Submitted by The Book Surveyor

Savvy on the Bay matter- if the BTII failed to do due diligence by hiring Mr Kenneth Ward, both Mr Ward as the surveyor and Mr Kinch as the buyer had an obligation to legally declare a conflict of interest.  

Allan Kinch
Allan Kinch of Savvy on the Beach

Blogmaster, I sent you 2 paragraphs governing conflict of interest by surveyors and engineers as outlined by law. The wording in US and British law is slightly different, however, both speak to a professional and legal obligation to the client.

The reason I sent this is because a blogger of yours touched on it, but I do not think many understand the legal liability that this places on a transaction in terms of the efficacy of the survey. Also I read where a blogger tried to down play it by saying [paraphrasing] so what if the same surveyor that worked for Mr Kinch worked for BTII, Barbados is a small place“. My point is – if the BTII failed to do due diligence by hiring Mr Kenneth Ward, both Mr Ward as the surveyor and Mr Kinch as the buyer had an obligation to legally declare a conflict of interest.  

Had this occurred in the UK or USA, the entire survey would be deemed null and void as outlined below.

The engineer or land surveyor shall exercise independent judgments, decisions and practices on behalf of clients and employers as follows:

(a) The engineer or land surveyor shall attempt to avoid all conflicts of interest with his client or employer, but when a conflict of interest is unavoidable, the engineer or land surveyor shall immediately inform his or her employer or client of any business association, interest, or circumstances which might tend to influence the licensee’s professional judgments, decisions or practices or the quality of services.

(b) The engineer or land surveyor shall not solicit or accept any gratuity, material favor or benefits of any substantial nature from any party, agent, servant or employee dealing with his or her client or employer in connection with any project on which he or she is performing or has contracted to perform engineering or land surveying services. This solicitation or acceptance includes, but is not limited to any act, article, money or other material possessions which is of such value or proportion that its acceptance creates a clandestine obligation on the part of the receiver or otherwise compromises his or her ability to exercise his or her own independent judgment.

Casetext

In a related matter, I take the opportunity to apprise the public about a company by the name of KDL Limited created by Allan Kinch. He shutdown the company, paid out the partners, closed the company account before they could cash cheques issued as part of the dissolution. KDL sold construction equipment and the partners were Kinch, Bugelin and Lashley.

Blogmaster, this is an angle to the Savvy on the Bay story in need of exposure.

272 responses to “A Savvy conflict of interest”

1. Yardfowls scratching Avatar
    Yardfowls scratching

looking for a little grain.
    Kinch went ahead “on trust”
    A term recently popularized by the PM.
    Because the PDD had not responded to his many applications, he assumed they must be ok or they would have responded.

2. Why remove it? He/she ‘said’ KDL, and you clarified with KLB.

3. The name is somewhat irrelevant to the claim?
    That AK absconded with the funds before the cheques could clear.

4. Somebody help me I confused now, how BST got in the SAVVY issue, were they sharholders in the development too?

Leave out the deflection please and lets stick to the topic being discussed. What was the other company to do with SAVVY? If nothing at all please leave them out the discussion too. Help us all to understand the Savvy issue and what went wrong. As landowners many of us want to know how it happened.

5. @ Artax

Yes I dont see the relevance other than the person who sent the information got the name wrong. My concern from what was said is below.

To me the question is simply this “did kinch issue a cheque to anyone involved with the company between formation or disolvement or hence thereafter, as either himself personally or as a director, which could not be cashed for insufficient funds or as a result of a closed account?”

Lord why must we confuse and talk around everything? This is a straight yes or no answer! If such a cheque exist then to deny it would in deed be folly.

6. @ John A

I was simply responding to the false info posted in the blog post and adding some accurate info.

Do you have any questions that I may be able to answer?

7. considering the BST/ Massy issue was since 2000. Was Ms Taylor around Kinch since then? She certainly tries to speak on every topic that she really does know nothing about.
    Now she claims that Kinch was the super hero, alone in the fight against injustice. He alone brought salvation to the BS&T shareholders. Wow She has really drunk too much koolaid

8. There was a guy who, on several occasions, contributed to BU on land dispute matters concerning one Violet Beckles. Unsurprisingly, he was unable to attract a 1/4 of the attention BU and its contributors have given to Kinch and Savvy. Even 3 threads have so far been dedicated to the issue. Perhaps complexion is the defining factor.

9. @ Sarah

Yes please help me to understand who Kinch bought the land from? The AG says that it was not BTII land to sell. We know now the same surveyor was used, but were the same attorneys used or did Kinch have a dedicated attorney? Reason I ask is in the old days people would sometime use the same attorney.

If he had his own attorney was not a search of title done? It seems like the attorneys failed to seek their clients interest on both sides. Am I right in assuming that?

10. John A I thought you did not want to mix matters …. anyhow to answer your question NO NOT CHECK WAS ISSUED THAT COULD NOT BE CASHED as was claimed by the writer.

Since you still want to mix matter how about a check written in his name banked to someone else account.

Some of you want to make him a devil but it will only stir me to expose more throats that will make others out as the devils they are. He is not perfect as none of us are nut I would like you all to live in his shoes one day and feel the burden placed on him.

11. @Christian No I was not around then but have had many individuals tell me of the situation and how what Mr Kinch did benefited them and how things were being done to disadvantage them and it was Mr Kinch’s actions that stopped it. So now you are calling all of those people liars too.. You are calling a lot of people liars if so.

12. Re Koolaid yes I know just who uses this term perhaps I should post an email Mr B as evidence

13. @ Sarah

Not at all i just like to come to the point that was mentioned about the misnamed company. Its a simply question with a simple answer. My point was its not worth dwelling on. My concerns are how this land issue happened and what we as landowners need to look out for.

14. John A, ‘to deny would indeed be folly.’ I’m sure you are aware of something called a bank reconciliation statement and what is involved in its preparation.

15. @ John A

The documents are listed on https://www.barbadosfairnessandtruth.com

BTII advertised the land,
    Mr Kinch went and collected tender requirement documents
    supplied offer along with plans for the area as was required by tender documents
    BTII wrote android he was the highest bidder but they would like 1 million more. All on a letter head above board.
    Mr Kinch Agreed and paid his deposit and agreement signed.
    Agreement stated to high-water Surveyor told to survey to high water and show Mr Kinch the line marks.
    Conveyance done to high water and paid to high-water as is the land tax.

If there is anything I can answer or provide additional to show this please let me know.

16. And wasn’t the same payne law firm usually involved?

17. @ Artax

Yes we deal with these everyday in life. They account for cheques deposited once it has been concened to the bearer the funds are there by the issuer.

18. going ahead with renovations….what the rassoul does this have to do with savvy.
    The old eye hospital is an eye sore. The collective governments of barbados should be ashamed to let a building of such apparent historic significance fall into abject disrepair.
    Savvy is legal. The boss lady said they could stay. And she would not allow something which wasn’t legal. So permission has been granted.

19. @ Sarah

Yes i understand the process you outlined about the tender. That however was not my point. I wanted to know if kinch’s lawyer did not do a search of title and if he did why did the sale proceed, in light of what the AG said.

Again I will ask was this a case where the attorneys involved failed in their due diligence from where you sit?

20. This is what I already posted that explains how it happened

In I believe it was Oct 2019 A man from Housing came forward to say they owned some of the land. Now the Minister for Housing at the time was George Payne and his office was representing BTII. A Mr Smith made the claim but did not supply and proof of the claim despite the lawyers asking of it. Neither. BTII lawyers or Mr Kinch’s lawyers could find any evidence that the claim was legit as the land was not subdivided and the registry did not have any record of its division nor did land tax. It was said it was something Housing has previously attempted on other such property matters by the sea. BTII lawyers then said they were ready to complete and indicated the matter was resolved. BTII then had to have boats and trailers moved off of the area in question to provide vacant posession.
    A mess it was and is.
    You may remember Mr Kinch was involved with Pirates Cove and though he did not own the property the matter of accreted land came up and Housing tried to claim it was not part of the property and lawyers had to get involved and it was shown Housing was wrong… So you see for Mr Kinch it just appeared that they were trying to do the same thing again and ALL correspondence shows that. This was something he was told others also faced. I even overheard a conversation where the lawyer told him the minister told Mr Smith to stop harassing Mr Kinch. They reassured Mr Kinch everything was resolved and they could proceed and so he did.

I am not sure how it could have been avoided as Housing did not supply the proof that they owed it when requested and there was no subdivision no separate parcel number so separate land tax lot. All of these things were checked. The top planning lawyers were consulted before the sale was completed. My advise to everyone is DO NOT BUY LAND IN BARBADOS. I certainly never will. It is downright terrifying. We know that errors were made multiple errors by multiple government departments and it seems BTII but instead of being accountable and settling the matter reasonably they are just refusing to resolve it. This matter started in 2014 and its still not resolved. This is as irresponsible as the mistakes themselves.

They have made this a monstrous problem when they could have just resolved it from the beginning from before the sale was complete or even up to earlier this year but their actions of not resolving it after our begging and pleading to meet and resolve. Since the sale was completed and the matter came up again we have only asked to meet and resolve and those request were ignored until a few months ago when they started saying we are taking the land you either sell it to us or we are taking it and the rest of the land you don’t own and you won’t be compensated.

I wish you all 1 day of living with this in this.

How contradictory are the governments actions.
    https://fb.watch/n0vSeapn_i/

21. @ Artax

Sorry meant confirmed to not concened. Old eyes going.

22. @frank and isn’t the AG a partner in that firm?

23. Coincidently or ironically, a few years ago there was a similar, but short-lived uproar, after a certain ‘outlaw,’ who is now an ‘inlaw,’ began construction of a cement bond near the flour mill, without the required permission. But, yuh know in B’bados, its ‘all-right’ when yuh abyad.

24. @John A Yes they did a title search.. There was no record showing the parcels were subdivided so the law of accretion was what was relied upon that the land should go to high-water as was being advertised and sold by BTII.

25. @George So now you wish to claim Mr Kinch absconded with funds.. please present your evidence!

26. @Sarah

You have refuted it.

27. Why did the PDD not respond to Kinch’s application? Maloney and a few others do not appear to have that issue. What did the AG say, one law for the Medes and another for the Persians.

28. @ David You would need to understand who I belive Christian is and knowledge of a certain documents prepared by one and claimed to be prepared by another even in court but the file creation and editing information revealed the truth. These nothing to do with Savvy but other who coincidentaly connect to similar projects granted without EIA or town hall permissions and connected to some BIG or BIGGEST players.

29. @Artax

Is the Savvy issue about Kinch only? If you think so you have missed the point.

30. @Sarah

Unless you share we will have to do our best to thread the issues.

31. @ Sarah

Ok thanks for sharing your side I have a better understanding of how this matter played out.

Before I get accused again of supporting kinch side, all I am doing is trying to get a clear picture of how things unfolded.

From here we have breaches and potholes on both sides of the road. We have the undeniable fact that work started without TCP approval and an issue with the conflict of the surveyor, brings the entire survey into question as outlined by the 2 paragraphs the other surveyor supplied referencing law. That is now clear.

On the other side what is also clear is we have BTII selling land they didnt own and lawyers “allegedly ” not finding the correct titles on both sides, hence creating this no man lands that now exist. Where we go from here only time will tell I suppose, but in my view everybody involved got to hold some blows.

32. @David It may all very well come to that one day but I will fight one battle at a time today.

33. @ John A I have No issue with you or your questions or wanting clarity. I appreciate that.

When I saw the question about the Surveyor come up on another post on barbados Underground and you respond to it I answered it there because I believe that it is very important for us to be as transparent as possible meaning fully transparent. Meaning do not even hold back even information and truths that could make persons reading it question Mr Kinch.

I believe it is best to put all the cards on the table so that there is nothing hidden… Yes there is more I have but if I revel it even though truthful I could likely get myself locked up so I will hold them for now but if I need to I will likely risk being locked up to ensure the matter is handled fairly.

34. JohnA
    but wait, the shopkeeper like he own beach front land.
    Next ting I am going to find out is the AG is your cousin…lol

35. @ John A

Re everyone has to hold some blows I understand your point. I will say however I believe Mr Kinch is the most innocent in this because He only trusted his lawyers and BTII.
    I think I would have chickened out and not trusted them but I have far less trust than he does and I am not one to take risk. I guess he trusted His lawyer Lynn Marie Symonds daughter of Sir David Symonds who was also in some of the meetings I myself was in and he trusted that after all it was the law firm of the Minister of Housing so surely that firm representing BTII would not be selling lands not owned by BTII but owned by Housing and lands.

36. I also want to mention that
    Re: Section
    330-X-14-.02
    Conflict Of Interest

This is not a Barbados law.

I am not saying it should not be but I think we may have some challenges with such laws because of the size of the country. Having said that I would be in favour of them because now it would not be something questioned and it would also have meant that Paynes law firm would have have been representing BTII and a whole host of other things that go on in this country would not.

37. @ John A

You seem like a reasonable person so I want to ask you a question.

1.Do you believe that if the BTII wrongfully sold some of the land to Mr Kinch that he should be compensated for it by repaying him what he spent on the portion of land they wrongly sold?

2. Would it also not be reasonable for Mr Kinch to be paid back the land tax he paid for it and legal fees?

3. Would it also not be reasonable to use the BTII terms of agreement where they set a percentage of interest on the deposit plus the deposit that they would have to pay the purchaser if the sale was not completed. After all they have set a value on money tied up in the sale and Mr Kinch has had his funds tied up for 8 years.

To put it simply if a department store advertised and sold you 10 chairs for $1000 but after you paid and they were to deliver the deliver man came with the note for 10 chairs but only had 5 and you call the store and they say we only had 5 what would you do? The invoice and delivery note say 10 Would you not at the very least want back the money for the 5 and if it took them years to resolve should they not be expected to compensated you for that time?

38. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved

“My advise to everyone is DO NOT BUY LAND IN BARBADOS. I certainly never will. It is downright terrifying.

Was just voicing that people acirss the Caribbean region, in US, UK, Europe, Afrika etc should be warned not to buy any land or estates in Barbados ever….it’s high risk, too tangled to untangle…and riddled with legal liabilities.

.all the names being called are questionable and have danger, and controversy attached to them..

It would be a disservice to not expose them all in warning..

39. @Yoland Grant

You are so right! Had Mr Kinch known more in-depth about such things before I don’t know if he would have bought the property. I certainly would not have. I truly hope no more persons fall into the plight he has because there are too many cases involving some of these names.

40. @ Northern

The little piece we got too small to interest anyone. It could only fit a tent or 2 so you dont get no ideas! LOL

41. I just remembered something I wanted to share. @john A please read

If my memory serves me right how Mr Kinch learnt of Housings claim was through Planning because they were opposed to the development because they owned the land. It was then that they were contacted but they did not provide the information requested.

They only provided some of the information after making the claim again after the sale was completed and even then still did not provide everything needed to clarify the matter. Again the sale was completed by George Walton Payne’s law firm. Payne was Minister over that ministry at the time.

The lawyers I know did try to resolve it and they did searches and consulted other lawyers who are the highest regarded land lawyers and sought advice of others but nothing was found to show that the land was legally subdivided. As I said nothing at registry no separate parcel number or land tax.

Had Housing done its job properly this possibly could have all been avoided.

42. @ Sarah

Yes I would agree that there should be some form of payment to Kinch if the disputed area had formed part of the sale, however all that would bring us back to the same survey issue. The problem is though that I dont think you would have an arguement you could put for any money spent on work you carried out without approval from TCP. That I believe you would have to swallow. But I thought I read the AG was in negotitations to buy back the carpark from Kinch? The PM said that she had set a deadline for this to occur by if my memory serves me correctly as well.

43. @John A

The agreement prepared by BTII lawyers itself said the surveyor was to measure to high water mark and show markets to the purchaser. That agreement was before the survey was done

The agreement is online at https://www.barbadosfairnessandtruth.com/post/document-relevant-to-purchase

The agreement has a couple of interesting clauses in it. One speaks to the fact that the government could have gotten out the sale by acquisition.

Another speaks about Intrest on the money paid in a deposit so I think it’s reasonable that they have to understand that the money that was invested and tied up for so many years needs to be repaid with Intrest. Because their agreement speaks to it.

Re negotiations lol not negotiations bullying and demands and that area is only about 1/4 of the whole site.

They offered Mrs Ram $160 per square foot and they offered Mr Kinch $100 per square foot.

He would take the $160 and indeed he is willing to take less but not $100 and they have to compensate him for the rest of the land. It’s just fair and what is right. They are just bullying him and causing all of this mess to take place in public by not been reasonable and dealing with all of this years ago when they should have.

44. @Sarah

For clarity this transaction spans what period?

45. @ Sarah

It is practically unheard of for an agreement to be put in place before a survey. The reason is the agreement in many places refers to the surveyed plot in terms of lot size and other pertinent information. An agreement can not refer to a piece of land by name without it being tied to a plot plan.

If this happened then thats the first mistake made by BTII.

46. @David

The BTII accepted Allan’s offer in 2015 so he had to have the funds available from then and even after he paid the deposit there was a set time that the balance was to be paid but BTII delayed it. That does not mean and Kinch could have invested his funds held to complete his agreement with BTII

47. Let me give an example we all would know.

So imagine I bought a car from you and in the letter to license authority you left out the engine number and told them” license the car the engine number will come later.”

Cant happen and no contract for land can take place without a surveyed plot.

48. @John A

It is different with beach front land because it is tied to the high water which has to be measured as a. Retain time of the month I think when the moon is at its fullest. It’s to do with the tides. Please feel free to research and please if you have beach front land do a new survey to protect yourself.