One of the more interesting decisions made in 2018 by the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) government led by Mia Mottley was to appoint the largest ever Cabinet in our history. Her justification for the ‘relatively large’ Cabinet was because of the overwhelming mandate received from the electorate. From 2018 until the present – with a cosmetic tweak in 2022 – the Cabinet has remained large.

Enough time has elapsed to fairly judge if a large Cabinet adds value to how the country has been governed since 2018. It has been a government led by the larger than life and seemingly indefatigable Prime Minister Mottley. Her style of delivery and oratory skill has endeared her to the international community. It is worth a reminder she inherited an economy with a GDP north of 150 with junk status credit rating. There was a feeling of renewed hope in the nation post 2018 general election.

Out of the gate the Mottley government committed the country to a debt restructure on domestic and local holdings which right sided the debt to GDP indicator BUT immediately shot the confidence of local and foreign investors. The lack of confidence to invest persists four years later. To be expected economists are divided on whether it was the right strategy, these decisions are never easy we must admit. 

In Mottley’s defense she will postulate that the COVID 19 pandemic, Hurricane Elsa and La Soufriere volcano ash fall combined to derail government’s rebuild effort and in fact caused the economy to significantly contract. To reasonable onlookers she has a good defense. However hungry mouths well not be as sympathetic. The debate will continue about the BLP’s performance since 2018 until the next bell is rung.

Political pundits are already surveying a barren political landscape for alternative voting options. The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) under rookie leader Dr. Ronnie Yearwood is in the early stage of a rebuild and the many political parties that presented at the polls in 2018 and 2022 have done the usual vanishing act of which Houdini would have been proud. 

What is the blogmaster trying to say in too many words?

Prime Minister Mottley has taken the reins of government at a challenging time in our history there can be no doubt. This is precisely why decisions taken by Mottley must be fit for purpose for the extraordinary times to guide a 166 square mile open economy island through the economic tempest and other challenges. There is no good reason the country should have to suffer a bloated Cabinet not to mention a bevy of financial consultants in 2022. Mottley must stop pandering to political inclinations and instead send clear signals to the population she and her government are prepared to make the sacrifice and walk with the people at a difficult time in our history. 

What the blogmaster fears most is – when the next general election is called the electorate may have no choice to abstain or vote anyone posing as an opposition, a default position. The level of apathy and cynicism in the country is already low. Whither our democratic system?

340 responses to “Mottley Cabinet is Bloated”

1. Concentric Nothings

2. The confidence level continues to dwindle for this govt
    A govt that have regularly set aside the spoils for those in less need while the most vulnerable are expected to pull several debt laden baskets
    Rightfully the people feel busted and disgusted

3. Feelings and emotions are running deep as govt does not set an example by self to bear some of the pain and suffering

Xxxxx

Ann Gittens

Mia cares and so she advises us to economize so that she could have financial space to continue her reckless spending. She asked us to carpool while she travels all over the globe in her friend a private jet. Just the other day she went all the way to America in that private jet just to quote a Bob Marley song! Why the hell she didn’t teleconference! She keeps saying that all of us in this together, well madam Prime Minister it is time you walk the walk. We had enough of your rhetoric it is time for you to put our money where your mouth is. In these trying times do you honestly believe that you should be the highest-paid Prime Minister in the Caribbean? After all, you don’t work as hard as the others. I am sure that the other Prime Ministers don’t have the barrage of consultants, ministers, and top employees as you do. Madam Prime Minister what do you do besides grandstanding? None of our previous Prime Ministers had their ministries loaded with so many highly paid personnel. The salaries were a lot less and their portfolios were larger than yours. Errol Barrow was Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, he was also responsible for National Insurance, Establishments, Town and Country Planning, and Electoral Affairs. His successors had similar portfolios. I can’t even say that you are the only Minister of Finance because that is Ryan Straughn’s portfolio. You are just the Public Relations Officer of Finance. The only other thing you do besides grandstanding is to create a lot of high-paying nonjobs for your friends and family. Times were not as bad under the last regime and the Prime Minister cut the Parliamentarian’s salaries by ten percent. This is the most difficult time that I have experienced in my life and you behaving as though things are blooming. On top of it, you got the gall to tell us to cut back and sacrifice. Why the hell you don’t rule by example. Show that you care and that you have a conscience, cut your salary, reduce your cabinet, get rid of the nonjobs you created, and reduce the unnecessary traveling and teleconference. Pull a Tom Adams and collect the VAT so you can put the young people back to work in decent jobs. That would help in the fight against crime. Also, do something about the gas prices, and abolish the ridiculous gas tax that my stupid colleague came up with. Chris ignored it and you foolishly implemented it. That man doesn’t have any sense, no one in Customs paid him any mind. We shouldn’t be paying the most for gas in the region. Remember tourism is our business, high prices turn away tourists!

4. “Just the other day she went all the way to America in that private jet just to quote a Bob Marley song!”

Bob Marley is a Spiritual Icon throughout the first second third and fourth world who taught us children planet earth is really one world one people one love one heart
    i.e. Rasta Love Rasta Spirituality Rasta Vibes Jah Know
    To quote John Lennon [Beatles] “More popular than Jesus”
    [FYI Barbados is considered as Third World with a Human Development Index of 0.8 and population of 288,023 ]

5. Sri Lanka 🇱🇰
    Human Development Index 0.77
    Population 21,575,842
    Is ditching it’s President today
    and it’s people want a new Government and to form a new constitution with people power not executive power
    although it is going through extreme economic hardship
    maybe this is the way things should be
    maybe it is the the God way

Revuelta

English Translation
    revolt

More meanings for revuelta
    revolt noun
    rebelión, sublevación, rebeldía, motín

revuelto adjective
    scrambled, turned, unruly, fumbling, higgledy-piggledy

corriente revuelta
    revolt current

Similar Words
    Golpe de Estado
    coup
    huelga noun
    strike, walkout
    levantamiento noun
    lifting, uprising, lift, raising, erection
    insurrección noun
    insurrection, uprising, insurgency, insurgence
    deserción noun
    desertion, defection, abandonment
    sedición noun
    sedition
    motín noun
    riot, mutiny, revolt, outburst

I do not concur Mia is evil or a bad leader
    She is better than the rest

Who Jah bless

Let no man curse

I thank Jah

I am not the worst
    Lucrecia Dalt – Commotus [Full Album]
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azKKza8gzy8

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Her style of delivery and oratory skill has endeared her to the international community.”

yall like too much SHITE TALK, slick talk, empty nonsense oratory wrapped up in LIES and FANTASY..

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

” Show that you care and that you have a conscience, cut your salary, reduce your cabinet, get rid of the nonjobs you created, and reduce the unnecessary traveling and teleconference. ”

the original text said these “nonjobs were created for friends and family.”

8. In related news the Euro is now equal to a USD after its unprecedented slide and inflation recorded for June in the USA has seen a 9.1 increase year over year. It is tough everywhere which reinforces the point, our leaders have to be smart.

9. The Prophets
    Your comment is awaiting moderation. (ref: unapproved=2019457)

Anti Christ Rock

10. David

Cud dear! How else is the Dictator supposed to feed the retinue?

Do you propose that she provides the conditions for a palace coup?

In any case, is a tapered cabinet table not akin to a rearrangement of surrounding chairs on a sinking ship of state😝

What benefit, within the scheme of things, are the savings, of say ten million dollars a year make, even if that much?

This has long been your constant refrain. But after four years and this level of tinkering around the edges could still be so centralized is an implicit admission that this Mia Mottley dictatorial regime has been an abject failure, no?

11. “In related news the Euro is now equal to a USD after its unprecedented slide”

BU likes to dwell in divisive subject matter that should be avoided in mixed company such as Politics and Religion,
    and it’s Blog meister is often obsessed with business and economy as money runs things and you are either in the game or out of it

But parity of the dollar euro and pound is a sign of a New World Order manifesting One World Currency One World Government run by the Anti Christs

Anti Christ

Sipping I & I Chalice

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…everything has turned VERY REAL..

they are officially TRAPPED in NO MAN’S LAND..

can’t slick/shite talk themselves out of this one.

let it begin…they had to meet their WATERLOO.

13. Waru

There been have for decades no fundamental solutions of any of the problems this country faces, given current and past trajectories.

The time has long past for this truism to be recognized instead of this interminable engagement in sophisticated sophistry, across the board.

14. Have been

15. Indeed!
    Many of the posts/comments of today are just a mirror image of what is said in the past. We have bloggers exits and entrances, but the discussion is one of yesteryear.

My belief: We don’t have to solve every problem, or the solution for some will take ages, but there is low hanging fruit that we refuse to pick. Some big problems will disappear if we pick some of these low hanging fruits.

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The time has long past for this truism to be recognized instead of this interminable engagement in sophisticated sophistry, across the board.”

that’s all it is and has always been……WICKEDNESS in LOW places..

“Some big problems will disappear if we pick some of these low hanging fruits.”

they don’t want the problems to disappear, that would be too easy, they want ready-made solutions to twist it into benefiting the same rancid group of evil criminals only, while leaving the majority LOCKED IN PLACE with no opportunities of escape…

that’s why they have found themselves in this situation where their EXPOSURE is widespread.

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

we have watched for years as they all talked a bunch of shite about fake democracy….which has NEVER EXISTED for the majority….

…they are only good at putting on a show to fool the gullible but are PISS-POOR at everything else….even better at bullshitting those who love useless CHEAP TALK that goes NOWHERE…

.empty dresses and suits parading around DOING NOTHING worthwhile…

now everyone gets to study them..

18. @Pacha

We are Little England after all. Look what is happening over there.

19. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU
    We live in an almost comical pseudo intellectual society. Public discourse has been hijacked by the dominant political class and their minions.
    We appear oblivious to what is coming toward us and what is presently enveloping us.
    These days are very funny nights.
    We are inviting 1937.

20. A Jazz noise
    No era sólida translates to mean, “it was not solid,” a nod to the fluid ideas about creation and interpretation that inform the project.
    In the 1700’s, the word “sublime” was defined as, “operating in a manner analogous to terror,” and it’s that nebulous emotional terrain that is being explored on gently letting the listener into this world which progressively gets more strange as the songs progresses to the point of spectral singing that is more shadow than sound as the pressure manifests in ghostlier tones.

Seca

Ser boca

21. David
    What sense is being ‘Little” unless you are agile. Within these circumstances little should be a strength not a weakness.

22. MOTTLEY CABINET IS BLOATED
    +++++++++

I thought that Rip Van Winkle was a fictional character, but looks like he just “wake up”, please go back to sleep Rip

23. David

Also, are you not independent? Not a republic?

There is no time for hiding under mama’s skirt

24. We want to know
    How low can you go
    2008-2018 DLP Government set the bar low
    when standards are low
    it is easy to rise up and be better than that
    30-0 followed by 30-0 means a DLP turnaround must do the same which is unlikely

In to – Candela Capitán

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Is5_Ol2xDAM

25. @Pacha

Independent or republic what is the difference in the context of good governance and heightened civic awareness?

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“We are inviting 1937.”

a more SOPHISTICATED VERSION….looking like NOTHING they are visualizing….understand or have the ability to stop….more fool them..

“We appear oblivious to what is coming toward us and what is presently enveloping us.”

who are stuck, want to be stuck, most can see, and we are quite happy with that…they understand much more than weeee thought they would…to their credit..

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Anyway…there is a video circulating with a self proclaimed “hitman” advertising his business..

yesterday something happened at a person’s property….and the same description of the scam to get inside people’s place to commit murder can be attributed to this video….as described by the person who made on run for his life when his target pulled his gun..he barely got away..

They wear these red tee shirts that says Barbados Population Housing CENSUS, with an ID. saying the same.. purporting to be from a governement agency, claiming ya don’t have to show a lodge ring or anything, just show the police the ID and ya gone clear…

5 thousand dollars upfront and 5 thousand after the job is done can take up to two weeks for completion…..anyone seeing these CRIMINALS who are hinting that they are government sanctioned “hitmen”…..PUT THEM IN THE GROUND…..

28. David

Again, you seek to hide under a rock.

Where is your your leadership ethos? Are they only to be centered when victories are perceived?

Just another attempt to socialize failure and shield political elites from damnation.

29. “Independent or republic what is the difference in the context of good governance and heightened civic awareness?”

the difference is a Queen of England as Head of State

Royal Family was responsible for reprehensible Slave Trade and built Global Wealth through Systemic Capitalist Racist White Supremacy which by design has left Third World Starving as victims of Robbery with Aggravation Crimes to Mankind

400 years of Babylon Rule
    Civic awareness is lesser than spiritual awareness
    Check your religion if that is your go to source for your spiritual philosophy or check other religions for the uncovering of the divine within ourselves so that we may live as true expressions of this love and of this light

We recognise the glory splendour and grace of that effulgent essence that shines within us
    We pray for that final liberation the awakening of ourselves as that undivided essence which underlies and pervades the entire universe

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

*as described by the person who made one run for his life when his target pulled his gun..he barely got away…..he can bet that was his LAST LIFE…

don’t show any kindness to these beasts..

31. David

BTW, London Bridge is utterly falling down.

But you have never accepted this as we’ve been contending for decades, not even now.

You’ll still be looking for a way to breathe live into this dead system of things.

https://youtu.be/VoRObuz3N40

32. @Pacha

Good cop out.

33. @Pacha

When you appoint one of those billionaires to lead the party what will change?

#statusquo

34. The Dunning Kruger effect is particularly strong in the Mottley cabinet.
    My favourites are Straughn, Cummins, Sutherland and Humphrey.
    Confidence to spare, no competence to share

35. David

The billionaire were always in control. Most times using frontmen

When will you come to know that these party systems were always fundamentally flawed.

Can now go no further?

Unit you can contend with these notions all will be lost.

36. Billionaires

37. @Pacha

So it is a case of shuffling chairs in Mother England as well? What a thing:

38. David

Yes sireeee!

This is what tectonic changes will mean. There will be no stopping the decay either. In Barbados or Big England.

39. You agree Britain is a more mature democracy that what we practice in Barbados?

40. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Blogmaster and @Skinner, this Barbados predicament is fundamentally no different to the political storms across nations … so of course leaders need to be “smart” and just as surely we all (Sri Lanka, US, UK etc) are forever facing that seminal “1937” moment but it is NOT imminent!

Thus @Skinner I am unclear why you perceive that Bajans have any greater invitation to explosive populace revolt NOW than we did on the heels or at the heights of the incompetent DLP admin!

Americans are arguably no closer to their civil war moment now than they were two years ago or in the midst of presidential lawlessness. Nor are the Brits despite that very atrocious acts from their admin.

So are the Sri Lankas our guiding light … I think NOT. For a nation less than 20 years years removed from a turbulent Civil War they seem remarkably ‘controlled’ with the uprising!

So yes in many regards we UNDERstate our political contrivances and its effects on our society … as the malaise is truly quite deep but we overstate the possible immediate responses!

There is no Busssa figure that can rally Bajans to anger over political corruption and partisan lawlessness because alas, akin to the caricature described of the Eric Fly grassroots revolutionary figure, every modern possible ‘Bussa’ is bought or sold and for a lot more than the old fashioned coin of ’40 acres of rab land and a mule’!!

So yes … there is a bloated cabinet, scores of well paid consultants, duplicated govt agencies and million $$ business arrangements for covid drugs.

And yes that does ‘invite’ long term societal strife but a 1937 style revolt, Nope!

41. David

Never!

Don’t share your misplaced respect for Wesminster. Like Little England, it too is an elected dictatorship.

42. @Pacha

Let the blogmastet repeat- is England a more mature democracy and its citizens more aware of their civic responsibility?

43. Sunak topped first round voting.

44. Can paralysis transform a person into a thing?
    I achieve simplicity with great effort
    I’ve seen it all. I’ve seen your histories, the panspermie
    may I ask… Can paralysis transform a person into a thing?

Barbados is a tourist resort for UK Canada and USA
    a colonial outpost
    whole heap of sugar down deh!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BLcy6xg2XbA

45. David
    No.
    How could you talk about political maturity with the cast of characters now vying fuh power.

Maturity should should mean a break from this historical path towards the consolidation of political and economic power in the hands of fewer and fewer prople. The decay occurring at the centre.

BTW. Communism and socialism have degrees of these same tendencies as well

Because youve done the same shiite for hundreds of years does not maturity make.

What citizens!

Is this Conservative Party fiasco not a narrow membership battle. This democracy does not make. But that’s not the point.

The point is that NOTHING will change regardless of who wins. Business per usual.

This tendency of yours to constantly underestimate the magnitude of what we’re facing is unhelpful.

46. @Pacha

You wait for the system to implode? Wait for it.

—-

https://news.sky.com/story/zahawi-and-hunt-knocked-out-of-tory-leadership-race-after-first-round-of-voting-12651366

Nadhim Zahawi and Jeremy Hunt knocked out of Tory leadership race after first round of voting

47. David

Can’t you look at Sunak’s face and tell that like Bojo he too is an opportunist.

48. @Pacha

The blogmaster has no skin in the game. Prefer to extrapolate from the unfolding events in England given the system of government and how we can learn from it.

49. David
    No.
    It has been exploding for decades but as the boiling frog you ignore the heat.

50. There’s no time for learning