Congratulations to Prime Minister Mia Mottley for being recognized by TIMES Magazine as one of The 100 Influential People of 2022. Based on reports the rationale for recommending Mottley for the award was penned by  Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, director-general of the World Trade Organization.

The hope is that Mottley will be able to leverage her burgeoning global brand to improve regional and domestic economies. In recent times Barbadians have not had many high points to celebrate, the recognition of one of our own is a step in the right direction and should assist in bolstering bajan pride which took a hit in recent years.

#congratspmmottley

535 responses to “Prime Minister Mia Mottley Named in Top 100 Most Influential People of 2022”

1. Wow
    AC stepped down the crease and smacked that ball.
    Yuh gun kill he?

2. @🐇/🐰
    When are you going to tell us about this

https://wagwalking.com/rabbit/condition/rabbitpox

3. TheOGazertsMay 24, 2022 9:09 PM

@🐇/🐰
    When are you going to tell us about this

https://wagwalking.com/rabbit/condition/rabbitpox

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Last time I saw a hare in a Barbados ploughed ground was in the 1990’s.

Not a problem now, no rabbits to get it.

So no natural reservoir.

But we probably have a few hundred thousand monkeys running wild so monkey pox could spread like wildfire.

4. It takes me a few minutes to warm-up
    “I am a SME subject matter expert”
    Good thing you explained.. I would have thought it was “scratchy music exponent”.

5. Fully warmed up?
    What is her ranking?
    Is she #1 or #100?
    Please no punching above her weight jokes/comments.
    Should we refer to her as mother of the nation or father? Did you get my drift?
    Who nominated her….

6. More influential questions
    The word influential.has got the highest rating ever in two days
    Let me count the ways and get back

7. OK here is the complete list in categorical order

https://time.com/collection/100-most-influential-people-2022/

8. @ my fellow Kolijian TheOGazerts,

Do you agree that the BTMI should be using this award in their advertising ?

9. Based on what I’ve read, the “100 Most Influential People – 2022” list is subdivided into categories, namely, ‘Artists, Innovators, Titans, Leaders, Icons and Pioneers.’

As such, it can’t be an issue as to whether or not Mottley is at position # 1, 50, 88 or 100 thereon.
    However, she is # 1 on the Leaders’ category.

But, what does that mean? Certainly not that she is the ‘most influential leader in the world.’

What I can ‘say’ about Mia Mottley is that she continues to live ‘rent free’ in a particular individual’s head.
    Therefore, she has to be #1 on that person’s ‘list of the most influential tenants.’

🤣 🤣 🤣

10. Grasshopper

She got the “accolade” more than likely because of her speech at COP26 about Global Warming/Climate Change or whatever.

Anything marked World as in World Trade Organisation WTO or World Health Organisation WHO is going to love any exposition such as what she put forward.

You may well ask WTF did she say that so wowed her sponsor?

Just google it and if you can sit through the BS you will find out!!

Out of touch with reality it may be but right up their street for some functionary in one of them.

So on message for these august organisations.

But she was upstaged by some kid, white, from Sweden I think.

Greta Thunberg got the Personality of the Year in 2019,or was it Person of the Year…

Nothing wrong in her tagging along behind the kid.

11. How long will it take for slave stock children to replace Massa’s constitution

Conspiracy
    TIME magazine Mafia are running the NWO brainwashing to stupefy the negro

Who Killed the Chicken

Who Killed the Chicken (Revisited) (DUB)

12. What does Bible say about the New World Order
    https://www.openbible.info/topics/new_world_order

What about Chicken Scratch

Zap-Pow – Last War

It’s interesting when interviewed, many reggae artists can’t even remember the odd single or two that they recorded. especially in the mid-seventies when Kingston was buzzing with the growing economic success of reggae music and the rapidly spreading cultural religion of Rastafari.
    The peak output of Lee Perry’s Black Ark came as these forces met, all oiled with huge ammounts of high grade weed, Dragon stout and over-proof rum. It’s no surprise people can’t remember.

13. Your comment is awaiting moderation.

What does Bible say about the New World Order
    https://www.openbible.info/topics/new_world_order

14. Your comment is awaiting moderation.

What about Chicken Scratch

Zap-Pow – Last War

It’s interesting when interviewed, many reggae artists can’t even remember the odd single or two that they recorded. especially in the mid-seventies when Kingston was buzzing with the growing economic success of reggae music and the rapidly spreading cultural religion of Rastafari.
    The peak output of Lee Perry’s Black Ark came as these forces met, all oiled with huge ammounts of high grade weed, Dragon stout and over-proof rum. It’s no surprise people can’t remember.

15. Chicken Scratch: Early Years Of Lee Perry

Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry: An intimate Interview | Red Bull Music Academy

16. Political Confusion

17. Social Media is Full Up with Mia TIME magazine influential people stuff
    Mia Mottley | TIME100

Heavy Voodoo

He hee hee ha ha
    Get Ready Steve
    One doLLar CuM (HALLU UM)
    To $ kum (HALLU UM)
    10 dolla Cum (HALLU UM)
    HEAVY VOOODO
    He hee hee ha ha
    Get Ready Steve
    To $ kum (HALLU UM)
    10 dolla Cum (HALLU UM)
    HEAVY VOOODO
    He hee hee ha ha
    Get Ready Steve
    To $ kum (HALLU UM)
    10 dolla Cum (HALLU UM)
    HEAVY VOOODO
    He hee hee ha ha
    Get Ready Steve
    To $ kum (HALLU UM)
    10 dolla Cum (HALLU UM)
    HEAVY VOOODO

18. “.. I would have thought it was “scratchy music exponent”.”

YES BOY-GIRL the Jamaican Champion Sounds Runs Bu all day everyday
    Lee “Scratch” Perry – Chicken Scratch

19. Fight To The Finish

Soul Rebel

20. Soul Rebel (Dub Version)

Soul Rebel (Version 4)

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Angela…i take tha names AND EVIDENCE was handed in to the appropriate law enforcement agency(s) cause there is actually the name of a sitting high court judge and some lawyer out there bouncing around in cyberspace…

…that is 2 out of the sweet 16 names provided re land fraud among de parliament people…lawd..

at least we can look forward to entertainment…i slept really well last night wonder how the fowls, pimps and their political masters slept…lol

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

btw…….if they get them on RICO charges, very likely, since they love to boast about what they own in Mihami, here and there, and with paper trails………de dog dead…

23. With Crime soaring In Barbados another story that needs headlines
    The silence is deafening Barbados today writes and editorial to highlight the problem asking irrelevant questions to govt officials
    Unheard of in any society where crime reaches levels of concern and churches are under attack that leadership keeps closed mouth waiting for more evidence
    The evidence is all over the place in death criminal activity and of recent the terrifying actions demonstrated in the church

24. There is no right to remain silent for the top cop
    Today’s Editorial
    Amid all the unfolding developments of the spiralling cost of living, the rise and fall of COVID-19 cases, preparations for Crop Over 2022, new mask mandates and everything else, there’s been a concerning spike in violence this month.
    We should not be lulled into a false sense of security.
    On May 6th, police discovered the lifeless body of O’Neal Farmer, 40, lying on the floor of an establishment at Jordan’s Lane, Nelson Street, St Michael. He had been stabbed.
    A day later, police reported that a Canadian citizen who has been living here for more than a decade was robbed when masked men, brandishing what appeared to be a machine gun, invaded his home with four other occupants.
    On May 11, a passenger and a conductor were injured after being involved in an altercation while their bus was en route to Bridgetown.
    On May 15, two men were shot in Fernihurst, Black Rock, St Michael and another at Bush Yard Gap, St Michael.
    Last Friday, a man was killed at Dash Gap, Bank Hall, and early this morning, a man was killed after being involved in a shooting incident with police at Eagle Hall.
    This rash of violence is no slur against the rank and file of the Barbados Police Service who are working around the clock to keep this country safe.
    And we are aware that they may have the intelligence about criminal activity to develop strategies to beat relentless perpetrators at their game.
    But some reassurance – indeed some insight – from the BPS high command on these troubling developments would be as welcome as it is lacking.
    Last November 1, 42-year law enforcement veteran Richard Boyce replaced Tyrone Griffith as Commissioner of Police.
    To the best of our knowledge, while Commissioner Boyce has provided an update on the latest crime statistics via a press release, he is yet to present himself to the Barbadian public after six months on the job. He has been missing from the national conversation on crime and violence.
    The police chief should step to the crease and make his delivery on what taxpayers can expect from his turn at the bat for us on the law and order front.
    We don’t expect the police chief to announce his battle plan against violent criminals. But to “serve, protect and reassure” – as the police service’s motto promises – it is now time for him to simply connect with the same citizens on whom the police must rely in the fight against crime.
    It may well be true that the perception of crime does not match the actual statistics. We still need to know.
    Last week, when Prime Minister Mia Mottley made a special appearance on popular call in radio programme Down to Brass Tacks, one caller used the opportunity to raise his concern about crime.
    He frankly shared his disappointment that this and past administrations have failed to wrestle waves of crime and violence to ground and he urged Mottley to implement tougher laws to deter criminals.
    The Prime Minister’s defence was that legislation was already in place but that the administration of justice was not yet where it needed to be.
    Despite the appointment of seven new judges – one Court of Appeal judge, four High Court judges and two temporary High Court judges – in October 2019, Mottley expressed concern with the speed at which the island’s courts are dealing with criminal matters and suggested reform of some nature might be necessary.
    She said: “With respect to the laws those issues are very much there and for the most part they provide the penalties that you are asking for. Where I believe that we are falling down is that we are not moving cases through the court system still as fast as I would like to see because we have as you know put additional judges and positions in place, but I think that you need a reform of some of the procedural aspects of how we conduct cases, particularly in the criminal law, much of which resembles regrettably too much of a 19th and 20th century Barbados.”
    But legal and judicial reforms cannot by themselves stop bullets from flying.
    It is Government’s responsibility to ensure the Barbados Police Service has the tools it needs to get the job done, agree on the implementation of crime-fighting initiatives and hold the Police Chief and the top brass accountable if they still fail to deliver.
    Equally, it is the responsibility of the lead warrior in the fight against crime to show the leadership we have come to expect from them as the nation grapples with these shootings and stabbings.
    Only accused persons have a legally enforceable right to remain silent as a protection from self-incrimination. It is time for the Commissioner of Police in the face of this bloodletting to send a message to the law-abiding and the lawless.
    In times of crisis, we demand not mere administrators, but leaders to help us all to cope, prepare and understand.

25. No surprise here @ac,
    Wunna play wunna minding Pacha and keep on ignoring Bushie…

The bushman tell wunna long time, that wherever a ‘certain’ minister goes, CHAOS is sure to follow.
    ‘Duppy know who fe frighten!’, ……and the ‘evil ones’ know where to best channel their wicked intentions.

From the time that Froon planted that shiite on the Garrison, Bushie KNEW that the dog was as good as dead…

26. Because I feel like bombing a church. Now, now that you know that the preacher is lying. So who’s going to stay at home. When, when the freedom fighters are fighting
    Bob Marley – Talkin Blues
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mInB5bwJMI4
    Yeah! Oh, yeah! Now!
    Cold ground was my bed last night (bed last night)
    And rock was my pillow, too (doo-oo-oo-oo-oo!)
    And rock was my pillow, too yeah!

I’m saying: talkin’ blues (talkin’ blues)
    Talkin’ blues (talkin’ blues)
    They say your feet is just too big for your shoes (shoe-oo-oo-oo-oo)
    Talkin’ blues (talkin’ blues), talkin’ blues (talkin’ blues)
    Your feet is just too big for your shoes (shoe-oo-oo-oo-oo)

Yeah, I’ve been down on the rock for so long, (so long)
    I seem to wear a permanent screw (screw-oo-oo-oo-oo)
    I’ve been down on the rock for so long (so long)
    I seem to wear a permanent screw (screw-oo-oo-oo-oo)
    But-a I I’m gonna stare in the sun
    Let the rays shine in my eyes
    I I’m a gonna take a just-a one step more
    Cause I feel like bombin’ a church
    Now now that you know that the preacher is lyin’
    So who’s gonna stay at home
    When when the freedom fighters are fighting?

They say your feet is just too big for your shoes, woe-oh-oh-oh!
    Talkin’ blues (talkin’ blues), keep on talkin’ blues (talkin’ blues)
    They say you hear what they say
    Didn’t you hear?

Cold ground was my bed (bed last night)
    Rockstone rockstone rockstone was my pillow
    And rock was my pillow, too

Sayin’ (talkin’ blues, talkin’ blues)
    I seem to wear a permanent screw permanent screw
    Feet is just too big for your shoes (Shoe-oo-oo-oo-oo)

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Sri Lankans are now hunting down their dirty politicians….the people’s mindsets have shifted to survival mode….keep following, promoting and respecting these criminals who are causing worldwide damage and see…

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Sensible people know it’s now a battle to survive, spiritual warfare…

but the BU clowns still want to preen at shite titles and shittier accolades that do nothing for anyone….jokers, need a heavy dose of stark reality to get serious…..

29. Allow me to compliment you on the wide variety of scratchings that you have provided for our entertainment.

I like your excerpt from Bob Marley. In your case, a microphone, speakers and your musical scratchings may be even more effective. After two songs…
    Church dun
    and a lot mo prayer

30. Biological warfare is now the cheapest, easiest and most effective means of destroying an enemy in 2022.
    Only an idiot would therefore fly around expensive missiles and drones, that leave clear trails in 2022, when all that is needed is a little vial with some exotic brew….

The FACT that this technology is now open to complex DNA manipulation, that can target reproductive issues, racial traits, and the FACT that more than 50% of the world has now been PRIMED with an unknown therapy (AKA ‘covid vaccine’)
    ….and you have the makings of a Global catastrophe of epic proportions in our immediate future.

To complete the perfect storm, now some idiot gone and ‘juck’ the damn Bear with Ukraine…. and snatch way he honey…..
    ‘monkeypox’ is only the beginning of chaos coming our way….

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

“the Prime Minister is a brilliant politician who knows how to shake things up.”
    Precisely. The Republic “ditch the bitch” move in ’21, attracted great coverage, especially from those 15(?) remaining nations. It had been 40+ years since 3 sister Caricom states had done thusly. And 20 years since Mauritius.
    TIME makes its money by clicks. So get as many as you can.
    For MAM great publicity, ahead of her foray to the bigger international stage.

32. It is time for Barbados to leave the Republic stage and move on to new shores, to imperial glory.

Long live Empress Mia Mottley I of Sandy Lane!

33. Bush Tea u didn’t hear or see when the PM dig up slaves bones took them to Ghana and had them buried in a casket with the Barbados flag
    That was supposed to be an exchanged of long term friendship between Barbados and Ghana
    Since then the sh.it has hit the ceiling
    Ash fall freak storms death and mayhem and the nation comatose

34. Nuff superstitious mumbo jumbo and right-wing looneyism on BU today!

What are untested vaccines and how were vaccines tested in times gone by?

Conspiracies run amok!

Meanwhile, the world continues much as it has for ages, with nothing new under the sun. There is the usual wickedness that we have come to expect.

No need to panic.

35. Where is my video

https://youtu.be/MH6QX0az5cs

36. December no longer excites me but this year I cannot wait for December 31st.

If I am still among the living, I know I will have no trouble waiting up for the countdown to January 1st, 2023.

On the stroke of midnight, I will crack open a bottle of champagne and celebrate.

Thanks to BU, a hearty laugh will be enjoyed, in a Bajan Brass Bowl stylie.

I am off to tell my son that if I die before then, he must somehow find a way to laugh on my behalf.

It will be my final request.

37. “Meanwhile, the world continues much as it has for ages, with nothing new under the sun. There is the usual wickedness that we have come to expect.”

I now see why you ‘duz keep a low profile on BU.’

I’ve been trying to understand how the monument at the Garrison could, in seriousness, be responsible for the crime situation and perhaps everything negative that’s been happening in Barbados.

What is equally ridiculous is the notion that “slave bones” taken from Barbados to be buried in Ghana, caused the La Soufrière volcano in St. Vincent to erupt, sending ash fall on Barbados.
    I’m now wondering what was taken from Barbados and buried where, when there was a similar occurrence after the volcano erupted in 1812, 1902 and 1979?
    “Freak storms and mayhem” were recorded in this island, prior to the bones being buried on November 18, 2019.

But, “to each, his own.”

38. Why is it that video showing the re- intrement of slaves bones taken from Barbados to Ghana is unavailable on BU
    If everything is kosher squeaky clean what is there to hide
    The video is on u tube
    U tube unless placed with an error message allows videos to be uploaded by individuals

39. Theo
    “AC stepped down the crease and smacked that ball. Yuh gun kill he?”

Sir, you and your team mate are late to the match. The match done since 19 January 2022. Y’all now engaging in an extended postmortem, which started in May 2018. 61-0 and counting.

40. BarGhana connectivity.

41. GP BU RETIRED "RESIDENT" DR Avatar
    GP BU RETIRED “RESIDENT” DR

another day ….same shite on BU
    RE What are untested vaccines and how were vaccines tested in times gone by?

UNTESTED VACCINES ARE THOSE WHICH HAVE NOT UNDERGONE THE EXTREME PROTOCOLS FOR TESTING PHARMACEUTICALS SINCE I961 BY LAW
    THE WAY VACINES AND ALL DRUGS WERE TESTED IN DAYS GONE BY AND OUGHT TO BE STILL TESTED IS WELL KNOWN
    ONE CAN READ IT UP ON LINE OR READ EITHER MAMA KATZUNG OR BABY KATSUN OR EVEN PHARMACOLOGY MADE RIDICULOUSLY SIMPLE

ANY ONE WITH WHAT IS NOW VERY BASIC BIOCHEMICAL AND GENETIC KNOWLEDGE OF NUCLEIC ACIDS KNOW THAT THEY CAN BE MANIPULATED

BUSTEA’S POST IS QUITE CORRECT SCIENTIFICALLY AND IS IN NO WAY A CONSPIRACY

42. IT HAS BEEN SAID AND CORRECTLY SO THAT IN THE LAND OF THE BLIND ONE EYE MAN IS KING——DOES THIS ALSO APPLY TO WOMEN?

43. @ GP
    A wise teacher once advised Bushie NOT to get into arguments about integral calculus, with people who have not covered simultaneous equations.
    Bushie accepts the blame for assuming that the fact that some people blab on and on ….SHOULD suggest some levels of basic understanding of the topic.
    …clearly the bushman erred.
    Your intervention is however appreciated.

@ Artax
    You may, or may not have familiarity with the methodologies used by the Creator in his interactions with brass bowls, so your confusion about the impact of symbols, idols and rituals in this process can be excused.
    Suffice it to know that God’s methodologies are not constrained by YOUR accepted norms, nor are they designed to exclude persons who may not have benefitted from YOUR educational opportunities or what YOU consider to be ’normal’.

God operates in mysterious ways in order to achieve his intended results.
    The ’thing’ on the Garrison may be meaningless to you,… but that could very well be as a result of YOUR inability to see….rather than Bushie’s fixation with shiite – as you seem to think…
    If you Seek, Knock, Ask and Listen, however, you would be surprised at how clear it all becomes…..

44. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….i did not realize Johnny Tudor was a politician, never paid any attention to them like fowls and pimps do, therefore did not know who is who…..so he actually knew everything about all of them….RIP..

45. History in the making

https://youtu.be/qRL5MaTKaC0

46. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/05/25/labour-minister-says-worker-shortage-in-tourism-a-result-of-employers-actions-during-covid-19/

From BT
    “This is not the Barbados of the pre-emancipation period, this is not the Barbados of the immediate post-emancipation period. This is not the Barbados of the pre-independence period. This is a 21st century Barbados, this is a time that there is a rising consciousness among people that they don’t have to put up with what they don’t want to put up with.

“And so, I want to use this opportunity, speaking now as the minister responsible for workers and their protection in this country to say to all employers pick sense from what is happening in the tourism industry,” cautioned Jordan.

Looks like Jordan found a pair.
    Will not take a victory lap, but I made the point about the action of the employerd few days ago. Those guys never figured out they may need the same workers if the industry makes a come back. Greedy and ignorant.

47. @ Bush Tea,
    How’s it possible for a country to both conceive and incorporate the Devil’s pitchfork on its flag?

Some years ago you commented on this point. It is astonishing that Barbadians are oblivious to the symbolism of their flag and what it represents.

The pitchfork was a tool familiar to our ancestors. They toiled all day under the heat of the sun armed with their outdoor Devil”s tool.

The Barbados national flag should be a reminder to Afro Bajans that the country was built on a foundation of evil. It’s high time someone replaces our national flag with a more uplifting one.

I was the first to comment on the symbolism of Mia and her 1001 scarves. My comments were condemned by several bloggers who seemed blind in the knowledge that Mia was trying to project an image of an empress.

Bush Tea, Barbadians lack awareness of symbolism and subliminal imagery and its connection with propaganda. Good luck.

48. Somebody standing up to this illegal unconstitutional govt

The general public is invited to the walk against this ILLEGAL govt on June 7, 2022, 9.30 am, from Cheapside to Independence Sq.