balls and a stick determine the capacity of the brain to think logically should be the one to be silent. Because he did not see the Bible make its way down from heaven, a collection of ancient writings by men that contradict each other no end, and yet he believes every word as the Word of a God who never changes.

Furthermore, even as a believer, if he had studied the context in which said statements concerning women’s mouths were made, he would have understood the reason why they applied to that specific situation.

But, “Blessed is he who believes without seeing”, I guess.

Bible bullshitery aside, men have ruled the world for as long as history has been recorded, and still do. The United States of America has never had a female president. The Senate and the House of Representatives has always been and still is dominated by men. And it is the same for most countries in the world. The balance of power has always been and remains with men.

And here we are on the brink of total destruction, according to this self-styled “prophet” who knows “only what has been revealed”.

Make it make sense! If you have even half a brain, you can’t.

Fuck balls and sticks! That’s all they were made for. That’s all they are good for.

PERIOD.