Of late the blogmaster has been reluctant to post new blogs about the continuing demise of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP). The main reason is that a large number of Barbadians have lost interest in what unfolds in George Street. The blogmaster’s perspective is supported by waning hits generated on blogs dealing with DLP issues.

The news that elected President Dr. Ronnie Yearwood and General Secretary Steve Blackett were expelled by the General Council was not unexpected for some of us. The Irresistible Force Paradox which asks what happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object is relevant to the implosion occurring with the leadership of the DLP? The inability of the DLP to efficiently leverage the crossing of the floor by Ralph Thorne in February this year, AND, embrace President of the DLP Dr. Ronnie Yearwood who was elected in May 2022 continue to have national implications for the sustainability of the country’s system of governance.

A big part of the problem for the DLP is having to treat the ‘hangover’ of the loss decade- branded with telling effect by the BLP- and subsequent violent reaction it provoked from the electorate. Barbadians have developed a strong distrust and loss of confidence in the DLP since because of the embarrassment suffered during that period. The inability of the DLP to demonstrate it has the capacity to do a 2018 post mortem, execute an action plan in reasonable timeframe to remain relevant to an apathetic and cynical electorate does not augur well for them.

Thorne crossing the floor served as a litmus test to expose the leadership vacuum and divide in the DLP sooner rather than later. Thorne didn’t help by appointing two Senate picks without consulting the DLP hierarchy knowing his plan was to apply for membership of the DLP. This single decision has fuelled the distrust between President Yearwood and General Secretary Steve Blackett. The opposite is also true, Yearwood and Blackett did not respond to the problem to give room for a mutually beneficial outcome.

Of interest is that one of Thorne’s Senate picks, Senator Tricia Watson has been deliberate to stay above the rift in public. There is a view circulating that she is opportunistically waiting in the wings to pick up the pieces.

In response to the ouster from the party, Blackett has wasted little time sending a clarion call to the general membership of the DLP, to come out in numbers at the upcoming annual general conference to oppose the decision. Yearwood is quoted as saying it is a dark time in DLP politics.

Steve Blackett – Source: Starcom
Dr. Ronnie Yearwood – Source: Starcom

Despite all the feel good statements from DLP talking heads, the blogmaster has been around local politics long enough to anticipate the ongoing imbroglio is not a binary one to solve. There is no single person in the leadership space with the qualities to bind the DLP factions. In order for the party to move forward an agreement with Blackett and Yearwood has to be negotiated. Yearwood and Blackett have support within the party. In case you have to be reminded Yearwood was elected to serve two years in May 2022.

How will the general membership respond at the conference next week to 33 members of the General Council overturning a decisions of hundreds. of members of the general body?

211 responses to “DEMS now, DEMS again?”

1. Deleterious

2. There is little one can say about Fruendel Stuart. Whilst his people were suffering and living in destitution, and the country’s coffers were been looted by his colleagues; he remained aloof and sort refuse in his closet getting high on Latin and the classics.

This was a man from a humble stock whose mother toiled working in a home as a domestic employee.

Here was a man who had real and not imaginary experience of what it was like to be an underdog in Barbados.

Pachamama, both you and I would have to be idiots to expect that Barbados will ever change for the better. We can only look on as casual onlookers and like the great chess masters remain 5 steps ahead of Mia’s next “deliberate mis-managed” moves. Let’s give her some credit for talking a good fight and keeping her public on-side.

3. TLSN

Generally agreed!

4. David et al

Stop grasping!! Echo chambering breeds such responses. Watch muh!

5. @Enuff

That last comment is meant to defend your questionable comment comparing PAP with the BLP?

If yes it is a big FAIL.

6. I did no such comparison of the two parties. You’d get zero. Stop grasping. Ain’t this the same Singapore you and the BUI love to reference as the envied model?

7. In a democracy people can talk shite and write shite and quarrel with each other.

That is what the members of the DLP and the majority of the bloggers on BU are doing including me.

Barbados is a democratic country…..fuh now!

8. The blogmaster offers an apology.

“ I just want to remind or inform that Singapore has had the same party (PAP) in power since independence.”

9. I listening to Down to Brasstacks.

people are talking shite as is their democratic right.

10. @ Enuff
    Assuming that Bushie is the ‘et al’ @10:40 am…

Can you agree that NONE of the examples of dishonesty, waste, inefficiency and incompetence – ALL OF WHICH HAVE BEEN LEFT TO FESTER In Brassbados, would have been tolerated in Singapore?

Do you agree that the CLICO ‘green verber’ -who robbed COUNTLESS Bajans of their savings COULD NOT have continued to evade justice in Singapore ..like bout here?

Do you know that infrastructural projects in Singapore are executed by professionals, under high class performance standards and accountability? …and that these projects are almost always successful?

These are some of the reasons why people in Singapore HAVE NO NEED for a second party.

But in Brassbados, we NEED at least two parties.
    This is so because we think that it makes sense to ‘put a thief to catch a thief’.

Unfortunately, our two thieving parties have now become ONE DUOPOLY (B/DLP) – and are jointly making us shiite…
    Perhaps this is why Stinkliar was so quick to settle the Four Seasons payments?
    …and why he got that cushy job up North?

It is best to let sleeping bushmen sleep…

What a place

11. David
    Your problem is that you’re focused on PAP when the operative word is–same. Given the topic of this blog, I thought that would be self-explanatory. Anyway enough of this echo chamber, clearly many here are still reading to respond rather than to understand.

12. If that is your interpretation Enuff, run with it.

13. It boggles the mind that Pedro Shepherd and Andre Worrell were appointed caretaker President and GS until the annual conference can resolve the leadership challenge and they would permit this meeting to occur on the weekend.

14. The functions of the party do not stop.

Caretakers must of necessity take care of something.

Weeee shouldn’t have to be Einstein to work that out.

On the other hand, we don’t recall your critique of the activities of that asshole, pun intended, Yearwood, when last weekend he too was engaged in activities after the party hand expresssly expelled him.

Moreover, that Yearwood and Blackett have continued to ignore the rulings of the party also seemed to have missed your notice. How selective!

Jesús Christ, is it possible for there to be more anti DLP actions by this now former president.

15. We’re also informed that the AGM is to be held this weekend. Should the caretakers not plan for this as well?

And if no, is this event not vastly more significant.

More troubling, is the perception that Yearwood and/or Blackett seem to be high jacking the DLP’s social media presence still.

This tells us a few things.

One, that the DLP is still operating within a bygone era.

Two, that Yearwood and/or Blackett is/are the lowest forms of human excreta.

Three, that the councils decisions are justified.

16. So Freundel values his friendship with the political grasshopper Thorne and believes he can lead the DLP back to prominence.

Somehow, I lean towards Ricky Williams’ view of Thorne and in a Gov’t with the most bloated cabinet in the history of Barbados, Mia avoided him like the plague.

Misery loves company and Freundel would love nothing more than to see his old law school buddy join him as a 30 love loser.

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

Froon could talk. After reinforcing the Knoxian line w.r.t. the DLP constitution, where members must abide by ALL parts, he goes on to mention legislation enacted by DLP government’s, including the NIS and the Act which governs it.
    Yet, in the 10 yrs from 08-18, they did not file a single Annual Report, as required by an Act they created?
    Were they not picking and choosing what sections they would follow or ignore?
    But now the hat is elsewhere, he speaks of following the party rules in their entirety.

18. The fact Barbadians continue to scoff at Stuart’s mouthings supports the point the DLP caretakers should have paused that constituency meeting headlining Stuart. It was too fundamental a decision given the history.

19. the DLP caretakers should have paused that constituency meeting headlining Stuart.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The fact that those clowns are UNABLE to see the basic FOLLY of bringing Froon to the public – AFTER HIS LAST APPEARANCE CAUSED THE SECOND 30-0, speaks volumes of the intellect of the DLP and its current leaders.

Not only the dumb Blackette and the gold-digger lecturer, but ALSO the caretakers.
    How are these people selected? …what’s left after the smarter ones decline?

The chap who was in the teachers union was pathetic from back then, and as Bushie will ALWAYS maintain, you just have to look a a fellow’s history to determine his present AND to predict his future.
    Once a clown….

20. In the closed inner circle clique of people called the D̶L̶P̶ what his face stuart is very important to those DLPs who only see their own puffed up sense of self importance in their little world in little island

They will always say that D̶L̶P̶ is spectacular but are blind to reality

they are void of listening to constructive and real criticism and will only counter it with whatever excuse they can think of

like losing is just part of life and they did win back in the day when they reminisce about their war stories

21. Sometime you are frighteningly coherent ya know Kiki….
    Especially when you leave out the damn videos…LOL

Any Party whose main rallying point continues to be ‘Errol Barrow’, ..DECADES after his death, should by now have recognized that they are HEADED IN THE WRONG DIRECTION.

With free eddykashun, increased opportunities, independence from the albino-centric slave traders, one SHOULD have expected a MULTITUDE of new heroes – MUCH GREATER than Barrow.. to have evolved.

Instead all we get are a bunch of lackies whose MAIN CLAIM is that they ‘knew’ Barrow, that they are ‘Barrow imitations’…, or that they worship his memory.

…a literal decline into brassbowlery.

What a place!!

22. Same logic applies to the following systems
    schools
    bu
    barbados

big fishes in the little ponds syndrome for those living in their homeland island..
    as opposed to throw a shade crew who have traveled / lived abroad but still visit Bu

23. the latter* are little fishes in big ponds

24. Stuart describes the DLP lineage as a great tale from 1951 to 2013 when he was the last ruler of their kingdom.

But, lineages can come to end, and we are at the end, or at the beginning of the end for DLP story.

He argues about blindly following the inherited DLP constitution, but the rule about party leader being an MP was not written for the case of 0 seats and then someone who crossed the floor, and he is misinterpreting the meaning and intent of the DLP Constitution System(*). It is abhorrent that a BLP member takes over DLP in 6 months and it is a sign that DLP are desperate and have no shame in their game.

(*) Systems are never produced in one go, and are not rules and laws cast in stone, they are amended, modified, improved and shortened over time, or even all the time. Systems are also archived and replaced for better ones.

25. Shiite Kiki…
    Well said YET AGAIN.

Leadership is NOT about slavishly following shiite rules and traditions, but about the NEVER-ENDING challenge of seeking perfection by getting better and better.

Instead of some stupid legalistic mumbo jumbo about what the DLP constitution (written by less than perfect brass bowls years ago) says, we SHOULD be expecting WISE, informed discussion on WHAT IS BEST FOR THE PARTY going forward.

Same identical shiite with the Country.
    It is OBVIOUS that the constitution was FLAWED in not making proper provision for the case where there is 30-0.
    But did we have WISE, informed, discussion and reviews leading to CONSTRUCTIVE amendments, leading towards a more-perfect constitution…?

NO!!!
    Mainly a bunch of shiite lawyers seeking to justify the petty interest of their current political interests…. while the WHOLE thing looks ILLEGAL!!!

So take 100% …when you talk about the need for the continuous development of systems…

Pacha like he right bout you yuh….
    …although Bushie would still ban your little Asian burro for a week or two… hahaha

26. I don’t know what are you moaning about for last 2 years
    66% of my comments are removed on a typical day
    with less than 50% on a good day
    (I won’t say by who as he can be a bit moody)

I am ahead of the Bu mind and the music occupies my time and mind while I wait for people to catch up, it also gives me cool meditation and something interesting to listen to when I revisit the page surfing the net

music has important points and messages, wisdom and lessons

if people listened to song lyrics feeling the music vibration inside it would open up the energy channels for an inner alchemy which would rise to their crown to think clearer, the beat of the drum is black peoples means of communication and is the sound of the heartbeat

27. You made me rush to read the writings of my hero (000).
    I must confess
    I am not impressed
    Looks like he had some good stuff
    But definitely not enuff
    Or we would be bombarded with tunes and lyrics
    From his collection of what I call musick
    🙂

28. At 8:33 above Pacha posted that the criminals Yearwood and/or Blackette had highjacked the DLP’s social media account/s.

Are holding it ransom!

Now on Thorne’s Facebook account a message has appeared saying exactly this, in essense.

What are the chances of that, call the CIA and find out!

An interested person may want to copy and paste.

29. These boys are behaving like sissys.

Maybe a sign of an era where woke-ism and bulling looms large!

30. Who operates the DLP social media accounts?
    It is probably administered by DLP youth
    not the old guard or yearwood or blackett

31. Kiki

You are purporting to be dealing with probabilities, but not really. Not science, guess work.

We have an assertive stated from the account of the party leader and earlier observations.

Pacha’s life has been based within the scientific methods, are you not a bit beyond yours, as inspired by Bushie’s most recent positive reviews.

Now, you maybe operating outside of your pay grade! Thanks to your new best friend Bushie!

32. DLP facing extinction

THE EVENTS IN the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) following the formal expulsion of its president and general secretary, Ronnie Yearwood and Steve Blackett, suggest strongly that it faces a deep existential crisis and even possible extinction.

In this article, I offer diagnoses about why possible DLP extinction is now overwhelming. I indicate the conditions which may hasten or halt this extinction, and I conclude by offering some observations on the likely outcome based on current reality.

The event which has raised the likelihood of a DLP extinction is the failure of any of the warring factions to gain full control of the party apparatus. While I have argued previously that a settled Ralph Thorne leadership offers a better prospect for the short-term recovery of the DLP, it is clear from the prolonged nature of the internal split, and from the scorched earth policy of the expelled factions, that no faction within the DLP has been able to decisively heal the internal split. No section is so weak that it cannot divide the party and no section is so strong that it can unite it. In addition, there is always the possibility of the ruling Barbados Labour Party (BLP) calling another early election. It is unlikely that the DLP can survive three consecutive 30-0 defeats. It is also possible that one of the DLP factions can reconstitute itself into an alternative grouping under a new name. Finally, it is also possible that a third party, unrelated to either of the warring factions, can emerge.

The first condition for avoiding extinction of the DLP is that there must be a decisive victory of one group over the other and there must be a total commitment to conform to a new status quo by a vanquished group. Only a party conference or a national election can provide the context for such a scenario. No amount of calling the police or citing of previous convention votes can resolve the leadership stalemate.

What then is the likely future of the DLP given the current reality? The next DLP convention or next general election will decide. However, we can say with certainty that the DLP is likely to lose the next election, bringing the party exactly back to where it was in 2018. Fifteen years later, the quest will still be to achieve the barest minimum goals: to win one seat and to find a leader that galvanises all.

Time will not wait for the DLP forever. There have been other long-standing parties that have emerged and have disappeared. Where is Eric Gairy’s Grenada United Labour Party? Where is Eugenia Charles’ Dominica Freedom Party? If the DLP does not resolve its post-election leadership crisis at the quickest possible time, the possibility of its extinction is very great.

Tennyson Joseph is Associate Professor of Political Science at North Carolina Central University. Email tjoe2008@live.com

33. Online voting concern

DLP member not convinced of data security during conference

by COLVILLE MOUNSEY

colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY’S (DLP) upcoming annual general conference is facing yet another potential obstacle, as one member of the party has lodged an official complaint challenging the provisions for online voting.

Theodora Corbin, a longstanding party member, has raised some concerns regarding the handling of sensitive personal data within the new voting system, prompting her to seek an investigation by the Data Protection Commissioner.

In a letter dated August 21, 2024, addressed to Lisa Greaves, the Data Protection Commissioner, Corbin detailed her apprehensions about the legality and transparency of the DLP’s online voting system. The letter, which has since been made public, outlined several key issues that Corbin argued violated the Data Protection Act, 2019.

Central to Corbin’s complaint is the assertion that the data processed by the online voting system includes political opinions, classifying it as sensitive personal data under the Act. She argues that the DLP has not met the stringent requirements necessary for processing such data, particularly in the absence of a Data Protection Impact Assessment (DPIA), which is mandatory for any processing likely to result in high risks to personal freedoms and rights.

“The nature of the data being processed inherently includes political opinions, classifying it as sensitive personal data under Part II, Section 9 of the Data Protection Act, 2019-29,” Corbin wrote. She emphasised that “this section mandates that sensitive personal data may only be processed under specific conditions, none of which have been demonstrably met by the DLP in this instance”.

However, when contacted, conference chair Quincy Jones made it clear that requisite permissions were obtained from the party’s highest body.

“All I would say is that approval was granted at the general council where we went through the online voting. There is no breach of the Data Protection Act and we will continue to stay focused for this year’s conference,” Jones said.

Lack of transparency

Corbin also highlighted the lack of transparency in the DLP’s data processing activities.

“There has been no information on how personal data will be collected, processed, stored, or secured with the deployment of this new system,” she stated, arguing that this lack of clarity was a fundamental breach of the Act. Moreover, she criticised the party for failing to obtain explicit consent or provide a substantial legal basis for processing members’ data.

In her appeal to the Data Protection Commissioner, Corbin urged a swift investigation to ensure that the DLP complied with all relevant aspects of the Data Protection Act.

“The lack of clarity, transparency and adherence to legal obligations is alarming and poses severe risks to the privacy and personal data of all members involved,” she said. Corbin called for immediate corrective action to address these issues before the conference.

This complaint comes at a critical juncture for the DLP, as the party’s general conference, scheduled to begin tomorrow, will see the election of key positions on both the general council and the executive council. These seats are expected to be highly contested and the stakes are particularly high in light of the ongoing internal strife that has plagued the party in recent months.

The infighting reached a peak earlier this year, resulting in the expulsion of both the party president Dr Ronnie Yearwood and general secretary Steve Blackett.

The Data Protection Act, which came into effect in March 2021, was designed to regulate the collection, processing and storage of personal data, aligning Barbados with international standards on data privacy. The Act imposes strict obligations on organisations that handle personal data, particularly sensitive data such as political opinions, which are afforded enhanced protections under the law.

Key provisions of the Act include the requirement for explicit consent from data subjects before processing their data, the need for organisations to conduct a DPIA when high-risk data processing is involved and the rights of individuals to access, rectify and be informed about how their data is used. Failure to comply with these provisions could result in significant penalties, including fines and sanctions.

34. “Pacha’s life has been based within the scientific methods, are you not a bit beyond yours, as inspired by Bushie’s most recent positive reviews.”

I deal with
    reality

people in public spotlight don’t operate their social media accounts
    their PAs or interns do

you have made a wrong assumption that blackette and yearwood were typing facebook messages

35. The issue in this case to depart from a generalization is how did the Blackett factor gain access to social media channels. The obvious answer is that the caretakers didn’t change passwords.

36. The obvious answer is “they” always had access to the accounts
    as they were the ones who set them up
    and that’s why they are anti-Thorne

you can call it grass roots push back resistance movement if you like

37. You are clueless about this matter.

38. You are biased about this matter

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

Not an area of expertise, but one only needs access to the email associated with a social media account to change passwords?
    The management of such things in many associations tends to be lax.

40. @NO

That is correct. When the order was given by the court you would have thought on the checklist – ‘change passwords for all party social media and other channels?’

41. LOL @ Pacha
    “Now, you maybe operating outside of your pay grade! Thanks to your new best friend Bushie!”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Don’t blame Bushie!
    Kiki has been operating outside of his pay grade now for YEARS.

Blame the Blog Master for ONLY filtering 2/3 of the submissions – rather than banning his butt for a few weeks …as suggested by the Bushman.

Like a broken clock, even Kiki happened to be correct on a few occasions over a 24 hr period…. and the bushman has to call it as he sees it Boss…
    hahaha

42. Thanks for the articles above, two!

Kiki, please take guidance.

With Joseph, we have generally agree with his estimates. However, he maybe underestimating the power of a duopoly this time around. Even to the extent where it might continue to exist under different names or formulations.

Can this not be ascribed to both the D/BLP currently or as a function of their histories.

And while we must remind readers that with Joseph weee often found similar views, on this occasion we wish to depart slightly.

In doing so we remind Joseph that it’s impossible to be a political scientist unless well rooted in history.

But even when one elects to ignore the political histories there can be no estimate which allows us to arrive at the conclusion that there is any other formulation of political forces currently which might displace either of the two leading parties.

Indeed, the people who might best pretend, Blackette and Yearwood, are already serial losers, have not distinguished themselves while in charge of the DLP with results, and are now relegated, or will be, to a larger group of leaders of socalled third-parties which have almost never made a mark.

There are reasons why in political science the term elected dictatorship is sometimes used to represent the system like exists in Barbados.

43. Are people forgetting that MAM and OSA had a long-running war between them, which lasted years, before MAM emerged as the dominant political force in Barbados.

Is it not possible that Barbados has such another “Mottley revolution”, as Beckles termed it, emergent?

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

44. I made 2 simple points that DLP are still awe struck and suck up to their old boss
    and Stuart’s reasoning and interpretation about the DLP constitution is missing and their constitutional algorithm has a bug that needs a fix.

that’s the analytical mind of an analyst speaking.

45. A Thorne Revolution tempered by the hot fires of conflict!

And are these fires not indispensable in making or giving birth to leaders?

46. This is a boring subject, but it points to the new guys not having control of their social media accounts

The Democratic Labour Party will soon introduce a new social media presence. Acting President of the DLP Andre Worrell made the announcement while condemning the hosting of a meeting last evening under the auspices of the Party.

https://x.com/CBCBARBADOS/status/1825684159412437028

47. Who will be the controlling mega donor to the political parties in Barbados?

The DLP will need millions of dollars to avoid another MIA massacre.

48. “A Thorne Revolution tempered by the hot fires of conflict!
    And are these fires not indispensable in making or giving birth to leaders?”

Perhaps they have now split the party into two
    which would serve them right
    2 DLPs for the price of one

49. How come the Mottley-Arthur embroilio didn’t split the BLP into two, or three, or four etc.

Furthermore if any of the factions fail to win, and these would most likely be those out of control of the original party core, then the operations of the duopoly shall act to assign them, as happened with the NDP.

50. Despite rhetoric public rift between Arthur and Mottley Arthur always in control of the party.