The following article was submitted by Niel Harper, a Barbadian professional making his mark in the international arena. See his website Niel HarperBlogmaster

Earlier this week, news broke that a questionnaire ‘sanctioned’ by the Ministry of Education (“MoE”) and overseen by the Inter-American Development Bank (“IDB”), was administered to mostly 11 year old children in Barbados. It has also come to light that a similar project was undertaken in Jamaica and Belize.

Ramona Archer-Bradshaw (l) Chief Education Officer Kay McConney (r), Minister of Education (r)

Misleadingly labelled as a “Computer Science Diagnostic Pre-Test”, it included questions on “social and emotional health” that were of a very sensitive nature. Below is a sampling of the more than 150 psycho-social questions:

• I drink alcohol without parents’ approval.
  • I deliberately try to hurt or kill myself.
  • I hear sounds or voices that other people think aren’t there.
  • I am overweight.
  • I physically attack people.
  • I steal from home.
  • I steal from places other than home.
  • I think about killing myself.
  • I think about sex too much.
  • I wish I were of the opposite sex.
  • I use drugs for non-medical purposes.
  • I see things that other people think aren’t there.
  • Physical problems without known medical cause:
    • Aches of pains (not stomach or headache)
    • Headaches
    • Nausea, feels sick
    • Problems with eyes (not if corrected by glasses)
    • Rashes or other skin problems
    • Stomach aches
    • Vomiting, throwing up
    • Other

The questionnaire was delivered using a paper form and required that students provide personal information such as their name, sex, and ethnicity. Also included were detailed questions about the education level and work status of parents (e.g., type of job, unemployed, homemaker, etc.).

There was swift and comprehensive social commentary accompanied by widespread public condemnation of the decision to administer this questionnaire. The political public relations machinery quickly sprung into action to contain the damage to the public perceptions of the current Barbados Labour Party (BLP) administration. The IDB immediately took responsibility for the melee, trying in vain to absolve the Ministry of Education of any wrongdoing. The Chief Education Officer, Deputy Chief Education Officer, Permanent Secretary, and the Director of Education Reform all embarked on a public apology tour. The Prime Minister set about with her usual articulate flare and penchant for press conferences to assure the masses that she was deeply outraged (while praising the IDB for their prompt action in shifting the blame from her government). However, it must be noted that the Minister of Education has been conspicuously silent amidst this public relations storm.

But now to the main reason behind this author’s musings…

So far, the public discourse around this fiasco has centered on the incompetence of the Ministry of Education staff, the arrogance of the IDB, the inappropriateness of the questions, and the mental stress inflicted on the children. What has been glaringly missing are the legal elements. So let me break it down.

• The subject questionnaire is for all intents and purposes scientific research. Questionnaires are popular in academic research for quick and easy collection of large amounts of data for analysis of subject behavior, preferences, intentions, attitudes, and opinions.
  • To meet ethical and legal standards, and to protect the rights of data subjects, informed consent is an important legal basis for data processing as required by the Data Protection Act (Barbados), General Data Protection Regulations (European Union), Data Protection Act (United Kingdom), Personal Information Protection and Electronics Data Act (Canada), and other privacy and data protection laws across the world.
  • As per the Barbados Data Protection Act (“the Act”) and similar laws around the world, there are six lawful grounds on which data can be processed: explicit consentcontractual obligationslegal obligationsvital interests of the data subjects, public interests, or for purposes of legitimate interests of the data controller. The only lawful basis which the MoE can use for administering the subject questionnaire is legitimate interests. However, that lawful basis does not pass the three-part test which requires a positive answer to these three (3) questions: Is there a legitimate interest behind the processing? Is the processing necessary for that purpose? Is the legitimate interest overridden by the data subject’s interests, rights, or freedoms?
  • As per the definitions in the Act (and the other aforementioned laws), the students whose personal data have been collected are data subjects.
  • As per the definitions in the Act, the Government of Barbados is the data controller who determines the purposes for which and the means by which personal data is processed. The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) is the data processor who processes personal data only on behalf of the data controller.
  • As per the definitions in the Act, a ‘child’ is a person under the age of 18.
  • As per the Act Part II 8(1-2), “The processing of a child’s personal data shall be lawful only where and to the extent that consent is given or authorised by the parent or guardian of the child” and “The data controller shall make reasonable efforts to verify in such cases that consent is given or authorised by the parent or guardian of a child, taking into consideration available technology.” From all accounts, neither the MoE nor the IDB obtained consent from parents to collect this personal data from children. This is a violation of the law.
  • As per the Act Part II 9(1-4), the data collected is personal sensitive data, which requires greater safeguards to protect the rights of the data subjects. Sensitive data includes data on ethnicity, health, and sexual orientation or sexual life. Collection of this type of personal data requires strong security and consent is required to share with third parties. From all accounts, the data controller (MoE) did not obtain consent from parents to share this sensitive personal data with a third party. This is a violation of the law.
  • As per the Act Part IV 58(1-10), the MoE (data controller) is required to have a Data Protection Agreement in place with the IDB (data processor) to ensure that the rights of the individual are being protected and that legal compliance with the Act is achieved. The public deserves to know whether a Data Protection Agreement exists between the two entities and to examine if it is fit for purpose.
  • As per the Act Part IV 55(1-6), the IDB must be registered as a data processor, pay a fee, be in possession of a certificate to conduct data processing activities, and nominate a representative who is resident in Barbados. Failing to do any of these things makes their representative liable for a “fine of $10,000 or to a term of imprisonment of 2 months or to both.” Is the IDB compliant with the law in this area? The government should present the general public with evidence to verify this compliance.
  • As per the Act Part IV 59(1-2), it is stated that “The data processor and any person acting under the authority of the data controller or of the data processor, who has access to personal data, shall not process those data except on instructions from the data controller, unless required to do so by any enactment” and “A person who contravenes subsection (1) is guilty of an offence and is liable on summary conviction to a fine of $500,000 or to a term of imprisonment of 3 years or to both.” In their public statement, the IDB asserts that their administering of the questionnaire was against the objections of the MoE. This is a violation of the law.
  • The Act Part IV 62 (1-3) requires that data processing of this sensitivity and high risk be conducted using online tools. Moreover, it states that the data is pseudonymized (not contain information that could identify a living person), which means that the names of individuals should not have been required on the document. Finally, it demands that strong security protections be in place to protect against unauthorized access. Given that the questionnaire was administered by paper, it is virtually impossible to guarantee that this very sensitive personal data on children was adequately protected from unauthorized access, misuse, and abuse. Moreover, it also attributed the sensitive and potentially harmful information to living, identifiable children and their parents. This is a violation of the law.
  • The Act Part IV 67(1-7) and 68(1-6) requires that both the data controller (MoE) and the data processor (IDB) designate an individual as a data privacy officer to advise them on the legal, technical, and administrative elements of processing personal data. A data privacy officer should be an individual qualified in privacy law and compliance. To the best of my knowledge, neither organization is compliant with this legal requirement with regards to data processing in Barbados. Given the number of violations of the law, this is not surprising.
  • One of the most alarming things about this matter is the eerie silence of the Data Protection Commissioner.As per the Act Part VII 70(1) and 71, the Data Protection Commissioner is “responsible for the general administration of this Act” and whose functions are to monitor and enforce the Act (including issue fines), organize activities to educate children (and parents) on the risks of processing their data, and monitor and audit data processing by data controllers and data processors, among other things. The individual in this role was equally silent during the February 2022 elections when the government leaked the entire voters’ list on the public Internet, which has, based on my discussions with officials at financial institutions in Barbados, resulted in several citizens being victims of fraud and identity theft. This seriously brings into the question the qualifications, capabilities, and independence of the Commissioner, and the ability of the individual to effectively serve in this important role.
  • As data protection laws are generally extraterritorial, the MoE and IDB have more than likely violated the General Data Protection Regulations (European Union) and other privacy/data protection laws from across the world. For example, there are many expats living in Barbados, and if European Union citizens were required to take the questionnaire, then that is a clear violation of EU laws. This also applies to citizens from other countries where robust data protection laws have been enacted.
  • There are numerous other areas of the Act that the MoE and IDB violate in their relationship (e.g., consultation with the Data Protection Commissioner, performing data protection impact assessments, records of data processing activities, etc.). Sadly, this is just the tip of the iceberg. There are several public agencies, educational institutions, financial organizations (including fintechs), retail companies, telecoms operators, and other businesses in Barbados who are in clear violation of privacy and data protection laws.

The “right to private life” is enshrined in the Constitution of Barbados and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR). The rights of data subjects (including children) are legally protected by the Data Protection Act (Barbados). The Government of Barbados, its development partners, and private corporations need to do so much better as it pertains to upholding the rights of citizens. I shudder to think of what similar privacy rights abuses are happening in other Caribbean countries and across the broader developing world.

343 responses to “The Ministry of Education-IDB Questionnaire Fiasco: The Legal and Human Rights (Privacy) Angle”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….there was another sex survey for 3rd formers just last week, who are NOWHERE NEAR 16 years old either and should NOT HAVE BEEN ASKED THOSE TYPES OF QUESTIONS EITHER WITHOUT PARENTAL CONSENT..

a survey set by PEDOPHILES…

MORE TO COME…

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

wuhloss….somebody just posted the board of governors of IADB…am sure just like Caricom chair it is a revolving role….and who is on it from Barbados none other than your HEAD TRAITOR now pretending she did not know the kids were going to be used as “not bout here guinea pigs.”

MURDAHHHH…..William….these deceitful creatures in black face…

now ya see why i don’t blame globalists or US or racists anyone who have been doing the same thing for THOUSANDS OF YEARS and ya know what to expect from them..

.i blame ya EVIL SELLOUTS calling themselves black……the niga judas..

now you know WHY the government MUST BE A CO=DEFENDANT TO ANY LAWSUIT…

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“@ WURA The ball is now in the Prime Minister’s court.”

William….definitely in her court, she can damn well resign after she fires her minions and imps of the satanic variety..

4. On what basis was the contract with consultants severed? What did the contractors do wrong? Who were the consultants? We know Iadb is the agency gathering the info facilitated by government. What is missing?

A RACI matrix of the Ministry will show the Responsible and Accountable persons are the CEO and the Minister respectively. The Consulted are obviously the consultants (IADB and unnamed consultants) and the Informed the principals (Ministry of Health should also have been informed).
    Management level staff always follow up with emails to ensure everyone is on the same page and to cover your ass. There should no doubt be an email trail for the request to remove the offensive questions, at this level verbal communication is not enough.
    The minister boldly stated she has never run away from anything in her life. LMAO, sweet girl this thing run over you long time, you now waking up from your coma, it is for the PM to decide how long to keep you on life support.

5. Wishes don’t catch fishes or scratch itches and witches don’t like snitches or bitches.
    Anyone expecting the MoE and the CEO to go the way of the other Moe hasn’t been paying attention in class.

6. No niceness here. I am serious.

Do you know that there are men who will kill if someone went near their 11-year old daughter? Do you know some of these same men would hop on a plane with the hope of meeting your young daughter?

Do you know that some see their children as frail flowers that need protecting and see your children of the same age as harden warriors?

Did you see how some here felt the questions were appropriate for your young children? They would deny them the protection of their parents.

Where would they stop? Is there a limit to what they would expose your 11-year old to?

How do they see your children?
    In the same way as they see theirs?
    Or just as fodder for a rapacious and perverted industry?

Each of us have a role to play. Some may consider me as an alarmist instead of the canary in the coalmine. You are the guardian, the first and last defense for your child. You must consider yourself on active duty.

7. My, my! If they had given me that pre-test in Lower First, I would not have taken it. Neither, I can assure you, would my son. For challenging authority, I often took a lot of heat at home and at school. So did he, at school sometimes. But I taught him TO THINK FOR HIMSELF AND DEMAND REASONABLE EXPLANATIONS.

Children must be allowed to question authority.

Bajan parents have a habit of saying, “Because I said so!”

Well, not me really. I always took the time to explain why, even when it annoyed me. Still do, even if it is tiring.

This issue is much bigger than the grave injustice that was done by the IDB and our own people at every level, who allowed it to happen.

What bothers me more is that so many children allowed it! Why did those children not object to what they must have known INSTINCTIVELY was out of order? Why did those children not respond in the appropriate manner to questions that so obviously had NOTHING to do with a computer test and MUST HAVE MADE THEM EXTREMELY UNCOMFORTABLE?

Why are we teaching our children to bow to “authorities” without question?

This is the greater injustice.

I would advise those affected to pursue all legal options open to them.

I do not suscribe to lighting my hair on fire with the usual conspiracy theories expressed here but this was an egregious invasion of privacy, among other things, that cannot end with no accountability.

P.S. I assume that Enuff is referring to the fact that Marcia Weekes is a Christian of a particular kind and so is Dr. Veronica Evelyn. They are likely the kind who see gender identities and sexual orientations in black and white. I don’t frequent social media but I do recall seeing a letter written by the latter protesting the proposed changes as they relate to civil unions.

“Yuh cyan question de Bible!” sorta mindset. And an agenda to match.

A dangerous position in my view.

When anyone tells me that I shouldn’t question God, I always reply, “So, how will I get the answers?”

Children must question EVERYTHING! And we must be prepared with reasonable answers. Then we must encourage discussion and independent thinking.

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

What an embarrassment for the island, the region and the sheep supporters, that’s what people are saying..

9. Good to see you Donna.

There is a point beyond which being practical and sensible is useful. Sometimes utter madness carries a louder and clearer message than that of polite discourse.

Perhaps the truth is more embedded in conspiracy theory than it appears.

Is the duck moving gently and beautifully on the lake the truth and the feet paddling feverishly under the water the conspiracy theory?

It often requires work to get at the truth.

10. In the US there is this expression

The squeaky wheel gets the grease.

11. In Barbados Today Dr Michael Campbell, Chairman of Ethics Review Committee at the University of the West Indies.is asking these questions

“First and foremost which I haven’t seen are what were the aims and objectives of the project? What’s the justification for including those health questions and those questions having to do with gender identity and all of that? Why is that important in this study and what research objective did they hope to achieve?” Dr Campbell queried.

“Another key issue is if you are collecting sensitive information and also collecting identifying information about research participants, what is your plan for data security and ensuring the confidentiality of research participants?

“Another issue is if you are conducting a study that is potentially distressing, what are the plans to safeguard the wellbeing of participants?”

Dr Campbell said the issue of consent of both parents and students was also a major one.

“If somebody has a research plan that involves asking sensitive questions to minors they would need to articulate why the study is important. They would need to have a clear plan to get informed consent from the parents…and if those things aren’t in place then it is unlikely that a project would be approved. “

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

some people are having a good laugh at the exposure and lies of these frauds, but personally i can’t, am more focused on asking for INVESTIGATIONS of these DEMONIC liars, these JUDASES, anywhere they touch down with their stench…..so that children ESPECIALLY ON THE CONTINENT OF AFRIKA are PROTECTED FROM THEM..

13. @ cuhdear
    Point of information
    All of these questions have already been asked.

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The controversial Computer Science pre-test that quizzed 11-year-old students on their sexuality and gender identity, among other things unknown to their parents, did not pass through the Ethics Review Committee at the University of the West Indies.”

as he said….as other professionals said…

“this was confirmed by chairman of the committee, Dr Michael Campbell, who told Barbados TODAY he was surprised that the test found its way into secondary schools across the island without the committee’s approval.”

it was not the ministry of uneducated shitehounds place to ask IDB to remove any questions, that would be the job of the REVIEW COMMITTEE…but it’s obvious it was HIDDEN FROM THEM…

as one professional said why were they going to form a review committee when UWI already had one….

15. @555dubstreet October 11, 2022 9:00 AM “Police Overseers monitor song lyrics to determine what black youths are saying thinking and feeling.”

Wouldn’t Police Overseers know better if they had some real-real face to face conversations with black youth?

16. @William Skinner October 11, 2022 9:09 AM “some , who will sacrifice anybody and anything, to defend the BLPDLP. Children , even their own included.”

So what’s new William.

I have had a teenaged child of a then sitting Cabinet Minister tell me while we were both standing on the deck of the Aquatic Center “my father don’t notice me”

17. @Donna at 1:02 PM “When anyone tells me that I shouldn’t question God, I always reply, “So, how will I get the answers?”

Dear Donna:

You OBEY the pope, or the priest, or the pastor or the prelate, or the President or the Prime Minister or other masculine authority. How dare you think for yourself?

P.S. Or you can go full on Jesus on them as the example given in Luke 2:46 “After three days they found him, [the 12 year old Jesus] in the temple courts, sitting among the teachers, listening to them and ASKING THEM QUESTIONS.”

18. @TheOGazerts October 11, 2022 2:08 PM “@ cuhdear. Point of information
    All of these questions have already been asked.”

I know Theo. But questions/statements carry more weight if they come from a real-real scholar instead of from a mad woman like Donna, or from a magic mushroom consuming ZR denzien like me.

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Cudder…don’t forget, mixing chicken and sheep manure gives ya okras as big as plantains….and real soft, less then three minutes in boiling water and they are ready to eat…

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Both Education Minister Kay McConney and Chief Education Officer Dr Ramona Archer-Bradshaw should be suspended while a public enquiry is conducted into how the controversial Computer Science test was administered in local schools.”

←→
    6 / 6

we done know this is NOT what the blind and dumb ENABLING supporters want to here, but sane, educated people believe they should BE FIRED and the government RESIGN..

21. TheO,

You would lecture me on “madness” and squeaky wheels?????

Oh dear! At least Cuhdear Bajan has not forgotten the tales of my “mad woman system” and how well it works.

TheO, I only bring it out when it is called for and it has nothing to do with a thought process but everything to do with lighting a fire under some delinquent’s ass.

Now, I believe that a lot of these conspiracy theories have their roots in Bible “prophecy”. And you know what I think about that!

So….I require some other basis for any conspiracy theory besides religious clap trap and mere speculation.

Here’s where rationality comes in – if I had wanted to gather this information for nefarious reasons, I would simply have administered the survey to ALL targeted children on the same day. By the time you lot found out all the info. would have been copied and I would have been ready to return the originals to the children the moment the dust-kicking started.

And anyone who knows Bajans would have been expecting the dust to fly! Bajans do not even like answering questions for census takers. To ask their children these personal questions would obviously make their blood boil.

What the IDB did was most inefficient. Surely devils would have come up with a better plan!

The Bible seems to suggest that they would.

Just Donna thinking things through and keeping her lovely dreads intact.

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Give it some time Theo….much more to come..

reading the bits and pieces is one thing….quite unnerving, so can’t diminish that, but…seeing the complete scenario organized in one long read, is quite another…

23. When are they going to stop ” spinning ” ?

Some in the Ministry of Education pucked up.

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Would love to hear TLSN’s thoughts on what has transpired in the public domain so far.

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Donna that ‘madness’ is quite lucid, IMHO!🙏🏿

I too continue to be flabbergasted by this incredible ‘fessup’.

My initial query was whether this was a test or survey which simply was asking: was this taking names with responses or just taking responses wid no name no lock-up!

However, as much as I can agree with you that for intended conspiratorial nefariousness we would expect better executed deceit one must be careful to remember that some of the most deceitful and nefarious acts where done very, very sloppily!

That little burglary escapade that brought down Nixon was sloppy nefariousness and much closer to this govt that Maloney/Covid vax folly was also a perfect example of sloppy nefariousness.

So just saying!

One day we may yet find out what is the real truth… for now they were clearly nefarious and arrogantly careless but not towards any grand conspiracy I suspect.

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“When are they going to stop ” spinning ” ?

Some in the Ministry of Education pucked up.”

but ya int see or hear nutten yet….patience…

the stench of the sheep praying for a miracle IS SO STRONG….it’s best to let it play out to the VERY END……let’s see if their own stench will take them out, free up some oxygen..

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

speaking to a young relative earlier who told me how surveys are conducted at UNIVERSITY LEVEL for YOUNG ADULTS, anything that can be psychologically disabling……..it’s consent, consent, consent…..let’s explain everything to you so you can give your CONSENT….and we DON’T GET SUED….

this young relative is totally unable to understand WHY they did what they did to these minors in Barbados, except for the obvious..

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

but wait one minute….aren’t most of these people in the parliament lawyers, starting from the top, and they are always READY TO SUE SUMBODY for some stupidity to pad their bank accounts……, and they should have at least one dozen lawyers in the miseducation ministry too,

Even me with my little piece of legal learning from over 20 YEARS AGO, know much better…lol

29. A similar IT situation in UK was the US-run programme called Prism, where GCHQ spy agency sent all its upstream data gathered on internet to NSA and FBI US spy agencies.
    More recently GCHQ’s Tempora programme intercepts data in most of the fibre-optic communications cables in and out of the country.
    These were covert illegal operations which were simply legalised to clear them when discovered.

30. with the explicit complicity duplicity of TRAITORS
    MY LORD
    WHAT MURDER IS DONE TO THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE BY THIS SO CALLED AUTHOR
    MAN SERIOUS AFRICAN AUTHORS THAT I HAVE READ, AND AFRICAN LECTURERS I HAVE HEARD ARE FAR MORE ELOQUENT AND ARTICULATE, WHEN YOU CONSIDER THAT ENGLISH IS NOT THEIR NATIVE TONGUE, AND THAT THEY MAY SPEAK MORE THAN ONE LOCAL DIALECT

31. I need a little help here
    I saw his picture and rush to read ithe article
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/11/counselling-team-willing-and-ready/

But what do you know
    It has no mention of Ronnie O

32. RE it’s a good thing i don’t pretend to be a scholar who don’t know the difference between presenting an idea to an EMPLOYER and IMPLEMENTING SAID IDEA which is outside the field of my expertise…dumb ass…..fake scholar….i know what am writing given the audience…..lol

IT IS A GOOD THING YOU DONT PRETEND TO BE A SCHOLAR——AS YOU CLEARLY ARE NOT. ON THE OTHER HAND DETAILS OF ME BEING A SCHOLAR CAN BE FOUND IN THE RECORDS OF THE MOE.

NEVERTHELESS, I AM DOING WELL FOR NOT BEING A SCHOLAR WITH ALL THE SPEAKING ENGAGEMENTS I HAVE WEEKLY
    AND, AS A NON SCHOLAR I TEACH AT THE COLLEGE LEVEL HERE IN THE USA IN SEVERAL OF THE BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCES, ONLINE, AND DO RESERCH IN NUTRITION AND OBESITY

ONCE MORE I WAS NOT AN EMPLOYEE OF THE MOH WHEN I GAVE THEM MY STELLAR PLANS FOR A NHS AT NO COST TO THE NATION, AFTER THE GOVERNMENT HAD PAID A HANDSOME SUM TO THE KELLOGS FOUNDATION FOR THE LACK OF ADVICE OR A PROPER PROPOSAL, WRITTEN BY THEIR SENIOR POLICY ANALYSTS.

NOT ONLY WAS MY STELLAR IDEAS GLADLY RECIEVED AS THE FOLK ON THE DAY OF PENTECOST WHEN PETER PREACHED HIS FIRST SERMON AT THE ONSET OF THE CHURCH, BUT I WAS HIRED TO IMPLEMENT THE SAME, AND PARTICIPATED THUS IN AT LEAST SIX CENTERS.

I AM WARMLY GREETED BY THE MANY WITH WHOM I SERVED, AND THE MANY THAT I SERVED, WHEN EVER I CAOME TO MY ISLAND HOME.

HAVING BEEN WELL TRAINED AT UWI MEDICAL SCHOOL INCLUDING SITTING AT THE FEET OF DR KR RAO AND SIR MAURICE BYER, AND HAVING RESEARCHED SEVERAL NATIONAL SERVICES IN EUROPE, I WAS ABLE TO FAITHFULLY PARTICIPATE ACTIVELY IN THE IMPLEMENT ATION OF THE SERVICE AS OFFERED ON SEPTEMBER 1 1985.

THE QUALITY OF MY PRISTINE PROSE WILL ATTEST THAT I AM NOT EITHER DUMB, OR DUNCY AND NOTHING LIKE THE JACKASS HONOURED IN KEITH G CHESTERTON’S POEM WHICH WE LEARNED AS LITTLE SCHOOLBOYS SOME 60 YEARS AGO.

THE QUALITY AND QUANTITY OF YOUR PATHETIC RAMBLINGS INDICATE CLEARLY WHY YOU COULD NOT GET A BLACK MAN , AND CONSEQUENTLY CAUSING YOU TO RESORT TO ONE OF YOUR SLAVE MASTERS AS IF YOU WERE A COMMON FIELD SLAVE AS DESCRIBED IN THE POLISHED HOE., EXCEPT THAT THE ONLY POLISH YOU KNOW IS KIWI OR NUGGET

YOU ARE A SOURCE OF GREAT MIRTH AND I ENJOY MOCKING YOU.

33. There is always time for a little fun…
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/11/blackbirds-put-20-goals-past-overawed-combined-women/
    “Competing on the outfield that was wet and definitely slippery, the UWI team comprising many of Barbados’ current national players were unstoppable with the powerfully built striker Rianna Cyrus accounted for a whopping 11 goals and having the opponents at her mercy.”

You cannot believe every expression that you hear “quitters don’t win and winners don’t quit”.
    If I was on a team and the score was 6-0, I would quit and walk off. Who the hell sticks around for a 20-0 drubbing? At 15-0, did they still believe that they still had a chance? Weren’t they embarrassed enough to quit.

And who was the umpire? He should have called the game at 8-0. Did he add on injury time? Didn’t he hear of the mercy rule? What was his thinking? If kids can answer 300 questions in 2 hours, then the game can continue if there are less than 200 goals in the scheduled time?

The national men’s soccer team has set a bad example to the youth of Barbados. They have gotten beaten so badly and so frequently that those who look up to them are no longer embarrassed when they are getting massacred. I can imagine folks going to big new national stadium and coming home crying after a soccer game. I suspect that is why the old stadium went to ruin, it wasn’t a happy place after an international soccer match.

I don’t watch cricket (I feel for those who do) ,but I watch a lot of soccer (3 hours today). and I am dreading sitting in a new national stadium and watching a soccer game

34. @ TheOGazerts,

When I was in 5th form I broke school rules and played ( goalkeeper ) for my neighbourhood team against Police in a 4th division match.

We got beaten 11 to 0. We had 8 men to their 11.

I did not quit, made a few saves and survived injury. lol

35. Will someone answer this question: If the survey was to test competencies, what is the 11+ for? Were these children’s competencies already tested. You cant make this stuff up.

36. Will someone answer this question: If the survey was to test competencies, what is the 11+ for? Were these children’s competencies already tested. You cant make this stuff up.

xxxxx

SMOKE SCREEN

FOLLOW THE BORROWED MONEY REQUIREMENT.

SOME LEADERS HAVE SOLD THEIR SOUL TO THE WHITE DEVILS.

37. @TheoG & Hants

There is the “Mercy Rule” which is normally applied in minor league baseball when a team has an unsurmountable lead and there is no hope of winning the losing team. It could be applied to other sports e.g. basketball as I always hear of lop-sided scores in some games.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mercy_rule

38. Read:

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

39. …..by the losing team……

40. Dame Bajans I agree with your comment at 9:48

The Chief Education Officer may be speaking the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, but I don’t believe her.

41. In addition since there were 300 questions to be completed in 2 hours why weren’t the questions which test math and english competencies at the top of the form.

Why was the question about a child’s incipient mental illness, the questions about sex, drugs and alcohol so close to the top of the form? Why the question about whether the children love and respect their parents also so close to the top of the form.

This was NOT a test so we need to stop calling it so. It had little or nothing to do with computer science.

This was a pscy-op. A psychological operation. This test was designed to probe into the minds of Barbados’ children and to probe into the quality of the family relationships of our children. And it was designed to probe the race and class structures of Barbados society.

42. Cuhdear Bajan,

CORRECT! That is exactly what it was meant to probe. It was meant to create a PROFILE for Barbados.

It was a deceitful act and somebody needs to be held accountable.

In this age of dangerous conspiracy theories, it only throws fuel on an already raging fire.

And the attempted cover up is making it worse!

We must always question governments….but a society cannot function with this level of conspiracy chaos.

43. DPD,

When I said “nefarious” I was referring to reasons of “paedophilia” as was advanced on this very blog. I know you are aware of the Q-Anon conspiracy that has branded all Democrats as paedophiles. I know that you know that when America sneezes, we Bajans catch a cold. (Well, not me but….)

What Nixon did required more planning than is necessary for administering a survey. Lil Donna would have been found wanting there too. Not so with this survey.
    Easy, peasy, Japanesy!

I am always quite suspicious of the motives of international agencies. I do not believe that they really have the interests of this little black country at heart. We know how the white world sees black people. No reason to think that international agencies see us any differently. The “benignness” is only a facade. (I see the UN introduced cholera has resurfaced in Haiti.) These agencies are run in the ultimate interests of the powerful countries. Any benefits we derive are incidental. Usually, they “give” with one hand and take with the other. That is what they think we deserve as “subhuman creatures”.

So…perhaps I should have said “anything other than than THE USUAL nefarious reasons.

P.S. As I mentioned, many conspiracy theories relating to total control of “robotic” citizens through data collection, microchips, tracking and the like has its roots in Bible “prophecy”. Many people believe that the time has come.

I also see elements of this theory surfacing here.

44. Correct errors yuhself! It is 5 a.m.

45. Has there be any questions not asked?
    A firm … Yes.
    How many students were subjected to this survey/test?
    Exactly how many times was this test administered? Sometimes I hear it was two times,sometimes three which can be translated to we don’t know?
    We have several unanswered questions. John A was asking about the purpose of the test days before an academic use the term ‘objectives’.

There are two ways of fixing this problem:
    (1) Fix the thing. Destroy the fake test scripts. Do not analyze the data and trim the Min of Ed starting at the top, or
    (2) the Bajan way. Do nothing but duck
    and dodge, hem and haw, apologize and send out the apologists. Do this for nine days and the problem is solved. We move on to the next shiny object.

46. ” Here’s where rationality comes in – if I had wanted to gather this information for nefarious reasons, I would simply have administered the survey to ALL targeted children on the same day. By the time you lot found out all the info. would have been copied and I would have been ready to return the originals to the children the moment the dust-kicking started.”

Now you an I know that every drug smuggler would love to transport as much as possible. But if you are coming in through the airport then you have to sneak it in. A ridiculous amount and you will be caught(immediately). You smuggle in enough that would not arise suspicion. Several shipments have to be made.

This is the approach done here. Rather than going big and possibly losing everything, you complete the task in increments.
    Survey 1 – no one complained
    Survey 2 – very few complained
    The targeting was excellent and almost successful. A few kids saved the nation.

47. Getting ready to go, but before I do, I have a question….

Did you believe that there would come a day that Mia avoids a microphone, cameras and the press?

On this issue she seems to have developed an allergy to the news media. She is more afraid of this than Superman is of Kryptonite. The woman and her (what is that thing she throws over shoulder called) blanket of invisibility are gone.
    —x—
    Have a great day y’all.

48. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Donna, I again piggy back on your remarks as I an in total agreement once more and I believe it captures well what’s before us:

We must always question governments ….but a society cannot function with this level of conspiracy chaos.

I dismiss the pedophile foolishness for the absurdity that it is … bowever I am aware of its currency and the very danger it presents by its repetition.

Social media has brought us tremendous benefits but just as surely is a destructive force particularly with these trending conspiracies that get repeated by freaking presidents and other HoSs!

49. 🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]] Avatar
    🌍 Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol [[[ONE LOVE ONE WORLD ♡ ♥ 💕 ❤ 😘 🌍]]]

US NGOs are part of CIA to infiltrate and undermine local structures and interfere in politics and elections in foreign lands, such as Ukraine in 2014, Jamaica in 1976, ME Spring Revolutions 2010

The next port of call is to hold IADB to account for their pollution

Revolution