Does EMERA care about Barbadian consumers and is the FTC inept?

I have formally submitted my opposition to the Fair Trading Commission (FTC) giving the Barbados Light and Power Company Limited (BL&P) the exemption that the utility requested in its August 2024 Application to be exempted from Standards of Service and payment of fines and compensation to ratepayers affected by service outages. My objections are contained in a 30-page document detailing the reasons why granting the exemption would not only be imprudent and biased, but also unlawful. I also make detailed recommendations on how the FTC should deal with the BLPC’s application to not compensate consumers.

Over 5 months ago, the BL&P applied to the FTC asking to be exempted from complying with its lawful Standards of Service obligations; service standards that it had already breached. In effect the BL&P is applying to the FTC to avoid paying compensation to ratepayers who experienced prolonged power outages after the passage of Hurricane Beryl on July 1st last year. The BL&P is also seeking to avoid paying the penalties that the FTC can impose on it when the service standards are breached.

The FTC kept this most recent application concealed from BL&P’s customers and Barbadians generally for nearly 5 months before making the application public and inviting comment. Delaying the notice and setting ridiculously short minimum response time are entirely the FTC’s doing. Whatever the FTC’s reason for delaying, the delay will have had the effect of not drawing attention to the protections offered to ratepayers by the Standards of Service. That inaction on the FTC’s part only benefits the Light and Power.
Relatively few Barbadians have ever read the Standards of Service that apply to the Barbados Light and Power. There is a passing reference to them in fine print on the back on ratepayers’ monthly bills, which states
“Customers can apply for service connections, submit a query, access their account or find out about our Standards of Service online at http://www.blpc.copm.bb.”

Fewer Barbadians still are aware of their right to be compensated when the Light and Power does not meet these mandatory standards, especially as they relate to power quality or power outages. 

Of the very limited number of ratepayers who are aware that there are guaranteed standards that, if breached, could result in compensation, few are aware that the ratepayer has to formally apply to be compensated, even though the BL&P, with its new smart meters, knows the exact duration of an account holder’s power outage, down nearly to the minute. (Barbadians already know that the Light and Power’s meter readers no longer come to our houses to read any meter.) Almost no-one knows that the form used to apply for compensation must, according to the Light and Power, be completed and returned to its “customer service office at Garrison Hill, St Michael within three (3) months of the date of the event giving rise to the claim.”
Had the FTC made the Application for exemption public in a timely manner, tens of thousands of ratepayers who experienced power outages during and after the passage of Hurricane Beryl would have been alerted and may have submitted claims for compensation. 

Although the Light and Power has not made public, in its application or otherwise, the level of compensation it is seeking to avoid paying to ratepayers, my team has calculated that, conservatively, it could have been facing claims amounting to $2Million. In suppressing the Light and Power’s application long enough until ratepayers’ window to apply for compensation had closed, the FTC has saved the Light and Power a significant amount of money, whether or not it grants the exemption, not including any penalties that may have applied. We can expect that the Light and Power will say that making them pay after the claim period has expired would be unfair and damaging to their business.

Barbadians recall the total island wide blackouts of November 2019. Those 2 blackouts on successive days, were absolute, island wide and for a duration of more than the 10 hours that was stipulated in the standards of services in force at the time as a prerequisite for triggering compensation. They also occurred on Monday and Tuesday, widely regarded as the two most productive days of the week and had maximum impact on businesses. 
Based on the compensation specified in the then Standards of Service, the Light and Power should have paid out over $7.2M for each of the days, the 18th and the 19th, for a total of $14.4M. We have enquired. We have also reviewed the Light and Power’s financial statements for 2019, 2020 and 2021 in an attempt to determine where this compensation was paid. Barbadians may recall an August 19, 2020 headline in the local media, nine months after the blackouts that read: “Fair Trading Commission yet to determine compensation over 2019 blackout”.

Even though there was only Light and Power itself to blame, with no Hurricane Beryl to hide behind in order to request a Force Majeure exemption, nine months after the blackouts, FTC had not ordered the compensation to be paid. $14Million in compensation due to Barbadian ratepayers came to nothing. . 

In 2025, the FTC is, once again, engaging in activities that appear to support the Barbados Light and Power and its parent company Emera Inc., to the detriment of ratepaying Barbadians.

This development will not come as a surprise to Barbadians, whom I have urged to be vigilant, and to pay close attention to what has been happening in our energy sector for the past few years. 

The FTC has already indicated that it will decide this exemption application by a written hearing. Since the FTC (unlawfully) does not publish the submissions of members of the public in these written hearings, nor the information filed by the utility in response to interrogatories, the written hearing process amounts to a secret review of the applicationr, hidden from the people who have to pay the actual rates or in this case, whom the BL&P want to avoid compensating. 

Since the 2021 Rate Review Application, which was heard in the full view of the public, and in which the weakness of the Light and Power’s case was exposed by intervenors for all to see, resulting in the FTC not being able to grant the Light and Power’s request, the FTC has determined every subsequent request or application by way of written hearing, regardless of the money at stake, sometimes running into hundreds of millions of dollars. Every action that the FTC now takes on applications from the Light and Power, is concealed from the vigilant eyes of the people who have to pay the rates, concealed from ordinary Barbadians. This works only in the interest of the Barbados Light and Power.

The government’s increasingly unfair, anti-consumer, anti-citizen approach to regulating the BL&P and the electricity sector generally is being taken to new heights, or rather a new low, by this application for exemption from service standards, at a time when the BL&P has applied to the FTC for and has been granted 3 successive rate increases in 3 years.

Barbadian rate payers continue to be burdened by high rates that continue to increase as the FTC grants rate increases request by the Light and Power. Barbadians are still paying the unlawful interim rate increase granted by the FTC some 23 months ago, in September 2022. That increase is still in effect in spite of the same FTC ruling in 2023, twice, that the Light and Power did not justify and prove that the rate increase that it requested was fair and reasonable. 

In the past weeks Barbadians have complained to me that their light bills went up in December because of an increased Fuel Clause Adjustment…while the price of oil globally declined; declined to the extent that gas prices at the pump, in Barbados, went down. 

In the months leading up to the reduction of gas prices at the pump, global oil prices decreased some 8.2%. In the same period the Light and Power’s Fuel Clause adjustment increased 5.3%. 

The reason is two-fold. 1) The Light and Power is operating inefficiently with respect to least cost dispatch priority, i.e. use the lowest cost generation assets first. And this is because its lower cost generators are often out of service for maintenance reasons. 2) The FTC has allowed the Light and Power to hide expensive generation cost within the Fuel Clause Adjustment and much of that cost is not even fuel. It is just hidden in with the fuel.

At present the true cost of fuel to ratepayers is approximately 34¢ per kWh. If the Light and Power was utilising its generators efficiently, that cost would decrease to under 30¢ per kWh given today’s oil prices. However, ratepayers currently pay for battery storage through the FCA, they pay for renewable energy through the FCA at prices upwards of 43¢ per kWh. Rate payers are also now paying rental fees for generation units that utilise the most expensive fuel available. And again ratepayers are paying, through the FCA, at a staggering cost of $1.43 per kWh. for these rentals. 

I urge Barbadians to continue to be vigilant and demand a public disclosure and response from the FTC to interventions made by the public and by intervenors in this request by the Light and Power to NOT pay compensation. Barbadians have to remain vigilant and more importantly tell the FTC, and those that appoint them to do their job, that we are watching them, whether they like it or not. 

-THE END-

Tricia Watson is a former Senator, and legal and regulatory expert that has advised Barbados government on electricity and telecommunications licensing and regulation. She an ardent and active energy justice activist, and is currently intervening as a citizen advocate in the Barbados Light and Power Company Limited’s various requests for electricity price increases, on behalf of Barbados’ consumers of electricity. She is committed to keeping Barbadians informed about the on-going rate cases, and about electricity regulation and management issues that affect all users of electricity in Barbados and that affect consumers generally.

70 responses to “Does EMERA care about consumers?”

1. I see that the mighty white has returned to to BU. His comment at 9.51pm probably explains the absence of John. It took me years to understand why Barbados Radio call in programmes would often lose their reception. I later found out that these stations would mute their callers’ voices for potential defamation.

I can remember when I first visited Barbados as a young boy in the latter end of the sixties. We stayed at our Grandparent’s timber house deep in the countryside. The source of light at night was the humble candle. Guess what, they survived.

We all know the deal with these utilities who provide their consumers with a “service”. I would advise Bajans to change their behaviours. Learn to live with less conveniences in their lifestyles; and to look at alternative energy sources. Neighbours should pool their resources in terms of energy production, the collection and recycling of rainwater and waste water, sewage collection, etc.

Creativity is the name of the game. For example, a building that is insulated from the Caribbean heat does not require air conditioning. Our ancestors knew about cross ventilation and used trees as shading to obscure sunlight from over heating their houses.

If our ancestors could talk directly to us, we would be a less foolish and cowardly people.

2. DO ANY OF YOU TRULY BELIEVE THAT FROM 1625 -2025 (400 YEARS OF SEVERE LICKS) THAT IT IS EVEN POSSIBLE TO COME BACK FROM SUCH BEDEVILED TYRANNY; PROVEN DNA ALTERATIONS; DAMNABLE MENTAL INCAPACITATION & SHEER MALEVOLENT THEFT OF THE BLACK SOUL – AN AVOWED ABERRATION THAT SPEAKS SO LOUDLY IN OUR DAY & AGE SUGGESTING THAT NOTHING WILL EVER CHANGE GIVEN THE COMPLICITY OF OTHER BLACK FOLKS IN THIS GARGANTUANLY SATANIC APOCALYPSE LEVELLED UPON BLACK GENERATIONS PAST RIGHT UP TO GENERATIONS PRESENT & FUTURE

THE BUSHMAN made an attempt to answer the following question: “What is the true purpose of arming ourselves with Masters and Doctorate degrees, and the research that should follow…”

WHAT THE PEOPLE AUGHT TO BE ARMING THEMSELVES WITH IS HOLINESS & RIGHTEOUSNESS FROM WHICH NONE WILL SURVIVE THE ENDTIME APOCALYPSE THAT IS APPROACHING AT RUNAWAY BREAK-NECK, TRAIN-TRACK SPEED

With the “ONLY SALVE” to remedy our “SPIRITUAL BLINDNESS & APATHY” – (AS DAY MEETS NIGHT & NIGHT MEETS DAY), the next move will be “GUNS, BULLETS, BLOODSHED, CIVIL WAR & DEATH ON AN APOCALYPTIC SCALE” even on that “LIL ISLE” we call Barbados!!!

THIS IS NOT SPECULATIVE SEISMOLOGY – THIS IS PROPHECY – #TakeItOrLeaveIt, for given what I have seen in the last month on that once pristine, green & pleasant land – what I now see is a “DARK, VENOMOUS, MIASMIC BLANKET” covering the land & as the “RAIN” tumbled down yesterday – “ONE DAY AFTER THE QUEEN & I LEFT THOSE SHORES” & there was a “STABBING” in Oistin’s amongst “SCHOOL KIDS” – “NO ONE WITH A PAIR OF SPIRITUAL EYES TO SEE CAN NOT MISDIAGNOSE THE SYSMPTOMOLOGY OF THE CURRENT CONDITIONS IN THE LAND OF BARBADOS”!!!

If this was just about Ms. Watson (WHO IS TRYING 2 MAKE A NAME 4 HERSELF) – then hurray, but this goes so much deeper than the “SHALLOW, DIMWITTED, SURFACE-ANALYSIS THINKING & DISCOURSE” of what is a “STAKE IN THE HEART OF BARBADOS” (left by those “STINKING SLAVERS” & those “NASTY-ARSE ALBINO-PALESKINS” who got tired “MURDEREING” one another before the “SO-CALLED ENLIGHTENMENT PERIOD” – YET WENT ON TO HAVE 2 WORLD WARS: WITH A 3RD LOOMING & BECKONING) – deciding instead to “INDISCRIMINATELY MURDER, MAIM, MASH-UP & MADDEN AN ENTIRE SPECIES OF BLACK FOLKS” -notwithstanding, any other persons of “COLOR” who stood in their way, in their quest 4 “DOMINATION”!!!

THIS GIVES ME NO PLEASURE TO SAY THESE THING BUT LIKE THE ANCIENT PROPHETS WHO SPOKE WITHOUT FEAR OR FAVOUR – HOW CAN I NOT SPEAK A “THUS SAITH THE LORD”

This morning during “PRAYER-TIME”, I reminded “THE MOST HIGH YAH” of the questions our father ABRAHAM* posed to “YESHUA MESSIAH” regarding “SODOM”: “WOULD YOU DESTROY THE LAND IF THERE ARE 50 RIGHTEOUS PEOPLE IN IT”??? Abraham went on to wheedle that number down to virtually a handful (NAMELY, HIS NEPHEW LOT & HIS FAMILY MEMBERS)!!!

I stood in the said place this morning knowing that my family members on both sides of the aisle (INCLUDING IN-LAWS & OUT-LAWS) occupy a land that is “RIPE 4 DESTRUCTION”!!!

Let me just leave that right here!!!

#ImDone

3. Well said about Brassbados, Terence.

However you MUST know that your adopted home is EVEN MORE in line for Karma’s inevitable reparations than is Brassbados.

Whereas we have SPURNED the special opportunity to (like Nineveh) heed the words of the reluctant prophet Jonah – and will therefore suffer appropriate consequences, YOUR adopted compatriots are DIRECTLY in line for CENTURIES of reparation for unprecedented shiite, deposited ALL OVER THE WORLD.
    THAT is a lotta karma….

Boss, If Bushie were you, he would take his UK family directly to an airport near you, and go DIRECTLY to Brassbados (where, admittedly, there will be cat piss and pepper) RATHER that stay among your albino-centrics kin, with such HUGE, CENTURIES-OLD debts that are due for immediate settlement….

A word to the wise is Enuff….

4. Bushie
    Yesterday yuh mek a set of good points to which concession was unavoidable. However, today more shiiite talk again. Where is the evidence, like you presented yesterday, that this Jonah or any other such fictional characters ever existed. You cant reason like you did yesterday, with incontrovertible evidence, and today come here talking ignorance again. Unless you be schizophernic.

5. LOL @ Pacha

You said yesterday that we agree on almost all but one particular area.

This puts you in a category of being something like 95% globally correct.
    Given the time and circumstances, Bushie FULLY expect that you will come to see the light ALSO in that one particular area.

This is quite outstanding for a BB who is operating on natural intelligence and intellect.
    But Bushie has NO SUCH CLAIM.
    The Bushman simply ask the old step father – who has been MORE THAN WILLING to provide any required guidance.

Are you aware that top O’level maths students can be COMPLETELY ignorant of the existence of such concepts as multivariable analysis and complex analysis… and may even question the very concepts? …while seeking ‘proof’ based on quadratic equations and basic algebra..?

But the Professor (step father) has all the answers.
    So…
    Perhaps the fault, dear Pacha, lies with you, and not in the stars…

6. Bushie

Intellectually, you are a slimy fellow. Ever capable of creatively avoiding the obvious with ‘a lotta shiiite’ as you yourself would say.

7. LOL @ Pacha
    Thanks for the ‘compliment’.
    (In other words, you concede!)

Murduh!!!

8. @THE BUSHMAN

“you MUST know that your adopted home is EVEN MORE in line for Karma’s inevitable reparations than is Brassbados…”

THE BIGGER THE GIANT – THE HARDER HE FALLS & THE MORE SITELY WILL BE HIS SEVERED HEAD

#KingDavid used 1 SMOOTH STONE* 4 “GOLIATH’s ARSE* – yet retained 4 others in his pooch for his 4 BROTHAS* – so, in like manner, the BLOODIED & BLOODY PHILISTINES IN OUR MIDST ARE RESERVED FOR A DAY OF JUDGMENT (that is soon 2 come), FOR ALL THE WICKEDNESS & EVIL THAT THEY HAVE DONE TO OUR ANCESTORS – (lines which ought to be written over on Dr. Grenville’s piece), but holds a striking duality within the current contextual framework of this discussion, regarding these “FATCATS” who believe that they are above “GOD ALMIGHTY” & “ALL” else that pertains to “HIM” – especially (#HisPeople)!!!

Bushie, “THE EXODUS CAME WHEN THE PREDESTINATED TIME WAS RIPE”!!!

Nothing happens within a vacuum – as there are no vacuum in nature!!!

Like my ancient “BLACK ISRAELITE FORBEARS”, we sit by the rivers of BABYLON* (some of us content), while others “WEPT WHEN WE REMEMBER ZION”!!!

*ZION* IS COMING AGAIN*- BUT FIRST THE PROPHECY OF ISAIAH CHAPTER 2, VERSES 2 & 3 MUST BE FULFILLED – AS WELL THE WORDS OF THE PROPHET JOEL IN CHAPTER 2 VERSES 1 – 11 & TO TIE THESE POWERFULLY BEAUTIFUL PROPHECIES TOGETHER: THE WORDS OF THE PROPHET MICAH, IN CHAPTER 4, VERSE 1 – 13!!!

Now, “Let Thy Kingdom “COME” (O, SOVEREIGN LORD), 4 THY WILL MUST* be done on the earth, as it is done in heaven”!!!

Thank God, the kingdom will NOT* be on some remote island in the ocean, or on any land mass other than where “MESSIAH” intend for it to be!!!

Till then, “EVERY MOUNTAIN & VALLEY SHALL BE MADE LOW” – “EVERY CITY LAID WASTE & EVERY ISLAND SHALL FLEE AWAY AT THE PRESENCE OF THE LORD GOD OF HOST”!!!

Until then, the “WAR” continues!!!

9. @TLSN: “I see that the mighty white has returned to to BU.

I find this comment offensive. And distractionary.

For the record, I was asked to comment on this particular subject. By BU.David, by way of an email.

Is there any chance we could get past the racism (yes, I happen to be white, but my ancestors were black; and also native indian), and instead deal with the highly technical issues before us?

Or is that asking too much?

10. Amazing!

What level of escapism Whiteness expects still.

Even as Trump has proved the endemic racism which White people still depend upon to give them power.

When fascism is galloping throughout the White world. And fascism is the most vicious form of racism and its twin capitalism.

When a genocide by their chosen people has been going on for two years based entirely on Whiteness.

Not all of us must seek the false pretenses of a social class existence which white-washes racism.

Must there never be a time when Peter pays for Paul within a schema where all the sins of Whitey are karma-ed.

By this logic White people will soon argue that we are all Black even as Whiteness as a construct continues to inform power relationships.

11. I don’t beleive that gods exist. But I do beleive that the Universe reflects. Effectively Buddhism, but without the reincarnation.

A recent personal experience… Very early Friday morning (2025.09.26.0400) a neighbour’s tree fell on the local power lines. Because of the recent heavy rain.

Within 18 hours BL&P had not only installed a new transformer, but had restored the fallen power lines.

Just in case anyone cares, all of the linemen were black.

IMHO, BL&P all do very good work. In a very dangerious environment.

Dis me all you want, but I will continue talking. Deal with it.

12. Appeal for confidentiality

Developers urge FTC not to disclose parts of application

By Shawn Cumberbatch shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

The developers of a proposed $330 million renewable energy power plant, who are seeking a tariff to recover project costs from local electricity consumers, are asking the Fair Trading Commission (FTC) to keep substantial parts of its application confidential.

Renewstable (Barbados) Inc. (RSB), a special-purpose vehicle jointly-owned by Rubis and HDF Energy of France, had previously applied for “the entirety of its application” not to be disclosed, but this was opposed by intervenor attorney Tricia Watson.

Now, in an Amended Request For Confidentiality sent to the FTC on October 6 and signed by its strategic adviser, attorney Aidan Rogers, RSB is requesting that the commission “grants an order that its application be held in confidence by the commission pursuant to rule 13 of Utilities Regulation (Procedural) Rules 2003 as amended Utilities Regulation (Procedural) (Amendment) Rules 2009”.

RSB says it wants confidentiality in relation to its “proprietary business models that are currently not in the public domain and which, if disclosed, will afford a competitive advantage to the company’s competitors”.

“Additionally, these documents contain industry specific pricing details obtained from third party suppliers with whom the company is bound by nondisclosure agreements,” the amended application stated.

“This information, if shared with the public, could severely harm the company’s ability to competitively participate in other procurement ventures, locally, regionally and internationally.”

The FTC is holding a public consultation on the matter, but a September 17 online hearing related to it was not made public.

Consultation paper

In the regulator’s consultation paper published in July, it invited written submissions from the general public, Barbados Light & Power Company Limited (BL&P), RE producers, Government agencies, the business community, public consumer bodies or advocates, non-governmental organisations, and educational institutions, and any other interested party.

RSB is requesting a 10.2 per cent rate of return on costs associated with its construction and operation of the plant earmarked for Harrow Plantation, St Philip, but the FTC said it intended to “exercise its discretion to set a maximum tariff that does not produce rate shock” for electricity rate-payers.

The entity’s amended application for confidentiality is being requested for either part or full of the following areas: energy target compliance (capacity factor); detailed information on the cost of the project; the proposed remuneration scheme; engineering, procurement, and construction and operations and maintenance services contracts; financing; the intermittent resource viability study.

“The reason for the applicant’s request for confidentiality is that its tariff application and the appendices attached thereto contain information and detailed information, that is, models, trade secrets, and negotiated third party pricing, in relation to the Applicant’s tariff application which is not publicly available,” RSB stated in its amended application for confidentiality.

It said that public disclosure of the areas it wanted restricted would “present a grave business risk to the developer and its project subsidiaries which would expose the company’s name and the proposed project to avoidable legal liability, financial risk and potential harm to its successful development”.

“The applicant also maintains that disclosure of the information contained in the applicant’s tariff application cannot be justified in the public’s interest as the proprietary and thirdparty information contained therein does not need to be relied upon throughout this consultation process in respect of the subject matter, which is the determination of a fit-forpurpose tariff methodology,” RSB said.

Sole authority

“As such, this information should continue to be held in confidence by the commission, who has the sole authority to set a tariff in respect of all the information submitted along with the tariff application.”

RSB added: “Importantly it must be noted that the applicant has fully disclosed to the FTC the requisite information required for the determination of an appropriate tariff methodology based on the principles advanced in its application and highlighted in the consultation paper, for a tariff to be eventually issued in respect of the project.”

Intervenors say they are concerned that if RSB was granted the 10.2 per cent rate of return it applied for, along with the tariffs sought by BL&P, this would be a major cost of living burden on already cash-strapped consumers.

RSB has been granted a 25-year generation licence, dated May 19, 2025, to operate the project which it says will comprise a 50-megawatt (MW) solar photovoltaic plant; a 90 MWhour hydrogen-based energy storage solution; a 14 MW short-term battery energy storage solution; and a commercial Black Belly sheep farm focusing on local and export markets.

The project is receiving $80 million in funding from the Green Climate Fund. In addition, IDB Invest states on its website that RSB had applied for an $80 million loan, financing which is expected to go before its board for approval on November 18.

13. CASE ON HIGH COURT TO HEAR CHALLENGE OF FTC’S REFUSAL TO DEMAND LIGHT & POWER FINANCIAL RECORDS
    By Emmanuel Joseph
    The High Court is set to decide whether the Fair Trading Commission must order the Barbados Light and Power Company to release financial documents, after a protracted dispute over electricity rates reignited with fresh legal action from public interest intervenors.
    Earlier this month, the court quashed a scheduled hearing after discovering that no formal application for the case had been properly filed.
    But last week, the intervenor team, led by Ricky Went, refiled a bundle of documents that included their notice of application, a certificate of urgency and the draft of an order they want the court to approve.
    The court has scheduled next week Wednesday to hear the application, which was lodged by the intervenors’ lead attorney, senior counsel Hal Gollop.
    The case before the court concerns whether the FTC can compel Light & Power to provide information after the commission’s February 2023 rate review decision, which the intervenors have argued is not yet closed. The FTC has maintained that the process had been concluded and that it lacks the statutory power to mandate the release of the documents.
    A hearing in which the court is being asked by the intervenors to rule on the case was scheduled for last Tuesday, but the court later discovered that something was wrong with the filing process.
    The issue came to light when senior counsel for the FTC, Alrick Scott, responded to the court’s legal assistant’s notification to the parties that the case was before the court following Gollop’s application on October 21.
    Scott informed the court official that Light & Power had not been served with a notice of application or any filing at that time and was “unaware” of any application filed by Gollop on behalf of his client.
    “We have been served with written submissions, but no application,” Scott wrote.
    Further investigation by the court officer revealed that, in fact, no formal application had been made for the court to hear a case.
    The court assistant said: “On further review of the Curia [the court’s electronic filing] system, I recognise there is no formal application before the court, only written submissions, and therefore there is no need for the court to convene and hear the parties on what the court thought was a formal application. Please accept the court’s apologies, and therefore, the date of November 11, 2025 is now vacated.”
    In explaining the reasons for requesting the financial information in previous public pronouncements, the intervenors have argued that before the FTC gives its final ruling on an appeal before the High Court — against the utility regulator’s February 15, 2023 rate decision — it is necessary to closely analyse the electricity company’s revenue requirement and rate base, especially since rate proceedings are not normally held within five to ten years.
    The intervenors said: “It is therefore critical that every party in the proceedings gets the opportunity to assess the impact on ratepayers prior to a final ruling. Intervenors who represent the public interest are critical to ensure that trust and confidence remain in the regulatory process.”
    But through its attorney Scott, the FTC has reiterated that it would not honour the request, arguing there was no statutory obligation to order the release of the reports.
    “The FTC will not mandate the BLPC to provide the information or documents set out in your letter for the reasons given above, unless you can provide a clear statutory basis (and I have seen none) for your request,” wrote Scott in a recent letter to Gollop.
    emmanueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb

Source: BT

14. Preparing for the next one.

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/giOctMUu7t8

15. @ David
    Help us to understand how there can be ANY QUESTION of BL&P’s financial reports being made public.
    Is this not a REGULATED MONOPOLY?
    Did the FTC not GIVE THEM an interim rate INCREASE years ago after they claimed they were broke?
    Is this ‘interim rate’ not STILL IN PLACE?

…so how the Hell are we to know if, and by how much, we are being ripped off?…if even the intervenors cannot see how the interim rates are impacting operations?

Some shiite don’t SMELL right here!!
    …and there is TOO MUCH inter-marriage between this company and the FTC.

– The chairman of the FTC had to recuse herself about some conflict sometime back ?
    – Some of BL&P staff are FORMER FTC officers ?
    – The current FTC boss is a former BL&P employee…?

Looka!!!
    Explain dis fuh Bushie Boss…!

What a place!!

16. @Bush Tea

After trying to process the rationale for giving that interim increase and it produced an error, the blogmaster stopped. It is highly unlikely the BL&P would have been refunded if a declining decision was rendered.

17. The BL&P is owned by Emera, which is a public listed and traded company on the Toronto and NY Stock exchanges.
    As such Emera has to have up to date financials for all its component operations.
    That a regulator has any issue with requiring the release of audited financials, in a rate application hearing, is beyond the imagination.
    This ongoing saga has been odoriferous for a long time.
    Possibly we need to focus on the monopoly franchise, which is expiring soon.

18. Intervenor fails in High Court

A COURT APPLICATION seeking more financial information from Barbados Light & Power Company (BL&PC) has been denied.

Attorney Hal Gollop, KC, in association with Ralph Thorne, KC, had filed an application on behalf of intervenor Ricky Went asking the court to order the Fair Trading Commission (FTC) to provide or mandate BL&PC to provide the financials to Went and all intervenors.

However, Went’s action failed yesterday during a hearing by High Court Judge Barry Carrington.

It clears the way for BL&PC’s substantive appeal against the FTC’s electricity rate application to go to trial next Tuesday and Wednesday before Justice Carrington.

Went’s application was viewed as being made late, given that the appeal hearing is next week, and the documents sought were not seen as key in the adjudication of that matter.

It was further suggested that judicial review was one route Went could have taken and that this would have been separate from the appeal.

The court denied the intervenor’s requests and reserved its ruling on costs.

Reacting to the denial of his application, Went said: “The court’s decision is respected. Public interest is key for intervenors, yet judicial review isn’t practical. Costs and timing are key factors.

“Attention will focus on the appeal, the submission of 150 pages is already filed. It was a disappointing day, yet we will persevere,” he added.

Went had asked the court to facilitate access to the compliance filing as outlined in the Commission’s Decision & Order of February 15, 2023; BL&PC’s audited nonconsolidated financial reports for 2022 to 2024 and the half-year report as at June 30 this year; the same audited financial reports for 2022 to 2024 in the established “test year format”; and the audited financial reports for BL&PC’s Self Insurance Fund for the years 2022 to 2024 and half-year report as at June 30, 2025.

The application argued that “if rates are to be fair and reasonable, then intervenors must be provided with the requisite information and data to independently review, analyse and affirm or disagree with positions presented by the appellant BL&PC”.

Went’s attorney had asked for the information, reports and documents to be provided to Went within two working days and for Went to be given at least 21 working days to file a written submission to the FTC prior to issuance of its final ruling.

Leading up to the court application, the FTC, via external counsel Alrick Scott, KC, had informed Went via his legal team, that it was not obligated to ask BL&PC to provide the financial information requested given that the rate hearing process was deemed concluded. (SC)

19. “That a regulator has any issue with requiring the release of audited financials, in a rate application hearing, is beyond the imagination.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Well said by NO.
    But remember, ‘Barbados is BEYOND your imagination’.

WHAT a place!!!

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

We are doing well

“On November 18, Agostini announced that it was extending the closing date of its takeover bid for Prestige Holdings Ltd for a fifth time to January 20, 2026.

The takeover bid has been extended on five occasions because the transaction requires the approval of T&T’s Fair Trading Commission. The approval has not been forthcoming because the FTC does not have a board.”

You know how this things spread 😆