There is more than meets the eye between Savvy on the Bay (Allan Kinch) and government.

It should be obvious to onlookers there is more than meets the eye concerning Allan Kinch rumble with government and developments at Savvy on Bay on Bay Street. A recent pronouncement on the matter by Attorney General Dale Marshall that two of three tracts of land owned by Kinch will be acquired by the government for car park has only served to trigger questions about why the government has taken a decision to acquire land that was sold to Kinch by a former government. The lack of transparency regarding this transaction AND others adds to a growing distrust by the public of the government.

Here is a summary of events in the matter up to now from one perspective.

• The acceptance letter from BTII was in 2015 which means the disputed lands at Bay Street from application until it was approved for sale straddles both DLP and BLP administrations.
  • Kinch had to forego investment income on 4 million to purchase the property. He was told BTII would help with the planning process and that the plans would add to the Tourism development planned for the area.
  • BU understands Kinch had a developer bring in $180,000,000. Richard Sealy at the time spoke about the many jobs it would create.The proposed project was obviously in sync with what government planned for the Bay Street area.
  • Mia won the government in 2018 and George Payne’s law office took over the sale for the government which was completed [note AG Dale Marshall was a partner in Walton’s law firm before his appointment as AG].
  • Trevor Prescod for some unexplained reason removed trees on the property and directed a verbal attack at Kinch hiding under the protection of parliamentary privilege, referring to him as a white shadow. Was he directed to breath fire rage by those on high?
  • Fast forward to the problems with parking and a reality that from all reports Bernie Weatherhead at Copacabana complained that Kinch took Copacabana’s parking. It is understood  BTII had been renting the land to Weatherhead for free. [It is also reported that Copacabana built without permission and utilized public lands at Lewis Alley which  is still awaiting approval by town planning?]

There is more the blogmaster can post about the ongoing real estate battle but the blogmaster suspects the average reader will not be interested at this juncture. The bottom line is that for a reason not made public, the government through Attorney General Dale Marshall has decided to boot out many small operators from a space that was laid waste by bush and infested with rodents to build a car park. A decision that lacks commonsense given the abandoned buildings at Jemmot Lane on the other side of the road. Barbadians should recall the haste with which the rat infested Liquidation Centre was knocked down to make way for the Hyatt hotel 4 years ago. Barbadians also should recall AG Marshall and Member of Parliament excusing himself from entering the Joe’s River dispute in the event his office had to represent the matter in court. AG Marshall should be smart enough to know that Allan Kinch seems the kind of businessman who will seek redress to the courts.

Are we having transparency with this matter Prime Minister?

Barbadians should also recall the haste with which Maloney receives or ignores approvals from government and Town Planning for one project or the other, however, Kinch has had to be happy with his matter stuck at the approval process since the mid 2000s.

What about the shops at Worthing Square operating without planning permission?

What about that application with Fort Carlisle that is a large condo building applied for next to Yacht Club in January and already approved? Has there been a town hall meeting as part of the EIA process Ambassador David Commisiong?

One law for the medes and another for the persians indeed.

TBC…

156 responses to “Allan Kinch Saga – Savvy on the Bay”

1. The whole development process in Barbados has become a Mafia style cartel where the big ‘Don’ makes their private deals with their con-men friends, and then use the AGs office, the Town Planning department and the police force as enforcers.
    Meanwhile they mobilize their lackie political pimps to make the issue into a ‘political’ matter.

The highway robbery of Mrs Ram was legendary – no matter what kind of person she has been. But so was the blatant change in land use to accommodate projects such as the move of the Geriatric hospital to the Belle to facilitate another million dollar hotel project in Bay street.
    This is what happens when you get away with Four Seasons, and Clear Water scams… you feel entitled..

Bushie’s Ital shack is probably on the list to be acquired at some point, so the Bushman starting the defense action well before this happens…
    Lotta shite..

2. The property was sold to Kinch by the previous Gov’t and now the current Gov’t wants it back. In biblical terms one could say that “the Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away”. When I listened to the sonorous voice of the AG reading his statement, I thought that the Gov’t had special plans for the site, and you could have knocked me over with a feather when he said that the intended use was for a car park. Meanwhile the people in Joes River (the constituency of the AG) have been take your pick (1) sold down the river (2), up s..t creek without a paddle (3) left high and dry (4) fishing in a dry pond.

Never a dull moment in Bim.

3. Sham/scam/flimflam Avatar
    Sham/scam/flimflam

I will withhold comment until the sham/scam develops further.

4. Living in an age of uncertainty

“You’ll find rest, you’ll find peace in Barbados”, sang the Merrymen and we Bajans agreed. This administration started competently with COVID-19 czar Richard Carter guiding us through the epidemic. The Welcome Stamp Initiative brought us wonderful citizens (who buy and drink my goat’s milk and want to live here). But suddenly we’re seeing a mad rush to policies which defy logic, destroy our stability and create stress.
    Ralph Jemmott’s masterpiece on Has Barbados Lost Its Way, and subsequent emails asking if he’s the only one astute (or brave?) enough to speak out, prompted me to offer support. Let’s hope that “Is Barbados going to hell in a hand basket?” isn’t on the horizon. (Miners were once lowered down mine shafts in baskets to set off explosives. Not all got out in time.)
    Jemmott tells how we’re now living in a world where “many of the old certitudes have disappeared”. He mentions the troubling crime scene, vandalism in a school and unfortunate deaths while “our leadership seems preoccupied with climate change and external borrowings”.
    Is Nero again fiddling while Rome burns?
    (Someone remarked how, after every speech on the Bridgetown Initiative, the days seem to get hotter than ever before.
    Maybe we’re missing something.)
    Of particular concern to any of us who own property in Barbados is the latest Jeff Kinch and Savvy On The Bay saga, especially coming on the heels of the “Mrs Ram” property takeover and something similar in Dover. Apparently, Kinch bought an area from Government, spent money and developed a popular, Bajans-involved enterprise. Now Government wants to take back part for use as, believe it or not, a car park! And give him back the same money he paid for it!
    Lord have mercy! There are three issues playing out here. First, property rights seem to be going through the window. Government will no longer restrict itself to “compulsorily acquiring” property needed for public use like road widening. Your land can be taken and handed over to a developer. Secondly, it seems you won’t be paid the market value for the property you developed. And thirdly, God only knows when, or if, you’ll ever get paid.
    A 90-year-old lady often tells how some of the property her policeman
    husband owned was acquired by Government.
    Her husband remarked that “I’ll be dead before I ever get paid what I was promised for this land”. And so true, he’s been gone over ten years and she’s still owed.
    My wife and I bought 14 acres here at Morgan Lewis in 1977 and worked like slaves to clean it up and pay for it in eight years, two years before due. We rented and worked two adjoining acres for nearly 40 years. (That has now been sold to a developer who owns the 26 acres between us and Morgan Lewis Beach. The asking price was over $300 000.) My dream was to leave our property to our children and grands.
    Recently, a surveyor who was admiring our field remarked: “You know, under this Government, it is quite possible for your land to be compulsorily acquired and turned over to a developer who wants to put down a wind farm or solar panels!” I went cold. Was the surveyor making a general remark or did he have inside information and was warning me?
    Surveyors are obviously on the inside track with development information.
    Of particular relevance here is an ad which you can Google under “Land for sale, Green Pond, St Andrew, Barbados” – 6.5 acres – “Large lot on the tranquil East Coast of Barbados which is perfect for sustainable development. Price US$395 000”. Prime Minister David Thompson wanted this part of the island kept as a national park. Prime Minister Owen Arthur specifically blocked a proposed development of the Green Pond area, saying it should be left for the use of Barbadians who fish, graze animals and relax there.
    So, should I cut and run? Sell my property before it is taken from me for a pittance which I may never collect?
    Or risk staying? Please let’s return to a stress-free Barbados where you’ll find rest and you’ll find peace.

Richard Hoad is a farmer and social commentator. Email porkhoad@gmail.com.

5. David

Here you go again!

6. @enuff

In the absence of transparency this is the result, confusion!

7. The Knox family must be watching in disbelief at an instant replay of their saga. The Barbados Mafia Inc. (BMI).

8. The government is being flayed in the public opinion space with good reason. Yesterday David Ellis our only veteran and respected journalist started to probe the matter then …

9. Well here is my view on this matter. Had the government enforced the first stop notice when it was ignored the matter would not have gone this far. So to government I say wunna got youself to blame here too. Mr Kinch was guilty of breaking the law and wunna guilty of not enforcing it.

Now moving along we have other issues here. Kinch aint the first to do such deals with the good old Dems in the still of the night. Remember when Maloney bought the hotel there by Chefette Rockley and we heard that the Accra carpark to the east was included in the sale? It was only when the Bajans here and went to the meeting armed with some good cuss words that the said issue died a natural death ( we hope). I cant understand when I home sleeping these land owls does be out hunting!

So I declaring my had now who corns get mash sorry to hear. I herby delcare my support for law and order as delayed as it may be, and wish the matter be settled quicky once and for all. I further would like to advise the AG that next time someone disobeys a stop order, wunna dont wait for moss to grow on the illegal structure but act quickly. That way be they black white or mixed blend, no one could find fault with your decisions.

Right I gone (only fuh now though)

10. And Hoad knows Kinch’s father was a surveyor.

11. Savvy land dispute raises questions
    Article by Barbados Today
    Published on
    July 14, 2023

The recently publicised land dispute between the Government and businessman Allan Kinch has made for interesting headlines and reading over the past few days.

The property at the centre of the dispute, which is sandwiched between the old Eye Ward and the Copacabana Beach Bar on Bay Street, is the home of Kinch’s Savvy on the Bay food establishment and several vendors who rent space from him.

The issue has been a hot subject on call-in programmes and social media. Some of the vendors are afraid they will be displaced and are pushing back against the Government’s plans to turn the area into a car park.

But Attorney General Dale Marshall has insisted that the Government has no interest in stopping small businesses from thriving. At the same time, he said the status of those businesses has to be regularised.

“We are committed to reacquiring two of three parcels of land at Bay Street that were formerly vacant and freely utilised by generations of Barbadians. Barbadians must not be robbed of that right, and whether car park or otherwise, we are intent on securing those rights for Barbadians. Some things are priceless,” he announced on Wednesday.

“We will be seeking to negotiate with Mr Kinch as a first option. If we cannot reach an agreement, then the provisions of the Land Acquisition Act will be relied upon for the acquisition of the properties and the court will be asked to set the compensation that Mr Kinch will be due, which is also provided for under the Act.”

Many have compared the development to what happened to Asha Mrs Ram Mirchandani in 2019. Her Liquidation Centre business on Lower Bay Street was compulsorily acquired by the Government to make way for the construction of the Hyatt Hotel.

At the time, Marshall told the House of Assembly that development must go on and that Government cannot focus on carparks but real development.

“The acquisition will go ahead because the business of rebuilding Barbados stops for no man. Let us focus the minds of the Barbadian people on what our real issues are. This is the first acquisition that this administration has done and I’m happy that we’re doing it at the cusp of our first year in office because it is being done as part and parcel of a truly important developmental imperative.

“We need to get this country building again, we need to get this country working again. We need hotels on our finest beaches and not carparks. We need investment in our country and more from the private sector than from the Government,” he said at the time.Therefore, it is intriguing that a car park is exactly what the Government wants to use Kinch’s land for now.

Kinch said he bought the property for $4 million more than eight years ago when it was being sold by the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. That was under a previous administration.

But the AG explained that from the time the Mia Mottley-led came to office in 2018, it made it clear to the landowner it did not share his approach for use of the land.

He said the Planning and Development Department had issued an Enforcement Notice as well as a Stop Notice to Kinch in respect of what he was doing on the lands.

“We cannot have one set of laws for the Medes and another set for the Persians. Mr Kinch has disregarded these notices and continued to do his business. How can we seek to enforce these various rules when it comes to small business operators and even homeowners while turning a blind eye to what Mr Kinch has done and continues to do?” he questioned.

But in an interview with Barbados TODAY, Kinch said: “I am shocked that the AG would try to create a story in the news and on the call-in programmes instead of responding to the numerous emails from my attorney asking for a draft agreement since the site meeting on June 2nd, 2021, where the PM [Prime Minister Mia Mottley] asked him and my attorney to finalise the swap of about one acre on the seaside beside Copacabana for two acres on the west end across the road on the corner, beside the traffic light.”

One commentator on social media questioned why Government would take $4 million and invest in land for a carpark when the money could be put to better use: “Wouldn’t it benefit Bajans more if Government was to invest that $4 million-plus on redeveloping the nearby dilapidated building which once housed the Ministry of Health? We need additional healthcare facilities to take the strain off of the hospital. We would be grateful since health care is something all of us need as some point in time.”

A caller to a popular radio programme questioned Government’s move to yet again displace a business on that stretch.

“Why is Government so focused on that area for redevelopment?”

Another raised the question: “First Mrs Ram, now Savvy. Why doesn’t Government use the millions of dollars to develop and improve the lives of those living in nearby areas like Nelson Street, Wellington Street and Cypress Street?”

While we cannot venture to answer any of the questions posed to the administration, we hope that the cries and concerns of tax-paying Barbadians can be addressed by the Government that has touted its pledge to engage citizens at every turn of major decision-making.

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    What “still of the night”? There was a public tender for bids. That was answered, and when the bids were opened Kinch was the high bidder.

13. David
    Uh huh, I’d say so too if I were struggling to defend someone who put up a whole development without permission and have to resort to red herrings. By the way this is the same parcel of land BUers lambaste when it was revealed that it was sold for $4M, when it was fenced and when the trees were planted?.

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

Lest we forget, the recently announced Dental School by the Canadian owner of a private high school, included a huge amount of land, some of which was to be acquired by eminent domain.
    “Government, through a Resolution brought by Minister of Housing, Lands and Maintenance, Dwight Sutherland moved to acquire 9.024 acres of land at Harrisons Plantation in St. Lucy for the public purpose of education, economic and tourism development.

The land being acquired will add to another parcel some 74 acres being sold by the Barbados Tourism Investment Incorporated to accommodate the school.”

First, why does a dental school need 80+ acres, and second, why can’t the dental school owner acquire the land?

15. @ Northern

Man you didnt tell me you sat in the tenders committe and got the inside scoop.

Serisusly though you swallow that. I mean I does hear about these kind of things all the time. Well I remember a few years back a fellow had won a tender and it was “alleged” that a piece of land in st Philip was the sugar in the cup. Nothing to do with this issue of course just saying.

16. Wait David i heared there was another fellow here that had a quarry that a stop notice was issued on and just so in the still of night, the quarry get lease out to another maguffy and kicking stone all night now.

Cant remember the quarry name or who running it now though, must ask David Ellis to find out for muh.

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    You just need to read the several prior BU threads on this matter, to appreciate the process which occured.
    It took long as shiite as is the norm in Barbados, but it wasn’t hidden.

18. Anyhow as chairman of the shop keepers association for the betterment of rum sales i herby bequeath the following.

In light of all matters pertaining to said facility and as a result of, but not limited to the uncertainty about said facility I hereby state that effective today the facilty will now be referred to by the association and all its members as SAGA ON THE BAY.

19. @Enuff

Do you know if TP issued an enforcement notice to the owner at Worthing Square?

20. Part of the problem in Barbados is the average person only reacts to the controversial and salacious. The governance process is not understood or cared about NO. Take your favourite Clearwater. What has caught Bajans interest is that small operators will have to close for a car park to be constructed AND how this matter is commingled with Joe’s River. A pity we don’t have an active political opposition/movement to assist with leading on these types of issues.

21. @ Northern

Alright all sport aside now. My issue here is adherance to the law. If the Town Planner issues a stop notice, then it should be adhered to and enforced in event of failure to adhere.

We cant have a run away society where people with money, be it theirs or others, feel that they have the right to bulldoze their way through regardless of the law. We already appear to have a run away society on our roads and when you trying to hold a fete. I am not saying we can correct all this overnight, but a start must be made. Kinch is not the only one though that doesnt give a rats ass about the TCP. Its just that his is the most topical.

I also believe the authorites have to hold some licks on this too. If you issue a stop notice and its ignored, well go up by the MTW and borrow a working bulldozer. Having said that we also cant seem to control the motorcycles on one wheel every sunday, the ZR culture or the rules on our roads, so maybe we are a lost cause who knows. I however am an optimist and say let this be a start of a more aggressive regulatory and enforcement system on the rock.

As for the law of acquisition, it speaks clearly why its there and yes this piece of land would qualify under the acquisition act. All I would ask is if you acquire it, then for Gods sake pay the man for the land before he dead.

22. @John A

Does it remind you of that time a piece of Coverley encroached on the highway for years without attention from TCP?

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

Where is Dub? Cdn songstress Mitchell and big yellow taxi…
    They paved paradise and put down a parking lot … 😃

24. @ David

Yes it does and that is my point. TCP has the right to enforce the law, but in some cases you cant help but wonder if they ” friten” to. Also does the TCP need the sign off of the AG to enforce the law? I dont know so here asking.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

JohnA
    I agree with adherence to the law (whatever that is?)
    Yet, “if” other proposals for development get stonewalled, sometimes you have to play ‘their game’?

26. @John A

How does any government foster investor confidence if SOME have to tie up significant sums waiting on a process that is influenced in a less than a professional way? A parallel can be made to erosion of confidence in government securities. We have to get serious!

27. Visually, this business grouping, looks like Worthing Square. Does Kinch own that too?

28. I screwed up because we have no opposition Avatar
    I screwed up because we have no opposition

“A pity we don’t have an active political opposition/movement to assist with leading on these types of issues.”

Kindly amused that no matter the issue, now, one of the reasons becomes the lack of an opposition.
    Prior to today, the solution was to sweep out the incompetents. Today, the strategy is to keep the incompetents and blame lack of an opposition.

29. @ Northern

Yes sadly that is the case. Thing is we know under the DEMS the chosen followers did the dog. Truth is though if you go back in time you will find offenders wearing both coloured shirts.

Point is though the days of milk and honey gone since 2008. We must manage our business now more efficiently and transparently. You have to also understand the younger voter is way better informed than in the cornbeef and biscuit days. We cant jump on the backs of the young and poor, if we dont set the example by making it clear the law applies to all first.

But dont mind me I got my approved plans here from TCP in an old Sodabix tin safe so I could talk powful!

30. Work downwards. Don't start at the bottom Avatar
    Work downwards. Don’t start at the bottom

There is an expression “shiit flows downhill”.
    Don’t start at the bottom of the hill “lack of an opposition” . Start from where you can see the monkey butt and work downwards

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

Lol…Sodabix tin?
    I know my mother kept the Sodabix in a tin, but I can’t remember a Sodabix tin.

32. @ David

Exactly and i cant remember us having made any progress on improving on the ease of doing business scale either. We have to start being more serious about adherance and enforcement, along with climbing up the ease of doing ratings. We are known as a country of red tape where ever you turn. From licensing a car to paying customs duties we aint easy.

Let me however say I had some dealings with the NIS recently and I have to say I was really impressed by the ladies i dealt with. They were knowledgeable and professional so not all are bad. But dont think it is only the government. Try calling a bank to discuss anything!

In the end though the laws are there for all and must be adhered to and enforced regardless of colour or social and economic standing.

33. @ Northern

Serious you dont remember a sodabix tin you must be was too young. They were aluminum in colour and about 1 foot cube with a steel top you took off. Sodabix tins were the safes of the elder country people. Lol

34. https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/07/Kinch_Savvy_Bay-Street-1024×486.png

Proposed: in the blue area land he would give to the public with showers and washrooms and parking and area for vendors. This would be what you call developmental planning gains. This was offered before the sale was completed. Note the area in the red box is where Bajans had parking prior to 2007.

Source: Kinch

35. It is simplistic to talk about ‘enforcing the Law’, when on one side you have an ordinary citizen… and on the other side, you have the Government, the Planning Department – that is micro managed by the government, the AG’s office -that is micromanaged by the government, (and which ‘makes up’ and enforces rules arbitrarily); the acting Police force – that is micro managed by the government.

… ALL representing the interest of Malmoney and others of such ilk, who fund the ‘private’ needs of ‘the government’….?

This is EXACTLY how the Mafia works…. except that ours claim to be legal.

…and most brass bowls are disinterested…??

What a place!!
    What a curse!

36. Finally something to which I can contribute.

I remember the Sodabix tin and the Eclipse tin. 😊

De rest uh dis ting got my poor little brain tie up. I cyan mek head nor tails uh rit.

All I know is that there aren’t so many acres left to sell to the foreign developers. I hope they have a plan that involves keeping some of Barbados for Barbadians.

“To [car park] or not to [car park]” seems a very silly question, to be honest.

Another epic back back by this government, apparently.

Is it “one step forward and two steps backward”? Is it time to tremble?

Just say when, all ye of big brain fame!

37. A hotel or condo or offices can be built with a parking lot underneath.

38. @Hants

The government owns too many old buildings across the street that are occupied by vagrants and occasionally attract arsonists. Adjoining Barbados Family Planning

39. David

In the Sunday Sun of 30 April 2023, a representative of Worthing Square said they started to operate but were notified that they needed planning permission and subsequently submitted one. This suggests that they were served with something by TP and subsequently applied for what is called an “application to retain unauthorised development”. Here is what the law says:

“Where, before the enforcement notice takes effect, an application is
    made to the Board in accordance with section 31 for the retention on land of any buildings or works or the continuance of any use of the land to which the
    enforcement notice relates, the operation of the enforcement notice is suspended pending the determination of that application.”

From what I’ve read in the paper, Kinch got both an enforcement and a stop notice, and the latter suggests that what he’s done is far more problematic than food trucks on a former car park not on the beachfront.

Read this Barbados Today story about the fencing off of the space:
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/02/14/bay-street-beachfront-enclosure-affects-area-bars-shops/

Like I do, you should do some more reading to understand processes before jumping to conclusions and being hoodwinked.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

My family’s money couldn’t fill the old tarnished silvery dry mustard tin, my mother used to hide it in….lol
    Country folk must have a good few blenzers to use a tin that size.

41. @Enuff

The blogmaster is sharing positions held on this matter, it is up to those guarding the information to come clean with the public. Why should the blogmaster have to wade through newspaper reports to filter pertinent information? The same occurred at the Coverley exit, the same occurred at the Shallow Draft with Rock Hard, the same occurred with many other projects.

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

@enuff
    Is that really the issue here?
    What led to Kinch back ending the GoB, as the same GoB is trying to achieve internationally with Bridgetown initiative, climate change etc. Just looking for a seam that leaks.
    Seems he has found one?
    Young local entrepreneurs being asked to move for a parking lot?
    To besides, who really wants to park metal objects, ok I know nuff plastic these days, in the salt air?

43. Yes and I gather this saga on the beach issue is not the first incident where he ignored an enforcement notice either.

There is much here that needs to be reported on and brought to light so all can understand the full picture.

44. It is a great irony the government has not shown itself to be as forceful enforcing rules in the PSV sector for example. Definitely agree with the AG there is one law for the Medes and another for the Persians.

45. @ Northern what you have said is true but remember the TCP also moved on the one in Rendezvous as well, so no one can say that Kinch is being victimised. Unless of course you consider breaking the law then being stopped makes you a victim.

The difference seems to be that unlike The Food Court who stopped and rectified their issue so as to comply, this fella seems to have “pelt the letter oneside.”

46. @John A

There a new food stall to replace the one that burned recently at Worthing Square. What is your point ?

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    What issues are to be rectified?
    Is the food court to stay if a) and b) are complied with, or is the option sell de land back to we or else?
    And what other development proposals were rejected and why?
    Why was TPrescod involved?
    There is surely on long story here?