Of late the blogmaster has been reluctant to post new blogs about the continuing demise of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP). The main reason is that a large number of Barbadians have lost interest in what unfolds in George Street. The blogmaster’s perspective is supported by waning hits generated on blogs dealing with DLP issues.

The news that elected President Dr. Ronnie Yearwood and General Secretary Steve Blackett were expelled by the General Council was not unexpected for some of us. The Irresistible Force Paradox which asks what happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object is relevant to the implosion occurring with the leadership of the DLP? The inability of the DLP to efficiently leverage the crossing of the floor by Ralph Thorne in February this year, AND, embrace President of the DLP Dr. Ronnie Yearwood who was elected in May 2022 continue to have national implications for the sustainability of the country’s system of governance.

A big part of the problem for the DLP is having to treat the ‘hangover’ of the loss decade- branded with telling effect by the BLP- and subsequent violent reaction it provoked from the electorate. Barbadians have developed a strong distrust and loss of confidence in the DLP since because of the embarrassment suffered during that period. The inability of the DLP to demonstrate it has the capacity to do a 2018 post mortem, execute an action plan in reasonable timeframe to remain relevant to an apathetic and cynical electorate does not augur well for them.

Thorne crossing the floor served as a litmus test to expose the leadership vacuum and divide in the DLP sooner rather than later. Thorne didn’t help by appointing two Senate picks without consulting the DLP hierarchy knowing his plan was to apply for membership of the DLP. This single decision has fuelled the distrust between President Yearwood and General Secretary Steve Blackett. The opposite is also true, Yearwood and Blackett did not respond to the problem to give room for a mutually beneficial outcome.

Of interest is that one of Thorne’s Senate picks, Senator Tricia Watson has been deliberate to stay above the rift in public. There is a view circulating that she is opportunistically waiting in the wings to pick up the pieces.

In response to the ouster from the party, Blackett has wasted little time sending a clarion call to the general membership of the DLP, to come out in numbers at the upcoming annual general conference to oppose the decision. Yearwood is quoted as saying it is a dark time in DLP politics.

Steve Blackett – Source: Starcom
Dr. Ronnie Yearwood – Source: Starcom

Despite all the feel good statements from DLP talking heads, the blogmaster has been around local politics long enough to anticipate the ongoing imbroglio is not a binary one to solve. There is no single person in the leadership space with the qualities to bind the DLP factions. In order for the party to move forward an agreement with Blackett and Yearwood has to be negotiated. Yearwood and Blackett have support within the party. In case you have to be reminded Yearwood was elected to serve two years in May 2022.

How will the general membership respond at the conference next week to 33 members of the General Council overturning a decisions of hundreds. of members of the general body?

211 responses to “DEMS now, DEMS again?”

1. Ralphie Thorn will be lucky to even hold onto his seat in the next election under the DLP banner as his constituents obviously voted for BLP not DLP (the 30-0 trouncing is the proof).

Ronnie, Steve and others like Tricia and anyone else unhappy and disgusted with the DLP council shenanigans should form a New Guard DLP Party for the future

Let the walking dead old farts old guard reap their rewards / karma and go extinct like the Dodo

2. These D shenanigans are well beyond my pay grade. I have been trying to follow what is happening, but I cannot keep up.

3. Bermuda.

4. This outcome so far seems right.

Until the likes of Yearwood and Blackette resign from the political old talk and accept the wages for being serial electorally losers, no amount of pleadings will do.

That Blackette finds it of moment to render small talk about a monthly 300 dollar contribution to the party, a party he wants to agitate in his interest, an interest which he unsuccessfully tried to enforce while not having any popular mandate.

We are not to be guided that Thorne represents any significant departure from the political decadence steeped. However, he was and is a member in good standing and as long as Blackette and Yearwood continue to believe that somehow their once held perches at George Street could be used to control something gifted by Thorne, then the party councils should tell them no.

5. DLP is ‘toast’, says pundit

Bruce: Expelling Yearwood backward step

By Carlos Atwell carlosatwell@nationnews.com

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is “toast”, declared political scientist Devaron Bruce.

Speaking candidly yesterday when asked for his thoughts on the expulsion of embattled former president Dr Ronnie Yearwood and former general secretary Steve Blackett, he said the political party had destroyed any chances of regaining political power when the next General Election was called.

“So you have a party that’s been talking about growing and rebuilding and everything else for the last six years, but quite frankly I’ve not seen anything in the recent months that reflects that. Whether they’ve been on the ground, I’ve not seen; any policy responses of any value, I’ve not seen; any candidates, I’ve not seen.

“I look at numbers, I don’t look at politics and, quite frankly, I don’t think they have any viability going forward in the next election. I think they are shot in the foot and are toast at the next election,” he said.

Bruce said the DLP seemed more concerned with trying to build with “broken blocks” than unifying to become a serious political force once again. He said booting out a progressive leader in favour of people who had already been rejected at the polls was a backward step.

“And the current cohort that we’re seeing seems to care more about building with broken blocks than bringing in new ones. If you’re going to remove a young president, a progressive president, to be replaced by a political leader who, quite frankly, has one election left in the tank, clearly your strategy is off. The individuals I’ve seen surrounding the current leadership as well are individuals of the past, hence my reference to broken blocks – the public has made their judgement on those individuals already.

Bigger picture

“I will continue to look at the larger picture and that is a national election. I think that the Democratic Labour Party needs to understand where it is statistically as it relates to elections, how the general public feels about it, how the general public feels about its brand, how the general public feels about its ability to govern given the last administration. The goal of the Democratic Labour Party has to be one of growth, but it seems to be caught up with division more than growth,” he said.

Senior lecturer in political science at the University of West Indies, Dr Kristina Hinds, said Yearwood should have resigned before he was pushed out as he now had no future in the DLP.

“This sort of occurrence is the reason why some persons such as myself suggested in the past that it would have been wise for Yearwood to step down . . . to secure himself against any efforts to oust him from the presidency or the party.

“That would have allowed him to remain within the DLP as a regular member, keep his head down for a bit and build his political future within the party in years to come. But that is no longer an option, considering what we have just seen,” she said.

‘Extreme’ move Hinds said the decision by the DLP to expel Yearwood and Blackett seemed drastic yet strategic, especially as it pertained to Yearwood. This way, she said, there was now no possibility of him being re-elected at a later date or becoming a candidate.

Political analyst Peter Wickham said the move was surprising, extreme and unprecedented but he was willing to give the current leadership of the party the benefit of the doubt. However, he saw the expulsion of Yearwood as regrettable.

“I continue to believe that the removal of Blackett is more justified, as he has behaved in a way that is, frankly, beyond redemption and his actions have damaged the party irreparably. My views regarding Yearwood are somewhat different, as I continue to believe that he represents the future of the DLP, beyond the next election, and this action brings his political life to a grinding halt.

“The DLP has lost an asset and Yearwood is now consigned to the political history books from a place where he was one of the brightest political prospects for leadership on our local horizon. [He has now been] removed completely from the party and therefore cannot contest a seat even as a regular member and, to my mind, this is regrettable,” he said.

Wickham said Yearwood “walked from the Barbados Labour Party, led the DLP and has now been kicked out of the DLP”, which left him with few political options, adding the expulsion represented a political sunset of sorts for him “at barely 40 years old”.

While things looked bleak for Yearwood politically, Wickham said the DLP could now move forward.

“On the plus side for the DLP, one hopes that with this chapter closed it can elect new leadership and tidy up this mess with a focus on preparations for the next election,” he said.

Political scientist George Belle said the move appeared to be a necessary one for the party.

“It was something the leadership of the party determined it had to do and it had to be surgical because to let a threat be hanging over it for about a year would inhibit the party in any effort to rebuild, recover and rehabilitate itself. This is why I think that they had to take the action of actually expelling them,” he said.

First steps

Belle said it was important the party’s leadership had the support of the delegates to avoid controversy at its annual conference, adding there was still the issue of appealing the decision, which would not be heard before next year. He said it seemed the DLP was taking its first steps back to viability.

“The decision to expel, I think, would help the party to clear the ground and, hopefully, build some kind of unity post the expulsion. I think [the party’s future] very much requires they be able to get back to rebuilding, to settling and then to sending out persons that the electorate can look at as reasonable people to support because that is the only way they’re going to win seats in Parliament.” ( CA)

6. William Skinner Avatar

When those entering politics have no ideology or, philosophy to guide them, they can only bring chaos and confusion. We have reached the stage of political infertility in the Democratic Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party.
    It is therefore not surprising that some of their most vociferous apologists are now exclaiming disappointment and trying their utmost to remove themselves from their former role of defending the indefensible.
    The simple truth is that no amount of so-called balanced interjections can obliterate the truth that the only difference between 2018 and 2024, is that we changed parties but how we are governed remains the same.
    When we put pearls on a pig it still remains a pig. Try dating an identical twin; it can be very confusing\
    We reap whatever we sow.

7. William Skinner Avatar

Should read: and the Barbados Labour Party

8. It is good to see DLP youth are bold enough to make a stand against all wrongs.

Youth have principle more than principal and are a fresh energy to replace stale and stagnant energy.

Like a breath of fresh air to replace old foul air,

or a strong stream of fresh water flowing in the river to flush out all the blockages and putrid water that has decayed due to “sulfur bacteria” and smells very unpleasant of Hydrogen sulfide gas that gives the water system a “rotten egg” taste..

9. Certainly!

It’s about time that William Skinner throw away the pearls and pig metaphors and square the circle with the admission that his own dalliances within the political theatre were indistinguishable from what we’ve long had with either Bs or Ds or what came prior.

And when he does maybe he’ll come to a more profound determination. That it’s impossible to have any other than the political sameness than that sameness we’ve long had.

Emma Goldman once said if voting could make a difference it would be illegal. How profound! But yet notions of governance based on mere voting reign supreme for the ignorant.

10. > “When we put pearls on a pig it still remains a pig.”
    >> “It’s about time that William Skinner throw away the pearls and pig metaphors”

the idioms are ‘pearls before swine’ and ‘lipstick on a pig’
    ‘pearls on a pig’ is a brand new skinnerism
    which should be avoided and not repeated
    or people might think you’re a lil’ bit weird

11. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    You have to realize that there is absolutely nothing that you say that is without merit. Whether you’re spouting globalism or the obvious failures of the independence experiment in the Caribbean.
    We are anchored ideologically and philosophically in one Caribbean State.
    Where are you anchored ?
    Please don’t tell us how wrong we are to anchor there. Just tell us where you are anchored.

12. Skinns
    Yuh like ‘dem’ political licks uh put in yuh, neh!

You hail from a ‘One Caribbean’ ethos, even as il-defined. Pacha comes ideologically, spiritually, genetically from an unquestionable Afrikan ethos , the Mother of all there is!

You claim that which the Europeans left behind because you’ll hardly go back beyond 1492. We’ve not heard any deeper claims, even as there clearly are.

Pacha claims all that has been, is and will be everywhere within these universes.

Please address the nub of our comment about your own contributions to that which you now critique.

As you must know this writer has otherwise been supportive of those political efforts. However, that your experiences have so led, then posterity desires an explanation.

13. wicki speaks

14. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    We give and we take licks. No problem there. Having a Caribbean Nation is in concord with any ideological, physical or spiritual connection with Mother Africa. To fully overcome mental slavery, we must have a Caribbean State. We find it strange that you would want to suggest that we are harking back to some colonial time. Far from.
    Our work continues on a daily basis promoting and actually spending considerable time throughout the region. Our mission is to make the Caribbean free from global manipulation in all forms and from all sources.
    By the way, you are very correct when you summarize, our sojourn in the current party/political environment. We don’t consider the truth to be “licks” at all.
    We still hope that you extend some of your time and effort in our efforts to have a Caribbean Nation.

15. READY TO SERVE

Ousted DLP president says he has no regrets

By Barry Alleyne

barryalleyne@nationnews.com

Ousted president of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), Dr Ronnie Yearwood, says he has no regrets and will continue to serve his country.

What he is not willing to say just yet is if that service will play out in a political capacity.

In an interview with the Sunday Sun, Yearwood refused to rule out the possibility that his political career may be over.

“I’ve been in public life since I was 14,” said the 45-year-old law lecturer at the University of the West Indies. “It’s not up to me if I will still be involved in politics. What I do will be played out in due course. There will always be room to do things.”

Unsuccessful

Yearwood, who left the Barbados Labour Party and unsuccessfully ran for the DLP in St James South in the January 2022 General Election, was elected party president for successive two-year terms, with the second due to end in August next year. However, last Thursday night, he and former general secretary Steve Blackett were expelled after a General Council meeting.

He admitted he could not have predicted what happened in his relatively short political career.

“I could not have written this script. I am always ready to serve. I will continue to serve Barbados. If I have the time and energy and people approach me, why would I say no? I wouldn’t deny helping people just because

Continued on Page 4A.

It’s up to members, says Yearwood

I’m not running in a constituency. That’s not my style. That’s the way it is and the way it should be.”

Yearwood said at this stage, he had not contemplated taking legal action based on how his expulsion played out.

“I don’t think I would go down that road. If you have been put in a position by the people, then the choice of [whom] they want has to come from the party. It’s still a membership-based party. There is no electoral college. It’s just a matter of accepting the electoral process.”

He said the membership of the DLP had to determine what type of political party they wanted to be part of and what type of politicians they wanted to serve them.

“[They have] to decide what they will take and what they will not take. They have to know what they will stand for in a democracy. That type of system should play its way out in the next couple of weeks at the general conference.

“It’s down now to the membership to reflect and consider what they want. It will take time. This is unfortunate because I was put there by the will of the people. They voted for me.”

Yearwood said that in his mind, what played out last week should have a profound effect on the party moving forward.

“The reality is if the processes played out here are allowed to continue, it questions what kind of people we in Barbados will bring to public life,” he said.

He said he and Blackett had put their all into the future of the DLP. “We were pouring hours and hours into what was really a [volunteer] position.”

16. DLP continues to be in free-fall

By Barry Alleyne barryalleyne@nationnews.com

In just 188 days, the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has gone through a period most political parties wouldn’t experience in a decade, maybe even longer.

And now, just two weeks before the next annual general conference, the 69-year-old party appears to be at the political crossroads.

Its president Dr Ronnie Yearwood and general secretary Steve Blackett, having been expelled from the party in controversial circumstances after a meeting of the general council last Thursday, are now political outsiders.

The party’s first vice-president, Michael Lashley, 24 hours after the contentious meeting, called for the party to unite, saying it needed to present a united front to Barbadians by getting on the ground, organising town hall meetings and getting feedback from the populace.

The DLP’s political leader, Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne, has remained quiet for the most part and so have the elders of the party which formed the last administration that was unceremoniously given their walking papers by the voting public, first in 2018 and then again in 2022.

Political pundits were robust in their criticism of the party’s inability to keep its dirty laundry out of the public view, with one saying the DLP would be toast in the next General Election, constitutionally due in 2027.

What is clear is that the upcoming conference could be one of the most important ones for the DLP since the death of its founder, National Hero, Errol Walton Barrow, back on June 1, 1987.

The latest problems for the DLP came to public light in February and have been on every Barbadian’s radar ever since.

It was on February 9 that Thorne, then a member of the Barbados Labour Party, quit that party and brought over his political duffel bag to George Street, rejoining the party as its political leader, having presented himself to the president, the Most Honourable Dame Sandra Mason, to become Opposition Leader.

Voice in Parliament

Political pundits praised the move and some DLP members were happy to finally have a voice in the Parliament of Barbados. Thorne seemed to be saying all the right things at the time and some people who weren’t even DLP members were applauding.

After being sworn in as Opposition Leader on February 12, Thorne explained his exodus.

“Diplomacy often leads to hypocrisy. Your conscience must mean something, and therefore I came to the point where I had to make the decision that if my philosophical and political views do not accord with those of the Government in terms of its legislation, in terms of its policy, the relationship becomes untenable,” he told reporters at State House.

The first signs of discontent were noticed when Thorne’s application on February 16 to rejoin the party hit an early snag, and he was forced to wait two days before it was finally approved. After that, there seemed to be a sense of unity, with Thorne and Yearwood smiling for the cameras and promising to work together.

Senate picks

Thorne then named outspoken attorney Tricia Watson and the DLP’s Ryan Walters as his picks in the Senate to represent the interests of the Opposition.

Very soon, those clear political skies turned to grey.

Many in and outside the party felt it might have been wiser for the Opposition Leader to name Yearwood to be one of those expressing the views of the DLP in the Upper House.

On March 20, however, Thorne had one of his brightest moments back at George Street during an assertive five-hour reply in the House of Assembly to Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley’s Budgetary Proposals, where he challenged the powers that be on several important social and financial issues.

The in-fighting emerged again on April 10 when long-time party member Hartley Reid filed a motion of noconfidence in the entire executive council of the party, asking that Yearwood and Blackett also resign.

Blackett told the media two days later the motion was flawed and deferred to be heard at a later date. It is yet to be heard.

On April 14, former Minister of Education Ronald Jones, a stalwart of the party, entered into the public fray after Reid’s no-confidence motion was filed against the executive, chastising the hierarchy of the party and suggesting to Yearwood that he follow the traditions and conventions of the party.

Jones also said he felt Yearwood was being advised poorly by those around him.

Things got even more complicated within the party when on April 21, when Blackett filed a motion of noconfidence in Thorne, saying there had been nothing but rancour and confusion in the party. He also asked that Thorne’s membership be revoked.

“I moved two resolutions. The one of confidence in Dr Ronnie Yearwood said he has transformed the party for its betterment, and whereas with his steady hand, the party is now becoming a viable alternative to the Barbados Labour Party,” Blackett had said at the party’s George Street, St Michael headquarters on April 21 when there was to be a quarterly party review.

In contrast, Blackett claimed Thorne’s arrival was quite the opposite. “Whereas his (Thorne’s) admission to the party, the institution has experienced untold rancour, turmoil, contention and confusion,” the general secretary said.

Blackett and Yearwood were then suspended indefinitely by the party’s general council.

Weeks later, the party’s executive council, after meeting, said it was throwing its support behind the pair.

However, the dominoes continued falling.

The party was thrust into the limelight again in May, when party stalwart Ricardo “Laker” Williams brought legal action through an urgent application to the Supreme Court in an attempt to have Yearwood and Blackett returned to their posts, via a constitutional motion.

On May 27, Chief Justice Leslie Haynes ruled, however, that the status quo of the DLP should remain, leaving Pedro Shepherd as the interim general secretary and Andre Worrell as the acting president.

Last month, Williams withdrew the legal action, saying he hoped the party could instead settle the dispute once and for all.

Then, last Thursday, in another surprise action, the general council met in a special Zoom meeting, after which Yearwood and Blackett were expelled.

All eyes will now be on the party again, when its general conference is held at George Street next weekend.

Many . . . felt it might have been wiser for the Opposition Leader to name

Yearwood to be one of those expressing the views of the DLP in the Upper House.

17. Barry Alleyne could behave. Thorne chose the Senators BEFORE being admitted to the DLP. By virtue of being admitted he then became the Political Leader.

“Many felt it might have been wiser for the Opposition Leader to name Yearwood to be one of those expressing the views of the DLP in the Upper House”

Therein lies the rub. Having spoken to a few flies on walls and in Zoom meetings, it is clear to me that “some”, not “many” NEVER accepted the legitimacy and role of the Political Leader as captured in the Party’s Constitution and stymied every effort for it to be effected the way it should.

The same “some” were hell bent on NEVER giving the type of political support needed as a result of feeling “snubbed” over the Senate picks.

The same “some” believed that they could run the council(s), the party and its finances as if it were their personal plaything without any accountability to the members.

The same “some” engaged in actions, backdoor agreements, phone calls, heavy handed decisions and consistent media leaks which inevitably paved the way for where we are now.

No one person should ever feel that they are above the organisation or that it is “theirs” to run however they feel like.

Just observing

18. @Observing

It could be a case that members of the old guard who orchestrated support for Thorne attached conditions to their support, one being Yearwood was not to be included in a DLP forward solution.

19. You have made your point one the first comment on the blog, no need to repeat.

20. @Observing

Any comment about how Andre responded to Michael Lashley attempted pulse test to intermediate in the dispute? He is obviously trying to position himself as a crossover between old and new?

21. Who will stop Mia
    Nobody can stop her
    Only Mia will stop her reign

22. Today is Indian partition day. A day when Pakistan, Bangladesh, Myanmar and modern Indian were made by Britian. They simple drew lines to leave social grenades for endless conflict.

Not only there, everywhere else they had to leave.

It is estimated that the British stole more than 40 trillion USD, in today’s value, from India. The larger Indian which was the diamond within the British crown.

In 20 years alone the British killed 100 million Indians. During an imposed starvation their much vaunted Winston Churchill pondered if Indians were starving to death why was Ghandi still alive, causing him political trouble.

This is the Churchill venerated today in Western democracies.

Of course, we are no friends of modern India, not even old India either, except to the extent it acts against the present colonial rulers. For moder India is genetically based on a fervent religious supremacist system of Hinduism.

External to this, there has never been Bushie’s karma imposed on the British for their crimes committed even as an assortment of others of Indian’s religions all have it as an article of faith.

Still today, in Barbados our political exertions remain embedded within the monumental forces of wickedness which made the island of Britain termed great!!!

Separately

A comment made , above, last night on Wickham is missing.

23. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

WHO HAS FOOLED YOU, O FOOLISH BARBADIANS? KNOW YOU NOT THAT MEN CANNOT SAVE YOU? WHY IS YOUR HOPE IN POLIETICS? WHOM HAVE YOU PLEDGED ALLEGIANCE TO? TO A FAKE, FRAGILE, FLACCID MAN LIKE YOURSELF OR IS YOUR HOMAGE PAID TO A POWER HIGHER THAN FLESH & BLOOD? NO WONDER YOUR COUNTRY IS ON THE VERGE ON ANARCHY

The Bible warns against “IDOLATRY”, emphasizing that “GOD ALMIGHTY ALONE” is worthy of worship (Exodus 20:4-5, Galatians 5:16-21)…

The Apostle John “WARNS” that “all that is in this world – the desires of the flesh & the desires of the eyes & pride in possessions – is not from the Father but is from the world” (1 John 2:15-17)!!!

GET A GRIP

As a nation who “CLAIMS” to be followers of “YESHUA MESSIAH”, you must be vigilant to recognize “MODERN-DAY FORMS OF IDOLATRY”, including “POlieTICAL IDOLATRY”, & redirect your worship to “THE MOST HIGH ABOVE”, alone!!!

Modern poLIEtics is now a “CESSPOOL” of “FEAR” & “DEMONIZATION” -where most witness the “MADNESS” of when poLIEtical leaders are out of power, their supporters experience a “SENSE OF DEATH”, believing that everything will fall apart if their policies & people are not in power!!!

This F.E.A.R. (FALSE EVIDENCE APPEARING REAL) leads to demonization of opponents, viewing them as “EVIL” rather than simply “MISTAKEN”. This behaviour is a “HALLMARK OF IDOLATRY”, where a person or ideology becomes an “OBJECT OF WORSHIP”, & those who disagree are seen as threats to its existence!!!

WHAT MADNESS

Making a “gOD” out of #HavingPower is #PoLIEticalIdolatry!!! It involves elevating poLIEtical leaders or parties to a position of “SUPREME” importance, where their success or failure is seen as the determining factor in one’s “INDIVIDUAL” well-being!!!

NOTHING COULD BE FURTHER FROM THE TRUTH

THIS IS MISPLACED TRUST & REVERENCE that only leads to a “TOXIC” societal environment, where opponents are not considered simply “MISTAKEN” but “EVIL”!!!

When #PoLIEtics becomes an “ALL-CONSUMING PASSION”, directing every move & thought, it is a “FORM OF WORSHIP”. This intense focus on a particular ideology or leader “IS” idolatry, where one’s ultimate good is seen as tied to the success of that ideology or leader – “A POPULIST PHENOMEMON EERILY COMMON AROUND THE WORLD” that will have detrimental repercussions going forward!!!

In postmodern society, “POLIETICS” serve as a “MISDIRECTION OF WORSHIP”, where people’s hearts cling to & confide in poLIEtical systems or leaders rather than God – “THE SAME ISSUE EXIST WITHIN THE SPORTING ARENA – AS WAS SEEN IN THE RECENT OLYMPIC GAMES & NOW, WITH THE 2024 FOOTBALL SEASON HAVING BEGUN IN THE UK!!!

This “MISPLACED TRUST” can lead to a lack of peace & security, as people seek salvation & meaning from human institutions rather than from “THE DIVINE SOURCE OF LIFE”!!!

“AWAKE ALL YOU WHO SLEEP IN THE DUST OF YOUR IMPERTIENT IDOLATRIES” – ARISE & SHINE FROM THE HELLISH FIRES OF BROKEN PROMISES & BROKEN DREAMS”!!!

CEASE FROM MAN WHOSE BREATH IS IN HIS NOSTRILS

#KickOutTheBASTERDS* – GOVs* are “RETARDED” & so are the “PEOPLE”, PERIOD!!!

24. @Michael Lashley
    It is clear he is an opportunist. As 1st VP and former Minister he should have been a leading voice from the beginning, not the end. He still holds goodwill where it matters but seems afraid to use it.

As for the old guard, i do see some of them flittering around more since Thorne crossed over but they were/are not in any position to “call shots” in pretty much the dame way that the “young guard” aren’t either. They need to just forget about old guards, new guards or balls guards and just get on with it.

Yearwood’s demise was all politics. An internal politics which he played badly and is now at the last minute trying to salvage. He had leverage and clout but lost it gradually over time.

Much of what he is saying now publicly should have been said AND actualised long time ago as a true all embracing politically astute leader. Clearly he still has much to learn and may have been advised badly.

I suspect, but could be wrong, that the “villain” in this whole mess is Messr Blackett, one of the same “old guard” and the one who was the face of some consistently ill advised, politically unsound and downright foolish public statements over the past year and a half.

From.outside it looks like the blind leading the blind. Just not sure who is “blinder”.

God help DEM though. They for sure need it!!!

Just observing

25. @Observing

Agree with most of your view but the DLP and BLP political machinery purrs on power structures controlled usually by an old guard. Do you deny Hal Gollop and his ilk still have say?

26. “Still today, in Barbados our political exertions remain embedded within the monumental forces of wickedness which made the island of Britain termed great!!!”

Barbados was a laboratory for the New World slavery cloning process
    O Beat and Brainwash stolen Africans into servitude and compliance
    O Breed them to have up to 15 children from age 14 for 20 generations
    O Take away their African culture and turn them into lesser British Subjects
    O Make slave code laws to outline ‘legal brutality’
    O Define them as sub-human animals to justify the Devil’s wicked ways

27. The clearest sign that we are dealing with parasites, is the tenacity with which they attempt to cling to the victim, once their true nature is uncovered.

Persons who TRULY seek to SERVE the public tend to be
    -reluctant to step forward in the first place
    -quick to go away if not welcome or appreciated
    -extremely successful INDEPENDENTLY (have something to GIVE…)
    -full of ideas, plans and opportunities for progress
    -have a proven history of personal success

While parasites tend to
    -quickly jump from one host to another – whoever appears to be fatter
    -hang on ferociously as if their very lives depend on it (they mostly do)
    -have nothing to contribute other than dead weight
    -disappear into oblivion – when finally kicked off the fatted host

That Yearwood and Blackett had to be PRYED so painfully from the ‘DLP- skinny calf’ speaks volumes about them… AND about the other parasites currently comprising that lost cause.

However..
    The ONLY difference between them and the BLP, is that the BLP calf is currently ‘FATTED’ – as a consequence of HOPE, STEAL houses, MalMoney deals, Clear Water arrangements, White Shadow contributions and direct access to State funds.
    So that they are fat and contented parasites for the time being…

That Bajans so intensely place their future in these two shiite parties clearly confirms Bushie’s Brass Bowl analogy.
    Such vessels have for YEARS been used by Bajans to accumulate ‘night soil’.

What a place!!

28. @Bush Tea

Surprised at your view. People with a deep desire to serve do so because of an unswerving commitment and dedication to a cause.

29. Lorenzo
    Well, well the DLP continues to amaze me with their behaviour or maybe not.The late great Mr Barrow must be rolling on the high seas.These in my view jokers cannot run their affairs and want to run Barbados.Give me a break!In my view there is a lot of egos and arrogance at play here,especially from Dr Yearwood and especially Mr Blackette on the one hand and Mr Thorne on the other.The important factor is Mr Thorne has ,at least for now,a seat,no one else does.Therefore Dr Yearwood ,in my view should have,stood back and try to cooperated with Mr Thorne.He also needs in my view to distance himself from Mr Blackette,who was part of the old guard rejected by the voters in 2018.In my view the dems have many years in the wilderness to come.

30. Agree with your comment Lorenzo although we know you prefer the DLP to ‘fry’.

31. “People with a deep desire to serve do so because of an unswerving commitment and dedication to a cause.”

These Politics of the you know who party have no moral integrity

I have moral integrity in abundance
    but cannot comment about the you know who leader has not got any at all

So I will leave my message in a song
    or 2 or 3
    or a 2 to 6 supermix
    Jah know

[Intro]
    I’d rather to be poor, and clean and humble
    Than to be rich in mansions
    And the poor man cries around me, yes
    Saying “He cause my youths to suffer, he cause me deadly pain”
    No way, sir, that ain’t me

[Chorus]
    It’s better to be poor and humble
    Not to have sin on your head
    The poor man’s eye water is seeping down your brain
    No way, sir

[Verse]
    I’d rather to be poor and humble
    Or let them dig my grave
    I came here to live and not to be a slave
    I didn’t come here to diе (No way, sir)
    The wages of sin is death
    Thе gift of Jah is eternal life
    Why should I die? I bear no answer
    No warning of Babylon, sir
    Oh, oh-oh-oh, my poor black mama cries
    My black mama cries
    We poor and humble any way, oh Jah Jah
    We gonna serve your for the rest of our days
    ‘Cause Jah Jah love the poor and humble
    He love the man who walks in a humble way
    Don’t go astray, woah-oh-oh, sing a song unto Jah
    We gonna sing a love song to you, Jah
    Oh-oh-oh, ah-ah-ah, woah-oh
    Sing a love song to you, Jah Jah

[Outro]
    I’d rather to be poor and humble
    Or to walk in a simple way, oh-oh Jah

32. @Bush Tea

The blogmaster is not fooled by your online musings. People familiar with you know you are an individual who gives unconditionally to country. It is easy to spot the negatives in people, some of us live in perpetual hope that good will win over evil, good over bad. If we do not anchor our lives in hope and give purpose to living on this earth, we are better off jumping from the nearest cliff.

33. Since our previous contribution on Wickham seems irretrievably lost we shall try to revisit.

We then questioned the basis on which Wickham, whose statistical methods we have previously lauded, could determine that Yearwood has any political intelligence or intelligence generally to have any higher than average ability to make any measurable contribution to the political life of the DLP or the country.

We noted then the metrics deployed by industrial psychologists to measure these perceived traits or abilities. Weeee certainly have been unable to detect such within his feeble mouthings or actions.

We pondered whether Wickham could have been seeding the political turf with ideas which further his financial interests and wondered the extent to which there maybe a convergence between political engineering and a more vicious kind of monopolistic tendencies within economy.

Certainly, Yearwood could hardly convince the fish cake frying women and old men at George Street, even by their standards as based on how people look, or present, or dress, or how schooled, etc. that he’s some political force essential to the DLP’s future.

And concluded that vastly higher levels of analytical sophistication are required from a Wickham than the fish cake fryers at George Street. Unfortunately, what Wickham’s mouthings represent above are no different at all.

34. @ David
    The issue is not about Bushie.
    Perhaps Bushie’s so-called “contributions” are worth a little jobby- in comparison to the blessings that he may have been bestowed. Recall the parable of the poor widow?

The point is that it is really quite easy to differentiate between those (as you put it) “with a deep desire to serve”, and those who see a great opportunity to SUCK.

Obviously someone coming to GIVE is not likely to be PUSHY, combative or very forceful…. after all they have something of VALUE to GIVE to others…

On the other hand, OPPORTUNISTS will fight tooth and nail to grab the chance to fulfill their WANTS, and to realize THEIR personal dreams of greatness and acclaim…and to accumulate as much as they can while the chance presents…

How hard should it be for people who have benefited from over 80 years of absolutely FREE eddykashun – to see the difference….unless they have in brass…?

How hard is it to look around little brassbados to identify REAL leadership talents?

…and yet you seem to keep holding out HOPE that somewhere among the collection of parasites will emerge a form of salvation for us….

The problem has now ceased to be one of parasitic leaders, and morphed into idiotic compliance by the masses….
    How long do you think a righteous leader would last within the Mafia…? (and what the Hell would such a person be doing there in the first place..? LOL)

What a place.

35. @Bush Tea

The system depends on those with that deep desire to serve to crowd out those who are opportunists and want to ‘suck’. The fight between good and evil will be with us until end times. As you always remind us-

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.” (KJV)

36. Most Bajan politicians probably start out with intentions to ” serve ” but the power and opportunities to enhance their personal lives become their focus.

37. Ready and willing to serve Avatar
    Ready and willing to serve

I have often thought of serving the land of my birth, but was delaying my return.

Today, I realized that at the rate this group is going there will be nothing left for me if I delay any longer.

Blogmaster, BT, WS, the A guy, Donna, John A, enuff and Lorenzo, I am on my way home. I am willing and ready to serve. Your support will be highly appreciated.

Thank you

38. @ Hants
    Most Bajan politicians probably start out with intentions to ” serve ”…
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Not True.
    Persons with the intent to serve ‘start out’ in primary school…

It starts with being able to be a part of the class, to follow the rules, to ADD value to the class.

It can be seen in sports, in the community, – assisting neighbors, being part of the youth group, helping old folks with chores etc.

These persons then go on to lead youth / church/ community / Sports groups – and some actually MAKE THINGS HAPPEN.
    THIS is the pool we should be exploring…

When someone expresses ‘intentions to serve’ we need only look into their PAST…
    It does NOT start when they suddenly ’see the need’ (opportunity?) to serve…

The others are politicians.

39. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

#CircledBack @Bush Tea

“The system depends on those with that deep desire to serve to crowd out those who are opportunists and want to ‘suck’. The fight between good and evil will be with us until end times. As you always remind us” – “For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.” (KJV)

TWO LINES OF THOUGHT (though “sincere”) CAN BOTH BE EITHER “right” OR “wrong” – IN THIS INSTANCE, BOTH HAVE TRACTIONAL VALUE!!!

The #Blogmaster is correct in citing Ephesians 6:12 – however, amidst the “DAMNABLE, HERETICAL FORCES” humans are up against – “THE POWER OF CHOICE” remains sacrosanct!!!

When men “PURPOSE IN THEIR HEARTS” to NOT* be “DEFILED” by a “PORTION” of the king’s “MEAT” – as did the #ProphetDaniel & the #3HebrewBoys: Hananiah, Mishael & Azariah – the “CHOICE” is clear & concise – free from contestation, comodulating or censure!!!

Sadly, as #BushTea opined, the “PARASITIC EPENTHESIS” as seen by those whom we place in positions of authority – exhibit rather callously a type of scrofulous behaviour akin to “SEXUAL DEVIANCY” – where they “LEECH” off their “VICTIMS” in a form of pestiferous, cancerous, biliousness – “SUCKING” the “LIFE-FORCE” from their victims until nothing is left!!!

These may be “HARD WORDS” but if we are “INTELLECTUALLY HONEST” – without the “SACRED BENEFIT” of “SPIRITUAL OR MORAL VALUES” – we can all agree that the apoplectic & dyspeptic nature of our “POLYTRICKS” grows more & more “ANARCHIC” by the day!!!

It is for this reason “ALONE” that I have “SPOILED” my “BALLOTS” in “BARBADOS”, the UK* & elsewhere (choosing 2 vote 4 “CHRIST” – clearly outlined on the piece of paper) because of the hysterical nature of #PoLIEticians, in their frenzied, morbid-like penchants, when it comes to “GOVERNANCE” & the “PARANOIA” that is levelled against “OPPOSITION” candidates, that can only be described as choleric & melancholic – causing people like myself to simply “SWITCH-OFF”!!!

I am yet to “DISCOVER”, clean, decent (and I am going to use the word) – “POLITICS”…

WHAT A SAD WORLD – WHEN THE THING THAT OUGHT TO INSPIRE YOU, LITERALLY, DISGUST YOU!!!

Some of us are of the belief that we will “NEVER” see “GOOD, CLEAN GOVERNANCE” – until the “KINGDOM OF YESHUA MESSIAH COMES”!!!

Till then, #AllHopeIsLost

EVEN RONALD REAGAN HAD 2 OPINE & ADMIT THAT GOV* WAS THE PROBLEM & NOT THE SOLUTION – SO WHERE DO WE GO FROM HERE???

40. Politics, Politics
    Will lead you astray

41. @TB

How do you propose for mankind to govern? Any made construct by definition will come with inherent constraints. Your generalization of politicians does not cut it because they walk among us and come from among us.

42. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

“How do you propose for mankind to govern?”

#Simple:

“WE KEEP BEATING THE DEAD HORSE” – UNTIL THE KINGDOM COMES – AMEN!!!

43. real real Bajans speak.

44. @TB

That is not a very proactive approach to adopt is it?

45. Your generalization of politicians does not cut it because they walk among us and come from among us.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Correct!
    This is why as stated before,
    “The problem has now ceased to be one of parasitic leaders, and morphed into idiotic compliance by the masses….”
    The solution therefore is no longer one of ‘FINDING righteous leaders’, but of purging a hopeless society.
    Think Sodom and Gomorrah, after not even five righteous men could be identified….
    The Big boss may as well start over with a fresh slate – like Pacha has been prescribing here…

46. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

“That is not a very proactive approach to adopt is it?”

“WHAT WOULD YOU SUGGEST AS A #ProactiveMeasure???”

You wanted my philosophical “REACTION”, Bruh, & I gave it in one sentence!!!

HERE ARE A FEW MORE, BELOVED

I am tired of arguing the “VAGARIES OF SO-CALLED ENLIGHTEMENT EPISTEMOLOGIES” when it comes to “GOVERNANCE” – for they have “ALL FAILED HUMANITY”: #Miserably!!!

My dear CUZ, #BATMANSteve & his “SIDEKICK” #ROBINYearwood are just “POLIETICAL ANIMALS” whose time has come for them to go out find green pastures & “GRAZE IN THE LAND OF NOD”!!!

@BUSH TEA is again “CORRECT” in citing “The Big boss may as well start over with a fresh slate…” & “HE WILL VERY SOON”!!!

#StayTuned