There is an understandable relentless focus on the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), entrenched member of the duopoly. Local pundits have analysed ad nauseam why credible alternative political parties have not emerged post 1966. Is seems the lack of a diverse culture means political parties that present in Barbados are unlikely to be philosophically different. If this is a reasonable perspective then the challenge must be the inability of our two main political parties to attract members and aspiring politicians of integrity with adequate skillsets.

Since the Mottley government received an unprecedented mandate to govern Barbados in 2018 there has been a recurring concern for many. The blogmaster is a firm believer in leaders leading by example because what monkey see monkey do. In a simple to understand analogy, we cannot be a heavily indebted country requesting daily assistance from the IMF, IDB, World Bank. Begging the Chinese to build a stadium and by our decisions and attitudes be pompasetting with champagne taste.

A couple months after Prime Minister Mottley won office she gave an interview to veteran journalist David Ellis. Many of the issues she complained about then, including the heavy recruitment of consultants by the previous DLP government continues to be practiced by her government.

The one that continues to irk the blogmaster is Mottley justifying the appointment of a large Cabinet in the prevailing economic climate. A climate defined by the government having to finance large budget deficits. The facile defence offered by government supporters that cutting numbers in the Cabinet would not generate significant savings is nonsense. It is about setting an example for households in the country to model required behaviour. Some refer to it as getting the optics right. Prime Minister Mottley hides behind the argument that many hands make light work and she will use results at the 2018 and 2022 polls to validate the decision to pad the front bench.

Having won two general elections by ridiculous margins Mottley should not feel vindicated. Her government won in 2018 and 2022 because the DLP imploded and up to this day has not recovered to be seen as a credible alternative in the eyes of the public. The BLP is a government by default.

As the imbroglio at George Street plays out under the harsh glare of the public, Barbadians need to participate in constructive debate about how we can improve our system of government and all that goes is related.

Can Barbadians honestly say that they are happy with the trajectory we are on as a nation? This is not what Mottley and her talking heads are saying, it is what you as an intelligent being is thinking.

100 responses to “Is Mottley leading?”

1. Improving our system of government. Equalization of the IMF, WB and other Collective Western debt traps with the Chinese. Barbados is not alone with decadence. Consultants and blotted cabinet.

What if this system of government cannot be improved, as we see global degeneration of the Collective Western so-called capitalist democracies?

Seems unbalanced to equalize the gift of a second stadium, within 30 years or so, with the IMF, WB etc. For China, though less than perfect, has had no similar colonial, still, relationships with Barbados.

Maybe the writer could tell us how many countries similarly situated are doing better than Barbados. Is it not time to find another way forward?

This writer has, from the beginning, given the Mottley regime the benefit of doubt in relationship to consultants and ministries.

Based on the reasoning that if somebody could win 30-love twice that dey should be afforded the means dey deem necessary for success.

And while it now accepted that many more hands are not making light work, and never will. However, the orders of magnitude of the problems we face make such a marginal budgetary consideration pale in comparison.

Barbados is going to hell in a hand basket and nobody else will save it.

Is it not time to dispense with jaded canards and grow some balls!

2. William Skinner Avatar

We see irony of all ironies. David Ellis , (during COVID)had a stint as a “consultant”. It didn’t last too long. We were never told why it was so short , after all the fanfare of his appointment. Talk about transparency and accountability. Who will guard the guardians ?
    Prime Minister Mia Mottley “doth bestride the narrow world like a Colossus…………..
    Our distinguished Prime Minister is in full and almost impregnable control.
    BTW , where is our equally distinguished Minister Of Sport , in all the World Cup happenings.
    We think that he was last seen trying to get goal bars for the BICO National Sports Council Primary School Football Tournament. Re: Today’s Daily Nation sports page : “Floored by lack of goal bars. ”
    He probbaly forgot that we all Fuh Cup right now.

3. correct the wrongs and make the wrongs rights Avatar
    correct the wrongs and make the wrongs rights

Politicians and PMs are not God’s prophets

Musicians and Singers and Players of Instruments are
    Mia knows this and quotes reggae lyrics in big speeches
    Following the path of least resistance

Jah Golden Rally Round Rastaman Camp lyrics
    Mia dumped Babylon the whore
    which I fully endorsed

Up! Up! Up!
    Politics should not impact your life as any teenager and righteous conscious youth full of life force energy could tell you when they stand up and take a stand for human rights and stand against human wrongs to correct the wrongs and make the wrongs rights you must never ever get your rights wrong

Spear Burning
    Calling our singers and musicians the originals
    We should come up with a plan
    So we can start it from
    Remember the first time you feel the vibe was original
    We should stick to the plan so we can start if from
    Remember the first time you write your song it was original
    We should stick to the plan so we can start if from

4. Impregnable control?

In more ways than one!

Be careful.

5. We could never have done it without you Avatar
    We could never have done it without you

Lucky Mia says
    “Thank you, thank you, thank you, DLP, We could never have done it without you”

Let’s hope she moves on to UN to fight the USA-UK-Israel Axes of Evils
    fingers crossed touch wood

6. Bajans have not only rejected the present-day dismal DLP, but all other political parties and every possible novel solution to our myriad problems.

We have been ‘educated’ to reject new ideas/methods/tools because we may make a mistake and get an X in our ‘exercise book’.

7. Yours is far too a simplistic equation.

8. What kind of leadership is expected for sheep?

9. A wolf!

10. Arrogant and entitled that is how Barbadians are perceived. Barbados is now all about optics, nothing else

https://caymannewsservice.com/2024/05/ppm-pushes-for-cost-details-of-cals-barbados-route/

Cayman Airways to Barbados was announced as a game changer by Shelly and the other idiots at BTMI. The route was a massive failure and not a peep from a single official. In Cayman islands on the other hand the Opposition took the government to task for the blunder (though it is said the airline lost nothing as Barbados basically paid them to travel here).

How about the World cup. Jamaica decided against bidding for any games and they backed up their decision and explained why to the public.

Minister Grange emphasised the need for responsible governance and sustainable development in the sporting arena. She stated, “I could not just follow my heart. As a responsible Minister, I am obliged to look beyond immediate gratification to sustainable sport development that will yield immeasurable rewards at all levels in Jamaica. I had to pay attention to the cost/benefit analysis, especially in a circumstance of limited resources.”

In Barbados, who knows how much we spent and how much we will make. But the PM is letting us tour the Oval and we get some slap dash road repaving done.

All about optics. No accountability, no evidence based decision making. and when evidence rears its ugly head, hide it, ignore, pretend it is wrong and last but no least cry SIDS, climate change and beg for more money

11. @Bush Tea

Would a leader promote Duguid?

Would a leader promote MP Gooding-Edghill leaving NIS job same as he found it?

What about Lisa Cummins and her predecessor who gave away 700K for a tourism slogan and ad campaign.

A good leader should ensure decisions are fair and in this case anchored to meritocracy.

12. Leadership!

“FORCE OF LAW’
    INSTALLED ON ROADS, EVR NOW AWAITS LAW TO ACTIVATE THEM
    by Emmanuel Joseph
    A new law will soon be in place to monitor registered vehicles on the roads, Ministry of Transport Permanent Secretary Andrew Gittens disclosed on Tuesday.
    The draft legislation is now being reviewed by the ministry to provide the legal framework required to usher in the long-awaited Electronic Vehicle Registration (EVR) monitoring, surveillance and tagging system that’s expected to be rolled out this year.
    “Even if it were totally finished, you would have to have the legislation in place,” Gittens told Barbados TODAY. “We were tagging some vehicles as government, but you have to get the legal basis to do it, to make it mandatory obviously. So that legislatio0n is drafted and it is being reviewed and refined just to make sure it is in place.”
    “But then,” the permanent secretary added, “there are also the other technical issues. We are working on rolling it out, but the legislation to give it the legal basis for the EVR has been drafted, is being reviewed, and shortly the ministry expects we would have something for Cabinet to sign off on”
    The top public servant anticipates the legislation should be laid in Parliament before the end of the year. “The fact that Cabinet has agreed that we should draft it, as long as there is no issue with it… because it is a priority really going forward. It is a priority for ministry… we would be able to… given the need to tag… monitor who is on the vehicle and how it is being used.”
    Closed circuit television (CCTV) cameras will form part of the EVR system to assist police in tracking drivers who flout traffic laws, Gittens said, adding that video surveillance would facilitate a more effective and efficiently functioning demerit points system by ticketing traffic violators rather than congesting the law courts with minor cases.
    The permanent secretary’s disclosurefollows the General Insurance Association of Barbados querying the delay in implementing the EVR.
    John Herbert, the head of the newly-formed road safety group, MakeItSafe Inc. (MISI), declaring that “we have lost control of our roads with our recklessness being the order of the day”, has identified the activation of the EVR as a key recommendation for making the nation’s roads safer.
    The five-month-old entity announced on Monday it will shortly present proposals to the government that, if implemented, would help put the brakes on reckless driving that has so far killed ten people including two in hit-andrun crashes this year.
    The MISI director said that with the roads already congested, about $100 million in insurance accident claims due to injury and death reported, and approximately 50 000 uninsured vehicles on the streets, this challenge will be compounded during the ICC’s Men’s T20 World Cup and the Crop Over festival immediately afterwards.
    The implementation of long-awaited and promised breathalyzer testing, and the activation of those surveillance cameras currently not in operation, are two other recommendations.
    “Immediately begin vehicle checks for registration and insurance and work with the GIAB [General Insurance Association of Barbados] to identify all registered and insured vehicles,” the MISI director told Barbados TODAY.
    Herbert added: “Make it a legal requirement for vehicle repairers to report all unexplained collisions… evidence of registration and insurance are required to be always in all vehicles.”
    “The next few weeks will not be business as usual. This is urgent, there is a clear and present danger. MakeItSafe is therefore calling on the authorities to give this matter the serious attention it deserves for the safety of all.”
    The road safety advocate suggested that the recommendations should be backed by the necessary laws.
    “People are just operating as though it is just open season for recklessness. Our position is that the authorities need to step up in order to bring order,” he argued.
    “There is an old adage that when the cats are away the mice will play. Right now, the mice are at play because nobody is watching.”
    He queried whether everyone is going to be safe on the roads, even as the authorities plan and prepare to host thousands of visitors from various parts of the world, pave streets in, and around The City, hotels and lodgings ready their facilities and security forces upgrade their strategies.
    “It’s a question that needs to be raised and answered,” the director of the road safety group insisted. emmanueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb

13. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

@Bush Tea
    “What kind of leadership is expected for sheep?”

Brotha’, you know what is said about “LEADERSHIP”…

CAN THE BLIND LEAD THE BLIND???

Will they not “ALL” fall into a pit???

You also know that a “GOOD SHEPHERD” looks after the “SHEEP” – for they know His voice & they will not follow another!!!

THOUGH HE IS THE GOOD SHEPHERD – HE IS ALSO THE LAMB THAT WAS LED TO THE SLAUGHTER…

You also know that #TheGoodShepherd puts the sheep on the #RightHand & the #GoatsOnTheLeft…

We were also warned: “RAVENOUS WOLVES IN SHEEP’S CLOTHING WOULD ENTER AMONGST THE FLOCK & WREAK HAVOC & DESTRUCTION”…

Peter was asked #3Times: “DO YOU LOVE ME”??? Answering in the affirmative, he was told to – “FEED MY SHEEP & FEED MY LAMBS”!!!

Who are the #OnlyPeople on earth whose “HAIR IS LIKE LAMB’S WOOL”???

IS THERE A STARK DIFFERENCE BETWEEN #Sheep & #Sheeple???

The term “SHEEP” can refer to people who are easily influenced, naïve, or lacking in critical thinking. The connotation is often used to describe individuals who “FOLLOW THE CROWD” without questioning or thinking for themselves…

SHEEPLE on the other hand, is a “PORTMANTEAU” of “SHEEP” & “PEOPLE.” It describes those individuals who are blindly following the crowd – often without questioning or critical thinking!!!

Sheeple are typically seen as people who are easily manipulated, gullible, & lacking in independent thought – people who are passive, conformist, & unwilling to challenge the “STATUS QUO”!!!

The “BIOLOGY”, “METAPHORICS”, “CONTEXT” & “BEHAVIOUR” will always determine whether there is “POSITIVE” or “NEGATIVE” that emanates from either situation!!!

14. It seems Barbadians’ definition of leadership need some work. We consider a lot of fluff sprinkled with little substance. Then again, in the land of the blind, the one eye person is king. Measuring leadership of anyone cannot be divorce from performance for what that person is responsible.

15. The complaints about the XXXL cabinet are unpatriotic and more.

This is not the motherland of parliamentary democracy. On our own mother continent, it is normal for the cabinet to feed entire tribes.

So if you want to be really woke, you should frenetically celebrate the big cabinet as soon as possible.

In addition, the big government has the great advantage that no MP will rebel because they all have a ministerial vehicle and numerous personal servants in the ministries. In other countries, dissident MPs have to be silenced using brute force. We have far more humane methods.

Tron
    Supreme admirer

16. Wonder if that fatty on bike, is representive of Mottley, by mere consistency with “presence”.

Or size?

Then the bony public, carrying the burden of a bloated government must be a thorn.

Both operating in vain!

17. The blogmaster running outta ideas? This piece about big Cabinet and consultants (10th edition) could be enlightening if the blogmaster didn’t start with his conclusion. No wonder Verla in the newspaper trying to convince Barbadians that they’re worse off now than May 2018.

18. good and bad leaders Avatar
    good and bad leaders

“Is Mottley leading?”

Is this a trick question?
    Yes she is
    No she isn’t

In my opinion Wars prove how good and bad leaders really are

19. While the DLP continues on its quest to implode, PM Mottley and the BLP exploit the feel good feeling of Barbadians by showing of a refurbished world class Kensington Oval. Some people never learn.

20. “In addition, the big government has the great advantage that no MP will rebel because they all have a ministerial vehicle and numerous personal servants in the ministries. In other countries, dissident MPs have to be silenced using brute force. We have far more humane methods.”

Tron

An excellent use of satire.

21. Enuff
    ” ….could be enlightening if the blogmaster didn’t start with his conclusion.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Obviously the Blogmaster is a well versed toastmaster…

Basic rule of thumb of a good presentation -(for the benefit of Enuff)
    1 – Summarize what you are about to say
    2 – Say what you have to present
    3 – Summarize what you have said.

If you don’t like the MESSAGE, …or if it HURTS every time that you are forcefully reminded, then say so…

BUT SO MANY promissory speeches/ so many SHIITE MINISTERS/ so many Pee Esses / and YET, ….SO consistently POOR results…. is a VALID topic that bears repetition.

The PROBLEM with absolute (30-0) power is that it tends to corrupt those who OFFERED to SERVE, into thinking themselves to be practically omnipotent.

BTW Enuff…
    What do you HONESTLY think about our importing YET ANOTHER white albino-centric – this time to run the QEH?
    How does this reinforce your government’s investment and confidence in the now almost 100 year-old UWI? …and how will the resulting NATIONAL embarrassment be addressed?

So do we ALSO need white, foreign educated PM and Senior Ministers to ALSO address the quagmire that national government has become..?

What a place……
    What a curse on our donkeys…

22. @Redguard
    Yours @11.09am

That is what you get when you have a 30 love Gov’t, there is no semblance of an opposition that the gov’t should at least provide some answers to, people get the gov’t they deserve. I am getting the impression that the World Cup is more “bread and circuses”, but no one has even ventured to offer an opinion about the possibility of losses.

Meanwhile, we got this.

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    During the DLP tenure they had a full opposition for most of it, and what difference did that make? Were the PACs enlightening? Did the opposition berate the Government for CBL, and for the myriad of public entities which ceased reporting? Did they tell us the Government was redirecting NIS contributions? Did they berate them for the handling of the NIS?
    Opposition’s are over rated.
    You think Ralphie calling out the Government for their continued lack of reporting would change one shite?

@BTea
    You need to research your QEH buddy. BTW at least the two prior were not Albinos, and they weren’t stars either. I suspect based on CV he was unemployed (when people begin consulting firms) for several months, and “we” took him off their (our friendly middle ear supporter) hands.

24. @enuff

That is the best response from you? All sensible Barbadians know that the many hands make light work mantra political in design to maintain harmony in the parliamentary group. All of us not stupid.

Enjoy your feeding.

25. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

THE VAGARIES OF HUMAN NATURE IS A FASCINATING EXPLORATORY STUDY – NO WONDER THE ROUTINIZATION OF MODERN LIFE SEETHES WITHIN A VACUUM OF MINDLESS TIME/SPACE DISTANCIATION – WHERE THE MENTAL IMMUNE SYSTEM OF THE MASSES IS SEVERELY COMPROMISED TO THE POINT OF (DIS)STRESS

In studying Dr Michael Nehls book #TheIndoctrinatedBrain – the evidence suggests that the “CHANGES” in the “BRAIN” make us more susceptible to this concept that I call “SUBLIMINAL INDOCTRINATION” – where the “INFLAMMATORY EFFECTS” of daily life (J.O.B) #JustOverBroke; #MoneyWorries where most are “OVERWORKED”, “UNDERPAID” & “UNDERAPPRECIATED”; #FamilyLife & its intricacies (juggling school runs, kids, meals & the 99 things that swamp a single day); notwithstanding, the #DailyAxioms of “TENSIONS” around daily living & the inability of most to completely “ZONE-OUT” & take a walk in the forest to “BATHE” in nature – creates inflammation (JUST AS IT DOES IN THE JOINTS, BACK & ELSEWHERE WITHIN THE BODY) – shutting down the nerve cells in the “HIPPOCAMPUS” & THE “AMYGDALA”!!!

The “INDOCTRINATED BRAIN”, written by a medical doctor & molecular geneticist, explores this concept of “INDOCTRINATION” & its effects on the human brain. The book presents a compelling argumentative investigation into the ways in which “EXTERNAL INFLUENCES” can threaten our “MENTAL AUTONOMY” and proposes strategies for individuals to safeguard their “MENTAL FREEDOM”, “MENTAL WELL-BEING” & “MENTAL HEALTH”!!!

The base reason why I cite Dr Nehl’s book is for the same reason why “BAJAN PEOPLE” gave an overwhelming “MANDATE” (#Twice) to a #PoLIEticalParty that at the end of the day would do precious little for them, while feathering their own nest – with most in “HINDSIGHT” wondering, why they were so “DAMN STUPID” to fall for all the “BULL-CRAP” that was piped down through a microphone & through the grapevine!!!

THE COVID PLANDEMIC WAS THE POSTER CASE IN POINT – THOUGH THAT IS NOW PROVING (#PresentContinuous) TO BE PURPOSEFULLY & FUNDAMENTALLY FLAWED SCIENCE, WITH ITS TERMINAL EFFECTS NURTURED, FOSTERED & INDOCTRINATEDLY SPEWED OUT USING THE BULWARKS OF FEAR*, CASTIGATION* & DEATH* – #The3Muskateers OF DAMNATION: A PSYCHOPS OF INSIDIOUS INDOCTRINATION THAT REMAINS PURITANICALLY TEXTBOOK ENSLAVEMENT!!!

The “INDOCTRINATED BRAIN” offers insights & introduces a largely unknown, powerful “NEUROBIOLOGICAL MECHANISM” that underlies catastrophic developments in “MENTAL CAPACITY”, “DEPRESSION RATES”, & even “ALZHEIMER’S DISEASE” – without even embarking on the “SOLA SCRIPTURA” of why people do the “CRAP” they do & make the “ASININE” decisions they make based on the “WORDS” of another “MINDLESS”, FACILE, INEPT HUMAN BEING – decisions that affect “LIFE CHANCES”, #OverAllHealth & even “LONGEVITY”!!!

Dr Knell argues that this mechanism is the result of a “TARGETED”, MASTERFULLY EXECUTED ATTACK” on our “INDIVIDUALITY” & “CONSCIOUSNESS” – launched by a “SELF-APPOINTED TECHNOCRATIC ELITE GROUP”!!!

#WeKnowWhoTheyAre & this why people like your humble servant will “CURSE” everything that “RAISES” its “UGLY HEAD” above the parapet to assault “RIGHTEOUSNESS”!!!

This book is a great read – providing detailed scientific support for the direct effects on the “HIPPOCAMPUS” (undoubtedly the most important “SOFTWARE TISSUE” in the “QUANTUM MAINFRAME” – “THE CREATOR GOD” has provided for “HUMAN BIOLOGICAL MACHINES” – embedded to offset these dire outcomes we are witnessing today. Dr Knell proposes practical strategies for individuals to reclaim their “MENTAL FREEDOM”, including “HEALTHY EATING”, “EXERCISE”, “GOOD SLEEP”, & having a “PURPOSE-DRIVEN LIFE”!!!

In the “REVIEWS” of this book #NaomiWolf, author of “THE BODIES OF OTHERS”, calls Dr Knell’s theory “as important as Sigmund Freud’s discovery of the subconscious, if not more so.” Stephanie Seneff, senior research scientist at MIT, describes the book as “a brilliant expose of the globalists’ dark agenda and the manipulative neurological tactics they’re using to achieve it,” & Monica Crowley, PhD, news analyst & former assistant secretary of the US Treasury, calls the book “a must-read” for anyone who wants to understand the enemy of indoctrination!!!

SO LET’S GET REAL!!!

We can discuss the #MOTTLEY_CREW_GOV all day long, (FOR AS MANY TIMES AS WE CHOOSE) given the predisposed “EMPTY VACUUM OF AN ECHO CHAMBER” we call #BarbadosUnderground, for “NOTHING WILL CHANGE” until the “MASSES” are set free from the “ANCIENT SHACKLES” of “MENTAL SLAVERY” that holds the 90%+ captive in “BODY”, “SOUL” & “SPIRIT” – (WITHOUT THEM EVEN KNOWING THAT THEY ARE ENSLAVED)!!!

This is not Dr Knell’s theory or anyone else’s for that matter – this is as “OLD” as time immemorial – yet even the so-called “ENLIGHTENED PUNDITS” on BU* & across that “LIL-ISLAND” are “BRAINWASHED”, “BRAINWARPED” & “CEREBRALLY-INDOCTRINATED” with “DUBIOUS PROGRAMMING” that will be “VIRTUALLY IMPOSSIBLE” to “DEBUG”, UNLEARN” or to “DEPLUG” from, or “DEPROGRAM” from without “RADICAL TRANSFORMATION” – throwing caution to the wind & letting the chips fall where they may!!!

But then, who can really stand that kinda’ “LIFE-ALTERING TRANSITION”???

26. Another observation that could have been included in this blog was elevating health officials, namely the minister at the time to ‘Honourable’ when he left the QEH the way he found it, a mess. Another example of rewarding mediocrity.

27. Still leading and speechifying.

28. @ NO
    “…at least the two prior were not Albinos, and they weren’t stars either.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Noted.
    ‘prior’ was intended to refer to the Tourism EX-Guru, etc.

Our ‘NATIONAL INFERIORITY COMPLEX’ is so ingrained, that we RESENT people such as Bynoe – of B’s Recycling, NASSAR, ROWE, Lowdown, and others who show up our pathetic weaknesses.

“None but ourselves can free our minds”
    This sounds good, BUT IN REALITY, it requires SPIRITUAL intervention, just to be able to first recognize the brainwashing CHAINS that bind us..

A curse is an awful chain…
    ..But ‘bush baths’ are available…

29. @David
    Yours@5.48am
    These titles are becoming meaningless. I can’t read and article or bump into someone at the Supermarket who doesn’t have the title “honourable”. Perhaps the title was bestowed on the Minister for keeping his mouth shut after being on the outside of the vaccine scam.

Sam Poochie and the duppy here we come.

I’ll leave it to “Laff it off” to generate a skit on the title scam.

30. William Skinner Avatar

Where is the Minister of Sport ?

31. Bushie 0810

Are you the man who is still looking to the stars?
    Is your mind not desirous of freedom as well?
    And how could such mental capture not be of the unfree?
    Has it ever occurred to you that the people you called are mostly no different than the rest, except and as characteristic of this system, they might have a few more dollars for at least one generation. They too are even more fundamentally and spiritually broken?

32. @ Donna,
    Several weeks ago, the great Waru, announced that a hill in Bathsheba had been demolished.
    Our lazy media has finally honed in on the story.

I understand the temptation to look outside the box in order to make comparisons; and to use this as an excuse that life ain’t so bad in Barbados.

I will leave you to be the judge to decide if having such a mindset best serves the interest of your boy and your country men and women.

The mother country could sink in the sea and I would not bat an island. It seems you think the same for your beloved Barbados. How sad.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1f9pL006wpA

33. @ Donna,
    This is what you get in a country with no opposition, and when a Prime Minister also holds the Minister of Finance portfolio. There is no other game in town – period. Your hide done cut already.

The domestic Bajan needs to focus their energy on what is taking place in their own country. I have my ideas on Mia and her autocratic style of governing.I know what is taking place in Little England and I can forecast how it will end.

Never feel content that other countries have it worse then us. By the time you arise from your slumber you may find yourself landless.

34. David

“That is the best response from you? All sensible Barbadians know that the many hands make light work mantra political in design to maintain harmony in the parliamentary group. All of us not stupid.”

I am stupid though. So that’s why I am asking for more. They can’t only be for political value.

35. @Enuff

It is the best available. The performance of the abundance of ministers in cabinet has not been stellar. What KPIs can citizens use anyway, we are at the mercy of the PM’s subjective assessment.

36. William Skinner Avatar

@ TLSN
    “This is what you get in a country with no opposition, and when a Prime Minister also holds the Minister of Finance portfolio. There is no other game in town – period. Your hide done cut already.” (TLSN )
    You may be surprised that many of us like it so. Once their party is in power, they simply don’t give a damn. We have already been told that the die-hards , do not give a damn about : transparency, accountability or corruption.
    We thought all like now one of the TWIN , would have been languishing at Dodds.
    And before that we thought one of the TWIN would have been languishing at Glendairy/Dodds.
    Surprise ! The TWIN are both free .
    Sparrow said “we like it so.”
    And we do.

37. @enuff see William’s last comment #redbag

38. Bajans enjoying life.The maguffees on BU can pontificate on politics and the economy.

https://nationnews.com/2024/05/30/focus-shifts-to-rally-barbados/

39. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

THE CONCEPT OF “HONOUR” DOES NOT IMPLY, IMPOSE OR PRESUPPOSE THAT A PERSON WILL BE #Honourable IN THEIR DEALINGS WITH THE POWER STRUCTURES BUILT AS PROTOZOIC GUARDWALLS WITHIN THE FRAGILE AMEBA OF THE CELL WE CALL #Society

The Merriam Webster dictionaried definition of “NOBLESSE OBLIGE” is a French expression that means that “SO-CALLED UPPITY FOLKS” based on nobility or #PoLIEticalPersuasion extends beyond mere “ENTITLEMENT”, requiring individuals who hold such “STATUS” 2 #FulfilSocialResponsibilities, given that the obligation of “HONOURABLE”, “GENEROUS”, & “RESPONSIBLE BEHAVIOUR” associated with “HIGH SOCIETAL RANK or “PRIVILEGES OF BIRTH” carries within its very genus, the “MANDATED” notion of “SERVANTHOOD”!!!

DO NOT HOLD YOUR BREATH

Louis XVI on January 21st, 1793, the last king of France before the “FRENCH REVOLUTION”, “LOST HIS HEAD” – executed by guillotine during the “REIGN OF TERROR” that engulfed a nation – in a time some called – “THE AGE OF REASON”!!!

At his trial 4 days prior, the #FrenchNationalConvention “CONVICTED” the king of “HIGH TREASON” (a “hanging” postmodern “CRIME MANY POLIETICAL LEADERS” are “NOW” guilty of in the “COURT OF PUBLIC OPINION”), in a near-unanimous vote; and while no one voted “NOT GUILTY”, several deputies abstained. Ultimately, Louis was condemned to “DIE” by a simple majority. The execution by “GUILLOTINE” was performed by #CharlesHenriSanson, – “HIGH EXECUTIONER” of the #FrenchFIRSTRepublic & previously #RoyalExecutioner under Louis!!!

The “SUBLIMINAL INDOCTRINALTION ISSUE” here, is that “MEN WILL DO THINGS MUCH DIFFERENTLY” because they “FEAR LOSING THEIR HEADS” given the #BroadChurch of “NOBLESSE OBLIGE”!!!

SADLY, THERE ARE NO GUILLOTINES (#Yet)

This became a turning point in both French & European history, as “REGICIDE” inspired various reactions around the world. Louis’ death at the hands of his former subjects symbolized the end of an unbroken “1000-YEAR” period of monarchy in France & the true beginning of “DEMOCRACY” within the nation & around Europe!!!

SO MUCH FOR SYMBOLISMS, METAPHORS & SEMANTICS

The #PoLIEticalRulingClass remains a revolving door of people who come from elite families whose kids go to the best schools – advantaged by the “MONEY” they have. Many of them are already “TURBO-CHARGED with the necessary “OCTANE FUEL” to kick down doors into government & high-profile jobs in the private sectors. Having been schooled in the private sector world, (whether it be banking, equity firms, or major legal organisations), prepares them for public office, where “PRIME MINISTERS”, “PRESIDENTS” & others are “SELECTED” by the “MONIED POWER BROKERS” who decides who & what will lead!!!

THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH HONOUR FOLKS

These people have been schooled in the “INNER WORKINGS” of the #PoLIEticalSystem, as they have mastered how the #PoLIEticalWorldOperates & how the “FINANCIAL SYSTEM” works in tandem with them. As a result of such “COLLUSION”, they position themselves strategically, as laws & statutes are passed. They possess “INSIDER TRADING KNOWLEDGE” & “FIRST MOVER ADVANTAGE” when financial stocks go up based on which laws get passed. They know which “FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS” to “LEVERAGE” & which foreign nations to align with!!!

THIS IS NOT ABOUT HONOUR IN ANY FORM – POLIETICIANS HAVE EXEMPTED THEMSELVES FROM THE RULES OF FAIR PLAY – FOR WHEN A LAW IS PASSED THEY PROFIT FROM THAT LAW (#NotTheMASSES*)

They can acquire significant amounts of money & power throughout their careers – from “SALARIES”, “CAMPAIGN FUNDS”, “PERSONAL INVESTMENTS”, “SPEAKING FEES” & “BOOK DEALS” – while the average #WorkingClassSLOB* remains “ONE PAYCHECK” from the “VICTORIAN POORHOUSE”!!!

They also wield significant power & influence throughout their careers, which can be leveraged to benefit themselves and their interests, such as: Legislative & Executive Authority; Networking & Connections; Access to Information & Resources & Influence on Public Policy (IN OR OUT OF THE POLIETICAL SPHERE)!!!

A 2003 published book – “PIGS AT THE TROUGH” written by Arianna Huffington exposed the “CORRUPT RELATIONSHIP” between corporate execs & #PoLIEticians in the US, (A PHENOMENA ENDEMIC THROUGHOUT WESTERN CAPITALISM & UNDOUBTEDLY THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE WORLD). The book argued that “GREED” & “CORRUPTION” of corporate leaders have led to the “EROSION” of #AmericanDemocracy and the “WIDENING GAP” between the “RICH” & “POOR”!!!

The book looked at companies like “ENRON”, “WORLDCOM”, & “TYCO”, which were led by executives who prioritized their own interests over those of their employees and shareholders!!!

Huffington argued that “these scandals are not isolated incidents, but rather symptoms of a broader problem of corporate greed & political corruption. She contended that the rise of corporate power has led to the erosion of democratic institutions & the concentration of wealth & power in the hands of a few individuals. She also explores the ways in which politicians have enabled & profited from corporate greed, often through campaign donations & other forms of corruption”!!!

Huffington called for a “return to a more democratic and equitable society, where the interests of all citizens are prioritized over those of corporate executives & politicians…”

21 years on since her book launch – “HAS ANYTHING CHANGED OR HAS THE METASTASIS GOTTEN WORST”???

I’ll let you “GOOD FOLKS” decide that!!!

40. @GP

Trump found guilty on all 34 counts.

Such nonsense could never happen in Barbados.

41. Youth Recapture Avatar
    Youth Recapture

DLP Old Guard are old farts

it’s time for New Guard

42. it’s time for New Guard
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Agreed….
    Let’s start with a new policy on rotating blogger names, ..and on ‘paid social media influencers’ pretending to be independent.

Or just appoint Bushie – ‘Chief BU Banning Officer’.

43. There is the title “Is Mottley leading?” but no text for the article to be found.

(Never mind nobody reads it anyway when commenting..)

Regarding the “Is Motley Leading?” connundrum posed,

I would say yes she is, let’s all face it,
    keeping it real.. there is no opposition to be found at all.

One swallow doesn’t a summer make.

One crossover seat doesn’t an opposition make.

She may not appear to be leading
    but she’s about to lap the opposition for the third time.
    No contest..

The London Underground Sound System Dub Salutes Mottley for being on the right side of the Frontline in the Battle of Good over Evil.

44. TLSN,

Do you have a comprehension problem also????

I spent a few years teaching three year olds. Never had this problem I have with you and the OG.

What will it take for you two to understand that what I object to is your pointing to Whitemanland as the standard we must look to, when that is the main source of our problem?

Don’t you bother about my son, honey! You don’t know who or what you are dealing with. NOBODY who knows him worries about him.

I have outdone myself!

45. Blasted fool!

46. Leadership is about empowering people. Sadly change in Barbados has not been on people but centered on the tactical. There’s no doubt the country has been beautified, party sharpened and become public relations smart. But real change is an illusion because there’s no real investment in people. Graduates now operate on who you know, not what you know or can do. The consequences of this is that the vacuum created by the PM moving on and out of political office will most likely see a heavy handed political and governmental approach as the minions vie for position. Unless there’s an unknown grouping with a vision and goals & objectives for B’dos, the lower tier will shuffling up using their connections to cement positions beyond their capacity. Taught the game, the youths without security of tenure will toe the line and has been confirmed not contribute to improved change.

The foundation built in the past has been eroded. The present is an illusion of progress. The future indicates the country will regress. But one can be certain that individuals are assured continued progress.

47. Potentially profitable if well managed as a multi event stadium.

48. @William

You asked for the Minister of Sport, he was busy prepping for St. John Parish Speaks.

Mottley: Keeping pressure on

Whether it is reparations for Barbadians, a decision on construction of a new primary school or prioritising road works, the outcomes will be based on discussions.

This was the pledge made by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley at the third annual St John Parish Speaks

town hall meeting at the Gall Hill hard courts on Thursday.

“We are engaging with the community as best we can and where we can make immediate and fast progress we are doing that,” she said.

On the matter of reparations the Prime Minister said: “It was not dealt with overnight. We will not win it overnight but I give you the assurance that we are going to keep the pressure on, as we have been doing, to make sure that the people of this region and this country receive justice and an apology for what was centuries of cruel, unusual and inhumane treatment.”

She stated that reparations would be based on a discussion with Government.

The future of the St John Primary school, which has been in a long-standing state of disrepair and was a burning issue for residents, will be the subject of district meetings involving the Ministry of Education in coming months, Mottley said.

The Prime Minister said land conveyances were available and citizens were encouraged to provide information to obtain conveyances, some of which would cost between $300 and $696.

She cited the Tenantry Freehold Act passed during the Tom Adams administration of more than 40 years ago which allows citizens in tenantries to purchase land at a subsidised rate. For the price of a pair of sneakers, she contended, land conveyances could be obtained and used to obtain a loan from a bank to develop a property.

At the meeting, she agreed with Myrico Morris that the volunteer “Give Back” programme should include the District Emergency Organisations, where postsecondary students volunteer on average three to four hours weekly. She noted that Government was spending $150 million to educate these students. Morris suggested that by providing training to the volunteers they could use this training as members of the District Emergency Organisations.

Mottley also expressed an urgency in obtaining information, including medication requirements, on the most vulnerable residents, and encouraged citizens to prepare for the coming hurricane season.

Morris questioned when work would address Welch Road, one of a number of issues raised by residents, who also complained about illegal dumping and infrequent bus service, forcing many to walk long distances.

Concerning transportation issues, Mottley said Government had ordered 50 new buses from China and intended to have a rolling stock similar to the fleet of garbage trucks. She urged St John’s residents to be patient and promised increased allocation of funds to development as the economy grew.

Member of Parliament Charles Griffith provided an update of work at the Gall Hill Community Centre, which is currently being refurbished. He said it should be completed within a month.

The minister said that for the past two years Government was working on sports, youth and community empowerment, which fell under his responsibility.

He said a new pavilion was earmarked for the community at College Savannah, and a small community park at Bowmanston and water for farmers under the Phoenix agricultural project at Wakefield were all in the works. (HH)