The dent to reputation suffered suffered by Barbados when former Minister Donville Inniss was jailed in the USA for money laundering should make for interesting commentary. To be expected a gullible population continues to focus on the obvious. Why was a former minister charged over a measly USD36,000.00?

What Barbadians should be more concerned about is the incarceration of Inniss should bring into focus how business gets done in Barbados. We have so many examples whether Cahill under the former administration or the Radical vaccine scam under the current administration to finger only two.

White collar corruption and malfeasance is always hard to ringfence in any country because the gatekeepers of justice are the powerful in society. Unfortunately in island states like Barbados, it becomes more difficult because of the incestuous nature of the beast resulting in incompetent watchdog agencies as a result of nepotism.

The following insightful comment was posted by Northern Observer. We need to lift our game as citizens in a democracy showing fissures.

@David I cannot comment on AT (Alex Tasker), I don’t know the person. What can be observed is the senior management at ICBL did not appreciate the finer points of what they were doing. What none of know is the inner workings.

Did BF&M have other issues with IRS/DOJ?

What was the relationship between the CEO-CFO at BF&M, and that CFO/others and ICBL personnel.

I mean, even after discovery, it did not have to be disclosed. Who actually found it? It was two relatively small amounts…somebody could have created paperwork after the fact. Yet, somebody also decided that wasn’t going to happen.

Imagine somebody at BF&M was upset they didn’t get the ICBL CEO job. Let’s face it, II (Ingrid Innes) wasn’t particularly well qualified, and an outsider at BF&M. The decision to disclose may have been to sink her. In the myopic Bajan view it was to get DI (Donville Inniss). But the intent may have been to get II fired, and it ends there. Maybe they were after AT. Sometimes when you don’t appreciate the ‘big picture’ a decision is made, which has ramifications one didn’t foresee.

Northern Observer

229 responses to “Donville Inniss Incarceration Exposes a Culture of Corruption”

1. More Love

2. Rastaman Passing BY

3. @Pacha

If the system is as irrelevant as you and others say it is, it will crash under its weight, eventually.

4. David

Not eventually. It is and has long been irrelevant and crashing right now but your ilk lack the courage to so envision.

That’s the hypocrisy.

5. Not getting what the blogmaster is saying about Donville?
    Is this an attack on the piece or the man?
    What are the flaws in DI’s essay?
    Is prison like Georgia off limit for contributions?

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…we still try, it requires very little effort…if they don’t take in the spirit given…they are just another statistic..

“If Black people knew their glorious past, then they would be MORE inclined to respect themselves.”

this is exactly what dirty politicians DON’T WANT..

“Because, no race has the last word on culture and on civilization. They do not know what we are capable of. They do not know what we are thinking. They are thinking in terms of dreadnoughts, battleships, airplanes, submarines. You know what we’re thinking about?… That is our own private business.”

“Any leadership that teaches you to depend upon another race is a leadership that will enslave you.”

get away from filthy colonial minded politicians…

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Yes TLSN…..the fraud government lied to the people…as USUAL…once ensconced in the parliament….the nepotism started in earnest with FAMILY MEMBERS placed in key positions…..they were wanted NOT TO ELECT a government from the MINORITY CLASS another wannabe fraudster dynasty….PURE CORRUPTION and the people want them gone.

.don’t expect Barbados’ media to put anything in the people’s space that SHOWS UP THE BLUEPRINT OF FRAUD taking place…to trick the gullible to spend a life of oppression and suppression in a country where they don’t speak the language and KNOW NOTHING ABOUT THE DUTCH CULTURE….

“As it would also be all over for many of the world’s great coastal cities.

THINK. Why are so many great cities situated on the coast?”

brillIant…Cuddear..

In my view Donville can write commentary letters….will never impress me because it’s tinged with politicians’ self serving SHIT and parroting Kofi Annan ad nauseaum…is the greatest turnoff from the island’s limited intellect politicians…otherwise, let him write what he wants so we can get a peep into his mind and thoughts…

8. @Pacha

Then our discussion is moot.

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

*they were WARNED NOT TO ELECT a government from the MINORITY CLASS another wannabe fraudster dynasty….PURE CORRUPTION and the people want them gone.

10. “Is prison like Georgia off limit for contributions?”

You think you got jokes?

In some AmeriKKKan territories you have the right to shoot a black man on your property or in your neighbourhood
    I did not realise the council had sent someone to fix my fence to the lamppost with a special bracket so I shot him dead
    The Judge set me free as I was innocent and it was an honest mistake

11. “THINK. Why are so many great cities situated on the coast?”

Barbados is a strategic port in the Caribbean to the Americas which is why British wanted it and took it
    Barbados’ total land area is 430 km2 (166.0 sq mi), and it has a coastline of 97 km (60 mi) length.

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

an OUTPOST as designed and these think they got some paradise island…

..reality will take precedence…

13. Oh dear! Is it my head in a tangle or this discussion?

Only one comment to make- “retarded” children ARE some of the most loving people I have met.

So….who really are the retarded ones?

The problems of the world could be solved by what the “retarded” people have in abundance.

What is wrong with the “INTELLIGENT” AND “TALENTED” ones?

They cannot understand the simplest things in life.

Being greedy and power hungry does not bring happiness. These are conditions of addiction that, like drug addiction, can never be assuaged. The more one has, the more one wants.

The greedy and power hungry are doomed never to be satisfied, always looking for the next fix.

Far from envying these poor people, I instead pity them….. for they are no less addicted than a dope fiend.

But “retarded” people can be happy with the basic and simple things of life.

Some neurologist needs to study that.

14. Side note..
    The reference to Georgia was to a comment made to WS.
    The reference to prison was to DI’s situation
    It happens that both are in the USA, but that is incidental.

15. William Skinner Avatar

One Donville Inniss writes a column and this causes a problem for those who do not realise that prisoners / murderers on death row also write books and have them published.
    Prisoners pursue doctorates and even counsel other prisoners. Some ex-convicts offer services to law enforcement agencies and act as consultants.
    Weekly we turn on our televisions and watch an actor who was engaged in illegal activity and now plays the role of a crack detective in a successful television series.
    But, Donville Inniss sends an article on a topic with which he was familiar as a Minister and the self appointed guardians of the society have a problem.
    Why not deal with those out of prison who are daily barely surviving and we now have to feed their children during the summer holidays, who some say, maybe facing starvation.
    Who Wunnuh tink Wunnuh fooling with these diversions and distractions.
    Peace

16. Steuspe

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Prisoners pursue doctorates and even counsel other prisoners.”

AND…upon release…teach at TOP UNIVERSITIES…part giving back…part re-assimilating into the society, and getting on with their lives….because they PAID THEIR DEBT TO SOCIETY..

hope they have the same sentiments WHEN THEY LOCK UP THEIR CORRUPT IDOLS…

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

wait, wait, wait…is this not the same BAG MAN got caught leaving a UK airport with a ton of money alledgedly “70,000 pounds in cash” a few years ago and wanted to SUE media for reporting it……lawd…

hopefully there are around 50 or more sealed indictments by now….make some bellies go SOFT LIKE JELLO……we can wait…

“According to multiple sources, both in the East Caribbean and in North America, former Saint Kitts & Nevis Prime Minister Denzil Douglas has been indicted, in Federal Court in the United States, and America is seeking his extradition. Longtime readers of this blog may recall that exposed Douglas as the holder of a diplomatic passport from the Commonwealth of Dominica, reciting that he was a native Dominican, which he purportedly for international travel, since his SKN passport apparently drew too much unwanted attention at international airports in North America and Western Europe.

Douglas has reportedly been charged with;

(1) Money Laundering.

(2) Corruption.

(3) Fraud.

(4) Wire Fraud.

(5) Criminal Conspiracy.

Given that indictments of defendant who are outside the United States, and this not in Federal custody, are sealed and not available to the public or journalists, we are unable to obtain details or verification of the many similar rumours flitting around the East Caribbean, but specific dates have been uniformly stated, raising a presumption that the information is accurate.”

19. David

Honestly, this writer always hated the act of steusping or spitting. Are these not on the margins of good behaviour?

But for a big rasssoul man to be constantly performing this childish, petulant, act of evasion or derision whenever you dislike responses conjures weakness. For want of a better word😡

William Skinner has a way of saying in the clearest terms the ideas this writer was trying to put over.

The bottom line is that you have a backward understanding of the criminal justice system. And that backwardness is being deployed using one man as the sacrificial lamb for systemic and historic national failures. The current failures of Mia Mottley

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Uhhhhh!!!..oh well…lol

“There are strong suspicions that Douglas was charged, based upon information supplied to US law enforcement agencies by former BVI premier Andrew Fahie, soon after he was arrested in Florida on money laundering and narcotics trafficking charges. Fahie reportedly stated that he was going to bring down a number of East Caribbean leaders that he knew were involved in facilitating narcotics trafficking through their territories, giving drug shipments safe haven from seizure by American maritime law enforcement action.

“He’s a little crook sometimes.” quote from the criminal case.

The action against Denzil Douglas will most likely further worry other East Caribbean leaders, who fear that they could be targets of Fahie’s substantial assistance, who have noticed an extensive delay in Fahie’s trial, which often indicates that ongoing cooperation could be occurring behind the scenes.”

21. @Pacha

Do you and other apologists understand that Inniss was incarcerated in the US for a crime that originated in Barbados and which remains unresolved and unsolved? The blogmaster does not give a rats ass how you perceive spitting and steuspsing in the same way others may not appreciate your use of muscular language on the blog. A stuespe is a Bajan thing and bajans will understand what it is meant to convey.

#steuspe

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

take down one little crook with colonial titleand they ALL FALL DOWN..

“And that backwardness is being deployed using one man as the sacrificial lamb for systemic and historic national failures. The current failures of Mia Mottley”

don’t know why he would want to self-sacrifice for DANGEROUS HISTORICAL CRIMINALS …..on their way OUT…

unless there is a familial/genetic connection…..only then will it make sense…

23. David

And we don’t give a rat’s ass how Bajan it is. It’s petulant and childish. Even womanish, but not manly.

Our attitude towards the criminal justice system is non inclusive of the awe which you seem to award what the Americans have done.

Indeed, we take the opposite view. And we’ll ask how come there have been no similar processes in Barbados. Not only about this case but similar cases happening all the time.

Such a lead goes to the mountain of official corruption in Barbados. In any case Inniss is not the first nor will he be the last Bajan to be so ensnared.

Permit us to remain nonplussed by your trite renderings.

24. If there is a challenge by bloggers here in understanding the difference between forgiving, rehabilitating and loving a reformed criminal; an unfortunately challenged individual; or even a mass murderer…
    …and allowing that deviant’s story and their foray into criminality or anti-social behavior to be used as a role model for impressionable young minds…

Then you may as well close the damn blog David.

If it is not OBVIOUS that we should inspire our bright young people with POSITIVE, SUCCESSFUL, UPLIFTING role models that they can be inspired to emulate….
    RATHER than with tainted miscreants who represent SYSTEM FAILURES, and who, instead, should be projected as examples of the society’s patience, love and forgiveness…

Well then it is no wonder we are resigned to brassbowlery and failure at the national (and global) levels….

“Wisdom has been withdrawn from the world’s brass bowls – who have rejected the Creator.
    Instead, they are consumed with idiotic, self-destructive, demonic philosophies that lead to the very results we are seeing,,,”
    Bush Tea July22

25. “If there is a challenge by bloggers here in understanding the difference between forgiving, rehabilitating and loving a reformed criminal; an unfortunately challenged individual; or even a mass murderer…
    …and allowing that deviant’s story and their foray into criminality or anti-social behavior to be used as a role model for impressionable young minds…”

the issue is the corruption of Government bidding process which is granted favours for companies to win contracts by bribing ministers so money is transferred to personal accounts. Some say it is not robbery as the money business pay is recovered from the money they earn in multimillion dollar contracts. But the more enlightened opinion is public is shortchanged as contracted businesses provide substandard work to cut costs and the better value bids are not chosen. The dodgy practices need to be removed.

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“If it is not OBVIOUS that we should inspire our bright young people with POSITIVE, SUCCESSFUL, UPLIFTING role models that they can be inspired to emulate….”

what ya got in the parliament is SHIT…no role models…except of the CORRUPT VARIETY…

what are you doing about those…they should in NO WAY be influencing our young people, given their various criminal histories of the LAST HUNDRED YEARS…

right now Donville is NOT THE THREAT…and anything he writes, easily DEBUNKED…

the problem is INSIDE THE PARLIAMENT…

27. Bushie

Shiite! Who would be these so-called role models?

For years your bible reading people assumed that role.

And for millennia they have been bulling little boys.

There have been never nuh genuine role model structures in the West. Not even some parent.

28. @Bush Tea

Can we have an Amen?

29. Parents.

30. @ Pacha
    Don’t waste time arguing with Bushie … NOT INTERESTED!!!
    Feel free to stay with your position. Illogical as it obviously is.

Bushie is PERSONALLY aware of HUNDREDS of EXCELLENT role models who have inspired EXCELLENCE in THOUSANDS of Bajan youths over the past decades…. Many in the school system of the past…
    TOO many names to call…

Not one shiite to do with any church (which seems to be something stuck FIRMLY up your craw)
    You should REALLY try to get over it…

Why the hell should felons and freaks become role models, when we have COMMUNITY BUILDERS, COOPERATIVE leaders, Sports GIANTS and (YES) some Church leaders who have EXEMPLIFIED societal excellence?

Your irrational, wholesale, hatred of the Bible and Church is your Achilles heel….
    Get some boots…. and you will shine…

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“And for millennia they have been bulling little boys.”

raping little girls and SETTING UP KIDNAPPINGS..

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Why the hell should felons and freaks become role models, when we have COMMUNITY BUILDERS, COOPERATIVE leaders, Sports GIANTS and (YES) some Church leaders who have EXEMPLIFIED societal excellence?

so WHY have they done NOTHING to remove the CORRUPTION, misleading and CRIMINALIZING OF YOUNG AFRIKAN PEOPLE…

why have they NOT OUTED the corrupt politicians…

why have SO M ANY young people lost TO THE NASTINESS that passes for governance…

SILENCE IS VIOLENCE…

SILENCE IS ACCEPTANCE…

those are no role models i want in CHARGE OF MY GRAND CHILDREN”S lives…if they can;t stand AND BEAT DOWN THE CORRUPT….

33. @Pacha

Noted.

34. Bushie
    Hatred of lies and wickedness whether in the church or bible is central for us.

Role models constructs are from the very albinos oft decried.

Our young people are best served by getting to know their Afrikan ancestors. There are no more mighty than them.

Have you not seen that all your White man’s decency models fuck us up?

35. Is An African Style 🌍
    Long Time Ago (Original Mix) Amine Edge & DANCE

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Our young people are best served by getting to know their Afrikan ancestors. There are no more mighty than them.”

we keep REPEATING IT…..they keep IGNORING IT..

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

my grands REJECT ALL THING MANMADE..

38. (Quote):
    The bottom line is that you have a backward understanding of the criminal justice system. And that backwardness is being deployed using one man as the sacrificial lamb for systemic and historic national failures. The current failures of Mia Mottley
    (Unquote).

It would be interesting to see if that same lamb which was sacrificed to Uncle Sam is charged for corruption on his imminent deportation to his homeland.

If, as has been pointed out by our Northern Observer, a ‘criminal’ law had to be broken in order for the money to become dirty before laundering in the USA, isn’t that, ipso facto, sufficient grounds for DI to face prosecution in Barbados, the domicile where the crime of M/L originated?

We will watch the actions of the authorities to see if there will be a need for a complainant to come forward.

Now who could that “complainant” be in order for the monkey criminal justice system in Barbados to work?

Tasker? The AG?

Or that man C H who sold D I the sacrificial lamb down the river while shouting ‘Lock he up! Lock he to hell up!’

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The former CoP said there was no complaint made in Barbados in the Donville matter, althoug the US proved by using the 1929 Barbados law that a crime was INDEED committed locally…

…they carried out a CHARADE where the current AG claims he is the complainant and the CoP said he could do nothing…

the FRAUD PARADE..

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Miller…Donville’s writing a commentary article for local media that don’t have the BALLS to use journalistical ethics, morals and courage to prosecute the corrupt in the parliament and in the minority crimunity….WILL NOT BE THE LATEST BU DISTRACTION..

41. Chill Jazz Lyrics in the House
    07:08 Miles Davis

42. Miles was able to make something that was wrong into something that was right

43. The issue is the corruption of Government bidding process which is granted favours for companies to win contracts by bribing ministers so money is transferred to personal accounts. Some say it is not robbery as the money business pay is recovered from the money they earn in multimillion dollar contracts. But the more enlightened opinion is public is shortchanged as contracted businesses provide substandard work to cut costs and the better value bids are not chosen. The dodgy practices need to be removed.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

100/100

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

When will you learn the USofA is THE enemy. And then anyone or anything which can be linked to that is a close’ish second.
    Once you get that, all becomes logical.
    Did you know Cuba was officially an atheist state for years. In fact, Catholics couldn’t be a CPC member for eons. The people are to listen to you, and for those who refuse to conform, they’ll meet one of your several military arms, who are very familiar with the dispensation of justice. No competition from any fictional God is desired, you are their God ( even if they don’t know it).
    #getwiththeprogram 😂

45. The former CoP said there was no complaint made in Barbados in the Donville matter, althoug the US proved by using the 1929 Barbados law that a crime was INDEED committed locally…

…they carried out a CHARADE where the current AG claims he is the complainant and the CoP said he could do nothing…
    ~~~~~~~~~~

This Donville Inniss issue has been debated on BU…… ad nauseam, yet you continue to mislead the forum.

Unfortunately, rather than have a rational ‘discussion’ on how your comments are misleading, you prefer to ‘make things about you.’

46. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

ya come back to make yaself look STUPID AGAIN…

there is VIDEO of the charade…….where the AG and CoP were discussing the matter…

don’t you have anything else better to do..

47. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

and no, i don’t have to post shit….go look for it..

48. @NO

#funny

49. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@The BushMan Griot, well said above re embracing and supporting a ‘rehabilitated’ murderer (in ‘some’ cases, not all 🙏🏿IMHO) as contrasted with the folly of making their story one of idolatry and acclaim!

The other tangential point related to that is the obfuscation on Oppo leader Barrow in Belize. That type of hop scotch is amusing generally but when it’s done at a supposedly high level of intellectual discourse it’s disturbingly shameful.

That gent committed his criminal act as a young man in a TOTALLY different sphere to his current operations … not passing ANY judgement on how his past acts may be an indicator of his character and political behaviours BUT that was then and here he is now!

Inniss committed his crime as a sitting Minister … there can be NO possible equivocation about HIS CHARACTER and corrupt actions as a representative of the people!

But anyhow @the Blogmaster, you really can’t expect to have your cake and then ‘defecate’ pon it too!

YOU framed the blog around “Donville Inniss’ arrest and subsequent conviction in the USA” and what it revealed about government officials influencing the affairs of SOE …

You did NOT lead with @Northern’s observations nor highlight other named individuals … so good sir the subsequent broadsides and misalignment to your main thrust about the “culture of corruptionis on you. Just saying!.

Inniss is an ‘outlier’ ONLY as a Bajan story. Recently of course there was a similar US indictment for the BVI Premier and for years there have been similar cases. Buuut … lets cast our minds back to the bobol corruption of the TnT govts and Minister John O’Halloran over 40 years ago … he of running to Canada fame with his ill gotten funds.

My simple point is to reinforce YOUR point that this “mismanagement and corruption” has been endemic across ALL the islands and surely is NOT “unique to Barbados”.

And to your underlying point and that of the BushMan and others … it is WE the people who condone and authorize these behaviours over and over … cause we all want some too, it seems!

BTW, which poll was it that gave you the assurance that most Bajans believe ainniss did nothing wrong?? Since when is tekking bribes copecetate !

50. @ African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved July 20, 2022 10:08 AM
    (Quote).
    the FRAUD PARADE..
    (Unquote).
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

Indeed, just another case of the passing fraud parade in Barbados.

Just like how the MoF is trying to convince the stupid people of Barbados that the reason for the writing off of the VAT is that it was deemed “UNCOLLECTIBLE”.

What a farce!
    How can VAT be uncollectible when it was paid into the consumers to the businesses who acted as mere tax collecting agents of the Crown?

VAT is an imposition on the final consumers and which they have dutifully settled to the Crown.

VAT is NOT a financial imposition on the businesses!
    Maybe an administrative burden; but certainly not a tax on their profits.

It is nothing but downright fraud which has gone unpunished because of the political connections in the failing nepotistic and growingly despotic state called Barbados heading for its Waterloo in a Sri Lanka pointing cul-de-sac.