Constitutional Reform Commission (CRC)
Constitutional Reform Commissions delivering the final report to a small audience at the Frank Collymore Hall

It was a long-anticipated wait and the thought that Barbados’ move to a Republican status would have been the foremost on the Commissioners’ mind, with them delivering meaningful changes to governance that align with a republic.  With expectancy ripe, Barbadians anticipated changes to the conduct of business in the highest offices in the land.  In reality, after more than 15 months of consulting the Commissioners appear to have updated the Westminster Parliamentary System in their constitutional reform report as well as created a new institution named the Constitutional Offices Commission providing jobs for those who will sit at its helm.  

One wondered if the Terms of Reference was vague. However, on review of the Letter of Transmittal it stated that the Commission had fulfilled its mandate.  The first item of the Terms of Reference is shown below:

• Examine, consider and inquire into the Constitution of Barbados and all related laws and matters with a view to the development and enactment of a new Constitution of Barbados.

In essence, the scope of the commission was quite broad.  However, when Ronnie Yearwood criticized the Report in an article in Barbados Today on November 23, 2024, stating that there was no meaningful change, Chairman of the Constitutional Reform Commission (CRC) dismissed the “criticisms stating that the report reflects public submission and aligns with Barbados’ Parliamentary System.”  Clearly Mr. Blackman misunderstood the assignment because the Terms of Reference infers a move away from the old Westminster Parliamentary system which is a vestibule of colonialism that the Republican system is replacing.  In addition, why else would the review have been commissioned at this time if not for a Republican Constitution? 

It has left one to think that the island is a Republic in name only, and that the change to a republic was birthed through political expediency and not for meaningful change in the lives of the people of Barbados. 

In summation, since the CRC failed the most important part of the assignment which was on Governance and Institutions, the recommendations for all other sections of the report pales into insignificance.  

Some Thoughts for a Republican Constitution 

Most persons alive today have lived in the era of conceptualizing or birthing or, lived under the impact of the Westminster Constitution of Barbados. Almost six decades later, they have known and experienced the short comings and challenges of a document that was created without the input of the people or tailored to suit the former slave colony.  The present constitution has been a breeding ground for political corruption and dependence of the masses on politicians and political parties, in addition it has represented the perpetration of systematic inequalities.

The new constitution of Barbados must be fit for purpose, tailor made, unique, addressing the political, economic and social governance needs of all Barbadians. 

1.The Constitution

For the Barbadian context, there should be 4 arms of the Constitution.  These are:

1. The People

2. The Executive/ Legislative

3. The judiciary

4. Local Government

2.The Sovereignty of the People

The draft preamble does not state who controls power in the Republic. In its opening it should state clearly that power is vested in the people and they delegate this power by a democratic process and can change this delegation by the power of recall. The draft preamble uses philanthropic action words and has no political, economic or constitutional actions for the people to undertake and without this, a heading of “we the sovereign people of Barbados” is meaningless. For example, we the sovereign people of Barbados must have the right to peaceful protest.

3. The Establishment of Local Government

For the Barbadian context, Local Government should not be an act of Parliament but the 4th arm of the Constitution.  This would provide the people with direct representation and access to Parliament.  Within the Commission’s Report, there is no structure by which the people can express their sovereignty. This will be a way for the people to have their voices heard in Parliament and not only the grandiose babbling of politicians.  It would create a way for propositions for new laws to reach Parliament.  The law would finally be able to embrace the needs and wants of what really matter to the people.  It is a means of quantifiable public participation in the political process.  In essence, local government can work side by side with state elected government.

4. Decolonizing Political Structures

Term Limits -Term limits must be a requirement for Prime Ministers.  They will know that their time is finite in that position and will not seek to hold on to power.

Checks and Balances – There must be checks and balances on the Executive.  The people must control how power is acquired and how public funds are spent.

Elections – There must be a fixed election date. The Diaspora must have the right to vote where they reside, whether they choose to exercise it or not.

Proportional representation – There must be proportional representation in Parliament by political parties based on the number of votes they obtain at election time. This should also be a feature of the Senate.  Hereby every party that gets a percentage of the votes are both represented in both houses.

Elections of judges – The people must be given to opportunity to decide who dispenses justice over them and their children.

Election Manifestos

The Constitution must set out specific action to be taken if Election promises are not kept. Even if this means a vote of no confidence and or the power of recall or impeachment.  This action should be taken through local government.

Decolonizing Economic Structures

Debt

Caribbean Democracies are insolvent. One of the biggest failures of the present Administration centers around Debt or indebtedness.  The specific purpose for which the country can seek to obtain foreign debt should be contained in the Constitution, inevitably, foreign debt should only be for development purposes. It must be illegal to rack up debt without any means of repayment, and from which the country may never recover.

Revenue and Development

Revenue and spending change with each administration and so do development plans.  The Constitution must guide on what the portion of the taxpayers’ money should be spent on development of the island.   

Removal of the Auditor General’s Office from Under Government. It is an exercise in futility to ask the government to investigate itself.  Placing the Auditor General’s Office in an autonomous position in the 5th arm of the Constitution will place it in a better position not only to investigate financial crime but also to bring charges.

Other

1. Land Court.  It is also time for a Land court to be set up.  The problem of land disputes goes back several generations and no one wants to touch them.  Perhaps they should be forced to.
  2. Ownership of the Beaches.  The time has also come whereby the sovereignty of the people be extend to all beaches in Barbados and this be placed in the Constitution, that all beaches are public property owned by the people of Barbados.
  3. The Right to Peaceful Protest. This is self-explanatory and without approval of the police.

In summation the report of the CRC was an epic failure.  With one of the most frequently words in the draft constitution being “retained” the recommendations are for the preservation of the current Westminster Constitution.  One cannot claim to be moving forward by changing the name to a republic and yet cling to an outdated colonial structure.  A real Republican Constitution is required not sleight of hand.  The people have always been governed and never part of the process of governance. At this point in time political and economic change must include the people in the Constitution. 

162 responses to “The EPIC FAILURE of the CRC”

1. In 2013 BLP was the Opposition
    In 2018 and 2022 DLP became the Opposition with 0 Seats in Parliament

2. @ PLT
    Are you not simply putting lipstick on the pig?

This constitution diversion was never any genuine attempt to reform the existing political landscape, indeed, many suspect that it has been a much more of a Trumpish scam to consolidate the existing dictatorial status quo.

The CRC’s seeming afterthought announcement – AFTER declaring a ‘Republic’ of dubious status; as well as the farcical review process – somewhat like the Parish Speaks PR stunts – suggests that this is just a ‘pappy show’.

Any kind of SERIOUS Republican Constitution Review Process HAVE TO formally include ALL of the official sectors of the society (formal & informal) who accept the invitation to do so, – through their selected formal representatives.
    for example-
    The Political parties
    The various professional bodies
    The various religious organizations
    The many various NGO organizations
    Organized communities
    Formal organized Education / Health / Welfare groups
    etc

Additionally, the ground rules MUST be clearly laid out and agreed UP FRONT, as to how consensus will be decided on all contentious matters that arise.

The ONLY role of the so-called CRC then, should be to facilitate and document the whole process, and to formally share the consensus points decided with the wider public, as discussions proceed.

But this only makes sense IF it was a serious attempt at reform (as you seem inclined to believe).
    If it was just another PR exercise, intended to confuse the hapless brass bowls and to facilitate the desires of the political class, then it seems to have gone quite well – until the (therefore) ill-advised session at Central Bank…..

No surprise if a few choice cuss words are directed at those responsible… LOL

3. @John
    January 12, 2025 at 9:11 pm

I have not mentioned the word “opposition” because we have not had a functional official opposition since 2018… and you are correct in arguing that a viable democracy requires a functional official opposition.

The question before us as citizens is how to write a Constitution so that this dysfunction does not happen to us again ever in the future.

The solution is simple: consign the first past the post electoral system to the dustbin of history and adopt truly democratic proportional representation.

4. Peter Lawrence Thompson Avatar
    Peter Lawrence Thompson

@Bush Tea
    January 12, 2025 at 9:41 pm

I don’t give a tinker’s damn about the idiotic Constitutional Reform Commission, that’s why I went out of my way to expose their sham last Sunday at the Central Bank… however I care very deeply about helping my fellow citizens to craft a good constitution.

So I am not trying to rewrite their nonsense. I am aiming at two interrelated objectives:
    1. Keep the issue of crafting a Constitution front and centre in the minds of fellow citizens, and
    2. Convince my fellow citizens that they have the courage and capacity to write a decent Constitution… it’s not magic, it’s just a process of deciding what problems we wish the constitution to address and then devising practical solutions to those problems.

5. @ PLT
    Understood completely.
    However, the powers that currently be, have ALREADY hijacked your mission (of convincing your fellow citizens about a ‘new’ constitution) and gone ahead with the PR scam to do so.
    Fortunately for you, the usual suspects are not known for efficiency, quality or productivity, so it has been quite easy to expose the sham – THANKS TO THE SUNDAY charade.
    Otherwise, the PR stunt would have succeeded seamlessly.

Your inputs would have been much more valid up front – where it could have shaped the process to produce meaningful outputs. However Bushie can ASSURE you that you woud have just been ‘included and sidelined’ as the Emperor’s wishes are executed.

We do agree that, IF we were a serious country, our fellow citizens would deserve a good constitution.

But if you have sold off all your national assets to foreigners, and leveraged the remaining scraps to sundry loan sharks …What the Hell use is a constitution?
    There is NO POINT in writing lofty principles in Law – when the IMF has the power to tell us when to jump …and how high… Or when your medical insurance benefits are decided in Port of Spain.

Constitutions are intended for free, INDEPENDENT people.
    Which serfs do you know with a meaningful constitution?

6. Peter Lawrence Thompson Avatar
    Peter Lawrence Thompson

@Bush Tea
    Of course I gave them my inputs up front… but they ignored them completely as they did with just about ALL the citizen input. The notable exception was the input submitted by the BLP.

7. @Bush Tea

Agree with you 100%.

Citizens were and are not engaged by the process. Barbadians are never engaged by governance matters. In this case it is perceived as an intellectual exercise.

We have to educate first the importance of a relevant constitution. We are not there yet.

8. No issue can be dismissed as off the table. If we are at a juncture where harnessing the energy and knowledge capital of Barbadians in the diaspora can be beneficial to a new Barbados so be it.

9. Awaiting the predictable recommendations from the Parliamentary Reform Committee.

10. LOL @ PLT
    “Of course I gave them my inputs up front… but they ignored them completely as they did with just about ALL the citizen input.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    Standard operational procedure for Brassbados.
    You are also probably labeled as persona non grata – so no cocktail invites for you.

Tell Bushie about it…!
    What will hurt you however, is when the VERY Brass bowls that you are trying to empower, become EVEN MORE dismissive of your efforts than are the demons that you are seeking to exorcise…
    BUT um is good fun …and WELL worth the effort.

Dont raise yuh blood pressure or lose any sleep…
    As Bushie said, people who are happy to be OWNED, have no REAL need for a constitution.
    We are just looking for a revised Slave Code – with some gurantees for ‘liming on the block’, reliable welfare, free eddykashun and medical services, and as many free fetes as can be accommodated.

Oh!!
    …and keep the foreign banks open til 3.30 pm so that we have an excuse to leave work early to change we cheques…

What a place
    What a people

11. One thing that paints a picture is a prime minister promising to resolve an issue re Savvy and feeling no pressure to address it months later. Can we add HOPE issue as well. Blaming lack of resources is lame. What about a large Cabinet done for political expediency only. Too many examples. It is why many are disengaged and have not taken the CRC exercise seriously. We cannot discuss a new constitution in a vacuum.

12. Peter Thompson
    January 12, 2025 at 9:42 pm

The solution is simple: consign the first past the post electoral system to the dustbin of history and adopt truly democratic proportional representation.

In the absence of an opposition and LOO, no constitutional parliament exists to make this change regardless of how simple you may say it is.

Reality rules!!

The only way to get there if we do want to go there, is to go back to the polls until an opposition can claim to have a minimum of 3 seats.

Otherwise, constitutional change is impossible if it is to be done constitutionally!!

….. and that’s why the CRC is an absolute total waste of time and money.

All the exercise has succeeded in doing is to expose the violation of the principle of Separation of powers of the Executive Branch (fake) and the Judiciary.

Cicely Chase was made an acting judge of the high court in 2018 and validated the senate in 2022 when Adriel Braithwaithe brought a constitutional motion against the OFFICE of the AG.

He lost, predictably,

A win would have exposed the unconstitutionality of the appointment of Ciceley Chase as a judge.

He has sworn to take his appeal to the CCJ but he has a problem.

All of the Justices of the Court of Appeal have been unconstitutionally appointed after 2018 and are conflicted.

Everything they do is potentially voidable.

Adriel Braithwaithe would be better off going directly to the CCJ and beg for special leave to appeal his matter as the Court of Appeal is conflicted.

Wonder how far he has reached in his appeal or if he has abandoned it.

If he has abandoned it then it would be abundantly clear that the B’s and D’s are the same as if RAT’s proclamation of himself as Leader of the Opposition and the DLP’s acceptance of him back into the fold were not enough.

Barbados is screwed.

13. “In the absence of an opposition and LOO, no constitutional parliament exists”

Give it up already son and stop being a distraction and diversion (troll/catfish/ spambot).

Parliament is a puppet show for Government and the Opposition is a supporting act for the sub-plot to keep the customers satisfied.

The opposition is outside Parliament on places like Brass Tacks and Barbados Underground.

A constitution is about rights
    Laws are about wrongs.

The Republic was formed after the Revolution and Uprising of Black Spirits after the dying George Floyd called for his Mother, which some like you could not comprehend due to the evil bias blindness inside you.

Guns should not be allowed for the genocide of indigenous people of Zuania (of Caribbean origin) and Abya-Yala (used by the Kuna people of Panama) in the United Colonies of of Europeans.

The Constitution of Black Barbados should reflect the intent and purpose to unite with Black Caribbean and Black African Nations.

American Primeval
    It follows the gritty and adventurous exploration of the birth of the American West, the violent collisions of cults, religion, and men and women fighting for control of the new world.

14. Peter Lawrence Thompson Avatar
    Peter Lawrence Thompson

John
    January 13, 2025 at 12:51 am
    “… constitutional change is impossible if it is to be done constitutionally…”
    Oh John, you are so naïve sometimes. All constitutionality in Barbados has as its foundation a rum shop deal called the treaty of Oistins of 1652. That’s where a bunch of White people got together and decided to stop fighting with each other so they could get down to the serious business of making money. The cornerstone of the historical Constitutional order is the 1661 slave code. Do you really think that I give a fuck about the niceties of this constitutional edifice given that it’s so constructed?

This historical paper trail is a convenient fiction to mask the real exercise of power. Period.

If, as Barbadians, we are going to live up to the principles of democracy then power is in our hands. The only authority that can construct a constitution is the will of the people. The quibbles about which judge said what to who and when is of no consequence whatsoever. Given your personal experience with justice in Barbados and the pronouncements of judges, I am shocked that you can fail to see behind the veil.

if you’re only strategy towards getting a good constitution in Barbados is to point out the obvious infelicities of the current Constitutional order then you are wasting your time. if, on the other hand, the people of Barbados organize themselves and demand that the constitution be fashioned in their interest they will actually prevail.

I grant you that there is but a minuscule chance that Barbadians will actually self organize, But the steaks are so high that it would be a grievous mistake not to try.

So rather than continuing to point out the obvious Inconsistencies of the past, I wish you would try instead to help try to point a way to the future.

15. Peter Lawrence Thompson Avatar
    Peter Lawrence Thompson

Of course the current constitutional regime has but a tiny fig leaf of legitimacy… it has been built upon the shifting sands of historical genocide.

Errol Barrow, God bless him, managed to crawl out from under the skirts of the genocidal regime, and Mia Motley, God bless her, has gained the temerity to spit politely in that regime‘s direction.

Now it is up to us, as the bushman so often gently reminds us, to actually get on with the job of fashioning our independence.

16. We really don’t need a constitution.

Look at Haiti.

It never had a constitution since its founding in 1804 until 1987, just shy of two centuries.

The purpose of a constitution is not for the people, it is a declaration to the world that yes, property rights and the rule of law are respected and defined as stated.

Haiti has no opposition, it is a dictatorship.

It all all comes down to the President and Prime Minister.

It says as an afterthought that “sovereignty vested in all citizens, who delegate that power to the three branches of government” …. a completely meaningless statement.

Here is an AI generated description of Haiti and its constitution.

The Constitution of Haiti is the supreme law of the country and was adopted on March 10, 1987, and came into effect on March 29, 1987. It was modified by the Constitutional Law of June 9, 2012, and is still in force.
    The Constitution of Haiti defines the country as a democratic, social republic with:
    A dual executive branch, with a President and a Prime Minister
    A bicameral legislature, the National Assembly
    A judicial branch, with the Supreme Court, Courts of Appeal, Courts of First Instance, Justice of the Peace Courts, and special courts
    Sovereignty vested in all citizens, who delegate that power to the three branches of government
    The Constitution also includes provisions for:
    Protecting intellectual property rights
    Guaranteeing the right to express opinions freely
    Protecting the right of petition
    Making government officials and employees directly liable for violating rights
    The Constitution of Haiti was modeled after the constitutions of the United States, Poland, and France.

17. Peter Lawrence Thompson Avatar
    Peter Lawrence Thompson

I guess it should come as no surprise to me that your conception of the purpose of a constitution is to ensure the supremacy of property.

18. Inconsistencies, infelicities?

It is ridiculous to claim that the constitution is “the supreme law of the land” and then turn around and breach it and call the breaches inconsistencies and infelicities.

You must know better than that.

It is either the supreme law of the land or it isn’t.

Why would we want to waste time, money and energy on another meaningless document?

19. Johnny

How many times must you be told that the absence of a written constitution does not mean there is not a body of common laws, precedents, traditions etc which so constitute.

Your much beloved England is the prime example.

And would you not prefer their laws in Barbados as a direct and declared sysyem of laws?

We’re sure you would!

20. Here is what the B’s and D’s sound like as they sing from their imaginary constitution!!

https://imgur.com/xActx59

21. THE EPIC FAILURE of the CONSTITUTIONAL REFORM COMMISSION (CRC)

“There are no mistakes in life,
    only lessons. There is no such thing as a negative experience, only
    opportunities to grow, learn and advance along the road of selfmastery.
    From struggle comes strength. Even pain can be a wonderful teacher”
    ― Robin Sharma

The problem is Barbadians don’t know and cannot agree on what they want
    but they do know what they don’t want and they know how to get it

Law of rhythm
    How do we use the law of rhythm to improve the quality of our spiritual practice,
    to improve the quality of learning new skills and creating change in our lives

Okay let’s get started we covered the law of resonance which is two tuning forks at the same frequency vibrate together. The law of rhythm is gently changing the state of vibration and moving it up slightly so that you can stress adapt. Now with stress adaptation, if you take a small amount of stress and lift it up a little bit more and equalise with that you adapt that new level of stress and your body gets stronger.
    If you do it a little bit more each week you get this rhythmic movement and your baseline of stress increases slowly, where if you try to lift too much weight suddenly, your system is going to collapse and you go backwards.
    So this law of rhythm basically says you go through stress adaptation step by step slowly, equalise and you get a new centre of gravity, a new platform, a new centre of strength, a new centre of mental fortitude, by recognising that moving the resonance slightly up and paying attention to it or making a change in your character gently or making a change in your physical strength gently is moving the line allows you to shift who you are physically, emotionally, mentally with stable constant change. There are people who try to make dramatic change suddenly and the law of rhythm pulls back, so the amount of movement one way creates an equal and opposite force the other way which pulls them into a lower place and worst place where they started. By gently incresing stresses paying attention to a higher state equalising it we can utilise the law of infinite change.

Journey To The Zeroth Dimension Constitutionally
    All Barbadians will need to sing from the same hymn sheets
    Like in the 2018 and 2022 elections when they unanimously dumped the DLP Government like a sack of rotten potatoes that started smelling foul and stale

You didn’t fail
    You tried
    You learned
    You grew
    Now do it again

Cuss Cuss Rmx

22. Whatever was PLT thinking? All you can get from an infected mind is pus!

23. 555dubstreet
    January 13, 2025 at 8:31 am

The problem is Barbadians don’t know and cannot agree on what they want
    but they do know what they don’t want and they know how to get it.

Nobody knows what they want!!

… except the politicians and the in crowd.

They want what isn’t theirs but belong to the people who do not know what they want.

This exercise is what is going on, Republic, Constitutional Reform … that is a side show.

Most Bajans do not need a constitution, they know what is right from wrong.

24. The goal of the new system or constitution should be to eliminate the fraud and deception that was written the code of the old system. Barbados does need masters in it’s plantation bucking the system but needs to grow good seeds not weeds.

With a small pop of 282K, Townhalls or African Tribal Village meetings would allow the people to vent frustation like they do every day on the Bu, moaning about their jacket fits too tightly with lead inside their boots.

“The man who planted the good seed in the field is the Son of Man. The field is the world. The good seed are the people in God’s kingdom. The weeds are the people who belong to the Evil One.

25. (*) typo err
    Barbados does NOT* need masters in it’s plantation

26. David,

I do see it as an intellectual exercise, in that one must have intellect in order to craft it. Even a critique, or a few suggestions require a measure of intellect. Also, what purpose is there in spraining my poor little brain to produce something that will be tossed aside as was the submission from PLT?

I don’t think that any constitution made will bring power to the people anyhow, not until a significant number of people demand it.

The people haven’t kicked up real dust since 1937. They did not have telephones or social media then, and so they had to physically kick up dust.

We aren’t there yet.

27. @Donna

Your point is taken, reference to it being an intellectual exercise was about those in the current environment who participate or understand the mandate. The vast majority of Barbadians are not motivated to participate and this is the point. The scholarship requirement to achieve success is obviously a prerequisite.

We need to inspire Barbadians from all strata to see the value in it. This must be the parallel focus instead of rushing headlong with recommendations that do not resonate with people and are mired in the political anyway. Business as usual.

28. “One thing that paints a picture is a prime minister promising …”
    To put words in the mouth of one of BU’s pundits
    “A promise is comfort for a Brassbowl”

29. Just to be clear.
    If we are defining ‘failure’ as the inability to achieve a desired outcome, then the ONLY FAILURE of the CRC was in that town hall session at Central Bank, where they allowed people like PLT and the frustrated lady who cussed their tails, the public opportunity to expose their scam.
    Prior to this, even though EVERYONE with any degree of common sense could see that it was a sham, -designed ONLY to allow the powers that be, to CLAIM that they invited wide participation while doing the dog…
    ..and to point to a ‘broad based’ CRC making the decisions…
    .. and to having a long drawn out period for the ‘exercise’,
    We were ALL resigned to accept the usual vasaline-free treatment – much like we see at the ridiculous Parish Speaks sessions – where the PM presides like a mother hen – castigating the VERY OFFICIALS that SHE allows to do shiite; withholds funding from; micro-manages their work; … and THEN publicly hold them up to ridicule for the piss poor results that persists.

Note Dr G Phillips 1’s recent letter to the press.
    Here is a longstanding, highly respected public FINANCE professional, making sound strategic proposals to address – perhaps the most glaring weakness in our system, AS HIGHLIGHTED EVERY YEAR BY THE AUDITOR GENERAL.
    The fact that it was dismissed out of hand like a joke, is NOT Bushie’s main point….

BUT the fact that a person of GP1’s status and professional standing could ACCEPT such dismissive treatment …and turn around and chasten the lady who stood up to the CRC …is what tells us where we are in Brassbados.

No wonder then, that those members of the CRC (and there are many) who saw through the lotta shiite, have been tongue-tied.
    Wuh if Dr. GP1 frighten, who is little John Doe to speak out…?
    How would you get to be the most honorable John Doe???!!

We can only thank God for the few OUTLIERS such as PLT, Caswell and the people like Ms. ‘Cuss-their-tails’.

Caswell like he give up the fight – poor fella…
    That ‘David vs Goliath’ shiite does drain yuh … especially if your sling was banned by government .
    Either THAT, or his whacker get tek way …like stinking Bushie’s…

‘Bout here sweet as shiite yuh hear?!!!

30. To be fair to the process a written Constitution serves as a bulwark to our so-called democracy practiced. In a Barbados context what has truly failed us has been a failing institutional system. We can implement the ‘best’ constitution for our new republic, if our institutions are less than fit for purpose (source: PM Mottley’s version) what will be the result? Let us get the people more involved which is necessary to hold public officials accountable in our system of governance.

31. A confession…
    I am not up to the chase.
    I seem to have lost my enthusiasm for running down rabbit holes or following false data. I cannot pretend that sickness is healthy or that madness is sanity. Perhaps, it is I.
    I can only sit on the sideline and ring a bell.

32. “I do see it as an intellectual exercise, in that one must have intellect in order to craft it. Even a critique, or a few suggestions require a measure of intellect.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    No it does NOT!

This is what they want us to think, so as to intimidate bushmen and other ordinary folks from speaking up.
    The MOST INTELLIGENT PEOPLE in Barbados in the last Century were people who barely finished school – in many cases, PRIMARY school.
    Look at what they ACTUALLY ACHIEVED.

The MOST IMPRESSIVE MAN that Bushie EVER met even now, left school at age 14.

Wisdom does NOT come from Cave Hill …or from ANY shiite university.
    It comes ONLY from God.
    Unfortunately the more ‘eddykashun’ we get, more inclined we are to reject TRUE wisdom and endorse brassbowlery.

In ANY case, included within the ACTUAL ROLE of the CRC, should have been to interpret and translate the legitimate concerns of ALL sectors of the community into the convoluted legal language that they have adopted.
    Even that of stinking bushmen – who talk about brass bowls and BBEs.

33. @Bush Tea

There is no need to split hairs. Intelligence is not fixed to being an intellectual but we need the intellectuals as well for obvious reasons.

34. “Caswell like he give up the fight – poor fella…
    That ‘David vs Goliath’ shiite does drain yuh … especially if your sling was banned by government .
    Either THAT, or his whacker get tekway”

It takes tremendous personal sacrifice especially in a small insular country like Barbados.

35. Most of what we aspire to do sadly becomes nothing more than a useless intellectual exercise. We are at the stage , where we are now shamelessly fooling ourselves , having tried to fool everybody else.
    We would find great comfort in returning to a whole lot of topics when we were once attempting to fool others that we were some privileged class , superior to others. We were fooling ourselves then , when we thought we were fooling others.
    The simple truth is that we fear moving forward. We want change but we want to remain in our own comfort zones; it simply cannot work.
    The CRC is our latest example of worthlessness. The admission that there were to be Junior Colleges and now there will be none is worthlessness as well.
    We are drowning in an ocean of pure intellectual bullshit.

36. It depends on how you define intellect.

37. Do you do you?

I wish I was deep instead of macho.

Are ‘fricans meant to be intellectual
    or physical dancers and players of instruments
    aka god’s prophets

the creative energy centre is the 2nd chakra below the navel where the pelvis is
    and is not in the mind
    the pelvis is the centre of your universe
    build your energy from the root up
    dance to the rhythm of the universe

38. Has nothing to do with schooling, or qualifications.

39. David
    January 13, 2025 at 10:19 am

“Caswell like he give up the fight – poor fella…
    Either THAT, or his whacker get tekway”

It takes tremendous personal sacrifice especially in a small insular country like Barbados.

Caswell should have left the BLP to stew in its own pot and not accepted being appointed an opposition senator by the then self proclaimed leader of the opposition, the Right Reverent Joe.

Maybe it is sinking in what he has done to his own country.

Not to worry, life goes on.

40. PLT, Bushie, Skinner, John et al, if you are up to it let us write the best Constitution that we can on the behalf of the People. We can prove that it can be done. We already have 80% of what it needs. I am working on the Preamble. I now clearly understand the gist of it. It is to be an affirmation of the entire document. It could be one paragraph. It must capture 3 things: 1. Purpose for creation of the Constitution, 2. Outlines the goals and 3. Emphasizes the sovereignty of the People as the source of government’s power.

41. The blogmaster does not want to rain on your parade Heather but writing a Constitution compares differently to people participating in the process of sharing. It requires a wide skillset.

42. I don’t think we need to do anything to the Constitution as found by the BLP when it won 30-0 in 2018.

My argument is that it still exists as is and can’t be changed constitutionally unless there is a constitutional Parliament to do it.

What needs to be done is to call the BLP and DLP to account and enforce the existing constitution.

If we can’t do that, what is the point of a new one?

43. @ John, you have a point there. The old document will still exist even with changes proposed by the Commission.
    This is an exercise in sleight of hand. There was no need to REFORM the old Constitution. What was required and still is, is a NEW Constitution.

@ David, the consultations were already done. Some can be used that were published.

44. Heather

Find me a copy of the constitution on a GOB site on the internet. I can’t!!

There is one held by the OAS, Organisation of American States, which has not been changed since I started looking in 2018 which I use.

You would think that if a constitutional parliament had made a change to the constitution it would be circulated to the various institutions of which we are a member.

If you look and find what I am saying you will find, I would suggest that no change has been made to the constitution and it is all a sham.

We have lost 7 years with this foolishness.

45. @Heather

Framing a constitution requires input from people familiar with constitutional law among other disciplines.

46. Didn’t the CRC tell you to check its website?

47. I don’t think bringing them to account will happen.
    We no not need Reformed Westminster Constitution for the Republic. For the Republic, we need a Republican Constitution.

48. David
    January 13, 2025 at 5:20 pm

Didn’t the CRC tell you to check its website?

Check it and tell us what you find.

Give us the link!!

49. Check the other CRC blog, the link was posted.

50. How was the President chosen?