Constitutional Review Commission Established

The promised Constitutional Review Commission (CRC) was legally constituted today. Acting President of Barbados Reverend Jeffrey Gibson administered the oath in the absence of President Sandra Mason. Some will say it is better late then never. Prime Minister Mottley promised before the last general election that a review of the Barbados Constitution was high on the agenda should her political party be returned to office. The former government attracted criticism in some quarters by moving the country to a republic in November last year without substantive change to the Constitution.

The country awaits the opportunity to submit feedback to the CRC. We live in hope the opportunity will be grasped by ordinary Barbadians who have shown themselves to be increasingly apathetic and cynical to governance issues.

The blogmaster is disappointed the decision was not made for members of the CRC to come from a non political background. It is also unfortunate the calibre of some members appointed to the CRC do not command this blogmaster’s support. How ecstatic some of us would have been if Judge Jefferson Cumberbatch was seconded to the CRC.

See Related Link:

214 thoughts on “Constitutional Review Commission Established

1. “The country awaits the opportunity to submit feedback to the CRC.”

Should’ve been done BEFORE hastily moving Barbados to Republic status.

Barbadians should’ve been given the opportunity to EXPRESS their views as to the future direction of the island, rather than having the decision FORCED upon us…… and subsequently asking for our opinions.

‘Cart before the 🐎 horse.’

2. Before reading the comment, I, too, thought it was 🛒 before the 🐎.

It would be interesting to see who the blogmaster would drop from the list “It is also unfortunate the calibre of some members appointed to the CRC do not command this blogmaster’s support.”

In a country of 300000 people, it seems as if only JC and KK are the go to guys.

I did it again.

3. More meaningless work and a joke really.

Basically a good example of administration versus executing a strategic vision. Will add no value to Barbados whatsoever, and do nothing to save the citizenry from rough times ahead.

Distractions pure distractions

4. Conspiracy theory madness
    Even though the fatted calf has been slimmed-down, the current administration has been creative in putting money in the pockets of a faithful few.

Nothing of the magnitude of the cahill scam, but the $25M US scam seem to be still doable.. we had the port scammers (scanners), the vaccine scam and White Hoax (to name a few).

On the burner are Chinese housing and EWSB. Keeping my eyes open for those.

These nee commissions are lower level scams; elevation of the no-show job. Here people will be paid to show-up and publish a document. Show but very little work.

One can live well off a slimmed-down calf. Portions that are sized properly are justifiable and just as tasty as the Cahill-sized portions.

5. Brathwaite, Sinckler declared failures by the BLP being resurrected. Comedy Central. Doesn’t Brathwaite has a case against government pending at the Court of Appeal. Circus.

6. Every man has his price. For some it’s money, for some it’s women, for others glory. But the honest man you don’t have to buy – he winds up costing you nothing.
    Harold Robbins,

I still believe that at heart he is an honest man, but like it or not he is bought and paid for.

Mia studies what a person wants and gives it to them. Money would have been rejected. That pawn is off the table.

7. “Brathwaite, Sinckler declared failures by the BLP being resurrected.”

@ Mr. Skinner

Cannot be “Comedy Central.”

Isn’t this what’s expected of the ‘duopoly?’

In 2008 Thompson talked about corruption and ‘locking up BLP Ministers,’ and ‘not a boy’ investigated and incarcerated.
    Mottley made similar comments…… supported by the ‘red bag of evidence,’…… ‘not a boy get locked up.’

Remember, COVID-19 restrictions lifted…… socializing and karaoke 🎤 ‘start back.’

8. @David, as an unschooled layman it would seem a bit Bajany ‘infradig’ to me that a SITTING Justice would be appointed to a Constitution Review commission …

Think it through, brother that would NOT be a wise choice.

Now if he was still Dean J Cumberbatch then he would br a solid selection.

Just saying.

• @Dee Word

You obviously missed the subtlety of the blogmaster’s meaning about being ecstatic at JCumberbatch being seconded when contextualized with concern expressed regarding the calibre of some members and others coming from a political background appointed to the CRC.

9. ” Muslim activist Sulieman Bulbulia, youth activist Khaleel Kothdiwala,…… and president of the Barbados Secondary Teachers Union, Mary-Ann Redman; all took an Oath of Allegiance.”

10. @ Artax
    Well, like you said it’s expected. But the Duopoly is so boldfaced. I guess it’s the norm and as Sparrow say: We like it so.
    Peace

11. I was wondering if that’s Adriel Brathwaite.

Remember, Brathwaite issued a statement in which he stated, “The Constitution is our supreme law. It is a body of the core laws and principles that describe the general organisation and operation of the sovereign state of Barbados,” ……which was essentially a preamble to making his intentions known he was filing a constitutional motion seeking the Supreme Court’s intervention to make a determination on whether or not the Senate was properly constituted.

12. The more things change the more they remain the same
    Enough.to.make mankind puke
    Some friggin nerve

• “Committee installed

FORMER DLP AG, REPS FOR CHURCH, UNIONS, YOUTH, DISABLED TO ADVISE ON NEW CONSTITUTION
      Stories by Randy Bennett
      By the end of 2024 Barbados’ new Constitution should be complete.
      This was revealed by Attorney General Dale Marshall following the establishment of a 10-member Constitutional Reform Commission, which he said has been given 18 months to reform the island’s aging Constitution.
      However, it will be a costly initiative with the entire process expected to cost in the region of $1 million.
      The committee will be chaired by retired High Court judge Christopher Blackman and comprises persons from a wide cross section of Barbados.
      The other members are Suleiman Bulbulia, Reverend Senator Dr John Rogers, Senator Gregory Nicholls, former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite, trade unionist Mary-Ann Redman, businessman Christopher de Caires, attorney-at-law Sade Jemmott, president of the Barbados Council for the Disabled Kerryann Ifill and youth advocate Khaleel Kothdiwala.
      They were sworn in by Acting President Jeffrey Gibson during a brief ceremony at State House this morning.
      Speaking to members of the media moments later, Marshall said while the two previous constitutional review commissions needed extensions, he expected work would be completed within the 18-month timeline.
      He maintained that the commission had not been given any directives from Government and had free reign to draft a new Constitution, however they saw fit.
      “Interestingly enough in each of the two previous instances, the commissions had set timelines as this one does, but on each occasion because of the volume of work involved, each one had to seek extensions. The remit of this commission is 18 months and I believe that they have a very ambitious work plan and we expect that they will come in, in that 18-month period,” the Attorney General stated.
      “…We’ve given them a template of the Constitution but this is a Constitution reform so they are not to feel bound by anything that we give them, what we gave them is an aide memoir. We’re providing drafting services so at the end of that process I expect that they will be able to deliver to Barbados a Constitutional document, but then that document still then has to go through the Parliamentary processes and so on.”
      Marshall said with the use of technological platforms, issues such as transcribing and recording which previous commissions experienced, would be eliminated.
      He acknowledged, though, that if an extension was required it would be given.
      The Attorney General admitted that the road to establishing a new Constitution would be costly.
      He said Prime Minister Mia Mottley had made it clear money would not be a deterrent.
      “The Commission is going to be going out to meetings at night generally but they will engage the public as and when they see fit, but we’ve asked them to have in-depth consultations all across Barbados. So there are obviously going to be costs of setting up those meetings and every location that we have a meeting at we’re going to stream and therefore that’s a cost as well. There are research issues that will have to be addressed and the Commission has already indicated there are a number of papers they want to have research done on and there is going to be a cost attached to that. So there are a lot of little things that get added to the exercise,”
      Marshall explained.
      “I can’t give you a full breakdown now but we’ve set some large budgets and I think the kind of budget that we’re looking at at this point in time is certainly a little bit under $1 million. We’re hopeful it will come in under that. If it’s necessary to seek more funding we will just have to do that but this is an important exercise and the Prime Minister has assured me that we will not let funding be an impediment in terms of having this commission getting its work done.”
      The Attorney General appealed to Barbadians to take part in the process and to contribute to the reform of the Constitution. randybennett@barbadostoday.bb

13. Babylon Mistry History
    Who wants a date
    1620 English Slave Laboratory
    1661 An Act for Better Ordering and Governing of Negroes Slave Code
    30 November 1966 Independence
    30 November 2021 Republic

Precedence of Presidents
    preamble
    1787 US Constitution
    USA treats its Founding Fathers as Gods and its Constitution as its Bible
    But, they were Illuminati Gray Lizards of the New World Order of White Supremacy Racism, and people of Colour were just black polka dots on a white background like Apartheid South Africa formed in 1948 which legalised institutional Segregation

14. Time Travelers
    It seems Time Travelers can only go back in time to visit their past
    rarely do they go forward in time to see their future

15. Spirituality of yoga
    Yoga gives the gift of a calm mind, even in the midst of chaos, by teaching you to let go and bring awareness to every moment.
    The spiritual aspect of yoga can help yogis develop integration of the inner being as well as oneness with the Supreme Consciousness.
    Yoga practice may improve various aspects of spiritual well-being and spiritual intelligence. Yoga practice may also be associated with increased levels of spiritual health, a more positive outlook on life, happiness within, and lower levels of existential anxieties.

Hieroglyphics Yoga
    People in West associate yoga with the East originating in India, but evidence discoveries now show African origins.
    T​​​​​​he Fierce Creative with Healing Tendencies. Nurturing Peaceful Warrior Spirits & Bodies.

10 Minute Yoga For Beginners | Yoga With Adriene

16. Within 24hours of the legend catching covid-19 we get this announcement. This Prime Minister is taking the people for fools.

Surely the time has arrived to take this entitled Prime Minister and her government out of their comfort zone. It beggars believe that Barbadians should continue to tolerate this duplicitous government.

17. Officially Spliffically Heartically Collie Collie
    Dreads will be having a Nyabinghi Drum and Chanting Dub Conference Session up in a Rastaman Camp to chase the wicked vibes away and bless these proceedings

Move out a Babylon

Move Out Of Babylon Dub

18. I 100% agree with the Blogmaster that Jeff Cumberbatch should have been appointed to the committee … and dare I say, also a person from the scientific community, a logical thinker, to add some variety???

19. 555dub

You’re quite right about yoga. As s practitioner and a traveller to Kemet the evidence is clear. More generally our presumption should be that all the foundations of modern “civilization” have ancient Afrikan origins. Again this is established thought if not always acknowledge.

But be careful when you revere your ancient Afrikan ancestors people like David may refer to you as being “nostalgic”. But it’s all well and good for them to deity their European ones who never existed.

20. Mother Earth Pachamama
    What is your take on the helicopter hieroglyphs carving from the Temple of Seti I at Abydos.
    where they derived from:
    1) Ancient cultures passed down to Egypt
    2) Time Travelers
    3) Prophecies
    4) Aliens

21. Circa 1300 BC 𓂀
    “He who repulses the nine [enemies of Egypt]”.
    “He who protects Egypt and overthrows the foreign countries”.

22. But be careful when you revere your ancient Afrikan ancestors

Lol 🤣🤣
    You mean Indian ancestors?

23. Interracial Dialogue in Rap Music–Call-and-Response in a Multicultural Style
    Abstract
    Pop culture functions as a form of interracial communication – often acting as a crossroads for the symbolic interaction of various sociocultural groups. Rap music is a particularly volatile site for this kind of electronically mediated’ interracial dialogue. The “concscious rap” of the 1990s was adapted by various ethnic subculture in order to develop ‘imagined communities’ that transcend racial and national boundaries. Here I will focus on the way in which Latino, ‘white’ and Asian rappers have inserted themselves into this discourse. My broader aim is to examine the implications that multi-ethnic use of the African-derived call-and-response process has for the development of more inclusive and responsive forms of democracy.

Poor Righteous Teachers – Rock Dis Funky Joint

time to get funky-new-radical hip as I get to the point
    Rock this funky joint
    Wait a sec, the teacher’s got to check the intellect

Plus I must stepped in, then give you it but
    But give you what?
    The P the R the T for often come to teach the top but
    Plus I be just enough? (Uh-huh) to manifest
    The fabric mathematics black be that of Asiatic
    Rock the teship track the static
    And that you’re rocking to my concept
    Now guys I stand for this
    For this wise, civilized in hip hop rhyme, from a black mind
    To kicking it to you all the time
    As-salam, you like a more a peace sign
    Represents my way life and this be that of Islam (Islam)
    I take my time
    Just before I manifest the rhyme
    Sharp and act your witness stop the music on a dime
    Knowledge me a cappella wisdom G I’m manifesting
    Understanding understood so there’s no need
    For keep you guessing, follow me now, see
    See I be rocking
    The second hand is ticking still the posse don’t be clocking
    Controllers of the track we take it closer to the point
    Rock this funky joint (yeah)

Rock this funky joint

It’s time to step
    The style that I use with with also rather rapidly
    Prt posse backing me, easy now, star
    You know exactly who we are
    Poor Righteous Teachers child we PRT for short now
    Now don’t want more, hm?
    Or am I too much for the mental?
    Proceed teacher please, just keep it sorta simple
    Like Hip Hop, yeah complicatedly I place it
    According to the moods of my intellect
    Step for step
    I step a little closer to the point
    Rock this funky joint
    But, but I’m your teacher, I teach you
    Rocker when I rock you
    The king I will find muse of different style of hip hop
    Smooth like a wise words spoken from a prophet
    Rough like a slave trying to get away
    See I combine, with two kinds of rhyme, trying to reach you
    The knowledge of myself makes me a poor righteous teacher
    Stop to flip the topic, Islamically I drop it
    My duty be to teach so keep your pistol in your pocket
    I self, Lord and master
    Travelling faster
    As I get closer to the point
    Rock this funky joint, yeah

Rock this funky joint

Stammer, step yeah, yeah, I’m on top of it
    I, I have to get
    The styles that you be seeking and the words that I be speaking
    Poor Righteous Teachers posse teaching
    Anyone that lacks this style that I be styling
    Mentally profiling, should I say I’m
    Smooth with the roughness
    Just serving justice
    Suckers try to suck this
    But, but I be scoping
    Never I’m not sleeping
    Because it’s Culture Freedom, G
    Whose posse rolling? Prt
    Word, B, it’s sort of simple, see
    Now look at me
    The holy intellectual type when I write
    The spirit always keep me something hype
    I pimp the mic, yo
    ‘Cause it’s my whole life like, like I’m creating
    Man I be festating, can I say I’m great when
    There’s not another brother greater?
    Turn to Culture Freedom for support
    G, manifest the point
    Rock this funky joint

But no excuses, losers never rock this
    Snakes try to stop this
    Purify the holy hip-hopness
    Listen to the concept, swept tech-technique
    Peace be the Lord I feel this war when I speak
    As-salamu-alaykum
    Alaykum my salaam
    A universal greeting from the people of our kind
    Step into the realm of my cypher
    Feel the different type of
    Commas coming, slipping, stepping technique
    Twelve hundreds master by the Shah
    He’s asking me to rock
    So now I’m giving him the spot

Style be the lyrics I be kicking
    Intelligence be ticking
    So what’s symbolic to a bomb?
    Many brothers roll and fell a victim
    I’m not living with them
    Because they didn’t know the time
    Turn to Culture Freedom for support
    G, manifest the point
    Rock this funky joint

Check it out right
    To our righteous teachers B.I.c
    In the house, I got my road manager chuck
    And our wonderful brother, Power
    Always in the house, you know what I’m sayin’?
    And ay, yo Marsden, just keep being scary
    And you in here, you know what I’m sayin’?
    Must say, peace to the Queen
    Love elevation and one must say peace to the queen Shanara
    And one must say peace to a lot of other queens
    But I just can’t recall their names right now
    And yo it’s smooth with the roughness
    ‘Cause we’re just some of them, trust it
    See yeah (true indeed)
    Black men, boys, black girls
    Wimps

24. Slurs Libel and Slander
    They dish it out but they can’t take it
    Double removal by the Muderator must mean a gold star ⭐

Keep the Customer Satisfied / Simon & Garfunkel
    Gee but it’s great to be back home
    Home is where I want to be.
    I’ve been on the road so long my friend,
    And if you came along
    I know you couldn’t disagree.

It’s the same old story, yeah
    Everywhere I go,
    I get slandered, libeled,
    I hear words I never heard in the Bible
    And I’m one step ahead of the shoe shine
    Two steps away from the county line
    Just trying to keep my customers satisfied,
    Satisfied.

Deputy Sheriff said to me
    Tell me what you come here for, boy.
    You better get your bags and flee.
    You’re in trouble boy,
    And you’re heading into more.

It’s the same old story,
    Everywhere I go,
    And I’m one step ahead of the shoe shine
    Two steps away from the county line
    Just trying to keep my customers satisfied,
    Satisfied

Woah woah woah woah

It’s the same old story,
    Everywhere I go,
    And I’m so tired, so tired
    But I’m trying to keep my customers satisfied,
    Satisfied

25. We already know that 1 million dollar price tag is attached
    What inquiring minds want to know how and where that money would be allocated
    Transparency and accountability is at the root of good governance

26. @ kiki:

In the same depiction there is also a submarine. but according to the white man, blacks created nothing, contributed nothing. there are lots of black fools who believe the white lies.

27. Rights and Wrongs
    Will Bajans in the Diaspora be Stakeholders in the CRC process
    Will they be given Rights to Vote
    or snot

28. Transparency and accountability is at the root of good governance..
    So now you know where the 0-nought came from, and why Bajans will eventually kick this cruise ass out.

29. I suspect that Randy Bennett of Barbados Today, like every local media house writer, would like to be respected as a member of the journalistic profession. It therefore beggars belief that one short paragraph after identifyng the Reverend Senator Dr. John Rogers as a member of this Constitutional Review Committee, Bennett identifies Rogers’ senior colleague and the acting Head of State as Jeffrey Gibson. I am forced to conclude that Bennett is ignorant of the fact that the Very Reverend Dr. Jeffrey Gibson has earned his doctoral degree and is the Most senior anglican clergy person outside the episcopate.

30. Would appear the group is diverse. The obvious missing representative is the medical/public health community.

31. “We had one in 1979 and one in 1998!!!”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

So, which report do you suggest should be used?

The report that was prepared forty-three (43) years ago in 1979?

Or one that was prepared twenty-four (24) years ago in 1998?

32. DavidJune 21, 2022 11:04 AM

You have former DLP AG Brathwaite appointed to the CRC therefore you should have no worries
    Xxxx
    What does Brathwaite input have to do with taxpayers 1 million dollar price tag attached to the CRC
    U David ought to be ashamed of pushing such political poop
    Did not this govt promised accountability and transparency

33. “But it’s all well and good for them to deity their European ones who never existed.”

a running joke on the continent….especially when they and their fakery and fairytales runs COUNTER to Kemet, Kush and Timbuktu’s centuries of real scholarship..

“However, it will be a costly initiative with the entire process expected to cost in the region of $1 million.”

with all the TEMPLATES for republic constitutions out there…and all those EAGER YOUNG AND more experienced legal minds like Jeff…..wuh dey need 1 MILLION DOLLARS FUH AGAIN…steupppss…

“Distractions pure distractions”

nothing but…

“It beggars believe that Barbadians should continue to tolerate this duplicitous government.”

careful the Fowls don’t jump on you…

34. Bajan Madness

Perhaps it is time to draw a line under the Bajan Madness condition to step forward
    forwards ever backwards never, stop moaning about last 56 years ie your whole life

35. We can’t know whether the new constitution will deal with matters of war and peace.

However, and as the media whores and their pedantic assholes appear to lose interest, Putin continues to drive home de big deckie in duh crotch.

Even with the braindead idiots in the State Department and the Pentagon continuing to invest into a lost cause. This war was lost from the beginning. The constitution of Barbados, under the principle of extra-territorial jurisdiction should bring idiots and war criminals to the bar.😅

https://youtu.be/e4rWfPPR-V8

36. ArtaxJune 21, 2022 12:08 PM

“We had one in 1979 and one in 1998!!!”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

So, which report do you suggest should be used?

The report that was prepared forty-three (43) years ago in 1979?

Or one that was prepared twenty-four (24) years ago in 1998?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

All three will gather dust!!

37. Pacha…i just don’t get how they blinded themselves to the outcome…it’s like a mystery that they just could not help the self implosion…

apparently no one was concerned with risk assessment…and even if they did, their analysis was left wanting..

38. Waru

Can’t remember the term currently but this happens all the time.

You should experience the ecosystem which is Washington, DC. Where you have a number of forces driving these decisions , almost on automation.

All the people within, who just talk to themselves in the echo chamber convince each other that these things make sense.

And of course the media whores and a largely ignorant global public too busy trying to make a living to think believe this tried story all the time.

Of course the new constitution will have no remedy when idiots are pedantic. Or for war criminals

39. Why can’t integrity legislation principles be included in the new Constitution for Government and Public Service
    although it should be a given that Corruption is illegal it should be made an explicit term in a contract of employment and job duties

40. Power corrupts, absolute power corrupts absolutely
    There should be prohibitions on Government overreach and extra-judicial process as the powers that be can be one sided and bloody minded in dealing with public in breach of basic rights, in matters such as policing, courts, social services, ignoring complaints etc

41. @ 555 at 3.48 pm
    There are many things that cannot be legislated into being and one of them is integrity. Legislating penalties does not bring it into existence. That is a role that religion used to fulfill in our culture.Religion is being undermined and nothing as effective is filling the gap.

• @Vincent

Seriously?

What is integrity legislation meant to achieve?

When you were an employee did you acknowledge a code of conduct?

42. “And of course the media whores and a largely ignorant global public too busy trying to make a living to think believe this tried story all the time.”

that’s how they have gotten away with this war machine for the last 100 years, people are so busy just trying to survive, trying to raise families which carry many levels of fear, and keep their heads above water globally… that they accepted and believed everything they said.

The cockup came in sequestering everyone inside for so long and giving them time to match stories and figure out plays…which was impossible in 1914, 1918, 1944 etc

then they screwed up royally with the Ukraine war, feeding on each other’s refusal to run risk assessments…toppling their own economies…and who knows what other fall out from all of this is about to show up.

hope the whole world, people who had no part in the war, don’t end up paying dearly for this…

43. “There are many things that cannot be legislated into being and one of them is integrity.”

are you a Judge or Jury that can determine whether standards of integrity have been breached and broken the law way
    money money is the root of all evil

For the love of money is the root of all of evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.

44. I think Ezra Alleyne, attorney at law, would have been a quite useful member of this committee. Although the committee begins with a template, there are issues that can be illuminated by his scholarship and maturity. Is the Bill of rights going to be expanded to envisage rights not contemplated in 1966. Unilateral or bicameral legislature and the mode of its creation and costs. What are to be the restraints on local government. Is the Executive going to be separate from the Legislature in fact as opposed to fiction. How will our Courts contribute to the emerging Bajan jurisprudence. Does the current structure help or hinder the articulation of the judicial philosophy of the Court of Appeal judges. Or does the Constitution remain silent.

45. off topic i wish PM Mia Amor Mottley a speedy recovery.May god, s blessing be with your family and yourself.Stay strong as we bajans need you more now than ever.I gone.

46. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol on said:

John Troll Knox’s logic looks for outliers to make his arguments

God is mentioned once in preamble and 6 times in oaths.

God has a Big lingam, (Sanskrit: “sign” or “distinguishing symbol”) which physically symbolizes the male and the female reproductive organs in a state of bliss

God is used for swearing in Oaths and can be omitted in affirmations instead

Breaking oaths means facing God, but Politicians must be Unbelievers as they often break their oaths.

Armor of the Goddess: Devi Kavacham Guided Meditation (Become Fearless)

47. Why doesn’t John Knox go and search “electoral college” in the US Constitution and see what he finds?!

FAKE electors are the words for today, spoken from the mouths of numerous Trump staffers.

Last week’s word was “BULLSHIT” spoken straight from the horse’s mouth of Trump loyalist Bill Barr, who finally found some stinky water, he could not be led to drink.

I wonder if John Knox saw him rear up and NEIGH at the mention of the “2000 mules”.

More like The Three JACKASSES – our own Looney Tunes Trio of BU who drank what Bill Barr did not drink!

John Knox should stop flogging (or dry humping) the DEAD HORSE of a few “ambiguous” grammatical interpretations in our Constitution and quit making an ASS of himself!

Just a few equinine thoughts in yuh donkey for today!

48. “Sri Lankan economy has ‘COLLAPSED,’ unable to buy oil – PM Ranil Wickremesinghe”

one collapse Pacha…..the beginning..

49. Only a complete idiot would believe Biden is a legitimate president.

I could understand cheating to get a good president but cheating to get Biden was completely idiotic.

It’s going to come out and Biden’s incompetence will make it alot worser for the cheaters.

50. @Mr Blogmaster It is remarkable that fanatics of ALL types resort to the SAME personal attacks when basic facts of evidence completely belie their assertions…

It happens when facts dismiss the Russian leader and his contrived war and also when the carefully developed absurdities made by the former US leader are shown to be patently illegal and untrue.

As one essayist noted, the Jan 6th US attack “was the manifestation of the underlying disease of misinformation, and the hearings help demonstrate how sick the nation has become.”

These various multiple falsehoods by the rabid fans also show how sick we as citizens always were … as our body and soul were very susceptible to this disease.

And of course the massive problem is that no amount of vaccines or other corrective intervention can now get the ‘body politic’ back to health and reason!

• Can get back to the subject matter? Any of you with so much to say have a contribution to make about enhancing the Constitution?

51. @Donna, I don’t want to take the blog off it’s local moorings but your earlier 4:44 AM note strikes a cord … of people making ASSES of themselves.

The remarkable aspect of the hearings thus far is the extent to which a very comprehensive illegal usurpation of the US electoral process was organized by the sitting US president and despite the definitive remarks from his Attorney General that the man was ‘detached from reality’, or from White House counsel that the legal theories re ‘fake electors’ were completely unconstitutional and thus illegal there is absolutely no clear indication that this man Trump is being investigated for a crime against his nation!

If his very direct action then and his continued insistence now despite all the losing court cases and other evidence is not a clear indication of a criminal mental state then what the hell is!!!

But just as remarkable … the entire leadership of the Republican Senate and of course the House have accepted this treasonous behavior in order to enjoy political power and thus in short are willing to sit with lit cigar in hand atop the combustible power keg of this man’s narcissistic selfishness and pretend (rather, hope foolishly) they can contain the impending explosion!

He must be indicted in Georgia … the US cannot be allowed to play ‘electoral good guy’ around the world and yet have a former leader deliberately and continually usurping the basics of democracy. That’s BS!

Sadly, we too are adopting the very same remarkable mental lapses and playing to the whims of our own narcissistic leader and just as evident we have many local @John Fellows who readily play the ‘expert’ John Eastman role to support lies and dishonesty !

52. @Mr Blogmaster, in my lifetime this is the second (actually third) iteration of a Constitution Review … in a nation just over 50 years old! What pray tell can we REVIEW that will so decisively ENHANCE our Constitution brother, other than how best we can wastefully expend tax revenue

I distinctly recall Chairman Forde and fellow members going far and wide across BIm and to Bajans overseas to get ideas in order to craft a set of updated principles for a new constitution … WHAT exactly is this new dispensation expected to originate that will invigorate and ENHANCE our governance principles, sir???

I referenced the narcissistic US leadership and compared it to our woes because at the core it’s the same absurd political games of appeasement and providing ‘make-work’ income for the select few…. As @Vincent asked earlier with a bit a facetious temperament: What is the remit of the CRC?

But to answer your question directly and specifically re: What “contribution to make about enhancing the Constitution.’

‘COMMISSIONS or POLICY REVIEW committees which are mandated to seek extensive input from Barbadians via all available public methods that shall be comprised of no more then THREE eminent individuals and a fourth member designated as Commission secretary.’ … That’s MY contribution.

It is an ABSURD boondoggle of uproarious proportions that less than 35 years after an extensive review document was produced that we are here debating who would be best suited to sit and ‘FULMINATE’ endlessly about how a clause should be phrased or whether LGBT issues should be included or how the word “God” will be included ALTHOUGH all of that will be ‘FULMINATED’ in several public gatherings over the next year or so.! BS, total BS.

The chairman and two others and a secretary (and a few staff) reduces the BS expenditure of all these unnecessary commissioners and is all that’s needed to review prior docs, collate new data from public meetings, papers submitted by interest group and all the other public input that will be received and then COMPLETE a report….. WHICH will then be submitted to parliament for possibly FURTHER comment.

I am too old and much too cynical to look at all the various manure spread across the political sphere and smell anything but fragrant cow dung … some is fresh and obviously fragrant ; some dry and quite organically agreeable actually … but all is still BS!

53. The constitution needs little or no enhancement . It needs to be enforced in spirit and in deed. It is in the implementation that we have the deficit. We have a tendency to want to tamper with it for apparently short term political reasons. That sets dangerous precedents.

• @Vincent

DIGNITY IS NOT NEGOTIABLE

One morning at a
      Law College, when a new teacher for “Introduction to Rights” entered the classroom, the first thing he did was to ask the name of a student who was seated on the first bench: “What is your name?”

“My name is Juan, Sir.”

“Leave the classroom and I don’t want to ever see you in my class ever!” screamed the unpleasant teacher.

Juan was bewildered. When he got hold of his senses, he got up quickly, collected his belongings and left the classroom.

All were scared and angry; however nobody spoke anything.

“Well, let’s start the class,” said the new teacher. “What purpose do the enacted laws serve?”

We were afraid, but slowly gained confidence and we began to answer his questions.

“So that there is order in our society.”

“No!” the teacher shouted.

“So that people pay for their wrong actions?”

“No! Doesn’t anybody here have enough brains to know the answer to this question?!” asked the teacher, sarcastically.

“So that there is justice,” said a girl timidly.

“At last! One person who is not a complete moron! That’s correct…. so that there is justice. And now, what is the use of justice?”

All of us were extremely uneasy with his rude attitude. However, we continued trying to answer….

“To safeguard human rights.”

“Well, what more?” asked the teacher.

“To differentiate right from wrong and to reward the good.”

“Ok, that’s not bad. However, answer this question: Did I act correctly when expelling Juan from the classroom?”

All were quiet, nobody answered.

“I want a decisive and unanimous answer!” he shouted.

“No!” we all replied in unison.

“Then could you say I committed an injustice?”

“Yes!”

Then his voice softened and he asked, “And why did nobody do anything in that respect? So why do we need rules and laws if we don’t have the necessary will to practice them? Each one of you has an obligation to do something when you witness an injustice. ALL of you! Do not stay quiet, never again! Go and call Juan,” he said staring at me.

On that day, I received the most practical lesson in my course of Law.

When we don’t defend our rights, we lose our dignity, and dignity is not negotiable.“

54. The Constitution was proven to have a flaw when BLP thrashed DLP 30 nuffing
    and the Parliament and Supreme Court could not process the empty data set as opposition and got stuck in a loop
    a youthman was selected to stand as a Senator in Supreme Court which was rejected by the old farts in office
    a change in Constitution could be tabled by the same youthman to accommodate a seat for the next generation

55. It is not “puerile” if you think promoting talents of young ones is important
    dennis brown started his singing career at nine
    delroy wilson stated at thirteen
    average age was 19 in vietnam war
    you can dispute this if you desire

56. DavidJune 22, 2022 10:45 AM

Can get back to the subject matter? Any of you with so much to say have a contribution to make about enhancing the Constitution?

If big able lawyers cannot figure out that there must be an opposition for there to be a parliament and proceed regardless to form a parliament and commit our country to needless expenditure, what is the point of having any constitution at all?

57. @ David BU at 2:31 PM

I have a difficulty connecting your anecdote with the moot that the constitution needs enhancement. What has the parable on ‘negotiating dignity” has to do with the review/ enhancement of the Barbados Constitution? I ask again. : Where has the constitution failed in ensuring our democratic system of governance?
    Is it that we are not agreed as to what constitute democracy?

58. Vincent CodringtonJune 22, 2022 4:18 PM

@ David BU at 2:31 PM

I have a difficulty connecting your anecdote with the moot that the constitution needs enhancement. What has the parable on ‘negotiating dignity” has to do with the review/ enhancement of the Barbados Constitution? I ask again. : Where has the constitution failed in ensuring our democratic system of governance?
    Is it that we are not agreed as to what constitute democracy?

Can the word “dignity” be found within the Constitution?

59. Now, therefore, the people of Barbados
    (a) proclaim that they are a sovereign nation founded upon
    principles that acknowledge the supremacy of God, the
    dignity of the human person, their unshakeable faith in
    fundamental human rights and freedoms and the position of
    the family in a society of free men and free institutions;

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The people of Barbados acknowledge the supremacy of God.

So, the Constitution does not apply to anyone who does not acknowledge the supremacy of God.

How many on the panel acknowledge the supremacy of God?

That’s really the acid test!!

60. A nation cannot acknowledge the supremacy of God, it is an individual mindset and belief.
    A nation and it’s individuals cannot discriminate against race, creed, sex or sexual orientation.
    This primitive nonsense will be struck out.

61. That’s why it is the people of Barbados with which the Constitution begins.

If you are one of the people who happen to be in Barbados or outside who does not acknowledge the Supremacy of God, then the Constitution does not apply to you.

You can therefore keep quiet tour a** quiet and leave those people who do recognise the supremacy of God to benefit from the Constitution.

62. Those who cannot time travel may not get this.
    The past is what didn’t kill you.
    The future definitely will.
    The present is the only thing that matters.

63. “If you are one of the people who happen to be in Barbados or outside who does not acknowledge the Supremacy of God, then the Constitution does not apply to you.”

the constitution is not worth paper it is written on with idiots like you
    the constitution is for all of barbados’ citizens
    if you feel your religion is threatened by some other peoples beliefs then it cannot be much of a religion

64. So what you are saying is the Constitution should be rewritten to apply to the “people of Barbados who do and do not recognize the sovereignty of God”

You should let the panel know that the wording needs to be more inclusive.

Personally, I really don’t see the need for a change and would oppose the suggestion.

It has worked perfectly well all this time.

65. Your God is up in the sky and is a figment of your imagination, the concept was handed down to people who were carried away from Africa to be slaves by criminals who said negroes were sub-human animals in the biggest crime in history of humankind.

66. If there is no God in the Constitution would that mean there is no God
    if there was no God mentioned would that mean that there was no valid Constitution

Jah

No White God / Sizzla

I have no white god
    Don’t teach me anything wrong
    Could u white god
    Save me from white man oppression
    I have no white god
    Is just ah blackness i ah
    If u white god ah bless u
    Him no bless sizzla
    [Repeat once]

i want what is rightfully mine
    so me nah stay mute
    your system is design
    to distract me from d truth
    but it will come to pass
    and known unto d youths
    in d process of time
    we will know d truth
    u give we white god to praise his slavery
    d doctrine——— in d black community
    d blackness i have u try to shield with fantasy
    but we nah go make u destroy d love with luxury
    that’s why
    have to touch home
    i have no place in babylon
    as i go dey make me victim———
    oh god i won’t be conqured in this region
    oh yes i have to stand and go strong

i have no white god
    don’t teach me anything wrong
    could u white god
    save me from white man oppression
    i have no white god
    is just ah blackness i ah
    if u white god ah bless u
    him no bless sizzla
    [Repeat once]

oo me face — with anger
    cause that no right
    how could all things
    good and valuable must be white
    what about d black—–d most in life
    u and u white supremacy
    waan trick me as u like
    u change d version of d bible
    who u ah trick
    memba all who do evil
    won’t go unpunish
    bear u iniquity u have no wisdom nor witt
    all evilous people shall sink inna ah pit

i have no white god
    could u white god
    i have no white god
    him no bless sizzla
    [Repeat once]

cause when i n i ah trodd
    is like moses with d rodd
    with one strong—– invole mighty father god
    he’s d only second party that sizzla have
    fi guide me tru d darkness
    where d heathen dodge
    there wasn’t any doubt
    but d voice was made to shout
    behold jah jah youth
    accomplish d route

i have no white god
    could u white god
    i have no white god
    him no bless sizzla
    [Repeat once]

67. supremacy of God ..
    (not sovereignty of God)

A Brave New World
    Barbadians should acknowledge the divine soul or spirit within themselves

68. A sovereign reigns supreme.

Just another way of putting it.

You will notice that the Constitution of Barbados applies not only to people who acknowledge the supremacy/sovereignty of God.

Those people also acknowledge the dignity of the human person, have an unshakeable faith in fundamental human rights and freedoms and recognize the position of the family in a society of free men and free institutions

So if you don’t acknowledge the supremacy of God, or don’t go in for the dignity of the human person and think nothing of family, then the Barbados Constitution is not for people in your pay grade.

69. over $256 million being borrowed from China.

“The Barbados Labour Party through its negotiating team has made sure that we not only protect Barbadians, but we also are able to work alongside people who have greater expertise than us to be able to help to rebuild and to restore our road infrastructure.

It will be executed by the Chinese company Complant which will employ some Chinese workers. However, Bradshaw said the labour split will be 80/20 in favour of Barbadians.

70. Anyone who would remove the preamble of the constitution is either:
    A Marxist
    or
    A Communist
    or
    A Fascist
    or
    A Socialist
    or
    Any combination of the above
    Or …………………..
    Operates at a pay grade way below that at which the people of Barbados operate …. just plain dumb.

71. “Supremacy” is a loaded word used for Better Ordering and Governing of Negroes
    a Slave Code

the Divine Spirit or Soul within
    is the freedom of a true spirituality

Man and Woman are their own Gods and Goddesses

72. Religions are opiates of the masses
    There are many white folks in AmeriKKKa hooked on smack
    There are no Trump Troll Boys in Republic of Barbados
    They should fuck off to Hell

Jah would never give the power to a baldhead
    Run come crucify the dread
    Time alone, oh, time will tell
    Think you’re in heaven but you’re living in hell

Misty In Roots
    System Own Dem, Babylon Control Dem

73. So, by definition, a Marxist would do away completely with the preamble

Enlightenment means the knowledge or wisdom, or awakened intellect, of a Buddha.

check out preamble jargon of the slave codes like a good boy
    https://www.ucl.ac.uk/lbs/media-new/pdfs/slavecodesanddevonmen.pdf

They were designed to oppress black people by a systemic negation of human rights.
    Within the laws, Africans are described as a heathenish brutish and an uncertain dangerous pride of people who needed harsher punishionary Laws for the benefit and good of the colonies.
    The law dealing with African offenders replaced the term ‘master’ with ‘Christian’.

The Fall of Babylon the Great

After these things I saw another angel coming down from heaven, having great authority, and the earth was illuminated with his glory. And he cried [a]mightily with a loud voice, saying, “Babylon the great is fallen, is fallen, and has become a dwelling place of demons, a prison for every foul spirit, and a cage for every unclean and hated bird! For all the nations have drunk of the wine of the wrath of her fornication, the kings of the earth have committed fornication with her, and the merchants of the earth have become rich through the abundance of her luxury.”

74. Talkin’, Rastaman Chant, The Wailers

Hear the words of the Rastaman say
    “Babylon, you throne gone down, gone down
    Babylon, you throne gone down”

Said I hear the words of the Iyaman say
    “Babylon, you throne gone down, gone down
    Babylon, you throne gone down”

And I hear the angel with the seven seals say
    “Babylon throne gone down, gone down
    Babylon throne gone down”

I say fly away home to Zion (fly away home)

One bright morning when my work is over
    Man will fly away home

Say one bright morning when my work is over
    Man will fly away home

75. Born Free, Splashing Dashing (The Lord’s Prayer)

Oh Lord, Why Lord/Prayer, Parliament, Hare Krishna, Ruth Copeland

Leave a comment, join the discussion.