Cost of Living Matter (2) – A Time to Remain Unborn

Some ‘insane’ Barbadians are asking the question again – is the standard of living we have become accustomed tosustainable. Is it sensible for us `a net importer and purchaser of foreign currency to promote and implement policies that guarantee we must BORROW billions in foreign and local dollars to fund the short fall not covered from taxes collected in the case of domestic and foreign earnings?

Many years ago, ironically at the tail end of the last economic boom which Barbados never recovered, former Prime Minister Owen Arthur warned Barbadians about dark clouds on the horizon and the urgent need to make adjustments. To be expected we continued to engage in immature partisan political ranting as the walls of our society cracked are now tumbling around us.

We are a tiny island with zilch natural resources having to depend mainly on the fickle invisible export of tourism to generate foreign exchange to pay for our conspicuous consumption habits. We continue to build oversized homes, purchase fossil burning expensive SUVs, travel to distant lands to fulfil manufactured aspirations , aspire to study at elite universities, select exotic foods from supermarket shelves, the benefits sold to us on foreign cable beamed into our homes 24/7. To any sensible and educated person the dinosauric economic model could not and does not sustain the level of expenditure we have to incur. There is a good reason why Barbados’ economy has been described as open and susceptible to what economists fondly refer to as exogenous shocks.

On top of the obvious challenge of managing a minuscule 6-8 billion dollar economy largely dependent on a fickle tourism product, there is sufficient evidence – see Auditor General Reports outlining a litany of public sector malfeasance (private sector is always complicit) AND corruption to conclude we make a challenging situation more difficult. With revelations coming out of the arrest of former government minister Donville Inniss et al, there is evidence a culture exist that feeds corrupt behaviour. Although not a unique circumstance to Barbados, Barbadians must hold ourselves accountable for the kind of country we want to build for our children.

Many in this space lived through the 2007/8 global crisis and the oil crisis of the 70s. It is evident from the experiences of the two episodes we have not learned enough to commit to implementing resilient ‘fit for purpose’ policies. WE have allowed ourselves to buy into the ‘good life’ of consumption fuelled by an economy built on beach ground. Even in the face of the obvious, we have to listen daily to bull pucky discussions designed to take us no where. Unfortunately with the multiplicity of agendas to satisfy, with social media a ready purveyor of the inane the blame culture has taken deep root.

It is 2022, according to establishment analysts were are on the precipice of another global recession, one that should it occur given our fragile open economy will again wreak havoc on the lives of Barbadians, decimating a debt ridden middleclass and moving the poverty line north. Our visionless leaders combined with a level of disengagement from Barbadians – who the blogmaster has always contended ceded entitlements under our democracy to the political class – will have to suffer again for it until we learn to do better. The reference to a people getting governments they deserve has been recorded countless times in this space.

To the immediate matter at hand summarised in the article shared by a BU family member:

Rising food prices are changing the way we eat and shop

Emily Peck

https://datawrapper.dwcdn.net/U5xvN/1/Data: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis; Chart: Thomas Oide/Axios Visuals

Skyrocketing food prices in the U.S. are changing the way Americans eat and grocery shop — they’re buying more store brands, and less costly meat and produce. Some are now just making do with less.

• Meanwhile, food manufacturers continue to “shrinkflate” — putting less potato chips or cereal in the bags and boxes that we buy.

Why it matters: This is inflation hitting home, contributing to the overall bummed-out mood of the nation.

• Once upon a time, grocery shopping mainly fell to women, but these days 92% of adults do it. That means most everyone’s noticed rising food prices — and many have adjusted in ways both minor and potentially devastating.

Driving the news: The cost of “food at home” is up 11.9% from last year, the largest increase since April 1979, according to the scorching hot inflation numbers released Friday. Nearly every category of food the government tracks saw accelerating price growth. The most inflationary categories, as highlighted in a note from JPMorgan on Friday:

• Egg prices up 32% year over year, thanks in part to a January bird flu outbreak that killed about 6% of commercial egg-laying chickens, as Axios’ Hope King explained last month.
  • Fats and oils were next on the list at 16.9%, partly due to the war in Ukraine, followed by poultry (16.6%) and milk (15.9%).

Unusual trend: The increases in prices for food at home are outpacing food-away-from-home, which is up *only* 7.4%.

• This is “historically unusual,”JP Morgan notes. The growth differential is the widest since 1974, they said.

State of play: For a good snapshot of how rising food prices are changing behavior, we checked the most recent Beige Book — where the 12 regional Federal Reserve banks report on economic conditions in their area (h/t Planet Money’s Indicator podcast on this one):

Read full article https://www.axios.com/2022/06/13/rising-food-prices-are-changing-the-way-we-eat-and-shop

451 thoughts on “Cost of Living Matter (2) – A Time to Remain Unborn

1. @David “We continue to build oversized homes, purchase fossil burning expensive SUVs, travel to distant lands to fulfil manufactured aspirations , aspire to study at elite universities, select exotic foods from supermarket shelves, the benefits sold to us on foreign cable beamed into our homes 24/7.”

But who is making us do these things?
    Modest home.
    Haven’t owned any kind of motor vehicle for 23 years.
    Exotic foods? What is exotic anyhow? I had breadfruit today and yesterday and will have it again tomorrow as my carbohydrate [some butternut squash, and some homegrown spinach and some chicken and I am good] Do you know that in climes in the far north breadfruit is an exotic? The breadfruit trees in my natal village are LADEN, LADEN, talk about breadfruits hanging low? These are so law than in about 6 weeks or so we will have to lay on the ground in order to pick them. They are literally touching the ground. Mangoes so plentiful I hardly know what to do with the surplus. The ackees will be read y in about 2 months [I checked the tree today] and then the dunks will be ready from October to about January, so will the avocadoes All exotic foods. I haven’t eaten a grape, strawberry, peach etc. literally in decades.

2. Visited many social media platforms and no one no one has stated that Dr. Ronnie Yearwood proposals were stated by govt firstly in an manner shape or form
    If it be that other economist has stated such doesn’t mean Dr. Yearwood have no right of stating or openly making comment or stance on such proposals
    The danger many is going to face when setting out to attack or trap Dr. Yearwood might be a danger of setting traps for the govts to fall into
    Dr. Yearwood is a well accomplished scholar and in setting out to bring govt to task would fully understand the course of action blp foot soldiers would take to keep present govt messages and policies in the forefront in spite of the pain and suffering the people are undergoing
    The proposals Dr. Year wood proposed were clear and concise set out to do exactly placing govt to fire
    Mia responds with a half as.ss response cunning in attitude and weak in action

3. NorthernObserver June 17, 2022 12:03 AM “But I am amused. When I first went to Cuba in 92, it was called Período Especial, Special Period. Both the US and Russia plus others have Special Forces, which undertake that which is neither spoken of, nor admitted. Now this war, and it’s a war, is called a Special Operation. It seems whenever we wish to avoid calling a spade, a spade, we call it Special?”

When I was at elementary school, latr 50’s early 60’s the children who were very slow learners were in classes called “Special”

4. Pingback: DLP on Political Warning | Barbados Underground

5. @Cuhdear Bajan,
    You used the term laden to explain the over abundance of exotic fruits such as breadfruit and mangoes when they are in season. It comes as a shocker when Barbadians from the diaspora visit your sun-kissed island and witness the tonnes of fallen fruit rotting away on the ground. The price of such foods are astronomical in western Europe. They are valued and are now recognised as super foods.

We often hear how monkeys are destroying food crops. Surely they cannot be responsible for your country men’s innate inability to pick low hanging fruit. They are indifferent towards planting something as simple as a fruit bearing tree. Yet, they delight in driving their car to there nearest local Massy’s to purchase overpriced inferior foreign sourced food. Is it any wander why your country is so heavily indebted.

6. Will the little slave fowl lorenzo STOP LYING…i rarely come on BU before 6 am like to day because i have such good news to share …. and gone before 7 or 8-pm EVERYDAY …LIAR…..were i on here 24hrs per day, i would have no time for my two sites..

“Is it any wander why your country is so heavily indebted.”

leave them, i recently injured myself planting a super food, and would do it again in a second…let them stay INDEBTED….they look good..

anyway, here are the good, better and BEST NEWS:

The good news is: the traditional TRAITOR Slaves are not invited, welcomed or involved in any movement side by side with the Afrikan minded….music to my ears…no one is seeking to DISRUPT their comfort zones to inhale their poisons. Stay in ya lanes…

The better news is: information is only distributed on Afrikan CENTRED educational sites…and ya done know many of them are MULTILINGUAL, so don’t waste ya time…….BUs Fowl Blog was never such and will moderae heavily anyway….so there goes information sharing….what a ting…

The BEST NEWS IS: any traitors seeking to infiltrate or spy to disrupt and sabotage to strengthen the Slave system, if they make it past LANGUAGE BARRIERS, which is doubtful…opens up themselves for HUNTING…Stay in ya lanes. This is not the 1930s, ya will meet those with my mindset and some even more BRUTAL…can’t say ya did not know, am doing a public service, screw with this and i can only wish you good luck cause ya don’t even want to FACE ME…..

7. *and will moderae heavily anyway

“When I was at elementary school, latr 50’s early 60’s the children who were very slow learners were in classes called “Special”

still called special in progressive countries….special needs…

“Will not happen.Barbados has passed all of its IMF test to date ”

this is all the little 11 plus Slaves live for….

.TLSN…ya should no longer have to ask HOW THEY GOT WHERE THEY ARE…or why that’s where they will STAY….

“someone who previously posted anonymously to demonize people such as Peter Harris”

saw Peter Harris’ name while scrolling and WHAT DO YOU THINK CALLING HIS NAME WILL GET YOU…other than NOTHING….i already GOT PAID…it was not my choice to be anonymous on an anonymous blog…..but it was MY CHOICE TO END IT…

• Some of you are intent of allowing every blog to devolve into vacuous BS. What some of you should do is add the time it takes to craft your many empty comments and multiple by time of dayxweekxmonthxyear. The result is the time in your lifes gone forever. Tell us what credibility anyone of you can have calling for change if all you do is what you do. Get a rh life!

8. “In circumstances where there are no low-hanging fruit. A largely feckless population. A misleadership class centered on that class’s interests. And tectonic shifts rocking the earth but largely ignored by the political-,managerial elites.”

The Afrikan minded WILL abandon it as preordained and let the Slaves HAPPILY, LOYALLY and PROUDLY collapse with it….i got me a BAD GIRL CAMERA for the occasion…just know when to jump out of the way…give them room…

“This was the period when you, Bush Tea and Piece more or less took flight.”

good catch….although Pacha takes sabbaticals, Piece may have health issue, and not sure why Bushman had to go, but their obscene certainly unmasked what the blog was about….along with other unforeseen inputs.

*and will MODERATE heavily anyway

9. *Piece may have health issues…

*but their ABSENCE certainly unmasked what the blog was about….along with other unforeseen inputs.

TLSN…..thanks for that link…dude on the left looks like a young Evander Holyfield..

nice to finally understand that i have not wasted a minute of my time on any site at any time….ah wonder who has….never mind, not worth even thinking about..

10. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol on said:

Separating Wheat from Chaff.
    There are good people and bad people.
    There are positive people and negative people.

Twisted Politics of Twisted Soundbites By Insincere Weak Heart Snakes in Grass
    Bad and negative people will take good and positive concepts and corrupt them.

A Black Nationalist Racist Populist narrative is evil in same way as a White Nationalist Racist Populist narrative.

Can We Talk (Radio Edit)

Complicated (Richard Earnshaw Remixes) (Richard Earnshaw Revision)

11. Salemite the Mighty Warner I clearly live rent free in your peabrain. No sane person on BU is jealous of, concerned by or interested in you. The ones who lick you, do so because you serve their purpose. They all know you’re a stranger to the truth..
    This TLSN sounds very much like Hal Austin. But I’d be shocked if the champion of “using your real name” is now a mere moniker.🤣🤣🤣🤣

12. “Some of you are intent of allowing every blog to devolve into vacuous BS.”

And I am here to call it out, even if I appear petty. Accounts for over 30% of posts on most threads, now accused of being a blog hog trying to say-‘I am.hardly here before 6am, so I don’t hog the blog’. A scam and scammer.🤣🤣🤣

13. But before I go, my sour sop tree is laden. The mango tree was recently laden. Waiting for the coconuts to drop. Mango drink, sour sop punch, coconut punch.

And when I do drink alcohol it is rum punch or wine from local fruit.

Had soup made from local ground provisions, cousin reared chicken and local cassava dumplings yesterday.

Breadfruit in the freezer waiting to make cou cou. A locally caught “dolphin” in my cousin’s freezer waiting to accompany it.

And it’s out to the kitchen garden to reap!

P.S. Drove a modest, energy efficient car for years. Gave it up when I retired early.

House was considered big in 1982. Now modest.

And globe trotting was never my thing.

And yet…….

14. TLSN…quite the broadcast, shows the beastly two-facedness of dead criminals and the dangerous indoctrination that clouds the judgement of those who regurgitate the poisons long after they are dead and gone. and somehow neglect to mention in detail, their many criminal acts..

.The fact that an earth trapped demon after kidnapping, selling, torturing people and killing Afrikanity in the worlds original indigenous is heralded by the descendants of the enslaved as some progressive, is a crime in and of itself. ..and shows how evil lives on unless destroyed permanently, instead of talking shite about making a slave master a national hero, everything touched by such animals should be STRIPPED AND BURNT……

no religions DERIVED from 300-400 years of enslavement, horrible mistreatment and THEFTS of labor…should EVER be followed or PRACTICED….the “bad effect” will continue unless IT’S ALL ABANDONED by the Afrikan conscious.

Young people should MOVE AWAY FROM IT ALL PERMANENTLY…ya done know some stage performer(s) regurgitating shite from the negro slave bible will NEVER IMPRESS ME..

..the stage performers turned me right off..but some of the people interviewed were really on point and know that something is VERY WRONG…and they saw the arrogant impositions and now it’s time to SHED IT…kill it….let the Slaves live in it generationally and permanently….they will all die out soon enuff, and only then will everything be set STRAIGHT.

15. @ African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved,
    I tuned into the programme late with ten minutes left. I will listen to it later on when I have finished all my daily tasks.

16. TLSN..yes, it’s worth a listen, found some nuggets in it..

17. Barbadians are being warned to prepare for some “tough times” ahead as commodity prices continue to soar, even as measures are implemented to stave off any further major fallout.

• @Hants

Barbadians are an intelligent people, why would we have to be reminded? This is what the blogmaster always refer to regarding the importance of citizen awareness and advocacy.

18. Word on the ground says that some of the govt houses being built are so small that more than one person occupying at the same time have to be the size of a twig to pass side by side
    Govt promised houses but some seems to be slave hut sizes
    Also the fairchild street 2×4 tenantry stalls after four and half years not completed also omitted from these stalls are attached bathrooms
    Such addition is said to be outside a stationary placement for those who are given permission to ply trade in the stalls
    Seems as if no proper thought of weather conditions were taken into consideration when those stalls were being built
    Priorities seems to be a missing link in this govt thinking process
    Advisors consultants and committees yet nothing done right

19. Since it’s the IMF doing the “reminding” and wunnah already owe them close to one BILLION DOLLARS….and they and ALL OF US…know those WHO have to propensity to have light fingers….aka TIEF WHAT IS NOT THEIRS….

me thinks the “reminder” comes in handy..

20. know those WHO have the propensity to have light fingers….aka TIEF WHAT IS NOT THEIRS….by the BILLIONS OF DOLLARS.

21. David,

I saw yesterday an article quoting some Brits as starting to grow their own food, some skipping meals and some eating smaller meals.

I feel we should forget the political mouthings and do it ourselves. I have started to conserve more and told my son to do the same. I can pay my bills in BDS but the country pays in USD.

Pots, pans and old bathtubs should be full of dirt in every backyard space. The idea is not necessarily to grow all one’s food but to make up the difference due to inflation.

We Bajans need to size down, change our eating habits, get up off the couch, turn off the tv and hit the road for exercise. Carpooling and roundtripping work well also. I always practised one all encompassing trip to do my errands. Still do.

There is much that we can do. Better habits we can cultivate that will serve us well physically and financially AND serve the country as well.

Or we could sit and wait on politicians, gnashing teeth and wailing all the while.

I feel only those who have no room for down sizing should be helped.

• @Donna

Conceptually there is nothing wrong with your suggestion, has the horse left the gate as far as forcing the attitudinal change required? We have another crisis in the horizon to force the change. Instead we can predict what our talking heads will say- government must dish out handouts?

22. Can’t remember seeing this news on BU.

“it happens everywhere”, the BU mantra…does not mean you sit and take it…people are RESISTING and PROTESTING everywhere…we know ya never had any real trade unions on the island in recent times, say 40 years, still don’t mean you sit and accept..

“Rising cost of living sparks massive protests in UK and Ireland

Thousands of protesters marched in London on Saturday, accusing the government of failing to tackle the rapidly rising cost of living in the UK. Similar marches took place in multiple Irish cities, where citizens are facing the same struggles.

Demonstrators marched from Portland Place to Parliament Square in the British capital, where Trade Unions Congress (TUC) leader Frances O’Grady blamed decades of austerity policies for rising costs and wage stagnation.

“Prices are skyrocketing, yet boardroom bonuses are back to bumper levels,” she told the crowd. “Everyone who works for a living deserves to earn a decent living, but UK workers are suffering the longest and harshest squeeze on their earnings in modern history.”

23. Some of you are intent of allowing every blog to devolve into vacuous BS. What some of you should do is add the time it takes to craft your many empty comments and multiple by time of dayxweekxmonthxyear. The result is the time in your lifes gone forever. Tell us what credibility anyone of you can have calling for change if all you do is what you do. Get a rh life!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

IS THAT NOT THE JOB OF THE HIGH PAYING GOVERNMENT CONSULTANTS INCLUDING AVINASH PERSAUD AND CLYDE MASCOLL ETC.

WASN’T AWARE THAT BU A BLOG IS PAYING BLOGGERS FOR THEIR SUGGESTIONS OR RECOMMENDATIONS.

STEUPSE

24. @ David
    Example is better than precept. What sacrifices are those who lord over us making ?
    There is nothing in our political culture that gives the slightest evidence that there is any example of sacrifice.
    You can call for all the citizens to do this and that. We have a culture that exploits poverty and constantly reduces the poor and most vulnerable to mendicancy.
    Let’s be honest here and cut out the BS and nonsense.
    Example is always better than precept but it all comes down to bashing those who speak the truth and elevating those , who come here giving people that are barely surviving a lot of pie in the sky advice.
    It simply will not work until the people believe and see that the leadership both public and private are prepared to lead by example.
    Until then, like it or lump it we are all being screwed.

25. Pots, pans and old bathtubs should be full of dirt in every backyard space. The idea is not necessarily to grow all one’s food

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

GOOD IDEA

ADD OLD TYRES THAT CAN BE PAINTED ON THE OUTSIDE FOR DECORATION

26. Waru

How hast the mighty UK so fallen? That there could have elected a clear asshole like Boris Johnson and many more before him including the war criminal Tony Blair who has made tens of millions in graft since leaving office.

Then yuh got problems in Scotland, Ireland and Brexit means nothing but grief as business as usual is the main.

The dysfunction in both the Labour Party and the Conservatives cannot rid themselves of Bojo, regardless of his many crimes, and Starmer is as empty a suit as any in Marx & Spencer.

Absent Angela Merkel, Xi and Putin we seem to have all assholes running the world. Even Merkel was replaced by an obvious ass, a Sargent Scholz. And once these kakistocrats set in we should expect unending political decadence.

Unfortunately, Barbados is as bad as it gets, as well.

We see violence coming in Western capitals and possibly the balkanization of some states, especially the USA, given recent economic history, the elevation of massive wealth distortions, the centrality of the war economy and Western decentering.

Maybe Bushie is right. Spiritual forces are at work😇

27. nearly forgot to mention….brought to my attention that the greedy pigs in the minority crimeunity have pushed out ALL the small chicken farmers to have one PIG monopolizing the chicken industry to supply hotels, restaurants and other business places.the names of exactly WHO did it is well knows…..

.the farmers are CRYING OUT…maybe BU can represent them..

ah wonder which sellout took a bribe to allow that in these times..

28. @ David
    This is not about Mottley; it’s about a pervasive political and economic culture that refuses to address serious socio economic inequalities,
    Until we as a collective admit and swiftly move to correct this state of affairs, it matters not who sits in Illaro or who holds the majority in parliament.
    We are heading no where very fast. This is not time for sweeping serious matters under the carpet.
    We need to change the narrative and it will not be achieved if we keep going backwards trying to recreate a Barbados / Caribbean that no longer exists.
    Sometimes, it seems that we relish being stuck in mud.

29. *the names of exactly WHO did it is well known…think they are so special thieves and crooks..

“How hast the mighty UK so fallen? That there could have elected a clear asshole like Boris Johnson and many more before him including the war criminal Tony Blair who has made tens of millions in graft since leaving office.”

and cousin Boris is such a star in my first book too….these dudes are sketchy, have been for hundreds of years, what else can we expect….except hundreds more years of same..

“the Conservatives cannot rid themselves of Bojo,”

and he got NO PLANS TO GO ANYWHERE except where he is…lol

Scotland is trying to get independent of UK, they have no plans to go down with SSUK ship..

“Absent Angela Merkel, Xi and Putin we seem to have all assholes running the world. ”

those three seem to get things done..,,another sketchy clown took over from Merkel who seemed to at least have commonsense..

“And once these kakistocrats set in we should expect unending political decadence.

Unfortunately, Barbados is as bad as it gets, as well.”

when ya want to copy kaka-istocracy….dah is wah happen…ya are nothing but a FAILURE..

some have not been taking this seriously, to their own detriment….but it seems there will be gnashing of teeth for many…they are however ON THEIR OWN..

“WASN’T AWARE THAT BU A BLOG IS PAYING BLOGGERS FOR THEIR SUGGESTIONS OR RECOMMENDATIONS.

STEUPSE”

pay them hundreds of thousands of tax dollars a year to talk shite and do very little to NOTHING, then they get their best ideas from a fowl blog for free…..right, we are so over that…but they can continue waiting…PLT can tell anyone about all of them..

30. Freedom for Trots / Jah Guide
    When Capitalism FAILs as it did in 2008 and was propped up so that the monster could live with less rights, pay and job security for its workers leading to more exploitation and money in the pocket for smaller percentage of Global businesses, then countries like Russia, China and Cuba with socialist Governments may fare better.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l27COH_FiFQ

31. “Maybe Bushie is right. Spiritual forces are at work😇”

it is, it is, it is…the things being seen elsewhere are phenomenal….

Willliam…you know you are wasting your breath right.

the reason why there are so many other forums to awake the people to realities and it’s working just fine…we don’t even need to post some things to my sites or to this site to get it done….we can reach everyone EVERYWHERE because we know how to…all across the region, diaspora and the earth.

..some people like to have something to complain about, the highlight of their day, then blame it on the victims when the criminal politicians commit their worse crimes…but they have boxed in themselves…so let’s see what they are made of…IN GETTING OUT.

32. March Down Babylon, Dub, Version, The Chosen Brothers
    I know more about UK and Johnson, who is such a repugnant and wicked liar, that there is no reason to have any interest in politics. Just turn it off.

33. This is how capitalism works.

I am all for marching but I need to know why and for what.

The present inflation was caused how? What can be done about it?

Is this march about the present inflation or is it about the nasty capitalist system?

Are they protesting income inequality or thr current inflation?

34. Says Donna, as she sips a long cold glass of local coconut water, not imported “juice” from Chefette.

Bajan chicken dun parboil an’ ready fuh de grill pan.

Grilled potatoes (my one concession to English tastes) coleslaw, tossed salad okras and beets, most locally grown, some right here in my yard.

It en dah hard. And actually, it is much harder for me to eat tasteless, imported food.

Rainy season soon come! Grow some veg in a few old buckets, nuh! Sheep dung free!

35. We the people are many more than the hotel guests any day of the week. My chicken comes from my cousin down de hill. They cannot force me to buy from elsewhere.

Yuh mean sweet potato pie, breadfruit pie an’ yam pie in muh belly!

“Pie in de sky” advice that served our foreparents very well.

Last time I checked FOOD was second only to water for survival. The barely surviving need FOOD first.

I do not need a politician’s example. Don’t know when last I saw a politician.

Thank Cynthia Wilson, Cameta, Marion, my grandparents, parents, Cuhdear Bajan and even Dame Bajans.

Wuh polititian wuh! I have not learnt ONE THING from a politician EVER!

Too besides, yuh gun march pun an empty big belly????

36. “that there is no reason to have any interest in politics. Just turn it off.”

saw an article last night where people across the bigger countries are just turning away from traditional media…particularly the lying dangerous corrupt politics, AND THE EVER LYING POLITICIANS…

they said they can’t take it anymore and shutting off EVERYTHING. tv, devices, stopped purchasing news rags……they know what they want to read and LEARN…and the shite people got as a steady diet for the last 100 years…is not it…they are moving on to better….thanks to the information highway…

37. “EU warned of years of high gas prices ahead – Russia’s frmr energy minister

Gas prices in the EU will remain high for several more years, Russia’s vice-premier and former energy minister, Aleksandr Novak said on Friday, warning of serious problems across Europe when the autumn-winter period starts.”

Pacha….let the fly by nighters in Barbados continue LYING to the people about renewable energy……when, the very first thing ya gotta be able to afford is the astronomical rise in oil and gas prices to DRIVE renewable energy, and if ya can’t, continuing to tell people ya can is just ANOTHER LIE..

winter is months away and people are worried about heating their homes etc, luckily there is no such worry in our region of the Americas….but ya still gotta have TONS OF MONEY to buy oil and gas…to do anything…

38. @ Pacha
    Maybe Bushie is right. Spiritual forces are at work
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Very soon, even you will see EXACTLY how right Bushie is…..

39. David,

I hear these days about “leading from the front” (lol) but I think we the people may need to “lead from the back”.

Backing back to de future! Our foreparents drank mauby from the mauby woman, walked nuff and rode bicycle, raised livestock, grew produce and ate it. Got their eggs straight from under the fowl. Washed clothes on a jucking board.

Then they sent us to schools where we learnt to be fools.

Now we look to those of the political persuasion for pie that we know could only be found in the sky when we die, by and by (if one is of that religious persuasion).

And for those of another persuasion, until Mother Earth rids herself of those who would continue to persecute her, a return to standpipe school is the only temporary reprieve.

It is change or die! Sooner rather than later.

40. This does not absolve our government of its duty to those who pay them. But who got time to wait pun dem?

It is like waiting for a Transport Board bus under Freundel Stuart.

My son’s schoolmate and our cousin used to make him walk. She said they would get home before the bus came. Sometimes they did.

And it was far less frustrating! Doing whatever little you can within your power is recommended by psychologists over doing nothing. It is apparently better for one’s mental health.

Go figure!

41. Is there not a small problem with everyone rushing to ‘plant kitchen gardens’ now?
    Is it not a bit more challenging than just ‘juking’ a seedling in some dirt and waiting to reap? slugs, birds, pests, thieves, hot sun, work….

Boss, Bushie started this shiite about 15 years ago and (now) ’simple things such as tomatoes and celery took a GOOD while (and many tries) to get ‘right’.
    People tend to UNDERRATE the expertise needed to be a successful farmer and even just a kitchen garden hobbyist … but wunna gwine find out …LOL

42. Bushman…some of us have been practicing for YEARS….GOT IT DOWN PAT…

i got yam, dashene, eddoes….sorrel trees rocking….parsley and scallion shot up…ochras will be planted shortly…some areas, people KNOW…do not go there to tief anything….or else…and it’s not only some bad ass dogs ya gotta worry about…

43. Bushie

It was Pachamama who brought all these forces unknown to you to bear on this world long before you summoned the courage to.

Two things, they will destroy your White god forever.

Then there is always the general presumption in your writings that you somehow have some moral or spiritual superiority over Pacha. How can that be when you worship the very White demons currently ruling the world and responsible for all wickedness. By following their book for example. Knowing nothing more and don’t want to either

But the forces fashioning a new world will not have anything to do with the White devils whose lyed Bible you still harken unto we can assure you.

44. LOL @ pacha
    One thing about you… when you make up your mind that it is night, the sun could burn off your donkey, …and you will STILL insist that it is night…and dark too…
    This ‘white God’ of your imagination that seems to dominate your very being, is your burden buddy – not stinking Bushiy’s

Unlike you, Bushie did not go looking for ANY God,( the Bushman was a regular brass bowl, and hence not THAT smart) so Bushie did NOT discover any ‘white God’.
    The ‘Trinity God’ of the brass bowl church had LONG convinced the young bushman that most people did not think…

BUT THEN BUSHIE WAS ADOPTED….practically abducted…
    ,,,and ended up on BU with a wicked whacker… LOL

Boss, if the ‘white god’ had adopted the bushman, Mr Tea would have been parading around town as a Billionaire …NOT as a shiite bushman with a damn whacker….

And BTW…the forces that will fashion the new world are the IDENTICAL forces that CREATED the original….only now the CREATORS have prepared a corps of ‘bushmen’ to show all brass bowls how to run a proper ship…

45. Everyone is like……..what, these demons have been traitors cyclically for all this time……and got the goddamn nerve to believe they are getting away with this into another generation….oh reallly..

““The traitor of other races is generally confined to the mediocre or irresponsible individual, but unfortunately, the traitors among the negro race are generally to be found among the men placed higher in society, the fellows who call themselves leaders. The man who will compromise rights of his race can be classified in no other way than that of a traitor also.”

– Marcus Mosiah Garvey

46. Bushie
    Even if your narrative is right it has nothing to do with a stinking Bible which remains your center of being.

And Black man who is ignorant of his own ancestors, history, and has “adopted” the unspiritual cultural norms of somebody else has no chance of being what you claim. None!

If we are wrong then tell us what is your proper frame of reference and stop wid this raassssoul airy fairy braabowlery which talks a lot but says absolutely nothing.

47. I dun know that Donna and Cudhear will not starve. I also know they will continue to share with the less fortunate, as I do up here. Spent two and a half hours today cultivating weeding and watering. Picked nuff, nuff, callaloo. Having cookup rice with Bajan spinach from last year, carrots, garlic scapes and onions. In the toaster oven is half a duck being roasted.
    My Chinese mustard greens are ready and the leaves are as big as breadfruit leaves., My bok choi can be picked and my english potatoes are already flowering. The cranberry and romano beans are starting to climb the trellises but the sweet peas are slow.

In the allotment we have 400 gardens and there is a waiting list of over a hundred people waiting for a plot. Fact is, no one in the gardens is starving. Lots of the produce is given to the Food Bank, neighbours and friends. I have ginger, basil and a gogi berry growing in pots in the back next to the fence. In the front I have oregano in a pot. It is a weed so I have to keep it contained.

I used to send boxes to relatives but they told me not to send anymore that it is too expensive to get them. The brokers are fleecing them, then there are customs and a surcharge of $25 for the pleasure of receiving something. I refuse to send my hard earned $$$ to Barbados for personal reasons, so I hope they will start planting and dirty their hands like I do.

48. Pacha….i fell into a treasure trove..

but re the ESCALATING crash…i take it that the know it alls…..HAVE NO CLUE WHAT TO DO……trapped themselves in a corner…and don’t know HOW TO GET OUT….wuhloss…

what i can tell them is they better permanently PUT AWAY that digital currency or crypto whichever scam they been trying to douse evabody in for the last 4 or 5 years cause not a fella int want anything to do with or paying attention to them nor it….they are shit outta luck, again….lawd..

all kinda ting going on…and not a fella cahn remember dem or what they look like…..murdahhh!!

“Bitcoin tumbles to 18-month low – crypto coin’s market capitalization’s shed over 70% since all-time high last November

The world’s top cryptocurrency, Bitcoin, has dropped below the $20,000 threshold for the first time since December 2020, trading data shows.

The coin had plunged around 13.7% over a 24-hour period as of Saturday afternoon to a low of $17,593, its weakest level in 18 months. It did then manage to regain some of the losses, pulling back up to $18,556. It has recovered slightly more on Sunday, trading in the green at $19,351 at around 12:00 GMT, but analysts are skeptical about further gains.

“Breaking $20,000 shows you that confidence has collapsed for the crypto industry and that you’re seeing the latest stresses,” Edward Moya, senior market analyst at OANDA, told Reuters, adding that “even the loudest crypto cheerleaders from the big rally are now quiet.”

“BREAKING: Macron’s alliance set to lose majority in French parliament – projections”

“US oil reserves running low – stockpile forecast to dwindle to 40-year low by October (Bloomberg)

Washington has been actively selling from its Strategic Petroleum Reserve (SPR) over the past year to keep energy prices from rising even higher, Bloomberg reported on Friday, noting that the government can’t keep tapping the reserves forever.

According to the report, over the past year almost 115 million barrels were released into the market. Those sales have soared to a record high of nearly one million barrels per day since mid-May. At the current rate, the United States is selling more barrels from its reserve than the production of most medium-sized OPEC countries, such as Algeria or Angola.

The SPR contains two kinds of crude: medium-sour, which is the quality of crude pumped by Russia, most Middle Eastern countries and Venezuela, as well as light-sweet crude.”

49. Ahem! I speak from experience. All KITCHEN garden work can easily be completed before sun up or in the hour or so just before sundown, if one is so minded.

Pests can be handled if one is consistently keeping track of them. Eggs and worms can be seen and removed. I manage to grow flawless cabbage, chinese cabbage and kale without harsh pesticides. I grow my cabbage in pots in my verandah. Companion planting with natural repellants works. Some insects which prey on certain pests can also be encouraged to hang out and do their thing. There are homemade brews that also discourage pests. Lil blue soap, cayenne pepper and neem got my previously troublesome squash leaves looking purty enough. Blue soap to turn the table on the killer fungus, cayenne pepper to burn the greedy pests backsides and bitter neem extract for their “sweet tongue”.

The bending, stooping and other “exercises” are doing my body good. “Hard” and productive work is good for body, mind and soul. The early morning sunshine boosts the immune system with vitamin D.

From the “farm” to the table is tastier and more nutritious.

This novice is literally reaping the sweets with plenty to spare.

P.S. The madwoman had some mango tieves twelve years ago. One day de madwoman show she madness and she en miss one mango since.

The birds, monkeys and I understand eachother. I plant spinach and leave them to seed. The birds eat the seeds and leave my tomatoes and sweet peppers. alone. The mangoes, they eat the high ones and I eat the low ones.

The monkeys are only destructive if you chase them. If you leave them be, they eat some and leave some.

A gutterperk and loud threats of lassoing and the sheep and goats gone too. The grapevine works well. Who doesn’t like a madwoman’s tale?

No problems that are worse than having no money and having no food.

50. William…….maybe it’s time they PACK UP the pretense….🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

all dah pretening must be tiring…especially with what’s coming down the chute like the ACELA….

51. Oh shiite! It tek Bushie FIFTEEN YEARS?????? Not to conquer a kitchen garden! I started in 2020. My rasta cousin gave me a crash course. A few tips from Cuhdear, Dame Bajans and Dr. Lucas and Google and Youtube did the rest.

Now I can teach my rasta cousin a thing or too. Months ago, he wanted to pull up my tomato plant. I picked a tomato this morning. He thought my lettuce seedlings too scrawny to transplant. A few weeks later and he and I cannot manage to eat all.

Bushie must be into commercial farming. THAT obviously is much more difficult. Or else he en got as much sense as a country cunt.

Murdaaaaaah!

52. @ TLSN June 19, 2022 2:31 AM
    @Cuhdear Bajan,
    You used the term laden to explain the over abundance of exotic fruits such as breadfruit and mangoes when they are in season. It comes as a shocker when Barbadians from the diaspora visit your sun-kissed island and witness the tonnes of fallen fruit rotting away on the ground. The price of such foods are astronomical in western Europe. They are valued and are now recognised as super foods.

We often hear how monkeys are destroying food crops. Surely they cannot be responsible for your country men’s innate inability to pick low hanging fruit. They are indifferent towards planting something as simple as a fruit bearing tree. Yet, they delight in driving their car to there nearest local Massy’s to purchase overpriced inferior foreign sourced food. Is it any wander why your country is so heavily indebted.
    (Unquote).

A very factual and ‘bitingly critical’ contribution, there!

It’s really heart-rending to see the cost of those ‘exotic’ foods while Bajans back home allow such healthy products to go to waste.

Barbados, from observation, is the only country on this planet where well-drained arable land is left in bush and turned into dumping grounds for imported waste while the citizens import fruits and vegetables from Central America and coconut water in plastic containers from South East Asian countries.

Maybe the coming economic depression and pending war(s) will wake up the people to undergo another Bush(e) experiment.

If only Barbados can produce more people like Cuddear Bajan and Donna to help feed the nation and save the people from pending health crisis!

53. “Maybe the coming economic depression and pending war(s) will wake up the people to undergo another Bush(e) experiment.”

Miller……they had DECADES to get it right, but they follow and listen to their shallow LYING POLITICIANS who USURP plantation lands to grow food for THEMSELVES…….and telling the people SHITE bout a graduate in every household and a car in every garage surrounded by LAWN GRASS…which no one can eat…they like to pretend about first world and world class SHITE THAT ARE UNIMPORTANT…then they reduced themselves to punching above some UNSEEN WEIGHT……more SHITE….

they did this to themselves….listening to idiots in the cabinet…

there were people selling seedlings in supermarkets FOR YEARS…encouraging agricultural planting, they ridiculed the people, all types of nasty labels they put on them,……hope the clowns who did that STARVE…cause they cannot afford the salt poisoned imported garbage any longer…and the importers can’t afford to bring them in either…since a lot of the container ships are anchored on the other side of the world and can’t move…

54. Ah wonder how they are going to be world-class and first class when their world is in such a mess…and their stock is dropping lower and lower cause they LIVE OFF DEBT…

….i can’t STAND POLITICIANS and for a very good reason as we will see more and more…going forward as everything UNFOLDS…

The IMF MD warned them, they aint seen nothing yet….

55. This kitchen garden revolution has been bandied about going back to the 70s with people such as Carmeta Fraser, whose slogan was : Food comes first.
    It is nothing new .
    There was a time when raising stocks and kitchen gardens were the economic lifeblood of several families.
    However, the truth is that once we moved away from agriculture to tourism and the service industry economy , the attractiveness to anything remotely attached to small farming, livestock rearing apparently became less attractive.
    Barbadians are past masters at fooling ourselves. There are supermarkets selling fresh sugar cane juice throughout North America. Every single crop we produce is found everywhere in all major supermarkets and farmers markets.
    We cannot seriously hope to compete at this eleventh hour because we are literally going to have to start from scratch. There is nothing really in place to propel such an occurrence. However, attempts to get breadfruit as a major export crop is quite welcomed.
    The Prime Minister’s attempts to hitch what little is left of our agriculture to the Guyanese wagon is perhaps our only hope. It should be supported.
    The irony of all of this romanticism and wonderful nostalgia, is that many of the most productive kitchen gardens and livestock raring were done without running water attached to the homes.
    Today, according to Brasstacks callers, even if they have water, the bills are too high or the taps run quite sporadically.
    While we should all try to grow something and perhaps cut down a bill here and there, the simple truth is that we should not fool ourselves that it will now become a national past time.
    The hole in which we are in is not that easy to climb out of and the sad thing is that we are slowing but surely entering an era where those we entrust our country to are being let of the hook and the citizens are being blamed for a lack of leadership and vision.
    The political class is not protecting us but it looks as if we are to protect them.
    It will not work forever. Telling me to grow something is no problem but : what have you done for me lately. That is a reasonable response under the circumstances.
    Romanticism and nostalgia are like most drugs abuse them and they usually destroy you in the end. A permanent state of non-existent euphoria.

Peace

56. Whoever suggested that we should protect politicians????

I said we shouldn’t wait on them or we shall surely die!

Is it better to gnash teeth and wail while we wait to die?

Well, not Donna! Don’t know what cane juice and breadfruit in overseas markets has to do with kitchen gardens. The idea is not to sell to America and England. The idea is to reduce our food bill.

There is much for which we can blame politicians but there is also much for which we can blame ourselves. This is what right-wingers say is the outcome of “socialism”. We become too dependent on government.

So William can pretend that we don’t get on like fools wanting to drink champagne on mauby pockets but I know otherwise.

William can pretend that we don’t eat bare Chefette shite while sitting our fat asses for hours in front of 65 inch tvs bought on hire purchase.

But Donna knows otherwise.

If people cannot buy food and don’t want to grow any, let them talk shite about this idea of kitchen gardens going back to the 70s and watch Donna eat.

57. @ Donna
    We all interpret socio economic problems and issues differently. There is nostalgia, romanticism and reality in all of us.
    My position is that there is a reason people are eating Cheffette and like it or not, we are dealing with a society that has embraced instant gratification. It comes with the economic policies of governments , not only in Barbados, but throughout the world.
    My thesis remains that we are no longer the society that is nationally attached to agriculture and stock raising. The educational system successfully steered two full generations away from that . Like it or not that’s the reality.
    The ability to feed ourselves will not be via any mass kitchen gardens. As I pointed it; it will help but only at a very small level.
    Apparently, when you reference what transpires in other countries to buttress your points it is okay. All I have done is point out that agricultural produce that we produce is all over the world. That’s a reality.
    Nobody anywhere puts down kitchen gardens but to suggest that maintaining a kitchen garden of any import is as easy as it was thirty or forty years ago is not that accurate.
    In every country, individuals cut and contrive to counteract economic hardship. And while I support calls for kitchen gardens and drinking less soft drinks, to avoid certain negatives , reality tells me that example is always better than precept.
    Barbados has no food plan to seriously touch the importation of food. That’s why I support the Prime Minister’s efforts to
    get some form of realistic policy in concert with Guyana.
    A country is best managed by clearly defined public policy. It’s not going anywhere by calling on the populace to get up one morning and do anything just so. That’s why I was at pains to point out that we have been asked to keep kitchen gardens and I attempted to show why they were vital parts of our lives when we were basically an agricultural society.
    We can’t educate people one way and then expect them to go another.
    For example: what is the economic policy in relation to our fishing industry. We don’t have one.
    Any progressive economic policy especially one focused on food security will of necessity have a fishing policy. None has been put forward. Once upon a time we had shrimp boats.
    We need to sometimes look at the bigger picture and realise that we are talking about a country not individuals.
    And if those who lead us haveno vision we cannot go forward. Visionary leadership is lacking throughout the region. And it is lacking elsewhere but my focus is how to move the Caribbean forward. That’s why I support the current Barbados and Guyana joint ventures.
    I really don’t see what’s so hard to grasp.
    Like it or not the country is eating what it was fed, speaking metaphorically.

58. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol on said:

2015 making history
    Do you remember when David Cameron whitesplained to Jamaica about Slavery
    Since then the Black population has become a little bit more woke about biggest crime to humankind
    and racist pasty whitey has declared a war on woke
    that’s why we call them scum as in white scum

David Cameron rules out slavery reparation during Jamaica visit
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-34401412

59. Nobody is suggesting that mass kitchen garden planting can feed Barbados. I am saying that those who are crying out can plant a little something to counteract inflation. Sweet potatoes and cassava don’t need that much watering or care and are easy to grow. Granted, that is a five month solution but this thing is expected to be around for a while. Herbs also do not need much watering and are also easy to grow. In this way, you can cut down on your grocery bill. Throw in a spinach vine, a pumpkin vine and a couple of okra plants and yuh gone clear. There is no need to grow as many crops as I do or even to attempt the challenging crops. The idea is to reduce one’s food bill, not to eliminate it.

But if people prefer to waste time politician-watching and gnashing teeth instead of chewing on something good, that is fine with me. If they don’t want to “get up one morning” and do something different, then they can wail and watch me eat. They can get up one morning and find they have no breakfast.

My point is that sooner or later we must take responsibility for ourselves and control what we can control.

Excuses and talk about being educated away from agriculture do not cut it. That explains our dearth of COMMERCIAL FARMING.

THE REST IS ON US.

What nostalgia what! Is necessity no longer the mother of invention?

You are talking national and YES, I am talking INDIVIDUAL – INDIVIDUAL RESPONSIBILITY!

You will soon turn me into a damn right-winger!

P.S. Pray tell, what is the reason we are buying Chefette? I thought it was because we are too lazy to cook. That is the only reason I ever buy food that does not taste as good as my own.

• @Donna

Agree we have to feed an individual mindset of self help. Bear in mind our children and onlookers model their behaviour based on the environment. Each citizen take sensible decisions and positive outcomes should be the result. By creating positive mindset innumerable possibilities may emerge.

60. Down in Bosnia they say the need some marijuana
    Down in Serbia they need some sensimillia
    They killing jah jah children like it going out of style
    Cease the killing spree and sow some ganja seeds

61. David,

I cannot understand how we cede our personal power, both intellectual and physical to politicians and governments so.

By all means, hold their feet to the fire but in the meantime, think and act for yourselves.

No politician ever set my agenda or influenced my thinking. Why should they? They are mostly lawyers with sweet mouths, that’s all! They cannot even influence my eighteen year old son. He pays them no mind.

We got this way because we wanted to. WE wanted the champagne life. WE wanted the monster houses surrounded by lawn, flowers and concrete. WE wanted the gas guzzling SUVs. WE wanted the 65in tvs and the ass-growing lazy time in front of them.

WE wanted to abandon the ways of our parents. And our parents wanted us to abandon them too.

Not mine, doah.

• @Donna

Unfortunately a lazy mind is a byproduct of our growing middleclass which is anchored in working for others at the expense of fanning an entrepreneurial spirit. It isn’t only Barbadians afflicted with the malady.

62. William….this should wake up all the TOURISM PIMPS…who can’t see anything else but to depend…and their usual dependency nonsense….they better learn to walk and chew gum at the same time.

“Like it or not the country is eating what it was fed, speaking metaphorically.”

and i bet ya everyone will agree on the SAME DEFINITION OF HUNGER….when they CAN’T EAT…without any contradictions or arguments.

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/holiday-weekend-sees-massive-amount-flight-cancellations-rcna34297

“Many airlines have already cancelled thousands of flights for the summer season, including Southwest Airlines, which cut nearly 20,000 summer flights.

Delta is cancelling 100 daily departures from destinations in the U.S. and Latin America, affecting travel from July 1 to August 7.”

63. “The hole in which we are in is not that easy to climb out of and the sad thing is that we are slowing but surely entering an era where those we entrust our country to are being let of the hook and the citizens are being blamed for a lack of leadership and vision.”

better ABANDON THAT HOLE and FAST…..or try eating LYING POLITICIANS and tourists….those with nostalgia are political pimps and fowls….followers not leaders….they are of no use to anyone or any movement…that’s why i have no respect or regard for any of them…useless breathers…

64. “Unfortunately a lazy mind is a byproduct of our growing middleclass which is anchored in working for others at the expense of fanning an entrepreneurial spirit”

Perhaps Donna and Cuh Dear Bajan could start up a Local Home Grown Gardening Service for the lazy middle and upper classes

Ganja Farmer / Marlon Asher
    Na Na Now!

Yes I’m a ganja planter
    Call me di ganja farmer
    Deep down inna di earth where me put di ganja
    Babylon come and light it up on fire
    Me a chant
    Yes I’m a ganja planter
    Call me di ganja farmer
    Babylon come, yo yo!

Big stinkin’ helicopter flow through di air
    What dem call it dem call it weedeater
    Dem never did there when me wa totin water
    Or when me did applying fertilizer
    Yet outta di sky dem spittin’ fire
    And I’m a little youth man with a hot temper
    Me dig up me stinkin’ rocket launcher
    And in a di air dispense the helicopter
    Me ya chant

Yes I’m a ganja planter
    Call me di ganja farmer
    Me a chant
    Yes I’m a ganja planter
    Call me di ganja farmer
    Babylon come, hear Chunne na man

Tru jah jah bless I with nuff a good vibes man
    And true mi a di artist with di ganja inna di land
    Make doctors get nuff medication
    And so dem coulda give it to dem sick patients
    Make get chemists get nuff medication
    And so dem coulda brew new medication
    Make singers get some inspiration
    And so dem coulda spread jah message pon di land
    Me a chant

Yes I’m a ganja planter
    Call me di ganja farmer
    Me a chant
    Yes I’m a ganja planter
    Call me di ganja farmer
    Babylon come… watch it

Come and say ganja ganja ganja ganja
    If you no waan to call it dat call it sensimillia
    If you no waan to call it dat call it marijauna
    If you no waan to call it dat call it di indica
    Me a bun it in a chalice and push it inna paper
    Lord, that’s how me love me ganja

Yes I’m a ganja planter
    Call me di ganja farmer
    Me a chant
    Yes I’m a ganja planter
    Call me di ganja farmer
    Babylon come, ya ya!

Well it’s like ten thousand Babylon in one blue van
    Waan come trespass on dis man damn ganja land
    Ten thousand Babylon in one blue van
    Waan come trespass on dis land
    Ganja planter
    Call me di farmer
    Me ganja, ganja, me ganja
    Love di ganja, ganja, ganja
    Love di ganja, ganja, me ganja
    Love di ganja, ganja, ganja

Ganja Farmer – Marlon Asher

65. William….let’s watch it as it unfolds and see what they do am ready to record everything….

lazy is sitting on ya asses and sucking in every LIE COMING FROM THE PARLIAMENT…

lazy is sitting on ya asses and DEPENDING on tourism……ONE INDUSTRY…

lazy, WICKED, GREEDY and CORRUPT is having a marijuana industry ONLY FOR MINORITIES…..and STILL can’t get it off the ground…..now we get to ENJOY THE FALLOUT..

66. @ Donna @ David
    When did demanding that those who manage our affairs at least present a progressive , national economic plan become “ ceding power” to or allowing politicians to think for us.
    Why do we then change governments? There is nothing so far suggested here that those citizens who are struggling and at the bottom don’t try to help themselves. They do so everyday but advocating that those who govern must do more for them is not promoting mendicancy.
    So, when we were all waiting for buses and the garbage was not being taken up, we should have been buying motor scooters and taking our own garbage to be disposed off?
    In other words we should have not expected “ sweet talking lawyers” to solve those problems . Quite frankly, we are so suddenly apolitical that we should not demand or complain or expect anything from those that we have given the mandate to govern.
    It is nothing more than an embarrassing political cop out and it is a far cry from what has obtained on this blog for several years.
    I am saying that individual responsibility is expected but nobody is going to fool me that I must suddenly enjoy a cold glass of cane juice, cock my feet up in the air and pretend that others who through no fault of their own , are catching their arse , deserve their lot because they would not or cannot put two peas in the earth, to enjoy some crop a few weeks after.
    The day that a country becomes nothing more than a selfish select group of individuals , is the day that it loses its humanity and we will all end up in Maxwell pond.
    Call me a dreamer but things being good with me have never once blinded me to the suffering of others.
    The simple truth is that our country is fastly becoming rudderless and like it or not unless we care more about those who can least look after themselves , we will all feel it in som form or fashion.
    And believe it or not if Cheffette shuts down tomorrow hundreds will be on the breadline and that will affect thousands.
    The reason the fast foods outlets have become so prominent is again the result of misguided economic planning that made it cheaper to eat at them than to have chickens growing in our backyards. Even the farmers are complaining about the price of feed.
    Romanticism is a dangerous drug and that’s the point I am making. And we can be political or pretend to be apolitical , at the end of the day, decisions made at the political level determines the national direction of the country.

• William when we talk about ceding power it has more to do with what is detailed in the top blog.

#civics

• In other words it is the only weapon the citizenry has to ensure the executive is aligned to what we want. If they listen national policies/strategies should be aligned.

67. And before they COME OUT LYING….they can get help with the marijuana….THEY KNOW WHO FROM…but they are so TRAITOROUS…..no one trusts them…they would rather tief WHAT SOMEONE AFRIKAN CREATED for TIEFING MINORITIES rather than allow the country to progress..

btw…when ya have that type of creation..ya can take it ANYWHERE…ya don’t need any slothful government.

68. Dreads don’t need a stupid license to grow a holy herb that God gave for the use of man that’s silly and I’ve got proof

Genesis 1:29 Then God said, I have given you every seed-bearing plant that grows throughout the earth, along with every tree that grows seed-bearing fruit. They will produce your food.

John Holt – Police in Helicopter

Yes boss, yes boss, yes boss, yes boss…

Police in helicopter, a search fi marijuana
    Police man in the streets, searching fi collie weed
    Soldiers in the field, burnin the collie weed
    But if you continue to burn up the
    Herbs, we gonna burn down the cane fields
    If you continue to burn up the
    Soldier in the herb field, burnin the collie weed
    Oh

Police men in the fields, burnin the collie weed

We don’t trouble your banana, we don’t trouble your corn
    We don’t trouble your pimento, we don’t trouble you at all

So if you continue to burn up the
    Woy

Police man in the fields, woy yoooow, burnin the collie weed
    Oy

69. Check your facts and revert back spreading less misinformation laced with ignorance. Revisionist History must cease forthwith.

Pass the Bhang
    The Mighty Diamonds – Pass The Kutchie

Pass the kutchie pon the lef’ hand side
    It a go bun, it a go dung, Jah know

It was a cool and lovely breezy afternoon
    (How does it feel when you’ve got no herb?)
    You could feel it ’cause it was the month of June
    (If you got no herb you will walk an’ talk)
    So I lef’ my gate and went out for a walk
    As I pass the dreadlocks’ camp I hear them say
    (How do dey sing when you heard dem sing?)

So I stopped to find out what was going on.
    (How do you find when you make your stuff?)
    For the spirit of Jah, you know he leads me on
    (Them all have a leaf at the dreadlocks’ camp)
    There was a ring of dreads and a session was there in swing
    I could feel the chill as I see and heard them say

It was a cool and lovely breezy afternoon
    (How does it feel when you’ve got no herb?)
    You could feel it ’cause it was the month of June
    (If you got no herb you will walk an’ talk)
    So I lef’ my gate and went out for a walk
    As I pass the dreadlocks’ camp I hear them say

It a go bun, it a go dung, Jah know…

The Origins of Ganja
    Indian People Brought Marijuana to Jamaica And Named It Ganja
    They brought cannabis seeds with them, and once they shared the resulting crops with the locals, it became an important part of the island’s culture as well.

Cannabis was introduced to Jamaica in the 1850s–1860s by indentured servants imported from India during British rule of both nations; many of the terms used in cannabis culture in Jamaica are based on Indian terms, including the term ganja.

70. @ WARU
    What’s the use ? All indications are that the tourism cannot save the country economically. It’s a lie. It is known that even in the period when we were filling up the hotels, the tourist spend was decreasing and this was even before COVID. Dr. Clyde Mascoll made this point over and over in his columns. It is believed that for every dollar we make from tourism about sixty plus cents are lost to keeping the industry going. Even before COVID, Barbadian hoteliers were complaining that commissions paid by them to overseas agents and Vice versa were destroying their profit margins. The money that used to flow into the community started to dry up because properties became all inclusive. So this whole tourism rebound is a lie; a facade to convince us that it will be our great savior. It will not and it cannot..
    I read just the other day that our tourism
    has some “ natural competitive advantage”. I hope that can be explained further. I would seriously like to know what that advantage is.
    There is only one country in the region, whose tourism, according to some reports, is returning or has returned to 2019 levels. And it’s not Barbados. The last report I read is that tourism is down in the region still by ten to fifteen per cent or more.
    But what’s the use. Although a highly paid consultant went on Brasstacks and informed us that the country has been set back by 20/25 years, there are some who come here talking nonsense about an economic recovery.
    But, what’s the use ………….

71. “All indications are that the tourism cannot save the country economically. It’s a lie. ”

tourism NEVER SAVED BARBADOS…..it only pays many but not MOST bills…..the propping up of the country comes from a steady stream of REMITTANCES from those in the diaspora from as far back as the 1960s….

these LIARS were living a pipe dream and passing the LIES down to the mentally LAZY who do not want to think for themselves but prefer the MEDIOCRE mindset to think for them….USELESS FOLLOWERS…

and if they would stop SCAMMING and robbing state coffers …we would not be here typing about them….

72. @ David
    Like I said , it is obvious that all of your comments are couched in language to protect the establishment. It really means that you have made the political class untouchable.
    It’s obvious that outside of sound bites and cliches, this current administration really has no vision on how to proceed in a dynamic way. It’s very heavy on promises but extremely light on delivery.
    And that’s the problem we simply don’t want to face.
    We have therefore apparently opted to decry the citizens. It’s a cop out.
    It’s you who used to say that we should not let a crisis go to waste, or something like that.
    It’s clear that your hopes of a new and vibrant vision post COVID has been dashed and you have now elected to blame the people rather than those who have failed to lead.
    Others are now apparently apolitical but the archives of BU are there. The shift is so obvious that it attempts to make a mockery of common sense.

• William whether you agree or not there is a nexus between the level of citizen engagement and the type of government we get. You may have the last word. Tired of you people who love to attack labels to people you know nothing about.

73. Willam…remember how many years THEY BEEN TELLING US OFF…ridiculing us and our suggestions…calling us liars…..wuh LOOK AT THEM…that’s all we can say now…they are ON STAGE and can take a bow…

74. “Like I said , it is obvious that all of your comments are couched in language to protect the establishment. It really means that you have made the political class untouchable.”

evidence suggests that’s the whole intent….a DISSERVICE to Afrikan people that could never have held up for another 16 years…FORTUNATELY …a Fowl Blog has no power and no influence or reach to STOP ANY REAL PAN AFRIKAN MOVEMENTS….but it was not for lack of trying though…it’s just they are way over their head…and don’t have what it takes..

…they were more successful with the FAKE pan africanists, they got away with that one for decades,,,the frauds…

75. Singers and Players of Instruments Bible Shit

Those who sing as well as those who dance say, “All my springs are in you.” A Song. A Psalm by the sons of Korah. For the Chief Musician. To the tune of “The Suffering of Affliction.” A contemplation by Heman, the Ezrahite.

Rewind Selector
    Kouchie Vibes (12″ Version)
    Pass The Kouchie (12″ Version) · The Mighty Diamonds Make ‘Em Move/Taxi Style – An Introduction to Sly & Robbie (on Drum and Bass)

76. There is reality, but then again we have factions who perceive things differently.

Do you know they are some who believe that Barbados is a major player in the tourism industry. They have taken the importance of tourism to Barbados and confused it with the importance of Barbados to tourism. Yet the truth is… this is one item where in terms of number of visitors (provide old statistics), Barbados may be punching well above its weight … “That smaller countries regularly perform lower in a comparison of the absolute number of guests, is obvious. By putting the tourist numbers in relation to the population of Barbados, the result is much more comparable picture: With 3.4 tourists per resident, Barbados ranked 19th in the world. In Caribbean, it ranked 11th.”

We may but much higher than 11th in the Caribbean, but Caribbean powerhouses such as the DR, Cuba, Jamaica, and Puerto Rico have to be ahead of us.

But the truth is… Tourism is a fickle industry. Let us leave out the impact of disease and bad news on tourism. I just want to highlight the inequalities it causes in our injustice system.

We are already aware that our dependence on tourism is so heavy that we treat crimes of the locals against tourists more harshly than locals or tourists against locals. Here the justice system has seen it fit to act as a PR instrument and to send a warning that not feather on the tourism goose can be plucked.

And yet I am reminded of the difference in penalties when a tourist plucked the butt cheek of a local … “When 44-year-old James Patrick O’Rouke, of Willehall, West Midlands, England reappeared before Magistrate Kristie Cuffy-Sargeant today he was reprimanded and discharged. He pleaded guilty yesterday to unlawfully assaulting Charmaine Alleyne and resisting police constable Shaquille McClean in the execution of his duty on May 19”- BT 05/22/2019

Here is similar case (local vs local) and here is the outcome
    BT12/28/2019
    “However, Frederick reminded the man that he has been charged in the past for assault and did not have a luxury of making those kinds of jokes.

“You had no right doing that sort of thing; you have a history. Carry out your own girl next time. She clearly doesn’t want you, otherwise you wouldn’t be here today,” the magistrate said.

Maynard was placed on bond to keep the peace for nine months, breach of which would land him in prison for three months.”

Thank God he had the sense not to touch a tourist. For a few of you, don’t get distracted and begin to query about the past of the Englishman. I doubt this was his first time or the first piece of fish that he was willing to buy.

77. 555…Kush is a movement. You are likely to see it across continents…

“And yet I am reminded of the difference in penalties when a tourist plucked the butt cheek of a local … “When 44-year-old James Patrick O’Rouke, of Willehall, West Midlands, England reappeared before Magistrate Kristie Cuffy-Sargeant today he was reprimanded and discharged. He pleaded guilty yesterday to unlawfully assaulting Charmaine Alleyne and resisting police constable Shaquille McClean in the execution of his duty on May 19”- BT 05/22/2019”

that’s all they are good for….PROMOTING, ENFORCING and ENABLING crimes against the majority population under the guise of hoing tourism….that prevert predator tourist caused a lot of trouble…

78. WS

Iwhen u can readily accept the consultant ( bad news )20 yrs set back you should just as well accept his ( good new ) about the economic revound and where it stand right now

79. Check out my magazine’s 3rd issue. Kush World. The Rittenhouse Awardee organized by that group…

ya need to get out some more.

80. Two words that I never hear mentioned are “sex tourists”.

These tourists are an acknowledged part and parcel of tourism in Asia, but they are rarely mentioned in the Caribbean. It is only if you got your hands on a serious research paper that you learn sex tourism is a part of the fabric of Caribbean tourism.

This is the reason I dislike Caribbean tourism… the good is always mentioned; the nastier and seedier side is hidden. We are unable to separate pimps and parasites from businessmen ; perverts from tourists; we let tourists shove notes down the breasts of our mothers and daughters and slap their butts. God, help our children because we refuse to do so .

• The issue is not tourism, it is our over reliance on the sector. Instead of attacking the sector we have to explore how to grow other sectors to diversify the economy. As Renee Toppin head of the BHTA recently opined, it fits the region well.

81. Disadvantages outweigh advantages and always have….PROSTITUTION…

“The Disadvantages of Tourism
    Environmental. Tourism can often cause environmental damage with risks like erosion, pollution, loss of natural habitats, and forest fires. Even if tourists behave responsibly, the sheer number of them can cause damage. Ancient buildings, monuments, and temples often struggle to cope with increased traffic and suffer inevitable wear-and-tear. Reefs and other natural tourist attractions can suffer permanent damage.

Cultural. The commercialization of culture can undermine the soul of a tourist destination. Local traditions that have a rich cultural heritage are reduced to wearing costumes and putting on acts for the tourists in return for money.

Culture Clashes. Tourists often lack respect for local traditions and culture, refuse to follow local dress standards, get drunk in public, or behave rudely or inappropriately towards locals.
    Service Economy. Although jobs are created by tourism, most are relatively low-level such as bar work, hotel service, restaurant serving, and so forth. These low-wage, low-skill workers have little prospect for advancement or promotion.

Seasonal Fluctuations. Tourism jobs are quite commonly seasonal and insecure, with no extra benefits such as pensions, sick pay, or healthcare. Some areas can be inundated with visitors during busy times, and then virtually deserted for many months.

Imbalanced Funding. Money can end up being directed to tourist areas when it could be used more effectively elsewhere in a country. The locals who don’t live in specific tourist areas miss out and suffer relative decline.

Foreign Poaching. Oftentimes, most of the tourism industry in a developing country is owned by big foreign companies. They make the major profits, leaving local businesses with relatively little benefit.

Tourism Dependence. Sometimes tourism becomes so focal that other forms of income-generation are neglected and an economic dependence on tourism forms. This is fine in good times, but it can leave the country vulnerable to economic ruin in the long run and can contribute to political upheaval or natural disasters.”

Leave a comment, join the discussion.