Submitted by The Book Surveyor

Savvy on the Bay matter- if the BTII failed to do due diligence by hiring Mr Kenneth Ward, both Mr Ward as the surveyor and Mr Kinch as the buyer had an obligation to legally declare a conflict of interest.  

Allan Kinch
Allan Kinch of Savvy on the Beach

Blogmaster, I sent you 2 paragraphs governing conflict of interest by surveyors and engineers as outlined by law. The wording in US and British law is slightly different, however, both speak to a professional and legal obligation to the client.

The reason I sent this is because a blogger of yours touched on it, but I do not think many understand the legal liability that this places on a transaction in terms of the efficacy of the survey. Also I read where a blogger tried to down play it by saying [paraphrasing] so what if the same surveyor that worked for Mr Kinch worked for BTII, Barbados is a small place“. My point is – if the BTII failed to do due diligence by hiring Mr Kenneth Ward, both Mr Ward as the surveyor and Mr Kinch as the buyer had an obligation to legally declare a conflict of interest.  

Had this occurred in the UK or USA, the entire survey would be deemed null and void as outlined below.

The engineer or land surveyor shall exercise independent judgments, decisions and practices on behalf of clients and employers as follows:

(a) The engineer or land surveyor shall attempt to avoid all conflicts of interest with his client or employer, but when a conflict of interest is unavoidable, the engineer or land surveyor shall immediately inform his or her employer or client of any business association, interest, or circumstances which might tend to influence the licensee’s professional judgments, decisions or practices or the quality of services.

(b) The engineer or land surveyor shall not solicit or accept any gratuity, material favor or benefits of any substantial nature from any party, agent, servant or employee dealing with his or her client or employer in connection with any project on which he or she is performing or has contracted to perform engineering or land surveying services. This solicitation or acceptance includes, but is not limited to any act, article, money or other material possessions which is of such value or proportion that its acceptance creates a clandestine obligation on the part of the receiver or otherwise compromises his or her ability to exercise his or her own independent judgment.

Casetext

In a related matter, I take the opportunity to apprise the public about a company by the name of KDL Limited created by Allan Kinch. He shutdown the company, paid out the partners, closed the company account before they could cash cheques issued as part of the dissolution. KDL sold construction equipment and the partners were Kinch, Bugelin and Lashley.

Blogmaster, this is an angle to the Savvy on the Bay story in need of exposure.

272 responses to “A Savvy conflict of interest”

1. @John A

I am sorry. It please research this properly and look at the site I told you and look at the documents yourself.

The agreement refers to plans and states new plans are to be done to high water and the surveyor to point out those marks to the purchaser.

It’s to do with the law of accretion. I can send you some documents on it if you wish

2. @ John A

This document speaks about accretion. It’s important you understand this if you have beach front property.

https://pdf.usaid.gov/pdf_docs/pnadc135.pdf

3. barbados high water mark

30 metres above high water mark is public beach or has that changed.

4. @Hants

That is correct. Land is sold to High water but development is not allowed until after 100 ft ……. Well that’s supposed to be the law and I agree with it. It some people have within the last few years gotten permission to built condo buildings less than 100 ft from the sea closer to 50ft..:.. As they say Barbados is not a real place.

5. A very good and thoughtful discussion. However, the words of Mr Skinner are ringing in my ears
    “The simple truth is that there’s nothing that creates and floats corruption more than skillfully constructed confusion.”

To quote JohnA “lack of proper title searches and the whole other buriful of “mistakes” that were made with this sale. Then we have the work starting without approvals and on and on we go.”

Thanks.I am learning from what is stated here by so many intelligent folks. Somehow, these sensible explanations have not dispel my rather simplistic notion of a planned scam.

😃I have some beachfront property that can “only fit a tent or 2” to sell. Don’t worry about other claimants, I have the juice to seal the deal.😃

6. I have a lot to say on this issue and I am pressing for a Public and Judicial Inquiry into this entire affair. By the way, who is Sarah Taylor and What is her interest in this case. There are too many conflicts of interest involved in this mess.

7. @Alvin ‘Boots’ Cummins

Sarah has not hidden her role on the blog, she is the partner of Allan Kinch.

8. Boots
    You realize the first question is why land tendered, and tender accepted in 2015 did NOT close before May 2018.
    And the BTII CEO has been the same person for years.
    Be careful what you wish for.

9. “If my memory serves me right how Mr Kinch learnt of Housings claim was through Planning because they were opposed to the development because they owned the land.”

Ohhhhhh! Yet you were all over the media demanding planning permission? It would be interesting to know if any other government departments were also opposed to the development. Pirates really in the cove fuh trute.

10. David

“Why did the PDD not respond to Kinch’s application?”

Clearly they did based on Ms.Taylor’s comment. 🤣🤣

11. Donks, Gripe,and Josh Avatar
    Donks, Gripe,and Josh

Alvin Cummins on September 12, 2023 at 9:43 PM said:
    I have a lot to say on this issue and I am pressing for a Public and Judicial Inquiry into this entire affair. By the way, who is Sarah Taylor and What is her interest in this case. There are too many conflicts of interest involved in this mess.

—————————————————–
    I hope you follow up on your plan of action to agitate for an inquiry into the Savvy affair. Many of us trying to follow this distasteful corrupt situation are shocked.

We wonder who is Sarah Taylor and how does she know so much detailed information and history of the matter. You never hear from the so-called buyer and landlord Kinch. This Sarah Taylor mouth never stops running. Question could Sarah Taylor and Allan Kinch be the same person? You never know life is stranger than fiction.

John for example complains he is accused of supporting Kinch and or Taylor in this sordid beach land affair. John have you changed your mind from the position that it was wrong to sell the people’s property to Kinch in the first place?

I am not a supporter of the AG he is right however to point out in our island there seems to be a law for the Medes and one for the Persians. Kinch and Taylor are not above the law and must be held accountable like the ordinary man in the street.

From what has been reported Kinch/Savvy transgressed on several legalities including repeatedly ignoring orders from government regulatory agencies. Is he going to be held accountable? Taylor will intervene with some esoteric law or dubious written agreement to persuade the gullible Savvy was right to ignore the laws of the land.

I would like to see a public inquiry like the one Stuart mounted on the teacher’s debacle with Redman and Broome. The public of Barbados who own the beaches and pay taxes are owed a full explanation on a matter that stinks to the high heavens.

The apologists of Savvy/ Kinch/ Taylor are out in their numbers. We shall wait and see if the government caves in as usual to the business/ plantation class or will it stand up for the ordinary voiceless and mostly poor citizens of our country. No one voted for Kinch or Taylor to run the affairs of this nation. Their disproportionate say in matters of state is troubling and their lackeys bray with them.

The official or agency who sold the beach front must be held accountable. The patrimony of our people cannot be sold without our permission. Property on the beach or elsewhere belonging to the state i.e the citizens of this island is priceless.

Sale of public land should be outlawed. A lease can be an option, but it has to be in the interest of the masses not one or two people or a small minority who believe the majority are fools to bullied, tricked and talked down to. Bring on the P&J inquiry Mr. Alvin.

12. @enuff

After how long?

13. “Sale of public land should be outlawed. A lease can be an option, but it has to be in the interest of the masses not one or two people or a small minority who believe the majority are fools to bullied, tricked and talked down to. Bring on the P&J inquiry Mr. Alvin.”

You wrote this with a straight face knowing Barbados’ economy panders to investment to create economic activity?

14. @enuff there is more than one application. There is the hotel condo and the food truck park and the restoration of the building. Neither application has been determined. There was a communication on the hotel condo and part of it included this info from housing stating they own the land.

15. @Alvin Cummins as David says I have not hid who I am I am Mr Kinch’s partner. I am a business woman and owner. Operating in the tourism industry for over 20 years.

16. Well well well….
    Ms Taylor blames everyone else but herself and Kinch

Think I have counted about 10+ people/departments that she puts blame on

Waiting to see who else will get named today. She likes to threaten and say she has more to say, so I waiting

17. This may or may not apply to this thread.

A lawyer told me the other day that there is a “”20 year rule”” on land title.

After researching it I came to the conclusion that it is a potential dodge to get around inconvenient truths.

It seems to have been “law” since 1980 but until very recently I had never heard about it.

It appears in The Property Act Cap 236.

“Twenty years to be the statutory length of title and other provisions as to root of title
    50.(1) After 1st January, 1980, 20 years is the period of commencement of title which a purchaser of land may require; nevertheless earlier title than 20 years may be required in cases similar to those in which earlier title than 60 years might, immediately before 1st January, 1980 have been required.”

http://barbadosparliament-laws.com/en/showdoc/cs/236

18. Ok Mr @Alvin Cummins

Why do I speak, I speak because I hate injustice. When I was a child and I had no one to stand up for me I hated it and I hated what happened. I sat under a mango tree and talked to God one day and I told him “God I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up but I want to make a difference in the world I want to help people” I told him “God I love the stories of Moses but Moses asked God to send Aaron to speak for him and I want to be able to speak for myself so please give me a voice” I was a very quiet timid child.
    I invite you to read a book called “Rescued and redeemed by Grace” it’s a book written by my friend, my best friend growing up and she speaks about me and how we became best friends as I stood up for her. She does not use my name but explains the details.
    I am someone who much rathers be quiet but someone who believes in standing up against abuse and bullies.

I believe the success of a company is not the money you have in the bank but when you can look around you and see your team members growing and thriving. My favorite word is is an African word: Ubuntu ‘I am because of who we all are’

When the AG talks Meads and Persians don’t forget to include the neighboring property built partially over public lands being Lewis Alley and built without a parking space and without planning permission. Also don’t forget Worthing Square or a host of other temporary food trucks parked around our island or the coconut vendors and the Mellon, eggs, dog chow etc…..Or perhaps the words of the Planning officer who visited the site “it does not matter if you have planning permission or not, it only matters if the PM allows it”. Yes much is WRONG in our country and yes there are Meads and Persians but it has nothing to do with permissions it has to do with if you are one of the favored and what comes in that bag or if you are unfavorited and what comes in that bag.

As to not selling public lands that is not within my hands or position to dictate. What I do know is that they were advised and sold and Mr Kinch pays the tax on them. If they the Government want them back they need to pay for it at market value.

I have no desire to own a square foot of land in this country. From what I have learnt and seen throughout this matter we don’t live in a society of laws and a level playing feild and I am very uncomfortable with it. Having said that it appears much of the world is in a similar state…. All I can say is Lord come for your world.

19. Artaxerxes on September 12, 2023 at 3:46 PM said:

There was a guy who, on several occasions, contributed to BU on land dispute matters concerning one Violet Beckles. Unsurprisingly, he was unable to attract a 1/4 of the attention BU and its contributors have given to Kinch and Savvy. Even 3 threads have so far been dedicated to the issue. Perhaps complexion is the defining factor.

Maybe the 20 year rule was crafted and drafted for her.

20. Lol @conflicted what am I guilty of?

Am I guilty of begging the PM to meet and resolve the matter for years and to avoid it having to become public? Yes

Am I guilty of sharing the documents pertaining to the sale and sharing the truth with the public? Yes

What other blame do you wish to place on me?

As to casting blame I placed the documents online for all to see and judge for themselves.

21. If Artax who has a reputation as a researcher of BU Archives completed a search using the name Violet Beckles the blogmaster wonders how many blogs would show, 1, 2, 3, 4, more? You can do better Artax.

22. @Sarah

But you did mislead the public. It was only after the PDD publicly exposed your lies did you start to change your story and blame no less than 15 or more people and or departments but accept no responsibility

Then you created a website to share, as one reader above calls, ‘dubious written agreements…’

This matter stinks in confusion and corruption and you are both knee high in it

23. @Conflicted

Ahhhh what lies?

During a conversation about the petition I told a journalist

“Not sure if I told you for also about 2 weeks ago or so I signed for what turned out to be a stop and enforcement notice on the Old eye ward building. It ordered that work had to be stopped and we had to return it to the state is was on before we started working on it.”

The order does state that the the land is to be restored to the condition before work started.

To be honest I had NO idea the journalist was writing about that. Had I known that I would have supplied the exact wording because it is very important to be fully accurate when discussing these things so that people like yourselves don’t feel mislead. That was NEVER my intention. Honestly I read the the first bit when I opened the documents and got an instant nose bleed.

The craziness of it is very upsetting sometimes. After the AG said they were going to send a letter even though they new an application was in. I had spoken to a person who quit working at planning and who helped write the new changes and they told me that they can’t do that because they have no leg to stand on. I also spoke to National Trust who told me Allan has not changed the fundamental structure He has been restoring it using back sash windows and the same type of roof, he has done nothing wrong.

It was never my intent to mislead anyone and I did contact the journalist the day it came out and we discussed it. I think it would have been better if the full text was used from the letter but I did not know that there was going to be an article on it.

24. Tell me if you can find the word “surveyor” in the Property Act?

I can’t.

Sure the surveyor would have input to the title back to its root but wouldn’t his/her principal input be into checking and or establishing the precision of the line marks?

Do we have enough Land Surveyors in Barbados to ensure one has never worked for a buyer and seller at some time or another in the past?

When I was young I knew of only a handful of surveyors.

The profession demands a high competence in mathematics which automatically limits entry to those who have that competence.

…… ok … ok …… there have been instances where political parties have used party faithfuls and selected family members (like brothers) for Government work and I have heard of an occasional mess up.

But the point is it is far easier to become a lawyer than a surveyor.

The Bar is really low and seems to go lower by year.

25. “it does not matter if you have planning permission or not, it only matters if the PM allows it”.

This makes no sense! But Ms.Taylor right to mammaguy all yuh.

26. @conflicted

Also do you think I wish to be involved in it?
    I should not need to be involved in it!

The Public servants involved should have done their jobs properly and the lawyers and the elected officials who were begged for years to address it.

Do you think I want to be up to my knees in it… what is it costing me do you think? What do you think the stress and my time cost…Aside from my now high blood pressure, high cholesterol and heart problems I will tell you this it has cost at least 20 jobs for people because I can’t get around to my own work because I think it is important to stand up against injustice. I also believe that if you take something to the public then you have to answer them when they question. It’s a two way street. Would you prefer I not answer na don’t provide the documents for persons to see for themselves?
    Is it only the AGs side you wish to hear ?

27. The legal profession turns out Knights and Dames by the dozen.

How many surveyors in Barbados have ever been knighted?

28. I never said it made sense. I said it was told to me by a person employed by town planning

29. That could not have been said to you. How could you have planning permission but it is still up to the PM? To do what?

30. I will keep quiet when the government agrees to be fair.
    If they say BTII a statutory board of the government made a mistake then they need to compensate Mr Kinch as per the agreement. They need to do it fairly. Fairly for Mr Kinch and fairly for the people of Barbados. Fair is not letting years go by and Intrest and expense mount that will have to be paid by the Barbados people. If there was an error they should have dealt with it immediately!

I guess it’s like a certain someone said. The spoke about if they were going to have problems from a public outcry they would have had it over Mrs. Ram but they got away with it so they are not concerned because whilst it may be a few days in the news it would then die and the Barbadian people would forget about it as they always do.

That’s what they think of the Barbadian people and what they can do!

31. It was said to me by an employee of planning as I stood on the property whilst we were looking at the illegal drain put in by the neighbors and discussing how they built over a public alley. I was told Planning is aware but that it does not matter because as long as it’s ok with the PM then you don’t have to worry.

32. @ Ms Taylor

Ms Taylor i have been reading the comments here and I want to talk to you as a parent of two daughters, one in the late fortys and the other in her early fifties. Now you may be offended and wash my tail in cuss after but thats ok.

Listen dont let nobody use you as the mouth piece and then turn around and hide behind you like a frighten soldier. If this Mr Kinch got something to say, tell him where the blog is and let him come here and say it. What kind of man does push a woman to face the blows while he cowers in the shadows? If I was you I would stop and think on this.

33. @enuff

According to you our politicians are paragons of virtue?

34. @Old Timer

I am not offended at all. I think what you said was very caring and considerate of me and I truly appreciate it and thank you for it.

My challenge is at the end of the day the actions of the government are offensive to me. I don’t like abuse or injustice.

As to Allan speaking out, he has spoken a few times. The opinion of many is that it is safer for me to speak…… there are a lot of things that can be said and reasons given but I can not answer for others I can only answer for myself and for myself I speak because as a Barbadian the governments actions are offensive to me. Allan certainly does not do everything right and he will tell you I am the first to tell him when I think he is going down the wrong path.

My mum brought me up with these words. Do unto others as you would have them do unto you. My Gran with the words “honesty is the best policy”
    I speak up and out because I would want someone to speak up and out for me if it was in Allan’s position.

When I was 15 years old I was hit by a car running for my life. I wish someone would have done something long before to protect me from that event but they did not. I know what it is like to have no one stand up for me and I will not suffer that on Allan and I try to do my best to be fair to all those around me with my actions.

Old Timer I really appreciate your comments because this is not easy for me. I stand not because it’s easy but because it’s right. There are some that can tell you of the tears that have fallen from my eyes about this from before 2018 of the stress and persecution I have faced for standing up and speaking out. I stand making no demands but pleading for fairness and not fairness just for Allan in this situation but fairness for all.

35. Unconventional thinking Avatar
    Unconventional thinking

Thoughts from the other side

Do to others before they do to you.

Golden rule:
    He who has the gold makes the rules

Tyson
    Everyone has a plan ’till they get punched in the mouth.

Apologies for the silly comments.

36. Murdah!! You need locking up

37. @MsTaylor
    IF, you can get (in cash not bonds) the money paid for the land, plus legal fees incurred and land taxes paid, take it
    You will get nothing for the opportunity cost of the money. No punitive value for ‘hardship’. Nothing for Savvy, which the PM says can stay.
    Remember, a wash of people owned TBIlls in 2018 with an expectation of getting that money “soon from now”, and they got Bonds, redeemable in future. The opportunity cost of that money minimal. After what has transpired you are not getting the “friends and family return rate”.
    By now, you must realize that public tender or not, the fix was in on these lands.
    You were not supposed to say yes when more money was sought. That was to ‘chase you way’.
    Saying ‘yes’ put the fixers in a bind. So it didn’t close. But was dragged out in typical legal delay style. Justice delayed is justice denied?
    When told there would be no larger scale development on these lands, you were not supposed to close on the deal.
    Whatever you get, insist that a covenant be placed on these lands of no development for 25 years. A car park is fine. That is your contribution to ensuring these lands remain open for all Barbadians to use.

38. @northernobserver

Much of what you said is yes what we are told transpired in the terms of why.

Re the money back yes for those lands they claim Mr Kinch does not own. Plus the Intrest they have in the agreement to do with failing to complete.

The lands they claim he does own they need to pay market value.

The truth is a previous lawyer working on the matter threw out a figure of $24,000,000 for the loss of the development. Me Kinch is NOT asking that as he is aware that it will come from the Barbados people. Having said that ever day that passes Intrest must be added.

39. Oh and I agree 100% something needs to be done to ensure it remains public and not just passed to another developer like the AG said the government can do if they wish

40. David

Did I say that?

If the PM is responsible for giving permission on such applications, how could an applicant have permission without the PM allowing it? This, Ms.Taylor clearly knew and was willing to exploit:

“Director of Savoy Development (Barbados) Inc. Allan Kinch is seeking answers about why the development was being blocked and suggested that Mottley’s intervention could prevent a major tourism project from being disrupted. In an interview with, public relations representative for Savoy Development (Barbados) Inc., Sarah Taylor, said the developer had been facing multiple challenges in dealings with various government departments and statutory corporations, most notably the Town Planning Department and the National Conservation Commission (NCC).” Barbados Today No, 2022

Contrary to what you keep repeating, from reading Ms.Taylor’s comments on the blog and in the newspapers, it is obvious that the TPD has responded. If you spent some time trying to understand the process, you’d be able to decipher the real reason behind the multi-pronged PR exercise. Have you noticed how the narrative has shifted from permission to the amount of compensation?

41. @ Sarah

I can tell you there is no way the state will pay $24M for a property they sold for $4M. If that is the case one now cant help but ask why was it sold so cheap then?

You will probably be offered what the landtax value is less the taxes you have already paid on it. They will not pay for any development or improvement cost either, as they will say all improvements were done without TCP approval. In real terms they will probably say for example “the carpark is 10,000 sq ft and we will pay $1.2M for it, failing which we will use the law of compulsory acquisition.” Same law that is used for playing fields, low income housing land etc.

I remember an attorney told me when they were building the higway some land was bought at landtax value. When the sellers complained they were told ” every year landtax bills come out and you should of objected to the low value on it but you never did. Hence govermment does not see the value being paid as having any grounds for dispute.”

Lord the 2 headed sword.

42. @Enuff

No many how many times you reply or try to twist it to make it seem that I made the statement you can’t change it. I stated the statement was told to me by an employee of planning. How can I be accountable for their words. Are you accountable for Putin?

You clearly have an issue because I have said there is more than one application.
    There is the application that was submitted prior to the completion of the sale for the condo hotels and the one in 2020 for the food trucks and eye ward.

The first was reccomend refusal largely based on Housings comments about them owning the land.

As Housing produced no evidence to support their claim and NO records of subdivision or the parcels being separated into different lots. No record in Land Registry or land tax and after the lawyers did ALL they could to check and got additional advice from other lawyers and experts the sale was completed.

The above information won’t change no matter how many times you try to imply things you either know nothing about or are trying to lead people to believe otherwise.

The Food-truck application and
    Retention of work on Old Eye ward has not been responded to. They just issued notices which by the way they are not supposed to do without first determining an application.

43. @ John A

I clearly stated that Mr Kinch is not asking $24,000,000

44. @ John A

Why does someone go to a auction and sell a $50,000 item for $20
    On a junkie sell a $300 tV for a $10 hit
    Or why do people have back yard sales and sell items cheaper….

I am sure you get my point.

The more important question is…. Why were they going to sell it to the cheapest bidder and only when pressed sold it to the highest bidder but asked on a BTII letterhead for 1 million more.

Further why would the lowest bidder so believe he would own the land that years later was walking around telling people he would own it and getting plans done and consulting contractors?????

@enuff since you have all the answers do you care to explain?

45. @ Sarah

I never said he was asking $24m. I said the state would not pay that for it. My point was directed to the comment made by the attorney not Kinch.

Truth is you cant win an arguement with the state over land acquisition. The law from memory states something like “the land is required for the bettterment of the public.” Some broad statement like that. Is it fair? That can be debated I guess, but in the end its the law. You will argue “it is good development beach front land” and they will say “it is a carpark that is not beach front as there is a parcel of land in front it you do not own and its value therefore must reflect that of a carpark.”

Anyhow one can only wait to see how it all pans out, don’t stress over it at this stage.

46. @Enuff

You sit behind a fake name and judge.

You make statements like “. Have you noticed how the narrative has shifted from permission to the amount of compensation?”

I invite you to read the proposal I fit to the PM a few weeks ago in effort to resolve the matter amicably fairly and out of public eyes. Not to hide anything but to save the country the disgrace.

https://www.barbadosfairnessandtruth.com/post/proposals-submitted-in-attempts-to-resolve-that-have-gone-unresponded-to

I did this proposal trying to balance what the PM stated she wanted, what was fair to the public to ensure they could retain some of the land and to Mr Kinch. The proposals have gone un responded to.

You can continue to paint the false narrative but no matter how many brush strokes or colors you use to paint your false statements and accusations will remain so.

47. @John A

There has been 1 case won in Barbados against land acquisition that I know of.

The party was able to prove what the government wanted to achieve could be better achieve on another property nearby…. This is quite easy for the car park claim….

But I take your point and agree because they use it how they wish right or wrong.

Yes we all wait and watch and I as I said every day expenses and Intrest are added as has been done in other cases.

48. Another issue you have to consider is the TCP may say “they are already too many beach bars on that beach. We do not want to congest it more by adding another one, as in the winter months the beach is already overwhelmed with chairs and umbrellas leaving little room for locals.”

All these are different sides of the argument that can be used by parties. I understand the developers posiotion but I can also see issues from the other side as well. One can only wait for it to play out.

May cool heads prevail.

49. @Enuff

It is a pity the public has to ‘figure it out’.