It would be remiss of the blogmaster if the yesterday’s 2022 Grenada general election was not highlighted in this space. Keith Mitchell’s New National Party (NNP) won consecutive general elections in 2013 and 2018. The Mia Mottley led Barbados Labour Party (BLP) won consecutive general elections in 2018 and 2022. Today the Prime Minister of Grenada is 44 year old Dikcon Mitchell who led the National Democratic Congress (NDC) to office based on preliminary reporting 9 seats to 6. To his credit 75 year old Keith Mitchell won his seat.

Another example of the people expressing its will in a democracy. Time will tell if the NDC is able to satisfy people expectation or another case of shuffling chairs on the deck of the Titanic. It exposes Mia Mottley and the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) should NOT take its unprecedented mandate for granted. Less than a year into a second term and there is growing discontentment from Barbadians largely because of increasing harsh economic conditions brought on by negative movements in the external market. The main political opposition Democratic Labour Party (DLP) – not dissimilar to the NDC – is led by a new young Dr. Ronnie Yearwood. In fact Dickon Mitchell was invited to speak at the DLP’s Extraordinary Conference on 1 May 2022. The win should help to inspire Yearwood and his team to what is possible. 

Some of us recognise the winning of a general election does not translate to manna from heaven, although it relieves concerns about a threat to ‘democracy’ by becoming a de facto one party state. Grenada like Barbados is a small island developing state which makes the job of governing for any government a challenge.

In the case of Mottley and Barbados one suspects if Yearwood is able to present a set of believable plans for Barbados and surround himself with a tean that is perceived as credible, who knows what is possible next election round. The recent decision by the Barbados government to borrow $256 million is not resonating well with the public. In theory many Barbados may understand we need to fix roads and attend to physical infrastructure BUT at what price. The debt stock of Barbados is north of 13 billion!

The blogmaster will continue to retreat to a position some do not accept. Citizens must continue find ways to agitate against our governments – to hold feet to fire. Politicians are in the business of popularity even if it comes at the expense of the people who elected them.

265 responses to “60 Love Can Lose”

1. Government is being urged to change its procurement policies so black businesses can get more work.

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/06/24/do-more-for-black-business/

Lol. What a farce of a country!

The year is 2022 AD.

Business people in a 95% black country that suffered through brutal slavery and colonialism are now reduced to publicly begging the black elected government for a few crumbs from the White/Indian/Arab/ Anyone But Black table.

I don’t know who are the biggest brassbowls – the black so called ‘businessmen’, the elected black government or the brainless black brassbowls that continue to promote and endorse folly?

NTSH. “This is who we are.”

#BajanCondition #FailedState

2. Thank you, Royal We!

From the Country Cunt.

Baje,

You have a particular disability. You view everything through your narrow lens. You think that watching tv, watching youtube videos, reading books, listening to lectures and hearing from relatives who have lived where he lived have no value in assessing things.

Man, I got relatives who LIVE UP THERE AND ARE COMING HOME BECAUSE YOUR EXPERIENCE HAS NOT BEEN THEIRS. DEM FRIGHTEN AS SHITE!

BUZZ TO FUCK OFF!

3. Still.cannot understand how a largely black population in 2022 can sit idle and be economically and socially brutalized by the minority
    A bajan condition that is in dire need of physchological help..

4. Do I have to have lived in Nazi Germany in 1939 to know that it was worse than Barbados in 2022?

Man, my great grandmother lived in America from about 1920 to 1970. She told my father to keep his backside in Barbados. He did and has had a great life.

My aunt lived up there from the 1960s to the early 2000s. Hightailed it outta there as soon as she retired. Numerous cousins did likewise.

It is not about only about personal experience! What America is has been examined and critiqued by people WORLDWIDE INCLUDING AMERICANS.

IT IS WRITTEN.

THE MEN HERE ON BU SEEM TO THINK THEY HAVE THE RIGHT TO TELL ME WHAT I SHOULD FOCUS ON!

FUCK TO RASSHOLE OFF! I am and always have been happy and relatively prosperous in Barbados. And THAT has been my personal experience.

Should I then assume that there are no problems in Barbados?

The stories of others ALWAYS have to be taken into account. And I have done so, both with American AND BARBADIAN STORIES.

5. I forgot, my forty year old cousin who hightailed it back here in her twenties saying that America was no place to raise black children. She wanted to have her some black children.

These experiences, relayed to me FIRST HAND, have just as much validity as those of one BAJE.

6. TAKE WARNING!
    Wickham: Grenada election result should be lesson for BLP
    Thursday’s loss by the Keith Mitchell-led New National Party (NNP) in Grenada after clean sweeps in two previous elections, should be a lesson to the Mia Amor Mottley administration that the rising cost of living and other exogenous shocks could alter public perception about even the strongest of administrations.
    This is according to veteran political scientist Peter Wickham, who contends that while the next poll in Barbados is a maximum four years away, should cost of living woes persist for that period, it could very well be a concern for voters.
    Barbados and Grenada have a unique political history in that both the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and the NNP secured clean sweeps in back-to-back elections recently.
    However, Wickham said that even such an overwhelming mandate from the people can be overridden if an opposing party is able to convince the public that the ruling party is not managing these crises effectively.
    Opposition argument
    “It is clear that in Grenada, as elsewhere in the Caribbean, the opposition parties have been working hard to convince people that the problems they are experiencing are unique and special, and caused by mismanagement on the part of the government. This is the case even though the facts show that it is a simple situation where the global price of oil has been galloping and that every single government in the world is facing this same challenge. The reality is that non-oil-producing countries are having challenges, so I do think that the opposition in Grenada was successful in convincing people that their problems were directly related to Keith Mitchell,” said
    the regional pollster.
    “This is something that can happen in the case of Barbados eventually. The good thing is that Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has four years and hopefully within that time period the war would have ended and the situation would have returned to normal. If it doesn’t, then you will have a situation where they would be judged in relation to that.”
    On Thursday, the main opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) won Grenada’s general election with nine of the 15 seats, with the remainder going to the NNP.
    Recently elected Democratic Labour Party president Dr Ronnie Yearwood offered his congratulations to new Prime Minister Dickon Mitchell, 44, who took leadership of the party only last October. He said while he was not rushing to draw parallels to Barbados, he is buoyed by the emergence of a “new generation of Caribbean leadership”.
    Yearwood, 42, who was elevated to the Dems’ presidency on May 1, said the NDC’s victory was symbolic of the region’s willingness to embrace new blood at this time.
    “It is good to see my generation stepping up and we are stepping into the breach, and that could only be good for the Caribbean. The reality is that politics is about the future, it is about hope, it is about optimism, it is always looking for those brighter days ahead. I think this is what Dickon was able to offer in Grenada, that new politics.
    “This is where you can draw the parallel – the same energy and the idea of new politics is something Barbadians are ready to embrace. We are tired of the old politics, we are tired of the vicious attacks, we just want clear vision and clear ideas, new energy and new direction about where we are going,”

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha….since they don’t even know what Fabianism is, even with the little information online, since they did not jump out with wings flying to tell me they knew about it already……and don’t need me to tell them…..we done know they are just as dumb in that regard as the shite they spew at us daily….wuhloss…besides, it is clear they CANNOT do the necessary research to find out either…

BUT what we can’t have is an anonymous blog MISLEADING AFRIKAN PEOPLE into another 100 years of bondage and oppression…they are free to do whatever else they want, but that will not be allowed.

“Lorenzo,
    You, Enuff, the Stats Man, and Tall Boy have one thing in common. All of you consistently bring weak, pathetic, Infants C arguments to the table.”

that’s the level of intelligence of the BU fowl brigade….will not go any higher either…..that’s WHO THEY ARE…

8. Walter

What are you bothering with Lorenzo for? I was once labelled a peabrain and a disgruntled Dem. Haven’t heard it for a while because I have not strongly criticised this government for a bit.

Was it on this particular blog that you addressed the NIS Invalidity / Government pension adjustment of a few years ago?

Even if the adjustment had its origins in a new man at the helm, THIS GOVERNMENT WAS PREPARED TO LET IT STAND. In fact, Ryan Straughn’s last words were, “Make no mistake! It is a pension!”

But Caswell clearly demonstrated otherwise.

The removal of two pensions from retirees in normal time could be borne because their mortgages would have ended, their children would have been grown and often able to help THEM. And there is nothing stopping them from working a little part time job or earning income from home to supplement.

The removal of the two “PENSIONS” from medically unfit EARLY retirees cuts them off when their children are often still in school and mortgages still in effect.

ALSO THEY ARE PROHIBITED FROM EVEN SELLING SNACKS FROM THEIR HOME TO SUPPLEMENT THE LOST INCOME. THEY RISK LOSING THEIR NIS INVALIDITY BENEFIT IF CAUGHT SELLING A SWEET DRINK OR A PIECE OF ARTWORK, A THING MANY OF THEM COULD EASILY DO.

THEY WOULD END UP ON THE STREETS OR STARVING. NO QUESTION. IT IS A REDUCTION OF ABOUT FORTY PER CENT.

BARBARIC FOR ANY GOVERNMENT TO BE CONSIDERING SUCH.

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They are DEFINITELY HARD PRESSED to pull another anti-Clement Payne or Marcus Garvey SCAM on the people, can’t even succeed with that one on a blog, fowls too illiterate….

…just imagine the HYPOCRISY with them turning Clement Payne into one of their annual scams to fool the people and keep them trapped after what they did, the nerve on these FRAUDS, PRETENDERS, DISHONEST, LYING, CORRUPT savages……..but those of us who were fortunate FINALLY GOT THEIR NUMBER….every digit…it was just a matter of time…

…..they were also hiding what they did to Marcus Garvey but could not keep it up beyond 102 years, they did not want that one coming out at all, tried SO HARD to not have it leak out………too bad, so sad…..it has been EXPOSED ACROSS THE REGION and CONTINENTS…

.Marcus Garvey is well respected and they cannot diminish his works, although they PLAGIARIZED and STOLE much of it and twisted it into their colonial imperialist NASTINESS…..as Slaves are bred to do..

….DIFFERENT century, DIFFERENT Pan Afrikan players…the REAL ONES THIS TIME around..

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha, William, TLSN etc……don’t forget to tune in to http://www.246bajanvibesradio.com if you can this morning at 9:00am , yall will want to hear this..

11. Walter,

And we know what happens if they even tried to sell the house and downsize. The banks are only interested in recovering what you owe. Market price is ignored as some of them tip off their contacts to buy at mortgage recovery price.

Then the disabled “invalid” would walk away with practically nothing and would then have rent to pay.

No way out of their situation! Food or housing?

12. Donna and pacha

100%. Correct! I lived In both countries from age 13 and my experiences Are different to that of baje

Both countries have their good and their cesspools . I am one of those that will be hightailing it back to the 2×3 paradise when i retire In about 3 yrs. The baby should be starting college this fall i will only be back ti offer them support .

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

That’s been a trend for over 100 years…..don’t care how the system is tweaked it produces the SAME RESULTS, disenfranchisement, lack of empowerment, socio-reduction and pauperization…this battle has been ongoing since 1920…with cabinet nigas wielding that whip..

Afrikan business people should NOT HAVE TO BEG to have black businesses RECOGNIZED and get their due…they should TAKE THEIR PLACE as the majority population and upend the scams and scammers in the parliament and minority CRIMEUNITY…they have been ALWAYS OUT OF CONTROL and getting MUCH WORSE, because of their various cartels, crime syndicates and the power they wield over traitor politicians……

14. William Skinner Avatar

@ Walter
    I have been listening to you since the 80s on call in programs and your style has not changed. You are very balanced not what passes for Pooh Pooh balance but genuine intellectual balance. It’s a rarity in our society.
    On several occasions, I have sat and listened to Peter Wickham welcome someregurgitator called Stats man for 20 and 25 minutes on a daily basis. Peter Wickham literally pokes fun at the regular DLP callers.
    You welcome each caller in a respectful manner. I don’t hear you making fun of peoples’ religious beliefs. Please continue the good work.
    The country is going through perilous times and if we continue on this path we would all end up in Maxwell Pond.
    The major problem here on BU is that we spent years licking up Stuart and Company and deservedly so.
    However, it is now common knowledge, that Mottley and Company are finding great difficulty in delivering all that was promised.
    As you and others have said, she has had to govern in difficult times. However messing up peoples’ pensions, getting involved in the Vaccine fiasco; entertaining a citizen while he was being directed by the police; embracing Mark Maloney after the assault on him; making sure Chris Sinckler “ the worst Minister of Finance” get a big job; now having a Chief of Staff; upgrading ministers with pay as Senior Ministers; having three ministers in her office and generally hogging up every show have people uncomfortable .
    The goodwill is decreasing and her followers and apologists simply cannot handle the fact that the cost of living is now amongst the highest in the world.
    On BU, they have reduced themselves to nothing more than nuisances.
    It’s really pathetic.
    They were fooled and they are ashamed to admit that when stripped of the rhetoric and use of the Bajan vernacular, Mia Mottley is nothing more than a shining example of the Duopoly. It is as much a part of her DNA as it was of her predecessor.
    Keep up the good work my Brother. The Brasstacks audience appreciate you.
    There is Pooh Pooh balance and then there is real balance.

15. John 2,

Baje obviously had a bad experience here and a much better experience there. He refuses to accept that many others have had the opposite.

Even so, it is really simplistic to say that one should not comment on another country because one has not lived there. There are many ways to gather knowledge of a place. Academics do not live in every country on which they comment.

But Baje was in the US army and therefore would have HELPED THEM TO SPREAD THEIR WHITE SUPREMACY WORLDWIDE. I can say that without caring because He accused ME of enabling and perpetuating corruption by voting in our elections.

I wonder which is worse. Nah, not really.

16. “that’s the level of intelligence of the BU fowl brigade….will not go any higher either…..that’s WHO THEY ARE…”

I was intelligent enough to know that Dr.Hinds wasn’t and never was the MP for St. Thomas though; and secondly I don’t tell lies on the blog to appear accomplished or scour the net for content to cut and paste. Even when I am staying silent in my corner, you (the Salemite) and the Walters love to insult me and when I defend myself, your lickers come with accusations that are false or have no relation to me. As petty, bitter, thin-skinned Walter said, I bring Infants C arguments to the table but he can’t tell me what concerns about procurement he once raised as co-host of the Walter+Walter Show on CBC just before the 2018 election. A very simple question. Yuh feel he raised anything about the NIS either?🤔

17. William Skinner Avatar

While you make some valid points about America; the great irony is that as many people who want to leave, there are thousands more who want to get in.
    As we speak, there are dozens of young Barbadians, who even with University degrees , who want to leave Bim and try their lot in the USA. Whrr Ed n they ask me ; I tell them to rough it out or see if there are opportunities somewhere in the region. I know of too many heart breaking experiences of others in America. I will never encourage anybody to leave the Caribbean to live elsewhere.
    I know of Barbadians, who love Bim with all their heart,but while they build houses and so on , they say they will visit but not live .
    It’s a real irony but at the end of the day, whether we like it or not, to many people from throughout theCaribbean, they still see America as the land of opportunity.
    And then it could be all about personal
    Choices either way. I am not pro -America and that’s grounded mainly in my political beliefs.
    That’s why the dreamer that I am, I will continue to advocate for one Caribbean state , to save future generations of Caribean people , the indignity of living as a second class citizen in any other country. That’s why the clowns on BU can cuss and label me forever. All I am trying to eradicate is Black people being forced to live as second class citizens in their own countries and region.
    @ Baje and I are at one on that. We have to do better than how we are allowing the Black political class to treat our people. Frigging up peoples pensions is certainly criminal. Yuh own dog bite yuh.
    While I often agree with you on this subject, I must give you an example of the irony. Imagine you love Bim
    and then a politician by the stroke of a pen frig up your pension. Imagine you have spent your life in America and now retired and you know what Social
    security promised you and it’s there every month. Imagine reading in the papers or hearing on Brasstacks that your friends and family back home getting screwed by their taxes being frigged up.
    The last thing you want to do is suffer that .
    Like I said , we agree, but this place is full of ironies. For me I will still prefer Bim, Trinidad, Guyana , St.Kitts or any where in the Caribbean.
    For others it is a completely different story.

18. William Skinner Avatar

That should be their pensions being screwed up not their taxes…….

19. Oh dear, I could go on and on! I have another cousin who brought her three young US born children back to Barbados after she left her husband, a documented immigrant. Only one has ever returned. My son’s best friend is US born of Haitian immigrant mother and Bajan immigrant father. His father sent them both home when the boy was an infant. He visits them and they visit him. He will hightail it back when he retires. The now soon to be twenty-year old son says he nah guh back to live, at all, at all, at all.

The US is a big place. Some parts of it are better than others. There will be opportunities to make money.

That is not the whole story.

20. Enuff do not mind Mr Blackman i he says we bring infants c arguments to the table but he entertains the in my view idiotic Ms Decided on brasstacks talkind shite? How ironic?As i ststed listen to him on thursdays on Brasstacks not only what he says but his tone.Notice how he perks up when the dems call but how aggresive he gets when the bees call.I once heard a guy ask him about being a member of the young democrats and the dlp in general and he got very emotional to the point where the guy had to literally tell him to calm down.Therefore he can pull the wool over some on here eyes but not mine.Skinner can sing your praises all he likes but neither of you can fool me.I gone.

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“All I am trying to eradicate is Black people being forced to live as second class citizens in their own countries and region.

@ Baje and I are at one on that. We have to do better than how we are allowing the Black political class to treat our people. Frigging up peoples pensions is certainly criminal. Yuh own dog bite yuh.”

that’s what everyone should look at….we get why minority groups are second class citizens in US, their nazi and white supremacists DEMONS still haunt the country, return and wreak havoc…..

but what people should ask themselves is WHY is the MAJORITY BLACK POPULATION whose presence fund the island 2nd class and have for 400 YEARS…comfortable as SECOND CLASS CITIZENS in THEIR COUNTRY…with minority criminals and corrupt politicians WREAKING JUST AS MUCH HAVOR in Afrikan lives…..i would want to know WHY and STOP IT FROM CONTINUING…

That’s what illiterate fowls are supposed to know…who the scammers are in the parliament, am not aligned with those types…

…intelligent people need not know…because they are not THUS HANDICAPPED.

22. A happy Saturday to all.
    Covid-19 is complicated.
    The US is complicated.
    Lots of shit is complicated.

I don’t have any answers. Was a time I would ‘rather be here than there’ and then ‘rather than there be here’. Right now I am just watching both places.

I stopped making comparisons. A lot depend on where you live.Heaven and hell can be adjacent to each other. And what you consider heaven may be my hell. Shit is complicated.

Have a great day.

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

After all the damage and LIES this one and other Fowls have perpetrated on the blog..FOR ALL THE YEARS I HAVE BEEN ON HERE…i can’t belive these illiterates are looking for sympathy….when they should be in prison right along with the corrupt sellouts…

24. But Baje was in the US army and therefore would have HELPED THEM TO SPREAD THEIR WHITE SUPREMACY WORLDWIDE. I can say that without caring because He accused ME of enabling and perpetuating corruption by voting in our elections.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

THIS IS YOUR STUPID ARGUMENT TO JUSTIFY NONSENSE.

I HAVE NEVER BASHED THE UK AND I LIVED THERE PREVIOUSLY HOWEVER WILL ALWAYS CALL A SPADE A SPADE.

PEA BRAIN INDIVIDUALS LOOK TO PUT PEOPLE IN A BOX BECAUSE YOUR LEVEL OF INTELLIGENCE SAYS I WAS IN THE US MILITARY OR LIVED IN A WHITE COUNTRY WELL WELL WELL SO JUSTIFY HOW I THINK.

YOU HAVE ENABLED CORRPUTION BECAUSE YOU HAVE VOTED FOR BOTH PARTIES ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND ALONG WITH MANY BLACKS ON THE ISLAND KNOWING HOW CORRPUT THEY ARE AND THEN MOAN AND COMPLAIN WHEN THE POLITICIANS TREAT YOU LOT LIKE THE IDIOTS AND PAWNS THEY THINK YOU ARE BEHIND CLOSE DOORS.

ALL OF THOSE TALKING SHITE ABOUT LEAVING THE US WHILST STILL BE THERE THAT IS THEIR CHOICE/HYPCORISY AND SHOULD DO SO A LONG TIME AGO.

I HAVE LIVED IN AT LEAST 6 COUNTRIES (2 WHITE, 1 SPANISH, 3 BLACK) MINIMUM BEING 2 YEARS SO HAVE NO ALLEGIANCE TO ANYWHERE.

MY EXPERIENCE ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND GOOD OR BAD DOES NOT PREVENT ME FROM SEEING OR SPEAKING THE REALITY.

EVEN MORE SO WHEN IN 2022 A SO CALLED BLACK ISLAND WITH THE MAJORITY OF BLACKS ARE BEGGING A BLACK GOVERMENT TO GIVE THEM A EQUITABLE SLICE OF THE BREAD.

CARRY YOUR ASS DO AND ARGUE WITH SOMEONE THAT HAS TIME FOR YOUR EXCUSES AND BACKWARD THINKING IN THIS DAY AND AGE.

25. When things going from bad to worse in Bim the anti America brigade steps up front to tell all the wrongs of America all but trying to place blinders over the eyes of others those speak about the realities which are happening in Barbados
    With all the warts and sores of America it is a self producing country
    Let that sink in
    Chalk and cheese

26. ‘Country Cunt’

There will never be a need for thanks from your ilk. Weeeeeeeeeeeeee were speaking to Baje about something more than he is serially guilty of – the lack of a weeeeeeeeeee And would never presume to know what is never read,

27. LET ME ADD TO THOSE WHO THINK THAT THEY KNOW ME OR MY ALLEGIANCES.

I WAS CAPTAIN OF MY FORMER SECONDARY SCHOOL TEAM AT INTER SCHOOL SPORTS AND A NATIONAL ATHLETE AS A TEENAGER REPRESENTING THE 2X3 ISLAND IN ITS UNIFORM COLOURS AT BOTH CARIFITA AND CAC.

I HAVE ALWAYS LED AND NEVER BEEN A FOLLOWER.

I DON’T HOWEVER BUY INTO OTHER PEOPLE STUPITY OR BEING PIGEON HOLE WHICH IS WHY THE CESSPOOL OF AN BLACK ISLAND WILL CONTINUE TO REGRESS INSTEAD OF DEALING WITH ITS ISSUE IN A MATURE MANNER INSTEAD OF GOSSIP, FALSE PROMISES, GIMMICKS, TRICKS ALONG WITH DIVIDE AND RULE.

28. William Skinner Avatar

@ Baje
    The Duopoly , like the colonialists, have mastered the art of divide and rule. We don’t like to admit it but we are being screwed by people who look like us. The enemy within (Marcus Garvey)They know that once they put us in a Stuart box or a Mottley box, their job is done.
    And that’s the problem. Sometimes, we are so blinded by party that we just hope for the best when our party is in.
    If we think that our future lies in the IMF or tourists arriving at the Deep Water Harbour or Grantley Adams we are in for a long , rough ride. Anything near COVID hit us again- it’s all over.
    But, we can keep on dreaming.

29. Pachamama

Weeeeeeeeeeeeee were speaking to Baje about something more than he is serially guilty of – the lack of a weeeeeeeeeee And would never presume to know what is never read,

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

YOU SEEM TO WANT ME TO SPEAK AS IF LOOKING FROM SOMEONE ELSE’S EYES.

THE WE ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND HAS BLACK POLITICIANS ROBBING AND TRICKING THE BLACK MASSES.

THE WE ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND ALSO HAVE BLACKS GOSSIPING AND TEARING DOWN EACH OTHER WHILST THE WHITES AND INDIANS DOMINATE ECONOMICALLY.

I HAVE READ MANY OF YOUR SUBMISSIONS ABOUT RUSSIA AND OTHER TOPICS WHAT YOU SUPPORT STRONGLY AND VEHEMENTLY EVEN THOUGH OTHERS MAY NOT SUPPORT INCLUDING MYSELF.

HOWEVER ARE YOUR BELIEFS AND OPINION.

THAT IS YOUR RIGHT.

DONNA COMES ON THE BLOG SPEAKING ABOUT HER BACKGROUND AND SON SPEAKING FROM THROUGH HER EYES IRREGARDLESS WHAT SHE DESCRIBES IS NOT THE LIFE OF MOST BLACK BAJANS A LARGE PERCENTAGE EITHER LIVING IN POVERTY OR BARELY SCRAPING BY.

30. @ Baje
    The Duopoly , like the colonialists, have mastered the art of divide and rule. We don’t like to admit it but we are being screwed by people who look like us. The enemy within (Marcus Garvey)They know that once they put us in a Stuart box or a Mottley box, their job is done.
    And that’s the problem. Sometimes, we are so blinded by party that we just hope for the best when our party is in.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

THOUSAND PERCENT YOU HAVE NAILED IT.

I BELIEVE THAT DEEP INSIDE THAT BLACK BAJANS KNOW THIS BUT MOST HAVE THROWN IN THE TOWEL AND NO LONGER SEEM TO BE ABLE TO THINK AND ACT FOR THEMSELVES WHILST BARELY STRUGGLING TO SURVIVE AND PAY THEIR BILLS.

31. Have we learnt anything from the Grenadian elections.
    15-0 in 2013, 15-0 in 2018 and an early election in 2022. This early election led to a defeat of the 30-0 team.

Barbados
    (1) No elections in Barbados prior to late 2026.
    (2) The probability of a 3-peat has been greatly lowered

Would love to see one of the political pundits try to link the Grenadian results to a future Barbados rlection

32. Baje
    Our point is a small one. That there is a body of information readily available that can speak to the general tendencies instead of a singular experience as important as that may be.

Your biting critique of the Bajan condition is equally shared. In essence you rightly argue that much of our problems are self inflicted within a degenerative culture.

We may however depart when imperialism is superimposed.

33. @Pacha

Your point is a simple one. A personal experience does not accurately paint a picture of a problem. One must be comprehensive in analysis to have a holistic understanding.

34. Mottley crew faces a dilemma of a govt pushing citizens into poverty and high debt from govt borrowing
    These two issues are tied hand in hand asking govt for resolution
    Stuart problem of not borrowing because of his refusal to go to the IMF was calls for outcries from the Mottley crew
    Hence what barbadians are facing now and in the future cannot be resolve by further borrowing
    Those policies of the past are worn out
    Nothing has trickled down to help the most vulnerable from borrowing
    Govt now finds itself tied to the long arm of international financial institutions Meanwhile China stands vanguard watching the outcome
    An outcome which can spell disaster for people and country

35. Any politician throwing hat into the ring wanting PM status must have a new line of thinking with a vision that places country out of beggars status and places a country on a path of self being self sufficient

36. I would hate to imagine whe our proverty and cost if living level would be at this point if we didnt borrow

37. We may however depart when imperialism is superimposed.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

imperialism a policy of extending a country’s power and influence through colonization, use of military force, or other means:

I AGREE 100 PERCENT HOWEVER YOU SUPPORT RUSSIA, CUBA,VENEZUELA ETC.

YOU KNOW WHAT I FIND FASCINATING THAT WHEN LEGAL OR ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS FROM THOSE COUNTRIES MOVE TO THE USA THEY BEHAVE IN THE MAJORITY THE SAME WAY AS IF THEY ARE SUPERIOR TO BLACKS AND THEY ARE MORE IMPORTANT EVEN THOUGH THEY MAY HAVE COME FORM BACKWARD AND REPRESSIVE REGIMES IN THE CASE OF BOTH CUBA AND VENEZUELA.

AS IT RELATES TO THE 2 X 3 ISLAND WHETHER SOMEONE WANTS TO LABEL ME AS HAVING AN INDIVIDUAL OPINION THE FACTS ARE REAL WITH THE MAJORITY BLACK POPULATION SUFFERING AND BEING TAKEN ADVANTAGE BY THEIR OWN BLACK PEOPLE.

THE PROBLEM IS NOT ME THE INDIVIDUAL BUT THE BLACK CLOWNS ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND WHO DROVE AND WALKED HAPPILY IN SHIT ON THE SOUTH COAST ROAD FOR 2 YEARS, SHIT NOW BEING PUMPED IN THE SEA DAILY ON A TOURIST ISLAND AND HAVE NOT LYNCHED THE PEOPLE IN CHARGE.

THE FINANCIAL CORRUPTION SCHEMES PREVIOUSLY DONE BY BOTH DLP AND BLP POLITICIANS THAT LED THEM TO THE IMF WHICH THE BLACK MASSES SUFFERING EFFECTS IN 2022.

NOT ONE DLP POLITICIAN CHARGED OR IN JAIL AS PROMISED BY MIA MOTTLEY AND THE BLP GOVERNMENT 4 OR 5 YEARS LATER …………..

THE SAME IMPERIALISM THAT YOU DON’T LIKE COMES FROM THE IMF A WHITE CONTROLLED AND ANOTHER FORM OF COLONIZATION.

COUNTRIES WHO DO WELL DON’T GO TO THE IMF ONLY THE ONES THAT FAILS TO MANAGE THEIR AFFAIRS AND THE WHITE IMF WOMEN/MEN THEN TAKE OVER PROVIDING MONEY BUT WITH THEIR CONDITIONS.

SO IF I THE INDIVIDUAL MUST LOOK THROUGH COLLECTIVELY OTHER PEOPLES EYES TO SEE THE TRUTH WHEN I CAN SEE MOST OF THE BLACKS ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND SEEM TO BE WALKING AROUND BLIND AND BRAINDEAD.

I SAID MOST NOT ALL.

PICK SENSE FROM NONSENSE.

38. A country that can help or save itself from the pitfalls of negative global factors is a country heading for failure
    When that happens those whose eat from the fatted calf heads for greener pasture leaving the dry bones for the people to live off
    Sad but true that in 2022 Barbados cannot produce a paper clip yet lives in a make belive world of punching above its weight

39. country that cant help or save itself from the pitfalls of negative global factors is a country heading for failure
    When that happens those whose eat from the fatted calf heads for greener pasture leaving the dry bones for the people to live off
    Sad but true that in 2022 Barbados cannot produce a paper clip yet lives in a make belive world of punching above its weight

40. Don’t have a problem with borrowing
    However have a problem with borrowing to pay debt as a one stop gap to fill a hole that keeps expanding

41. We can make a apper clip but we can make many gallon of rum

Arent you the one whi saud the garbage trucks couldnt pick up a tiffee paper off the streets snd now the same trucks Are self loading the bins of garbage? So Much for u insught/ blindness

42. William Skinner Avatar

My point remains: we Bajans have always had a problem with reality. Tell a Bajan what’s wrong with /in Bim and we immediately point to what’s wrong with another country.
    We also fool ourselves in many ways: we all inherited the same educational system but miraculously , we ended up with the “ best” educational system.
    It never stops. Not a failed state but………..
    And the classic of all time: we are so damn good at borrowing money that we can “tweak”our approach and export such skills to other countries.
    Oh, another gym: the reason our PM can literally interfere in a police action against a citizen is because “ that’s how she is because she speaks to everybody”.
    Well, I guess, I can’t help “ throwing a shade” or “ hating Mia But all hope is not lost because @ Lorenzo said: that I still give her “ little support.”

Peace

43. @William

You pay too much attention to the partisans and people on the fringe.

44. Baje

On Cuba, Russia, Venezuela et al. This writer is unashamedly a supporter of them within several contexts.

But your point of the racism within these three has also been highlighted as well. In the case.of Cuba it is only now with the new president that the Cuban government has decided to abandon the fiction that racism does exit there.

And yes Cubans in Miami are the most racist, reactionary people on earth. But some Black Cubans are no different than the Bajans described. But the idea that personal relationships with any of these people can be a basis for a generalization is absurd.

You repeat several points about the socio-political culture of Barbados which are generally shared.

In toto we need to find the truth. All the truths about our existence. Our anti imperialists stances would have on the side of aliens if their intent was to right historic wrongs. Unfortunately for you the West are the imperialists.

45. John2June 25, 2022 11:44 AM

We can make a apper clip but we can make many gallon of rum

Arent you the one whi saud the garbage trucks couldnt pick up a tiffee paper off the streets snd now the same trucks Are self loading the bins of garbage? So Much for u insught/ blindness
    Cxccc
    Not so fast soldier put away that gun
    Yet the problem of disposing of that garbage remains a big concern as govt grunts and holer about the environment
    About four years ago a concern of land fill storage and limits were being told
    Tooting garbage trucks and polluting the environment is another policy of putting cart before horse

46. @ African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved,
    I tuned into Bajans Vibe Radio. The reception and sound quality were very poor.

The programme was harrowing. It stated that absolute corruption is endemic on the island; both parties are equally as guilty as each other and have strong ties with the legal profession and the business community. The programme stated that Donville shared strong links with Malta and mentioned that he was involved in a number of “business” activities not fully disclosed by the Barbados media. If you can remember, Malta gave us the indefatigable investigative journalist Daphne Caruana Galizia ( https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-41650312 ) whose live was terminated by a bomb. The programme stated that there was a regular shuttle service of private jets between the two islands.

The programme encouraged domestic Barbadians to break the silence of fear and intimidation that reigns on the island. It also stated that some Barbadians risk arrest and worse should they ever return to the island to take possession of their land or home. It also encouraged Barbadians to form a new political party in order to sweep away the BDLP.

The one positive news from this depressing radio show was the stance of St Lucia. It stated that that St Lucia was currently investigating and restoring lands and properties to their rightful owners.

The programme should act as a reminder to yourself, the British journalist and the likes of William Skinner as to why all three of you have courted high levels of antipathy on the BU platform. Democracy is dead in Barbados. May God come to the rescue of Barbados black population.

47. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha, William…..let’s see HOW the pretend black elites and minority thieves, bunch of wanna be white supremacists…. like being HUNTED, shameless common class crooks…

just as they have done to the Afrikan population since 1920……..

alll their crimal syndicates and cartels are now identified..

48. @ Pachamama,
    You have not mentioned the victory of the far left movement in Colombia and its election of a real black woman deputy Prime Minister. It would be wonderful for Barbados progressive thinkers and would-be politicians to form a pact with this newly elected party and learn from them.

49. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The programme stated that there was a regular shuttle service of private jets between the two islands.”

which promps another investigation.

yes, there is much interference but there will be a recording shared. Will let you know when it pops up, those are very clear, no interruptions…

…the elite criminals can’t hide from anyone anymore….everything is OUT THERE, can’t put toothpaste back into a tube…

Malta got real heat now after decades of getting away, everyone is searching for a hole to hide, not a place to visit, ya might end up on some investigative radar…it’s that bad, apparently there is only ever ONE REASON for visiting such a place….not surprised that copycats in Barbados see it as their No. 1 destination for pretenders and the dishonest….

We know why they do what they do on BU…it’s not a secret these 5-6 years…but that still cannot stop any movement…it’s out of their hands, they are wasting their time as i told them these last 8 or 9 YEARS………the anonymous don’t exactly have the support of those who are seeking RADICAL CHANGE…..they are into cosmetic wishy washy nonsense that changes NOTHING and keeps Afrikan people oppressed indefinitely…..while blaming the victims of these crimes coming forth like clockwork from the parliament and minority crimunity…..while stubbornly trying to keep the disrespectful imperialist status quo in place…can’t get very far when that is NOT WHAT THE MAJORITY WANTS…

50. Another ball of wax

No seat at table – Rastafarian community
    By Randy Bennett
    The Rastafarian community is offended that it has no representation on the newly assembled Constitutional Reform Commission.
    An irate Ras Simba said the community feels “annoyed and disrespected” that no space could be found for them on the 10-member commission, which was named on Monday and officially launched Friday.
    The Commission, which is chaired by Justice Christopher Blackman, has been tasked with reforming the island’s aging Constitution.
    Ras Simba, who was invited to the official launch at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, claimed that Rastafarians were once again being disadvantaged, similar to what transpired with the medicinal cannabis industry.
    Speaking to Barbados TODAY, he said what was especially disheartening was the fact that other facets of society had been included on the Commission.
    “The Constitution is a very important document. It says that we are now in a position to govern ourselves. So we are now moving from a colonial space into an independent space, which in itself is an African activity.
    It is African-centered because the space is a space that was full of African descendants who they brought and made slaves here.
    “We are here now in 2022 and Rastafari, who has emerged, has come and established themselves as an integral part of the society.
    We’ve heard in the last two elections the Government speak of the importance of Rastafari, the contribution of Rastafari in the community. We feel slighted that we have been left off of being at the actual table.
    We were good enough to be invited to the launch…” an irate Ras Simba told Barbados TODAY moments after the event ended.
    “We feel very slighted and we look at the table and we see almost everyone else represented at the table. Muslims represented, education represented, colonial Christianity represented. I feel that we’re in a confused space. I am glad that all of these other facets of the society are represented but that means that Rastafari should also be represented.
    “I don’t think that we are really ready for the Republic. We moved God but then we’re hearing in the prayers people talking about Jesus Christ, so there’s confusion within there.
    But based on what we’re speaking about here, at the 25th hour we’re still saying that Rastafari should have an official space at the table. All the pretty talk about having special meetings and private consultations, we did that with the medical cannabis and look at where we’re at. We got nothing, we still have nothing and I presently have the Government in court.
    I now got a trial date for next year and this is for our sacramental rights which is stated within the Constitution we have now.
    “I am fighting for my Constitutional rights as a Rastafari right now as we speak in the courts of law but a new Constitution is coming about and I’m being left out. You could imagine how I feel? What will happen to me? I am pissed and I came here really and truly just to speak to the media and speak to the chair of the commission,” Ras Simba further maintained.
    The outspoken advocate said he also planned to communicate to the Prime Minister his disappointment with the manner in which Rastafari was being treated.
    “This is my first planned action for the community and I am here on behalf of the National Rastafari Registry Secretariat and Trust and our official position is that we are annoyed and we feel disrespected.
    “Our first plan of action was to let our disgust public and then write a letter to the powers that be, even to the Prime Minister or the Prime Minister’s Office to let them know how we feel,” Ras Simba said. randybennett@barbadostoday.bb