Of late the blogmaster has been reluctant to post new blogs about the continuing demise of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP). The main reason is that a large number of Barbadians have lost interest in what unfolds in George Street. The blogmaster’s perspective is supported by waning hits generated on blogs dealing with DLP issues.

The news that elected President Dr. Ronnie Yearwood and General Secretary Steve Blackett were expelled by the General Council was not unexpected for some of us. The Irresistible Force Paradox which asks what happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object is relevant to the implosion occurring with the leadership of the DLP? The inability of the DLP to efficiently leverage the crossing of the floor by Ralph Thorne in February this year, AND, embrace President of the DLP Dr. Ronnie Yearwood who was elected in May 2022 continue to have national implications for the sustainability of the country’s system of governance.

A big part of the problem for the DLP is having to treat the ‘hangover’ of the loss decade- branded with telling effect by the BLP- and subsequent violent reaction it provoked from the electorate. Barbadians have developed a strong distrust and loss of confidence in the DLP since because of the embarrassment suffered during that period. The inability of the DLP to demonstrate it has the capacity to do a 2018 post mortem, execute an action plan in reasonable timeframe to remain relevant to an apathetic and cynical electorate does not augur well for them.

Thorne crossing the floor served as a litmus test to expose the leadership vacuum and divide in the DLP sooner rather than later. Thorne didn’t help by appointing two Senate picks without consulting the DLP hierarchy knowing his plan was to apply for membership of the DLP. This single decision has fuelled the distrust between President Yearwood and General Secretary Steve Blackett. The opposite is also true, Yearwood and Blackett did not respond to the problem to give room for a mutually beneficial outcome.

Of interest is that one of Thorne’s Senate picks, Senator Tricia Watson has been deliberate to stay above the rift in public. There is a view circulating that she is opportunistically waiting in the wings to pick up the pieces.

In response to the ouster from the party, Blackett has wasted little time sending a clarion call to the general membership of the DLP, to come out in numbers at the upcoming annual general conference to oppose the decision. Yearwood is quoted as saying it is a dark time in DLP politics.

Steve Blackett – Source: Starcom
Dr. Ronnie Yearwood – Source: Starcom

Despite all the feel good statements from DLP talking heads, the blogmaster has been around local politics long enough to anticipate the ongoing imbroglio is not a binary one to solve. There is no single person in the leadership space with the qualities to bind the DLP factions. In order for the party to move forward an agreement with Blackett and Yearwood has to be negotiated. Yearwood and Blackett have support within the party. In case you have to be reminded Yearwood was elected to serve two years in May 2022.

How will the general membership respond at the conference next week to 33 members of the General Council overturning a decisions of hundreds. of members of the general body?

211 responses to “DEMS now, DEMS again?”

1. The bees split still had elected members and need to stay together to get back into power
    ithe dems split under Stuart need all members to remain in power
    The DLP split under sandy caused the dems to get kicked out

2. Define control. Does the degree on control not ebb and flow based on any number of variables.

Owen was no doubt in a near full control when he was PM, before 2008.

After that his level of command and control was, for long periods, varied.

Even at his highest point he could not command and control Mottley totally, always.

Indeed, they were times when specific directives to Mottley were flagrantly disobeyed.

3. Mia quotes spiritual reggae lyrics on the Global stage in the United Nations
    Ralph quotes the Slave Code Bible to the Descendants of Slaves

Journey To The Zeroth Dimension

The DLP Constitution has the same bug system error as the Barbados Constitution.

Namely what should happen when DLP obtains Zero Seats?

The current system produces “Unpredictable Results”
    Which is the Technical Term for a pigs ear dogs dinner headless chickens cock up mode.

Will the new version of Barbados Constitution 2.0 have a software fix for this error?

Will it be improved or will it just be another copy of the Slave Masters Constitution?

It is like using the inherited Slave Code Bible legacy from false European Christians
    as opposed to the living breathing walking talking dancing Spiritual African version

A wise man learns from mistakes, he remembers them and will not repeat them
    A fool will repeat the same mistakes
    like a stupid computer system stuck in an endless processing loop

Reggae on Top
    Jah Bible

4. What matters in the argument about the perceived rift between Mottley and OSA is that he maintained control of the party to avoid the chaos unfolding at George Street.

5. The debacle in the dlp could have been avoided if egos were laid aside. Some older heads have an agenda. Notice how quiet many were between 2022 and up to February this year. Ralph crossed and they were resurrected. No amount of spin can dispute that. The party has lost respect and many votes. Too many hidden agendas

6. Hartley Henry on Brasstacks all morning.

7. oh!

BACK TO PAPER

Dems abandon electronic voting for general conference

By Colville Mounsey colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

It’s back to paper ballots for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP).

That’s the form of voting which will greet members when the ballot box opens today, though the party had wanted to introduce electronic voting for this year’s annual general conference which began last night.

Data Protection Commissioner Lisa Greaves yesterday intervened, asking serious questions regarding the party’s use of its online voting system.

The concerns were brought to the fore following a complaint lodged by DLP member Theodora Corbin on August 22. The member expressed apprehension about the processing of sensitive personal data associated with the online voting system. In response, Greaves wrote that she sent a letter to the DLP president, emphasising the need for transparency and compliance with the Data Protection Act 2019-29.

In the letter, the commissioner highlighted several key areas where the DLP needed to ensure its practices aligned with the Act. These included informing party members about the purpose and lawful basis of the data processing, the categories of data being processed, who will have access to the data, how long the data will be retained and the rights of members as data subjects under the Act.

Greaves urged the party to conduct a Data Protection Impact Assessment as required under Section 64 of the Act. This assessment is crucial to identifying and mitigating any risks associated with the processing of personal data, particularly in the context of the proposed online voting system.

But last night, acting DLP president Andre Worrell informed the Saturday Sun the party always had a Plan B, and that paper ballots will be used when voting starts today.

Worrell, however, was surprised Greaves had responded to Corbin’s concerns in such quick time.

“We received a letter today at the office (from the Data Commissioner). What concerns us is that the initial letter of complaint never came to the party. We were surprised that in less than two days, the Data Commissioner was able to write to us. No one from that office called us to tell us anything, but the general secretary (Pedro Shepherd) responded,” he said.

“We had already made a plan that we would have paper ballots in place and that we would be using paper ballots for the voting. Nothing to do with the letter sent to the Data Commissioner, but we had decided that it would have been better at this stage because there were persons within the party that it would have worked smoother by using the ballots.”

One of the most pressing issues raised by Corbin’s complaint was the claim that no substantial legal basis for the online voting system has been adequately communicated to the DLP members. While the Commissioner acknowledged that the processing of personal data by political bodies for legitimate activities is permissible under Section 9(e) of the Act, she also reminded the party of its obligation to ensure appropriate safeguards for the rights and freedoms of data subjects.

She said members of the DLP also had the right, under Sections 12 and 13, to request the erasure of their data or to restrict its processing if certain conditions are met.

Central to Corbin’s complaint was the assertion that the online voting system processes data that includes political opinions, classifying it as sensitive personal data under the Act. She contended that the DLP had failed to meet the stringent requirements for processing such data, especially in the absence of a mandatory assessment.

“The nature of the data being processed inherently includes political opinions, classifying it as sensitive personal data under Part II, Section 9 of the Data Protection Act, 2019-29,” Corbin wrote in her letter. She emphasised that “this section mandates that sensitive personal data may only be processed under specific conditions, none of which have been demonstrably met by the DLP in this instance”.

Earlier, Quincy Jones, the conference chair, had pushed back against Corbin’s claims, insisting that the party had complied with all necessary legal requirements.

“All I would say is that approval was granted at the General Council where we went through the online voting. There is no breach of the Data Protection Act, and we will continue to stay focused for this year’s conference,” he said when contacted.

8. Stetson Babb
    1h ·
    Dr. Ronnie Yearwood and Steve Blackett have been reinstated to the positions of President and General Secretary of the DLP. But the “bassa bassa” continues including a police presence, so let’s see how this ends up by the end of the day.

Source: Stetson Babb’s FB

9. fuh trute ?

10. Ralphie speaks.

11. As usual the BUI expecting pigs to purr. From Sandi to now, this is the norm for the DLP whether in government, opposition or seatless. Wey Senator Watson?

12. he talking.

13. more speechification.

14. Lest you forget……..You Tube.

owen arthur on mia mottley

15. If Ralph was serious he would not allow old heads to direct him. He could have showe astute leadership and stayed away from picking sides. Ralph should have embraced and worked with all but instead he picked sides and some whose agenda was to get rid of Ronnie

16. The issue at hand is that there is a deep division within the DLP and there is no leadership to healing and reconciliation.

Who are the DLP elders?

17. Chickens coming home to roost…as they always do….Karma.

We are seeing a WORLD of trouble…and this is only the beginning.

We have been planting ‘brassbowlery’ on a GLOBAL scale now, for decades – it was accelerated by ‘Globalization’ – the glorification of GREED.
    But now, it is harvest time….

In Barbados, we have SPURNED the opportunity to be different. Turned our backs on our NATURAL INSTINCTS, and embraced shiite MONEY as our national measure of success… So the IMF, IDB, CDB, …any bank, agency or institution giving easy money – now sets our path…

The LOVE OF MONEY is the KEY fertilizer of brassbowlery… so we should be unsurprised by the RESULTING crime, violence, mayhem, and disfunction…. (although the current DLP shiite goes WAY beyond such brassbowlery…)

There is NO POINT in speculation about possible ‘solutions’ to murders and crime, without a TRUE understanding of the ROOT causes…

Bushie has to LOL at Pacha and company, who are so convinced that David’s harsh measures will not work – BUT WHO HAVE ALSO FAILED TO OUTLINE WHAT WILL WORK to address the matter.

It is the same as trying to work out ‘solutions’ to the genocide currently underway in Gaza, without an understanding of Karma – and the CONSEQUENCES of the Trans-Sahara Slave Trade….

It will be even MORE challenging to identify ‘solutions’ to the carnage, when Mother Karma gets around to the REPARATIONS DUE for the Atlantic Slave Trade… AND also to the PERSONAL brassbowlery that we have each personally pursued.

HARVEST TIME is here… when the FRUIT of the seeds that we have ALL planted, from individuals to whole continents, will be fed to us for our eating…

The natural ‘SOLUTION’ would have been to have planted GOOD seeds in the planting season….
    Fortunately, through GOD’s GRACE, there is still a lifeboat available from the BB Titanic.

18. Super Ape Returns To Conquer

Know your History Geography and Science
    in the Spiritual War Against White Devils

The spiritual fraud in Gaza (Jesus’ POB) was committed when Brits and Americans aided the ethnic cleansing of Palestine in 1948 when Israel was formed

BU Bush (like George I and II and other Vulcans) is embracing the racist revisionism of the False Christian Warmongering Atlantic Slave Traders with his misinterpretation of the Judeo-Christian Anglo-American MIC military-industrial complexes anti-Muslim War Games as “bad Karma” like he knows and understands yogic karma “yoga of action”

Spiritual Healing
    Scratch does his own chats on the spiritual tip and drops some sweet melodies of his own closing it out with “Jesus Christ return to paradise”

19. How can this incendiary language help to build the party. These 2 factions must come together behind closed doors. Senator Tricia Watson was conspicuous by her absence. The next issue should the Thorne faction win control is to discipline or expel Watson as well for not being a team player?

20. Mayhem at DLP conference

By Colville Mounsey

colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

Utter chaos engulfed the second day of the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) Annual Conference yesterday forcing a premature end to it and the calling in of the Barbados Police Service to restore order.

The source of the commotion was a controversial motion from the floor, seeking to reinstate former president Dr Ronnie Yearwood and former general secretary Steve Blackett who were expelled on August 15.

The disruption began almost immediately after the conference was called to order under the chairmanship of Acting President Andre Worrell, with Pedro Shepherd serving as interim General Secretary.

Escalation

A party member introduced a motion for Walter Maloney to chair the conference, a move that was voted on by a portion of those present. This was swiftly followed by a vote to reinstate Yearwood and Blackett, leading to a dramatic escalation of tensions in the Errol Walton Barrow Auditorium of the party’s headquarters in George Street, Belleville, St Michael. Neither Yearwood nor Blackett was present when the proceedings started but appeared after calls informing them they had been reinstated with Blackett arriving first and Yearwood about two hours after him.

Despite the interim leadership’s efforts to maintain order, the situation deteriorated rapidly, prompting the party to seek intervention from the police. Attempts to restart the conference were made at least three times, each ending in failure and at one point, a standoff occurred at the head table, with Yearwood and Maloney refusing to yield to Shepherd and Worrell.

This confrontation resulted in both factions of the party claiming legitimacy over the leadership.

Approximately a dozen police officers were dispatched to the scene as the situation threatened to spiral out of control. The officers remained on the premises from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., conducting investigations until the event was ultimately suspended. Outside several arguments ensued between members as the blame was tossed around as to who was responsible for the chaotic state of affairs.

Blackett was the first to arrive on the party’s premises, greeted by a group of cheering supporters and expressed gratitude to those who stood by him, stating: “The people have turned up for us, and therefore I am absolutely thankful to them. They have my gratitude in the depths of my heart. I will be forever grateful to them.”

Yearwood, speaking to his supporters at the conclusion of the disrupted meeting, echoed Blackett’s sentiments.

“You saw the young people for the first time in a long time in charge of the Democratic Labour Party. That is a sign of progress. Why would you want to snuff that out? Why would you want to stamp it out? And the only reason, the only conclusion I could come to is that you have lost something in your own life that you’re trying to regain, but you will not regain it on the back of the Democratic Labour Party or the people of this country,” Yearwood declared.

He vowed to stand by his supporters.

“It shall not happen and I tell you today that I will stand with you. I will not stand in front of you. I will not be behind you. We will do this together because what you have shown me today is that I will never walk alone.”

Tougher stance

Shepherd promised to take a tougher stance to address the administrative and legal challenges facing the party.

“I will seek to ensure . . . whatever has to be done to ensure that those two persons are not allowed on this compound to disrupt the business of the Democratic Labour Party. We have also had some situations in recent times where members of the Democratic Labour Party, influenced by other persons, refused to act, refused to carry out the directives of the General Council of this party,” Shepherd stated.

He called for the support of party members in the weeks ahead, emphasising the need to ensure that all 30 branches of the DLP are operating according to the party’s constitution. “Expect to see a different General Secretary over the next few weeks as I do what I have to do to ensure that this party is prepared to govern Barbados whenever the general elections are called,” Shepherd added.

Political leader of the party Ralph Thorne said in a press conference also held during the day that he was disappointed with the Barbados Police Service, charging they failed take decisive action to restore order at the meeting.

Thorne said the party would not be deterred from its mission.

“We are not daunted, we are not dispirited. We intend to remain on that trajectory,” he said, referring to the party’s goal of unity and progress. “Our fight is not against that renegade group. Our fight is against the government of Barbados. We will resume this conference tomorrow.”

21. It must be reasonable to presume the two DLP factions are headed back to the law courts?
    Thorne chides police

Democratic Labour Party (DLP) leader Ralph Thorne has strongly condemned the actions of what he labelled as “renegade forces” that disrupted the second day of the party’s annual conference, forcing its premature suspension.

Thorne also expressed deep disappointment with the Barbados Police Service, accusing them of failing to take decisive action to restore order during the chaotic scenes yesterday.

In a press conference he denied reports circulating earlier in the day that Yearwood and Blackett were reinstated.

“Now, you would have heard a report going out on the media earlier today, indicating that the expelled president and general secretary were reinstated. That is absolutely not true,” Thorne asserted. “If the media house had double-checked with us, they would have understood the circumstances which occurred here today.”

He said the disruption began almost immediately after the conference was called to order under what he said was the legitimate chairmanship of acting president Andre Worrell, with Pedro Shepherd serving as general secretary.

As the session commenced, a party member suddenly moved a motion for Walter Maloney to chair the conference, which was met with what Thorne described as “bedlam”. The situation quickly escalated as a group of attendees, whom Thorne labelled as “renegade”, began chanting and singing.

Despite attempts by the interim leadership to maintain order, the commotion continued, leading the party to seek intervention from the Barbados Police Service.

However, Thorne expressed frustration with the police response, stating that although they had initially assured the party that those causing the disturbance would be removed, they failed to follow through.

“We believe this conference lost the protection of the Barbados Police Service,” Thorne lamented, accusing the police of being derelict in their duty to ensure a peaceful and orderly meeting.

“We were given an undertaking that the breach of peace would be dealt with by having these persons excluded from the room. My position is, you cannot go into any boardroom in Barbados, no matter who it is, and disturb it.”

Thorne was critical of the police’s reluctance to remove the disruptors, pointing out that in any other context, such behaviour would have been swiftly dealt with.

“If it were one of the highly sanitised corporate boardrooms in Barbados, they would have been removed,” he stated. “The business of the police is to ensure that this conference would have been allowed to continue without a breach of the peace.”

The DLP leader also took a moment to address the broader implications of the day’s events, expressing concern over the perceived erosion of democratic rights.

“We are now living in a country in which the peace-loving citizens are losing their protection of the Barbados Police Service in the legitimate pursuit of our political rights,” Thorne warned.

“This is not a police state. The police are here to serve, to protect and to reassure. We feel today that we have lost the service, protection and reassurance of the Barbados Police Service.”

Thorne vowed that the conference would continue, with or without police protection, and called on party members and the public to turn out in even greater numbers today.

“We are still capable of smiling. We have faith that this party will continue its good work. We want to promise the people of Barbados that this conference must, and it will continue tomorrow,” he said.

(CLM)

22. RAT nest under the BIG TENT !

23. The blogmaster is trying to understand why members of a party in shambles (chaos) would be recording the unsavory events as they occur and WhatsApping to friends while a solution is being searched for? Lest we forget DLP rank and file members who make up the general body are educated Barbadians.

24. What would happen if the Ronnie0 fraction somehow get into the leadership of the party and the RAT pack behave the same way during meetings ?

The party need to split (again) or come to some agreement/ arrangement for all officers to resign and new officers ( none of those currently elected) elected.

25. This is a clear indication that the Dems are ready to lead this country to peace and prosperity.

I shall vote for them in the next election.

26. The truth is that I have no interest in the Debacle, but the twist and turns can rival some of the best TV there is.

Who is in? Who is out? Is it Ralph and his crew or is it Ronnie without the O and Blackett.Will Freundel speak? Is Guy on the scene? Are we headed back to court?

My head is spinning …

27. Breaking News Headline…

The Ronnie (Youth and Women) Yearwood DLP Movement
    challenges the Ralph (Old Men) Thorne DLP Movement
    in DLP HQ George Street, Bridgetown, Barbados

who will the most energy to win the fight

Ralph’s side feel exhausted and want to have a nap

28. One thing about Ralph Thorne he never use to eat like a pig, and six times a day.

Based on that history we would venture that his biological age might very well be way less than his numeric.

From recent photos he seems more in shape than some of the so-called younger ones.

Ageism cannot make sense so applied. Certainly not within a declining population base.

Even as this writer retains concerns around the non application of industrial psychological selection methods.

29. Lorenzo
    Well,well,all hell breaking loose with the dems.Tell me who in their right mind would vote for most of them?The solution seems to be,in my view for Dr Yearwood whose ego seems too big for someone who has not won a seat to step back and work with Mr Thorne,who also appears to have an ego problem also in my view.The other thing i believe Dr Yearwood needs to seperate himself from the in my view,the arrogant Mr Blackette.He is part of the old guard rejected by the electorate in 2018.In my view unless this happens Dr Yearwood will remain in the wilderness.Lastly like Enuff asked where is senator Watson and whose side is she on?

30. SHE who fight and run away ………,,,,,,

31. My point* was that the battle is not now about the 2 ‘leaders’ per se but has moved on to factions within DLP such as old guard, women and youth and has become about the future of DLP versus the past

forwards not backwards is the best direction

and the future side probably has more relevance as it may well be a long time before DLP win an election to lead the nation again

32. de Pedantic Dribbler Avatar
    de Pedantic Dribbler

Spot on Donna… yep I too am deeply encouraged to Gruyner my X for Dem … they are SO ready to lead this nation.

And @David, I presume u are adding some comic relief re your 7:26 note.

Brother blogmaster please tell WHERE or WHEN phone recordings are NOT taken these days.

They are taken in de bedroom and shown as revenge shaming later; at family shindigs as embarrassing viral vids and everywhere else… why not here !

… let de cameras roll, let de cameras roll!

What shocks me, as likely all others is WHY some perceive that the disruption of the Robert’s Rules decorum is acceptable !

When I was first told of the report that the two former leaders had been reinstated I was dumbfounded. In the absence of info I couldn’t understand how a ruling from the General Council could get overturned ‘just so’ at the general meeting.

Fah sure, I didn’t read the Dems constitution but didn’t perceive that ANY constitution would have a clause to vacate a properly constituted leadership decision from the floor of a general meeting.

Anyhow as Donna so astutely said … Dem fellas showing de country their high level of competence with legal and administrative affairs. We can’t wait for dem to take de con again!

Wha 90-0 you talking bout … shame on you!

I gone here … WI beat up pon SA the other day so there is joy in my world!😀

33. @Dee Word

The question was to question the loyalty index of DLP members DLP delegates.

To your wider point: the constitution of the DLP calls for a resolution to be submitted 30 days before the annual meeting? On what basis could the Yearwood faction claim reinstatement? It seems the lawyers as always on both sides have the party embroiled in ‘process’.

34. The Blogmaster is listening to @VOB246 at https://starcomnetwork.net/vob-stream/

35. @ David

In MY opinion, Yearwood and Blackett should not be on the DLP’s headquarters’
    compound because they were expelled from the party.

They are no longer members of the DLP.

36. Legally yes but unfortunately the problem in George Street is not a binary one to solve.

37. EWB and the others founding members must be rolling

38. A people ALWAYS get exactly the leadership that they deserve.

-The old guard ofDLP jokers
    -The current set of suicidal morons
    -The up-and-coming arrogant and entitled youth leaders..
    … these all reflect the Brassbados of which Bushie has been FORCED to speak, ever since the whacker get tek way..

The joke is that other BLP lot is different only in that they currently have the keys to our treasury, and the freedom to spend as they like, WITHOUT ANY ACCOUNTABILITY…

Their bickering can wait…

The Bigger question however, is HOW COME WE DON’T DESERVE BETTER???!!!

What a place!

39. Dem situation needs auntie Mia to save dem – election

Both Ronnie and RAt to be blamed for the shit Stop trying to fool people that this is about saving party or Barbados

40. “In MY opinion, Yearwood and Blackett should not be on the DLP’s headquarters’
    compound because they were expelled from the party.

They are no longer members of the DLP.”

that’s the problem with bad decisions cast in stone
    reconciling nonsense as justification for more nonsense can’t work
    it’s got to the stage where the people are talking any rubbish to argue their point
    and no one is listening to what anyone else is saying

now party members can’t attend annual conference

legal fraud and misrepresentation is not a science

41. Democracy ?

42. @ David

more in a more recent vid in th afternoon