Is politics nothing other than the art of deliberately lying?

⁃ Voltaire

There is a conversation being had across the globe. In the USA, UK, Barbados to name a few. It is about the integrity of the politician and the system that produces the politician. Oftentimes public commentators in this space and elsewhere offer facile analyses to what is a complex matter. It is no coincidence the political class is being pilloried by electors across countries and we continue to observe an unprecedented level of apathy and cynicism.

Our system – in theory – encourages any individual to offer themselves as a candidate for elective politics. When we criticize politicians we criticize ourselves. But is it that simple an observation to make?

The easy observation is that the process to select and elect political candidates who aspire to be members of parliament is inadequate. As the saying goes, “you only get out what you put in”. Why is the existing system to select political candidates inadequate to ensure the best opportunity to select a different type of politician?

Whether in the US, UK or Barbados it is obvious the ‘system’ is not engineered to encourage candidates from the blue collar segment of society to have a high chance of winning at the polls. The explanation maybe a simple one even if the solution is challenging to solve. There is a reason why individuals who are financially self sufficient like lawyers, doctors and self employed professionals run for political office. These self employed players have the flexibility to allocate time to canvassing, financial independence to grow favour with constituents and to avoid the strictures of being an employee. There is the knock on benefits of building social and professional networks and understanding the workings of the system to feather aspirations (the subject of another engagement) of professions.

The establishment in the case of Barbados solidifies the status quo by appointing individuals to the Senate from a similar class of background. Let us agree those selected must have a skillset to be competent to be a legislator BUT if the blue collar segment of the population is significant, room must be carved out in our system to ensure the best representation is reflected in the legislation.

As mentioned this is not simply a Barbados problem. Understanding the dysfunctional political system cannot be accurately distilled by the use of cliches like duopoly, tieffin politicians and other hyperbolic language used by some social commentators. It is a complex matter. We have to take heart from the fact change is constant and a process. It will occur as it always does – through honest to God advocacy by the PEOPLE.

214 responses to “A Never Ending Process to Change the Political Landscape”

1. “Organic Solution to prejudice against minorities and immigrants is even more minorities and immigrants and those who don’t like that should leave”

Am I reading this correctly? We just have one out of 90,000 and he is already running Barbadians off the island??

Tell me it isn’t so. WTH.

I can’t wait for the other 89,999 …
    —x–
    Have a great day.

2. Russel is wrong about the ‘printing of money’ being our ruin. That is a simplistic summary.

Our ruin is far more deeply rooted in brassbowlery.
    Brassbowlery is the adoption of the attitude that, (as the old folks used to put it,) “we mek we’self”, and therefore WE know what is best for us….when…
    The ACTUAL facts are, that we don’t know one shiite, …NOR do we even seem to know that we do not know.

Some UNNATURAL ENTITY actually created mankind and all the supporting paraphernalia, AND that entity has outlined THE path to living SUCCESSFULLY…. It is centered on LOVE, respect, cooperation, community-centric focus AND appreciation of the CREATOR.

WE however, have CHOSEN to adopt an alternative path – one characterized by materialism, selfishness, greed, vindictiveness and centered on MONEY – which has been espoused by the albino-centric agents of Evil.

Printing money is just one of the SYMPTOMS of such brassbowlery. It is no different to stealing money as with Four Seasons, Bribe-taking as with CAHILL, or giving away National Assets as with every shiite bout here.

So whether Stinkliar had printed money, or borrowed money, or sold Bajan children into long term slavery – or ALL of the above, …..our donkeys would STILL be sunk…

Russel is however correct about the IDIOCY of not having a locally owned bank.
    ONLY A GENUINE BAJAN BRASS BOWL could seek to justify having FOREIGNERS manage his personal funds because he feels himself incompetent to do so….. and NOT expect to end up BROKE and in ruin.

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

just as they deserve Bushman…just as they deserve…

and as William said….MORE TO COME..

4. David

And this is the re political-cultural problem we have in all spheres. Cutthroat and sellouts.

Beckles, himself has had a rich vein of antecedents especially in the person of Keith Hunte, another pretend radical. for a time..

And there’s only one way to cut this bloodline.

5. Am I reading this correctly?

when you don’t know you don’t know and you don’t know

listen to what people say and think about it and if you don’t get it think more

what was the solution to US racism in baseball where negroes had a separate league and couldn’t play in the big leagues

what was the solution to racism in Police in UK USA etc

what was the solution to extreme racism received by minorities who were British Subjects came to live and work in UK

was the answer more or less minorities included or excluded

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

These are these same hypocrites and hateful racist criminals/OPPRESSORS …the most VICIOUS criminals to be found anywhere, who set their JEALOUS evil eyes on our ancestral lands on the continent of Afrika to TRY TO ROB IT…with their Judas Traitors…

it’s a good thing i was not asleep…..OR A SLAVE…

7. “Can you imagine that a government would take up the NIS money and lend it to a private company to boost certain sports (golf) activities (Apes Hill) while it allowed the National Stadium to run to ruin.”

@ Mr. Skinner

Excellent point.

Boost golf at Apes Hill, for a group of people who don’t make any significant contribute to the development of youth….. and sports such as cricket, football, basketball, netball or road tennis.
    Unless, of course, it’s sport in which them and their children participate…… for example, motor sports, equestrian events, horse racing, polo, water polo, yachting or surfing.

Could you imagine that, in 2022, the Barbados Football Association is struggling with a venue, while the Barbados team is soundly beaten in every tournament?

8. @Artax

Let us agree the government must do better to develop other amenities. However is this the mandate of the NIS Investment Committee?

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….i caught them…..they are malicious and dangerous….

the continent KNOWS THEY ALL HAVE TO BE WATCHED and not allowed any freedom to jumpstart their nasty brand of 100-year-old CORRUPTION…..and cause even MORE PROBLEMS on our ancestral lands…

10. We just have one out of 90,000 and he is already running Barbadians off the island??
    I can’t wait for the other 89,999 …

I am not one of that number son

racism teaches people on one side to fight and and the other to learn how to to fight back
    there are no such thing as victims unless they wish to be one
    you precious son is a minority migrant who will need to learn how to fight and run in his coming of age ritual to be become a man

11. @Hants

We have to be careful not to become emotional with these matters and to provide context. It is no secret the 50s and 60s in Barbados and many other countries blacks had to fight through racism and the establishment bloc. This was not unique to Barbados. Back in the day you know who co trolled WIRL, KR Hunte and the others.

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I want to see their apologists REVERSING all the INFORMATION that has crossed continents about these THIEVES: RACISTS, CORRUPTERS, OPPRESSORS and their TRAITORS and JUDASES……for the last 3 YEARS…

13. Finally, others besides TheoG are catching on to the shenanigans of The Sri Lankan… total nuisance and culture vulture.

@Pacha
    Sagicor has had maybe 100 acquisitions, not all this size, over 30 years. Still we see no strategic intent. Surely by now this should have been clear. We understand an acquisitions strategy to build muscle, but to what end.

When I saw the latest Sagicor press release my first thought was that they are adding heft in the hope of finding an exit through being acquired themselves. SFC is very small (market cap < $ 1B) in the universe of north american fincos and no amount of M&A would set SFC amongst the really serious players. So to me the plan seems to to getting big enough to capture the eye of an acquirer who may want some exposure to the SFC’s markets or maybe a PE fund that can spot hidden value in SFC’s current asset base.

14. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    Thanks. Man, a couple of years ago, I sat and listened to COW Williams literally demanding that government lends him money to extend some clubhouse at Apes Hill. This was on Brasstacks.
    He was speaking like some pauper and David Ellis, was the moderator.
    To this day, I still cannot believe that he was publicly pressuring the government for the taxpayers money on the grounds that it will provide jobs.
    Imagine a man that had a full stable of ponies for his hobby , was pretending he can’t finish a club house that the average Bajan would never see farless enter.
    I know community workers who to sponsor activities used to beg all the small businesses in their Neighbour hoods for help because the same government agencies used to turn them down and only wanted to see them at election time to get photo ops.
    But COW could extract millions from the NIS and then go back and demand more.
    All of this is public knowledge.
    All he had to do was invite a few of the wannabees down there and give them some drinks.
    I would venture to say that 70 % of our problems with youth can easily be solved through well planned and supported community activism but that’s too easy for us.
    If poor ass community workers could walk about begging for help from equally poor members of their community,Why COW could not have gone to his rich ass polo playing and horse racing friends and beg fuh money to build his blasted clubhouse.
    But you would not expect any journalist in Barbados to have asked him that.
    More to come.
    Peace

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“I still cannot believe that he was publicly pressuring the government for the taxpayers money on the grounds that it will provide jobs.”

HE LIED…they helped him rip off the NIS to STRENGTHEN HIS RACIST BASE…..and they KNEW IT…these wicked sellouts…

.i saw it with my own two eyes…

“If poor ass community workers could walk about begging for help from equally poor members of their community,Why COW could not have gone to his rich ass polo playing and horse racing friends and beg fuh money to build his blasted clubhouse.”

the INTENT was to do as much FISCAL DAMAGE to the economy and society so the Afrikan population COULD NEVER RISE……that plan is STILL IN PLACE..

and the nigas in the parliament are still very happy to OBLIGE…

16. @ David,

I am 70 years old and have learned to control my emotions.

However I cannot forget the racism in Barbados past. I will internalise my true feelings.

There is still hope that spouge will get the respect it deserves.

17. @Hants

We live in a world where popularizing music does not have to depend on the establishment.

18. Dullard

Well cited.

On the issue of underlying value. Sagicor has gone public 20 years ago and no such value has been discovered. We therefore conclude that there is none. Indeed, the share price has been stagnant.

On the issue of preparation for exit. It is unknown to this writer a single business case where an acquisition strategy has continued for 30 or 40 or more years by a 200 year old company seeking an exit.

Notwithstanding, after we’re both dead and gone the skeleton of this organism will be much studied by the corporate anthropologists.

Appreciate your insight.

19. @Hants

We all getting long in the tooth but back in the day Norman Barrow was a member of the Sandpebbles, were they playing Spouge?

20. @Dullard

You relaxed your policy of giving financial insight?

#askingforafriendwhoisanacturary

21. Finally, others besides TheoG are catching on to the shenanigans of The Sri Lankan… total nuisance and culture vulture.

Who are these others you are feeling is with you in your gang
    Bajans have the right to be ignorant and racist if that is their desire
    Other Blacks everywhere else are better than that

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bsQMw7NMFmE

Nobody listens to Bajan music but Culture Vultures is the best that you can think of so you keep repeating it to make you feel good

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Denying spouge….Black created music…it’s rightful place was the weapon used to KEEP THE AFRIKAN POPULATION pauperized INDEFINITELY …..and both fraud governments helped the racists do just that..

it’s right about this time am so sorry i was not related to Marley whose name they like to stain with their cursed nastiness…..i would go after these demons with EVERYTHING, even if he was an 8th cousin….just for calling his name out of their dirty traitor mouths…

23. David 07 08

That is the very discourse we need to have to solve the political problems faced. A discourse of ownership and control.

First, the best breed of capitalist take on the development of the country.

Since you’ve conclude that the Bajan breed of capitalists owe their society nothing. Then why do we owe them the general environment within which they seek to prosper?

Unless the questions around ownership and control are understood the political degeneration will continue

24. “it’s right about this time am so sorry i was not related to Marley whose name they like to stain with their cursed nastiness”

you don’t know marley selassie or garvey teachings you have blurred spectacles and bad vision
    a bad author who wrote a book about collapse of Barbados released when it became a Republic

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

Tempro could be the front for any number incl the normally associated names.
    To date, it seems a weak, and contradictory explanation for what occured. The depositions of ‘other directors’ seem to be available?

26. @Pacha

We fear it maybe too late. This has been discussed many times in this space, the abundance of liquidity and access to ready capital in Trinidad and the other markets to eat up undervalued companies in Barbados. It didn’t start yesterday. There is the issue of businesses owned by planter class opting for golden handshakes as the priority.

27. Thanks NO. Now we have traditional media sniffing the transaction, let us see what flushes.

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…i was SO GLAD when the new owners at Apes Hill KNOCKED DOWN that fraudulent clubhouse and DUG UP that massive pool…..

dead cow was A FRAUD, LIAR AND THIEF…just like the negros he apparently STILL OWNS…

29. Sargeant,

Yes. The Sandpebbles did play some spouge.

My parents bought all the Bajan records.

Jackie Opel was great. Spouge somehow always manages to lift my spirit.

30. Dub,

Bajan music is listened to by Bajans and other Caribbean people both here and in the diaspora.

If you don’t want to listen then don’t.

31. @ Sargeant,

I did not listen to the Sandpebbles back then.

My favourite bands were the BRC (Blue Rythym Combo) The Fantastics and The Troubadors.

I was a wannabe lead guitarist and still am.lol

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Bushie
    If my info is accurate, another of the ‘jewels’ currently has an offer.
    An Fx is atop the list, no surprise. And the suitor seems to be a JV between a T&T and JCA interests.

33. Six months ago, I posted this link to BU. It remains highly informative.

https://www.theguardian.com/music/2022/feb/28/spouge-forgotten-music-genre-jackie-opel-barbados

34. David

Undervalued companies to them, the Trinidadians.

Otherwise yes, the opportunities missed to transform will never come again.

However, it’s a good case study to see how the Trinidadians were able to became a capital source market and we never will.

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…the family begged the government NOT TO LET the copyright run out….

but am sure it’s the same corporate CRIMINALS now have their eyes on stealing that genre…the same one they suppressed since the 1960s…

the family should keep their eyes on that….but with foreign lawyers…not the sellouts on the island..

36. “all you do is spread bullshit about our history and culture…..culture vulture…..don’t want any blogs because of the likes of you and others in the same category…..”

I have black friends who are musicians and more who are more open minded and intelligent than you

you are just finding information in public domain that has been known by others for decades
    and you try and hide it like it’s a big secret

I have read many books about Garvey Selassie and Marley
    and have probably got every recording by the Wailers

Vultures
    Scavenger Dub

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=41ehY3MXQX4

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

It was SUPPRESSED and will not see the light of day once there is a PLOT TO TIEF from the estate/family of Jackie Opel..

“Which makes it all the stranger that some time around 1975, spouge disappeared, almost without trace. In an age where everything has a digital footprint, spouge is very much word of mouth. You Got to Pay, the seminal recording, is not on Spotify, Apple or Amazon, while only a handful of Opel’s reputed 700 song-catalogue is available. Few people outside Barbados have heard of him and even on the island, his legacy is far from secure. At the celebrations to mark Barbados’s new status as a republic last November, spouge barely featured. The island’s annual Crop Over festival has Trinidadian soca and Jamaican dancehall, but no spouge. For the few surviving spouge artists, this is all rather sad.

The obscurity might be understandable if spouge wasn’t any good. But spouge is amazing
    “The music is dead,” sighs Stoute, now 76. “It all got swept under the carpet. I don’t know what it would take to bring it back.” Most Barbadians I speak to express a mixture of wounded pride and bewilderment at the way spouge evaporated. “It was a genuinely indigenous form – but it’s seen as a failure,” says Walcott. “People say we didn’t have the confidence to push it, like Jamaica pushed ska. Every November, around the anniversary of independence, we have these same conversations about how great Jackie was, how hard he tried – and how we let him down.”

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“I have black friends who are musicians”

i have white and minority friends who are musicians but am AFRIKAN..

39. @Pacha

I think we both agree that SFC has been strategically poor and has a lot to answer for their crimes against the local mutual policyholders. My response to you was really just my view of their M&A approach post TSX listing. Nothing more.

On the issue of underlying value. Sagicor has gone public 20 years ago and no such value has been discovered. We therefore conclude that there is none. Indeed, the share price has been stagnant.

Was the stagnant share price driven by real underlying book value or because teh shares were listed in thin, illiquid Caribbean “stock markets”? Being listed on TSX makes SFC more attractive to potential investors because they have to fulfill certain minimum reg requirements which simply do not exist in our mickey mouse Caribbean exchanges. This alone makes things much easier for acquirers.

Besides value is in the eyes of the beholder. SFC may be a fit to a Latam outfit looking to expand in Cbean? Or an outfit looking to get into a specific US state? Or to get access to a particular distribution channel/ Line of business/ etc. Or to get exposure to particular risks for diversification purposes and reductions in regulatory / solvency capital reserves. There are tons of plausible reasons an individual buyer may have and the fact is that now SFC are on TSX the likelihood is that there would be more interested buyers going forward. Maybe not many, but more than pre-TSX era.

*On the issue of preparation for exit. It is unknown to this writer a single business case where an acquisition strategy has continued for 30 or 40 or more years by a 200 year old company seeking an exit. *

True. But I am referring to the period post TSX listing. Out of those decades post demutualisation, SFC has been listed on a major market what, 2 years? I put it to you that now SFC is on TFX there is much less room for strategic blunders because (theoretically) the ought to be greater scrutiny of company performance by more sophisticated investors.

40. D
    The Best of Jackie Opel
    I have got Jackie Opel’s Top Deck and Studio One recordings
    It’s called Ska and Reggae over here

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

yall heard what they said…ONLY LIP SERVICE paid annually…to Jackie and his music….

and the people on the island just SIT AND TAKE THIS…

when they finally steal Opel’s ENTIRE intellectual property….all ya will hear is cuddear…dey shunta do dah to he…

weeee don’t even know how to describe such mindsets with the accompanying empty heads anymore..

42. ” but am AFRIKAN..”

How many books about garvey have you read or not read

43. Here we go again. Let the pissin contest restart. Be warned.

44. @Dullard

You relaxed your policy of giving financial insight?

#askingforafriendwhoisanacturary

Having some freeish time lately so free to chuck as much bull shit into the e-rum shop ring as you and your fellow BU’ers.

45. Ok Sir, appreciated.

46. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

no pissing contest…am Afrikan and don’t have to prove anything or pretend what am not….definitely don’t have to denigrate anyone’s culture whether it’s real or not or whether i like them or not..

47. Dullard

Two things. SFC bought an American insurance company operating in 49 states about 15 years ago. It bought a Lloyd’s of London company around that time period too.

We must see this as a global company, even if a small player.

Second, trading on mickey mouse regional socalled exchanges doesn’t count. It was either Nasdax or NYSE where the primary listing was. Cant remember.

48. Artax,

The “maguffies” are diametrically opposed to each other AGAIN.

De Country Cunt or Little Shite Woman again has to agree with the Royal Wee that what Bushie suggests is not in our interests at all.

Waxing VERY ELOQUENTLY but when examined carefully, affording absolutely NO POWER to certain citizens, ceding all authority to what I will call the”creators of wealth” – essentially endorsing puppet masters pulling the strings of politicians. This, we all know, with the prevailing ethos of abominable avarice, could only lead to one thing – what it has already led to worldwide! The hoarding of wealth at the top and increasing poverty at the bottom. Bush Tea’s way assumes that the “brightest” minds have the best interests of the entire citizenry at heart, something he has long argued is not what prevails at present.

David is exactly right that these people believe that their role is to exploit the resources both natural and human to the benefit of SHAREHOLDERS ONLY. The concept of STAKEHOLDERS WENT THROUGH THE EDDOES LONG AGO WORLDWIDE AND NEVER EXISTED AT ALL IN BARBADOS.

So now, the Little Shite Woman is confused. She is following the trail and seems to be going around in a circle!

49. Btw, Dullard
    We’re well familiar to the processes involved in operating, registering, managing setting up, either

Looking for a shell now to reverse an operating.